Indian Interests

Re: Indian Interests

Three pogroms held together by a common thread

Vidya Subrahmaniam

Secular, democratic India has seen pogroms against all three significant minorities — Sikhs, Muslims and Christians.

At the hearing organised by the Kandhamal Tribunal, Vrinda Grover, a member of the jury, remarked that the Orissa rioters had “used women's bodies as sites for punishment.” The Hindu of September 30, 2008 reported the case of a Catholic nun who was stripped naked and brutally gang-raped in front of a police post with 12 policemen from the Orissa State Armed Police present and watching. The Catholic priest who was with her was mercilessly thrashed for refusing to participate in the atrocity.

http://www.hindu.com/2010/09/04/stories ... 891300.htm
She fails to mention the leading role of the Congressi Christian Jagdish Tytler in 1984. And what about the pogroms that Hindus have been suffering since 1947?

Incidentally the so-called "nun rape" case has turned out to be a despicable fraud ...
A conspiracy unravels
http://www.dailypioneer.com/273487/A-co ... avels.html

Sandhya Jain

Was the alleged rape of a nun, following the assassination of Swami Laxmanananda Saraswati and four sanyasis in Kandhamal on Krishna Janmasthami, August 23, 2008, an afterthought by missionaries targeted by enraged Hindus? Was it a planned vengeance, aimed at garnering the international spotlight and forcing Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik to break his alliance with the BJP, which empathised with the Vishwa Hindu Parishad’s anger at the murder of its octogenarian leader?

The questions are legitimate given Fr Thomas Chellan’s admission in court on July 26 that he did not report the alleged rape of the nun when filing the first information report with the police on August 26, 2008. The Baliguda Catholic Church pastor, a key witness in the case, admitted during cross-examination before Cuttack district and sessions judge Bira Kishore Mishra that he had not mentioned the alleged rape in the FIR filed a day after the incident is said to have occurred. His complaint caused the arrest of 23 people.

The alleged rape of the 29-year-old nun from Sambalpur is said to have occurred on August 25 in Kandhamal district, a day after agitated Hindus went on the rampage to protest the gunning down of Swami Laxmanananda and his disciple-monks in the precincts of his own ashram. Swami Laxmanananda had previously escaped several attempts on his life and had received death threats from missionaries infuriated by his anti-conversion activities.

The nun worked at Divyajyoti Pastoral Centre at K Nugaon block. She was reportedly dragged out of a retired head clerk’s house by 40-odd armed men who chanted “Bharat Mata ki Jai,” taken to the office of an NGO, Jan Vikash, where one man allegedly raped her. At that time, 12 policemen of the Odisha State Armed Police were camping in a school in front of the NGO’s office. The nun identified the main accused as Santosh Patnaik, alias Mitu.

Fr Chellan was reportedly beaten and paraded half-naked on the road the same day. He identified two accused in court as being part of the mob that attacked his church, but had failed to identify either man during the test identification parade held at Choudwar jail last year. The case was initially committed to a fast-track court in Kandhamal that was trying all riot cases, but was transferred to a sessions court in Cuttack after the nun petitioned that she felt unsafe in Kandhamal. (This is now the standard refrain in all anti-Hindu cases; Gujarat’s former Minister Amit Shah is only the latest victim.)

Interestingly, Dr Chotray Marandia, who first treated the nun after the alleged assault-cum-rape, testified on August 28 that she had only complained of swelling on her face. “I only treated the swelling on her face and she did not complain of anything else,” he replied when asked by defence lawyers about other injuries on her body. So we have no evidence of rape.

The then block development officer, Mr BB Mishra, testified that he had accompanied the nun and priest to the local police station to file their complaint about the mob attack. Both thus had full official protection while filing the complaint, and cannot claim that the police did not record the FIR properly, or that the rape charge was ignored by the police. These testimonies are damning.

That the rape is most likely a fabrication can be seen from the nervousness of the prosecution. Earlier, her lawyers had sought a month’s time for the nun to appear before the court. This is suspicious to say the least, but fits in with the church’s hiding the nun from the local people and producing a veiled woman with a thick Malayalam accent at a Press conference in Delhi. Interestingly, last Saturday the nun failed to identify the key accused at a test identification parade.
Who will compensate the Indic people for the vile slander and abuse being heaped upon them?

BTW, what is the background of Vidya Subramaniam ... she should be added to the graphical database of media goons.

P.J. Thomas tipped to become CVC
http://www.hindu.com/2010/09/05/stories ... 280100.htm

New Delhi: P.J. Thomas, Secretary in the Ministry of Telecommunications, is set to become the new Central Vigilance Commissioner. — PTI

Hmm... from the scam-ridden telecom ministry.

Raghav Bahl on the amazing race between India and China
http://www.moneycontrol.com/news/busine ... 82837.html
India and China: The Contemporary
We have all learned this fable in school; the fable of a sincere little tortoise that challenges a boastful hare to a race. The slow little tortoise had little chance to begin with and the hare almost took the challenge up. It would sprint ahead and take rest leaving time for the tortoise to catch-up and when the tortoise would come close enough it would sprint some more. But in one of his bouts of rest the hare went wrong and slipped off the slumber. The sincere little tortoise with short yet sure steps surpassed the sleeping hare.
So why are we taking you back to the story of the hare and the tortoise? Two Asian economic power houses India and China are almost behaving akin to the fabled hare and tortoise. While China, almost hare like, leaps ahead and captures global attentions through its manufacturing juggernaut, India too in very sure steps is upping its way to set an economic sweet spot. As the global economy almost resurrects its meltdown, who among India and China would establish leadership within the final leg of this race?

Q: I want to talk to you about the shift in the global discourse and you talk about it in your book with regards to the way the world is viewing India and China. Up until maybe 2008 and the Lehman Brothers crises, China could do nothing wrong and India was a story of missed opportunities and disappointments. There has been a shift, hasn’t it?
A: At the subterranean level it’s a dramatic shift but India by its very nature is country which doesn’t come out and strut too much on the world stage so therefore at the subterranean it’s a great shift while it’s not so manifesting in commentary but its changing, you are right, you are very right and I think the reason for that is that once the Lehman collapse happened and once the Western world went into such a severe economic crises, it was expected that the transmission effects of that on India and China would be severe. Everyone expected the transmission effects to be severe on India.

Q: And there was a surprise there, wasn’t it?
A: And there was a surprise because China fell much more than India; China fell from 13% to 6% and we fell from 9% to 6.7% so in percentage terms we fell half or put it the other way round, we outperformed China by half. So India’s bounce back from that 6.7% and China’s from 6% and then India’s bounce back also happened a little bit sturdier for instance we had much lower debt; our banks do not go out and lend the way Chinese banks lend. We had much less debt in our turnaround; we also had a bit of inflation in our turnaround so in nominal terms Indian economy started growing twice as fast as China while China turned around but China turned around on the tailwind of huge debt.

Look... Even the most loyal servants and bottom lickers of the dynasty are suddenly getting despair. They are worried about how India is getting internally and externally weakened. Cause for worry. We are being destroyed by worthless, gutless PM, Sonia clique and clueless Prince.

Look here the quintessential dynasty worshipper and corrupt media lord Sekhar Gupta
http://www.indianexpress.com/news/unite ... ce/677015/
United regressive alliance
You have the ruling party looking more confident, even cockier, than at any time in two decades. At the same time, you have its government looking so hobbled not even halfway into its second year, you would think it was a lame duck serving out its last few months in power.
Some of that confusion has begun to show in the performance of the government. The Kashmir Valley is drifting out of control. Nobody seems to know what the party line on the Naxals is. After nearly five years of respite, our security environment, externally as well as internally, has deteriorated a great deal. Between Kashmir, Maoism, Telangana and the build-up to next year’s elections that promises months of violent uncertainty in West Bengal, India is back to a state of siege. And the argument that evokes the greatest passion in the ruling establishment is whether the use of the description saffron for Hindu right-wing terror is appropriate or not. The world must be laughing at us.

In fact it is. That is why the external security environment has deteriorated alarmingly. In the kind of neighbourhood we live in, nothing is noted more promptly than a phase of weakness and waffling descending on India. Even if you leave Pakistan aside as the usual suspect, we would be living in denial if we do not read the message from China. They have now checked us out over a year and felt bold enough to escalate gradually to a level where they can deny visa to one of our three-star generals in a much celebrated, ongoing process of military-to-military contact because he serves in Kashmir. Yet they put nearly a division strength of their troops in what India considers its own, or at least disputed, Kashmiri territory. The Chinese are not about to invade. But by reducing us to this impotent, silent rage they are only reminding us of the hollowness of our own claims to any big power status. They are underlining to us, in their typically blunt yet convoluted way, that we are merely a subcontinental power which has issues, Pakistan and Kashmir, to handle within our own neighbourhood. And we, meanwhile, cannot decide to buy an artillery gun for our army in 23 years, have critical defence acquisitions blocked because the director of the CBI produced a list of charges against certain suppliers and has not yet backed it even with an FIR. And do you want to know how scandalous this is? The omnipotent CBI chief, modern-day Indian equivalent of Stalin’s infamous hatchet-man Beria (show me the man, I will give you the crime), gave these charges not even on his agency’s letterhead but on a plain piece of paper and, most breathtaking of all, did not even sign it. And yet the government, and the mighty Cabinet Committee on Security, have not been able to toss aside this incredible spanner.
When issues of vital national security get such short shrift you can imagine what happens to economics. Over the past six months, a resurgent India’s growth environment has been replaced by the dark povertarianism of the sixties. We must, in fact, be the only nation in the world today where the ruling elites and establishment intellectuals are all competing to prove whose count of people below the poverty line is higher because in this new mood, the higher your count, the more virtuous you are.
Half its leaders, beginning with Rahul Gandhi, are already in campaign mode for 2014 and the problem is that the other half presume that the election has already been won and are therefore positioning themselves for their share of the power the next election will bring. This has a twin consequence. First, you lose interest in the current government, because it is a mere interregnum, a minor halt en route the real thing. Second, how do you ensure the jobs and the positions you think you deserve in 2014, unless you discredit the ones holding the same now? These are the riddles that Sonia, in her new term as party president, Rahul, as the new emerging mass leader, and Manmohan Singh in his second and last term as prime minister, have to solve now. It is these also that make our current politics so much more fun — only if you were watching from outside.
The same Sekhar Gupta wails

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/is-an ... re/659993/
Is anybody there?
Let me ask you a trick question. How would you describe the UPA-II government, one that talks too little, or one that talks too much?

Stumped? Don’t blame yourself. It is indeed a bit of both. Except that the parts of it that should be talking are so exasperatingly quiet, and the parts that should keep their mouths shut cannot stop blabbering. The result is a government that looks one of the most chaotic and internally divided in our history, as also one that is remarkable in not communicating with the people who voted it in power.
First, the parts of UPA-II that are not talking. Certainly, the prime minister isn’t. This session of Parliament is halfway through, and you haven’t seen him make one intervention, though you see him in the House often enough. In Pranab Mukherjee and Chidambaram, he has able lieutenants to speak on his behalf. But is that a reason why he should not?
There is widespread confusion at the popular level about all the issues on which the government has been under pressure: prices, the Commonwealth Games, Bhopal, Kashmir. An impression has grown — or has been allowed to grow — that this is a deeply divided government with no centre of gravity. Since New Delhi is also the capital of political conspiracy theorists, nobody ever believes any public expression of dissent — particularly in the Congress — is merely somebody’s recently awakened conscience talking. So when we see Digvijay Singh taking on his own government in Azamgarh over Batla House, or calling its home minister and his own “friend” intellectually arrogant and then taking a different tack on the Maoists, it fits with the usual theories on the usual suspects.
his remarkable conspiracy of silence and noise has created problems for many of the key issues today. Does the government have a policy on Maoists, or does Chidambaram have one, with others holding different views (and we are not even counting Mamata here)? Does this government have a bad conscience on Bhopal, and if so, why? Does it have a coherent plan on Kashmir besides systematic waffling, and if it does, who is implementing or leading it? Has it dumped the Commonwealth Games and distanced itself from Kalmadi, or does it have a plan to save them — and if so, who will take that responsibility? Who speaks to whom to bring back some coherence when the foreign minister gives the home secretary a ticking off in serial interviews on TV? What conclusion do you draw when so many cabinet members indulge in the game of honey, I shrank Montek (read Manmohan)?

We know the troubles the BJP is facing. We also know that the Left is headed for a new abyss in West Bengal and Kerala. The Yadavs of Bihar and Uttar Pradesh are self-destructing. But the troubles that UPA-II is now facing are also serious, and mostly self-inflicted or a result of friendly fire.

The feisty and only honest Talveen Singh has given up. She is one sane voice among DDM who was against the dynasty and lies of the crooked media ganging up against BJP. She is begging Sonia to take over as she is worried about the state of India too.

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/india ... er/677413/
India needs Sonia to be its real leader
I am not being facetious. The reason why I appeal to her to please take the job (if she thinks Rahul is not ready) is because wherever I go these days I meet people who say they are sick and tired of Dr Manmohan Singh. An India Today poll recently confirmed that his ratings are as low as they have ever been. This is because he is seen as a timid, weak man who is unable to say or do anything until he has permission from 10 Janpath. Everyone knew when he took the job that he was our first Prime Minister to be appointed and not elected and for a while it seemed as if he could pull it off. But, now this awkward arrangement has created the unfortunate and insidious impression that the Government of India is unable to do anything at all.
Having been a huge admirer of Dr Manmohan Singh since the days when as Finance Minister he changed the Indian economy, I continue to defend him. But, this becomes increasingly hard when people point out that there have been no economic or administrative reforms since that brief, shining moment in the early Nineties. It’s true that India has many more billionaires and millionaires than we did in socialist times but why is there no attempt to loosen controls that would benefit poorer Indians?
Why do we need the Supreme Court to order the Government of India to distribute food grain to the poor rather than have the Prime Minister take such a decision? Why has nothing been done to reform a public distribution system that leaks at every step?

Besides the Vedanta Project which was recently hobbled by Rahul Gandhi, steel projects by Tata, Posco and Arcellor-Mittal are stalled: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1000142 ... 22698.html

While steel production is being crippled, iron-ore export goes on without hindrance.

There are also moves by so-called "civil society activists" against all dam projects.

The stalling of the Tata Nano factory in WB by Mamta Banerjee was part of the same theme.

This letter has a long list of signatories who should investigated for foreign payoffs: http://www.hindu.com/2010/09/06/stories ... 041300.htm

"Mumbai: The dearth of engineers in the U.S. due to which companies have no other choice but to hire foreign skilled workers to meet their requirements in American companies. Cognizant says that it has 57 recruitment staff in the U.S. looking for local engineers but due to unavailability of skilled workers in U.S., the company is forced to import Indians on work visas, reports Joe Leahy from Financial Times...

And

According to the National Center for Education Statistics, India's undergraduate university courses produce about 600,000 engineers a year compared with about 84,000 in the U.S. in the academic year of 2007-08. "

This is a little startling. India is known to be in the top 5 and definitely top 10 in producing skilled people. But more than 7 times the number of undergrad engineers? Quite impressive. Anyone know the stats for doctors, pure scientists and computer programmers( assuming this latter does not come under "engineers").

X-Post ( Uncle laying down the foundation for intervetion in any future tussle)

http://www.cfr.org/publication/22886/co ... hange.html
The Coming Conflicts of Climate Change

The case of Pakistan reflects how natural disasters can weigh on U.S. national security considerations. Interest in these types of contingencies is such that the U.S. Navy recently conducted a gaming exercise at the Naval War College in Newport, RI, to study scenarios where the Navy might have to support U.S. or international relief efforts to help maintain regional and global stability. In each scenario, a climate-induced disaster (or disasters) triggered catastrophic death tolls, migration, and panic affecting regional or global security and spurring the UN Security Council to issue a humanitarian response resolution. This was the first time the Navy had conducted a gaming exercise to determine how to respond to climate-induced challenges. This unique effort brought together climate scientists, water experts, health practitioners, logisticians, diplomats, aid workers, and military officers to think through possible response options.
The exercise follows a real world trend of Navy support for humanitarian aid missions and responses to natural disasters at home and abroad.
South Asia Flashpoints

Perhaps nowhere is this more concerning than in South Asia. Aside from floods in Pakistan, consider the ramifications of years of flooding due to the rapid melting of glaciers in the Himalayas. Those mountains are a primary source of water for people in Nepal, India, China, Pakistan, and Bangladesh; flooding damages crops, carries water-borne disease, and forces migration. If the glaciers completely melt, the region's rivers will experience considerably lower flow and could see a far worse fate: "desertification." The Indus River is particularly critical: It's Pakistan's longest river, but it flows from the Himalayas and then through India before reaching Pakistan. Pakistan is guaranteed a certain amount of water through the Indus River Treaty, but India still controls that flow. Add to that tension the risk of rising sea levels forcing the migration of millions of people living along the coastal regions of Pakistan, India, and Bangladesh, and the picture turns even darker.
If catastrophes resulting from these sorts of climate change aren't handled through multinational cooperation early on, they may spark intense competition for water resources, humanitarian relief, and international aid funds. These threats could also draw into question the territorial integrity of the region's states--among which are three nuclear powers. The United States needs to begin a consultative process with other states' security and relief agencies on how to mount rapid responses to such irregular challenges, or it could face the tricky prospect of deescalating tensions amidst the threat of climate-induced state collapse

Lukk, i found a real indian ancient text forgotton to Aryaputras.
http://www.sanskritweb.net/sansdocs/matthew1.pdf

One in three Indians 'utterly corrupt': Former CVC
AFP, Sep 8, 2010, 01.03pm IST

NEW DELHI: Almost one-third of Indians are "utterly corrupt" and half are "borderline", the outgoing head of the country's corruption watchdog has said, blaming increased wealth for much of the problem.

Pratyush Sinha, who retired as India's Central Vigilance Commissioner this week, said the worst part of his "thankless job" was observing how corruption had increased as people became more materialistic.

"When we were growing up I remember if somebody was corrupt, they were generally looked down upon," he said. "There was at least some social stigma attached to it. That is gone. So there is greater social acceptance."

Transparency International, the global anti-graft body, puts India 84th on its corruption perception index with a 3.4-point rating, out of a best possible score of 10.

New Zealand ranks first with 9.4 points and Somalia last on 1.1 points.

The campaign group has said that each year millions of poor Indian families have to bribe officials for access to basic public services.

Sinha told the Mint newspaper in an interview published on Tuesday that 20 per cent of Indians were "honest, regardless of the temptations, because this is how they are. They have a conscience.

"There would be around 30 per cent who would be utterly corrupt. But the rest are the people who are on the borderline," he said, adding that corruption was "palpable".

Sinha said that in modern India "if somebody has a lot of money, he is respectable. Nobody questions by what means he has got the money."

Recent corruption scandals in India have focused on construction projects for the Commonwealth Games that open in New Delhi next month, and alleged tax evasion in the lucrative Indian Premier League ( IPL) cricket tournament.

India is also regarded as a hotbed of illegal betting syndicates, with gamblers and bookmakers involved in "spot-fixing" -- the gambling that has engulfed the current Pakistani cricket tour of England.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has often spoken out against the damaging effect that bribes, extortion and fraud have on all levels of life, and warned that the problem threatens India's future economic prospects.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 518255.cms
2 comments

(i) Yatha Raja, Tatha Praja .

(ii) A majority of the population leads a marginal hand-to-mouth existence, and hardly have any opportunity to be corrupt. And they can't be blamed if they try to find some shortcuts in an oppressively corrupt system.

Insensitivity as state policy

TWO simultaneous scenarios: the government is spending Rs. one lakh crore for the Commonwealth Games; the Food Minister does not want to distribute rotting food grains to starving millions, he would rather let them rot and dump them in the ocean.

http://www.organiser.org/dynamic/module ... 361&page=3

Figures and estimates are fine! wonderful! But anything about the perspective? Such dumb reasoning as materialism? That should have indicated greatest corruption in the USA or the richer EU countries! Or does he want to say that they are not materiliastic and purely spiritual? Then is the solution to the problem of corruption - less wealth and economic growth? Or is it an inseparable process that develops at a certain stage of accumulation of capital and disappears once sufficient capital i s around for everyoine to access? What contribution to that corruption has been made by those who removed capital from India - the Brits and the Islamic regimes?

Does he even know or ever cared to do a comparative study not only over regions of the world but also about the historical stages in development? EU countries and the Americas under the Europeans in their medieval or early modern stages were "free of India-like corruption"? Early Americans of the Euro kind, pre-imeprialism stage UK, and assorted European kingdoms from the breakdown of the Roman empire - and even under the Roman empire, were paragons of corruption - where even the state indulged in state-organized corruption.

Wasnt Brit imperialist extraction of wealth from India a corruption? Did not the Islamic regimes make it a part of normal life - bribery and expropriation of the wealth and women of the commons?

Well at least we have a certain class of god-like uncorrupt people in India to look up to - none of the illuminated judiciary are ever corrupt, none of the vigilance commisioners are ever corrupt, none of the top cops or top admin are corrupt - doesn't he find that a strange aberration and anomaly? By his logic - one third of those august ranks should also be corrupt - isn't it?

These are the comments and ideas which will one day come to mock and haunt history.

brihaspati wrote:
Figures and estimates are fine! wonderful! But anything about the perspective? Such dumb reasoning as materialism? That should have indicated greatest corruption in the USA or the richer EU countries! Or does he want to say that they are not materiliastic and purely spiritual? Then is the solution to the problem of corruption - less wealth and economic growth? Or is it an inseparable process that develops at a certain stage of accumulation of capital and disappears once sufficient capital i s around for everyoine to access? What contribution to that corruption has been made by those who removed capital from India - the Brits and the Islamic regimes?

Does he even know or ever cared to do a comparative study not only over regions of the world but also about the historical stages in development? EU countries and the Americas under the Europeans in their medieval or early modern stages were "free of India-like corruption"? Early Americans of the Euro kind, pre-imeprialism stage UK, and assorted European kingdoms from the breakdown of the Roman empire - and even under the Roman empire, were paragons of corruption - where even the state indulged in state-organized corruption.

Wasnt Brit imperialist extraction of wealth from India a corruption? Did not the Islamic regimes make it a part of normal life - bribery and expropriation of the wealth and women of the commons?

Well at least we have a certain class of god-like uncorrupt people in India to look up to - none of the illuminated judiciary are ever corrupt, none of the vigilance commisioners are ever corrupt, none of the top cops or top admin are corrupt - doesn't he find that a strange aberration and anomaly? By his logic - one third of those august ranks should also be corrupt - isn't it?

These are the comments and ideas which will one day come to mock and haunt history.
B ji, I don't think he was exempting the Neta-Babu-Judiciary ... they are the fountainhead of corruption.

We have to compare to South Korea and Singapore, which were very poor at one point, but rapidly improved owing to enlightened leadership.

As far as India is concerned the major problems are a rapacious elite that draws support from abroad and rigs elections , infiltrated and compromised press and judiciary.

kanchan gupta tweets:
More like three in one Indians is utterly corrupt.

That is very childish statement by the former CVC. Wonder how he got there.

Hari Seldon wrote: One in three Indians 'utterly corrupt': Former CVC

Such articles and statements was waste. This kind of comparison is never made in west or other countries.
If all the scam and entire financial collapse is taken together and due to corruption it runs into several trillions.

Very childish indeed. But this is due to sociology trained perception where shame is being used to control behavior.
An entire generation has been brain washed to look at it this way.

Philip, It might be useful to de-construct Arundhati Roy and her jholawalla rants for they could become the mainstream.
An error in the 70s was not understanding the JP movement and the bandwagoners in that movement who became the mainstream in subsequent decades to India's detriment.

Acharya wrote: Such articles and statements was waste. This kind of comparison is never made in west or other countries.
If all the scam and entire financial collapse is taken together and due to corruption it runs into several trillions.

Very childish indeed. But this is due to sociology trained perception where shame is being used to control behavior.
Sure West is controlled by a corrupt elite, that is why they are going downhill.

But we need to compare with places like Singapore.

Unfortunately MMS, Sonia are closer to Mugabe and Idi Amin than to Lee Kuan Yew. If the population has also succumbed to corruption, to an extent, it is because of the rapacity of our top leaders.

Hari Seldon wrote: One in three Indians 'utterly corrupt': Former CVC

Such articles and statements was waste. This kind of comparison is never made in west or other countries.

Well said!

The other day I was listening NPR and they were commenting on how "corrupt" Karzai is who is paying millions to various warlords to keep his hold on Kabul. They conveniently forgot the millions of $$$ they funnel thru CIA to the same warlords and even Taliban, their enemy :evil:

Like someone said above "Yatha Raja, Tatha Praja". What India has today is not financial corruption but intellectual corruption. Intellectual corruption of modern-independent India started with MKG/JLN duo! It is all a slippery slope since then.

On my pilgrimage to Matrubhoomi two weeks ago I had this interesting encounter...
I landed in Mumbai INTL airport at 11PM and my connecting flight was at 6:30 AM. I came to domestic terminal and went straight ahead to the security checkup. The security checkup area (near the gates) was closed and the police officer politely told us that the security check will start at 4 AM. I turned away to relax in the large lounge area that is filled with coffee shops and a couple of book shops.

Then I hear a comment from my back "That is why I hate India and these stupids". I commented without turning my head "my friend what does it have to do with India, we can wait in this nice lounge here and we have coffee shops too?"

I got an immediate reply "I know how these stupids work. I have been living in this country for 30 yrs". I still did not turn my head and said "I have been living here for the past 38 years and I don't see any stupids here except people like us who make irresponsible comments".

Then the conversation goes like this -
Secular-vadi: What do you know? You must be living outside. You don't know anything about these stupids here. Why don't you comeback to desh if you love this country so much?
Yindoo-pundamentalist: What is the relationship? I can love this great nation even if I live outside India?
S: You guys visit desh once in a while and make great speeches. Yet you make no contribution to the nation.
Y: How can you say that? I can contribute to Bharat even when I live outside. Perhaps I contribute more now than I could ever living in India.
S: This nation is full of corruption. Everyone is corrupt.
Y: How can you say that? That means you and I are corrupt too. By the what all this has to do with your comment on that security officer?
S: You don't know. These people are lazy and corrupt that is why he is not allowing us.
Y: You look like an educated person. Did you forget that it is August 15th in few hours, and we are in Mumbai. More over what will you do for six hours in the Gate area for six plus hours, with no coffee shops or book shops? Isn't it logical that they closed the security gate so that people can walk around instead of stuck to one small area (once you pass security check you cannot come out).

Another mango-abdul joined the discussion by now
M: I agree with Y's logic. Perhaps we should thank them that they closed that gate. We would suffer for next xx hrs with no coffee or news paper or bath rooms.
S: I understand now... I forgot that it is August 15th eve.

After this I regurgitated all BRF knowledge on perception of corruption, self-loathing, western definition of corruption, development/wealth/progress and credit ratings, foreign-aid, multilateral institutions and so on for 3 hours.

On August 15th, 2010 India has two more converts, thanks to its religious-pluralism.

What a captive audience!

ramana wrote:That is very childish statement by the former CVC. Wonder how he got there.
The wealth is the reason for corruption needs more analysis. These kinds of statements do come often from most of the mediocre babus. I had almost a quarrel with similar level relatives. Most of them are disgusting vermin anyway.

Wealth by mid level private sector employees is what they always find fault with for all the reasons. IT-VT are most visible but there are innumerable these days who are wealthy from all sections of the society.

Babus are very very unhappy with the turn of events post 1990 reforms. Most of them are still not content with and are very very unhappy. Probably the reason is that they expected some exclusivity to certain materialist things but were extremely unhappy to see them with every tom-dick-harry. In addition clout also has gotten lesser and lesser for these folks.

Another often (unrelated thing) heard thing is India is having traffic woes because every tom-dick-harry has a car. But they do not realize that we are significantly less in number of vehicles on the road even compared to a lowly populated mid level country.

RamaY wrote: Like someone said above "Yatha Raja, Tatha Praja". What India has today is not financial corruption but intellectual corruption. Intellectual corruption of modern-independent India started with MKG/JLN duo! It is all a slippery slope since then.
No shortage of financial corruption too - 95 paise out of every rupee of taxpayer's money going to the corrupt elites etc.

If today, hundreds of millions of Indians are malnourished, that is the cause.

However I don't blame the commons, I blame the apex of the political leadership.

But you are right about the intellectual corruption in a sense - it is the amorality engendered by an ideological vacuum that leads to financial corruption also.

^ Muppala garu,

+1 on the root-cause analysis. This perception is slowly changing though, as their children become IT-Vty citizens themselves and prefer non-govt careers and take pride in that. It is a different topic if this is good for India in the long run.

I saw a positive turn of events in this trip. Looks like Babudom is realizing its failures and started taking responsibility for things, at least intellectually.

They realized that all these days they have been planning and serving a $300B economy, where as India surged past $T mark. They also realized that they can make money so many ways that they don't need to compromise on certain aspects of civic infrastructure.

For example Greater-Hyderabad is yet to complete previous round of projects (ORR and associated connections), they are already working on next master plan to address next 20-30 yrs of infrastructural demands. That is a good start IMO.
Most of the corruption comes only when someone wants to speedup the process or avoid rework - in my personal experience they typed two Es instead of one E in the document. Otherwise it is not that bad.

Most of the corruption is in Lands/RE area as the stamp duty is nowhere related to the actual cash transactions. This is also changing now a days.

I am pleasantly surprised to see the amount of computerization w.r.t land registration nowadays.

I predict the RE field to become completely white transactions in 5-10 years. Of course this doesn't include political corruption - such as definition/alteration of Zones, allocation of Govt lands etc

Pranav wrote:
RamaY wrote: Like someone said above "Yatha Raja, Tatha Praja". What India has today is not financial corruption but intellectual corruption. Intellectual corruption of modern-independent India started with MKG/JLN duo! It is all a slippery slope since then.
No shortage of financial corruption too - 95 paise out of every rupee of taxpayer's money going to the corrupt elites etc.

If today, hundreds of millions of Indians are malnourished, that is the cause.

However I don't blame the commons, I blame the apex of the political leadership.

But you are right about the intellectual corruption in a sense - it is the amorality engendered by an ideological vacuum that leads to financial corruption also.
Pranav-ji,

The political leader who raised that slogan knows that at least 70 paise of that 95 paise are taken by political (direct and indirect) class. It would have been not that bad if that 95 paise were consumed by multiple layers (19 layers 5% each) up to the common man, but that is not the case.

That is why I think the problem is "intellectual" in nature. The Rajan-class doesn't think that their fortunes are directly proportional to their fiefdoms' wealth, infrastructure and GINI index. Our rajan-class behave as if they are ruling an alien land - which is a continuation of Islamic rule, and western colonization.

One meaning of Secular is "being materialistic". Whoever thought it should be the guiding principle of Indian republic, is the first one to commit the intellectual corruption in modern Bharat.

Manmohan Singh's last lap?
http://dailypioneer.com/280858/Manmohan ... t-lap.html

September 10, 2010 7:43:10 AM

Chandan Mitra

Delhi's grapevine says the sudden drift in governance that we are witnessing has been engineered to pave the way for Rahul Gandhi's early accession to the throne

If you have ever had the misfortune to read any of Arundhati Roy’s rambling rants that periodically appear in Outlook, you would know that dilution and eventual dissolution of the Indian state is the objective desired by the mother of India’s anarchist movement. Her followers may be less articulate but share the same conviction. As I see it, Rahul is building a jholawallah team around himself, some inherited from his mother’s National Advisory Council, which now acts as a super-Cabinet, and the rest drawn from tech-savvy bleeding hearts from across the globe, potential British Labour Party leader David Miliband included.

Update on Iron Ore Exports:

Ban on iron ore exports unfair: Anand Sharma (Union Minister of Commerce and Industry) - http://sify.com/finance/business-as-usu ... ajabb.html

Yeddyurappa heading to China - http://sify.com/finance/business-as-usu ... ajabb.html

From Spengler's column in Asia Times:
On the vulnerability of islam or something like that

Here're the meaty pieces...
As George Packer wrote on the New Yorker website on September 10, "Reason tries in its patient, level-headed way to explain, to question, to weigh competing claims, but it can hardly make itself heard and soon gives up ... One man in Gainesville who represents next to nobody triggers thousands of men around the globe who know next to nothing about it to turn violent, which triggers more violence ... it's so easy to get people to go crazy. If I wanted to, I could probably start another India-Pakistan war all by myself." Several of the world's intelligence services doubtless are thinking along the same lines.

Instead of trying to stabilize the Islamic world, suppose - just for the sake of argument - that one or two world powers set out to throw it into chaos. I am not advocating such a strategy, only evaluating its effectiveness.

It is a misperception that America is the main object of Muslim rage. Most Muslim rage is directed against other Muslims. Religious violence perpetrated by Muslims against other Muslims is a routine feature of life in Pakistan, Turkey, Iraq, Iran, Sudan, Lebanon and Afghanistan. Of the 1,868 acts of religious violence listed by the Global Terrorism Database, all but a handful were conducted by Muslims on Muslims. America has done its best to suppress such violence. What if America (or Russia, or India, or China) were to incite it?
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

Whose man is that soldier fighting in Kashmir?
India must be the only country in the world where being an antinational murderer means a person or organization getting invitations for talks with the government. Mir Waiz and Geelani should have been booked months ago and punished for their anti-India activities. They not only instigated Kashmiri youth to attack our patriotic people and soldiers but also vitiated the entire atmosphere in the valley bringing normal life to a halt and using Kashmiri youth as fodder for their Pakistani plots, resulting in so many killings of young boys. The fact of the matter is that the killers in Kashmir are these two pro-Pakistani elements, who would have been taken to task by any government with a spine much earlier than their fangs grew more poisonous. In such a situation, instead of talking tough and straight, the government is not only giving confused signals to ‘soften’ (whatever that means) the Armed Forces Special Powers Act but making gestures to terrorist supporters to come to talk. Talks, always a welcome way to find a solution, can be held or even an indication for a discussion can be sent only when the atmosphere is ripe for it and the other side, offenders in this case, show a willingness to come to terms. I must say Prime Minister Manmohan Singh sounded reasonable at the Armed Forces commanders’ meet on September 13 when he said: "The youth of Kashmir are our citizens and their grievances have to be addressed….We are willing to talk to every person or group which abjures violence, within the framework of our Constitution." But is this the time to extend an olive branch?

Have they ever thought what effect these gestures by the government have on the morale of the soldiers?

For whom is the Indian soldier fighting the battle in Kashmir?
He is despised, hated and made responsible for all the bad happenings, in a sweeping manner. No one has treid to see the hardened daily routine a soldier is subjected to from 6am to sunset, and after that the night vigil. Anything untoward happens and rogue actors like Salman Khan say meekly to the Pakistan media: Oh, it was the fault of the Indian security personnel. Salman should have been tried for treason. But we have people who lovingly go to his house and try to ‘settle the issue’. These very people and their governors make this day possible when anyone feels free to speak against the soldiers, against the national psyche of patriotism. A soldier is not a daily wage earner like the stone pelters. He is a representative of the nation’s time-honoured traditions. He is nurtured and nourished on a family's "khandaani izzat" - "Mera beta fauji hai". Ask any politician acting as an apologist for the separatist murderers, has he ever thought of sending his child to the forces? A family offers mannats at the feet of their wahe guru over devatas to ensure their son gets selected in the "fauj". He is trained by the best of the warriors at the National Defence Academy or the Indian Military Academy. Some lucky ones get selected early and go through the National Defence School route and see the pictures when they recommissioned - after a thrilling passing out parade in Dehradun. Their caps in the air and their moms and dads hugging them with moist eyes. Years of training and a life of a great Indian patriotic goes waste before the gang of rogue pro-Pakistan elements who have hardly any idea what they are demanding.
Why do I still serve you?

How you play with us, did you ever see?
At Seven, I had decided what I wanted to be;
I would serve you to the end,
All these boundaries I would defend.

Now you make me look like a fool,
When at seventeen and just out of school;
Went to the place where they made "men out of boys"
Lived a tough life …sacrificed a few joys…

In those days, I would see my "civilian" friends,
Living a life with the fashion trends;
Enjoying their so called "college days"
While I sweated and bled in the sun and haze…
But I never thought twice about what where or why
All I knew was when the time came, I'd be ready to do or die.

At 21 and with my commission in hand,
Under the glory of the parade and the band,
I took the oath to protect you over land, air or sea,
And make the supreme sacrifice when the need came to be.

I stood there with a sense of recognition,
But on that day I never had the premonition,
that when the time came to give me my due,
You'd just say, "What is so great that you do?"

Long back you promised a well-to-do life;
And when I'm away, take care of my wife.
You came and saw the hardships I live through,
And I saw you make a note or two,
And I hoped you would realise the worth of me;
but now I know you'll never be able to see,
Because you only see the glorified life of mine,
Did you see the place where death looms all the time?
Did you meet the man standing guard in the snow?
The name of his newborn he does not know...
Did you meet the man whose father breathed his last?
While the sailor patrolled our seas so vast?

You still know I'll not be the one to raise my voice
I will stand tall and protect you in Punjab Himachal and Thois.

But that's just me you have in the sun and rain,
For now at twenty-four, you make me think again;
About the decision I made, seven years back;
Should I have chosen another life, some other track?

Will I tell my son to follow my lead?
Will I tell my son, you'll get all that you need?
This is the country you will serve
This country will give you all that you deserve?

I heard you tell the world "India is shining"
I told my men, that's a reason for us to be smiling
This is the India you and I will defend!
But tell me how long will you be able to pretend?
You go on promise all that you may,
But it's the souls of your own men you betray.

Did you read how some of our eminent citizens
Write about me and ridicule my very existence?
I ask you to please come and see what I do,
Come and have a look at what I go through
Live my life just for a day
Maybe you'll have something else to say?

I will still risk my life without a sigh
To keep your flag flying high
but today I ask myself a question or two…
Oh India…. Why do I still serve you?

Rupesh Those murderers are supported ultimately by US/West. Its the US that provides the insurance to not charge them with treason.
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

RamanaJi.. it should not matter to us, who supports the insurgents. Our problem is we are not willing to DO the Right thing, we have a bunch of spineless leaders and to a certain extent lack of patriotism in majority of our citizens. Traitors can survive in India because nobody is willing to harm them.

Hari Seldon wrote:From Spengler's column in Asia Times:
On the vulnerability of islam or something like that

Here're the meaty pieces...
As George Packer wrote on the New Yorker website on September 10, "Reason tries in its patient, level-headed way to explain, to question, to weigh competing claims, but it can hardly make itself heard and soon gives up ... One man in Gainesville who represents next to nobody triggers thousands of men around the globe who know next to nothing about it to turn violent, which triggers more violence ... it's so easy to get people to go crazy. If I wanted to, I could probably start another India-Pakistan war all by myself." Several of the world's intelligence services doubtless are thinking along the same lines.

Instead of trying to stabilize the Islamic world, suppose - just for the sake of argument - that one or two world powers set out to throw it into chaos. I am not advocating such a strategy, only evaluating its effectiveness.

It is a misperception that America is the main object of Muslim rage. Most Muslim rage is directed against other Muslims. Religious violence perpetrated by Muslims against other Muslims is a routine feature of life in Pakistan, Turkey, Iraq, Iran, Sudan, Lebanon and Afghanistan. Of the 1,868 acts of religious violence listed by the Global Terrorism Database, all but a handful were conducted by Muslims on Muslims. America has done its best to suppress such violence. What if America (or Russia, or India, or China) were to incite it?

Every tees mar khan thinks he can start an India Pak war. Thanks to the retards running TSP.

If this idiot wants to say something about Islam and Muslims let him say that. Why bring in India?
surinder

Post by surinder »

Rupesh wrote:Our problem is we are not willing to DO the Right thing, ... to a certain extent lack of patriotism in majority of our citizens. Traitors can survive in India because nobody is willing to harm them.
We are not even willing to do the basic minumum ... not willing to take even the smallest pain. Result is we get HUGE pain later.

Guess how many desis are willing to make a point by not watching a Salman Khan movie? How many cancel subscriptions to anti-national newspapers?
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

I don't watch Salman, Sanjay movies..boycotted sanjay since 93 blasts and salman since the black buck case!, others on the list include includes Nandita Das, SRK and all Mahesh Bhat movies
surinder

Post by surinder »

If a majority of Indians start boycotting people whose views they find repulsive, these actors/writers/editors will be reduced to penury. Economic pressure works very well in the entertainment industry, as well as print industry (these essentially are people who seek money more than the views they espouse; money pressure works wonders on them).

Rupesh wrote:RamanaJi.. it should not matter to us, who supports the insurgents. Our problem is we are not willing to DO the Right thing, we have a bunch of spineless leaders and to a certain extent lack of patriotism in majority of our citizens. Traitors can survive in India because nobody is willing to harm them.
+1 Rupesh-ji.

Why should GOI allow external influence within the borders? Isn't the meaning of sovereignty?

There should be a Laxmana Rekha to everything, including freedom of speech/action/tolerance.

Ex-Law Min names 8 ‘corrupt’ former CJIs
Former Union Law minister Shanti Bhushan on Thursday submitted a list of 16 former Chief Justices of India (CJI) before the Supreme Court, claiming that at least half of them were ‘corrupt’.
The 16 CJIs that Bhushan has mentioned in his affidavit are: Justice Rangnath Mishra, Justice K N Singh, Justice M H Kaina, Justice L M Sharma, Justice M N Venkatachalliah, Justice A M Ahemadi, Justice J S Verma, Justice M M Punchhi, Justice A S Anand, Justice S P Bharucha, Justice B N Kirpal, Justice G B Pathak, Justice Rajendra Babu, Justice R C Lohati, Justice V N Khare and Justice Y K Sabharwal.
Bhushan, who was a Law minister in the Morarji Desai government, had written an article in 'Tehelka' magazine about the corrupt judges in Supreme Court after which the apex court started a contempt proceeding against him.
will be big news. so many corrupt judges. wonder what was it all about and how big was the corruption.

Good unmasking. SS Bhushan has the experience to know who is what.

I think we should invite Rahul Mehta back!

We wait for leaders to give the "call". All the while we do not do the smallest of the small things - the small choices we can make individually that in total can mean a great deal. We can reject those whom we deem are destroying our society or who have already betrayed our society. We can decide that they have ceased to exist for us. They are dead as far as we are concerned. We do not see their movies, their creations, their art or literature, we do not go to their receptions, do no buy their books, do not interact with them in social encounters, we do not go into marital relations with them. We ensure that our votes do not get to elect them [ in fact it is perhaps possible to check out and expose the patterns of vote fraud or the rules if any by which votes are "changed" - by voting for "marginal" candidates in a pre-decided manner].

cross post
http://www.hindustantimes.com/Breathing ... 01011.aspx
But China has an ingrained habit of defining core interests and vital communications arteries. Over time it becomes prepared to launch ‘self defence’ counter attacks to ‘safeguard’ these arteries. For example, in the 1962 India-China war, a key Chinese concern was its perceived threat to the Aksai Chin highway that connects Tibet with Xinjiang. It perceived India’s ‘Forward Policy’ (of establishing its claims by token posts in disputed areas) a threat. If Pakistan persists with its terrorist provocations, a limited war between the two nations could erupt. China could view it as a threat to Gwadar–Karakoram energy lifeline and intervene militarily.
Interesting point. I think that India should have a publicly announced policy of cutting that highway (KKH) in case of war with Pakistan. That will be like inviting China to war. But if China picks up the invitation we have to be ready.

Having said that I think POK is a diversion from the main issue, Pakistan.

In an ideal world of friendly cooperation Chinese shipment and Chinese oil could go through India just as well as Pakistan or Myanmar. I is Pakistan's rivalry with India that puts J&K at the core of Pakistan's interests and has put POK in a special place for India.

POK per se and the Khunjerab pass and Karakoram Highway have been built as substitutes for historic trade routes that include the Karakoram pass (this has nothing to do with the Karakoram highway) and the Silk route that passes through Afghanistan.

If Pakistan is unstable the entire Chinese route to Gwadar from POK is put at risk unless the Pakis protect the road. In a war - it need not be POK we attack - but Pakjab - which just as surely gives us a handle on the road to Gwadar as well as the road to Peshawar and Afghanistan.

If Pakistan had friendly relations with India, then China and the US would not be able to leverage that rivalry. Pakistan's protection of the Chinese route to Gwadar would not be contested or threatened by India and in fact India would offer alternative routes for Chinese access to the Indian ocean via land links with the economically developed and populous eastern China. The one country that stands to gain the most from a triple rivalry between China, India and Pakistan is the US.

I would like to explain my thoughts as follows:

Pakistan has tried to increase its rivalry with India by telling the US and China :"Both of you will benefit if you support us against India. We will offer you your trade routes and other help"

What India has done is to put Pakistan's survival at risk as a return favor for Pakistan's aggression. In other words as long as Pakistan acts belligerent towards India, Pakistan will be forced to defend itself and involve its friends the US and China. China is more vulnerable than the US here if China wants to use Pakistan as a transit route. Any instability in Pakistan related to the Indian threat makes its trade route more risky. The US could benefit from this as sated above.

If Pakistan could be compelled to normalize relations with India it would change the entire equation
1) Pakistan would be less prone to prostituting itself to be used by the US in exchange for support for India
2) Its economy would benefit greatly from trade with India
3) A stable Pakistan would allow the Chinese route to Gwadar to function well
4) A Pakistan that is not leveraging China against India could allow India to normalize relations with China and as indicated above - provide additional access routes for Chinese goods.

But all this can happen only if Pakistan normalizes relations with India and stops aggression.

I think the old cold war mindset clouds too many minds an prevents them from seeing what can be done by identifying and neutralizing the main element in Pakistan that stops normalization of relations with India. Both China and the US have this fossilized mindset.

It's not about "stable" or "unstable" Pakistan... as absolute adjectives those words are meaningless. It's about each external power seeking to titrate Pakistan's instability to a specific calibrated extent that best serves its own purposes.

Of all external powers with significant regional influence, it is China which wants the highest stability:instability ratio in Pakistan. Of course, even the Chinese don't want Pakistan to enjoy complete stability, of the sort which could bring in an independently viable economy, governance based on rational-self interest etc. (as that course would almost invariably lead to a Pakistan-India detente and erode the utility of Pakistan as a rentier to any power outside the subcontinent.) Still, China would like the TSPA to maintain sufficiently comprehensive power that they (a) don't have to rely on the US continuously for everything and (b) they can effectively safeguard the 2500 km KKH-Gwadar lifeline on which China has staked so much economic investment and geopolitical capital.

The US desires a lower Stability:Instability ratio for Pakistan than China does. The US wants TSPA's writ to extend far enough that the TSPA can be its reliably effective hatchet man against Islamists who threaten the West; however, the Americans want sufficient turmoil to persist in Baluchistan so that the Chinese ambitions of a back-garden path to the Persian Gulf never materialize, and enough tensions with India that the TSPA is always ready to grease up and bend over at the mere mention of F-solahs.

India's position is unique, largely because we do not know what we want (or at least, the GOI seems to have no idea.) Maybe I am wrong. From my personal perspective, it is in India's interest that the Stability:Instability ratio should be at a level significantly lower than the optimal benchmarks for either China or the United States. The Pakistan we want to see is one far more unstable than that either China or the United States want to see... it should be so unstable that its practical utility as a rentier to either China or the United States is utterly degraded, so that both those outside powers find the costs of supporting Pakistan increasing asymptotically while the returns diminish approaching zero.

Everybody talks of wanting a stable Pakistan. Everybody (including the TSPA) has done their bit to keep Pakistan unstable, to just that precise extent where they stand to profit the most from its exact degree of instability. India must decide what value on the Pakistan Instability Index best suits our needs, and aggressively pursue the implementation of that benchmark.