Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): Sep 03, 2010

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP): Sep 03, 20

Singha link please..

sum wrote:Where would BRF be without these buffoons to the west to provide us with daily entertainment?
Even i was thinking the same. What are we going to do without Pakis :-?

Shiv

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/sp ... 5917788483
menon s

Post by menon s »

Brad Goodman wrote:
menon s wrote:a 26/11 kind of incident, and an indian retaliation, followed with a nuke over new delhi, and one back in islamabad. they will have enough sympathy from the world to get over their debts. im not saying this jokingly, these guys are capable of thinking in much worse ways.

Menon ji, I agree with you on paki line of thought but to think that amirkhan or EU can just sit and cancel debts is way too far fetched. There are few reasons I can think of. First of all unkil is in deep recession. Ombaba just announced a $50 B package to put people to work and that itself has not gone down too well here in the beltway. Second EU itself is hotch potch organization which cannot take decisions in one voice. Greece bail out was an example we need to remember. Germany opposed it tooth and nail where as Britain & France were supporting it. Same was true for iceland. They have enough problems of their own to be really pushing for pakis. Plus yesterdays report on no decision on trade concession is a marker for what we can expect. Third pakis have a debt of $54B right now. I am not sure how its broken down. But I am sure a large chunk of it is held by agencies (namely World Bank & IMF) now these agencies have all countries as stakeholders and your votes are decided based on your stake in these agencies. Unkil controls majority stake as usual. Now yes WEST can ramrod a concession package via WB & IMF using its clout but that would make other countries cry fowl that why are we excluded from this meharbaani. Same is true with emerging stakeholders like India Brazil Russia who might think unkil is pushing its agenda using their money so the new souce of money is stemmed off and that reduces the clout of these organizations.

IMHO here is maximum I can expect. There will be some restructuring of agency loans. Some more soft loans will be provided to inject liquidity into paki books. All this will allow pakis to survive for few more months. Some bilateral loans from western countries might be written off but that depends on host countries ability to not rile up its own public. Example UQ cannot do much at the moment considering its own ecomnimic health. Germany can but Merekel is not too keen. Scandinavin countries will mostly do it but those amounts are pretty tiny. Cheena for certain will never do it unless pakis sell them more territory in GB or few mines in Balochistan.

I think babus in S Block need to keep up the pressure on western governments and media just to ensure no one really even thinks of such stupid move.
the main worry brad is that these guys are sitting so smug, despite the myraid problems that they have. well if it were you or me we would have run helter skelter, but these guys are sitting as if nothing has happened. you may blame it on bull bullheadedness. but then, something is missing. Dont you think they do not know about
IMF! They know it. the guy who is heading their central bank, mr. Shahid Kardar knows it well. im only worried as to the source of this false bravado!
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

menon s wrote: the main worry brad is that these guys are sitting so smug, despite the myraid problems that they have. well if it were you or me we would have run helter skelter, but these guys are sitting as if nothing has happened. you may blame it on bull bullheadedness. but then, something is missing. Dont you think they do not know about
IMF! They know it. the guy who is heading their central bank, mr. Shahid Kardar knows it well. im only worried as to the source of this false bravado!
Lets use an analogy to understand this situation. Say a person is reasonable swimmer. Now say his boat capsizes in middle of a lake and nearest shore line is like 500 - 1000 meters away. The most normal reaction would be to not panic and start swimming slowly towards the shore line. Now change scene and move it to a river with some turbulence. Now the swimmer panics for few minutes and might make some stupid moves initially but within few moments gets a grip of the situation and weighs his option whether can can swim upstream or down stream and how quickly can he move from midstream towards the banks. Now what if he is in Ocean and shoreline is not visible the guy just does not start swimming franticlly he just wants to float and hope to find a piece of log (IMF & WB) or rescue boat (3.5 in our case) that can keep him afloat. Pakis are not frantic because they frankly know that there is nothing they can do in their capacity to get out of the situation.

Now lets use similar analogy for 3.5 friends. Example you are sitting on shore line and you see a 100 pound beautiful chick drowning in water. What do you do. You immediately jump in water and save her. Why do you do that. Simple two reasons. First of all its a beautiful lady in distress so there is a possiblity of reward and second is since she is 100 lbs the risk of she taking you down with her are relatively less. Substitute the 100lb chick with a 1 tonne gorrilla in the same situation and now figure out what your reaction will be :shock: you will say damm there is no reward in saving this beast and risk outweigh what ever few advantages there might be. 8) So now 3.5 friends will be looking at the $54 billion bill and dreaming of how we can use this whore to further their geo strategic interests. Also keep in mind that $54B is not end of story. Wh0re is high maintainence she is addicted to crack and expensive gifts (f solah, submarine etc) also except for cheena all other patrons are kind of going thro a lean patch at the moment and cheena is a stingy customer kind of the person who does not take lap dance in St*ip bar but rather one that sits on ring side and gives out $1 bills for every show. What wh0re is looking is for $40 lap dance in 5 min rather than $1 for 5 min of pole dance kind of patronage only unkil can shower.

To take the analogy further pakis can deceive unkil by showing carrots. Cheena will ask pakis to sign up their kidneys are collateral for every $$ it loans out. We already see that with mines in Balochistan and GB already bartered for silkworms and fatakas. Now what else can they mortgage for bucks to fulfill their addiction.

Bull in a china shop- DT Edit
Federal Interior Minister Rehman Malik has banned five Baloch militant groups — the Baloch Liberation Army (BLA), the Baloch Republican Army (BRA), the Baloch Liberation United Front (BLUF), the Baloch Liberation Front (BLF) and the Baloch Mussalah Diffah Tanzim (BMDT). This is highly illogical since none of these groups were legal entities to begin with. :rotfl: Mr Malik’s remarks that these groups “will not be allowed to undertake any activity, their offices will be closed, bank accounts frozen and action will be taken against their office bearers” is ludicrous. Which offices, bank accounts or office bearers? The insurgent groups in Balochistan do not function from any formal offices or through any official channels for funding. Mr Malik is acting like a bull in a china shop.
http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.as ... 2010_pg3_1

He is going by US playbook of banning orgs to show he is also fighting the GOAT. This will get him more baksheesh.

Row over holy verses claims 4 lives in mosque :D
NOWSHERA, Sept 9: A dispute over inscribing holy verses inside a mosque left four persons dead and two injured in Dag Besud area here on Wednesday night.

Police said that some residents of Chorgarhi area in Dag Besud, infuriated with lettering of verses on the walls of the mosque by others, entered the place of worship and opened indiscriminate fire, killing four persons and injuring two others seriously.

Police said that some inhabitants of the area inscribed certain religious terms inside the mosque while whitewash over which exchange of hot words took place between two locals, Azam Khan and Rehmat Ali.

They said that Azam got infuriated. He along with his two brothers, Nooruddin and Ajab Khan, opened fire inside the mosque killing Taj Mohammad and injuring five others, police said.
Last edited by shravan on 11 Sep 2010 00:16, edited 2 times in total.

Abolish Feudalism - by Dr. Mahjabeen Islam
A few thousand families currently hold Pakistan in a vice-like grip. They own thousands of acres of land that is tilled by haris, landless peasants, who are held in varying degrees of subjugation by cruel feudals. Bondage is widespread in rural Pakistan and landlords and tribal leaders have even created private prisons. There is also the concept of debt bondage that the peasant has to work off, rather than pay off with money or goods, and this debt bondage extends through generations. The violation of basic human rights that this creates is another one of many stains on our nation.
Strongly politically connected or the only political game in the village, feudals do not pay taxes. Themselves minimally educated, if at all, feudals perpetuate the horrific literacy statistics of Pakistan. Married invariably to four women and keeper of numerous others, the feudal lord maintains all in deep ignorance, knowing that education would sever the bondage.
Sad also is the political hold that the feudal families have on Pakistan. Be it the PML-N or the PPP, a majority of the National Assembly members belong to these infamous feudal families. Slowly, but surely, their duplicity is being unmasked. Since the passage of the minimal qualification for election being a bachelor’s degree, many landlords are noted to have fake degrees and their grip on political power has been loosened. A bit.
The economic, social and political inequity perpetuated by feudalism must end if Pakistan is not to drown in the literal and figurative sense of the word. The floods provide a strangely painful opportunity to do this. Anger at the feudal lord has been steadily growing and as the media becomes more powerful, stories of the murders, jirga justice, vani (child marriages) and marriages to the Quran to retain property are all coming to light :eek: .

PROTEST: The residents of the flood-ravaged area of Muhib Banda blocked the Grand Trunk Road here on Thursday against the Wapda authorities for sending electricity bills to them despite the fact that majority of the houses in the area have been washed away by flood.
They said that government and Wapda authorities had now been forcing the people to commit suicide. They said that on one hand people had been turned beggars and they had been eagerly awaiting relief goods and on the other hand they had been sent arbitrary electricity bills.

James B wrote:Abolish Feudalism - by Dr. Mahjabeen Islam
. Bondage is widespread in rural Pakistan and landlords and tribal leaders have even created private prisons. There is also the concept of debt bondage that the peasant has to work off, rather than pay off with money or goods, and this debt bondage extends through generations.
26 people recovered from a private jail in Badin

31 Aug 10 12:20 AM
BADIN: Police have recovered 26 people from a private jail in Tehsil Golarchi on the orders of the court, SAMAA reported Monday.

All the recovered farmers were presented before court today, the court has allowed them to spend their lives as they wish. SAMAA
Check the image...They look like Hindus

^^^ IIRC in the article linked below, Haris are Hindu landless peasants usually sold into bonded labor in TSP. The picture shows these bonded laborer so many if not most may be Hindu peasants.
James B wrote:Abolish Feudalism - by Dr. Mahjabeen Islam
A few thousand families currently hold Pakistan in a vice-like grip. They own thousands of acres of land that is tilled by haris, landless peasants, who are held in varying degrees of subjugation by cruel feudals. ...

Yo Paklurks

You guys should stop spot fixing and start Vi(spot) fixing

Krishna and Qureshi combination lost in the US open Finals, I watched the match with a large group of my south asian friends and one could see that Qureshi double faulted at crucial moments in the match. An otherwise deserving Krishna err Bopanna was deprived of being on the winner's podium by the reckless Pakroach Qureshi. All my south asian friends were disappointed.

Now coming to a more pertinent point. If the rakhwala of world morality, India can be instrumental in getting South Africa banned from international sport during the apartheid years then why can't the same India drill sense into the idiots who wan't to team up with players from a terrorist, mass murdering genocidal country, a country which has harmed India 400% more than the apartheid regime in South Africa.

I am happy that Bopanna lost, he deserved to because he teamed up with a Pakroach

But the SDRE is taller than the TFTA!
R_Kumar

Post by R_Kumar »

Positive side is that we have been saved from torture from Indo-Pak bhai-bhai media group.

R_Kumar wrote:Positive side is that we have been saved from torture from Indo-Pak bhai-bhai media group.
Exactly. And now we can see some real men's tennis; looking forward to a Federer Vs Nadal classic :-).

Maturing of a Retd. Brigadier
Letter in the Daily Noose. Note this retired brig's observations on PA during Zia and Mushy's martial law days.
Having completed my basic training, I was posted to my battalion in 111 Brigade. These formative years are most crucial for any officer as he undergoes regimental training, his impressions of military life get matured and he is exposed to the mess life. Conversely, I found myself on the streets of Rawalpindi, checking traffic, interacting with SHOs and performing various other similar tasks. Instead of sleeping early and leading my men for physical training early in the morning, the culture was of performing late-night martial law tasks. Professionalism thus was the first causality. As far as administration of the city was concerned, we had no experience of it. Instead of imbibing the fine attributes, we used to make arrangements for lashings in Rawalpindi. Our commanders were seldom available to us to pass on their experiences and the rich traditions. I do not remember having attended many of dinner or guest nights, which truly are most important for the grooming of a young officer. So, life went on and we performed a mix of such duties till the fateful day of 1988.

Martial law was imposed again in 1999 and this time I witnessed it as a colonel in the provincial capitals of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa and Punjab. We came on the road for undertaking and supervising law and order, development projects and the funniest of all tasks was tax survey. The pinnacle was the conduct of a referendum and it is better to not discuss it. I fully agree with the writer that the military is not trained to run the country. It is meant to protect the country. So, no more martial laws, please, as we are not trained for that.

Brig (r) Asif Alvi

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/co ... 03367.html
Flooding deepens age-old fissures in Pakistan
( And Islam holds no Glue propertires)

[
b]Even in the best of times, Pakistan is a tenuous federation riven by regional, ethnic, sectarian and class rivalries[/b].
The South Asian nation is struggling to cope with cataclysmic floods that inundated every province, destroying infrastructure and leaving millions homeless. But instead of forging unity, the disaster seems to have deepened age-old fissures in ways that some analysts, aid workers and politicians warn are hobbling relief efforts and could incite strife over what is bound to be a prolonged recovery period. Pakistan's four provinces, which have long battled each other for resources and influence, are engaging in cutthroat battles for shares of flood aid money. Well-connected landowners have been accused of diverting floodwaters to save their own properties while drowning those of the poor. Reports abound of relief denied to minorities and political opponents, while ethnic violence has flared as flood refugees stream into the tinderbox city of Karachi.
There are separatist movements in three of four provinces, all of which harbor a resentment of Punjab, the wealthiest, most populous and influential province. Though Punjab was hard-hit by flooding, that anger still courses. Other regions have been outraged by Punjabi officials' assertion - backed by the prime minister - that much damage could have been averted had other provinces allowed construction of a controversial major dam that non-Punjabi leaders assert would harm their provinces by displacing residents and depriving them of water.
Last month in Karachi, police opened fire on refugees who moved into 450 vacant apartments with the backing of a Sindhi nationalist party. Two were killed. Many Karachi observers fear more such outbreaks will follow if the refugees get too settled.Karachi-ites look at us with very strange eyes," said construction worker Sahid Ali, 40. "Like we are foreigners

As the bad boy of tennis says 'Are you Kidding Me' ?

Is this a post match press conference or some joint press conference after S.e.S or similar chai pakora session ?

And it is clear that there is 'external' pressure on Dilli , else how does one explain presence of ambassadors from both India and Pakistan for both SF and final match ? And finally all those reporters in the press conference asking questions on peace and everything under the sun but 'tennis' ?

link after semis: http://www.usopen.org/en_US/interactive ... omo=topnav

Some one out there is trying too hard.

EU Set to Agree Trade Breaks For Pakistan. Why? Here is what the shameless Qureshi declaes with a bold face even as he and his ilk shelter the worst anti-India terrorists including the LET and Mumbai mastareminds

Pakistan's Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi told Reuters on Thursday Pakistan urgently needed greater market access as a way to help stabilise its economy, and warned that Islamist militants would try to exploit economic crisis and social instability.
Manny

Post by Manny »

I have a request.

I see us desies here talking to one another about Pakistan. But lets be honest, we are all preaching to the choir.

I see forums and media like the Huffington Post is full of editorials from Porkies. I try to argue and make my point of view without getting banned. But I hardly see desies in those foras. There is a 1:10 India vs Pakistan view there. Why is it that we don't see desies on those forums and blog sites?

No point in talking among ourselves. We need to influence other folks. I wish people here would take some time off here and post on those other forums and Blogs to make India's case.

Its very easy to be brave within your own choir. But it takes tack and real intelligence to convince folks where the enemy operates.

That's just my opinion.

Here is an example.

A Porki says

"you might also add...the only country that stood by the US in that region during the Cold War (India was on the side of the Soviet Union); the only country that offered its land and army to the US to help in the War on Terror; the only country that has lost more soldiers and civilians than NATO/US because of the War on Terror; the only country that has brought a civil war onto itself because of its alliance with the US. Yup, I'm talking about Pakistan, the same country that has helped the US time and time again. From the opening of China (Nixon years) to the present day. "

And I had to counter it with this

"It was Afghans who fought the Soviet Union. Pakistan Army/ISI skimmed the money that was sent and built themselves a terr0r network that funded to keep Afghanistan unstable. The very people who helped fight the soviet union became the victims of the Pakistani trained Talibanies. Little children in Afghanistan lost their education and what not.

Please send money to save the Afghan young Generation. It was they who helped fight the Soviets. "

But Its very sad when I don't see other people countering these aholes. No point in going home and whining to your wife when you need the cajones to stand up to people out there in the world that matters.
Last edited by Manny on 11 Sep 2010 06:21, edited 3 times in total.

Lalmohan wrote:^^^ i ask a question that i have already asked: where is the taliban's supply chain?
Lalmohan, if by supply chain you mean source of income, then the prime source is narcotics. The ISI is deeply involved so that the export goes unhindered.
I thought a lot came from the Saudis too...
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

Manny wrote: I see forums and media like the Huffington Post is full of editorials from Porkies. I try to argue and make my point of view without getting banned. But I hardly see desies in those foras. There is a 1:10 India vs Pakistan view there. Why is it that we don't see desies on those forums and blog sites?

No point in talking among ourselves. We need to influence other folks. I wish people here would take some time off here and post on those other forums and Blogs to make India's case.

Its very easy to be brave within your own choir. But it takes tack and real intelligence to convince folks where the enemy operates.
Manny I agree we need to be active on news forums but the problem is the we turn the articles and analysis into India pakistan match and then re-enforce the == that we are trying to break from. If pakis think they fought soviets then good for them. Afghans need to answer them not us. Its AfPak not India Pak so we need to let them rot there not drag ourselves into that sh*t hole.

During the sailaab we read lots of news papers across the world and average joes from US, UK, Canada & other countries had really posted comments & analysis which was a plesant suprise for most of us and did make us feel that tide was turning aganist pakis.

We can counter only those articles where pakis spread BS against India. Others like cold war etc should be best ignored IMHO
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

Musharraf plans to return to Pakistan with new party

how many times do we have to hear this.
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

Manny I have a humble suggestion. If you and some like minded folks want to use the information and data that we collect here to post articles or blogs then perhaps that might be a great idea (ofcourse with permission of owners of that info and moderators) similar to the pak watch blog. Here I see reuters has a blog page perhaps we can write some articles here which might get more visiblity

The skewed narrative on Pakistan flood aid: “help me or I’ll kill you”
One of the arguments that comes up frequently for helping the victims of Pakistan’s floods is that otherwise Islamist militants will exploit the disaster, and the threat of terrorism to the west will rise. It’s an argument that makes me wince every time I read it.

It implies that wanting to help people simply because they are suffering from hunger, homelessness and disease is a hopelessly outdated concept; that until these hungry, homeless and diseased people turn up at a bombing near you, then there is no reason to give them money.
here is one comment posted
@”But I’d like to ask readers here whether they think people are more likely to give money out of fear or out of kindness.”

National govts, specifically in western countries (US, UK EU etc) are certainly motivated by fear, while giving aid to Pakistan but individuals are mostly giving on humanitarian grounds & not out of fear. If american troops were not engaged in AfPak, I seriously doubt that my govt would have provided $200 mn +, to a country, where a vast majority of the population hates us with a passion.
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

So burn a koran day ends with no koran burnt but a church was set ablaze by faithfools as part of EID celebrations. This marks the end of holy month and now kafirs can be slaughtered as well

Demonstrations against pastor, church set on fire in Pakistan
Islamabad (AsiaNews) – Reactions in the Muslim world to ‘Burn-the-Qur‘an’ Day promoted by a US clergyman have included setting fire to one church and attacking others in Pakistan, demonstrations organised by Islamic groups with thousands of people in the streets of Indonesia and Afghanistan, and one death reported in the latter, this despite the fact that Rev Terry Jones, after considerable equivocation, said finally that he would not go through with his initiative.
Brad Goodman

Post by Brad Goodman »

Pure BS article by Ahmed Qureshi read it if you want not recommended at all

Enduring Lessons From Pakistan’s 1965 India War

funny how many qureshi's do we have to endure? :rotfl:

Musharraf plans to return to Pakistan with new party
By Owen Bennett Jones BBC News
Pervez Musharraf (file picture) Mr Musharraf says there is a good chance he may be president again

The former military ruler of Pakistan Pervez Musharraf has said he is forming a new political party with a view to returning to politics in the country.

Pakistan: When journalists are a part of the collateral damage
Anita Joshua

http://www.hindu.com/2010/09/11/stories ... 051500.htm

Qureshi double faulted at crucial moments in the match
AoA! Exactly as I predicted. What do u expect - he's a Pakis, hain? The bugger was "fixed".

Guddu wrote:
SSridhar wrote:Lalmohan, if by supply chain you mean source of income, then the prime source is narcotics. The ISI is deeply involved so that the export goes unhindered.
I thought a lot came from the Saudis too...
Of course. Also from wealthy Arabs from other Gulf states too. The Taliban make money in various ways. Then there are the mines that the Taliban took over in Shangla. Then there is the timber trade which caused so much damage in the recent floods. The spiriting away of antiques, especially Gandharan, and their sales in western countries. The protection money they get from escorting NATO supplies !! Yes, the Taliban make money in multiple ways. But, profits generated from narcotics overshadows these contributions to the Caliphate's exchequer. This is where the ISI, the PA's National Logistics Cell, and the very top Corps Commanders are directly involved. Even when Ms. BB and then Nawaz Sharif were the Prime Ministers, the trail went right up to the Prime Minister. Nawaz Sharif once admitted that Gen. Aslam Beg & the then ISI Chief Asad Durrani told him about this.

Once they have the money, arms and ammunition are easily available from various bazaars.

Here is GUBO in all its declassified glory: :twisted:
The 9/13/01 Armitage - Ahmed Meeting Declassified

First, a cable describing Deputy Secretary of State Richard Armitage’s notorious September 13, 2001 meeting with Pakistani Intelligence (ISI) Chief Mahmoud Ahmed in which Armitage plainly sets out seven demands for Pakistan. [The meeting is well-known as a turning point in the U.S.-Pakistan alliance. See Ahmed Rashid (2008, 28) and The Washington Post]. This was one of the very first interactions binding the U.S. and Pakistan in Washington’s post-9/11 counterterrorism agenda.

Second, a September 14, 2001 cable regarding President Pervez Musharraf’s acceptance of the above noted seven demands from the U.S. “without conditions.” After giving the U.S. this wholehearted message of cooperation, President Musharraf notes he nevertheless has some questions regarding strategic goals and how America sees the Taliban in its counterterrorism battle against al-Qaeda. He asks do you want to just “strike UBL and his supporters or the Taliban as well?”
The two cables: Cable 1 and Cable 2

Manny,

I've started a new thread, "Counter Propaganda", after reading your plea to other BRFites to contribute. Hope it helps.

Anujan wrote:Here is GUBO in all its declassified glory: :twisted:
The 9/13/01 Armitage - Ahmed Meeting Declassified

First, a cable describing Deputy Secretary of State Richard Armitage’s notorious September 13, 2001 meeting with Pakistani Intelligence (ISI) Chief Mahmoud Ahmed in which Armitage plainly sets out seven demands for Pakistan. [The meeting is well-known as a turning point in the U.S.-Pakistan alliance. See Ahmed Rashid (2008, 28) and The Washington Post]. This was one of the very first interactions binding the U.S. and Pakistan in Washington’s post-9/11 counterterrorism agenda.

Second, a September 14, 2001 cable regarding President Pervez Musharraf’s acceptance of the above noted seven demands from the U.S. “without conditions.” After giving the U.S. this wholehearted message of cooperation, President Musharraf notes he nevertheless has some questions regarding strategic goals and how America sees the Taliban in its counterterrorism battle against al-Qaeda. He asks do you want to just “strike UBL and his supporters or the Taliban as well?”
The two cables: Cable 1 and Cable 2
And they pull this con job today that TSP is soooooo important that it cannot be antagonized :-). US bascially said, aceede to these demands or else.

It would be interesting to see TSP US communication from that time regarding TSP's "freedom fighting" in Kashmir. If you look at TSP's brazen attacks post that period, the inescapable conclusion is that it was wink wink nod nod, and couple that with massive militray/economic aid doled knowing fully well that terror against India was TSP's safety valve to ward of public displeasure towards Guboing to US, I say US is as complict as TSP. Of course, anyone saying this in public would be labeled a radical, a nut case, you name it.

‘Mumbai-II could lead to a fully blown Indo-Pak war’

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/article626996.ece

The Islamic Republic of Pakistan snags the role of laggard of the Indian Sub-Continent with regard to WEF’s Global Competitiveness ranking:
WEF downgrades Pakistan to 123rd

By A Reporter
Friday, 10 Sep, 2010

ISLAMABAD: The World Economic Forum has downgraded Pakistan’s global competitiveness ranking from 101 to 123rd place among 139 nations for the year 2010-2011. ……………………

India dropped two places and is now at 51st; Bangladesh is at 107th from 106th but showing stability. Sri Lanka showed a remarkable improvement of 17 places and is now ranked 62nd. ………………….

Dawn

shravan wrote:Row over holy verses claims 4 lives in mosque :D
NOWSHERA, Sept 9: A dispute over inscribing holy verses inside a mosque left four persons dead and two injured in Dag Besud area here on Wednesday night.

Police said that some residents of Chorgarhi area in Dag Besud, infuriated with lettering of verses on the walls of the mosque by others, entered the place of worship and opened indiscriminate fire, killing four persons and injuring two others seriously.

Police said that some inhabitants of the area inscribed certain religious terms inside the mosque while whitewash over which exchange of hot words took place between two locals, Azam Khan and Rehmat Ali.

They said that Azam got infuriated. He along with his two brothers, Nooruddin and Ajab Khan, opened fire inside the mosque killing Taj Mohammad and injuring five others, police said.
The citizens of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan appear to have the unerring ability to belie the statement that “Islam is a Religion of Peace” by frequently having Muslims indulge in egregious acts of violence targeting other Muslims over differences inspired by Islam, as in this case :roll: .

arun wrote: The citizens of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan appear to have the unerring ability to belie the statement that “Islam is a Religion of Peace” by frequently having Muslims indulge in egregious acts of violence targeting other Muslims over differences inspired by Islam, as in this case :roll: .
Muslims don't kill Muslims. The people who were killed were pure takfiris. They were worse than kufr.

abhishek_sharma wrote:Pakistan: When journalists are a part of the collateral damage
Anita Joshua

Pakistan: When journalists are a part of the collateral damage Anita Joshua
From the above,
From just one channel and one radio station in 2002, Pakistan now has 90 television channels . . .
I do keep hearing this. I am doubtful that Pakistan could have so many 'native' channels. Are they including Indian channels & other firangi channels like Discovery etc ?