Indian Missiles News & Discussions - 30 June 2022

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Missiles News & Discussions - 30 June 2022

ShauryaT wrote: 22 May 2026 01:03 The procurement is a rushed one and a small order to fill a gap. This gap will be truly fulfilled with a Pinaka Mk3, under development. What do you want to tell the army - wait? How do you seek to destroy the 100+ disbursed locations for drone launchers?
The question is why it need rushed when we are operating Pinaka from Kargil times? Is it not the Army chief, the CDS and the Minister himself to forsee the need to have a rocket that can go long range? Its only now the likes of Pinaka Mk-III (LRGR-120) being readied. Our leadership as always keep failing us big time.
It's only now these kind of plans are being approved and in the meantime imported? Until money is detected, will this not come under corruption? Though this is the incompetence of the highest order starting from DM himself.
DRDO Plans to Expand Pinaka Long-Range Guided Rocket Family with New 300 km and 450 km Precision Rockets
https://defence.in/threads/drdo-plans-t ... ets.17013/
ashthor

Post by ashthor »

Its because we are reactive not proactive. We had the Nishant UAV. If we had persisted then
we would have a good ecosystem but instead we choose to do a Arjun on it. Now i read somewhere that
they are planning to buy a similar Israeli system.

How Indigenous GaN Seekers Revolutionise Indian Missile Lethality, Giving Astra Mk2 and Rudram-III a Powerful ECCM Edge
https://defence.in/threads/how-indigeno ... dge.17814/
stephen

Post by stephen »

ShauryaT wrote: 22 May 2026 01:03
stephen wrote: 21 May 2026 11:33
Pralay a pseudo ballistic missile system as a replacement for a rocket? Apples and Oranges. These missiles are not for artillery formations but specialized missile groups that man the Brahmos kind. The cost of a Pralay is about $4 million a pop. The cost of a Prinaka Mk2 or Smerch is in the $150-$200K for each. These Israeli rockets fill a gap - the ability to get precision targeting for up to 300 KM for less than $300K. BTW: Each Brahmos is $5m a pop. If precision (<5m CEP) rockets can do the job, why spend on expensive missiles for the "same" job.

The procurement is a rushed one and a small order to fill a gap. This gap will be truly fulfilled with a Pinaka Mk3, under development. What do you want to tell the army - wait? How do you seek to destroy the 100+ disbursed locations for drone launchers?
The need for a projectile of this range is not the question. But letting our own developments in these systems to just waste away and then import something as part of emergency procurement requirement is galling. I took the example of the Pralay because we have a well developed missile eco system by now and if we wanted something like the PULS system then we could have easily developed it. But we didnt and now we buy them from Israel saying that we urgently require them and we have no comparable system!!. The cherry on top is the assembling and testing of a supposedly proven system and renaming it to make it sound like we have developed it! We in BR are much much better informed than the mango janta and can catch this but most of our people cant and so there would be no questions on this. Basically no one will be pressurised to answer the rational behind so many of these emergency procurements from foreign sources.
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

ashthor wrote: 22 May 2026 09:57 Its because we are reactive not proactive. We had the Nishant UAV. If we had persisted then
we would have a good ecosystem but instead we choose to do a Arjun on it. Now i read somewhere that
they are planning to buy a similar Israeli system.
The Americans were flying such drones from ships in GW1 !!
Years of neglect can’t be undone now and as a reaction the lobby gets to imports relatively low ticket items. I think current forces leadership won’t like to risk it either and we needed a rocket force day before yesterday!
So beg borrow copy-paste to get there is happening. And if Bakis can green coat why not us.
Having said that I hope with Kusha we also have an aggressive rocket force defined. That will throw up our gaps in different ranges and we will plug in some foreign maal for now and hopefully indigenise later

India successfully test-launches Agni-1 ballistic missile
NEW DELHI: India on Friday successfully test-fired short-range ballistic missile 'Agni-1' from the integrated test range at Odisha's Chandipur, the defence ministry said.
The launch validated all operational and technical parameters, it said.
"The test was carried out under the aegis of the Strategic Forces Command," the ministry said.

The Agni 1 to 4 missiles have ranges from 700 km to 3,500 km and they have already been deployed.

We can expect approval if Modi 4.0 happens. In Some areas Modi govt feels like UPA era and not the Vajpayee era when bold decisions on Nuke test happened fully knowing Sanction will happen. Still remember those days, when the coterie commie intellectual leeches like profools came to campuses giving speech to sign petition against Nuclear weapons. Only two of us did not sign it.

DRDO chairman's from V.K Saraswat times (2012-13) are saying we are ready if govt approved. More than a decade has passed. Technology has grown leaps and bounds during these times. Hope govt can approve it and hope it's designed to go global rather than limit it to cover half of the world. Even silo based variants if that's what gives us global reach (14,000 km). Russians have 18000 km range one. or after Agni-VI there need to be a true silo based ICBM that can give us the reach and payload carrying capaiblity like other Powers.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RS-28_Sarmat
U.s is developing the LGM-35 Sentinel
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LGM-35_Sentinel
The chinese claimed range of 15,000 km DF-41
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DF-41

India's 10,000+ km Range Agni-VI ICBM Fully Design-Ready, Awaits Govt Nod for Hardware Prototyping and Development
https://defence.in/threads/indias-10-00 ... ent.17821/

Speaking recently at the ANI National Security Summit 2.0 in New Delhi, DRDO Chairman Samir V. Kamat confirmed that the agency is fully prepared to begin hardware prototyping and full-scale development as soon as it receives formal approval from the central government.