BR Forum Feedback

Re: BR Forum Feedback

nachiket wrote:Why does it keep reverting to the (not so) "Dazzling Blue" template every time I log in? As long as I'm logged out, it shows me the old plain theme.
nachiket and others with the same issue.

Click User Control Panel - > Board Preferences - > under "My Board Style" > Select BR Default and then Click SAVE

DO NOT SELECT ANY OTHER TEMPLATE OTHER THAN THE ONE STATED. ELSE YOU WILL BE LOCKED OUT.

Rahul and Jagan, thanks for unlocking my account. appreciate your quick help!!

Jagan, thanks a lot. It feels like home again. :D

Jagan wrote:
nachiket wrote:Why does it keep reverting to the (not so) "Dazzling Blue" template every time I log in? As long as I'm logged out, it shows me the old plain theme.

Click User Control Panel - > Board Preferences - > under "My Board Style" > Select BR Default and then Click SAVE

DO NOT SELECT ANY OTHER TEMPLATE OTHER THAN THE ONE STATED. ELSE YOU WILL BE LOCKED OUT.
shitski! I just managed to login. I don't know whether e my antics did it of whether my email to jagman did it.

Posting this message as proof - i need an alibi
Venu

Post by Venu »

haa..thank God. We are back to our old template. New one, though looks good is very confusing.

Nice to be back :)
Ravishankar

Post by Ravishankar »

Venu wrote:haa..thank God. We are back to our old template. New one, though looks good is very confusing.

Nice to be back :)
I second that :)

Relief!
asgkhan

Post by asgkhan »

Jagan wrote:

i have just received an email from a LMU jirga member asking for help.
He says his screen name is niran and he has been locked out, please mods
do help him out.

Yeppy!!! :D :D

ah am able to see and post from my mobile. wotta relief
Muns

Post by Muns »

Thanks to all who brought back the old template, could browse the previous one at all....thanks again...

Bismilla I look at BRF which looks like this:

I press refresh and :eek:

Webmasters two issues I have noticed since the upgrade.

1. View Active Topics button is only displaying the "Attention Non Members and Lurkers" thread.

2. After I stay on a thread for a while and I hit the Post reply button, I am asked to log on. Problem is that after I log on, the "Post message" screen does not appear. Instead I get directed to the Mil Forum or Strategic Issues Forum lists page.

Rahul M wrote:**ALERT** **ALERT**

the "view active topics" still shows only the announcement thread only and nothing else. it is the primary navigation option for most of us, so please correct it if possible.
Rahul M,
I just noticed, the "View New Posts" button on the right side of the screen, serves the same purpose as the earlier "View Active Topics" button.

But the "View new posts" button is inconveniently placed in between "view unread posts" and "View your posts"
I've changed my Tab shortcut button to reach the new link.
Rahul M wrote:p.s. just noticed some of the smileys are looking a bit paki. can't have everything I guess. :-?

e.g :lol: :| :twisted: :cry: :roll:
The smileys are 3D and TFTA !

Blind thankyou to whoever made the change back to the old look and feel. I among many others prefer this old bland look to the new blue colourful look. Makes BR browsing at work less conspicuous and looks more ophissial :twisted:

The View new posts link works just as well - thanks Chiru.

thanks Gagan ji. :)

putnanja wrote: BTW, was the upgrade successful?
What is the current version of phpBB that BRF is now running on? do the mango abduls get any benefit of the new version??

putnanja wrote:
putnanja wrote: BTW, was the upgrade successful?
What is the current version of phpBB that BRF is now running on? do the mango abduls get any benefit of the new version??
Don't you see the scissor in the edit button? that's a new feature.

archan wrote:[

Essentially two new features
- one is the quick reply only available on the prosilver template not the BR default.
- the second one is RSS feeds - use the feeds icon on your browser to view the feeds available in each forum level.

Jagan wrote:
archan wrote:[

Essentially two new features
- one is the quick reply only available on the prosilver template not the BR default.
- the second one is RSS feeds - use the feeds icon on your browser to view the feeds available in each forum level.
Jagan, can you customize the prosilver template with same colors as BR Default?
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Vishal Jolapara wrote:As per Archan's post the Old Look will be back so these are simply add-on Options worth considering.

I went through them all,

Things i looked for is how much max available viewing & posting space do these offer & aesthetics.

Please Click on Test Forum & then Sticky or any Thread to see the posting area.

1. These two for instance have a nice small Avatar & User Handle area to the Left & wide open real-estate to the right
http://demo.phpbb3styles.net/Hermes+Gray
http://demo.phpbb3styles.net/WoW%3A+Alliance

Compare those ^ to this - http://demo.phpbb3styles.net/DVGFX and you will like the above ones better.

2. Here's another nice one where there's slightly more space on both left & right - http://demo.phpbb3styles.net/CA+Black

3. BR Old Look Fans here's your forum - http://demo.phpbb3styles.net/subsilver2

4. This one is a bit more radical but its really stylish, It needs a bit of tweaking but will look fabulous once done right - http://demo.phpbb3styles.net/sacred2light
+ For starters, the logo at the back can be replaced with The BR Logo - with less Opacity,
+ the Font Colours also need work,
- the damn Avatar & user handle area is to the right which means if someone quoted a large image half of it may be cut like it is being done in this current/interim theme.
+ if only it can be moved to the left & reduce the gaps on left & right.

5. The Avatar & User Handle area in this one is akin to that of A.net but slightly taller,
though it allows for a wider & unrestricted posting area - http://demo.phpbb3styles.net/proDVGFX
Hi, can the mods please add one dark background theme option to the current list please ?

Cheers - Vishal

Thousand Thanks to the Person/Persons who corrected my
dumb mistake and made me able to re login.

Webmasters,
Please do something about the post reply button - re login problem.

The forum logs the user out after a while, and if you want to post something, you are taken to the login screen and then from there to the board index page instead of the Post new message page.

It is difficult to post responses. I have to go back two steps, refresh the page then again post the whole reply again.

Rahul M wrote:thanks Gagan ji. :)
Sir-ji,
Any possibility of a Kolkata BRF meet?
palash_kol

Post by palash_kol »

At last...at last...at last ....I joined this forum now...

Happy to join your club....guys... :D :rotfl:

Woohoo the old template is back. :)

* I think the BR logo should be enlarged.

How about a BRF logo for the forum tab we store on our browsers?

BR main site has such a logo which appears as a Tricolour with BR written across it.
This is what my tab for the main site looks like:
wilson_th

Post by wilson_th »

Is there an Upgradation of BR underway?, if so could you please also incooporate that the website be viewed thru mobile phones, 'fund permitting'. The older format of the website was "ok" to view thru mobile though bit heavy to open initialy.

But the newer version of the site does not have a mobile format and I can't read because its not fitting the mobile screen.

for mobile phones I think the prosilver format comes out better than BRDefault.

putnanja, there is no immediate plan to change the colors of the prosilver right now.

I think changing colors involves editing the CSS files etc.. not really a biggie but its atleast a half days work. But that still doesnt solve the right-to-left orientation .

Gagan wrote:Webmasters,
Please do something about the post reply button - re login problem.

The forum logs the user out after a while, and if you want to post something, you are taken to the login screen and then from there to the board index page instead of the Post new message page.

It is difficult to post responses. I have to go back two steps, refresh the page then again post the whole reply again.
please to clean your Browser Cache and restart your Browser, and if you use M$ OSes please to
scan yourcomputer(with anti malware spyware not with your Eyes)
L Ram

Post by L Ram »

please to clean your Browser Cache and restart your Browser, and if you use M$ OSes please to
scan yourcomputer(with anti malware spyware not with your Eyes)
thanks a lot i have scanned my system.

L Ram wrote:
thanks a lot i have scanned my system.
and it remedied problem or not?
kvraghavaiah

Post by kvraghavaiah »

Hi,
Is it possible for BR to incorporate "Donation" module to get money transfer in rupees through a normal internet banking rather than in dollars through credit card?

{ PRINT_ALL_POSTS } is taking to board index page. I guess it is temporary.
L Ram

Post by L Ram »

and it remedied problem or not?
problem solved. speed also improved.

If you click on Post Reply button, after login the Forum Index page is displayed not the page where you clicked on reply button.

That long BR logo is also gone?
Is there anybody else who hates these new smileys ?

Perhaps this has been reported earlier.

When I click on a thread and decide to post a response (i normally am not logged in all the time), I use the "Post Reply" button. It used to place me into the login page, which after verification would place me in the thread I was in.

Now, after the login verification it places me on the Board Index page. Which means that I have to re-locate the the thread I was in and then again go through the "Post Reply" button.
webmaster
BiG Boss - BR Site

Post by webmaster »

NRao wrote:Perhaps this has been reported earlier.

When I click on a thread and decide to post a response (i normally am not logged in all the time), I use the "Post Reply" button. It used to place me into the login page, which after verification would place me in the thread I was in.

Now, after the login verification it places me on the Board Index page. Which means that I have to re-locate the the thread I was in and then again go through the "Post Reply" button.
I have cleared the server side cache, please let me know if you still get redirected to the Board Index.

Seetal

Testing.

Yes, it's fixed now. Dhanyawad :)