Know Your India

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Know Your India

Carl_T wrote:
viv wrote:
Hindutva to Doningeritva -- you really swing wide :).

There are extremes that you should be easily able to ignore, some reject outright, others verify and still others accept.
I am not a follower of "Donigeritva", I don't agree with her on many things, but she makes very good arguments about others. But yes, I do swing wide! My point is that from my experience Hindutva has been obsessed with showing how Hinduism and Sanskrit is "scientific". I have had a good time deconstructing that.
Carlji, It is very simple only ...

I'm taking exception to your dismissing anything sourced to Indian antiquity just because you have come across some outlandish claims. Exactly as you keep an open mind to Donigritva - dismissing some and accepting others - you can keep the same for study of Indian antiquity and its contributions. Not all claims are incorrect nor is there a need to colour any and every comment as coming from Hindutva or something else.

Sometimes one can easily understand the reason why a certain view is held and then can describe the reality without ascribing inferiority or some other negative view. In your example above - certainly folks consider Sanskrit as scientific due to its grammar (Panini Normal Form). You might explain why you dont consider Sanskrit 'scientific' but one can certainly understand why someone would claim it is.
viv wrote: The point is that there are elements of good physics but not how we understand it now. It is not always Democritus or Archimides; it sometimes is also Kanada or Aryabhatta.
One is not off by claiming a level of physics in Vedanta - afterall the above is from one of the schools of Indian philosophy called Vaisheshika claiming inspiration from the Vedas.
I agree with the bolded that different ideas in the development of knowledge have to be acknowledged including non-Western ones that are usually ignored, but that does not mean that one can truthfully assert "Quantum mech. comes from vedanta".Why does a inspiration from the Vedas imply there is a level of physics in Vedanta?
That is not what is stated above - merely that there is a particle and atomic theory in Indic school of philosophy. This is impressive in itself, for example, Kanada proposes atoms are indivisible, have properties specific to the type of element, combine in different permutations to give new substances etc. This is pretty good explanation of basic physics. Once one understands what is in Vaisheshika one can outline the differences and explain where it falls short of current understanding but need not dismiss it as 'hindutva' inspired.

(btw, last post on this subject :)...)

importance of the idea of atoms can't be overemphasised. feynmann once commented that if all human civilization was lost and were he to be allowed only sentence for the future generation, his contribution would be "matter is composed of atoms that are in constant motion". (pardon any inaccuracies)
Carl_T

Post by Carl_T »

I already wrote a response before the forum deleted everything. I don't feel like typing it again. It is my last post wrt to this topic as well.
viv wrote: I'm taking exception to your dismissing anything sourced to Indian antiquity just because you have come across some outlandish claims....Not all claims are incorrect nor is there a need to colour any and every comment as coming from Hindutva or something else.
I have consistently focused on extreme claims, like the one I highlighted. In your fit to disagree with me, you decide to imagine arguments I never made and then use them against me! It would be great if you can point out where I have dismissed "anything sourced to Indian antiquity". The post is probably deleted, but I clearly said that Indian contributions should be recognized and should be widely disseminated in schoolbooks etc.

If Hindutva can claim that dissenting opinions are from "Marxists" or "Secularists", why so touchy when others do the same to them?
viv wrote:
That is not what is stated above - merely that there is a particle and atomic theory in Indic school of philosophy. This is impressive in itself, for example, Kanada proposes atoms are indivisible, have properties specific to the type of element, combine in different permutations to give new substances etc. This is pretty good explanation of basic physics.
This is not about whether an "Indic atomic theory" existed. Nor is it about whether Indian scientists of old made contributions to what developed into atomic theory. It is also not about understanding why some might make some claims. It is about the specific claim:
Murugan wrote: Quantum Mechanics indeed has roots in vedant philosophy.
I've consistently been referring to the extreme arguments, which one poster defended and that is what you took exception to.

(admins may kindly move the link to appropriate thread if not ok with this thread)

http://www.avesta.org/modi/baku.htm

LINK

Op-Ed in Tribune, 29 march 2010
Feeding the needy
Get rid of sharks in the PDS
by Vibha Sharma

Food often does not reach those it is meant for

What a paradox: People who produce food in India often go hungry. Villagers produce foodgrains, which first go into the Centre’s kitty and are then brought back to them through the corruption-ridden public distribution system (PDS).

Food often does not reach those it is meant for. It is siphoned off by middlemen in the convoluted PDS chain to adjoining countries like Nepal, Bangladesh and even Myanmar, thereby maintaining the hunger status quo for a majority of the very conservative official figure of 260 million poor people in the country.

One-third of the world’s hungry live in the country where foodgrains often rot due to lack of coordination between the Centre and states and 80 per cent of the PDS foodgrains are drained off before reaching the ration shops.

No surprises, therefore, that a study by the International Food and Research Institute placed the food bowl of the country, Punjab, the best-performing state in the country, below Gabon, Honduras and Vietnam – in the first-ever India State Hunger Index (ISHI) in 2008.

India was ranked 66 out of 88 countries on the Global Hunger Index (GHI) while the India-specific survey pinpointed the most severe level of hunger in Madhya Pradesh followed by Jharkhand and Bihar. Punjab and Kerala scored the best, but not good enough to beat even a little-known African country like Gabon.

Twelve states were placed in the “alarming” category and Madhya Pradesh in the “extremely alarming” category of hunger. Not even a single state in India was either in the “low hunger” or “moderate hunger” categories.

Four states – Punjab, Kerala, Haryana and Assam – were in the “serious” category. When compared with countries, Madhya Pradesh ranked between Ethiopia and Chad with the states’ rankings ranging from 34 (Punjab) to 82(Madhya Pradesh). But one fact was common – that all Indian states face a “serious” level of hunger.

This is the situation the UPA government hopes to retrieve through the National Food Security Bill, which promises to make food a legal right of the people. While the Bill, an initiative of Sonia Gandhi, has its heart in the right place, questions are being raised about the quantity of foodgrains to be given as also the number of beneficiaries.

The Right to Food Campaign, a network of civil society groups and individuals, says the reduction of foodgrain entitlement in the draft Bill is objectionable.

“The Bill proposes an entitlement of 25 kg of foodgrains at Rs 3 per kg to each below-poverty-line (BPL) household, which is lower than the current entitlement of 35 kg per household as mandated by the Supreme Court,” says Colin Gonsalves, a Supreme Court lawyer and Right to Food Campaign activist. :mrgreen:

Gonsalves adds that the draft Bill not only fails to address any of the nutritional needs of the people of India but also commits contempt of the court. “The legislation promises a right but in reality reduces the existing entitlement, which is completely unacceptable to the people of India and is an affront to their dignity”.

Quoting a report released recently by Justice DP Wadhwa, Gonsalves says the report recommended that every Indian with an income of Rs 100 a day be made eligible for the official subsidies, including 35 kg of foodgrains.

Experts fear that the way the Bill is being designed, it will only add to the hunger, not reduce it. “This, in fact, is a food insecurity Bill,” food policy analyst Devinder Sharma says. :twisted:

Doubts are also raised about the delivery mechanism. Gonsalves points out that the Wadhwa committee report clearly says that the PDS system has collapsed. “MPs, MLAs and food department officials appoint ration shop dealers on political considerations. The same MPs, MLAs and officials sit on vigilance committees,” he says, adding that for the PDS to run effectively, politicians on vigilance committees should be replaced by representatives from gram sabhas and NGOs.

The Bill may, in fact, help the government reduce its food subsidy bill. While its cost implications are still not clear as there is no clarity on the number of people it intends to cover, Sharma says that instead of increasing the food subsidy bill, the UPA's “aam aadmi” endeavour may end up reducing it by almost 50 per cent.

It is imperative, therefore, to first have a realistic look at the number of the poor by redefining poverty and revamp the food distribution network.

Sharma suggests two cut-offs, one at the 37 per cent of the population who desperately need food intervention, and the second at 77 per cent, the poverty line. He says the government has enough foodgrains and money to take care of all this without adding to its burden.

Besides, six lakh villages should be made self-sufficient in food requirement. “If you make villages hunger free, you can reduce the burden on the PDS, make it less corruption-prone and urban-centric,” Sharma adds.

http://news.rediff.com/report/2010/mar/ ... rat-ap.htm

I am curious as to why AP and Gujarat top the list: both are progressive states economically. Is it a case of better reporting leading to them topping the stat list as opposed to Bihar where most of it doesnt get reported at all?
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

^ Case of better reporting perhaps ?

For ex. see the case of a 14 yr old in Mumbai who was being married off and the parents were against the police. The MPLB had intervened in favour of the parents.

Home » State News » Maharashtra
Muslim Personal Law Board not happy with Child Marriage Act
Updated on Tuesday, March 30, 2010, 00:56 IST

Mumbai: The All India Muslim Personal Law Board today said it has issues with the Prohibition of Child Marriage Act (PCMA) on the marriageable age of Muslim girls.

"We are not happy with this law," senior counsel Yusuf Muchhala, appearing for AIMPLB told the Bombay High Court in a case concerning Muslim parents facing charges for trying to marry off their 14-year-old girl last year.

The petition filed by Zakia Begum, the girl's mother, seeks quashing of FIR against her, and claims that PCMA is unconstitutional because it interferes with freedom of religion granted by the Article 25 of the Constitution.

But today, the division bench of Justices D B Bhosale and A R Joshi interviewed the girl and then allowed her to return to her village near Aurangabad with her parents.

http://www.bit.ly/dc6e8X

AjayKK wrote:The MPLB had intervened in favour of the parents.
The stand taken by MPLB is a proof of what will happen when people are allowed to wear 'religion on their sleeves'. These people are challenging the laws which defines who is a minor (age wise), marriageable age etc. If this gets relaxed for one religion/community, what stops others from demanding the same. Or worse, the same religion/community starts asking for even ridiculous things citing that their religion permits it. Organisations like MPLB needs to be cut down to size.

Is this just another (n+1) org set up by videshi deshis? www.gopio.net
Whose child is this anyway?

The Lost River
Book Review

Michel Danino
Penguin
X + 358 pages; Rs 399

http://www.business-standard.com/india/ ... ns/391917/

X Posting from Psy Ops thread in GDF for greater visibility.
Carl_T wrote:
Ameet wrote:Greater access to cell phones than toilets in India: UN

http://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/ ... 040910.php
What does this have to do with Psy Ops?
According to the 2006( pg 20,Fig 7) data of WHO ,665 million lacked sanitation facility in india. (so the author assumed that only 335 million had sanitation (subtracting 665 million from the 2001 census figure of 1 Billion :roll: ))
While the mobile base is 550 million in 2010 with a population of some 1.16 Billion.

So its plain to see that all this number juggling from different timeframes is to bring out the desired conclusion - "Greater access to cell phones than toilets in India".

This is a perfect example of psy-ops by the UN and fits to the definition to a T.
"It is a tragic irony to think that in India, a country now wealthy enough that roughly half of the people own phones, about half cannot afford the basic necessity and dignity of a toilet," said Zafar Adeel, Director of United Nations University Institute for Water, Environment and Health.(even PTI has regurgitated it without checking)
The culprit is this guy Zafar Adeel is a pakistani.

Baba in New York Times

Indian Who Built Yoga Empire Works on Politics

(admin may kindly shift to appropriate thread in case unsuitable for this thread)

Toilets cost a lot of money around Rs50K for a family. 70% of India lives in villages and they would rather go on field and buy cell phones/TVs than spend that money on toilets. :mrgreen: Its not an prestige issue since everyone's doing it. But they have to owna cell phone, bike and TV to keep up with neighbors. Only relatively wealthy farmers of upper cast who are now getting toilets built in villages.

It may appear such an embarrassing thing for urban Indians and NRIs but for rural people its just an additional expense that they don’t see as bigger priority.

Urban poor and their rural counterparts don’t even have a toilet size home to live in, so they’ll obviously have to go on in open anyhow….

Indian mathematics loved numbers

In The Crest of the Peacock, George Gheverghese Joseph set out to explore the non-European roots of mathematics, a pursuit triggered by the fact that non-Western studies are generally neglected in histories of science. In The Crest he gave evidence of mathematical traditions in several civilisations. He has now come out with A Passage to Infinity, a study of the mathematical practice among scholars in Kerala

The Kerala School, as Joseph calls them, marks a continuity of scholarship in mathematics in India, which was believed to have declined after Bhaskara II in the 12th century. Joseph, who holds honorary appointments at University of Manchester, UK and University of Toronto, Canada, argues that the knowledge of the Kerala School travelled from India to Europe via Jesuit scholars and influenced European mathematics. In an interview with Amrith Lal, Joseph talks about the pluralistic origins of mathematics and how this science was practised in India, especially in Kerala.
G_Wolf

Re: Indian Economy: News and Discussion (Jan 1 2010)

Post by G_Wolf »

:(

New India or New Banana Republic
Shobhan Saxena, 24 April 2010, 03:27 PM IST

While you were glued to your flat screen, with your eyeballs popping out every time the ball was hit for a six, in a dark corner of India - in a Haryana village very close to the national capital - a dog was barking. Since it was a Dalit dog (in India, even dogs have caste), the upper caste Jaats were getting all riled up. So they decided to teach the dog a lesson. A bunch of them surrounded a Dalit house and set it on fire. Inside the house were trapped an 18-year-old girl and her old father. Since the girl was physically challenged and could not move out of the burning house, she and her father were engulfed and consumed by the fire. This is how people teach a lesson to dogs in New India: by making the poor, lower castes die like dogs.

Even as you were glued to TV, watching the IPL drama - on the field as well as off it - a few more things happened. Highly dangerous radioactive material affected several people in a scrap market of Delhi; more than 100 people died in the cow-belt areas as mercury touched 43 degree mark; more people died of hunger and starvation across the country; new figures revealed that the number of poor in India stands at 800 million and not 327 million as claimed by the government; and it was reported that the government was tapping the phones of important political leaders. It may also be tapping the phones of ordinary citizens.

Now, a look at the IPL muck. Though nothing has been proved so far, the whole IPL drama now looks like one big farce. In general perception, IPL is now all about money (black and white), sex, drugs, corruption, betting and match fixing. It’s only in a country like India that a minister’s daughter can pull out a scheduled flight of the national carrier and turn it into a chartered flight for an IPL team. It’s only in India that a money-minting machine like IPL can enjoy tax exemption for years. It’s only in India that a collective effort of politicians, babus, Bollywood stars, businessmen, players and match-fixers can reduce the game to a drama whose script never changes. Yet people watch it. It’s the new opium of New India.

Before he was kicked out of office, the disgraced minister Shashi Tharoor thanked the "New India" for its support to him. "We will bring the change but it will not be without pain," tweeted the minister to his 7,00,000 plus followers, who have begun to behave like a nation within a nation. People like Tharoor and his twitter army are more concerned about Brand India and Brand IPL than propriety in public life or for the millions of issues crying for attention.

New India is nothing but a banana republic. Here the reality looks like a mythical drama and a fake drama called IPL looks like real. So when a Dalit girl is burnt to death by a gang of upper caste loonies, nothing happens, not a soul is stirred, no one comes out on streets to protest. But when Dhoni lifts a ball into the stands, thousands of people go berserk as if this is the only reality that matters, as if this the only reality that will make India stand on its feet. No one knows, how many bets are won or lost on each IPL six, how much money rides on every wide ball.

Free market is not a free license to loot, Barack Obama reminded the Wall Street honchos this week. Every dollar carries hopes and aspirations of millions of people, the US president said. Obama will look like a silly fool in India, where free market has become a synonym for crony capitalism of the worst kind. In fact, it is turning into predatory capitalism where the rich and powerful hunt the poor and weak without any fear, with the full backing of the state.

The dalit girl’s death is only one of the millions of stories of injustice and cruelty unfolding in front of us. We can’t see them because we are busy watching IPL. Or, maybe, we are watching IPL because the reality is too much to bear.

At 800 million, India is the world’s poorest nation. It’s the poorest nation ever in human history. The number of people trapped in poverty and bondage in this country is double the population of Africa. It’s more than the combined population of North and South Americas. But who cares. New India needs its daily fix of IPL.

http://blogs.timesofindia.indiatimes.co ... the-latest
G_Wolf

Post by G_Wolf »

Murugan wrote:Baba in New York Times

(admin may kindly shift to appropriate thread in case unsuitable for this thread)
didnt this gentlemen claim to have 'found' a cure for AIDS some years back?

G_Wolf wrote:
Murugan wrote:Baba in New York Times

This gentlemAn did not claim anything like above. instead he said yog can help keeping the immune system perfect against HIV and AIDS like diseases.

G_Wolf wrote::(

New India or New Banana Republic
Shobhan Saxena, 24 April 2010, 03:27 PM IST

At 800 million, India is the world’s poorest nation. It’s the poorest nation ever in human history. The number of people trapped in poverty and bondage in this country is double the population of Africa. It’s more than the combined population of North and South Americas. But who cares. New India needs its daily fix of IPL.

http://blogs.timesofindia.indiatimes.co ... the-latest
The TOIlet has likewise bunch of fools and ignoramous blog writers who have no idea how much is the population of India in 2010. Still dare to compare IPL with sensitive Dalit issue. TOIlet and some of their bloggers have no parallel.
rohiths

Post by rohiths »

How did it suddenly become 800 million :shock:
According to Tendulkar committee the number of people below poverty line is 37%. The viewpoint of the committee is quite liberal and it can be taken to be the poverty estimate. A poverty estimate more than that it just pulling numbers out of the hat(or musharaff)

PS: The way this 800 million is obtained is as follows: GDP by PPP is 3300 Billion. Out of this 37% is investment, 20% is govt expenditure. So you will be left with 43% consumption. (Net exports as % of GDP is small and can be ignored). So 43% of 3300 is 1419 Billion. Now you assume 20% of people account for 80% of the income and 80% of the people account for 20% of the income. So 20% of 1419 Billion is 283.8 Billion(per capita expenditure of 303.2 dollars which comes to around 1 dollar a day)
So 800,000,000 yindoos are dirt poor and DDM mohtarmas start screaming.

There has been a lot of progress in India in the past 20 years and it is quite visible to everyone.
Although a lot of poverty exists, we are making very good progress
Akshut

Post by Akshut »

Didn't you guys get it yet?

LaWhori figure for poors in India is 800 million. He/She has to follow figures from his/her inspiration.
naren

Post by naren »

Diet of mud and despair in Indian village :(
Inside one of the huts sits a little girl called Poonam. She is three years old, and in the early stages of kidney failure.

Like many children in Ganne she has become used to eating bits of dried mud and silica, which she finds in the quarry. Tiny children chew on the mud simply because they are hungry - but it is making them ill.
"What can I say," he shrugs. "We can't afford to eat properly, so how can I afford to buy medicines for her?"

"I am really worried about my daughter, but I don't know what to do next. The poor need the government's help - if we had it, we wouldn't be in such a desperate state."
"My son's name is Suraj, and he's started eating mud too," she says. "What can we do? We eat the mud from the quarry when we feel hungry."

"Where do we get the money?" she asks. "We usually eat food only once a day. Last night we went to bed without eating anything at all."
"It'll only cost the government about 1.2% of GDP to universalize a system of giving food for all, cheap food for all," says Kavitha Srivastava, the national coordinator of the Right to Food campaign.
Now the government seems to be prepared to accept a new way of defining poverty, which will increase the number of people below the poverty line by more than 100 million to about 372 million.

If international poverty standards were used, the number would be much higher still - and some Indian economists believe it should be.

But whichever figure is used, the poverty line feels like a rather fictitious divide because feeding more than a billion people is a massive logistical exercise. Vast quantities of food provided by the state go missing every day because of corruption and theft.
Official estimates are that right across the country 75% of subsidised grain does not make it to the intended target in villages like Ganne.

"So if you simply throw money at this problem, you'll have to throw four times the amount to get the result you want," says Dr Basu. "And the government of India can't afford that. The budget will go bust."

In other words, the delivery system needs to be reformed as well - and corrupt local officials need to be taken to task. There is a long way to go.
"For a family of five to have reasonably good nutrition, nothing like meat or fish or any such thing, but just one egg per person per day, one banana, some dhal, some vegetables, a reasonably balanced diet - it would cost more than 200 rupees ($4.4; £3) per family per day," he says.

And that is far more than the amounts being discussed at the moment.

It is a sobering reminder that feeding India is a daunting challenge - the government knows it, and the prime minister says it must be a priority. But the Right to Food Campaign insists they are not doing enough.

The Indian economy continues to grow at impressive speed, and there is no shortage of food in the country. It just isn't reaching the people who need it most, on a consistent basis.

So in Ganne they continue to eat mud. And without finding a solution here in India, the world will come nowhere near the targets it has set itself for reducing global poverty.
prashanth

Post by prashanth »

Hmmm... sometimes we have to listen to foreign media to know the truth.
naren

Post by naren »

prashanth wrote:
Hmmm... sometimes we have to listen to foreign media to know the truth.
Snippet from my earlier post:
It is a sobering reminder that feeding India is a daunting challenge - the government knows it, and the prime minister says it must be a priority.
What part of the above quote do you not understand ?

Are you trying to say that the govt is trying to hush up such reports, the way China does with the controlled leak of information whenever $h!t hits the fan in Tibet and E. Turkestan ? Or may be do you think the govt has monopoly over all the media, like China has over Xinhua, Global Times & CCTV ? Or do you think the reporters are banned from entering certain areas, like the Chinese communist govt bans reporters in Tibet ? :roll: :roll: :roll:

except this part, he is unaware of what food costs in rural India.

>> "For a family of five to have reasonably good nutrition, nothing like meat or fish or any such thing, but just one egg per person per day, one banana, some dhal, some vegetables, a reasonably balanced diet - it would cost more than 200 rupees ($4.4; £3) per family per day," he says.

btw, in this case the people are being plain exploited. from the work he is doing, per normal labour rates, they might not get very nutritious food but the family shouldn't have a hunger problem at any rate. exploitation is a different kettle of fish than lack of food. as always enforcement is the key but I must be stupid if I expect that in mayawati's UP.

the elephant has been busy spending 100's of crores for raising her statues and a couple of days back released full-page ads of herself and GoUP in all major newspapers of the country, including regional ones. imagine the cost !
naren

Post by naren »

^^^ No wonder people take up the other option - Naxalism.

But why do the kids go hungry ? Dont we have free midday meals in school scheme nationwide ?

either they don't have a school nearby or the parents haven't send them to school. real shame either way.
prashanth

Post by prashanth »

naren wrote:
What part of the above quote do you not understand ?

Are you trying to say that the govt is trying to hush up such reports, the way China does with the controlled leak of information whenever $h!t hits the fan in Tibet and E. Turkestan ? , like China has over Xinhua, Global Times & CCTV ? Or do you think the reporters are banned from entering certain areas, like the Chinese communist govt bans reporters in Tibet ? :roll: :roll: :roll:
Brother, do not get excited. I never complained about our government and I wonder how you made that assumption.
I was referring to Indian media, who usually don't report such issues.

saarji, they do so all the time.

naren wrote:But why do the kids go hungry ? Dont we have free midday meals in school scheme nationwide ?
In theory, yes. But what with missing teachers and assorted corruption in the pipeline, there are gaps in the coverage. Plus 1-2% of children are out of school even in the more advanced states like Maharashtra and Gujarat.

Regardign Nutrition

The root cause is corruption. Till date starting independence 200 Lakch Crore (doso lakh karod) have been 'spent' by states and centre put together - this much of money can build today's india at least 3 times again.

As late PM Rajiv Gandhi said in late eighties, a rupee released for poor by central govt becomes 20 paisa when it reaches the poor. 80 paisa per rupee used to disappear - with the help of dishonest and corrupt bureaucrates and politicians. the picture is not different in 21st century.

Thus a whole meal released by central fund becomes a roti ka tukda when it reaches a poor.

Similarly, exploiting natural wealth and using the money elsewhere is one of the causes of certain states facign poverty - Orissa, Bihar, Jharkhand, C'Garh where maoists are creating menace.

All the minerals and other natural resources lying beneath certain depth belong to central govt. All the above four states are minerally very rich but whatever is taken out by central govt is never compensated by the dishonest and corrupt rulers and kale angrez of India.

Till 2005, only 10% of what was exploited was returned to these richly poor states. recently states share has increased to 20%. Whatever is made out of exploitation never comes back to the people of the states - education, health, nutrition, employment is amongst the lowest in India, while violence, terrorism, corruption is highest.

All the exploited amount is spent by ruling party partly for benefit of their constituencies and major portion becomes 20 paisa thus keeping india, our motherland in constant poverty - by the ruling class for 6 decades - a typical british behaviour by shameless indian netas and babus.
SK Mody

Post by SK Mody »

An informative site on India

A cut above many of the sites you often see.
Moderators, could you put a link to this site in the very first post. It appears to be quite comprehensive.
SK Mody

Post by SK Mody »

SK Mody

Post by SK Mody »

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): May 21, 20

Not to equal-equal, simply to raise awareness.
http://www.fao.org/teca/content/managem ... dder-india

http://www.fao.org/docrep/005/y1390e/y1390e04.htm

http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/mm5334a4.htm
The largest reported outbreak of aflatoxicosis to date occurred in western India in 1974, resulting in 397 recognized cases and 106 deaths.

India leads in eco-friendly behaviour

Surveyed as part of the National Geographic Society’s Greendex, top-scoring consumers continue to be in India, Brazil, China, and Mexico.
Kannan

Post by Kannan »

This is one of the nicest and most depressing threads I have read in a while in its entirety.
Murugan wrote:The TOIlet has likewise bunch of fools and ignoramous blog writers who have no idea how much is the population of India in 2010. Still dare to compare IPL with sensitive Dalit issue. TOIlet and some of their bloggers have no parallel.
Congratulations, you found a glaring typo, dedicated your entire post to it, and singlehandedly proved the premise of the article - reality is really rough to bear.
Murugan wrote:
G_Wolf wrote:didnt this gentlemen claim to have 'found' a cure for AIDS some years back?
This gentlemAn did not claim anything like above. instead he said yog can help keeping the immune system perfect against HIV and AIDS like diseases.
Same thing? HIV IS the destruction of the immunse system. That's what the "I" in "HIV" is.

I mean, WOW! Very Refreshing

12-Point Plan For Vivekananda's 150th Birth Anniversary

The high-level committee headed by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh held its first meeting here today which was attended by Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee, chief ministers of several states and eminent academicians.

It prepared a 12-point plan to commemorate the 150th birth anniversary of Swami Vivekananda which falls in 2012
naren

Post by naren »

Murugan wrote:I mean, WOW! Very Refreshing

12-Point Plan For Vivekananda's 150th Birth Anniversary

The high-level committee headed by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh held its first meeting here today which was attended by Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee, chief ministers of several states and eminent academicians.

It prepared a 12-point plan to commemorate the 150th birth anniversary of Swami Vivekananda which falls in 2012
Made by day ! :) Finally something far sighted, sensible thing done by GOI !
Creation of Vivekananda chairs in universities, preservation of some important heritage sites, encouraging students to visit such sites by offering concessions, organising conferences, lectures and seminars and establishing Chairs in Overseas universities are some of the suggestions which were discussed at the meeting.
I have been to "Vivekanandar Illam" in Chennai & it was an intense spiritual experience for me. I was very saddened when some people, in their attempt to push atheism/anti-hinduism, wanted to destroy this place. Its a good thing that GOI wants to preserve such places.

Murugan wrote:

Simple google provides sources.. headlines such as:
swami ramdev: Yoga cure CANCER hiv AIDS 100% and other 140 diseases without medicines
and the following:
Ramdev, ..... said,"
We will prove through clinical tests that yoga can cure AIDS. And we will offer the cure shortly, in the next couple of years."

Ramdev's claim comes after a notice was issued to him by the Union government recently....

http://www.spiritindia.com/health-care- ... -5214.html

I never claimed I can cure AIDS - Ramdev

Stating that his statement on AIDS was wrongly presented in the media, yoga exponent Baba Ramdev said he will not reply to Health Ministry's notice. "I never claimed AIDS can be cured through Yoga. It was wrongly been presented in media. I only said cancer can be cured but in case of AIDS one can get encouraging improvement by doing Yoga," Ramdev told reporters here.

Replying to a question about the stand of the u nion Health Minister Anbumani Ramadoss, he said, "It seems the health condition of the Health Ministry is not good and the Health Ministry had been converted into a ministry of allopathy." "I have received the notice. But Baba Ramdev is neither a magic nor a remedy. Hence, I will not reply to that notice." He also clarified that diabetes can be "controlled" through yoga and the practioner of yoga can help to get relief from the complications of diabetes.

However, blood pressure, thyroid, muscular dystrophy, cancer and many other diseases can be cured through the Yoga, and deaf and dumb can get encouraging result, he claimed.