India-US News and Discussion

Re: India-US News and Discussion

Ramana,

This End-user agreement has nothing to with the nuclear site - BOTH are after all under IAEA.

It has everything to do with any OTHER dual purpose stuff India purchases. India tried to force NWS on them, they have resisted, found a loop hole in MMS's thinking. Now, India can purchase ANYTHING - and will be forced for annual inspection to make sure India uses such stuff for what India said she would use it for.

Forget IAEA triplicate papers, forget IAEA does not have enough inspectors to inspect Indian sites. the US has and they will make India pay for the inspection too. :)

For ALL practical purposes we are back to square one. A total waste of time/funds/efforts - outside of getting fuel for Indian reactors.
nkumar

Post by nkumar »

Today, I feel like a half-Paki. What next, SOFA? And then feel like complete Paki in a Rent-a-State-Yindia.

I am waiting for the chankian spin on this by the usual apologists of MMS (a great leader of billion people, no?). There will be articles now in IE, TOI(let) and other Rent-a-Media-Outlet terming all criticism as "hyperventilation".

MMS and his apologists would really enjoy sticking up the "certificate of good boys" on the arses of our men in uniform, the ones who are staying away from their families to guard our arses. Wonderful days ahead, no?
tripathi

Post by tripathi »

NRao wrote:Ramana,

This End-user agreement has nothing to with the nuclear site - BOTH are after all under IAEA.

It has everything to do with any OTHER dual purpose stuff India purchases. India tried to force NWS on them, they have resisted, found a loop hole in MMS's thinking. Now, India can purchase ANYTHING - and will be forced for annual inspection to make sure India uses such stuff for what India said she would use it for.

Forget IAEA triplicate papers, forget IAEA does not have enough inspectors to inspect Indian sites. the US has and they will make India pay for the inspection too. :)

For ALL practical purposes we are back to square one. A total waste of time/funds/efforts - outside of getting fuel for Indian reactors.
one word----Enron

tripathi wrote: one word----Enron
tripathi ji,

The US has got something out of that lesson. India has no recollection of it.

"This Economist" now has a mandate. Did you forget his "mandate"?

Not a joke to be elected the leader of the world's largest democracy. (The leader can be a joke - that is a diff story tho'.)

Err....whats the big deal if India signs the EUM? So long as it does not buy critical/mass components of its defense hardware (MMRCA for ex), the americans can come and inspect all the C17s, Trentons they want. Expensive toys no doubt, but necessary to accommodate the big guy, while at the same time safeguarding indian needs.

Could it just be possible that the MRCA deal just went out of the U.S. basket? They'll probly be given huge compensations elsewhere - a fleet of chinooks, C-17s, perhaps even a few more P8s, Trenton types, nuclear reactors etc. But the really big and critical stuff will probly go to fra/russia thereby maintaining freedom where it matters most.

Or am I missing something?

CM.

India, US sign three agreements

The US nuclear reactors will create jobs for Americans and provide energy security for India, Clinton said. She also urged New Delhi to approve a civil liability legislation that will exempt foreign nuclear companies from huge compensation in case of a nuclear accident.
Ah fantastic ! Maybe we should give retroactive immunity to union carbide too ?

csharma wrote: So what exactly is the stratgeic partnetship getting for India?
I dont know. I am still looking
What do you mean - India doesnt get anything? You guys always complain. Check out the the reports carefully. Our Hon. PM has been invited to visit the great land of milk & honey on November 24th by none other than the messiah himself. Gasp - the sheer privilege!! Of course, the Hon. PM has to be on a 40 day "vrath" before the said pilgrimage can begin - no alcohol, pot, meat or sex during this vrath period.

I would like to look at Sharm-e-Sheikh Harakiri by MMS and the Clinton visit with reference to each other.

Some Piradhers here say that it was a great defeat of India, where as some others say that it was a Chankian victory clinched by India. I guess, instead of looking at the events in victory and defeat, why can't we simply enlist the things which we gained and things which we lost.

1. What exactly was agreed upon?
2. What are the gains for India in these two events?
3. What did we loose?

Just list, and not commentary..

Thank you...
Last edited by Atri on 20 Jul 2009 23:49, edited 1 time in total.
Mihaylo

Post by Mihaylo »

If if comes through, the end use agreement will allow American defence companies to sell defence hardware and software with the rider that India will neither pass on the weapons nor the tecnology forward.

Is this all that India agreed to ? If so I don't see anything wrong with it

Mihaylo wrote:If if comes through, the end use agreement will allow American defence companies to sell defence hardware and software with the rider that India will neither pass on the weapons nor the tecnology forward.

Except if it contains provisions that the equipment will be inspected on site, with expenses paid by India. Or if the equipment cannot be used against "nations which are american allies" (read Munna). Or if it applies to all dual use technology (read inspection of our nuclear facilities). The agreement follows "guilty unless proven innocent" template.

There are 1000's of things wrong with it. Dont believe the positive spin and psy-ops.

How many times russies inspected our MKIs or told what we can or cannot do with them ?

Guys, let's keep a sense of India's mission!

1. With 8%-11% growth per year for the next 20 years we want to become the third pole in this world, next to USA and China!

2. With a hostile China and Islamic Extremism in our neighborhood, we can never become some pacifist like Japan!

3. If there is no nuclear war or some biologic pandemic, Indian rise is ASSURED!

So let's curse our leaders here and there, but let us not fall into dark despair.

Anujan wrote:
India, US sign three agreements

The US nuclear reactors will create jobs for Americans and provide energy security for India, Clinton said. She also urged New Delhi to approve a civil liability legislation that will exempt foreign nuclear companies from huge compensation in case of a nuclear accident.
Ah fantastic ! Maybe we should give retroactive immunity to union carbide too ?
Now we will know how guinea pigs feel. :D

american guinea pigs in particular.

Anujan wrote:
Mihaylo wrote:If if comes through, the end use agreement will allow American defence companies to sell defence hardware and software with the rider that India will neither pass on the weapons nor the tecnology forward.

Except if it contains provisions that the equipment will be inspected on site, with expenses paid by India. Or if the equipment cannot be used against "nations which are american allies" (read Munna). Or if it applies to all dual use technology (read inspection of our nuclear facilities). The agreement follows "guilty unless proven innocent" template.

There are 1000's of things wrong with it. Dont believe the positive spin and psy-ops.

How many times russies inspected our MKIs or told what we can or cannot do with them ?

What about modifications?

Can we adapt the amreki aircraft, for instance, to carry the brahmos?

Can we carry russian or israeli missiles on amreki pylons?

Or do we need prior amreki premission to this?? What if such permissions are not forthcoming?

Gentlemen, how about consolidating the discussion in this thread --

End User Agreement : India's capitulation to US interests ?

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 13#p702613
bchatnani

EUA and our neighbour

Post by bchatnani »

I could not find any source on the web confirming whether Pakistan has any EUA agreement with the U.S.

Does anyone know of any such agreement?

Re: EUA and our neighbour

bchatnani wrote:I could not find any source on the web confirming whether Pakistan has any EUA agreement with the U.S.

Does anyone know of any such agreement?
Every country that purchases US armaments has such agreements.. even NATO members.
It is a requirement of US law.

Beyond Bill and Bush Hillary pledges higher plane for ties; arms pact elusive
But the secretary of state could not carry home a signed agreement that would have allowed the US to meet a domestic requirement and let American companies bid for multi-billion dollar defence deals in India.

Choosing their words carefully, both sides suggested they had “reached”, not signed, an agreement on the end-use verification pact that will allow the US to verify how India is using the military equipment it buys from America.

Statements in Delhi and Washington this evening implied that some differences on the agreement were still to be ironed out. “It is an arrangement, not an agreement,” an Indian official said – a distinction which found echo in a fact sheet issued by the state department in Washington.

On transfer of nuclear enrichment and reprocessing technologies that had come under a cloud after a G8 statement, she said: “We don’t oppose such transfers to India, there is now a basis for it which is, of course, the civilian nuclear deal.”

She was quick to attach general US concerns on the issue, saying: “But we are opposed to unauthorised and inappropriate transfers which can take place. There is a right way to do it and a very wrong way. We are seeking advice from India on how to prevent such unauthorised and dangerous transfers.”

Hillary Shortchanges U.S. On India
http://www.investors.com/NewsAndAnalysi ... ?id=482717
Posted 07:09 PM ET

Leadership: Hillary Clinton's trip to India to push a global warming agenda has proved a waste of time. Not just because India rejected junk science, but because big issues got sidelined. Her agenda is making her insignificant.

The last thing the U.S. should be doing with a prized ally like India is try to force it into the green agenda of the Kyoto and Copenhagen set, as if that were the most important issue for the two states, topping their military and trade interests.

But Secretary of State Clinton made that the centerpiece of her visit to India, almost trying to shame the nation of 1 billion people to agree to slash its greenhouse gases by 50% by 2050 in preparation for a comprehensive treaty in Copenhagen by December.

"Not so long ago, the measure of a nation's greatness was the size of its military or its economic strength, or its capacity to dominate its friends and adversaries," Clinton told students at Delhi University. "But in this century — in the interconnected and interdependent world in which we live — greatness can be defined by the power of an example."

Example? Actually, India will go for the economic and military strength, thank you very much. Unfortunately, there wasn't much more than lip service on that from Clinton.

And that's a shame, because India is a nation that has moved away from multilateralism, statism and socialism since 1991 and vowed to do the things that make a nation substantially great instead of sanctimoniously pure. That means a strong defense and open markets. This year it expects to post 6% GDP growth, a miracle in a global economic downturn. Signing on to any green pact will halt that.

But that hasn't stopped the Obama administration from submerging that unique relationship beneath a multilateral global agenda and a series of other smaller issues — a disservice to us and to India.

India's alliance is the best thing to happen since the Iraq War. Our huge strategic and trade relationship — we now do some $44 billion in two-way trade — is unlike any other in the world. Forged from a common fight against terrorism and a commitment to growth through trade, it needs to grow on those terms.

But instead of talking about a free-trade treaty, as India has sought, or taking steps to strengthen the U.S.-India military alliance as new challenges from China, Pakistan and emerging non-state actors like Somali pirates appear, Clinton called for a "comprehensive strategic approach," devoted to education, food security and the climate change agenda.

Chankian hat on :

Bringing India and Pakistan on a common table and initializing the peace process is a huge achievement for the Obama admin (chuckles..) so as a token of appreciation good words from Mrs Clinton will be common thing in next few days....and ofcourse once the dialogue process starts no one is gonna stop Pakistan from bringing J&K to the table . :lol:

yawn...pass on the plate folks.

New Delhi: Former president Dr A P J Abdul Kalam was frisked at the Delhi international airport by employees of an American airline when he was traveling to the US a month ago.

Sources at the airport said employees of Continental Airlines frisked Kalam in what is called the second line of security check. He was made to take off his shoes and asked to wait before being frisked.

The Central Industrial Security Force, which is in charge of overall security of the airport, and a protocol officer objected at the time but the US airlines insisted on frisking Kalam. The matter was raised with the Ministry of Civil Aviation.

India has a list of VIPs exempted from routine security checks and frisking. This is applicable even when they are travelling by commercial flights.

The list includes 18 VIPs including the President, Vice-President, Prime Minister, former Presidents, Lok Sabha Speaker, Chief Ministers, Chief Justices of High Courts and the Cabinet Secretary.

Singha wrote:New Delhi: Former president Dr A P J Abdul Kalam was frisked at the Delhi international airport by employees of an American airline when he was traveling to the US a month ago.

Sources at the airport said employees of Continental Airlines frisked Kalam in what is called the second line of security check. He was made to take off his shoes and asked to wait before being frisked.

The Central Industrial Security Force, which is in charge of overall security of the airport, and a protocol officer objected at the time but the US airlines insisted on frisking Kalam. The matter was raised with the Ministry of Civil Aviation.

India has a list of VIPs exempted from routine security checks and frisking. This is applicable even when they are travelling by commercial flights.

The list includes 18 VIPs including the President, Vice-President, Prime Minister, former Presidents, Lok Sabha Speaker, Chief Ministers, Chief Justices of High Courts and the Cabinet Secretary.
WTF!!!!! APJ, a former prez, subjected to unmentionable stuff and that too in his own country. God have mercy on India. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

CM

WTF!!!!! APJ, a former prez, subjected to unmentionable stuff and that too in his own country. God have mercy on India. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

CM
Big deal US is like this onlee, if you want to do biz with them be like them, otherwise go cower.

They should have given him a full body strip search, after all he has a mozzie name too, and anyway what does all this matter -- he got to fly didnt he, so what are you whining about.

The US seems to have latched on to the fact that that our current Congress led Government is very amenable to being ahem ………. Co-operative when prestige is thickly smothered on :roll: .

Our Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh it seems has been bestowed yet another “State Visit” to the US.

Many will recall that during the Bush Presidency our Prime Minister Dr. manmohan Singh joined heads of State/Government from such significant world powers as Mexico, Philippines, Poland and Kenya in being accorded the honour of a “State Visit” to the US.

I now wait with bated breath to find out which other significant world powers will join the club to whom this honour will be bestowed by the Obama Presidency :wink: .:
Question: Madam Secretary, as far as the Bush Administration was concerned and now the new Obama Administration is concerned, we have seen that there is a sense of feeling that this new Administration is more concerned and inclined towards deepening its relationship with China and Pakistan. Do you share that thought? What is your comment on that?

US Secretary of State: My comments have demonstrated very clearly the significance and importance of our relationship with India. We enriched this relationship to broaden and deepen it as partners already on the world stage. What we have outlined today will be a significant expansion of our bilateral relationship. We also have a very important set of issues that we are pursuing with Pakistan, with China, and with many other countries around the world. But I do not think you can understate the significance of our relationship as two democracies. We understand the difficulties of decision-making in democracies; and we respect the vibrancy of each other’s democracy. That is a much stronger base for a relationship than any other in the world because it is democracies that are able to expand an understanding of common interests and show mutual respect; and that is what is at the core of broadening relationship between us.

Yes, of course, we have relations with other countries. You know, the United States is called upon to act globally every single hour of every single day. But, as the invitation to Prime Minister Singh - the first State Visit in the Obama Administration – demonstrates, we are very committed to this relationship.

MEA Press Release
Last edited by arun on 21 Jul 2009 12:52, edited 1 time in total.

arun wrote:The US seems to have latched on to the fact that that our current Congress led Government is very amenable to being ahem ………. Co-operative when prestige is thickly smothered on :roll: .
They have figured that flattery is very important to these elites to get the job done

CM
Big deal US is like this onlee, if you want to do biz with them be like them, otherwise go cower.

They should have given him a full body strip search, after all he has a mozzie name too, and anyway what does all this matter -- he got to fly didnt he, so what are you whining about.
Thats not the point, we know the games the U.S can play. But it happened in India - that sir is really offensive. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

CM.

Thats not the point, we know the games the U.S can play. But it happened in India - that sir is really offensive. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

CM.
Umm Sir, I was only being sarcastic since this is the exact same logic that's trotted out by Dhimmi's when India indulges in her latest capitulation in a long series of them now.

Sanku wrote:Umm Sir, I was only being sarcastic since this is the exact same logic that's trotted out by Dhimmi's when India indulges in her latest capitulation in a long series of them now.
Yeah now i remember why i stay away from the strat threads - BP is shot to hell, not to mention sleep. :(

CM.

arun wrote:The US seems to have latched on to the fact that that our current Congress led Government is very amenable to being ahem ………. Co-operative when prestige is thickly smothered on :roll: .
They have figured that flattery is very important to these elites to get the job done
Indian Parliament should pass a law that flattery is akin to bribes, with the sole difference that instead of material gifts, one is given 'emotional gifts', and no Indian official or Indian representative is allowed to accept such gifts, or let such 'gifts' influence one's judgment or how one exercises one's responsibilities.
tripathi

Post by tripathi »

The incident took place on April 24 at the Indira Gandhi international airport when Kalam was travelling to the US. He was treated like an ordinary passenger
After 3 months this incident is coming to light.GOI must cancel the continental airline licence in india.

it was most probably the foreign thugs these airlines keep here for passport and visa checking.

guardian.co.uk

India says no to emission reduction

India's minister for environment and forests Jairam Ramesh has ruled out the country's agreeing to specific targets for reducing carbon emissions.

"There is simply no case for the pressure that we [India] — who have among the lowest emissions per capita — face to reduce emissions," Ramesh told visiting US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton yesterday (19 July).

"And as if this pressure was not enough, we also face the threat of carbon tariffs on our exports to countries such as yours," Ramesh said. These tariffs are charges levied on companies for the carbon dioxide they produce while manufacturing goods.

Ramesh says that detailed modelling studies carried out in India show that even if gross domestic product grows by 8–9 per cent over the next two decades, India's emissions will be below that of developed countries.

He also said India sees "a critical role for international technology cooperation in enabling countries like India to adapt to climate change". India, in collaboration with the UN, will host an international meeting on climate change technology issues on 22–23 October, in New Delhi, which is expected to culminate in a statement for inclusion in any agreement to be reached in Copenhagen in December.

Although developing countries expect a concrete adaptation fund to be put in place in Copenhagen, developed countries have not yet committed themselves to any specific contributions, Tove Maria Ryding — a climate and energy campaigner for Greenpeace Denmark and chair of a coalition of 92 nongovernmental organisations — told journalists from developing countries last month (June).

Technology transfer is being linked to how willing developing countries — especially Brazil China, India and South Africa — are to commit themselves to reducing emissions, she says.

A press release from India's environment ministry on 19 July says Ramesh suggests a three-pronged approach for India–US collaboration on climate change as a way forward. The first is to set up an India–US forum on climate change technology, with initial funds from the two governments to kickstart it. The two countries could engage in joint research in solar energy, biomass, clean coal, high-voltage power transmission, smart grids and wastewater utilisation, he suggests.

The second is building institutional capacity for climate change research and its impacts, and the third is collaboration between the two countries on environmental planning, regulation and management.

India's future plans in this area include establishing a science-based national environmental protection authority and a national 'green tribunal' to serve as an environment court — a specialist court for environmental issues.

• This article was shared by our content partner SciDev.net, part of the Guardian Environment Network

Manny

Post by Manny »

Does anyone have any concrete evidence or writings that says this agreement with the US on defense is intrusive?

I mean, if the US wants to make sure whatever it sells to India is not passed to Iran. Whats wrong with that?

I see the problem about not using against allies vis a vis Pakistan and China. That could be a problem,

Apart from that, is there any reasonable issue?
asprinzl

Post by asprinzl »

A Senator Hillary Clinton is a formidable opponent in domestic politics and a President Obama knew that she will be a constant thorn in his belly regardless of her being a fellow Democrats. And she will be a very hard opponent to face if he is to run again for office in 2012 especially if his idiotic policy of prioritizing relationship with the Muslim world instead of concentrating on domestic economic development. How do you get rid of this formidable opponent?

Ofcourse by giving her a prestigious position that would take her completely away from the domestic scene. And how do you make sure she will not be domineering in her new position? Ofcourse by appointing a few special diplomats like George Mitchel and Holbrooke for crisis hotspots thus reducing Hillary's visibility further.

Guess what? Hillary has nothing to talk about now except about the environment- a topic she does not care (check their record when they ran Arkansas). If she quits now....she will be termed a failure and this will come to haunt her in 2012. Obama (learning from the Clintonites playbook) has stacked around him powerful poison pens that would be sharp tongued in the primary against Hillary. If Hillary continues in her current position, her stars will only wane further unless something very dramatic happens. She is in a position she does not like and India being a big nation should have gotten her at least some brownie points. But not to be. Cunning Obama actually sent her to India to be humiliated.

In other words, Hillary CANNOT deliver on any hard and tough issues even though she is the Secretary of State of the USA. The is no point for GOI to do business with Hillary except for side chota Issues.
Avram Sprinzl

Cain Marko wrote: Thats not the point, we know the games the U.S can play. But it happened in India - that sir is really offensive. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

CM.
Umm Sir, I was only being sarcastic since this is the exact same logic that's trotted out by Dhimmi's when India indulges in her latest capitulation in a long series of them now.
I, for one, dont see anything wrong with this. If he was forced to do something special that is not reserved for ordinary passengers then I would be offended. If 99.99% of the rest of us are frisked, I dont see the reason why he should not. If you remember, the parliament attack was carried out in a car which had the home ministry sticker. That was caused because of our stupidity of not frisking MPs who think too much of themselves and timid security personnel who might lose their jobs or get a FIR lodged if they insist.

Secondly, I respect Kalam-ji. But why all this fawning and special privileges for VIPs ? Why should they get to breeze through security without frisking whereas the rest of us should be frisked ? There have been incidents in TN where an MLA punched and broke the nose of a CISF personnel when he stopped the poojya mantriji from attempting to go through security without being frisked. Then there is another incident of a MLA slapping the ground personnel who did not let him board after the gates were closed. Heck I even recall a mid 80's news announcements that flights wont be delayed to accommodate late VVIPs !

I would feel safe to travel with Kalam-ji if he is not frisked. But wouldn't feel safe to travel with Phoolan Devi or Shahabuddin (both MPs) or Arun gawli (MLA) if they are not frisked. How to make the distinction as to who should be frisked and who should not ? Based on a media consensus on how "good" they are ? How to establish that the person travel is in fact Kalam-ji ? Based on his looks ? His entourage ?

Some day, I am going to write a bigger post on our piskology. We, SDREs, have a false sense of honor and respect, and think that making exceptions to rules is our way of honoring important people. On the other hand, asking them to follow rules is somehow honoring them. It is not ! we have to get out of this mentality ! Our bending rules == honor piskology is cleverly exploited by everyone from negotiators to Unkil to somehow show that they respect us by making a "special exception".
Last edited by Anujan on 21 Jul 2009 22:00, edited 1 time in total.

^^ For your help Anujan! Not frisking a former Indian Prez is the law of the land and I dont care what a two bit TSA officer does or does not thinks. APJ's humiliation is a national humiliation and violation of law both, that punk should cool his heels in a well ventilated :mrgreen: Tihar jail cell for a couple of years before he thinks of frisking any other law mandated VIP. THIS IS INDIA and all concerned should take notice....

munna wrote:^^ For your help Anujan! Not frisking a former Indian Prez is the law of the land and I dont care what a two bit TSA officer does or does not thinks. APJ's humiliation is a national humiliation and violation of law both, that punk should cool his heels in a well ventilated :mrgreen: Tihar jail cell for a couple of years before he thinks of frisking any other law mandated VIP. THIS IS INDIA and all concerned should take notice....
munna-saar
It might very well be the rule of the land. But was a protocol established ? Is there a mechanism whereby all airlines were informed of this law, a communication channel established to convey, beyond doubt, the identity of the traveler ? Is there a separate entrance or a secure area for VVIPs ?

Or did some babu simply show up at the counter and tell the person there that Kalam-ji is traveling and so he should not be frisked ?

How stupid would we feel if some talibunny dressed up like Kalam-ji hijacks the next flight out of dilli ?

I feel what the security personnel did was correct. For secure areas, when in doubt, enforce the standard operating procedure. Rather than violating the standard operating procedure when in doubt, which is what we expect our security personnel to do. (I personally have gotten scott free from traffic police in India by claiming my dad was the AGP)
Last edited by Anujan on 21 Jul 2009 22:06, edited 1 time in total.

I don't think any country frisks their former heads of state. It is simply absurd.

It is doubly absurd to frisk Kalam. Is he some risk to the aircraft?

Those TSA regulations surely give leeway to the security staff as to whom they frisk. If Indian law prohibits frisking of VVIPs, then the airline securty must obey Indian law.