Chandrayan-1 moon mission

Re: Chandrayan-1 mission launched succesfully

juvva wrote:perfect guidance....did this flight have a Vikram processor on it?
vavinash wrote:Yes this was first PSLV launch with indigenous microprocessor.
Vikram (the "chetana": subtle consciousness) carrying the "Vetaal" (the "sthool": material / rocket mass) to a riveting gaatha of Chandra-ma. Wah wah !!!

IIRC the Vikram based avionics was flight qualified on 2 earlier missions atop PSLV(secondary/reduendent avionics for qualification) and GSLV(primary system).
juvva

Post by juvva »

Arun_S wrote:
juvva wrote:perfect guidance....did this flight have a Vikram processor on it?
vavinash wrote:Yes this was first PSLV launch with indigenous microprocessor.
Vikram (the "chetana": subtle consciousness) carrying the "Vetaal" (the "sthool": material / rocket mass) to a riveting gaatha of Chandra-ma. Wah wah !!!

IIRC the Vikram based avionics was flight qualified on 2 earlier missions atop PSLV(secondary/reduendent avionics for qualification) and GSLV(primary system).

Yes, and we had minor(?) trajectory deviation on the GSLV flight. Not sure if it was attributed to any teething problems with the processor.
Arya Sumantra

Post by Arya Sumantra »

The western propaganda against the mission has already started.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVtvRc9j ... re=related
Tamang

Post by Tamang »

..... Assisted shrilly and loudly by the Energizer Bunny propagandoos:
Chandrayaan-1 successfully launched.

From "AIAA News Update"

The New York Times (10/22, Sengupta) reports, "India launched its first unmanned spacecraft to orbit the moon early Wednesday, part of an effort to assert its power in space and claim some of the business opportunities there." According to the Times, "Talk of a space race with China could not be contained, even as Manmohan Singh, the Indian prime minister, was due to visit Beijing later in the week." (THAT'S WHAT DECIDED THE SCHEDULE!! NOW IT BECOMES CLEAR!! :roll: )

While the article does note that Chandrayaan-1 "can potentially yield commercial gains for India's space program," the mission "is not without domestic critics. Bharat Karnad, a strategic affairs analyst who frequently finds fault with the Congress Party-led coalition government, called the mission a 'grandiloquent' effort designed to catch up with a far more advanced Chinese space program." Karnad also criticized it for the financial cost. :(( :((

IOW, because China has launched a few rockets, Indians should sit around scratching their musharrafs and saying "Bhavitavyam Bhavedeva!" ... and , of course, test a few megaton nukes. These "experts" make me :P :P

The AP (10/22, Rabinowitz, Borenstein) adds, "As India's economy has boomed in recent years, it has sought to convert its new found wealth...into political and military clout and stake a claim as a world leader. It is hoping that a moon mission -- coming just months after it finalized a deal with the United States that recognizes India as a nuclear power -- will further enhance that status." The mission, along with the upcoming Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter (LRO), will make the "most comprehensive maps" since the Apollo era, according to Scott Pace, director of space policy at George Washington University. Pace also said, "We need better maps," if NASA is to eventually place a lunar base in the southern polar region.

(Oh, no we don't, Mr. Karnad can buy them cheaper from the Chinese if we set off a few new clear bums).

AFP (10/22) notes, "Officials said the lift-off...was a 'great success', with the rocket placing the craft into a transfer orbit around the globe." It will reach lunar orbit in 15 days. India "is hoping the mission will boost its space program into the same league as regional powerhouses Japan and China." The launch itself was "carried live on most Indian television channels." (er... does that happen with Chinese launches?)

Bloomberg News (10/22, Shankar) reports, "Today's launch and the two-year orbit is preparation for landing a craft on the moon, said [Debasish] Ghose, who works at the [Indian Institute of Science's] Department of Aerospace and Engineering." That mission would be in conjunction with Russia, "India's main partner in space programs." Russia "has provided manufacturing and design technology. Most of India's space programs are developed by its own scientists."

BTW has anyone seen any images that were returned from the Chang'e 1 mission? Have they been released to public yet? Do they exist ?

ISRO has put up PSLV-C11 launch pictures on it's website:

1. Ignition

2. Lift off, launch pad not cleared

3. Launch pad cleared
Last edited by arun on 22 Oct 2008 18:55, edited 1 time in total.

http://www.isro.org/pslv-c11/photos/ful ... le/ch7.jpg
what are those connecting wires for?

Guessing it has something to do with the lightening protection system.

The towers pricnciple purpose is to protect the launch vehicle and launch pad from lightening strikes.
Last edited by arun on 22 Oct 2008 19:00, edited 1 time in total.

one word: jealousy!~.
regarding the negatives: accept it, and move forward to wards making it positive. take it constructive.

SaiK wrote:
one word: jealousy!~.
regarding the negatives: accept it, and move forward to wards making it positive. take it constructive.
Btw, whats this british aid these racist a**h**** keep harping about.

And let me quote once again our very own so called strat expert
:evil:
While the article does note that Chandrayaan-1 "can potentially yield commercial gains for India's space program," the mission "is not without domestic critics. Bharat Karnad, a strategic affairs analyst who frequently finds fault with the Congress Party-led coalition government, called the mission a 'grandiloquent' effort designed to catch up with a far more advanced Chinese space program." Karnad also criticized it for the financial cost

So in effect BK is just a political hack then. That explains a lot. One dot was there earlier...now another to draw a line through. Perfect.
Ack thoo...
Last edited by pradeepe on 22 Oct 2008 19:26, edited 1 time in total.

Great going ISRO! Great seeing the erudite confidence on display at MC.

Can anyone tell when the maneouver from elliptical trajectory to lunar trajectory will occur? Is there a published timeline? Could'nt find it.
AshokS

Post by AshokS »

Problem with poor uneducated DDM and Foreign journalists (that ones that the desi journalist try so hard to ape), is that these journalists know very little, however write articles as if they have some authoritative opinion on the subject.

They need to be corrected on the India vs China space race fantasy they are conjouring up:

1) The Chandrayan mission was sanctioned by the Govt of India before the Chinese one
2) The Chinese decided to send a probe only after the Indians wanted to go there

Points 1 & 2 would suggest that the Chinese wanted to preseve some H&D with their stunt (just as they pre-released all the radio traffic between their mission control and their astronauts on their most recent manned mission - before the rocket tookoff!)

3) The Chinese claimed to have sent a probe with scientific payload, but it appears that it was as useful as sending a block of cement to the moon.
4) The Indians graciously invited foreign countries (all countries were free to participate in it) to add payloads to the craft for FREE. They selected 3 other space programs to participate (NASA and ESA included)... it was a free ride in the spirit of sharing data and international cooperation.

So if you cooperate, where is the so called Space Race? Where do you see the foreign journalist highlighting that?

The point being, whether in politics, space, or the economy ALL journalist - with the rare exception of those that actually are applauded by their subject peers (not other journalists) - are just making things up. They say that if a thousand monkeys bang away on a keyboard, they will eventually write the works of Shakespeare. A comparison of modern journalism - Indian and Foreign included - would suggest that one could probably produce articles of the same quality and integrity with a single monkey throwing its feces at a keyboard and they publishing what "sticks".

Awesome!

Hearty congratulations to all involved in the textbook launch and the broader Indian space program.

Am now waiting for the DDM article-storm worrying about how the launch can jumpstart a space-race with TSP when both countries with some many 1000000000s of poor could do better using that $$$ for phoren grain imports and to payoff phoren debt onlee. Oh, I see, since an Indo-TSP spacerace wasn't deemed credible thanks to TSP's pathetic present state, a chipanda-desi space-race is being dreamed up.... Non-wonders never cease.
Vivek Sreenivasan

Post by Vivek Sreenivasan »

Great work ISRO!! :D :D

I read that this whole mission cost 72M US dollars! Thats great value for money, if the Americans were to do a similar mission it would probably cost them several hundred million. This is where we have an advantage, we can capture the commercial satellite launch market and become a leading space power.

Jai Hind.

http://broadband.indiatimes.com/toishow ... 626540.cms

So.. after lift off, vertical, and then you see when it clears the clouds, it almost veers off at around 50* angle. Just checking if this is the normal angle that we send or have taken extra few tangential to place it a highly eliptical orbit?

?

SaiK wrote:http://broadband.indiatimes.com/toishow ... 626540.cms

So.. after lift off, vertical, and then you see when it clears the clouds, it almost veers off at around 50* angle. Just checking if this is the normal angle that we send or have taken extra few tangential to place it a highly eliptical orbit?

?
The Camera man got bored with portrait mode and was shifting into landscape mode hence the tilt
Yerna

Post by Yerna »

I think all SHAR launches do a 'dog leg' manoveur to avoid Sri Lanka.

Can TSP even send a sounding rocket into space on it's own? Just wondering..

the "Race" is only media hype to get aam janata worked up and distracted from financial crises - serious commentators are not bothered about it. most scientific commentators are very appreciative (and the bbc also carried a report today) about the open and welcoming nature of the project and that it was very cheap compared to other countries.

the point that DXM is missing is that a truly indigenous space effort (just like Apollo in its day) will massively boost the scientific-engineering (and yes military) complex's capabilities and can only benefit the Indian economy in the long run.

i really appreciated the homespun nature of the launch and the control centre - none of this slick-must impress goras-stunts of the Chinese

and it was truly live...

First phase successful. Congrats ISRO and all institutions and individuals connected with this endeavor.
i really appreciated the homespun nature of the launch and the control centre - none of this slick-must impress goras-stunts of the Chinese
Yes. It was a joy to hear the Indian English with such heavy thick Indian accents, it is like "we are like this onlee".

Best wishes for the remaining phases, and future endeavors.

The most important thing is this mission is a well co ordinated and orchestrated one, better to have thick accent for understanding than the misunderestimating understanding! :mrgreen:
Angre

Post by Angre »

A really nice shot of the launch @ The Nation.

PS: disregard the write-up, it;s a basic copy/paste from Reuter's wire. BTW is there a tag to insert inline pictures (thumbnails)?

From the Nation's linked story...
ISRO scientists visited temples to seek the blessings of Hindu gods before the launch, and afterwards some expressed relief that rain had held off until the rocket was in space. "The rain gods have been kind to us," Madhavan said.
/sarc on
Very unphortunate that shri M Nair inadvertently communalized this pan-Indian achievement onlee. Now the pra-fools and the Pakis will smell conspiracy even on the moon.
/sarc off

Why was there an apprehension about rain?

If china could provide rain free days for Olympics, could we not do something similar for the launch?
Surely we could fire a rocket with rain inhibitors to ensure that the mother of all Rockets went
up without worry of rain. Or were the monsoon clouds to much to play rain-maker
Amitava

Post by Amitava »

Congratulations to ISRO and its extended family. Another red letter day.

btw, this was the lead story on BBC World News at 1300. Owen Bennet Jones rang up the most honourable Professional Fool trying to expound upon the difference between Science and Engineering. He was sobbing, how the country could spend so much on mere engineering when we need to spend money on teaching Physics etc. Bennet Jones also called in Gen (Retd) Dipankar Banerjee and he flat out said "India is a rich country with a lot of poor people".

Send your condolences to bidwai@bol.net.in

he he :D .. heartburn is good.. Shows they have trouble digesting... Its only going to worse as rover and humans make it from India in coming years.

The conch has been sounded, wake you lions and stop thinking that you are sheep.
Kudos to the ISRO.

India's moon dreamers: Men behind the mission
Pallava Bagla
Wednesday, October 22, 2008 9:43 PM (Sriharikota, Andhra Pradesh)

The scientists at Indian Space Research Organisation are making the country proud. But just who are these men responsible for this blazing success?

To begin with, these scientists are all made in India with no fancy foreign degrees and often from small villages.

Today they are the world's leading scientists, but one of them didn't even see an electric bulb for the longest time.

Project director of Chandrayaan-1, M Annadurai rarely appears on television and not many of us know about him. He is the man in-charge of India's first satellite to study the moon.

Annadurai, the son of a school teacher, is a first generation engineer and comes from a small village in Tamil Nadu.{Arun_S: Ramana / Acharya you are way ahead and correct in your assessment, Indian interest will be carried on shoulders of son of the soil, and not social elites who sell at the drop of the hat}

He doesn't have a foreign degree and spent the first few years of his life without seeing what a streetlight looks like.

"I think I was born and brought up in a small village called Kodavadi near Coimbatore, until the age of seven. I did not see street lights even in my village," said M Annadurai.

"But I had the fortune of seeing the moon, which was like a natural planetarium," he added.

On being asked about his education, M Annadurai said, "Unfortunately I was not destined (to study abroad) but I don't have a regret of not being there. I think until I completed my post graduation in Engineering, I did not go beyond my district."

"Even for educational tour I did not go out. Until completion of post graduation, I was almost confined within my district," he said.

S K Shivkumar is the man who set up the entire communication network, the father of India's deep space network.

He too is home bred, studied in a regional engineering college but comes from the place where the first rockets originated.

Shivkumar hails from Mysore, the place where history tells us, rockets and miisile were used first by Haider Ali and Tipu Sultan.

These top scientists have made India proud. Yet, they are earning about a lakh rupees per month, which is way less than salaries in the private sector.

But ask them and they say it is the love of their job and not the money that keeps them going.
My hats off and "Saasthang Pranaam" to these rustics who carry the burden of India, holding and owning the Indian flag in this Kaliyug.
marimuthu

Post by marimuthu »

Launch Video

Good One

:shock: Earning a lac of rupees a month, that things says eh? I know a lot of chaps in the pvt sector who dont make that much. In these days of bad economy, I think Annadurai or whatsis must be at least somewhat pleased at the package!

Anyway, their salary is worth every penny, and more! These guys are heroes. And to pull this off in 80 mn USD is fantastic. All success to their future endeavors!
Daedalus

Post by Daedalus »

Absolutely awesome. Look at those at the launch center PRIDE and CONFIDENCE.
Congratulations to every one behind this and to ISRO.
siva wrote:Launch Video

Good One
I think towards the end we can see the stage separation. I can be wrong.

"a lac of rupees per month" must be a typo...it is probably more like a few lacs of rupees per year. :)

You have a link for this? or is this a NSN speak to light up bonfire for people to do akk thoo, without figuring out the source, much less reading the published report? Do I see no clear chip on the shoulder proliferating to space mission?
narayanan wrote:..... Assisted shrilly and loudly by the Energizer Bunny propagandoos:
Chandrayaan-1 successfully launched.

From "AIAA News Update"

The New York Times (10/22, Sengupta) reports, "India launched its first unmanned spacecraft to orbit the moon early Wednesday, part of an effort to assert its power in space and claim some of the business opportunities there." According to the Times, "Talk of a space race with China could not be contained, even as Manmohan Singh, the Indian prime minister, was due to visit Beijing later in the week." (THAT'S WHAT DECIDED THE SCHEDULE!! NOW IT BECOMES CLEAR!! :roll: )

While the article does note that Chandrayaan-1 "can potentially yield commercial gains for India's space program," the mission "is not without domestic critics. Bharat Karnad, a strategic affairs analyst who frequently finds fault with the Congress Party-led coalition government, called the mission a 'grandiloquent' effort designed to catch up with a far more advanced Chinese space program." Karnad also criticized it for the financial cost. :(( :((

IOW, because China has launched a few rockets, Indians should sit around scratching their musharrafs and saying "Bhavitavyam Bhavedeva!" ... and , of course, test a few megaton nukes. These "experts" make me :P :P

The AP (10/22, Rabinowitz, Borenstein) adds, "As India's economy has boomed in recent years, it has sought to convert its new found wealth...into political and military clout and stake a claim as a world leader. It is hoping that a moon mission -- coming just months after it finalized a deal with the United States that recognizes India as a nuclear power -- will further enhance that status." The mission, along with the upcoming Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter (LRO), will make the "most comprehensive maps" since the Apollo era, according to Scott Pace, director of space policy at George Washington University. Pace also said, "We need better maps," if NASA is to eventually place a lunar base in the southern polar region.

(Oh, no we don't, Mr. Karnad can buy them cheaper from the Chinese if we set off a few new clear bums).

AFP (10/22) notes, "Officials said the lift-off...was a 'great success', with the rocket placing the craft into a transfer orbit around the globe." It will reach lunar orbit in 15 days. India "is hoping the mission will boost its space program into the same league as regional powerhouses Japan and China." The launch itself was "carried live on most Indian television channels." (er... does that happen with Chinese launches?)

Bloomberg News (10/22, Shankar) reports, "Today's launch and the two-year orbit is preparation for landing a craft on the moon, said [Debasish] Ghose, who works at the [Indian Institute of Science's] Department of Aerospace and Engineering." That mission would be in conjunction with Russia, "India's main partner in space programs." Russia "has provided manufacturing and design technology. Most of India's space programs are developed by its own scientists."

In the mean time this is the closest I found with Google:

Somini Sengupta must be really the most intellectual and honest person with no axe to grind!! But the pedigree becomes clear from the opening statement of her article, which is the most asinine I have heard in a long time, and ends with the bulls eye on the real target. In psy-op's dog eat dog arena one of the trick of the trade in the is to call your detractor as rabies infected.

India Launches Unmanned Orbiter to Moon
By SOMINI SENGUPTA
Published: October 21, 2008

NEW DELHI — India launched its first unmanned spacecraft to orbit the moon early Wednesday, part of an effort to assert its power in space and claim some of the business opportunities there. {Arun_S: Hawking Snake Oil. Anyone there?}

The Indian mission is scheduled to last two years, prepare a three-dimensional atlas of the moon and prospect the lunar surface for natural resources, including uranium, a coveted fuel for nuclear power plants, according to the Indian Space Research Organization.

The spacecraft will not land on the moon, though it is supposed to send a small “impactor” probe to the surface.

The launching of Chandrayaan-1, as the vehicle is called — roughly translated as Moon Craft-1 — comes about a year after China’s first moon mission.

Talk of a space race with China could not be contained, even as Manmohan Singh, the Indian prime minister, was due to visit Beijing later in the week.

“China has gone earlier, but today we are trying to catch them, catch that gap, bridge the gap,” Bhaskar Narayan, a director at the Indian space agency, was quoted by Reuters as having said.

The first Indian lunar voyage is carrying two devices from NASA. One, the Moon Mineralogy Mapper, or M3, will assess mineral composition of the moon from orbit. The other, the Mini-SAR, will look for ice deposits in the moon’s polar regions.

Chandrayaan-1 was launched from a research station in Sriharikota, a barrier island off the coast of the southern state of Andhra Pradesh.

The moon mission, in addition to demonstrating technological capacity, can potentially yield commercial gains for India’s space program. India’s ability to put satellites into orbit has already resulted in lucrative deals; for example, Israel has sent up a satellite by means of an Indian launcher.

“It is proof of India’s technical capability in an advanced area of science,” said Dipankar Banerjee, a retired army general who is the director of the Institute of Peace and Conflict Studies here. “India wants to be counted as one of the emerging players in Asia. Space is, of course, an important part of power projection.”

The mission is not without domestic critics. Bharat Karnad, a strategic affairs analyst who frequently finds fault with the Congress Party-led coalition government, called the mission a “grandiloquent” effort designed to catch up with a far more advanced Chinese space program. “It is kind of a prestige project the government has gotten into,” Mr. Karnad said. “This is misuse of resources that this country can ill afford at this point.”

DDM^3 :lol:

Surely we could fire a rocket with rain inhibitors to ensure that the mother of all Rockets went up without worry of rain.
Maybe ISRO thinks the mother of all Rockets is yet to come. To me, the manned-mission would be mother of all rockets in the not-so-distant future.
marimuthu

Post by marimuthu »

Daedalus wrote:I think towards the end we can see the stage separation. I can be wrong.
Thats what i also thought, Thats the reasonn i posted this video

This is splendid. No, not what ISRO did. There is no surprises there (but THANK YOU!!) 8) I am talking about this thread:

1) No apologies to anyone about this achievement. The much abused "poor of India" are visibly happy and spending their 2$ lavishly on ladoos today, thank you very much. Bidwai, you are welcome to partake that, if you can get out of your ornate box :P
2) "India chases China to Moon...."? That is as silly as it gets and is not nice to the chinese people. Let us start asking the counter questions: Does that mean India is chasing and China is running away? How long will China run with its govt's H&D machinations and get serious on serving their people's needs? :twisted:
3) No mention of pakis. In retrospect, they were like a launchpad for us: blast them solidly with our exhaust and watch them recede rapidly during liftoff
4) No sir, we dont want to interfere or chase away the Rain Spirits. We will ask for their blessings and they obiliged by parting their veil for us to go through

Great day indeed for aging jingos who believes in "strategic thrusts" instead of "strategic depths".

siva wrote:
Daedalus wrote:I think towards the end we can see the stage separation. I can be wrong.
Thats what i also thought, Thats the reason i posted this video
Good video.
No that is not stage separation. Is an upper atmosphere phenomenon (I cant recall the specific term).

Siva-saar: Long time no see. Welcome back.

Sequence of steps to follow:(let me know if there is more info on this, I will change/delete my post)

1. October 23rd - Thursday. 9:00am - First firing of the liquid engine. This will send the satelllite into a 11.5-hour orbit.

2. October 24th - Friday - Second firing. Places the satellite into a 24-hour orbit (day long).

3. ??Date?? - Third firing. Places the satellite into a 96-hour orbit (4-days long). This takes it to three fourths of the distance to moon.

4. ??Date?? - Fourth firing. Places the satellite into a 144-hour orbit (6-days long).

5. November 3rd - Fifth firing. Places the satellite into a 264-hour orbit (11-days long). After about 5-6 days of orbital time, the Moon will capture the satellite with its gravitational pull. And it will get into a 500-km orbit.

6 to <n-1> Between Nov 8(?) and 14 (?) Engine will be fired in a similar series to reduce the orbital velocity and the lower the satellite into smaller orbits.

n. ??Date?? Final firing, satellite will be placed into a 100-km orbit above the moon.

Pieced together from.... Khabrein.info

Some perspective:
The Chandrayaan mission costs $80 million compared to China's $187 million lunar probe launched last year, and Japan's $480 million Kayuga mission.
www.dw-world.de