Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

rkhanna wrote:Jokes aside The compare the outfitting of the SA VBSS team and our MARCOS operators with the pirates. If the SPG, Garud, IA SF can get decent equipment why can MARCOS?
:(( :(( :((

for once in agreement with Sanku
siggggghhhhhhhh

rkhanna wrote:Jokes aside The compare the outfitting of the SA VBSS team and our MARCOS operators with the pirates. If the SPG, Garud, IA SF can get decent equipment why can MARCOS?
Well, I may get a lot of flak for this but IMO the SPG are equipped with style in mind. I am not saying that they are not equipped well, it is just that style serves as one of the factor. This is because of the people they guard (likes of PM and Rahul Gandhi).
Garud, well I will get even more flak for this but they seem too much taken with western forces as far as look is concerned. Look at the knee and elbow pads, mask and goggles and you would know what I am talking about. I am not saying that it is a bad thing. Image projection is necessary to impress the general public and obtain their confidence.
However, PARA SF and Marcos are different in this regard. They are the best and most experienced among SF and they do not see the need to impress with looks (instead they impress with their record). PARA SF and Marcos are the most SDRE looking SF you could find anywhere. But their record and skill is exceptional. They get any equipment they demand. So, why do they not wear knee and elbow pads? Look at them and you would find that they do not carry one ounce of equipment which is unnecessary. In other words, they are equipped for functionality.
Consider your complaint at the Marcos equipment in the anti piracy ops photographs. What more would you have them equipped with to take over a dhow? Did you miss the NVGs in broad daylight? Lack of elbow and knee pads perhaps? Or was it laser pointer?

This is exactly why I consider that the PARA SF and MARCOS are too professional for their own good. They sometimes need to dress up like Garuds and SPG for photo ops. I know it seems beneath their dignity but it is needed for image projection. Show any random man on the Street a pic of PARA commando and he will tell you that LAPD SWAT would own them. Heck, leave alone general public, see how much :(( is there on BRF itself. Many would argue the importance of general opinion. They people who matter all over the world know the truth and that's what matters. But image projection is needed to inspire confidence among our own citizens and fear among others.

This is exactly why I consider that the PARA SF and MARCOS are too professional for their own good.
Prefer it that way - a few good men have worked hard on it ie be professional with whatever equipment you have

Who cares about impressing internet warriors ??
Troy

Post by Troy »

Elbow and knee pads are for more than just looks. Imagine being in a situation with broken glass shards or the like and having to knee down for a shot. And elbow pads too are important for various reasons, if not for anything else, than atleast as crash equipment. That being said, I surely do hope that the NSG and the Marcos wear that equipment, even if they wear it under their dress. It is more than just looks.

What I mean is in the scheme of things where money is short and babus always question - one has to decide priorities.

So instead of camelbaks my friends rigged up bisleri bottles with tubes.

Rather get Swiss knives than an elbow pad etc.
Last edited by Surya on 16 Sep 2010 22:14, edited 1 time in total.
sunny_s

Post by sunny_s »

Gaur ji has summed up the whole issue very nicely in his above post..first of all there are not many pics of our our special forces available in the public domain..if shared one will have no doubts over the individual gear..talking about glamour and gear compared to western soldiers GARUDS can be looked upto..the only difference is that thier individual gear and actions have been recorded,pictures taken and shared on net,where as in case of PARA its not the same case..The above pic is from one of our military training academy.
Last edited by sunny_s on 16 Sep 2010 19:02, edited 1 time in total.

Surya wrote:Tanaji
What I mean is in the scheme of things where money is short and babus always question - one has to decide priorities.
Sir,
Its not about the questioning from babus, its about the siphoning from babus... Its just as much about corruption as it is about the lethargy...
JMHO...
Carl_T

Post by Carl_T »

I don't understand what else the Marcos should be carrying.

These guys don't seem that TFTA either.
Pic 1
Pic 2
Last edited by SSridhar on 17 Sep 2010 12:37, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fixed URL

Tronic wrote:Elbow and knee pads are for more than just looks. Imagine being in a situation with broken glass shards or the like and having to knee down for a shot. And elbow pads too are important for various reasons, if not for anything else, than atleast as crash equipment. That being said, I surely do hope that the NSG and the Marcos wear that equipment, even if they wear it under their dress. It is more than just looks.
No one cay say that elbow and knee pads do not have their uses. However, like every gear, they have to be used as per the situation. However, to pose for photo ops, the SF personnel (all over the world including some of our own) sometimes pose with equipment whose use may be debatable in that situation and location. At least, this is my opinion.
That may be all well and good for photo ops, but any unneeded equipment is a burden in real situations. So, what I am trying to say is that just because PARA SF or MARCOS do not equip themselves with some particular gear (pads included) does not mean that they do not use it when it is required. Case in point NVGs. How many pics are there showing IA soldiers equipped with those? I have personally seen only 2 (and one was of Garuds). However, there are more than sufficient amount of NVGs (both IR and thermal) available especially in forward areas. However, the general public expects Indian Soldiers to be equipped with everything possible even when they go to sleep. Otherwise they are nothing but SDRE.
Case in point the recent :(( regarding marcos pics which I mentioned. What other gear(pads or other) was needed for that situation?
So, I was not picking at knee and elbow pads (Notice that I even mentioned NVGs and laser pointers). I was picking at people's general mentality.

sunny_s wrote:Image
INSAS :((
Without a mag :(( :((

Carl_T wrote:I don't understand what else the Marcos should be carrying.

http://tropaselite.t35.com/seals_afeg_d ... ip-aae.jpg
http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c143/ ... devgru.jpg
Well, the first link seems to be broken. But your second pic shows exactly what I was talking about. The American soldiers are nearly always shown heavily geared. I am not saying that is wrong. That may work in the situations they operate in. However, the Western forces (and more importantly Media) also value the image projection bit and this plays as a factor in the pics that we see on internet.
However, no soldier would want to carry unneeded gear. This shows in the DEVGRU pic that you posted. I am indeed very surprised that they were photographed as such. Perhaps this is a media taken photograph but a personal one using cell phone? IDK, but such pics are indeed rare. What is sad is that if you would show this to an Indian, he will not complain about lack of gear and long beard. Instead, he would say that they look like a badass and are certainly battle hardened SF specialists. Show them Para SF pics with beard and they will complain how can these SDRE looking unequipped bearded men be made commando?
In short, Indians will always :(( about themselves. Look what is happening now. Some people are :(( about Indian SF SDRE looks and I am :(( regarding Indians who do this. :mrgreen:

PS: Carl_T could you please upload the first pic again for our viewing pleasure. The link seems to be broken.

Carl_T wrote:I don't understand what else the Marcos should be carrying.

http://tropaselite.t35.com/seals_afeg_d ... ip-aae.jpg
http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c143/ ... devgru.jpg
2nd pic: Army regulars or blackwater mercenaries?
Carl_T

Post by Carl_T »

EDIT:

Here is the first pic on the website.
http://tropaselite.t35.com/USA-US_NAVY_SEALS-DEVGRU.htm

Here is the second one on militaryphotos.
http://www.militaryphotos.net/forums/sh ... Ls/page184

It is surprising to see the photos in the public domain without the faces blacked out

I don't think any of these soldiers look more heavily armed than the Marcos in the pirate pic posted earlier. They are carrying rifles and a pack.

The photo on the original site said these soldiers were from devgru. I dont know how reliable that is. http://www.americanspecialops.com/photo ... guards.php

These are IMA Cadets. See their epaulettes. Do they really need to have the mags on their SLR?

ks_sachin wrote:These are IMA Cadets. See their epaulettes. Do they really need to have the mags on their SLR?
You see, i didn't see that. but still :((

@Gaur; IAF was always more into Glamour and hoo haa, not in a negative sense but in a +ve one. They are good and they want to look good.

Its part of the fly-boy history, aviation and mil-aviation esp has always been "something else"

Pictures from IBN: Divya creates Army history
Pingale

Post by Pingale »

VinodTK wrote:Pictures from IBN: Divya creates Army history
Its certainly inspiring to see women achieve higher honors in our forces. Maybe its time to allow them into combat roles as well? Especially, given the praise that the 125-all female unit of CRPF (RAF) received for its impressive job in Liberia and that of BSF's new women unit in Punjab and Assam borders.

Before the same points are brought up again and the arguments start going in circles (as they have a way of doing in most threads), I would like to post a link that was originally posted in"Women in Combat" thread by Jagan.
Women in the Armed Forces: misconceptions and facts
shanksinha

Post by shanksinha »

pic courtesy Indian Air Force

shanksinha wrote:Image
pic courtesy Indian Air Force
Flight Safety ? :mrgreen: good work joining them btw..

cont in aircraft recog thread.
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 64#p948464

p.s. why do I get the feeling that the IL-78 + 3 mig-29 pic is photoshopped ? that mig-29 camo looks kinda 80's to me. :-?

SELF DELETED: superfluous
Last edited by Indranil on 28 Sep 2010 08:36, edited 1 time in total.

Rahul M wrote:p.s. why do I get the feeling that the IL-78 + 3 mig-29 pic is photoshopped ? that mig-29 camo looks kinda 80's to me.
RM, to be honest all the latest MiG-29A pics i've seen carry the same fatigued painting :(

I haven't come across any new IAF Mig-29 pics in a while. Everyone seems to be fixated on taking Rambha pics from every angle and giving these old beauties a pass including the IAF itself :((. Can't be helped I suppose. The IAF can't take them to exercises overseas because of the lack of aerial refueling and even the Cope India exercises did not produce any Mig-29 pics as far as I remember.
Maybe after the upgrade process is completed, the Baaz can get a new coat of paint in IAF's standard camo scheme like the MKI, Jaguar, etc. They would look awesome in that scheme. The Mirages though must continue with the blue camo IMHO (just because it looks good :P )

^^^ IAF gallery has Mig-29s in Tippy grey.

I think the last pic of Mig 29 i saw was when the 29s escorted the first AWACS to Jamnagar. Here too, they just happened to come in the way or so it seems :) (link)

Dmurphy wrote:I think the last pic of Mig 29 i saw was when the 29s escorted the first AWACS to Jamnagar. Here too, they just happened to come in the way or so it seems :) (link)
it looks as if the engines are shut off, no exhaust fumes visible.

By vayusena at 2010-09-28

IIS = Imperial Iran Ship

niran wrote:
Dmurphy wrote:I think the last pic of Mig 29 i saw was when the 29s escorted the first AWACS to Jamnagar. Here too, they just happened to come in the way or so it seems :) (link)
it looks as if the engines are shut off, no exhaust fumes visible.
I dont think the engines are shut off , could possibly be the new low smoke RD-33 series 3 engine from HAL.
Anurag

Post by Anurag »

The 29 only uses it's after burners in the last couple of seconds before it lifts off due to very high thrust to weight ratio. Look out for the National Geographic documentary on the IAF Mig-29's on you tube. Will, post if I find it.

Enjoy..
shanksinha

Post by shanksinha »

IAF Fulcrums old & new:
Image Copyright owned by respective owners

nachiket wrote:I haven't come across any new IAF Mig-29 pics in a while. Everyone seems to be fixated on taking Rambha pics from every angle and giving these old beauties a pass including the IAF itself :((. Can't be helped I suppose. The IAF can't take them to exercises overseas because of the lack of aerial refueling and even the Cope India exercises did not produce any Mig-29 pics as far as I remember.
Maybe after the upgrade process is completed, the Baaz can get a new coat of paint in IAF's standard camo scheme like the MKI, Jaguar, etc. They would look awesome in that scheme. The Mirages though must continue with the blue camo IMHO (just because it looks good :P )
They did participate in the Cope India exercises and by then they were already in the low-viz Tipnis gray colour scheme..rather disappointing to me, since I loved the original Fulcrum scheme as it was when it joined the IAF..

check out a high rez pic here
here and here

It is indeed true that the IAF is fixated on the Su-30MKI only..the MiG-29 and Mirage-2000 don't get the attention they deserve.

The last Mig-29 pics were taken by the talented Kedar Karmarkar.
http://kedar.smugmug.com/Airshows/2010/ ... 9187_TAPsS
If by any chance some jingos have not seen his gallery, I strongly suggest that they do themselves a favour and check it out.

Gaur boss these pictures are superb. Kudos to Mr Karmarkar

Is that a R-73 and R-77 loadout? :shock: 8)

Raman

Post by Raman »

What happened to the wing roundels on this Mirage??

Run out of paint??