LCH and other Helicopters Discussion Thread

manoba

Re: LCH and other Helicopters Discussion Thread

Post by manoba »

chetak wrote:For those mujahids interested,

NDTV is likely to have a program on the LCH today night at 2230 hours.
Did not occur. I recorded some complete rubbish.
Watched it online. It was on NDTV India at the said time, though wasted one or two minutes with NDTV 24x7 Roland Garros BS.

Chetak, or anybody, next time please mention the correct channel. BTW, thanks a lot Chetak for the tip.
sathyaC

Post by sathyaC »

manoba wrote:
Watched it online. It was on NDTV India at the said time, though wasted one or two minutes with NDTV 24x7 Roland Garros BS.
can u post the link as i could not find it online
manoba

Post by manoba »

sathyaC wrote: can u post the link as i could not find it online
It's was from Live Feed. So don't know a video exists on the same. I gave a search and it turned up nothing. Can anybody else help?
chiru

Post by chiru »

^^^ guys you can ask vishnu if nothing turns up on the net

Is there any specific role for armed Dhruv now that LCH can't fulfill ?

jamwal wrote:Is there any specific role for armed Dhruv now that LCH can't fulfill ?
it can insert troops while the LCH cannot and can also extract troops which makes it more suitable for SAR especially in dangerous territory. The LCH will only escort or provide suppressing fire but having downed pilots or troops standing on the landing gear is the only option, one that is fraught with risk.

Thanks for the explanation

jamwal wrote:Is there any specific role for armed Dhruv now that LCH can't fulfill ?
it can insert troops while the LCH cannot and can also extract troops which makes it more suitable for SAR especially in dangerous territory. The LCH will only escort or provide suppressing fire but having downed pilots or troops standing on the landing gear is the only option, one that is fraught with risk.
Had the same question for a loong time.

The explanation makes sense. Thanks for that!!
Natt

Post by Natt »

Gurus,
What are the advantages/disadvantages of a skid vs rolling landing gear in an attack helicopter. I notice the super cobra uses skid, however tyres seem to be the popular choice all over. Are skids not 'crash-worthy'?

(Also a BR expert needs to edit the LCH page on Wikipedia.)
vavinash

Post by vavinash »

It just shows the confidence they have the bird. I hope the armed forces have the same confidence.

Natt wrote:Gurus,
What are the advantages/disadvantages of a skid vs rolling landing gear in an attack helicopter. I notice the super cobra uses skid, however tyres seem to be the popular choice all over. Are skids not 'crash-worthy'?
Skids weigh less than wheels and are less complicated mechanisms and need less maintenance. However, when the helo is on the ground and you want to move it around, you need to jack it up onto a special dolly to move it around, which is why you see skids on smaller helos only, as it is a real pain in the neck to do this with a larger bird. That's why larger helos have their own wheels.

Also skids work better in unprepared air strips or snow because of lower pressure on the ground. On the other hand, wheels (especially retractable wheels) have less drag when flying in the air.

That bird flies in the dark in a storm? And at an altitude where a BRFite can hear it!
How does it do that without a fully functional FLIR hain ji?

Perhaps that globe was for the expected media onslaught on its inauguration onlee. They put in the real maal afterwards. (No sense allowing all the DDMs get all close and personal to sensitive stuff.)

Natt wrote:Gurus,
skids with shock absorbers should do the trick. But that would add to the weight.

dhruv had wheels in all models initially. per an old article, they were removed to reduce weight in early 1990s.
Rupak

Post by Rupak »

I am told that the reason most modern attack helicopters are wheeled is because when fully laden, this allows them to do rolling take-offs thereby saving fuel and allowing more ToT.

won't the weapons load reduce its troops carrying ability???
Will it be able to carry a meaningful load of pj's for the rescue ops???

what is pj ?

Rahul M wrote:what is pj ?
Para Jumper... The para troopers specializing in CSAR... in hind sight, i realize its an American term...

Another stupid question: if LCH is coming soon, then why is India opening bids for the likes of AH-64 and Mi 28?

Tanaji wrote:Another stupid question: if LCH is coming soon, then why is India opening bids for the likes of AH-64 and Mi 28?
Different category catering to different roles.

Bala Vignesh wrote:won't the weapons load reduce its troops carrying ability???
Will it be able to carry a meaningful load of pj's for the rescue ops???
of course it will. if you increase one type of payload you reduce another, that tradeoff is for certain. But even with just a couple of rocket pods and a nose mounted cannon with its full ammo, its capable of suppressing fire while carrying a few troops that it can insert or extract. the LCH can always escort it in this role as well with a larger weapons load.

The point being that it is not a nihatta Dhruv that will be completely unable to defend itself in case of being fired upon.
joygoswami

Post by joygoswami »

Hi, guys came across this in Youtube.NDTV Documentary on the LCH.

1. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9SSk4zdEPsY

2. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tK54brKk ... re=related
nishu

Post by nishu »

guys check out the above video where he says mi-35/24 as apache helicopters :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Tanaji wrote:Another stupid question: if LCH is coming soon, then why is India opening bids for the likes of AH-64 and Mi 28?
Me not any guru but AFAIK LCH has to still undergo many trials before it gets IOC. Loading LCH with pods and other armaments will probably still take few years. Without any delays its scheduled to be inducted not before 2013. OTOH Mi-35 are quite old now.
gogna

Post by gogna »

joygoswami wrote:Hi, guys came across this in Youtube.NDTV Documentary on the LCH.

Standards of NDTV are down to the gutter. This is the worst defence media peace i have ever seen. What do you get when you pay peanuts...... .

Shiv g don't bother setting your recorder next time.
Natt

Post by Natt »

"wo aa raha hai" Such sorry state of our media..did anyone see how he was calling the Mi-35 an american apache helicopter which had done wonders in afgan and iraq wars..
:(
Vishnu sir what happened here?
sombhat

Post by sombhat »

<OT rant>
Recently NDTV India has been reporting on the styles of Aaj Tak and India TV. If you listen to the style of Hindi, you will notice it. Its very different from the reporting of NDTV 24X7. I don't know how there can be two such different methods of reporting in the same organization. Maybe Vishnu can explain. Do we have a recording of the report on NDTV 24X7?
</OT rant>
joygoswami

Post by joygoswami »

gogna wrote:
joygoswami wrote:Hi, guys came across this in Youtube.NDTV Documentary on the LCH.

Standards of NDTV are down to the gutter. This is the worst defence media peace i have ever seen. What do you get when you pay peanuts...... .

Shiv g don't bother setting your recorder next time.

Typical Indian News with limited knowledge on hardware. The other day they were showing a Documentary on The UAV Predator calling it Americas "Brahmastra" . Ok, one more thing, did i hear the pilot say that in the LCH, the pilot sits in the front and the Gunner behind him ? or my mind is playing tricks on me due to the immense heat and humidity in my city ? :eek: :eek:

sombhat wrote:
Recently NDTV India has been reporting on the styles of Aaj Tak and India TV. If you listen to the style of Hindi, you will notice it. Its very different from the reporting of NDTV 24X7. I don't know how there can be two such different methods of reporting in the same organization. Maybe Vishnu can explain. Do we have a recording of the report on NDTV 24X7?

Thats because AAJ tak and Headlines Today were taken over by NDTV in 2004. So effectively they are sister organiations for the same, so there will be transfer of personal etc. Looks Headlines Today is mroe the Tabloid piece and NDTV the more mature channel.

deleted by admin
Last edited by archan on 04 Jun 2010 19:59, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Deleted OT. You have just returned from a 3 month long ban. What is the intention with posting completely OT post here now?

And pray tell us....what is this piece doing in the LCH thread? :roll:

My video on LCH ,please do rate..
[youtube]<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/P2Yj9mbFo70&hl ... ram><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/P2Yj9mbFo70&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>[/youtube]

joygoswami wrote:Ok, one more thing, did i hear the pilot say that in the LCH, the pilot sits in the front and the Gunner behind him ? or my mind is playing tricks on me due to the immense heat and humidity in my city ? :eek: :eek:
That’s correct. The LCH has the pilot in the front seat and the gunner in the rear. Its similar to the Tiger in that sense. Essentially, if you can provide the pilot with good forward visibility then there is no reason why the pilot cannot be seated in the front seat and gunner in the rear.

Man I watched that LCH 'woh aa raha hain' video, pathetic standards or rather non-standards of journalism I must say.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

"Aa raha hain ladaku helicopter"...WTF...did anyone notice they have got ICH instead of LCH in heading in the news clip.

All they want is to use attention grabbing language and increase their TRP's. Damn journos.
Natt

Post by Natt »

No news on further flights by LCH anywhere...? Spotters in place?
Natt

Post by Natt »

Why, that shouldnt be too difficult, LCH is black, had tandem seating cockpit, no windows, tyres sticking out for a landing gear. Gurus please take over.
dipayan

Post by dipayan »

Marten wrote:
Natt wrote:No news on further flights by LCH anywhere...? Spotters in place?
It seems to be making short hops (only 5 minutes or so). Thought I had seen it day before but it was a camo Dhruv (probably a weaponized one but my old eyes fail me these days). Question to folks here: How similar are the side profiles of the two whirlybirds? How does one differentiate one from the other when visual conditions are affected?

LCH has a rear landing gear with a wheel (technical term???) the dhruv doesnt
VikB

Post by VikB »

Junta, what are we cribbing about??? "ye na heen dushman ko barbad karr dega ....". Awesome. For a change the media is using the same terms and methods to talk about Indian equipment/forces that they use to hardsell underwear/SRK/etc. Let's keep our uberkool views aside and think of the masses. I am surely loving it.