Infrastructure News & Discussion

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Bangalore is fast on track to becomming a living hell. But that does not really matter, becasue it will give other places a chance. Now the It-companies have started to recruit and set up shop in smaller cities.

If only the growth can be maintained, there will be sufficent funds for infrastructure development. It is very easy to compare Bangalore with China and Malaysia. But those countries have avarage income several times greater then India.
Do not forget that India is still an extreemly poor country. Only 50 km outsideBangalore, there are villages without schools, hospitals or even basic sanitation.Small children die becasue of malnutrition. So where do you spend your money?

Rishirishi wrote:Bangalore is fast on track to becomming a living hell. But that does not really matter, becasue it will give other places a chance. Now the It-companies have started to recruit and set up shop in smaller cities.

If only the growth can be maintained, there will be sufficent funds for infrastructure development. It is very easy to compare Bangalore with China and Malaysia. But those countries have avarage income several times greater then India.
Do not forget that India is still an extreemly poor country. Only 50 km outsideBangalore, there are villages without schools, hospitals or even basic sanitation.Small children die becasue of malnutrition. So where do you spend your money?
Sorry, I completely disagree with the viewpoint. India is not a poor country, it has 300B almost in foreign exchange reserves. It is badly managed by the politicians and babus. Blore is not a living hell either. There are plenty of nice living places within Blore. What Blore is going through is the pains of unstructured growth. A lot of places have the wherewithal for becoming great. Too many hallis caught up in a haste. As for the poor outside, a lot of the so called farmers are richer than the ordinary IT folks, cashed out of land deals and never pay any taxes. So reserve the sweeping stmt. There are however a few caught in the morass of badly managed bureaucracy but wait another generation to see change. Change is coming, since literacy rates are going up and villagers have access to color TVs with numerous channels. India is hard to understand but changes are coming and it is only a matter of time before the nation shines, back to its old glory days of world dominance, economically, culturally, spiritually.

Blaming everything on the politicians, governmnet etc is a favorite misconseption. The real problem of India is poverty and low income. And the low income is a result of the semi communist policies for over 40 years. Before that the british were in India and left the country illitrate.

Sorry to say, India is a very poor country. Go to the villages or shanti towns in any city.
And low income is the mother of all problem.

India is a very poor country.
IMO No. but, You are entitled to your opinion, since this is one of those myths repeated ad nauseum. Every nation has its fair share of poor, India happens to have a little bit more, mainly caused by the British devastation of India. You go to some South Asian countries and the situation is not any different. The good news for India is that it is growing at a fairly good clip, SEZs will create more jobs and ergo more money in the system. The building phase everywhere is hectic and it is hard to find labor. Village people have meals and a roof, they may have low income but they are not poor poor. The Indian nation is undergoing a transformation, education is up, people can legitimately create a business and thrive. There are no inherent bottlenecks preventing a transformation. Infrastructure is not keeping pace nationwide. The politicians and govt sarkari workers are seeped in corruption, some consider it as their birthright. At least visit a place in the south of India and understand the current dynamics of an economic boom. In a village of mysore for example the local cowherd wants to just take a picture with you. Gone are the days when children used to run around almost naked with little food for the day. Malnourishment is still rampant but that is simply a matter of education, people not taking the right kinds of food. There is enough food being produced in India for everyone, some food is being exported. this is a far cry from the British induced famines of 60s, 70s, 80s. no siree, India has transformed, it may not conform to your perceptions of what it needs to be but I think within a generation change will happen and things are going to improve vastly. I am optimistic because India has all the ingredients for change. If only the bandicoot old generation politicians and corrupt sarkari workers vanish overnight, things would change faster.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Folks IMO we were very poor at one stage but poverty is on decline. There is no straightforward answer to India, if we are poor or rich.

The only way to evade poverty is 100% children going to school. The poverty we see today is because of lack of awareness we had during & have after British raj. We are in a vicious cycle of poverty and education. Not having attended school leads to poverty and perhaps poverty discourages from someone having education.

This cycle can be broken only if GoI invests heavily in education and money is spent rightly. AFAIK, atleast in Gujarat govt. schools provides afternoon meals which motivates children to attend school. May be NGO's and GoI needs to go hand in hand. NGO's doing their task by motivating/convincing poor to attend schools and GoI doing its task by making them come daily.

I went to a hypermart named SPAR owned by the dubai based Lifestyle group, newly opened near my home. excellent selection of dry and fresh goods with US style wide aisles, high quality cold racks, cheese and salad counters, bake shop, wine shop, fish counter and a superb selection of meats ranging from leg of lamb, boneless chicken breast, legs, skin on, skin off, liver, kidneys, goats hoofs!, skinned rabbits, quails, roaster chicken, biryani and so on.....unsually huge number of checkout counters and helpful staff. its easily equal to the "whole foods/shaws" type outfits
abroad.

it is above a regular lifestyle departmental store in same building on IRR Koramangala....faithful might want to check it out.

there is a food court and kids play area above with a nice choice of food.

but we still lag behind in the thoughtful and commonsense touches that
deliver a world class product. in this instance the multistorey car park behind
(a) is approached through the delivery area wherein trucks and ace's are
coming and going
(b) ramp is too steep
(c) ground floor ramp entails a sharp 90' turn
(d) all the ramp corners are narrow even a santro/maruti800 has to
take half of it, then back up and move again...on ALL corners .. there is
man posted at each corner to stop the next car while this happens.

(e) horrible pillars everywhere in the parking area and less of parking
space.

In short the shopping area was designed by a top guy while the parking
area which is the 1st and last impression of the place was designed by a
monkey drunk on friday night or a petite/hot "School of planning" delhi bratty lady who snorted two lines of white powder off the glass table before starting on it.

its sad and kind of like how our AAI run airports are.

More likely that the cost of the ground, is so high, that they have to sqeeze as much as possible into the parking lot.

Elsewhere, the hypermarts are built on cheap land, outside the prime area. But the horrific traffic conditions, makes this unfeasable in India.

in this case there was land to extend the corners by 5 feet...its a total design failure and shows that nobody even checked the turning circle of cars before
construction. with a M800/Santro following a perfect line of attack it is possible to take direct turn with6 inches to spare (I did that on way out) but with typical attack angle or anything bigger like swift+ it is impossible.

Posted: 03 Feb 2008 Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

in this case there was land to extend the corners by 5 feet...its a total design failure and shows that nobody even checked the turning circle of cars before
construction. with a M800/Santro following a perfect line of attack it is possible to take direct turn with6 inches to spare (I did that on way out) but with typical attack angle or anything bigger like swift+ it is impossible
Most likely case is that the architect was new to designing Carparks. The utilastiaon of the ground is governed by the pemissable built up area. Ie, the builder will always try to minimise common areas.

But such things will be sorted out as the experiance grows.

Mall culture is only about 2-3 years old in India. . All over the world, the shops in the malls are not sold, but rented out. This allows for new shops to come in and there is an interest in maintaining the Mall. Most of the Indian malls are likely to fail in the long run

In India, the builders are just selling the shops, and getting out of the ownership role.
Rajesh_MR

Post by Rajesh_MR »

Lifestyle at IRR in Koramangala:
We went to the Lifestyle just this evening. Warning from Singha helped to better prepare SHQ. Totally agree with Singha's assessment of shop and parking lot.
We went up 3 floors without getting scrapped on sides and "n" point left 90 degree turns.
<rant>
I don't think it requires many years of experience to build good ramps. Just use some common sense and look around, forum mall has been running a full multi-storied parking lot for few years now. All the guy had to do was make a trip there and learn. Its not the ramp; even the parking lot is badly designed with pillars cropping up at most unexpected places.
Something Salarpuria can't be proud of.

</rant>

it was total chaos yesterday night, one lane of IRR was blocked by cars waiting to get inside. hordes of people moving up and down inside. one lift is between 0-2 the other 2-4. so there is a BG-MG tranship phase in between.

people should just get into Kmanagala 4th block and park in the nice interior roads there and walk to this mall unless its early in the morning.

it was total chaos yesterday night, one lane of IRR was blocked by cars waiting to get inside. hordes of people moving up and down inside. one lift is between 0-2 the other 2-4. so there is a BG-MG tranship phase in between.

people should just get into Kmanagala 4th block and park in the nice interior roads there and walk to this mall unless its early in the morning
I lived in Koramangla in 98. I remember taking long morning walks, in nice temprature and lots of trees. I lived in the area near the Raheja residency appartments. Really nice. While I was living there, I remember eating at some sagar resturants and going to a gym called Slim gym.

How is Koramangla like now? and what are the property prices like? just wondering. I havent been to Blore since.

Another undersea Internet cable damaged in Mideast: Indian firm
Another Middle East undersea Internet cable has been damaged, adding to disruption in Indian online services caused when several lines were cut earlier this week, a cable operating firm said Saturday.
Flag Telecom owns another undersea cable which was damaged off Egypt on Wednesday in the Mediterranean. Indian media reports have attributed that damage to a ship's anchor which dropped on the cable.

On the same day in Kuwait, the government reported two cables damaged by "weather conditions and maritime traffic."

Rishirishi wrote:How is Koramangla like now? and what are the property prices like? just wondering. I havent been to Blore since.
Koramanagala is hell on earth now. Forget about morning walks. It is choked with traffic anytime of the day. Much of that is due it's "strategic" Paki like geography, making it the place of choice whether you want to work in e-city/ring road/ITPL or the city and accessible to the airport, especially since the ring road cutting through the army farms (that road didnt exist in 98, so traffic would have been orders of magnitude less) was built.

Factor in all the new apts and the IT/Vity crowd and the malls, it has quickly gone down the toilet and is beyond redemption.

Rishi, that area you describe (1st and 4th block) is still very similar. being
the wealthiest part there is no temptation by people to commercialize the
place. the interior roads are still quiet, green and stately homes mostly dark at night because lord of the castle is either on tour abroad or working late hours.sukh sagar is still there, and still popular.
there are more shops on 80ft road near raheja and also near the games village. more gyms too.

the IRR is too crowded and onree way to salvage the situation is build a
road through army farms from IRR to ORR to divert away all the JP nagar,
Jayanagar, BTM, Bshankari traffic from Indiranagar side that is presently
moving through koramangala. that will cut down IRR traffic in Kmangala by half surely.

the sectors on opp side of road (between sukh sagar and Forum mall) are
more commercialized and not as high-end. I dont find them attractive but
there is some high end pocket near the koramangala club that is still a bit residential.

the most commercialzed sector is the one directly opp Forum (behind Bosch).

so what the US submarines did was make two cuts at the same time separated by many kilometers.

one cut they left for the repair ship.

the second cut was where they inserted their spying equipment.

with equipment in place on all cables going out of ME..... I wouldnt be
surprised in the 3rd Egypt cable also suffers a cut shortly.

That's exactly what I was thinking LOL.

It would be foolish to assume they are not keeping a close tab on internet traffic. They are probably archiving the entire forum of BR on a daily basis because its a continous treasure trove of information from a variety of sources.

FLAG owned by Reliance Communications or RIL ?

Advance tactical understanding required with them as well, because repair ships can easily figure out how the cut was made.

this is a pre-requisite to buying US businesses, the future owners must be good tools. Also reason why Chinese takeover is not preferred.

I am sure they have equipment to mimic sharkmouth or anchor drag cuts.
the USS jimmy carter can even cart around a special DSRV scabbed to its
rear deck for extended ops away from othership. these tend to have N-axis robot arms to which a variety of tools could be attached.

they must have setup onshore collection centers in Qatar, Bahrain and Egypt
to get these feeds and transmit to conus via satellite for processing.

the Egypt telco will surely not be part of the loop though.

Anchor of really big ship should be emulated, else common sense plus traffic video will prove nothing above surface of said calibre to rip out these thick pipes was present.

'Shock and awe' heavy handed operation by massa as usual since even a two-bit detective in the region will figure out lots of black in the lentils.

an old story:

How US Navy Tapped Soviet Undersea Cable
Operation Ivy Bells

Sea of Okhotsk, Russia, 1970s-1981

In the early 1970's, the U.S. government learned of the existence of an undersea cable running parallel to the Kuril Islands chain, connecting the major Soviet naval bases at Vladivostok and Petropavlovsk. At this time during the Cold War, the Sea of Okhotsk was aggressively claimed by the Russians as territorial waters, off limits to foreign vessels - especially U.S. warships. To this end, the Soviet Navy constructed a net of sound detection devices along the sea floor to warn of any unwanted visitors. Additionally, the entire area was the location of frequent surface and subsurface naval exercises. Nonetheless, despite these formidable obstacles, the potential for an unprecedented windfall of intelligence was simply too great to pass up.

Thus, a joint Navy-National Security Agency (NSA) mission was initiated, code-named Operation Ivy Bells, involving the use of U.S. Navy fast attack submarines working in conjunction with specially-trained Navy combat divers. Working in tandem, they would make monthly incursions into these dangerous waters to "tap" the line. One of the first such missions involved the USS Halibut (SSN-587) and the installation of a miniaturized, waterproof pod on the cable. This "wrap around" device, developed by the NSA, could eavesdrop on - and record - all communications passing through the line without the need for actually penetrating the wires inside. This capability was deemed necessary to prevent any possible damage to the cable that might then attract unwanted attention. In the event that the Russians chose to perform routine maintenance, the pod was designed to break off and fall to the sea bed in the event the line was raised for any reason.

Once the device was in place, subsequent missions were required in which a submarine would return to the location to pick up the six to eight weeks' worth of recordings inside the pod. For this operation, the frogmen would depart the sub's escape trunk, swim to the cable (reportedly with the aid of a minisub on occasion), remove the recorded tape, and then make their way back to the waiting submarine. This tape was then delivered to the NSA for processing and dissemination to the appropriate military and civilian agencies. Not long after the recovery of the first tapes, it was discovered that the Soviets felt so sure of the security of their undersea communication line, that the majority of the concersations recorded were completely uncoded! Needless to say, the eavesdropping on traffic between senior Soviet officers provided an invaluable look inside military operations in the region.

In 1981, however, this windfall came to an abrupt end when Western satellites photographed a small fleet of Russian warships gathered over the exact location of the listening device. One vessel was a unique deep salvage ship that had been monitored hurredly making its way across the globe to the site. This development caused a wave of concern through those assigned to the project, raising concerns that the operation had somehow been discovered. In what would later come to be viewed as one of the most dangerous missions of Ivy Bells, the USS Parch (SSN-683) was sent in to retrieve the next tape. Upon arrival, divers discovered that the pod had been removed. They quickly made their way back to the boat and the team exited the area, reportedly without incident.

It was clear that their fears has been well-founded. A major, but covert, investigation ended in with a startling revelation: This operation (along with at least seven other code-word operations) had been betrayed to the KGB in January 1980 by Robert Pelton, an employee of the National Security Agency for the sum of $35,000. Mr. Pelton was later convicted and sentenced to life in prison where he currently resides.

Operation Ivy Bells remains one of the most successful intelligence gathering operations in modern U.S. history, and could not have been accomplished without the daring and skill of U.S. Navy submarine officers and crew - and a handful of Navy frogmen.

(Postscript: The seized seafloor recording device is now on display in the museum at the former KGB headquarters in Moscow.)

After a long time, today I took a look at the SSC pages on the roads and highways in India.

And I wept!!!

Pages after pages of fantastic multi lane highways and expressways, much better than the CA highways. And not even a kilometre in my state, the world commiecrab land, Kerala.

I really wanted to take large format printouts of those, wrap the politicos in it tight and throw them all into the vembanad lake!!

Singha wrote:it was total chaos yesterday night, one lane of IRR was blocked by cars waiting to get inside. hordes of people moving up and down inside. one lift is between 0-2 the other 2-4. so there is a BG-MG tranship phase in between.

people should just get into Kmanagala 4th block and park in the nice interior roads there and walk to this mall unless its early in the morning.
Anybody knows what is the average time for a injuneer now during the peak hour to get from Indiranagar to Koramangala ?

It used to take me approximately 45 min from the flyover to reach the junction towards Ejipura when I had the misfortune of return home at 6 PM.

1 hour to reach from ITPL to IRR and another hour to reach from IRR to Ejipura. Add the agony of suffering from weak bladder on a bumpy road to the experience.

Dileep wrote:After a long time, today I took a look at the SSC pages on the roads and highways in India.

And I wept!!!

Pages after pages of fantastic multi lane highways and expressways, much better than the CA highways.
Are we on the same planet? SSC pages? What are those ? Better than CA ?Since when ?.

Will be driving to Chennai sometime this month. Will post here on how the roads are holding up etc..Should be good. They built the highways to robust world class standards..

Dileep wrote:After a long time, today I took a look at the SSC pages on the roads and highways in India.

And I wept!!!

Pages after pages of fantastic multi lane highways and expressways, much better than the CA highways.
Are we on the same planet? SSC pages? What are those ? Better than CA ?Since when ?.

Will be driving to Chennai sometime this month. Will post here on how the roads are holding up etc..Should be good. They built the highways to robust world class standards..
Get a nice hot water bag, you will need it :P
bart

Post by bart »

The highways are pretty decent these days, its the proverbial last mile into the city that is a mess with the land acquisition taking time and bad roads and long traffic jams being the norm.

yeah its the painful 1 hr to reach the highway and 1 hr on the return journey that puts me off long drives these days. hosur road used to be ok on weekends now the new flyover construction has put paid to that. tumkur side was always tough via yeshwantpur and neelamangala and the road to nandi hills devanhalli is getting built up rapidly. old madras rd to hoskote aint very pleasant until after hoskote but it aint 4 laned.

It used to take me approximately 45 min from the flyover to reach the junction towards Ejipura when I had the misfortune of return home at 6 PM.

now its just 5 mins from domlur to the 1st traffic light and 5-10 mins wait at
that light. once u enter ejipura by taking right , there is no issue for bikers.
the road is pretty bad though...nearly took out my car recently going to
drop one of my wife's girlie chums.

And I wept!!!

Pages after pages of fantastic multi lane highways and expressways, much better than the CA highways. And not even a kilometre in my state, the world commiecrab land, Kerala.

I really wanted to take large format printouts of those, wrap the politicos in it tight and throw them all into the vembanad lake!!
Dileep trust me I have been doing that since new years. approx 66 pages of awesome stuff. Hope people will soon learn proper driving etiquette. And to be honest you can't complaint either, everywhere in India those highways/expressways are beautiful. I perceived no regional quality difference except in case where the background scenery was awesome like MPE and some other sections.
Last edited by Sumeet on 04 Feb 2008 20:45, edited 1 time in total.

And I wept!!!

Vina,

Thread that dileep was referring to is this one:
http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=298320

The forum is www.skyscrapercity.com and in minimum words I should say you can take a good tour of the world and know how its changing/gonna change by visiting this one site only.

This is the India section of the forum. Take some time off and have a look, warning you may get addicted.

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/forumdisp ... orumid=450

You can find BRFites there. I think our JaiS posts there. By the way Jai if you post there, I just joined the forum. Will start posting soon.
Last edited by Sumeet on 04 Feb 2008 20:43, edited 1 time in total.

vina wrote: SSC pages? What are those ?
Skyscrapercity.com India infrastructure page.

Roads are decent, built to last at least 10+ years without rains causing yet another pothole. A lot of states are emulating the Golden Quad Standards set by Maj. Gen B.C. Kandhuri of BJP. Kangress slowed down the projects since T.R. Baaluuu's slush fund was low. Eventually most state highways will become 4 lane with landscaped center divider. Only wish the traffic is more disciplined. buses/trucks are underpowered hogging both lanes instead of being to the left and once in a while you get people jaywalking or traffic coming at you in the opposite direction.

NHAI has probably boosted by GDP rate by 0.5-1% per annum already.

Singha is golden quadrilateral completed yet ? I can't wait to go back to delhi. Haven't been there in approx 4 years. Just wanna see all those new roads.

4 years !!

you will be lucky to recognize your own colony, forget about the major places. gee why punish yourself with these long exiles unless you were(are?)
a P.I.G student ?

visit Noida , you wont recall a thing...there is a gigantic "mall of india" that you must visit there. the councourse is long as any I have seen abroad and
its three storeys atleast. takes a day to cover it properly.

GGN I havent visited but its changed even more.

place is awash with money..... people talk of lakhs like they used to crores
a few yrs back.

rings roads are one giant flyover after another, hundreds..thousands of new high quality "han std" buildings to replace the socialist rubble of nehru place and bhikaji cama place....metro lines crawling out everywhere, the piers into noida and faridabad are visible at mayur vihar.

you prolly havent seen the akshardham temple either....uber massive and uber high end that one. go in the evening and enjoy the light show also.

oh brother you have a lot of territory to cover!

I have this vision of some long lost prodigal NRI returning after 10 years and sitting crying on the footpath coz he cant locate his own home :rotfl:

lessons will be taught, and no prisoners will be taken :twisted:

well singha seems like you are true. My only means to keep myself updated is Skyscrapercity.com. Those updates by themselves are overwhelming, and it could be that they cannot produce all updates all the time on that forum. So visit back home will have some/lots of surprises.

Ever since my parents started vsiting US I didn't go back but maybe soon I will plan a trip back to india. Last time I was there was in june 04 for little over 2 months.

I will keep in mind all the things you have suggested. Thanks.
Last edited by Sumeet on 11 Feb 2008 11:12, edited 1 time in total.

i can't be that NRI, because first I ain't that prodigal :) and second On google earth I always trace the way from IGI to my home and I am successful all the time.

What a PIG student ?

I did my undergrad here and then worked for a little 2.5-3 years and now back to school for my graduate degree. May visit delhi this coming dec.

Oh by the way I got another question for you. Check nukkad thread. Its in the area of your expertise and out of topic for this thread.

PIG = poor indian graduate

For someone going to Gurgaon after 4 years, imagining the old Mehrauli-Gurgaon traffic jams, the new expressway will be a pleasant shock - eight lane access controlled all the way, plus service lanes outside. Delhi-NOIDA is no different, and if you venture beyond, there's the equally excellent 25km NOIDA-Gt.NOIDA expressway. Akshardham is a great view from the nearby overpass.

There's a lot to see around South Delhi (where I lived). Besides the ring road and general road improvements, the Delhi Metro, new and under-contruction ring expressways, and the fact that Noida and in particular Gurgaon, and probably unrecognizable to anyone who's not been there 5 years.

Regarding GQ, it is morely complete. It is the NSEW grid that is slow to take off, since its execution was primarily during UPA's tenure, and they've effectively dropped the ball after Khanduri's high standards.

I predict Sumeet will come back or post from home in a daze. Cameras and large amounts of photographic evidence are mandatory. I've been doing it on every trip home myself :)

and those cameras need to be used in trendy nightspots and malls too. LRDE radar as front end for tracking upto 60 targets.