BR Forums Feedback

Re: BR Forums Feedback

As it would stick to your argument that it is a Nick which you can read.
that was your point, not mine !!

my argument is simple, as it says in the guidelines
Forum members are required to register with a displayed name or username that should appear like a common human name and which does NOT feature a call sign, an abbreviation, names with numbers, ALL CAPS, or names that may carry a message or meaning that may be interpreted as inappropriate.
the last bit is usually extrapolated to disallow common names from movies etc that may not be appropriate for a forum like BR.

I for one would find it extremely odd and perhaps distressing to discuss tank warfare with 'bobby darling' or 'himesh reshmaiya'. :wink:

as I said, not every nick is acceptable. do you know someone actually called mowgli or baghira, even as a nickname ?
as for enqyoob, people do call him here as { "Sir! Yessir!" would be fine, thank you..} why is that a problem ?

-----------------------------
human readable name
is NOT a phrase that occurs in forum guidelines, nor is a part of forum policy.
it was raised in sam-kamath's question which has been answered.

the forum policy on usernames can be read here :
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/Guidelines.html
Last edited by enqyoob on 05 Nov 2009 00:27, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: deleting Classified info

why is enqyoob ok.
Oh! That's E-Z. Because I am so highly Privileged. "Exalted" is the word I was looking for. They recruited me to be a Moderator at a salary of Rs. 1,700,000 crores, and that's only the figure they are putting on Saral ITR-2 Tax form under "how many race horses do u own?"

And SHOCKINGLY :eek: :eek: they even allowed this horrible outrage EVEN B4 I was recruited as a Moderator. In fact that's one of the keys I observed that said: Hello, Enqyoob, You R destined 4 True Greatness. One day u may become Moderator at BeeArrEff!!" :shock:

Eat your heart out. Or other organs, it's totally OK with me. Let's just say, "Some have got it. Some ain't". Tough! :((

By the say, I have previously announced that people who post others' real names, addresses, birth signs etc. will be banned without warning. I am getting sick of those who persist in violating the privacy of others. So for that, anyone who does that is getting a Warning or InstaBan from me. I have as much right to privacy as anyone else and the internet is full of terrorists or worse.

Letters to Mr. Seetal , Jagan, Sonia Gandhi, President P. Patil etc. about that are as always, entertaining. Cheers

P.S. You could start that with
"I have been browsing BRF for 10 mins a day for the past 20 days, and so I want to tell you how to run things." THAT ought to impress them right away!

{sorry ! I didn't know calling **CLASSIFIED*** as ***CLASSIFIED** was classified on BR ! :eek: :eek: }

{n^3 ji, you will have to think of a different moniker to enqyoob (I suggest Faisal ! :twisted: ) in that case ! going SL govt on posts might not achieve the objective you want to}
Last edited by Rahul M on 05 Nov 2009 00:42, edited 7 times in total.
Reason: added query about classification level.
sam_kamath

Post by sam_kamath »

Rahul M wrote: as I said, not every nick is acceptable. do you know someone actually called mowgli or baghira, even as a nickname ?
as for enqyoob, people do call him here as n^3, a play on his actual name. why is that a problem ?
Rahul sir that's exactly my point...acceptable by whom. I do seriously know a very nice guy called Mowgli, he heads a division here. I know a Sushil Shinde who is called SS or square or esquire... Rahul I do not have anything for or against any person per say my issue is the precedence set.

However i really do appreciate the forthright explanation that you gave.
sam_kamath

Post by sam_kamath »

enqyoob wrote:
why is enqyoob ok.
Oh! That's E-Z. Because I am so highly Privileged. "Exalted" is the word I was looking for. They recruited me to be a Moderator at a salary of Rs. 1,700,000 crores, and that's only the figure they are putting on Saral ITR-2 Tax form under "how many race horses do u own?"

And SHOCKINGLY :eek: :eek: they even allowed this horrible outrage EVEN B4 I was recruited as a Moderator. In fact that's one of the keys I observed that said: Hello, Enqyoob, You R destined 4 True Greatness. One day u may become Moderator at BeeArrEff!!" :shock:

Eat your heart out. Or other organs, it's totally OK with me. Let's just say, "Some have got it. Some ain't". Tough! :((

By the say, I have previously announced that people who post others' real names, addresses, birth signs etc. will be banned without warning. I am getting sick of those who persist in violating the privacy of others. So for that, anyone who does that is getting a Warning or InstaBan from me. I have as much right to privacy as anyone else and the internet is full of terrorists or worse.

Letters to Mr. Seetal , Jagan, Sonia Gandhi, President P. Patil etc. about that are as always, entertaining. Cheers

P.S. You could start that with
"I have been browsing BRF for 10 mins a day for the past 20 days, and so I want to tell you how to run things." THAT ought to impress them right away!

{sorry ! I didn't know calling **CLASSIFIED*** as ***CLASSIFIED** was classified on BR ! :eek: :eek: }

Is Flame baiting considered Ok on this forum...

No it's not, but continual whining is, apparently, thank All**!!

Aren't your 10 minutes up?

Thank you all for making BRF a better forum. :roll:

sam, acceptable by the mods. at the end of the day we have to take a call either way and trust me it's not easy. since we have to ensure that the forum functions fruitfully and without undue disruption the responsibility too is upon us. whatever guidelines there are, we try to interpret them in their correct spirit to the best of our abilities, usually by consultation with other mods.
as the guidelines say :
Admin decision in this regard is final
the spirit of the law may be interpreted as :
"any username is acceptable provided is suitable for a forum like BR"

regarding the monicker you have a problem with, it considered suitable (in the opinion of mods). it has nothing to do with seniority or forum position or anything else. you may not agree but there you are. it's not possible for us to keep everyone happy, so we've quit trying. all we try to be is fair to the best of our abilities.

this is my last post on this very tiring topic.

p.s. you don't need to add sir to my name.
sam_kamath

Post by sam_kamath »

Rahul M wrote:sam, acceptable by the mods. at the end of the day we have to take a call either way and trust me it's not easy. since we have to ensure that the forum functions fruitfully and without undue disruption the responsibility too is upon us. whatever guidelines there are, we try to interpret them in their correct spirit to the best of our abilities, usually by consultation with other mods.
as the guidelines say :
Admin decision in this regard is final
the spirit of the law may be interpreted as :
"any username is acceptable provided is suitable for a forum like BR"

regarding the monicker you have a problem with, it considered suitable (in the opinion of mods). it has nothing to do with seniority or forum position or anything else. you may not agree but there you are. it's not possible for us to keep everyone happy, so we've quit trying. all we try to be is fair to the best of our abilities.

this is my last post on this very tiring topic.

p.s. you don't need to add sir to my name.
Rahul I accept that you and some other mods out there are doing this to the best of your abilities and we should all thank you for keeping this forum sane most of the times, however I would like to please draw your attention to something that you yourself refer to as the "spirt" of the law. Sprit of the law is not something arbitrary but is well grounded in the previous experiences of interpreting the same law, basically what did a MOD do when he/she was faced with a similar situation. A Mod has to be very careful to accept or deny a request as any exceptions that are made in one decision become the precedence and hence can be interpreted as the spirit of the law.

In this case the use of a moniker if "n^3 or enqyoob" is allowed because we all know him as "n^3" and that's fine ... than someone who is not your friend can come along and claim the moniker "n^2", if an admin refuse him it would be unfair as he will claim spirit of the law but more than that it could mean that some one can use a moniker as the username if he/she knows a few mods.

Rahulji (and trust me this is in serious appreciation of your patient listing efforts not many have the same patience) would you yourself as a mod like to rule by exception or by law. In any case the bigger point i want to bring on through this big discussion is one of setting Precedences. May be not now may be after some days when you or some other mod give this a thought you might kinda empathize with what I am trying to get to.

Any ways I think my quota for BR is done for the next 6 months now :-)

Sometime back I had the pleasure of observing what happened on the "IndiaUnity" forum (a forum set up to "do something about" India's unity, like the American Cancer Foundation wants to "do something about Cancer") when a new user named Pervez Kutta appeared.

Several of the commie-pakis there got their undies completely in a knot about this user ID. Seriously questioned the postor's religious beliefs. User calmly led them down the path and humiliated the Top Mullah there by showing that he was totally ignorant of the Prophet's (pbuh) true teachings. Then a postor named Kaleem Kawaja had this shattering revelation - that the ID was in fact an insult to the great Pakistani CEO and Commando.

Mr. Kutta calmly pointed out that he came from the village of Kutta, not far from Bangalore (which I believe is in Kerala), and asked what proper Believer would call a co-Believer a dog. Pretty soon, the "senior" mullahs there were at each other's throats, though none thought to associate this fine state of affairs with the kind and gentle posts of said postor. For instance, at one point, Kawaja was claiming that he had managed to "stop the riots in Mau, UP with ONE phone call", and Kutta pointing out that only the guy who STARTED the riots with ONE phone call would know whom to call to shut them down.

This entertainment continued for some time with "Kawaja" issuing dire threats and the Forum Chief (the guy who tried rushing the stage at the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas meeting when Prez. Kalam was speaking, and got "escorted out") coming in and threatening banning etc.

Kutta then did a parting post which revealed that he was actually a (presumed US) Agent who was only there to warn the Forumites that they were on the Watch List, that he had heard enough of the planning by the Authorities in the US about how to deal with them, and to point out that if they behaved in the US like they behaved in India, they would WISH they were in Guantanamo. Then he disappeared.

No comment on what my user ID was while I was watching these occurrences with deep interest.

Just pointing out that it is always dangerous to assume that one knows how a name happened to be associated with a person. For instance, "Kutta" is a human-readable name, and can be pronounced in many ways, (ever heard of the "Kutta Condition" in aerodynamics? Or "Kuttan" in Malloo? ) and can mean many things. Sticking mijjiles out at ppl's User IDs on the assumption that one Knows It All, is a really good prescription for stepping on one's own said mijjile. Was "Pervez Kutta" from Kutta Near Bangalore? Was he really an "Agent"? Is he watching us now? We may never know. :eek:

Cheers

BTW, "N^2" is not a human-readable name, so it would, yes, be banned. JFYI. It's one thing to read an underline, but reading a "caret" is really tough on us poor pronouncers. Besides being brilliantly original. :roll: OTOH, I think "Sam_Kanath" would be fine.

IndianUnity is a riot, so much fun onlee. One of the thoughts there is that fundamentalism of the majority is worse than fundamentalism of the minority. They claim to unite, but routinely diss the majority. If someone asks why there are so many non-Indians trying to "unite" Indians.....it does not get any response.

we should have a jeeehaaard dhaaga, where all form of insults can be hurled at each other, without fear of ban. This should be irrespective of whether someone is a newbie poster or an adminullah.

We should make participation in this dhaaga compulsory for all rakshaks. We should extol this dhaaga's virtues for keeping out class-based discrimination. To protect wimmens, we should ban wimmens postors from participating in the dhaaga.

I think it will make the rest of the forum (if not the rest of the world) a better place to live in, and I think that this dhaaga idea is the solution to every possible problem that ails this forum.

OT Alert: A post to lighten the mood here
enqyoob wrote:...
BTW, "N^2" is not a human-readable name, so it would, yes, be banned. JFYI. It's one thing to read an underline, but reading a "caret" is really tough on us poor pronouncers. Besides being brilliantly original. :roll: OTOH, I think "Sam_Kanath" would be fine.
Saar would Yen_skuvar be acceptable instead of N^2 ?? :mrgreen:
Thank God we do not have a person from Africa person registered on BRF who may have a Click in his name. As Russell Peters explains below (begins at 3:01 min):
Last edited by BijuShet on 05 Nov 2009 07:57, edited 1 time in total.

enqyoob wrote:Sometime back I had the pleasure ...
Tremendous gyan, and quite interesting anecdote indeed. 8)
However don't you think that all this needless discussion about username would not have happened if you had not mocked the guy on his comment about him having 10 minutes to browse the forum and he could do without Biblical stuff in a military thread? To me, it looked like an honest feedback - which some of us moderators decided to mock.
At some point we need to look back and see, was it more important to go with our instinct, grab one point out of the user's feedback, make fun of him and get the "pleasure".... or maybe think what would have been better for the forum?
Asit P

Post by Asit P »

There is a discretionary power which the moderators of this or any other forum enjoy. Why can't people understand and respect something as simple as this and move on?

One man's poison is another man's bread. What is right for me may be wrong for some one else. What is Jihad for a Mullah (hiding somewhere in a madarsa of Pakistan) is terrorism for the mankind.

Managing a community is a matter of individual's perception. And since no two men think alike, therefore, we are bound to agree or disagree with the decision of the mods. But what we feel may not always be right and what the mods do may not always be wrong.

If every member of BR starts managing it and starts interfering in its administrative matters, then it will soon become the case of 'too many cooks spoiling the broth'. That is why we have a team of limited people managing this forum. We need to understand that a person has been made a moderator only because, he has managed to stand out from the rest on the basis of his exemplary qualities (which could either be his matured head, his knowledge, his behaviour or a combination of all). Hence, we must respect the moderators and their decisions.

It's good to give feedback but I don't see any point in arguing unnecessarily till eternity. After all, neither are we paying the moderators for their services nor have they compelled us to become a member of this forum. We are here by choice and only because BR provides an environment and a standard of discussion which is better than many other forums on the internet.
samuel

Post by samuel »

Can someone please change my id to "Rung-e-Kutta"

samuel wrote:Can someone please change my id to "Rung-e-Kutta"
you can have runge or kutta, not both. :wink:
human sounding names, not computational method sounding names !
Rahulji (and trust me this is in serious appreciation of your patient listing efforts not many have the same patience) would you yourself as a mod like to rule by exception or by law. In any case the bigger point i want to bring on through this big discussion is one of setting Precedences. May be not now may be after some days when you or some other mod give this a thought you might kinda empathize with what I am trying to get to.
sam, this is not a matter of exception. the change was done due to a very specific reason (which I'm not at liberty to discuss) and this privilege (if you can call it that) has been extended to other members in the past irrespective of their forum seniority. if such a situation arose again, trust me, the seniority of the member would not matter.
samuel

Post by samuel »

Ok, I'll pass, sorry for trouble.

Asit P wrote:We need to understand that a person has been made a moderator only because, he has managed to stand out from the rest on the basis of his exemplary qualities (which could either be his matured head, his knowledge, his behaviour or a combination of all). Hence, we must respect the moderators and their decisions.
...or he didn't know the mess he would be getting into! :twisted:

However don't you think that all this needless discussion about username would not have happened
And MISS all that? :eek: Why? How often does a miserable clod like me get a chance to exchange such gyan with someone who is so important and busy that they only get 10 minutes per day to download all the essence of BeeArrEff, AND spare the few seconds to give us the benefit of their brilliance, hain?

As for "mocking", gee, give me a break, will you? I was commending him and welcoming him to BeeArrEff, wasn't I, hain? Think about it - aren't ppl sort of going around with their "offense-taking antennae" on max gain? Think back 1,700,000 years, archan, when you first came to BRF, what did you do?

a) read a lot, post a few tentative posts, see what ppl's views were, read a lot, maybe comment on something posted, test the waters.. collect some patient data on the various lines of thought...

b) march right into the Feedback Thread and give out orders and complaints about how things were being run, tell everyone how VALUABLE your time is, how disappointed you are at how it is being wasted by all these lesser mortals, toss in the usual mealy-mouthed patronizing managerese about how much POTENTIAL the forum has, if only the stupid mortals could follow your orders, get into a Bissing contest with all the admins, then :(( :(( :twisted: :evil: :cry: :(( when someone very senior sort of sees through your hollowness and tells you a few home truths ??

The times sure have changed. OK, so I don't want to be harsh and tell such ppl what I really think. After all, who am I to do that? I am just here to be of SERVICE to such esteemed personalities, hain? Be critical of THEM? That would after all, be so un-PC, and so "Offensive to Sentiments", it would waste so much of Seetal's time reading all those Open Letters, J-Gun and Rahul would have to spend so much time soothing offended Honor & Dignity, wag da ungli at Insensitive Mods... So! I am all kindness instead.

So why shouldn't us old-timers have ourselves some innocent entertainment just "going with the flow", hain? HOW can you call that "mocking", hain? :((

Anujan wrote:we should have a jeeehaaard dhaaga, where all form of insults can be hurled at each other, without fear of ban. This should be irrespective of whether someone is a newbie poster or an adminullah.

We should make participation in this dhaaga compulsory for all rakshaks. We should extol this dhaaga's virtues for keeping out class-based discrimination. To protect wimmens, we should ban wimmens postors from participating in the dhaaga.

I think it will make the rest of the forum (if not the rest of the world) a better place to live in, and I think that this dhaaga idea is the solution to every possible problem that ails this forum.
Ha! That was indeed the BRF of 1999-2002.
Those were the days my fiend
We thought they'd neeeeeever end.. :(( :(( :((
With user IDs like Schwartzkopf, Merlin, Scheherazade...

Learned so many good words, so many ways of describing each other's parentage... so much about different religions... sheer gyan, I tell you. Only ****Defence Forum today can come close today to that. :(( Needed rhino-class skin to survive more than 3 days.

Hey, don't they have real (meaning no physical violence, just mental agony) ragging in desi madarssas these days? How do these ppl come out like this?

Jagan wrote:
Ray,

Whats the problem with sam as a nick name. there are half a dozen cases i know where it can legitimately be used as a nickname even for hindus. even otherwise, It is highly inapprporiate for anyone to pick on the member's nickname and try to correlate it with his religious leanings.

-Jagan

Nothing wrong in the name Sam and I accept that it can be used by all and sundry.

If I quoted the Bible what is so objectionable for Mr Sam to declare that I am on a crusade?

What crusade?

Each quote was appropriate - Peace and don't fight with each other.

What is so objectionable about the Bible or its quote?

I also find it odd that when someone (or me) takes a balanced view on these so called Indic Shining :roll: threads, people automatically go fishing to snare that someone into a controversy!

Even here, finding nothing else to bellyache about, a needless controversy has been raised on the nickname of a Mod as if Atlas has shrugged and the world has come crashing down!!

If one can patiently reads through Narayanan's post, the essence of the problem can be understood.

I did not edit Sam's post. I gave the comment and the Edit box automatically indicates Edit. Instead of posting the comment on the post in blue, using the Edit box also indicates who has Edited (given comments) and I have no qualms in anyone knowing I gave the comments! Transparency!

Oh, I greatly enjoyed it, no problem! :mrgreen:

On the issue of usernames, I had a fake passport nomenclatured John_Holmes. Exception was taken to the fact that it was a P0rn star's name and changed arbitrarily to John_H. Now please tell me which part of BRF policy was offended for the innocent sounding ID to undergo such torture ?

Would I get more respect if I registered as Sherlock_Holmes ?

Please enlighten in the interests of justice towards downtrodden tribals like me.

Imagine a moniker - Hu.

People may wonder Who is Hu?

Moderator's discretion. In other words, moderator does what he feels is appropriate - a privilege that comes as a part of the job.
Got a problem with that?

Too bad. :mrgreen:

Is Pyare Lal an acceptable name ?

Nayak wrote:On the issue of usernames, I had a fake passport nomenclatured John_Holmes. Exception was taken to the fact that it was a P0rn star's name and changed arbitrarily to John_H.{nothing arbitary about it} Now please tell me which part of BRF policy was offended for the innocent sounding ID to undergo such torture ?

Would I get more respect if I registered as Sherlock_Holmes ? {most probably won't be allowed}

Please enlighten in the interests of justice towards downtrodden tribals like me.
this policy :
Forum members are required to register with a displayed name or username that should appear like a common human name and which does NOT feature a call sign, an abbreviation, names with numbers, ALL CAPS, or names that may carry a message or meaning that may be interpreted as inappropriate.

nayak, epic fail ! :mrgreen:

enqyoob wrote:Oh, I greatly enjoyed it, no problem! :mrgreen:
Good, now hopefully all newbies who dare to disagree with The Ayatollah would know better. This is what happens if you try to turn n3 into a "normal" moderator. He could single handedly take BRF back to the stone ages err... the "good ol' days". :P
Now y'all can be thankful that we are not all like this. Imagine the mayhem that could ensue. 8)

Prem wrote:Is Pyare Lal an acceptable name ?
Unless Laxmikant ji objects.

Nayakuddin

After the soosai rehab stint, I hear that the first 7 days is the hardest. Once you get through that, your temptation for soosai gradually goes down :P

"Nayak" sounds just fine to me :mrgreen:

what is the difference between Nayak and Nalayak?

God help the Mods todin. :lol:
BajKhedawal

Post by BajKhedawal »

Is tag McLovin taken? If not can I have it? its on my drivers license.

I can brove it too!

Rahul M wrote: this policy :

nayak, epic fail ! :mrgreen:
I am humbled. Looks like 360 degree global coverage to avoid getting im-pregnated from us unwashed hordes. :((

Khair, back to learning the hoko by rote....

Prem wrote:what is the difference between Nayak and Nalayak?
Nayak nahi..Khalnayak hu main! :D

@Mods

Dmurphy doesn't sound human enough. Can you change my id to something starting with J like "Jazz"
Jazz sounds pretty cool, eh? 8)

Other options would be: Hector/Jake/Jockey/Jet/Jedi

Hey are Star Wars character names considered human enough? You know, since they belong to a galaxy far far away...

I'd love to have Obi Wan Kenobi or Qui Gon Jinn! :mrgreen:

For the benefit of any lurker, following is the "idiot's survival guide for BRF"

1. Lurk a lot. Then lurk some more. Keep lurking, because that will save a lot of trouble.
2. If you still can't fight the urge to sign up, use some real human sounding name like "Ittyavirah Kuriype Kappalumaammoottil"
3. After sign up, lurk for at least an year before making first post.
4. As long as you are a trainee, criticize no one. That is NO ONE, not even Mushy or 10%i
5. As long as you are a trainee, never take an extreme stand on anything. Downhill skii at the slightest sign of resistance.

Now, in your journey from BRFite to Oldie, observe the following:

1. The appropriate minimum age for disagreement is 200 posts
2. The appropriate minimum age for alternate viewpoint is 300 posts
3. The appropriate minimum age for standing behind the alternate viewpoint is 500 posts
4. The appropriate minimum age for fighting for the alternate viewpoint is 700 posts
5. The appropriate minimum age for making complaints/suggestion about the way the forum is run is 1000 posts.
6. The appropriate minimum age for disagreeing with a moderator (young en) is 1000 posts
7. The appropriate minimum age for disagreeing with a moderator (older gen) is 1500 posts
8. The appropriate minimum age for disagreeing with Mod-e-Mod is, like, NEVER!!

And you will survive BRF.

Posted here, instead of Nukkad because:

1. Nukkad is not visible for lurkers
2. What is the difference anyway!!

Dileep wrote: 2. What is the difference anyway!!
mmm, I can think of one.

Your post count

Very sage advice Dileep-saar. That one post puts a logical perspective than the guidelines page. And when the urge to press the suicide vest reaches 'biblical' proportions, just log off BRF, get a chai, browse cricinfo and forget about it.

Relevant advice from a re-educated good taliban.

Dileep sorry to ask you something OT here, it is regarding the Cold Start Doctrine you wrote in Spy Story 1:
The PM shuddered himself on the word Cold Start. It is a weapon like the one given by Indra to Karna. The Shakthi could be used only on one enemy, and it is indefeatable. The Cold Start doctrine was specifically designed for Pakistan and also for this kind of situation. It is the PM's responsibility to take that decision.
Since I saw your post here so I crosspost my question here from Newbie thread:
^^Cold Start Dead?
Why abondon such powerful weapon?
Crossposting from Dileep's Spy Story 1:

The PM shuddered himself on the word Cold Start. It is a weapon like the one given by Indra to Karna. The Shakthi could be used only on one enemy, and it is indefeatable. The Cold Start doctrine was specifically designed for Pakistan and also for this kind of situation. It is the PM's responsibility to take that decision.

Is it true? Would be great if you can answer in newbie thread. Sorry for OT, everyone :oops:

Respected Moderaters(both He/She),
since it seems tis is Name changing season, if it is not troublesome
me would like to change me name to something else(human sounding of course).
i post in me real name, would like something like AP(hope Ass-o-ciate press won't mind)
or APS or aps or "eye pradap".
regards.