Indian Economy News & Discussion - Nov 27 2017

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Economy News & Discussion - Nov 27 2017

Long term, Atmanirbhar Bharat of Energy will have to occur. Solar, battery and ethanol will have to ramped up. Ethanol, just like in Brazil and Solar by law, ie everyone should be forced to deploy.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

India's energy purchases from Russia are not exempt from Western sanctions. While the US temporarily allowed some purchases of Russian oil to alleviate global supply shortages caused by conflicts in the Middle East, that waiver has now expired.

Despite the expiration of waivers and pressure from the United States—including the imposition of tariffs—India continues to import large volumes of Russian crude. The Indian government defends this stance by citing national energy security and economic pragmatism, maintaining that its purchasing decisions are guided by commercial viability and affordable energy supplies.
rajkumar

Post by rajkumar »

US Treasury to extend sanction waiver on Russian seaborne oil, source says

https://www.reuters.com/business/energy ... 026-05-18/

Lisa wrote: 18 May 2026 20:59 Long term, Atmanirbhar Bharat of Energy will have to occur. Solar, battery and ethanol will have to ramped up. Ethanol, just like in Brazil and Solar by law, ie everyone should be forced to deploy.
Ethanol might not be a good idea. It take away precious urea and other critical farming infra from food and cash crops. If There was no fertilizer or water shortage then it's doable. This will be a backward step.

Jay wrote: 19 May 2026 00:57
Lisa wrote: 18 May 2026 20:59 Long term, Atmanirbhar Bharat of Energy will have to occur. Solar, battery and ethanol will have to ramped up. Ethanol, just like in Brazil and Solar by law, ie everyone should be forced to deploy.
Ethanol might not be a good idea. It take away precious urea and other critical farming infra from food and cash crops. If There was no fertilizer or water shortage then it's doable. This will be a backward step.
Hydrogen and Electric is the way forward for us in transportation.
India’s Next Transport Revolution? | Hydrogen Buses in Delhi | Alternative of CNG? | UPSC | StudyIQ

https://x.com/Normal_2610/status/205700 ... 76295?s=20
Why Would FII Invest for Just 2.5% When Your Currency Depreciates Like Pyramid Scheme?

Nothing happens on Day 1, India entire operating system is just a machine that optimizes whenever the problem exists in real time

Even the 5-year plan is bullshit, Regime think - what promise should I give for the next election? Even defence, which needs long-term planning, we just do 30%, and even for that we are slow.

Corporates - even after government schemes, PLI support, and subsidies - they buy components from China, assemble in India, put a sticker of Made in India, and sell to India.

The most famous example? AC compressors. We know the growth rate and demand, but still the hunger is pathetic

But at same time i am optimistic on New age Startup & companies most recently one did IPO SEDEMAC Mechatronics

Even if you look from the 90s, India was helpless - that's why we went to the IMF, because no option was left. Even today we do the same thing. Look at the behavior of the government - they know what the nation actually needs but still, they have all the data :)

There are things that happened which led to this situation. This is not just about AI infrastructure not being in India, that's why FIIs are selling out and dumping like Chinese manufacturers.

This is a chain reaction. And the last phase of this chain reaction is what we are seeing now - US problem, 2 Major war, Chinese tension, Bond Problem, Europe issues etc.,

I didn't want to write this because you need domain expertise across many areas to even understand what's going on.

Even when the world knows - IMF knows = even its reports put India in the top 5 fastest growing economies, and India hasn't disappointed much, even after chaotic political cycles.

But now, what changed after the AI age is this: every mistake will be costly for you, and it compounds.

First, What Is a BIT?

Credit to @surjitbhalla
- one of my favorite, I like his work, must follow him.

When an Indian company goes and invests in, say, the Philippines - builds a factory, buys land, sets up operations - it's putting money in a foreign country. That's risky.

The foreign government could change tax laws, cancel licenses, seize assets, or discriminate against the Indian company.

A Bilateral Investment Treaty (BIT) is a deal between two countries that says: We promise to treat each other's investors fairly.

And if either government breaks this promise, the investor can take the government to an international arbitration tribunal - a neutral court outside both countries and get compensation.

It's basically an insurance policy for cross-border investors. India invests in Philippines, Philippines invests in India - both sides get protection.

India signed its first BIT in 1994 with the UK. Over the next 17 years, India signed BITs with 80+ countries. Everything was fine.

Then Came the Shock - The White Industries Case (2011)

The Indian government was rattled. This was the first time India lost real money in an international arbitration under a BIT. Then things got worse. Around the same time, India had done two controversial things:

Retrospective tax amendments - India changed its tax law retroactively, going backwards in time, to tax deals that had already happened. The most famous case was Vodafone.

India basically said we're changing the rules after the game is over, and you now owe us money. Foreign investors were furious.

Cancellation of 2G telecom licenses - The Supreme Court cancelled 122 telecom licenses in the 2G scam case. Foreign companies that had invested in these licenses lost their investments overnight.

India simultaneously sent termination notices to 74 countries, effectively cancelling its existing BITs. India basically said we don't want the old BITs anymore, let's renegotiate everything on our new terms

What's Wrong With the 2016 Model BIT

The definition of Investment is deliberately vague. Key protections have been removed.

The 5-Year Domestic Remedy Requirement, the biggest problem.

If India does something unfair to a foreign investor, the investor must first file a case in Indian courts, go through India notoriously slow judicial system for 5 years minimum, and only after 5 years of getting nowhere in Indian courts can they go to international arbitration.

The self-defeating part - this hurts Indian companies too. This is the part the Indian government apparently didn't think through. BITs work both ways.

If India signs a BIT with, say, an African country, the same restrictive terms apply to Indian companies investing in that African country.

The Bigger Picture is BIT Is Just One Issue

This is the one issue where BIT became a real deal, and in between, the behaviour of the Government of India reflects the attitude that we are not trustworthy to accept foreign capital.

What has India done in the last 10 years so that they invest here?

Where is the funding coming from Japan? Who will buy your bonds?

Another issue - the increase in STT taxes when your nominal GDP is in single digits. The Regime got greedy. Not thinking long term at all.

LTCG tax is high for FII - why would they take so much headache to invest in India when other markets are better, with much cheaper valuations, and you don't even have an AI play?

Why not just take the benefit of momentum trading elsewhere?

There is a new global investing theme emerging in the last 3 years. This has been the most turnaround period - when you know your currency is depreciating, global investing should not be an option but a rational and logical choice.

You get global exposure, and that will also hit India's forex reserves.

Plus, the Indian market is still overvalued. FII will not come easily into India now. The way US 10-year and 30-year bond yields are going up, it feels like a rate hike is possible if the war doesn't end.

Plus oil prices are hitting every country - not just with price, but with limitation of supply too, creating problems everywhere, it showing on the ground after 70 days :)

Look at Indonesia - read what's happening there. They are getting squeezed by the fertiliser problem. India will get hit too, another way.

India imports a lot, exports little, and exports are not even growing in year-on-year terms. Energy imports are massive, and that's not going to stop.

The only way is if India produces 2x of what it imports and diversifies its energy portfolio aggressively from wind to solar to nuclear.

Manufacturing will create significant value in the next 5 years - this is a big hope, I think.

So India has to work aggressively to reduce its dollar outflow and try not to be dependent on it. Export more, increase productivity, so you don't need as much import.

FII will not come without reform. They will stay invested in India but reduce their exposure significantly.

Rupee will go to 150. Yup, it's possible when your currency is depreciating at 3% every year. That's not a big deal when you export, but with imports it hits harder.

Even the US wants to depreciate the dollar to export, but it's not easy for them either.

Hard FDI vs Soft FII

One set of people say India needs hard FDI, not soft FII which profits out of India like Jane Street, one of the foremost examples.

We need hard FDI that stays in India for the long term like Google and Microsoft investing in data centres. Okay, but how much have we done to make it lucrative so foreigners actually come and invest?

They want exposure, but the regulatory and legal system is so tough. As of now, India is just trying hard to keep the economy running and doing what's feasible in real time.

Manufacturing will take time. Energy production needs heavy capex and abundant energy, which India doesn't have. The only way is if we do something innovative. Cutting imports is a really hard deal.

When crude oil was at $60, India did freebies a lot. But when crude is at $107, it's hard to do anything anything you do hits the fiscal deficit and the balance sheet.

Plus 5 states are in big debt, how do you manage that when you've given big promises?

FII Has All the Data Now - This is not going to be easy. FII will not come as of now. They have all the data. They project everything with just one click in the age of AI.

Your nominal GDP is in single digits. Your Mcap/GDP below 60% has always been a generational buying opportunity. FY2009 (55%) and FY2020 (56%) were the two best entry points of the last 25 years. We are nowhere near those levels now.

So there are a lot of variables - not just one. From regulatory, to legal, to pending reforms, to ease of doing business, we change laws every 3 years, just look at the liquor policy.

The focus is missing. Doing MOUs or FTAs will not solve all the problems.

Big companies will invest in India - that's easy for them. But overall, if India wants big exposure, it has to make things visible that history will not be repeated.

That's why every company that invests in India is very cautious, they just do enough so they can have exposure to India because we are a growing economy.

As of now, we are not cashing it at all. India is an egoistic nation, and it disappoints both the optimist and the pessimist.

Whatever is happening globally doesn't affect India much directly but when your nation doesn't have long-term focus and ambition, and is just ranting about 2047, that's not going to solve any problem.

Just One Example

When you know Indian energy and electricity demand is growing every year and it's not going to consolidate even for the next 15 years, and it's growing rapidly as the nation grows - what is India doing?

Just matching demand and supply and tweeting about it.

Even gold - we import gold. The GOI has no plan for the worst situation and isn't even now thinking long term. The current balance sheet of India can handle the situation, but we are too linked to the US, and anything that happens there, we get the heat the next day.

India's Balance Sheet Is Bleeding, India is spending way more foreign currency than it's earning, and the Hormuz crisis is making it worse.

Two commodities are bleeding India dry - oil and gold.
If your salary grew 8% but inflation is 7%, your real income grew 1%. Same logic applies to GDP.

Nominal GDP includes inflation - governments love showing this big number. Real GDP strips out inflation and shows actual growth. Always look at constant prices, not current prices.

On Iran war - Trump made three compounding errors - pulling out of the JCPOA in 2018, joining Israel's strikes in June 2025, and launching the full war in February 2026.

He's now trying to negotiate a deal on the same nuclear program he claimed to have already destroyed. The Iranians have no reason to hand him a diplomatic victory.

The US has effectively lost this war, and there's no easy exit. what yu think US will exit? rate hike not possible?

India is in worse situation as of now until energy price crash down :)

So, What's the Option?

> Fix the BIT Regime - Stop Scaring Foreign Capital
> Fix the Tax Math for FII - LTCG, STT, No More Retrospective Taxation

> Fix APA Processing - 5 Years for Tax Certainty Is a Joke

> Cut the Energy Import Bill - Oil and Gold Are Bleeding India Dry

> Reduce China Import Dependency - Actually Make Things, Not Stickers

> Push Exports Aggressively - Export Growth Is Flat YoY
> Reduce the Freebie Spiral - State Debt Is a Ticking Bomb

> Make Regulatory and Legal Environment Predictable - Stop Changing Laws Every 3 Years

> Attract Hard FDI, Not Soft FII - Data Centres Not Day Traders

> Accept Rupee at 150 Is the Base Case - Build an Economy That Benefits From It & work on alternate gold back monetary system

Every country faces the same global shocks. Bangladesh has a higher growth rate in dollar terms. The problems is talking about are a decade old - the West Asia crisis is only 3 months old. India underperformance is structural, not cyclical at all.

There are still a lot of variables, and things change - every regime thinks differently, everyone thinks differently. But the problem with India is not from the outside, it's from the inside.

India will grow, but slow. And I am optimistic on India.
------------------
https://x.com/TheClubJunto/status/20568 ... 79365?s=20
Lessons from Norway

1. When Norway struck oil, it did not waste cash. It played the ultra-long game for future generations

2. It bought 1.5% of all listed companies on earth

3. Oil depletes; capital grows

4. Indian PSUs are land & resource rich too

Rich = Wisdom + Discipline

Wise King; Rich Kingdom

a. Norway ranks among the world’s topmost nations in wealth, happiness, freedom, equality, and human development.

b. In 1970s, Norway discovered massive offshore oil reserves. The nation’s leaders chose not to spend the windfall on instant riches, and embraced delayed gratification.

c. The leaders realized oil is a temporary asset, while financial capital can be permanent. They turned a finite natural resource into an infinite cash generating machine for future generations.

d. Today at $2.2 trillion, Norway Sovereign Wealth Fund is the world’s largest. It owns roughly 1.5% of all major listed companies in the world. The fund is strictly run by top professional managers, not politicians or bureaucrats.

e. “Invest Abroad” Mandate: Norway’s leaders recognized that their domestic economy was too small, so they mandated the fund would strictly invest outside Norway. This was a brilliant move that eliminated single-country risk. For this fund to die, the whole world would have to die first.

f. The Fiscal Rule (Handlingsregelen): The fund created the ultimate barrier against political greed of any future leaders. It dictates that the government can only use the fund’s returns to cover budget deficit (if any), with a strict upper cut-off limit of 3%. The principal cannot be touched.

g. This ensures the fund’s annual returns keep multiplying. In the last 50 years, the fund’s annual real return (inflation-adjusted) is 4.34%. So, it keeps beating inflation, keeps re-investing returns, and keeps compounding principal + returns indefinitely.

h. The fund pays for world-class public services and healthcare, free higher education, and advanced infrastructure without requiring crushing tax rates on citizens.

i. When a global crisis hits, Norway does not need to borrow money or slash public spending. During downturns, the government temporarily increases its fund withdrawals to cushion the domestic economy.

j. Safety for Future Generations: As oil fields dry up in future or the need for fossil fuels is reduced, Norway’s economy won’t even blink because they will be living off the compounding power of global market equities.

Value Unlock: Lessons for India

a. The Indian government is the nation’s largest asset owner, holding thousands of hectares of prime land and natural resources through railways, defence, and PSUs.

But asset management is not the core competency of Ministry officials and bureaucrats who don’t want to give up control.

b. India’s Department of Disinvestment and Public Asset Management (DIPAM) under the Ministry of Finance is largely a failure.

There is a permanent paralysis in strategic sales, disinvestment targets are missed, and market timing and pricing are ill-managed.

c. PSUs like ONGC, Coal India, NMDC, and GAIL are giant custodians of India’s natural resources. But they suffer from outdated policies and constant political and bureaucratic interference, and lack transparency and professional management.

I think this is the appropriate thread:

Sanjeev Sanyal proposes ‘Transparency of Rules Act' to simplify regulations
ANI May 19, 2026

Sanjeev Sanyal, member of the Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister, on Tuesday proposed for the enactment of a "Transparency of Rules Act" to make all norms, regulations and citizen-facing requirements easily accessible through a dedicated centralised portal. Sanyal, said Transparency of Rules Act can help simplify regulations, improve transparency in governance and significantly enhance ease of doing business in the country by consolidating complex rules and reducing regulatory opacity.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SyfuI95L0Ww

// the babucracy of India has purposely made things complicated and riddled with ad hoc rulings by mainly the babus. A good IT tool to automate all workflows and processes with a timer at each step will automatically solve most issues. However the Babus fight tooth and nail against such systems which monitor their overall output for the nation.
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

Agentic AI is best antidote for babudom

https://x.com/TheClubJunto/status/20575 ... 49275?s=20
Top Economists Say Let the Rupee Fall

Arvind Subramanian: 100 is almost necessary

Arvind Panagariya: Overcome the psychology of 100

Raghuram Rajan: Let ₹ find its level

Gita Gopinath: Let ₹ do its job

D Subbarao: Let the ₹ fall

Will RBI defend or is 100 coming?

INSIGHTS

Government’s Position

Dr. V.A. Nageswaran
Chief Economic Advisor, GOI
May 12 / April 24

Stopping the rupee from falling further is one of the “central macro-economic imperatives” of FY27. India’s rupee is fundamentally “undervalued” (so investors should “buy” it.)

RBI’s Interventions
Reuters, May 20

Reuters spoke to four different bankers (names withheld), who said that RBI’s daily currency market intervention is $1 billion (estimated). This is slowing, but not halting the rupee’s slide.

The RBI has been selling dollars every day in the past 10 days to relieve the pressure on the rupee, the bankers said. This has moderated the pace of losses, but not reversed them.

What the Economists Say

Dr. D. Subbarao
Ex-RBI Governor, Top Economist
May 20 / May 13

When you defend the rupee, the danger is not merely depletion of reserves; it is the credibility trap. If RBI interventions fail to arrest the rupee’s fall, market confidence can evaporate abruptly.

A failed defence is worse than no defence. Exchange rate crises are not pretty. At heart, they are a crisis of confidence.

If the fundamentals dictate the rupee should fall, then the RBI should let it fall. A weaker rupee is going to improve our export competitiveness.

Dr. Arvind Panagariya
Ex-Chairman, Finance Commission
Ex-VC NITI Aayog, Top Economist
May 21

Dear RBI, do not let the psychology of 100 per dollar determine your policy response. The right response at the moment is to let the rupee depreciate.

Trying to defend the rupee will continue to bleed the reserves until they are exhausted. Even NRI bonds are like band-aid. You will eventually have to cross the psychological barrier of 100.

Dr. Gita Gopinath
Ex-Chief Economist, IMF
May 21 / May 18

Currency depreciation forces you to cut back on imports (i.e., reduce your oil consumption, which is anyway the government’s goal.) If you try to intervene, all that happens is you lose your reserves. Let the rupee do its work.

Dr. Arvind Subramanian
Ex-Chief Economic Advisor, GOI
Dec 29, 2025

Allow the rupee to gradually decline by 10% over the next few months. To catch up with Chinese export competitiveness, the rupee at 100 to the US dollar seems almost necessary.

Dr. Raghuram Rajan
Ex-RBI Governor, Top Economist
Jan 25, 2025

There is no need to be overly concerned about the rupee’s big slide. I would let it find its level. Maybe some additional depreciation is useful for Indian exports.

ENDQUOTE

“Recognize reality even when you don’t like it. Especially when you don’t like it.” – Poor Charlie’s Almanac [Charlie Munger]

https://x.com/MinhazMerchant/status/205 ... 27706?s=20
For those hyperventilating over falling INR:

1991: INR 17.97 to USD.

1996: INR 35.43 to USD.

100% depreciation in 5 years.
Answer:
https://x.com/krishan_sharmaa/status/20 ... 50627?s=20
The comparison in this tweet
-is more politics than economics.

The move from ₹17 to ₹35 in the early 1990s did not happen in a normal economic environment.

It included-
- an official devaluation(nit depreciation) during the 1991 Balance of Payments crisis,
- transition from a tightly controlled exchange-rate regime,
- and structural reforms after liberalisation.

So presenting that extraordinary transition period casually as “see, rupee fell 100% before too” is economically incomplete and therefore misleading.

More importantly, exchange rates are not judged merely by arithmetic depreciation percentages.

What matters is:
- inflation,
- import dependence,
- capital flows,
- investor confidence,
- and the purchasing power of citizens.

India today is heavily dependent on imported oil, electronics, machinery, semiconductors and industrial inputs.

No serious economist panics over every rupee move.

But dismissing sustained depreciation as irrelevant is equally unserious.

Economics should explain reality, not reduce it to political messaging.

A person who refuses to acknowledge shortcomings can never improve. The same applies to economies too.

Using the extraordinary 1991 crisis period as a benchmark to justify current currency weakness is weak economic argument.

By that logic, should every future problem be defended by comparing it with an even worse crisis from the past?

China, USA, Japan are all sitting on a huge pile of debt. India, so far, and hopefully never, is not.
ritesh

Post by ritesh »

Food price inflation and retail inflation needs to be strictly monitored by gobermint. Rest all is maya when it comes to keeping the population on your side.

ritesh wrote: 22 May 2026 17:24 Food price inflation and retail inflation needs to be strictly monitored by gobermint. Rest all is maya when it comes to keeping the population on your side.
https://x.com/aravind/status/2057726831294546018?s=20
For all the critics and abusers of my post, I have a question: In the last 20 years the USD lost 50% of its purchasing power.

How do you explain it using the professor's post? Do Americans feel they lost 50% of their savings?

Should, starting from Bush & Obama to Biden & Trump be regime changed stating this fact before every 5 years to Americans creating anarchy?

Would that have fixed USD's purchasing power depreciation by 50% in 20 years? It would have rather depreciated it further and caused more economic troubles for the people.

Indians earn, save, spend & live in INR. Most critics to my post ignore this basic fact and scream "imports are in dollars" as if India is a dollar economy. It isn’t.

You buying iPhones and going on foreign vacations doesn't mean "All Indians savings have halved due to INR depreciation." If you want to believe this misrepresentation you are simply ideological and not rational.

Yes, some imports do cost more nominally. That's for India as a country. But India also exports, and it is increasing at a fast clip, and India is right now capturing market share in world's exports.

Controlled inflation in a fast-growing economy is normal. INR will lose value over time domestically. Nothing wrong about it.

It's exactly like how the USD lost 32% purchasing power in the same 15 years of Modi regime. How do you explain that?

Savings used in India didn’t suddenly halve. That’s not economics, that’s selective fear mongering. The same voices will flip to "inflation is the real issue" the day INR starts appreciating.

That day is not far either.
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

People just need to see yen and won , they are 100+ and 1000+ to USD . With rising exports currency devalued. But internal prices and hence inflation went up . In fantasy yes USD will also devalue but that rate and scenario is anybody’s guess.
Big puzzle is Yuan not allowed to change much. But that means lots of duplicate currency inside China , a monopoly currency that can’t be traded outside

https://x.com/raghavwadhwa/status/20581 ... 30487?s=20
India moves 95% of its trade by sea.

But Indian-flagged ships carry less than 5% of it.

That gap silently bleeds $75 billion in foreign exchange every single year. Almost the size of India's entire defence budget. Paid out, year after year, to foreign shipping companies just to move Indian goods on foreign vessels.

This is the biggest import dependency in India that nobody talks about.

We obsess over oil imports and gold imports. Meanwhile India quietly funds the world's shipping industry for the privilege of being a trading nation that does not own its own trade.

Now look at how small we are on the building side.
India's share in global shipbuilding is 0.06%. China sits at ~55%, South Korea at ~28%, Japan at ~13%. The top three control roughly 95% of global deliveries. India ranks around 20th. Vietnam builds nearly 17 times more ships than India.

That is the starting point.
On 24 September 2025, the Cabinet finally moved.
A ₹69,725 crore package landed in a single shot:
🔹 ₹24,736 cr Shipbuilding Financial Assistance Scheme, extended till March 2036
🔹 ₹25,000 cr Maritime Development Fund
🔹 ₹19,989 cr Shipbuilding Development Scheme
🔹 Target: 4.5 million GT of new capacity, 30 lakh jobs, ₹4.5 lakh crore of investment

Wrapped inside the larger Maritime Amrit Kaal Vision 2047, which plans ~₹80 lakh crore of total maritime investment and an ambition to enter the top 5 global shipbuilding nations.

The fleet is already starting to move.
In FY26, India added 94 ships under the Indian flag with 25.67 lakh DWT of capacity. In FY25 the corresponding number was 45 ships and 7.72 lakh DWT. The pace has more than doubled in a single year. The next target is to re-flag 300 foreign vessels under the Indian flag by 2030.

This is the setup. Now where does the money actually sit?
The biggest mistake investors will make is treating "maritime" as one basket. Shipbuilding, shipping, ship repair and dredging have completely different economics, different cycles, different risk profiles. The smarter frame is to split the theme into buckets.

1⃣The defence shipbuilding monopoly:
Mazagon Dock. Order book of ₹23,758 cr as of 31 Dec 2025. But the real story is the pipeline.
🔹 P-75(I) submarine programme: ~₹70,000 cr, final negotiations on
🔹 Three additional Kalvari-class submarines on nominated basis: ~₹36,000 cr
🔹 Q3 FY26 PAT ₹880 cr on ₹3,601 cr revenue, 24% operating margin
🔹 Management openly targeting a ₹1 lakh crore order book by end of FY26

This is not a commercial shipbuilder. This is India's submarine monopoly with a Navratna tag.

2⃣The defence + commercial + repair hybrid
Cochin Shipyard. Order book ~₹21,100 cr. The hidden engine is the repair business: Q1 FY26 ship repair EBIT margin was 44.2%, against single-digit margins in new shipbuilding. The new dry dock now supports Suezmax tankers, Capesize bulkers and large container vessels. Strategic tie-ups with Drydocks World (UAE) and HD KSOE (South Korea) are repositioning Cochin from a defence-PSU into a credible global commercial builder.

Repair is the quiet compounder. Shipbuilding is the optionality.

3⃣The large yard wildcard
Swan Defence and Heavy Industries. The old Reliance Naval yard at Pipavav, acquired and restarted in 2024.
🔹 India's largest dry dock: 662 m by 65 m
🔹 Fabrication capacity: 164,000 tonnes per year
🔹 First Indian shipyard to win an international chemical tanker order: $227 million contract signed in January 2026 with Norway's Rederiet Stenersen for 6 IMO Type II tankers, with an option for 6 more
🔹 Training ship export order from the Royal Navy of Oman
🔹 Teaming Agreement with Mazagon Dock for Landing Platform Docks

The infrastructure is there. The execution, working capital discipline and order conversion still have to be proven. High optionality, real risk.

4⃣Indian cargo on Indian ships
Shipping Corporation of India. The most direct exposure to re-flagging and Indian fleet expansion.
🔹 MoU with BPCL, HPCL and IOCL for a JV to own and operate 59 vessels for petroleum and hydrocarbon transport
🔹 Inducted two VLGCs Sahyadri and Shivalik (~82,000 cubic metres each) on the Persian Gulf to India route
🔹 Vision 2047 fleet expansion plan of ~₹1.5 trillion
But shipping is a cyclical asset business. Freight rates, vessel prices and fuel costs swing hard. SCI has to be analysed like an asset cycle company, not as an infra compounder.

5⃣The boring infrastructure layer
Dredging, marine craft, port support services. Less glamorous, less news-worthy. But as Vadhavan and Galathea Bay scale, and as ports deepen drafts to handle bigger vessels, this segment quietly compounds. Knowledge Marine is the listed name to watch in this corner.

Now the honest part.

This is not a one-year earnings story.

Shipbuilding orders take years to convert. Margins are fixed-price and lumpy. Working capital can stretch hard. And global competition is brutal. China alone took roughly 69% of global new orders in 2025 by deadweight tonnage.

So, the correct framework is not “shipping stocks will go up because government announced policy.”

That is weak thinking.

The correct framework is:
🔹 Who has the dry dock?
🔹 Who has the design capability?
🔹 Who has the order conversion track record?
🔹 Who can build for export, not just government tenders?
🔹 Who has recurring repair or service revenue that softens the cyclicality?

India's maritime push is real. The outlay is large. The policy runway extends all the way to March 2036 for the SBFAS scheme. And the strategic logic is unarguable. A $75 billion annual freight outflow is too big to ignore for a country that wants to be a $30 trillion economy by 2047.

But the theme is a 22-year journey, not a 22-week trade.

The names that compound here will be the ones that quietly convert policy beneficiary status into actual cash flow generation.

📌Disclaimer: For educational purposes only. Not a buy or sell recommendation.