Google Earth updates more cities and airports in India

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

rsharma wrote:SAM site near Islamabad (HQ-2?????):
33 32' 41.23" N, 73 16' 03.80" E

& what about this site;is it also a SAM site?
33 34' 09.06" N, 73 11' 48.21" E
Interesting SAM site layout at the first coordinates. Almost like the Star of David.

The second one seems like a future residential development project with streets and cul-de-sacs. :eek:
SSSalvi

Post by SSSalvi »

RonyKJ wrote:With regard to the camoflaging of sensitive sites, I smell a rat. The GoI stands to lose either way.

Scenario 1: If GoI does not protest about high res pics being made available by Google earth, then any sensitive sites any where in India will be publicly visible and interested people can find them.

Scenario 2: If GoI wants these hitherto unknown sites camoflaged, then it has to reveal to Google Earth where these sites are. So if there are underground missile silos, their broad location would have to be revealed to Google Earth.

The question is: How confidential is Google's info. Can Google deny such info to the US govt ? I doubt it. So either way we lose. I would choose the first option. At least they have to work hard to find the sites. By asking google to camoflage a specific area, we are making Unkil's work easier.
Perhaps with ' I scratch you you scratch me ' policy Google may keep the Indian secrets if it decides to buy images from India ( Carto-2 ?? ) at a cheaper rate!

Am I dreaming too much? Let's wait and watch.

==========

S^3
SSSalvi

Post by SSSalvi »

From Times of India dated Today

[quote]

Sounds to come alive on Google Earth

New York: Here’s good news for internet enthusiasts. Ethnic sounds — right from the Brazilian rain forest to Arctic ice sheets — will now accompany the location-sighting venture on Google Earth.
“Our objective is to bring the world alive,â€

Google As Terror Tool?
In a federal criminal complaint, an excerpt from which you'll find below, one of the accused, Abdul Kadir, reportedly told cohorts to use the popular satellite software after he determined that surveillance video shot by the men was "not sufficiently detailed for operational purposes."
Jayram

Sargodha AFB Found Something interesting

Post by Jayram »

32° 1'54.88"N 72°40'12.24"E
Folks this set of structures has piqued my interest. This set of hardened bldgs is off Rnway 32. If you look closely you can see a truck making its way out of the complex. If you follow the road off the complex one branch paralles the runway and ends up forking at the top of runway into those hardened hangers storing the planes.
So the question is what are these structuers for? Are these the bomb storage areas ? Or something else ?
-Jayram

Re: Sargodha AFB Found Something interesting

Jayram wrote:32° 1'54.88"N 72°40'12.24"E
So the question is what are these structuers for? Are these the bomb storage areas ? Or something else ?
-Jayram
One can primarily see three types of structures:

1. Semi-circular with extended sides.
2. Circular buildings with a conical shape roofs, and
3. Rectangular buildings.

The circular buildings have blast shields. These could be ammo dumps. One can just about make out a doorway entrance to each circular building. Makes sense.

The semi-circular shaped buildings are located in the middle of the development and thus are meant to accessible to all the buildings around the facility. These could be maintenance/truck storage facilities. Note: no blast shields for these buildings but the buildings face in the opposite direction from each other for easy all round access. Perhaps the theory is that one can afford to lose a few trucks but not all.

The rectangular buildings could be offices, workshops, maintenance storage, etc. A couple of these buildings have blast shields (could be officers apartments, offices, etc).

Note: no vehicles anywhere (except for one truck trying to leave the compound).

Note that the road that leaves this facility goes towards the hardened shelters for aircrafts, spread all over the area.

Question: is the residential area called Ledeke for air force personnel? If so, their pilots sure live in style.

Paki Highways for landing and takeoffs

During the past couple of years, I have been reading (ok, trolling) paki news reports that their pilots have been practicing landing and takeoffs from national highways around the country. In case in times of war their AFBs are destroyed or rendered inoperable for a duration. My guess is that the new motorways that Nawaz had started and Mushy is now completing have straight extended stretches in isolated locations for such purposes. It will be interesting to identify and reveal those likely stretches of highways on Google Earth, and expose them on BR. :twisted:
Jayram

Re: Sargodha AFB Found Something interesting

Post by Jayram »

anupmisra wrote: The circular buildings have blast shields. These could be ammo dumps. One can just about make out a doorway entrance to each circular building. Makes sense.]
Will make quite a fireworks demonstration for the IAF no? I wonder if the a Prithvi/Brahmos has the precion/penetration ability for this job.
Though a Daisy Cutter al la USAF would probably be more appropriate.
Question: is the residential area called Ledeke for air force personnel? If so, their pilots sure live in style.
I am not sure those bunglows are any differerent from the ones our senior officers would live in. They do appear big though going by the size of the cars as comparizon. They do have a pool at the "Club House" but again that would be pretty standard in a major af base no?
-Jayram[/quote]
Shalav

Post by Shalav »

B737(?) over Mumbai University PG campus in Vidyanagri.

19 04 28.89n, 72 51 37.34e
Shalav

Post by Shalav »

This .kmz lists towns in countries starting with I in Google Earth.

Iceland / India / Indonesia / Iran / Iraq / Ireland / Israel / Italy

You can move the India part to your My Places folder in Google Earth.

Please be aware: when download opens in google earth it takes 500 MB of memory.

Download from Google Earth Community

Re: Paki Highways for landing and takeoffs

anupmisra wrote:During the past couple of years, I have been reading (ok, trolling) paki news reports that their pilots have been practicing landing and takeoffs from national highways around the country. In case in times of war their AFBs are destroyed or rendered inoperable for a duration. My guess is that the new motorways that Nawaz had started and Mushy is now completing have straight extended stretches in isolated locations for such purposes. It will be interesting to identify and reveal those likely stretches of highways on Google Earth, and expose them on BR. :twisted:
This is actually very silly. 1 or 2 such spots might exist. Rest is just hogwash. The highways "can" only be used for emergency landing when low in fuel and for nothing else. After that there will be huge problems, from where does the plane get its fuel (in thousands of liters) for the next sortie? Who will be available for doing the maintainance work required. During battle actually such planes will be sitting ducks.

An airbase is not a place only for runways. They will have radar cover, ground staff, fuel depots and etc etc. Without these things, a military airbase cannot exist.
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

But then the europeans have been using highways for military runways for so many years now. they have based VTOLs - Harriers under trees with tent camps in the fields adjoining. The required infrastructure that you talk about was always mobile among persurveyed and perpared sites.

In the pakistani context, a pakistan, on the brink of loosing everything to India, with no strategic depth, runways / airbases bombed out, will resort to fighters hiding out in fields, landing /taking off fromhighways. Just like it would be difficult for the invading indian army to take over a pakistani town, because of the sheer number of weapons in the hands of civilians. So too the pakistanis hope to make it difficult for IAF to take out all the airfields.

On a NNN note, the fields adjoining the runways have sheep breeding farms so the savings on a mess for the troops will be immense.

The Sweeds pionered the concept og "highway airports". They have plentyful highways and have build an entire doctrine arround it. At predefined places along the highway (as well as mobile units with fuel tankers, maintntace crew and other support staff) they can turn small streches of highway into airfields. There are predefined areas, that are prepared for the specific purpose, with depos of bombs etc. Typically they would be able to tow the airplanes into wooded areas, along the highway, during the maintnance. It is a highly effective and useful concept.

The Draken, Viggen and Gripen is also designes arround this concept.

But the concept was made during the 60's, when the sats were not so advanced and it was easy to hide.

In the India-Pakistan concept it is very different. TSP planes do not have the same ability to take off an land on short streches. The weather is clear during large parts of the year, hence sats can be used. The Pakistani planes will be monitored with Awacs and spies on the ground. (India maintaines thousands of spies, on the ground, in TSP). Besides, TSP only has a few streaches of highway.

So the whole Hiway is all mumbojumbo from a practical term.

One can primarily see three types of structures:

1. Semi-circular with extended sides.
2. Circular buildings with a conical shape roofs, and
3. Rectangular buildings.

The circular buildings have blast shields. These could be ammo dumps. One can just about make out a doorway entrance to each circular building. Makes sense.

The semi-circular shaped buildings are located in the middle of the development and thus are meant to accessible to all the buildings around the facility. These could be maintenance/truck storage facilities. Note: no blast shields for these buildings but the buildings face in the opposite direction from each other for easy all round access. Perhaps the theory is that one can afford to lose a few trucks but not all.

The rectangular buildings could be offices, workshops, maintenance storage, etc. A couple of these buildings have blast shields (could be officers apartments, offices, etc).

Note: no vehicles anywhere (except for one truck trying to leave the compound).

Note that the road that leaves this facility goes towards the hardened shelters for aircrafts, spread all over the area.

Ledeke is definately for airforcepersonell, as the main roundabout has a fighter at display.

The circular buildings are approx 20 m X 15 m. It is likely that they contain runnway making equipment. In case the airfield is bombed, they will be able to repair the runway at short notice. It explains why there is a direct road leading to the airfield, as well as a rather wide ground are, in front of each gate that is showing signs of usage.

OT but in case of regime collapse, the PAF will prefer to save their assets by flying them to China or Iran. Other routes are likely to be blocked by IN/IAF

it is unlikely that they will fight a last ditch battle to the death - hoping instead for others to intervene and save the day. and even if they do it will be nuclear and its not obvious that they an fight even a nuclear war to the death (other than their own)
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

Pakistan AF planes are unlikely to reach either Iran or China. Their only possible escape, and I repeat ESCAPE route was supposed to be Afghanistan - currently unavailable, and likely to be so in the near forseeable future. They are sorely aware of this reality.

In this scenario, pakistan may have a plan to hide aircrafts in the Jungle onlee. Poor pakistan airforce wallahs, when war breaks out, their Air force's got no place to hide. Not in the air not in the air bases

[url=http://navbharattimes.indiatimes.com/ar ... 241870.cms] देश के टॉप सीकà¥
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

I dont read much Hindi in the above post. But from what I have seen in wikimapia.org there is an overwhelming preponderance of Indians marking up Indian landmarks. We have mapped everything from the neighbourhood public urinal to our favorite girl's home. This is alarming. Check the following list for number of updates for major cities

New Delhi 61415
Mumbai 149864
Bangalore 69295
Chennai 80803
Hyderabad 59038
Tokyo 6189
Karachi 8961
Lahore 8038
New York 10300
Los Angeles 9900
London 11248
Paris 6973
Moscow 26410
Shenyang 140
Shanghai 1658
Beijing 2267
Shalav

Post by Shalav »

Google Earth 4.2 now includes 'Google Sky'.

I dont know if anyone is familiar with Thagla / Namka Chu battle of the 1962 India china war. Its essentially the war that started it all.

Checking the area in Google Earth - it is now available in High Res

NamkaChu River

The dispute started because india insisted that the border ran North of the river on the ridge while china insisted it was south of the river. GE shows the border south of the river.

When you zoom down to the River - where 7 Brigade was almost massacared, you will find amazing detail on how close the Chinese now have buitl roads. They have a windingmotorable road that connects many outposts right on the thagla ridge - something unthinkable in the 62 war.

Here is an example of one right on the ridge. If you follow, it goes all along the river in NW direction.

On the Indian side, just south of the border our chaps have built a road as well and if you start at the destination point and go back to where it starts from, it will take you thru some increcible switchbacks and valleys and crests..

this sort of stuff was mere dreams in the 60s
Naidu

Post by Naidu »

Jagan wrote:Here is an example of one right on the ridge. If you follow, it goes all along the river in NW direction.
What are those extra-long buildings along the road? Barracks? There seem to other smaller buildings further east on the same road which could be barracks. But what would require long straight buildings so close to the border?
On the Indian side, just south of the border our chaps have built a road as well and if you start at the destination point and go back to where it starts from, it will take you thru some increcible switchbacks and valleys and crests.
Definitely seems like some awesome road building work in unstable and steep terrain. Would make for an incredible bicycling ride! But I don't think the IA will be arranging tours there anytime soon. :-)

Naidu wrote:[
Definitely seems like some awesome road building work in unstable and steep terrain. Would make for an incredible bicycling ride! But I don't think the IA will be arranging tours there anytime soon. :-)
you can take trips right upto tawang - which has similar terrain and roads as well
Naidu

Post by Naidu »

Jagan wrote:
Naidu wrote:[
you can take trips right upto tawang - which has similar terrain and roads as well
Maybe on my next trip to India and Hyd. I've never been to the NorthEast...
Shalav

Post by Shalav »

up...

Mahabodhi temple built next to the Bodhi tree where Gautam Buddh attained enlightenment.

The tree immediately to the West is itself grown from a sapling of a descendant of the original peepul tree under which the Buddh meditated. This sapling was brought from a tree in Sri Lanka. It provides shade to the original spot where the Buddh is supposed to have sat.

24 41 45.57n, 84 59 28.81e
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

Dear Jagan,
Isn't this the Bum La pass road? I thought I located the Dulon Shankou pass, but it seems to be in low res. No road visible at Dulon Shankou.

Also is Rezang La visible in high res in the kashmir sector? I just about located chushul.
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

Anyone got placemarks to the peaks involved in the kargil war, esp
tiger hill, tololing ridges? Tried for several hours without any success.

Wanna fly an F-16 above Lohegaon AFS? Well you can do it with Google Earth!

1) Launch the Google Earth program
2) Hit Ctrl + Alt +A
3) You get a choice of two aircraft - an F-16 and a SR22 propeller-powered aircraft
4) You can select a number of airbases to fly from, where you can take-off and both land.

In order to fly over Lohegaon AFS or any airbase, take Google Earth to that particular spot and follow the above instructions.

Please click on the link below for your keyboard controls:

http://earth.google.com/intl/en/usergui ... index.html

Since Lohegaon AFS is not pre-loaded into the software, it appears that the aircraft is not open to a landing. Still working on that.

Not sure if this has been posted before, but it appears that sat image of Lohegoan AFS has been updated and you can see Rambhas of No.20 Lightnings and No.30 Rhinos squadrons lying parked at the airbase. What is really interesting however is 14 Rambhas lying parked at the south west corner of the airbase.

Rakesh wrote:Not sure if this has been posted before, but it appears that sat image of Lohegoan AFS has been updated and you can see Rambhas of No.20 Lightnings and No.30 Rhinos squadrons lying parked at the airbase. What is really interesting however is 14 Rambhas lying parked at the south west corner of the airbase.
Great catch. Seeing the ex-24 Sqn Ks piled up in the corner as if they were derelicts was .. (loss of words).

http://maps.google.com/maps?start=10&t= ... 29062&z=18

I wonder where the other 4 Ks are..
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

India in Antarctica

Dakshin Gangotri: India's first station built there in 1983, now abandoned. Site is given
70.44.59.85-S 11.46.00.50-E

Maitri: current active station in antarctica. 70.46.00.35-S 11.44.03.25-E

India Point: Memorial to where 3 indian expedition scientists perished (Low Res) 71.44.58.77-S 11.12.32.49-E

Other trivia: One area marked as "Crashed Alein Spaceship" in Low res, nothing particularly visible 79.36.50.87-S 7.50.34.45-E

Any one got links to Siachin, Bana post etc or Rezang La(Indo-china LAC), or Kargil conflict- identifying peaks eg tiger hill, plz post or mail me: omlettebread@yahoo dot com
SSSalvi

Post by SSSalvi »

I had marked Siachen last year. Here is the link: ( .kml file ) .. this is compatible to Google Earth.

Main component Long = 77.0167678WE,
and Lat = 35.51378

Link is : http://s214.photobucket.com/albums/cc60 ... iachen.jpg

===============
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<kml xmlns="http://earth.google.com/kml/2.1">
<Placemark>
<name>Siachen Glacier in Himalayas</name>
<description>This Siachen Glacier area in Himalayas which is the highest battlefield in the world. It is some 5 Kms above MSL and is on the boundry of India-Pakistan and is permenently manned by Indian Army.</description>
<LookAt>
<longitude>77.01676781017333</longitude>
<latitude>35.51378800980589</latitude>
<altitude>0</altitude>
<range>59146.53562275854</range>
<tilt>6.925982952185471e-009</tilt>
<heading>0.0097423792086146</heading>
</LookAt>
<styleUrl>root://styleMaps#default+nicon=0x307+hicon=0x317</styleUrl>
<Point>
<coordinates>77.01676781017335,35.5137880098059,0</coordinates>
</Point>
</Placemark>
</kml>
==========
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

Dear SSSalvi, I have all the various peaks in the Karakoram range, Concordia, Saltoro range, and all the passes in the saltoro range marked out. How do I post the kml file to share. Looking into open literature, it is very difficult to locate the various areas, eg the bana post, etc understandably due to their classified nature, from the internet.

SSSalvi and PSaggu.

KML files can be attached to a rapidshare.com page. just go to rapidshare.com and upload it there.

A better option is to have an account at bbs.keyhole.com (or org) which is the official google earth discussion board. Any KML you post there will soon appear within Google Earth itself. there is also an option on that board in which you can open a KML in a Google Maps Page.
SSSalvi

Google BBS is overcrowded

Post by SSSalvi »

Google Bulleitin Board ( bbs.keyhole ) is the official discussion board of Google Earth(GE). But unfortunately it is very crowded and every one wants to butt in.

Google Earth Hacks is a smaller but appaers to be a slightly better technically oriented and definitely not very crowded. ( Don't be misled by the word Hacks ).

http://www.gearthhacks.com/

-------------

In GE you can mark the location with a location pin and name it and make the placemark public. One need not know that there exists a .kml file at all. All those things are internal to GE.

------------

Actual strategic intities like manned posts etc may not be visible because the resolution of Himalayas is not very high ( Becuse it is not nessary to have it in high res. High res is for habitated lands not for wilderness .. unfortunately armies have to trade those areas which are barren and difficult to reach )

Google Maps has started a new 'Terrain View' feature

Check this link for the Kargil-Dras Area

http://maps.google.com/maps?t=p&hl=en&i ... .8638&z=11

Dont know if this was posted before or not

http://maps.google.com/maps?t=h&hl=en&i ... &z=18&om=1

Looks like a Heron and a Searcher side by side at Jammu airfield
SSSalvi

Re: Google BBS is overcrowded

Post by SSSalvi »

SSSalvi wrote:
Actual strategic intities like manned posts etc may not be visible because the resolution of Himalayas is not very high
Not all areas are in lo-res.

Recent Chinese attack on Bunkers in Doka La, near Torsa Nala is in hi-res.

See http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 8&start=80 ( my post on 2nd Dec ) for images

=========
S^3
amolvp

Binori Mosque

Post by amolvp »

pauldevis wrote:
Ananth wrote:paul:

Any luck on muridke, lahore (Jamat-ul-dawa) + binori madrassa karachi. They are within/near city so will be difficult to locate them without a well known landmark. Also, I am interested to see if google got any close ups near LOC, to get more info on these traning camps that we hear.
Sorry Ananth, No idea on those three places.

About the terrorist training camps, google had put up high res pictures of Muzafarrabad after the earthquake, but then removed them (they had mentioned that it was going to be temporary ).
It seems that someone has marked out the Binori Mosque in Karachi.

24°52'53.75"N
67° 2'30.77"E

Muridke
31°48'13.12"N
74°15'11.33"E

The same shoe pinches the king now:

Pentagon bans Google teams from bases

1 hour, 24 minutes ago, yahoo News, march 6, 2008

The Pentagon has banned Google Earth teams from making detailed street-level video maps of U.S. military bases.

A message sent to all Defense Department bases and installations around the country late last week told officials to not allow the popular mapping Web site from taking panoramic views inside the facilities.

Michael Kucharek, spokesman for U.S. Northern Command, told The Associated Press on Thursday that the decision was made after crews were allowed access to at least one base. He said military officials were concerned that allowing the 360-degree, street-level video could provide sensitive information to potential adversaries and endanger base personnel.

His comments came just a few days after published reports suggested that protesters used Google Earth to help plot their access to the roof of the Parliament building in London.
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

Delhi International Airport with the new Terminal 3 and the new runway. This Runway would be the longest in South East Asia, 6th longest in the world.
DIAL 1

Ultimate look of Delhi International Airport. There would be 4 runways, with the earlier inclined runway 9 - 27 realigned. The entire area from the gurgaon expressway to terminal 3 would be one huge Tramac for aircrafts! Scheduled by 2028
DIAL 2