Indian Response to Terrorism after Mumbai

Re: Indian Response to Terrorism after Mumbai

Avram, that was excellent!

This jingo bestows upon you an honorary BR Indian award 8)

Mayura wrote:I was wondering, why will Iran help India in its war???
Iran will earn a ton of money by providing port facilities, transit rights, refuelling etc for the Indian troops and vehicles. With oil/gas prices falling sharply it needs to shore up revenues. Stabilization of Afghanistan is also in Iran's interest, even though the current ruling dispensation is not.

On the flip side Iran will get enormous leverage over India, if supplies continue to pour in from that route, hence India and allied countries will eventually have to source their supplies from other routes.

Mayura wrote:
negi wrote:Prilliant indeed, IRAN and RU will solemnly aid India in its war after all we will be on deputation for Unkil's witch hunt . As for Rangadu sir... all the BRFites want Kangress GOI voted out and article 370 revoked but how much of it is true reflection of India's mandate , your references too are anecdotal.
I was wondering, why will Iran help India in its war???
To save its ars-e-anal from sunni al qaeda and taliban..

Mayura wrote:
To ensure that the Northern Alliance is relevant in the Afghan govt and ensure that the Shias are not decimated.

Asprinzl saar ......you are magical.
gashish

Post by gashish »

asprinzl wrote: Indian troops + Raj Kapoor + Sangam + Vigianti Malah = Potent Combo

(Anyway, where do I get a good copy of this movie in New York City?)

Avram
+Amitabh Bacchhan who is a legend in A'stan. He is alive. Couple of Big B shows in Kabul/kandahar can be arranged.

I never understood magic of "Sangam" over middle-eastern junta..but it has to be seen to be believed.

For jingos in San Diego...a Persian restaurant Alborz has musical night every weeekend. Most Friday nights the band sings famous song from the movie "mere mann ki ganga, aur tere mann ki jamuna" and the crowd(especially the old folks) just goes crazy. Its a shame that that 1964 song is the latest hindi song the singer knows.
Its time for more Sangam btwn Afghani and Indian ppl.
Dhiman

Post by Dhiman »

This looks more like a ploy to get TSP to stop moving troops out of its Afghanistan border. However, historically, the Afghanistan region has been more of a security nightmare to India than the region currently occupied by TSP. One of the good things about having common borders with TSP is that we can take direct action against TSP across the border (may god wake up our glorious sleeping leaders); However, afghanistan is greatly problematic since we don't have any direct borders with Afghanistan and will ALWAYS be limited in what kind of action India can take in Afghanistan should Afghanistan slip back into chaos. Hence, it is very important to have Indian presence in Afghanistan.

Unkil has no longer term interests in Afghanistan, like we do, and is likely to pull out troops as when situation in Afghanistan is considered to be relatively secure. What then? Will Pakistan again get into Afghanistan and start using Afghanistan for anti-India activities? Or will China get into Afghanistan in order to contain India? The point being if we don't get into Afghanistan soon, someone else (China or Pakistan) will.

Having 120,000 Indian troops in Afghanistan will strengthen the hands of government in Afghanistan, keep Afghanistan out of mess, and keep our security interest secure there. And most of all TSP/China would not be able to use Afghanistan as a proxy country for waging jihad against India.

Imagine a future TSP President telling India: "these terrorists are non-state actors from Afghanistan who we have no control over and no you can't fly fighter plans over our terroritary to bomb terrorist bases in Afghanistan."

Our history, present, and future all dictate that we get into Afghanistan and this is independent of whether GoI takes action against Pakistan or not (which by all accounts is not happening).

Brahma Chellaney....
Words are all we have

whats with Sangam and Israelis :rotfl:

Avram have you seen that Israeli movie about the 2 brothers who restore their theatre for one last show of Sangam !!!
Div

Post by Div »

Gerard wrote:Brahma Chellaney....
Words are all we have
A good summary of the frustrations BRites have expressed over the last decade.

Words are all we have
Shukran Habibi, atleast we still got words.... :((

RayC wrote:
Mayura wrote:
To ensure that the Northern Alliance is relevant in the Afghan govt and ensure that the Shias are not decimated.
India could mediate and help US, Israel and Iran avoid a confrontation that neither really wants. Not that it would be easy, but India is the nearest thing to an 'ajaata-shatru' honest broker for these countries. (unlike China w/ Nkorea or Pak, which is mainly interested in maximizing mischief and gaining leverage over US) That would be worth quite a lot I would think; what is missing is India seeing itself in a leadership role.

Iran is a more rational player in this mix than people give them credit for. However, any supply route through Iran will be a more open declaration of the long awaited Shia-Sunni war. This might have all kinds of spill-over effects into the Gulf, the Caucasus and might well lead us down the road towards a WW3 type situation. A good outcome might be to ring fence the wahabbi types and finally get rid of them through a grand coalition of secular arabs, western leaning arabs and shia's with the yeevil yindus and yamrikis holding the ring. The yehudis might need to keep their powder dry in case things spiral out in their 'hood.
Tilak

Post by Tilak »

Lashkar plot to strike INS Viraat
Express News Service
First Published : 30 Dec 2008 01:22:00 AM IST
Last Updated : 30 Dec 2008 08:44:46 AM IST
KOCHI: The security around the Cochin Shipyard has been beefed up to the highest levels after US intelligence alerted Indian agencies about fidayeen threat on the country’s lone aircraft carrier INS Viraat currently undergoing major repairs here.

Top sources told The New Indian Express that a plot to attack Viraat using a helicopter was unearthed after internet transaction between Lashkar top brass was intercepted by technological intelligence unit of the US Government. Constant monitoring of emails and internet usage of LeT’s technology chief Zarar Shah showed that he was studying the Viraat in detail.

“Same type of study was done about the Taj and other South Mumbai targets before the attack was launched. So this information is being viewed very seriously,’’ the sources said.

Zarar Shah also did extensive study of the helicopter charter services in India, especially those in South India. “The inference points at the possibility of using a helicopter to launch a suicide attack to cripple Viraat. Lashkar has done extensive study on both the aspects. The US intercepts clearly confirm that Lashkar’s interest in Viraat is more than a casual curiosity,’’ the sources pointed out.

The information was passed onto Indian agencies along with other sensitive data transferred post-Mumbai terror strikes. And by the time the input was handed over to the Navy, Viraat had already left for Kochi for its repairs. The Navy, however, had spread an elaborate security blanket around the CSL by the time Viraat berthed in the first week of December.

“There is a security protocol assigned to a sensitive target like Viraat. We’ve initiated the procedures.

The level was a notch higher this time given the existing tension,’’ top sources said.

The Navy has deployed its marine personnel also to guard against any intrusion from the water front.

The CISF has also intensified its patrolling along the Kochi backwaters. The high level of security will remain till Viraat completes her repairs and leaves Kochi.

Sources said it may take up to five months for the extensive repair works to be complete.

is it because all routing caches is logged by FBI/US state dept teams, that were able to figure out this info.. if else, why would not our intelligence work on the same networked data. simply explains, we are vulnerable to that extent, that without US intelligence on such data, we would have a wide gap..

now, there may be ways to poll and collect such data.. but are we on to this yet?

Div wrote:
Words are all we have
A good summary of the frustrations BRites have expressed over the last decade.
This from Strat

India: BJP Leader Calls For Clarity On Pakistan
December 30, 2008 | 1823 GMT
India’s opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader L.K. Advani on Dec. 30 asked Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh to spell out how his government plans to deal with Pakistan, Indo-Asian News Service reported. India’s government has been giving mixed signals on Pakistan since the Nov. 26 Mumbai attacks, with officials “often contradicting each other,” Advani said. The BJP will not tolerate any compromise on terrorism, he added.

Sound-bytes have started from BJP

Time to act: Yashwant
“We have to adopt a very strong line against Pakistan. We should keep all options open including that of war. If the international community cannot prevent cross border terrorism activities then there is no need for India to wait. If necessary, it can go for war,'' the former union external affairs minister, Mr Yashwant Sinha today.

Can some on please comment on following/verify authenticity:

1. In certain news papers i have read US and UK have obtained high value wealth of information from decoding GPS and communique equipments used by terrorists, they have even confronted pakistan with this but refused to share this with India. Why is it because every thing reached media?

2. This news report from Dawn:

WASHINGTON, Dec 30: Pakistan faces tremendous pressure from the United States to extradite to India Zaki Al Rahman Lakhvi, the alleged mastermind of the Mumbai terror attacks, US and diplomatic sources told Dawn.

http://www.dawn.com/2008/12/31/top4.htm

More on the pressure on TSP from Unkil (This story from the WSJ):
Pakistan's Probe Finds Local Links To Attacks On Mumbai
Pakistani security officials say a top Lashkar commander, Zarar Shah, has admitted a role in the Mumbai attack during interrogation, according to the security official, who declined to be identified discussing the investigation. "He is singing," the security official said of Mr. Shah. The admission, the official said, is backed up by U.S. intercepts of a phone call between Mr. Shah and one of the attackers at the Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, the site of a 60-hour confrontation with Indian security forces.

A second person familiar with the investigation said Mr. Shah told Pakistani interrogators that he was one of the key planners of the operation, and that he spoke with the attackers during the rampage to give them advice and keep them focused.

Now await another round of denial, air sorties, threatening and open display of nuke from Pakistan. Unkil sam is just trying to do a tight rope walk when he gets tired he will start supporting Pak... :lol:

indradhanush wrote:Now await another round of denial, air sorties, threatening and open display of nuke from Pakistan. Unkil sam is just trying to do a tight rope walk when he gets tired he will start supporting Pak... :lol:
My speculation is that Pak has been given an ultimatum of sorts by unkil. Pak will turnover atleast a couple of the Let leaders to India, failing which I suspect there will be war. The problem is that the average paki has been brainwashed so much that they really do not believe that their govt supports terrorism in India. This is a gradual process in breaking of puki will and a very gradual breaking of the news to their populace. Note that yesterday McCain said India will attack pak, puki FM said that Kasab may be puki, now puki intelligence is finding that there is a link to Let. In reality, this is a face saving gesture to the pukis, since its US/India who have handed over the telephonic transcripts implicating Let, whereas pukis have always known the truth. The next step will be that pukis will be forced to handover one LeT leader, then India will say its not enough, and pukis will hand over another. After that peace will reign and an important message will have been sent to the LeT types. I really do believe that Pak will be forced to reign in ISI and cross border terrorism, also that the civilian govt will finally start controlling the military. These changes have already begun, e.g. dissolution of the political cell of the ISI.

Hell will freeze over before ISI dismantles anything on their own. Perhaps a little Indian pressure might do the trick, say a Brahmos or two on their HQ. :P

TSP seems to be preparing the ground for some concession to India. Expect a Zardari-Bush or Kiyanahi-Rice meet before they announce anything because third party intervention is absolutely necessary for pukes to save their H&D. So that they can explain to the aam abdul that TSP did not wet the pants back down but TSP agreed to the 'fliendly request' from Unkil. The wonders of puki piskology.

no end of brite visions! if at all they puke out one, per unkill says, it would lakhvi. thats it. now unkill will ask, get back to normal. wait for another one to happen. and the next time, they ensures its a pure suicide pill on capture.. and again back to 1000s of people get killed in India.

remember there is no big business sense between India-USA yet, as to the likes of china or having a genetic relationship. hence, we have to scale down to realistic visions w.r.t unkill. we are expecting a nation to behave in a manner, when we just can't copy one nation which commands - Israel.

yesterday, npr says, israel has every right to attack since there was period attacks on israel. chidambaram asks pakistan, what more proof do pakis want. i am asking, what more proof does babooze want?

i know, people are here at large want to skim this mumbai issue under the carpet, unkill is behind us etc.. i agree, with that notion, that India should join unkill strategies, where we need. But, what pains me is, babooze dont have any strategies at all. its a total genetic mutation happening due to global warming!? or some tsunamic infection that brought down the iq levels to below any reasoning.

lets call it chalta hai tribes wins! after all we have a large quota system to accommodate them as well. we are different type of democracy...

Saikji, lets do it the BRF way. Call it all a grand Chankian strategy. :|

sure.. always, but it has its scopes and realm. that's what i am saying.

The problem is that the average paki has been brainwashed so much that they really do not believe that their govt supports terrorism in India
With all due respect Sir, the average Puke is aware of and fully supports the government sponsored terrorism in India, the only thing they are brainwashed about is that they ruled Hindus for 1000 years and that they won all wars they fought with hindus including the 71 war.
BTW there is nothing called average Puke, they are all terrorists

The problem is that the average paki has been brainwashed so much that they really do not believe that their govt supports terrorism in India
They know exactly what their govt is doing, but they consider that a legitimate struggle against the evil Yindoos. To that extent they are brain washed.

CRamS wrote:

They know exactly what their govt is doing, but they consider that a legitimate struggle against the evil Yindoos. To that extent they are brain washed.
I suspect they are not the brainwashed ones in this aspect. What would you say - if your government was doing similar things - when you are asked a similar question? They have practice, they are not, repeat not, brainwashed. You average jew, would know this, and stay a dozen miles away from you average local jihadi. You average yindian would feed chicken tikka to the terrorist and then ask him to admit that he has sinned. What are you trying to do, convert them?

Even the smartest, most aggressive posters here can't think beyond a few media bullet points. You average baki has been asked this question a million times. To survive in the kufr world, he has found (and will continue to find) tactically brilliant answers to all your naive questions.

You on the other hand, see a baki only so often, and then you only ask them a pointed question rarely. Each and every baki - without fail - knows of, aids, abbets, and agrees with the methods and means they are using now. The foolish ones will admit anonymously on deaf and dumb, the smart ones will make you look foolish. If the last attack does not convince you of this, then only a attack on your personal self will. One hopes you (and others in this category) are not this lucky.

Ask yourself the following questions before hearing your average baki's response - WWJS? (what would Je... say? or in Indian context What would hanuman say?). The baki would say anything but that.

Many here will want to tell me that I am profiling, or that you can never judge 100+ million by the acts of a few. Really? At this point, by education, by religious and social norm, this stuff is as normal as breathing to your friendly neighborhood baki. Are you trying to argue that you would have forgotten dozens of years of training? Or are you arguing people are going without breathing for days? This is as close to Newton's laws as a social behavior can come. Why are you trying to act on behalf of a very very very very very very small minority - that does not speak, or escape (remember people breaking out of soviet union and north korea?) or protest in any shape or form. You want decent people? Look at the tibetans. If there was ANY - repeat ANY - repeat even ONE - decent person in the lot, you would see them trying to find a forum - any forum - even chinese will every now and then sqeal. When was the last time your average abdul said the tenth guy is a baki?

I sentence you to LMU education and 24 hour detention in adminullah enqutubuddin and shivullah's classes and lectures.

Give peace a chance, and do what?

Damn, there goes my resolution to retire.

CRamS wrote:

This is the problem. The truth is

The whole world aka Inetrnational community knows that TSP govt is the sponsorer and epicenter of the world wide terror.

When we dont act, where we can (not in Afghanistan) independetly there is no interest for others. This is where my rub and irritation starts when we keep posting links ( like ouR man) that Terrorist confesses PAki ISI training or Paki Govt behind terror etc.

We deserve no sympathy or help as we have admitted Pakis themselves are terror victims. Just grin and bear it. Score Kya next time. :evil:
Last edited by John Snow on 31 Dec 2008 22:07, edited 1 time in total.

I think this is the yindoo weakness that analyzes about how enemy minds get into evil or that and this. If those analysis does not aid in the benefit of destroying the enemy, what is it worth for? I am convinced that we are seeking some aspects to cling on to, to carry our minds to keep ourselves with in the tolerance threshold alive.

Whenever we feel the evil forces have reached threshold value, we somehow tuck ourselves to the grooves and correlate various aspects, that would be detrimental to our future assumed great power thoughts.

Bottom line, we are just making history only in our minds. We invade, We establish and conquer the evil forces only in our minds and thoughts. In real life, we billions are those cat on the wall waiting for which side it sees to jump so that it can feel safe again back into the traditional groove.

Guddu wrote:
indradhanush wrote:Now await another round of denial, air sorties, threatening and open display of nuke from Pakistan. Unkil sam is just trying to do a tight rope walk when he gets tired he will start supporting Pak... :lol:
I really do believe that Pak will be forced to reign in ISI and cross border terrorism, also that the civilian govt will finally start controlling the military. These changes have already begun, e.g. dissolution of the political cell of the ISI.
Really, to me Kiyani looks more powerful than Zardari et al. Army of Pak is the only institution people of Pak have faith in.

I understand your angst, but what I would like to see is a situation in which every politician, no matter what party, has the basic sense of nationalism to ensure that national interest is not undermined in favor of regional or communal interest.
A simple suggestion. Make it impossible (by treating it similar to sedition) for the person, and immediate family of a leader (any leader) to hold any foreign accounts or property, take foreign vacations, or even go abroad for studies - without paying a huge, huge, huge penalty, or several years of national service for free in lieu of.
You want to be a leader, make the place your home first.

Not possible in india. Although commercial concerns routinely have bonds and nations with compulsory military services have severe penalties.
sid_ashar

Post by sid_ashar »

What is beyond me is the fact that the indian media seems to completely lack the critical thinking and analytical capability to come up with questions for indian policy makers and politicians. Chidambaram had his first press conference and though I did not see any TV footage of it, from what I read, it was the usual stuff about the Pukis having all the information but they are not doing anything... No one from the press corp had the guts or the capability to ask the new home minister of India what is India is doing about it (other than go crying to unkil?) ? I realize that there are certain things that cannot be discussed in public but give me a break, we deserve to know whether the govt is doing anything about it or not. Its probably my naivety to expect anything but the news in the recent days is just making my blood boil. Has MMS given a press conference after 26/11?

Dont they realize that Unkil is going to use this opportunity to pressure TSP to do what they want and need.. Indian concerns and demands be damned.. The american public seems to have already forgotten that 6 americans were killed.

Anyway, I am just venting right now..

-Siddharth
samuel.chandra

Post by samuel.chandra »

Finally!!
raghunath wrote:Sound-bytes have started from BJP
samuel.chandra

Post by samuel.chandra »

Very likely. I think its a result of Afghan deployment threat. That gets the pakis very pliant... That the only thing that has changed. The US pressure hadnt worked earlier. Afghania is the sweet spot...
Guddu wrote: My speculation is that Pak has been given an ultimatum of sorts by unkil. Pak will turnover atleast a couple of the Let leaders to India, failing which I suspect there will be war. The problem is that the average paki has been brainwashed so much that they really do not believe that their govt supports terrorism in India. This is a gradual process in breaking of puki will and a very gradual breaking of the news to their populace. Note that yesterday McCain said India will attack pak, puki FM said that Kasab may be puki, now puki intelligence is finding that there is a link to Let. In reality, this is a face saving gesture to the pukis, since its US/India who have handed over the telephonic transcripts implicating Let, whereas pukis have always known the truth. The next step will be that pukis will be forced to handover one LeT leader, then India will say its not enough, and pukis will hand over another. After that peace will reign and an important message will have been sent to the LeT types. I really do believe that Pak will be forced to reign in ISI and cross border terrorism, also that the civilian govt will finally start controlling the military. These changes have already begun, e.g. dissolution of the political cell of the ISI.
samuel.chandra

Post by samuel.chandra »

And.. yatha praja tatha raja.
SaiK wrote:I think this is the yindoo weakness that analyzes about how enemy minds get into evil or that and this. If those analysis does not aid in the benefit of destroying the enemy, what is it worth for? I am convinced that we are seeking some aspects to cling on to, to carry our minds to keep ourselves with in the tolerance threshold alive.

Whenever we feel the evil forces have reached threshold value, we somehow tuck ourselves to the grooves and correlate various aspects, that would be detrimental to our future assumed great power thoughts.

Bottom line, we are just making history only in our minds. We invade, We establish and conquer the evil forces only in our minds and thoughts. In real life, we billions are those cat on the wall waiting for which side it sees to jump so that it can feel safe again back into the traditional groove.

Please let me know if this could be a solution in fight against Paki terrorism ;

http://bhartendusinha.wordpress.com/200 ... terrorism/

Here is what B Raman thinks about our investigative agencies and Media.
How Unprofessional We Can Be!

By B. Raman

On May 1, 1960, the Soviet security forces shot down a U-2 spy plane of the US intelligence, piloted by Francis Gary Powers, as it was flying stealthily across the Soviet Union from Peshawar to Helsinki. The pilot parachuted into Soviet territory, was captured alive by the Soviet intelligence and interrogated. The KGB, the Soviet intelligence agency, did not announce for seven days that he had been captured alive. They gave the impression that he was dead.

2. Presuming that he must have died, the administration of Dwight Eisenhower, the then US President, made a number of contradictory statements about its responsibility for violating the Soviet air space. Powers, during his interrogation, made a total confession of his role and of the previous US spy flights over Soviet territory. After the interrogation had been completed, the Soviet authorities announced that he had been captured alive and released details of his confession. The US Government was put in an embarrassing position and admitted that it had been sending spy flights over the Soviet Union.

3. On May 7, 1960, Nikita Khrushchev, the then Soviet Prime Minister, told the world: “I must tell you a secret. When I made my first report I deliberately did not say that the pilot was alive and well… and now just look how many silly things [the Americans] have said.” Not only was Powers still alive, but his plane was also more or less intact, including much of its spy equipment.

4. After the Mumbai blasts of March, 1993, Narasimha Rao, the then Prime Minister, issued strict instructions that no one should disclose details of the investigation to the media. Two groups were set up at New Delhi and Mumbai. They met every day to review the progress of the investigation and decide how much should be disclosed to the media and what should not be disclosed. Instructions were issued that except the Commissioner of Police of Mumbai, no other officer should talk to the media. Even he held a daily collective briefing of the media as a whole and avoided one-to-one briefings to any individual journalist. In August 1994---- 17 months after the blasts---- after the arrest of one of the key perpetrators, Shri K.Padmanabiah, the then Home Secretary, held a press conference at New Delhi to collectively brief the media on the role of Pakistan’s Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) in the explosions.

5. Since the US started its Operation Enduring Freedom against Al Qaeda and the Taliban on October 7, 2001, it has captured a number of senior operatives of Al Qaeda in Pakistani territory---Abu Zubaidah in Faislabad in Pakistani Punjab, Ramzi Binalshib in Karachi, Khalid Sheikh Mohammad (KSM) in Rawalpindi, Abu-Faraj al-Libi in the North-West Frontier Province (NWFP), to cite some of them. It also captured Hambali of the Jemmah Islamiyah, with the help of the Thai authorities at Ayuthya in Thailand. All of them were taken to either Diego Garcia or Bagram in Afghanistan or the Guantanamo Bay detention centre in Cuba for interrogation.

6. Till now, the details of their interrogation have not been released to the media by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). Only sanitized summaries were released to the media after they were indicted before a military tribunal. Mariam, the widow of Daniel Pearl, the US journalist, was reportedly briefed in confidence by the FBI about what KSM had stated about his role in the kidnapping and murder of her husband.

7. This is professionalism. When I joined the Intelligence Bureau (IB) in 1967, I was taught in the training institute about the importance of keeping secret the details of the statements made by suspects during their interrogation till the case reached the stage of prosecution. If the details came out in the media, that would benefit the terrorist organization to which the suspect belonged. If the terrorist act was sponsored by a State, it would be able to cover up its tracks.

8. In recent years, we have been seeing the disturbing and highly unprofessional practice of intelligence and police officers giving to the media even before the investigation is complete, the details of the statements being made by suspects during the interrogation. In fact, they even give to their journalistic contacts a virtual running commentary of the interrogation. They do not seem to realize the damage which they are causing to the fight against terrorism by doing so.

9. Pakistan’s Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) and other foreign intelligence agencies do not even have to develop sources in our intelligence agencies and the police for getting details of interrogation reports and the line of investigation being followed by the police and the intelligence agencies. They just have to identify such privileged journalists, closely follow their reports and, if need be, cultivate them.

10. This often creates ridiculous situations such as in the case of Mohammad Ajmal Amir Imam, the Pakistani member of the Lashkar-e-Toiba (LET), who is presently under interrogation by the Mumbai Police on his role in the terrorist attack by the LET in Mumbai on November 26-29, 2008. We have been rightly refusing to share the details of his interrogation with the Pakistani authorities on the ground that it will be premature to do so and that sharing the details at this stage with the Pakistani authorities might enable the LET and the ISI to cover up their tracks.

11. And here are the officers of the Mumbai Police and the intelligence community sharing all the details with some privileged journalists without realizing the damage to the investigation and our fight against terrorism that could be caused by almost daily disclosures. This could also damage our credibility and cast doubts about our professionalism.

12. What was the need for the investigating officers to tell the journalists about the place where the surviving LET terrorist was being detained and where he is going to be transferred next? Don’t they realise that such information would be useful to the LET and the ISI if they want to mount an operation to rescue or eliminate him? What was the need for the journalists to find out such sensitive details and disseminate them in the media? After the serial explosions in Ahmedabad in July, we saw some private TV channels giving details of the hospitals where the injured victims were being admitted. There was a vehicular bomb explosion in one of these hospitals.

13. As I have repeated many times before, it is important for the investigating officers to keep an open mind in the initial stages of the investigation and avoid coming out with categorical conclusions, which may be proved wrong by evidence collected subsequently. This is a rule of prudence to safeguard the credibility of the investigation process. Here we find everybody in Mumbai and Delhi coming out with categorical statements without the least doubts in their minds about the validity of their statements

14. The sequel to the Mumbai attack has been handled in an unprofessional manner not only by the Mumbai Police and the intelligence agencies, but also by the policy makers---political and professional--- of the Government of India. In our understandable anxiety to nail the State of Pakistan, we have been following a strategy, which lacks lucidity and coherence.

15. Our immediate objective should have been to prepare a well-written and well-collated dossier with evidence already collected, which do not require further independent corroboration and share it with other countries, particularly those whose nationals were killed by the terrorists. Among such pieces of evidence one could mention the intercepts of the IB and the Research & Analysis Wing (R&AW) and the reports of the US intelligence in September about the plans of the LET to mount a sea-borne act of terrorism in Mumbai targeting some hotels, including the Taj Mahal hotel, the visuals from the closed circuit TV cameras installed in the railway station and the hotels, the reports carried by the “Observer” of the UK, the GeoTV and the “Dawn” of Pakistan identifying the surviving terrorist as a Pakistani national and usable extracts from the interrogation of the surviving terrorist which could be used in our diplomatic campaign without compromising the chances of a successful prosecution.

16. We should have also disseminated such a dossier to the Pakistani public and political leaders, who are well-disposed towards India. At the height of the Kargil conflict, the R&AW intercepted the telephone conversations of Gen.Pervez Musharraf, then on a visit to Beijing, with Lt.Gen.Mohammad Aziz, his Chief of the General Staff. The intercepted conversations showed that it was the Pakistan Army which had intruded into Indian territory and not the jihadis as claimed by the Army and that Musharraf had not kept Nawaz Sharif, his Prime Minister, and many other senior officers in the Army, the Air Force and the Navy in the picture about his operation to capture the Kargil heights. The Government of India not only released the transcripts of the conversations to the public and the international community in order to show the perfidy of Musharraf, but also shared them with selected Pakistani political leaders, including Nawaz Sharif himself, in order to make them realise what kind of an officer they had as the Chief of the Army Staff.

17. The Western countries and Israel have taken a serious note of the Mumbai attack and are doing their own independent investigation not because Indians were killed, but because their own nationals were killed----with the Jewish victims being subjected to inhuman brutality by the terrorists. They suspect that the targeting of nationals from countries----the US, the UK, France, Germany, Italy and Canada--- which are participating in the war against terrorism in Afghanistan indicates that it was possibly an Al Qaeda inspired operation, if not a joint operation by the LET and Al Qaeda. If these suspicions prove to be correct, this will show that the ISI has been using the LET as well as Al Qaeda against India. It would also show that while pretending to co-operate with the US against Al Qaeda in the Federally-Administered Tribal Areas (FATA), the ISI has been using Al Qaeda elements against India. This is an aspect which has to be kept in view during the investigation instead of viewing the attack as a totally LET-mounted operation with the help of the ISI.

18. By now, we should have put on a specially created web site the personal particulars of suspects involved in the Mumbai attack and announced a cash reward of Rs. 50 million each, if not more, to anyone giving information which could lead to their arrest or elimination. A safe line of communication should have been indicated in the web site which could be used by the potential informers to get in touch with the right person in the investigation agencies.

19. The investigation into the Ahmedabad blasts of July and the Mumbai terrorist attack have brought out that the interrogation reports of some suspects arrested in February, 2008, contained possible clues to future terrorist strikes. These interrogation reports were not systematically followed up. It is likely that dozens of other interrogation reports lie unread, unanalyzed and unacted upon in the archives of the Police in different States. The Government should ask a group of serving officers to go through all interrogation reports of the last three years in order to see whether they too contained similar clues about the future.

indradhanush wrote:Please let me know if this could be a solution in fight against Paki terrorism ;

http://bhartendusinha.wordpress.com/200 ... terrorism/
I like these ideas, infact this is very similar to how the US deals with other state sponsers of terrorism. I am copying the portion of the text with new ideas (from the link), so that more will read it.

"STEP A: The Government of India passes a resolution to declare Pakistan a state sponsor of terrorism unless within three months it turns over to India the leaders and top level teams of the all terrorist organizations / supporting underworld terrorist organizations who have been operating against India and who are being hosted in Pakistan. In advance of passing such a resolution the Government of India should put in to the public domain sufficient legal evidence to prove beyond doubt the complicity in anti-India terrorist acts of the accused Pakistani organizations and their ISI sponsors.

STEP B: If after three months the required action is not taken by Pakistan - for whatever reasons / excuses - then the Government of India should pass a law that requires all companies operating in or having their offices operating in India to display within three months on their product packages and customer-facing documents a prominent one line declaration stating “Has Business with Pakistan“… if they or any of their parent/subsidiary/sister companies continue to either sell in or source from Pakistan. This new law should also require companies to certify in writing within three months to the Government of India their compliance status with respect to this law, but it would not penalize any of the companies who deal with Pakistan either operationally or financially. Then let India’s public and industry decide whether they wish to do business with a company that retains business dealings with a country which is a state sponsor of terrorism against India. This will result in many of the world’s companies having to choose between India and Pakistan. For those that chose the latter - India may not want them anyway. India’s citizens and business community will wholeheartedly back such strong legislation. A billion people nation and a trillion dollar economy will thus speak forcefully in one voice to Pakistan and to all the companies in the world who continue to deal with Pakistan.

If the Government of India is unable or unwilling to take <!--[if gte mso 9]> Normal 0 false false false EN-IN X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 <![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]> <![endif]--> such steps, the people of India will force our Government to act decisively through elections and through media. If even then the Government of India still is unable to act, there can be a voluntary movement launched in India requesting companies to actively display “No Business with Pakistan” on their products – to certify that they and their parent/subsidiary/sister companies do not sell in or source from Pakistan. When a billion person market and a trillion dollar economy clearly speaks its mind in a way that affects the revenues and profits of Indian and global companies, then India’s leadership and the world at large will have little option but to act firmly to permanently shut down Terrorism, Inc. in Pakistan.

Irrespective of how it is done, when Pakistan’s economy starts to collapse as a result of many companies starting to pull out as a result of India’s actions, the well-lined pockets of Pakistan’s military-intelligence leadership who have been sponsoring anti-India terrorism will also start to get emptied. As a result they will have just two options left: (i) allow Pakistan to implode economically destroying both their personal wealth and source of future income, or (ii) comply, i.e. hand over to India the leaders of its terrorist organizations and permanently dismantle its terrorist infrastructure.

The cost to India of applying such strategies will be minimal and these strategies will not be in breach of any international laws. However the costs to Pakistan of continuing to sponsor its terrorism against India will rapidly become unbearable as a result of the above steps.

As Indians we see Pakistan’s citizens as recently (albeit sadly and violently) estranged brothers and sisters. We wish them well and do not wish them harm. It seems that even the new Government of Pakistan offers genuine goodwill towards India. But so long as Pakistan’s real rulers - the army and the ISI - are hell bent on waging a unending and escalating terrorist war that is burning our country, destroying our industry and murdering our innocent citizens and guests, well then, the citizens of India expect the Government of India to hit back hard, hit back quickly, hit back smartly and hit back with the desired effect.

So Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh Ji and Opposition Leader Shri Lal Krishan Advani Ji, here is the one question that now demands an answer: Should we Indians who have entrusted our country’s safe keeping in to your capable hands expect any less from you than to uproot the tree of anti-India terrorism from the soil of Pakistan where it has taken root? We trust that your experience, that your wisdom and that your love for this country will not let us down in this hour of need.

Yours respectfully,

One Billion Citizens of India"