Understanding Sikh History-1

surinder

Understanding Sikh History-1

Post by surinder »

Today (Jan 5) is the Birthday of Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji. He was born in Patna, Bihar, and left his physical body at age 42 in Nanded, Maharashtra. He sacrificed his entire family for the cause of dharma & country: His father (Guru Tegh Bahadur Ji) got martyred in Delhi for the protection of Hindu Dharma of Kashmiri Brahmins, refused to conver to Islam. His mother died in Thanda Burj in Sirhind. His two elder sons died fighting right in front of his eyes. His other two sons (young lads of age 5 & 7) were killed mercilessly in Sirhind (again refused to convert).

He was a learned man: he wrote in Brij Bhasha, Sanskrit, Arabic, Persian, and Punjabi. (Braj Bhasha was was favorite language, it seems.) He had dozens of accomplished poets at his court. He translated the Ramayan and scenes from the lives of Sri Krishna. He wrote odes to Godesses Chandi, Kalika, Bhagwati etc.

He was a great warrior: He was a great archer, and swordsman. He wanted to convert us all from meek sparrows to ferocious baaj's. He said "Sawa Laksh se ek laraon, tab Guru Gobind naam kahaoon." He also said that if all means to obtain peace have failed, it is acceptable to unsheat the sword. A Muslim poet said of him, "Agar na hotey Guru Gobind Singh, to sunnat hoti sabh ki."

I have never started a thread here before. But I thought I might send a note to everyone on this occasion. Congragulations to all on the Birthday of the Guru.
Last edited by ramana on 27 May 2009 21:12, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Unlocked, Moved to GD and thread name changed-ramana

Re: Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji's Birthday---Congragulations to All

may his teachings take root throughout the length and breadth of this country.
Keshav

Post by Keshav »

Happy Birthday, Guruji!

Do Sikhs celebrate his birthday or just the day he created the Khalsa?
Abhi_G

Post by Abhi_G »

Bole so nihaal, sat Sri Akaal.

India is blessed to have born such saints.

all Indians must learn from his life story.

Singha wrote:India is blessed to have born such saints.

all Indians must learn from his life story.
Bilkul Satya Vachan.

Bolay So Nihaal ........ Sat Sri Akaal !!!

Let all Indian become Lions to do the rightful duty without fear and wear the name "Singh".
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

Jo Bole So Nihal ... Sat Sri Akal.
I am so happy that India have produced such great saints. I love to hear his teachings in Gurudwara whenever I visit it.

couldn't locate Rabindranath's poems on Guruji but found one on one inspired by Him, Banda bahadur.

translated from Rabindranath's 'Bandi Bir'

http://alteridem.sulekha.com/blog/post/ ... -faith.htm

Captive Brave

On the banks of the Five Rivers,

Braided hair upon their heads,

Day by day awakes the Sikh nation,

Inspired by their Guru’s words-

Relentless and unafraid.

“Victory to Guruji” resounds far and near

Proclaimed by a thousand voices.

Newly arisen Sikhs gaze

At the sun of the new dawn

Unblinking.

Alakh Niranjan- their great cry arises

All bonds broken,

All fear dispelled.

Swords ring out in high exultation

Held next their hearts

Punjab today cries out

“ Impeccable Invisible God”.

Such a day comes-

Their hearts without care

Hundred thousands know no fear

Neither know burdens of debt

Life and death are alike

Servants at their feet.

Such a day has come

Around the ten banks of the Five Rivers.

At the pinnacle of his Delhi citadel,

What interrupts the slumber

Of the great Emperor-

Whose voices are churning the heavens

Severing the deepest darkness?

Whose torches are lighting the fire

Upon the firmament’s brow?

On the banks of the Five Rivers

A hundred thousand breasts torn

The waves of blood run free at last

From the mass of the faithful.

Scores of souls like birds

Fly towards their nests.

With their blood do the bravehearts draw

The sacred sign upon their Mother’s brow.

That day in fierce fight,

In battle the Mughals and the Sikhs

In an embrace to the death

Grab and take hold

Each of the other’s necks.

The hawk, bitten and scarred

With the serpent duels.

“ Victory to Guruji” roars the braveheart Sikh

In voice reverberating cry.

The maddened Mughal

Thirsting for blood

Barks his creator’s name.

In Gurudaspur fort

They seized Banda

Those Turkish-Mughal soldiers

And bound him

A lion - in shackles.

And took him to Delhi.

In battle they captured Banda

At the fort in Gurudaspur.

Mughal soldiers march ahead

Scattering the dust on the way.

On their spikes are raised

Impaled heads of decapitated Sikhs.

Sikhs seven hundred follow behind

Their fetters clanking.

The high road holds no room for the throng

All windows are thrown open as well.

The Sikhs thunder “ Victory to Guruji”

With no fear of their lives.

The dust on the highway to Delhi

Is raised this day

By the Mughals and the Sikhs.

A great scramble arises then

Who shall be the first to forgo his life

Thus they hurry life’s ending.

Ranks of captives line up

A hundred heads are tendered

To the executioner

Each day at dawn.

A hundred brave voices cry

“ Victory to Guruji”.

Seven hundred lives are no more

At the end of seven days.

Then the judge placed upon his lap

Banda’s own son.

Said, “ Your son you will have to slay,

Without concern”.

Flung upon his lap

The young lad, his arms bound

A son of Banda’s.

No words did he speak.

Banda slowly drew the fledgling youth

Into his embrace.

Laid his right hand awhile

Upon his son’s head.

Only once did he kiss

That crimson turban

Then slowly brought forth

From his girdle the knife

And looked upon the boy’s face.

Whispered into his ears,

“ There is no fear, my son,

Victory to Guruji”.

A fearless light burned with fervour

Upon his fresh young face

His youthful voice rocked the congregation

And the stripling sang aloud

Looking upon Banda’s face

“ ‘Tis Guruji’s victory, no fear at all”.

With his left hand Banda embraced him

And the knife in his right hand

Pierced his son’s heart.

“ Guruji’s victory”, uttered the boy

And sank upon the ground.

The assembly fell all-silent.

Tongs heated red

The executioner tore apart Banda’s flesh.

So he died the braveheart, steadfast

Making not a sound of distress.

The witnesses closed their eyes

The assembly fell all silent.

A great day. Let us all remember this Great Saint and bravest of warriors and learn from his teachings. He remained firm in his beliefs no matter the cost. If our leaders can even be 1% like him, Pakistan will stop terrorism.
ManojM

Post by ManojM »

Unfortunately there are amongst us that carry the proud and valiant "Singh" name but have none of the virtues as exemplified by Guru Gobind Singh.

manoj, please, this is not the thread for lamentations.

Congratulations and lets pray to get the strength of sacrifce.

The framework for social and national and spiritual consolidation is outlined in Guru Gobind Singh's teachings . India will be well served by following the footsteps of this great Master . It wass pleassenet surprise to read the news that Swami tortured by ATS carried the Japji Sahib with him for inspiration. Suprisingly Dawn has some beautiful pictures of celebration in India.

http://www.dawn.net/wps/wcm/connect/Daw ... d-singh-ha

May the light lit and nurtured by the Guru spread far and wide across the nation.
samuel

Post by samuel »

I am blessed to have learned of him. I am moved when I hear his lessons for us.
Bole so nihal, sat sri akal.

sura so paihchaaniye jo lare din ke hait!!

A true dharmic hero of one and all. Shat Shat pranam to dasham pita.

This is the poem that Guru Gobind Singh wrote just after the martyrdom of his father.

Tilak Janju raakha prabh Taaka
"God watched the protector of Tilak and Janeu"

Kino bado Kalu main saaka
"one of the biggest sacrifice in the age of Kaliyug"

This is the very famous poem by Guru Gobind Singh "Deh Shiva"

Daahay shiva bur mohaay eaahay sub karman tay kabhuun na taruun

O Shiva, God Almighty
Pray do confer
A blessing on me
From Pious deeds
I should not flee

Na daruun aar saun jab jaayaay laruun nischaay kar apuni jeet karuun
And in a battle
There shouldn’t occur
Any fear in me
Determined I may spur
Myself to victory

Aar sikh ho apanay hi man ko eah laluch ho gun tau uchuruun
And Pray Almighty
Let my mind gather
A lesson for me
A craving to utter
Praises of Your Majesty

Jab aav ki audh nidhan banaay aut hi run main tab jhojj maruun
When the end is nigh
Let me then stir
Myself to ecstasy
And enter
The battlefield and die

He was a very great leader, writer and orator.

After sacrifice of his four sons he replied "Char Mue tou kya hua, Jeevat kai Hazaar" i.e. "What if 4 are dead when thousands are living".

He himself forbade his second son when he asked for water before going into the battle replying "Son!! quench your thirst by the blood of your enemies"

His youngest two sons knew that they will be dead but still preferred to be bricked alive., replying no to convert to islam at completion of every row of bricks.

We need to remember Guru Gobind Singh and what he stood for all of his 42 years.

Indeed, congratulations to all on this occasion. His life holds lessons that are applicable even today. (Admins: thread title has a typo- congraGulations)
Amitava

Post by Amitava »

Pranams to Shri Guru Gobind Singh Ji, and heartiest greetings to Sikh Sisters and Brothers.

As soon as I saw the title of this thread, those lines from Rabindranath were ringing through my head: pancha nadir teer-e / beni pakai-a shir-e

Thanks to Rahul for providing the translation.

Let Guru Gobind Singh ji's and his family's life inspire all of us and guide us in the right path. Pranams.

My pranam to this great Guruji.
But for such great saints we would not be Hindus, Sikhs, for that matter tolerant civilized nation.

SriKumar wrote: (Admins: thread title has a typo- congraGulations)
Thanks for pointing out. Corrected.

Re: Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji's Birthday---Congratulations to All

I am curious to know if Sikh preachers go to the more remote parts of the country like Orissa.

Is Sikhism offered as an alternative to the tribals in place of the Baptists? Some of the traditionally lower classes may have some angst against Hinduism; Sikhism does not come with that baggage, and imbibes the best Indic traditions of valor and sacrifice, while encouraging the joys of being alive.

I am also sure that any Baptist/Naxalite will think a lot before messing with the Khalsa. :twisted:

Perhaps it is time to review the focus of the sants.

Congratulations to us all. May our PM take a cue out of the great Guru Gobind Singh Ji.
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

Happy Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji's Birthday to all.
Last edited by p_saggu on 07 Jan 2009 00:43, edited 1 time in total.
Mandeep

Post by Mandeep »

To answer Vikram, Sikhism is not a proselytising religion. While there are Gurdwaras and Sikh preachers everywhere they don't consciously try and convert anyone. Of course if someone is a believer they would be happy to baptise him and welcome him into the fold.

Mandeep wrote:To answer Vikram, Sikhism is not a proselytising religion. While there are Gurdwaras and Sikh preachers everywhere they don't consciously try and convert anyone. Of course if someone is a believer they would be happy to baptise him and welcome him into the fold.
Mandeep: None of the dharmic religions are proselytising. But when the Indic civilization is being chipped away, one soul at a time, it is important to pro-actively spread the message, or re-educate as some might say. A fundamental shift in attitude is needed because of the challenge faced.

This hark backs to the issue, that historically the Indic people rarely made an effort to understand the invading forces, but instead tried to repel them with their own perspective with limited success.
Mandeep

Post by Mandeep »

The whole crux of the problem rests on the question, is the Indic civilisation in danger of being converted ? I'd like a detailed answer with figures please. Are we jumping at imaginary shadows here ?
surinder

Post by surinder »

VikramS wrote:I am curious to know if Sikh preachers go to the more remote parts of the country like Orissa.

Is Sikhism offered as an alternative to the tribals in place of the Baptists? Some of the traditionally lower classes may have some angst against Hinduism; Sikhism does not come with that baggage, and imbibes the best Indic traditions of valor and sacrifice, while encouraging the joys of being alive.

I am also sure that any Baptist/Naxalite will think a lot before messing with the Khalsa. :twisted:

I think this is an excellent idea. Not a bad idea, since converson to Sikhism may not cause fractures that conversion to mid-east faiths do. Also the religous language & terminology may be need little, if any, translation. But I am sure if this proslytazation should happen, there is a likelihood of tension too. Such is life. The other side of the equation is that Sikhism is somewhat a hard religion to follow: requirements of hair, prayer etc. make for too heavy a burden to carry. Xtianity sits pretty light; Izlaam allows for more baser instincts to run wild.

Mandeep wrote:The whole crux of the problem rests on the question, is the Indic civilisation in danger of being converted ? I'd like a detailed answer with figures please. Are we jumping at imaginary shadows here ?
You do not need mass conversions. All you need are pockets which can cause disturbance since these small pockets can abuse to tolerant ethos of the Indic civilzations. And once these pockets reach a critical mass, there is little you can do to prevent greater separation. There are already parts of India where the writ of the Central government does not run. Naga/Mizo are prime examples where religion is a significant factor promoting seperatism.

Pockets are not a problem in Islamic civilizations, since any thing not acceptable is dealt with an iron-hand. Even in the US, the right wingers have no problem going to their gun case and forming a militia to defend what they consider non negotiable. India has already suffered one major amputation when the British left, and has to be more careful that the tolerance and mind our own business attitude does not result in another.
surinder

Post by surinder »

VikramS,
Correct. Different times demand different responses. We cannot be stuck in the Indic ethos of 1000's of years (of not prosletyzing). We need to adapt ourselves to the new challenges, else we can say good bye. Hindusim (as does Sikhism) needs to get people back. Withdrawal in giving territory (people in this case) should not be an option. Xtianity does not give in. It is anybody's guess, but all the kids & grand-kids of the Hare Krishna or White Sikhs will probably be absorbed back by active prosletization.

surinder wrote: I think this is an excellent idea. Not a bad idea, since converson to Sikhism may not cause fractures that conversion to mid-east faiths do. Also the religous language & terminology may be need little, if any, translation. But I am sure if this proslytazation should happen, there is a likelihood of tension too. Such is life. The other side of the equation is that Sikhism is somewhat a hard religion to follow: requirements of hair, prayer etc. make for too heavy a burden to carry. Xtianity sits pretty light; Izlaam allows for more baser instincts to run wild.

There is no doubt that all INDIC faiths (Hindu/Buddhist/Jain/Sikh etc.) do not fracture the fabric of the Bharatiya society. They grew out of Bharat's womb.

Religion to me has a lot more to do with the philosophy, and less with the rituals. A lot of Sikhs do trim their hair today; it does not make them lesser. I know folks trim their hair for daily life, but grew the hair, including the beard for speical occassions like their marriage! Rituals and traditions adapt with the times; the underlying philosphy is not affected by these rituals.

On the political side, as long as their is some prior discussion of the goals and objectives, I do not expect significant opposition. You never know till you try.

The Sikh dharma arose when the people of Bharat were in danger. They are in danger now; Bharat does need the sword right now but the soft power will certainly help.
Last edited by VikramS on 06 Jan 2009 22:46, edited 1 time in total.

Sehajdhari Sikhs = Who take Sri Guru Granth Sahib as their Guru.

Keshdhari Sikhs = who take Sri Guru Granth Sahib as their Guru and keep hair and turbans.

Amritdhari Sikhs = who take Sri Guru Granth Sahib as their Guru and take a vow of Khalsa and keep all five symbols.

The five symbols are Kachahehra, Kara, Kangha, Kirpan and Kesh. Which represent

always strive to Keep away from these five bad things
Kaam = Lust
Krodh = Anger
Lobh = Greed
Moh = Materialism
Ahankaar = Ego

and strive to Keep towards these five things
Satt = Truth
Santokh = contentment
Sabr = Patience
Daya = compassion
Dharam = Righteousness

so!! that is all a Sikh is suppose to be.
samuel

Post by samuel »

surinder wrote:
VikramS wrote:I am curious to know if Sikh preachers go to the more remote parts of the country like Orissa.

I think this is an excellent idea. Not a bad idea, since converson to Sikhism may not cause fractures that conversion to mid-east faiths do. Also the religous language & terminology may be need little, if any, translation. But I am sure if this proslytazation should happen, there is a likelihood of tension too. Such is life. The other side of the equation is that Sikhism is somewhat a hard religion to follow: requirements of hair, prayer etc. make for too heavy a burden to carry. Xtianity sits pretty light; Izlaam allows for more baser instincts to run wild.

I second this, tell me where to sign up.

Guru's panth have perfect blend of Social, Spiritual and Secular elements and can be used as guidelines to develop national principles to face and erase the current weaknesses. I doubt any Indian will object if Khalsa movement get revitalized and expand into every/ far corners of India.
surinder

Post by surinder »

samuel wrote:I second this, tell me where to sign up.
Samuel, do you mean you want to become a Sikh or do you mean how you can prosletyze on Sikhisms behalf in places like Orissa?

surinder wrote:
Samuel, do you mean you want to become a Sikh or do you mean how you can prosletyze on Sikhisms behalf in places like Orissa?
I think theuse of the word prosletyze is perhaps inappropriate in the Indic sense. The people in living in the remote areas are not exactly detached from Indic traditions though they may not deeply imbibe them. I can not find a better word perhaps someone else can.
surinder

Post by surinder »

Maybe the word should be "Prachaar", or "Dharam Prachar". I like this word because it means strengthening the faith you are currently in, or moving to an adjacent one with a sense of purpose.
samuel

Post by samuel »

surinder wrote:
Hi, Surinder,

I would like to help out in a Sikhism project. It is a really good way forward and instantly comes with fewer complications than other approaches.

I myself feel stronger with a more robust Sikh presence in India and it is not, in any way, conflicting. I am willing to find out if accepting the Khalsa Panth is the correct step for me too and become a test case for such a project. If being a candidate entails doing studies and engaging in practice to help reach that self-realization, you can be rest assured that I am very happy to commit to that, under appropriate guidance.

regards,
S
Mandeep

Post by Mandeep »

I don't know why people keep mentioning Mizoram/the Mizos in the context of separatism. Separatism is dead and gone in Mizoram. Has been for more than 20 years. The Mizos turned their backs on separatism in 1986 with the signing of the accord with the GOI. And they have never looked back ever since.Lets at least appreciate their steadfastness and loyalty. And that they're people of their word.

As for small pockets of people emerging who are not acceptable to others following a certain ideology one is skeptical about insinuations that they might not be fully supportive of our national ethos. In any case I can't identify pockets where the writ of the Govt doesn't run.

The need of the hour is to remain united, make ourselves secure and prepare to hit back.Not fall out over people's religious beliefs.