LCA news and discussion

Re: LCA news and discussion

Rishirishi wrote: A point everyone should consider, before complaining about the time used. Things take time. Even developing a car takes 2-3 years.
they take much longer than 2-3 years Rishi..for instance, Ford is working since 2 years on the cars that will come out in 2015.

Sid wrote:^^ Rahul, lets not jump the gun on every LCA critic. As humble LCA followers I think we should let DRDO/HAL prove its worth. Let their work speak for them.

BR has defended LCA's snail pace development for over a decade to see >10 prototypes fly in 10 years. At that time I used to go in nickkers, now it will be my kids turn to wear nickkers in few years time :D.
please compare with any other similar project worldwide and then tell me if the term snail pace is justified or not. the gripen for instance first flew in 1988 and achieved IOC in 1997, after 9 years.

Tejas first flew in 2001 and has completed all aerodynamic IOC requirements by 2009 itself (8 years) and is on the verge of achieving IOC in 2010 (9 years). this when saab has the history of more than 50 years of state-of-the-art fighter development behind it and also access to every resources and expertise in the western world. people should understand that these projects are not the engineering equivalent of making instant coffee. this is not a WW2 propeller driven fighter that goes from design board to frontline service in under 2 years. modern jet fighter development is time consuming business where one single misstep/accident can put you back by a couple of years (as happened with the CLAW sanctions). the projects can't hurry up suddenly just because forum warriors like us want it done according to our unrealistic expectations.
my remarks were sarcastic (i.e. The nikker comment). Point was to let DRDO/HAL prove them self through their deeds. Once LCA will complete IOC this year all such comments will cease to exist just like "LCA can never fly"/"LCA cannot pull G's" etc etc.

er Sid - your criticism of the LCA is well taken, but it is possible to have groups of Indians each of whom are generally good but make some mistakes - all adding up to a less than optimal result or longer time frame.

Sorry to nitpick:

"nikker"

Shiv ji, I think he meant nikker as in shorts not the "knickers" you are referring to. :wink:

Gaur wrote:^^
Shiv ji, I think he meant nikker as in shorts not the "knickers" you are referring to. :wink:

It is the same thing sir. Same thing. It was always "knicker", never "nikker", or even "nicker". Only pointing out that making errors is possible for anyone - and it gets particularly hurtful when errors are committed in the LCA program or Agni launches. How we deal with errors done by Indians is important. Do we deal with sympathy? Do we deal harshly? Is there denial? All these issues play a role at every level in Indian society.

Dealing with things harshly often encourages denial. Empathy and understanding sometimes work better. Depends on the situation though - be we tend to judge our own more harshly than we judge others.
karan_mc

Post by karan_mc »

Not Abandoned N-Tejas yet
they has been confirmation that Navy is interested in getting N-Tejas with high powered engines which Air force wants for Tejas MK-II rather then the Currently powered engines of GE.
I never read any thing about New engines for N-LCA ,can any one shed some light into this ?

karan_mc wrote:Not Abandoned N-Tejas yet
they has been confirmation that Navy is interested in getting N-Tejas with high powered engines which Air force wants for Tejas MK-II rather then the Currently powered engines of GE.
I never read any thing about New engines for N-LCA ,can any one shed some light into this ?
same thing as IAF wants.
Amit J

Post by Amit J »

Does anyone know if the LSP-3 has flown yet, this is the first LCA which will feature the MMRadar. Also can anyone revert with details on the achieved Flight envelope of the LCA (preferably with Links), as well as the MTOW/ weapons load. I eagerly await the IOC for the Mk1 and the first flight of the Naval Tejas prototype as well as hope that in Mar/May'10 the new engine will be finalised and it doesnt get marred and delayed by scams, issues, changing requirement.

Good Luck and God Speed - Team Tejas
Nirmal

Post by Nirmal »

Just read in Deccan Herald of today's issue that LCA Trainer has been successfully tested (2 seater version) and N-LCA will take to air in 2011-next year. The trainer is lot similar to N-LCA being 2 seater. will try and locate the article and post the link.

Technology to aid missile-satellite link
Asked about the progress in the naval version of the light combat aircraft, Saraswat said the first flight of naval LCA was expected in 2011.

Along with imported MiG 29 K, the naval LCA is expected to be the mainstay aircraft on board the Indian Aircraft Carrier, under construction in Cochin shipyard. But though the IAC is likely to join the navy by 2014-15, it’s not certain if the DRDO would be able to deliver the naval LCA in time.

Saraswat claimed that the recent successful flight of the LCA trainer version in Bangalore is an important step towards realising the naval LCA as the naval version will also have two pilots unlike the single pilot version for the air force.

The naval LCA, being assembled at the moment, will have ski-jump facility so that it will be launched from the decks of the carrier. On the ballistic missile defence system, he said the next test was likely in September.

b_patel

Post by b_patel »

Eurojet Bolsters Engine Offer for Indian LCA
http://www.defensenews.com/story.php?i= ... =ASI&s=AIR
EADS is doing whatever it takes to win this engine order it seems.
Wonder if the offer of the single crystal turbine blade is enough to overcome the EJ2000's price Tag?

Any update from chaiwala/panwala.... no update on official website since 12 Dec

will be bonus with LCH update ... hope I am not getting tooooo greedy :twisted:
aditp

Post by aditp »

being discussed in mil aviation thread. please continue there.
thanks.
Last edited by Rahul M on 09 Jan 2010 14:27, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: OT.
sanjaychoudhry

Post by sanjaychoudhry »

Naval version of Tejas under water as decisions stay pending
http://www.dnaindia.com/money/report_na ... ng_1334928

The Nehruvian socialist incompetencies built into the administratve system are becoming a threat to national security. Nothing ever works on time and there are endless delays amdist a culture of irresponsibility.

sanjaychoudhry wrote:Naval version of Tejas under water as decisions stay pending
http://www.dnaindia.com/money/report_na ... ng_1334928

The Nehruvian socialist incompetencies built into the administratve system are becoming a threat to national security. Nothing ever works on time and there are endless delays amdist a culture of irresponsibility.
Really grim reading indeed.

Chalta hai prevails all over - Tanks do not have night vision eqpt (could buy more Arjuns), MRCA purchase is hanging for almost a decade now, Engine for LCA not yet decided yet .....

Honestly, the bureaucracy is really getting to become an impediment in every single sector in India..its getting so tiring to read about the really shocking incompetency that is built into Govt. decision-making. :(

O ye Kaffirs in Bangalore, especially those in Outer Ring Road. Look and Dekho the Jehaaz-e-Kufr, al YellCeeYea do testing.

I saw it pull a pretty sharp knife edge turn and then came back again for a "dirty" pass with undercarriage down . And I heard multiple passes after that from my cabin ( "Cabin Boys" rule after all :mrgreen: :mrgreen: )

Pretty sharp. I dont recall seeing it pull such a sharp low radius turn earlier. Seems like the FBW has been upgraded/ cleared for higher 'g' loadings now , by the look of it.

But when are they flying the one with the radar installed (was that PV3 or something?).
Anantz

Post by Anantz »

Yup it was doing multiple low level and tight passes over the HAL airfield... That too with quite a loud bang! Surely must have pulled some pretty high 'G's as the radius was quite short and at quite a good speed. Reminded me of Aero India... Hope we hear something big soon! :twisted:

vina wrote:O ye Kaffirs in Bangalore, especially those in Outer Ring Road. Look and Dekho the Jehaaz-e-Kufr, al YellCeeYea do testing.

I saw it pull a pretty sharp knife edge turn and then came back again for a "dirty" pass with undercarriage down . And I heard multiple passes after that from my cabin ( "Cabin Boys" rule after all :mrgreen: :mrgreen: )

Pretty sharp. I dont recall seeing it pull such a sharp low radius turn earlier. Seems like the FBW has been upgraded/ cleared for higher 'g' loadings now , by the look of it.

But when are they flying the one with the radar installed (was that PV3 or something?).
Had a nice view of the same. Were there two flying or just a single one ( lots of noise from multiple directions) ?

Had a hard time explaining that it was a Desi plane to my IT-vity friends who were convinced that a Indian plane couldnt be flying so sharply and with so much noise ( though had to endure some nasty jokes when i mentioned the GE engine) :roll: :roll:

vina wrote:O ye Kaffirs in Bangalore, especially those in Outer Ring Road. Look and Dekho the Jehaaz-e-Kufr, al YellCeeYea do testing.

i like it ...I like it ... I like it :twisted:
narayana

Post by narayana »

Vina ji,any news on current AoA of LCA,i think most of the flight envelope should be opened by now

^^^ Saw the jahaj-e-kufr (patent and copyright-Vina Garu) today afternoon.....amazing stuff.....single aircraft.....as for the tight turns and stuff....Vina garu..saw the plane pull the same stunts during the HAL Day...actually had bolted tha day from office to the road next to HAL Airport to have a dheko....... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

the best part is that the way west-east runway is alinged, the jagaj-e-kufr actually passes right over head on the landing run...awesome sight and the sound is music to these ears... :P

rohitvats wrote:^^^ Saw the jahaj-e-kufr (patent and copyright-Vina Garu) today afternoon.....amazing stuff.....single aircraft.....as for the tight turns and stuff....Vina garu..saw the plane pull the same stunts during the HAL Day...actually had bolted tha day from office to the road next to HAL Airport to have a dheko....... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

the best part is that the way west-east runway is alinged, the jagaj-e-kufr actually passes right over head on the landing run...awesome sight and the sound is music to these ears... :P
How lucky! :evil: :evil: :evil:

Why isn't there a HAL Airport in South Bangalore ?? :(( :(( :((

Ajai Shukla's flash news: LCA to be displayed for the first time during Republic Day parade!
suraj p

Post by suraj p »

Bingo!!!!!!!!!

Let us show the Smaug our Elephant!

Correct me if I am wrong - Usually isn't it the tradition that any new piece of military is displayed either after induction or almost close to induction into armed forces. Tejas is not yet inducted into Armed Forces.
BUT who cares... I feel proud and every one will cheer when sweet baby rolls out.. yeaaaaaaaaiiiiiii

But wait... will that be a model made of cardboard or flying Tejas.

I will never excuse Babus and politicos if they roll out that stupid cardboard trolleys representing states AND repeat the story like they did for Arjun.

may just be the wooden mockup that they've displayed at AI-07 and AI-09. from a distance, will fool most into thinking that its the Tejas, but to the keen eye the differences can be spotted from a distance. the actual stance is different. either the nose gear is a little too long or because there is too much wood in the mid-region its got a pronounced MiG-23 like stance where the rear is closer to the ground than in actual Tejas.

rohitvats wrote:^^^ Saw the jahaj-e-kufr (patent and copyright-Vina Garu) today afternoon.....amazing stuff.....single aircraft.....as for the tight turns and stuff....Vina garu..saw the plane pull the same stunts during the HAL Day...actually had bolted tha day from office to the road next to HAL Airport to have a dheko....... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

HAL and the IAF are against me. :cry: . Nothing flies when I get on the golf course. In fact aircraft are diverted away to other airfields when they know I am there.
asprinzl

Post by asprinzl »

Doc,
I think you got it completely wrong. HAL and DRDO are pro-you. They don't want to distract you when you are out golfing. So very nice of them.
Avram

I think they are confident enough to do a fly past. We might well see 3 of them.

Mean while LCA completes another 13 test flights. :)

LCA out in full glory right now.

All jingoes( in vicinity of HAL), heads heavenwards please
pralay

Post by pralay »

http://www.ada.gov.in/Others/MoreCurren ... tnews.html
LCA-Tejas has completed 1280 Test Flights successfully. (21-Jan-10).

* LCA has completed 1280 Test Flights successfully
(TD1-233,TD2-305,PV1-242,PV2-129,PV3-191,LSP1-54,LSP2-125,PV5-1).
* 191st flight of Tejas PV3 occurred on 20th Jan 10.
just 13 flights in 40 days :( :x

Did something close to cobra acrobatics, went up fast and then dropped down with tail and then turned back

Saw over the Intel campus

I think PV 1,2,3 will take part in the fly past
Venu

Post by Venu »

symontk wrote:Did something close to cobra acrobatics, went up fast and then dropped down with tail and then turned back

Saw over the Intel campus
Looks like our fledgling is stretching its wings. Can some take a snap of it and post it here. We don't mind even if it's not so clear.
Amit J

Post by Amit J »

sum wrote:LCA out in full glory right now.

All jingoes( in vicinity of HAL), heads heavenwards please
Last week in bangalore was riding a bike on the Outer Ring Road and saw a brand new Tejas coming in to land at the HAL Airport, infact it flew right overhead, it was amazing as the fighter was flying real low while passing overhead and it looked like a new fighter with brand new paint job and all. Last Jan saw the MKI doing manoveres overhead @ Aero India while riding the bike as well

delta winged planes do have an ability to raise the nose and fly really slow just above stall speed. recall the famous pokhran firepower demo in late 80s wherein two Mirage2000 flew like this, with a westland wapiti in between? oldies will recall that morning....I nearly soiled my shorts at the sight of 4 Jags coming in hard and scoring a direct first pass hit with rockets on a model enemy camp. there were also Mig27s and Mig21s dropping bombs, rockets, durandals.....due to massive smoke clouds the piece-de-resistance which was a napalm attack got cancelled.

PM Rajiv was there.

symontk wrote:Did something close to cobra acrobatics, went up fast and then dropped down with tail and then turned back
Sounds more like a tail slide!! Can it actually do it? :shock:

recall the famous pokhran firepower demo in late 80s wherein two Mirage2000 flew like this, with a westland wapiti in between?
that was at tilpat range, near dilli. HPT-32 not wapiti IIRC.

recall the famous pokhran firepower demo in late 80s wherein two Mirage2000 flew like this, with a westland wapiti in between?
that was at tilpat range, near dilli. HPT-32 not wapiti IIRC.
Anybody have a video of that?