BR Mumbai Meet- Late Dec 2010/Early Jan 2011

Kapil

BR Mumbai Meet- Late Dec 2010/Early Jan 2011

Post by Kapil »

All hands on deck!

This is a call for the Original West Coast BR Meet

Lets take a straw poll and decide on a nice meet for December last week or early Jan.
All migratory/transitory birds through airport code BOM please ping me on k a p i l @ bharat- rakshak.com and let me know

Blue skies

Kaps

Rishi-Make this a sticky and YOU have to attend this!

Re: BR Mumbai Meet- Late Dec 2010/Early Jan 2011

I can do late december I think... Will confirm soon.
himanshugoswami

Post by himanshugoswami »

is this meet also open for newbies? if yes, i would love to meet up with you guys.

kaps - at some stage can you call me or email me? Has your phone number changed?
Rishi

Post by Rishi »

OK - enough hiding. Will be there.

himanshugoswami wrote:is this meet also open for newbies?
WHY NOT ????
naird

Post by naird »

I am in either December last week Or Jan first week...will flying out after that....looking forward for my first BR meet.
Marut

Post by Marut »

Kaps, can't we have a meet earlier than this? Anyways I'm in as of now, will update you if anything changes.

Btw, where are we planning this one? The bar's set pretty high after the last one :)

Kapil sir,
I am in tentatively... will confirm after the dates and locations are finalised.. Prefer early jan though... much more chilled out and can be the first BR Meet for the calender year 2011... with the next one in Feb 2011 in Bangalore...

I am in...

It is tradition that Kersi D pays the food / drink bill at BR Mumbai meets.

I will be in Mumbai Dec second week through Jan 3rd. Would love to attend if at all possible.

Kapil, sending you email now!
VikB

Post by VikB »

Kapil - what a loser. In Oct, u planning a meet for Jan!!!

Have one after deepawali and then one in Jan. that way we can call it BR Mumbai Quarterly meet :P

^ Yeah can't beat those dilli billis who plan it almost 6 months in advance. :twisted:
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

I will try to make it. That Way I can spot check the High rise in general and my play grounds of Colaba, as kid,. The Afghan Church,The RC church. Back bay reclamation area if it exists and unless some one in High force already claimed it.

If itis on Dec 3rd the I can get fresh Mal of hight quality Taquila and margharita mix. Jose Cuervo Clasico Silver Ole Ole..
Or Johny Walker. But Champaign only Hyderbad meet. Kersi saab is always welcome to Hyderabad (Double dipping no problem)
Kapil

Post by Kapil »

Hi All,
Sorry for not replying as I was outcountry.
Some of you have emailed me about attending the meet.Watch this space.
I will only know my time tables on Monday; we can start discussing dates then.

Marut- Yes,last time was a stratospheric bar :-)

VikB-- Yaar, Mumbai Quarterly meets? Hello, they are already known as Mumbai 'Quarter' Meets. 8)

So,should we have one in the last week of December to start with?

Blue Skies,

Kaps
ShivaS

Post by ShivaS »

Dec 3rd is good the day Karachi was burning.. IIRC
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

I'll be in Mumbai around then hopefully and as a pseudo-noob, i'll be looking forward to some drinks and gyan.
Kapil

Post by Kapil »

Dec 3/4th is therefore a good evening to watch illuminated ships in the harbour :-)
vila

Post by vila »

What is the procedure if one wants to attend the Mumbai meet?

Oh.. I thought it would be last week of december OR January.. early december wouldn't be possible for me...
Santosh

Post by Santosh »

I can attend if the meet is somewhere mid to late January.

vila wrote:What is the procedure if one wants to attend the Mumbai meet?
Whoaa...I can let me my mind free with this, but I just don't have the time. You have to follows Kapil's instructions, thats all :)
ranjithnath

Post by ranjithnath »

i was hoping to attend ma first BR meet since i would be coming down to mumbai during last week of december.but if its first week i think i"ll have to wait till AI11 :(

Tanaji wrote:It is tradition that Kersi D pays the food / drink bill at BR Mumbai meets.
Traditions are meant to be broken !!!

vila wrote:What is the procedure if one wants to attend the Mumbai meet?
You have to apply in triplicate to Vice of all Admirals Sri Sri Kapilji Mahguru.
Your application should be supported by at least two defence chiefs.
You should be approved by Ministry of Defence and Offence
You have to get a certificate about your putrid character from at least three of these agencies Mumbai police, NSG, FBI, RAW, CIA, Taliban, Al Qaida, Basques, KGB, Mossad, Savak, ISI, MI5, MI6 etc. Recommendation from Taliban or Al Qaida or ISI (they are all the same) would be very useful. 8) :evil:
You should be well trained in small arms.
You should be trained in unarmed combat.
You should be trained in close quarter combat.
You should posses at least one decent weapon like AK 47, AK 101, Tavor, M16 etc. I prefer MP 7
There is no dress code but wearing a BPJ is advisable.
You should have made a copy of your will before you are admitted to the main bar.
You should be prepared to foot the entire bill of food and drinks. Each person pays for his own ammunition.
You are not allowed to use your brains during the meeting. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Kersi

PS If you are not able to meet the above requirements you can still atend the Meet if you pay for Kapil's drink bill and my food bill. :wink: :wink:

PPS Welcome to BR Meet

Kersi D wrote: You have to apply in triplicate to Vice of all Admirals Sri Sri Kapilji Mahguru.done
Your application should be supported by at least two defence chiefs.Will it be ok if i can get it from Lt Gen and equivalent
You should be approved by Ministry of Defence and OffenceUnder Processing
You have to get a certificate about your putrid character from at least three of these agencies Mumbai police, NSG, FBI, RAW, CIA, Taliban, Al Qaida, Basques, KGB, Mossad, Savak, ISI, MI5, MI6 etc.Got it from local Police Recommendation from Taliban or Al Qaida or ISI (they are all the same) would be very useful. Working on it 8) :evil:
You should be well trained in small arms.Done
You should be trained in unarmed combat.Somewhat done
You should be trained in close quarter combat.Under Training
You should posses at least one decent weapon like AK 47, AK 101, Tavor, M16 etc. I prefer MP 7me too, awaiting customs clearence
There is no dress code but wearing a BPJ is advisable.Not Necessary
You should have made a copy of your will before you are admitted to the main bar.prototype testing going on, :-p
You should be prepared to foot the entire bill of food and drinks. Each person pays for his own ammunition.Can we work around this
You are not allowed to use your brains during the meeting. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: agreed

Kersi

PS If you are not able to meet the above requirements you can still atend the Meet if you pay for Kapil's drink bill and my food bill. :wink: :wink:

PPS Welcome to BR Meet
:twisted: :twisted:
On a serious note, is the meet confirmed on Navy Day??? If so won't be able to make it...

Kapil, Please confirm the date, time and venue

Kapil

Post by Kapil »

Ok folks,

These are the phases for the BR Meets

BR Mumbai Meet Phase 1: For the local,based in town jingo with a valid suburban season pass.
November 27

The followingones are designed for the 'mehmaan mujahideen' visiting for Christmas and are codenamed Old Monk.

BR Mumbai Meet Phase 2-Old Monk 1: December 4 or December 11-- Date is finalised on the numbers.we can also meet on the 3rd of Dec

Old Monk 2: Last week of December or January 1 st week.

No meets in Mumbai post Old Monk 2 except one mass briefing for Aero India 2011
The next subsequent meet will be 'Kingfisher' during Aero India 2011.

All those interested in the above, please drop a mail to kapil a t bharat hyphen rakshak dot com with Subj line Old Monk as i have too many Mumbai Meet subject lines over the years

We encourage all jingos to speak and brief on a topic of interest,something that we know nothing about for example, one chap is going to speak on the Indian Railways during Old Monk 1
Vril

Post by Vril »

signing up for Nov 27 meet.
Marut

Post by Marut »

Well Kaps, the Mumbai meet has again set the bar high. Having phased meets leading upto the grand one in Feb during AI :) Now let's see if any one (BLR, Bay Area, NJ-NY, etc) can beat that 8)

I am in for all phases. Will contact you over secure line for the coordinates and TOT.

For Old Monk 1, I prefer Dec 4.

Marut sir,
The folks from bangalore don't have to do much... Since we will be hosting the BR Meet for AI 2011. :D
Arunkumar

Post by Arunkumar »

sent mail for end of december meet.
ranjithnath

Post by ranjithnath »

can attend old monk 2 if its in the range 20th to 24th december!!else would have to wait till AI11
Kapil

Post by Kapil »

Just got the schedule for Navy Week events.These are open to all.
Thought I'll post them here.

The Western Naval Command will celebrate Navy Day 2010 with a series of activities starting from 13th Nov. People from all walks of life will have an opportunity to have a close interaction with the Indian Navy.
The Indian Navy Band has the recognition of performing not only for the Navy in India but also in foreign countries when our ships go on good will visits abroad. The Navy Band will be giving free public performances at open places to facilitate one and all to attend and enjoy an evening of music. For the music lovers, three public performances by the Navy Band have been arranged at the following places:-
Timing Saturday 13th Nov at Cuff Parade Fishing village,
6:00 PM to 7:00 PM - Sunday 14th Nov at Cooperage Band Stand and
(on all days) Wednesday 17th Nov at Girgaum Chowpatty

Indian Museum Ship (IMS) Vikrant will be ‘Open to the Public’. The entry will be from the Tiger Gate near Ballard Estate. Visitors are advised to avoid bringing bags or baggage for security reasons. The details are as follows:-
Timing Date
10:00 AM to 5:00 PM 13th Nov to 22nd Nov Open to Public
Entry Tickets - Rs. 10/- per child and Rs. 25/- for adults

Differently abled children will have the opportunity to go onboard the Museum Ship Vikrant from Tuesday 23rd Nov to Thursday 25th Nov. School children above 12 years can visit the ship from Friday 26th Nov to Sunday 28th Nov between 10:00 AM and 5:00 PM. Entry for Differently abled children and school children will be free only for the days exclusively meant for them.

As a sporting event for the adventurous category, an Open Sea swimming competition (6 Kilometres distance) has been scheduled on Saturday 27th Nov at the INWTC (Naval Sailing Club), Pilot Bunder, Colaba. Persons above 14 years of age are eligible for participation in the event which will have six categories ie Men, Women, Boys under 16, Girls under 16, Special category and Veterans above 50. To register for participation log on to website navydayopenseaswimming.gov.in.

For those needing medical attention, free Medical camps will be held in which Specialist Doctors from naval hospital INHS Asvini will be available for consultation and free treatment including medicines. The Medical camps will be held at three places as follows:-
Timing Day & Date Place
10:00 AM to 4:30 PM Wed 24th Nov Sassoon Dock
10:00 AM to 4:00 PM Sun 28th Nov Karanja (Uran)
10:00 AM to 4:00 PM Sun 05th Dec Godfrey Clinic (near CST)

The main event of the Navy Day celebrations is the ‘Beating Retreat & Tattoo ceremony’ at the Gateway of India on 02nd to 04th Dec from 5:00 PM onwards. The event can be witnessed along the Radio Club-Taj Hotel road, Colaba.

Kapil,

Sent you an email re: Old Monk.

I can make it if it is in the last week of December, but I leave on Jan 3rd so Jan 1st week would not be possible for me.

Kapil

Post by Kapil »

Thanks to all those who have replied.

Will reply to your mails tonight IST or am tomm IST

Cheers

VikB

Post by VikB »

Kapil - bhai ye kya ho raha hai? what is the update? are all the three dates valid??
Konfusion.
Please clear the air. fix the dates and venue. let us meet on the sidelines of the Navy celeberations.
Kapil

Post by Kapil »

Sorry for the down-comms.
Was away on a sudden trip.
Just reached home.
Will mail/call/sms tomm

cheers

Kaps