Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

I have to ask this, :mrgreen:. Do the Kolkattans overwhelmingly support one of the three big clubs depending on how their recent form has been? I get the feeling that EB has been enjoying the upper hand in the last ten or so years, but before that MB was the prima donna. Historically speaking, EB dominance among the big three has been rather recent. MS, I get the feeling lost most of its fan-base to the 47-aftermath, and hence, today is an also-ran. Am I correct?!
nope, nope and nope !

I'll support EB come what may and pray that MB do badly(unless it's an international match) if EB isn't doing too well, just so that my MB supporter friends don't have an excuse to needle me ! :mrgreen:

support of the big three is clearly along geographical/religious lines.
EB gets support from people originating from east bengal (called bangals)and MB supporters are from west bengal origin people(called ghotis). MS is obvious.
my roots lie across the border which is why I cheer for EB. :)

actually EB has had a better share of wins against MB, and last decade has been even more or less.
check this out.
http://www.eastbengalfootballclub.com/club/ebmb.asp
:twisted:

MS did lose a big fan base in '47 (btw, they already had a branch in dhaka before 47 which is now a major club there) but they were still a big force until the 90's.

their downfall is more due to poor administration than anything else. even in the last decade when they have had good teams the administrators needlessly interfered in team selection to push the favourites, fired coaches at will and did anything humanly possible to destroy the team.
in fact this is the story of many promising clubs, the officials run them like personal fiefdoms and are incompetent to the bones. the same turds move up to AIFF and control the game in the country. one example that comes to mind is cochin FC that played in the first few seasons of the old NFL. they had got a very good team in the first season and had roped in IM Vijayan and Ancheri (wonder if anyone remembers these men. Vijayan was probably the most talented player of his generation) and finished 3rd IIRC. and promptly lost their way in the next seasons.
also, given the talent that comes in from the NE, it's a shame that there are no I-league clubs from there, especially manipur.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Rahul M wrote: one example that comes to mind is cochin FC that played in the first few seasons of the old NFL. they had got a very good team in the first season and had roped in IM Vijayan and Ancheri (wonder if anyone remembers these men. Vijayan was probably the most talented player of his generation) and finished 3rd IIRC.

You forgot Carlton Chapman, who ran the affairs at FC Cochin before they could lure IM V from EB. In any case, IM V and Jo Paul left, and then came along NP Pradeep :mrgreen:. The same with Salgaocar and Dempo, Bruno Coutinho and Roy Barreto ran the affairs and when they retired the place stunk for a while. The case of junior ranks filling the senior spots once the seniors retire is a new thing even in crikkit, let alone football. In the 90s, this kinda phenomenon of simple transition was unknown even in crikkit. How many openers have we had in these days, how many middle order folks before the fab-four came along? Pravin Amre, Vinod Kambli, S Ramesh, Deep Dasgupta, A Ratra, Akash Chopra, SS Das -- thats the cricket world of 90s in short, ringa-ringa roses :twisted:.

Next round of the I-league matches
18-Nov-08: Churchill Brothers SC - Air-India (Margao, Goa)
19-Nov-08: Mahindra United - Sporting Clube de Goa (Cooperage, Mumbai)
22-Nov-08: JCT, Phagwara - East Bengal Club (Ludhiana)
20-Nov-08: Mohammedan Sporting Club - Dempo Sports Club (Saltlake, Calcutta)
20-Nov-08: Vasco Sports Club - Mohun Bagan AC (Margao, Goa)
21-Nov-08: Chirag United SC - Mumbai Football Club (Saltlake, Calcutta)

Leading goal scorers so far {Shows the top 2 are not home grown players}
1. Odafe Onyeka Okolie (CB) - 10 goals
2. Elijah Obagbemiro Junior (SCG), Ranty Martins Soleye (Dem) - 5 goals
4. Kalia Kulothungan (MFC), Sushil Kumar Singh (MU) - 4 goals

ah, chapman, am hearing that name after ages !
thats the cricket world of 90s in short, ringa-ringa roses

.....and many many more, vijay dahiya, sujit somsunder, amay khurasiya, devang gandhi..........

edit: yep, finishing has been our problem for a long time now. most foreigners that play in Indian football are strikers/attacking medios. bengal supplies mostly goalkeepers and defenders for some reason.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Indian men, as expected, beat 54-th ranked Austria 3-1. Hari and SS Ganguly win their matches, the other two are draws. Next round is vs. 29th ranked Bosnia-Herzegovina. The women lose 1.5-2.5 to Hungary, primarily because Harika was not playing the first board. I am not sure if this was accommodated to give exposure to the rear end or if Harika was just too tired playing four days in a row. The unexposed {so far} Nisha Mohota lost. But whatever, it is, a rather poor strategic decision to rest Harika for such a critical match like that against Hungary. The next round is anyway against 33rd ranked Italy. Resting would have been just normal in this game. The womens team better have a good explanation for this goof-up.

PS: Topalov drew against 2619 Alex Beliavsky, an old gun and saw his liveratings drop to pre-tournament levels. That just says what this olympiad is all for top players. You better keep winning to retain your ELOs or climb slowly up. A single draw against a lowly ranked player, and you lose all that you have gained so far. A defeat or two, its a catastrophe of galactic proportions. This FIDE rating system is such a hogwash. It lets people easily climb the ladder from being no 10 or so, but the best bet to retain your rating is to NOT participate in events. Like Kasparov did for a long while. I am wondering how Magnus Carlsen will get used to this system given that he has seen only the nice side of the ratings. He already has lost quite a few points coming into this olympiad....

Same way, Sasikiran shed two ELOs cos he drew his match against a 2518 player. So now he is no 24. Ni Hua won his game and swapped Sasikirans's old no 22 spot. Next round, he draws or loses, and Sasi wins, the game flip-flops again. What a joke and a wild variation!
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

As the olympiad takes the first rest day, the Indian women esp need to reassess their plans. Tania Sachdev has been in top form winning 4/5 games. The Indian women are placed at 14, starting with a 11th seeding. They lost a winnable game against Hungary, which pushed them back in their goal of top-6 finish. After drawing Russia, this was a needless setback. Mary Ann Gomez pulled a couple of wins which would give her the much needed confidence to get to 24h+. Swathi Ghate was nt bad either. The backfire so far has been Nisha Mohota.

The men, on the other hand, have done far better, pushing Russia to the brink. Sasikiran and Hari have led the way, the rear end has been not bad either. SS Ganguly lost one big game against the much highly ranked Russian. A win here made us the top dog. But any case, the olympiads are not over yet. There will be two more rest days IIRC. We need to sit back and see where things end up. A top 6 in both sections would be awesome.

In hockey, the writing on the wall is that Diwakar Ram will be the next best bet of Indian hockey. Being a powerful PC specialist in a team desperately seeking the new Jugraj/Sandeep Singh is not a bad advertisement. The Indian jr team are world champions not for nothing. Go colts! Another plug for the Nehru cup in Gurgaon. Free entries for this great tournament.

Manish Saini struck the winning goal in extra-time as Western Railway pipped Namdhari XI for a berth in the super league of the Jindal Steel 45th Nehru hockey tournament at the Nehru Stadium here on Tuesday. Hardeep Singh had put the Railway team ahead in the first minute and Chandrakesh Kumar had consolidated the position with another goal in the 53rd minute. However, the seasoned Sardara Singh scored two goals in the space of two minutes, including a penalty stroke conversion in the 65th minute to keep the Namdhari XI in the fray.

In extra-time, Manish Saini converted a penalty corner to seal the fate of the Namdhari team. India Colts was the other team to gain a berth in the super league, and did so in style with an emphatic 4-1 victory over Karnataka XI. Diwakar Ram was the hero of the Colts as he converted three penalty corners and the fourth goal also came through a penalty corner conversion by Innocent Kullu. K.A. Nilesh pulled one back for the Karantaka team.

"Indian standard time" should be the title of this piece!

In a major faux pas, the Haryana government on Tuesday announced a grant of Rs. 1 lakh for the treatment of promising boxer Megha Bhardwaj two weeks after she passed away after suffering from cancer. Megha was suffering from round cell and lung cancer for the last one-and-a-half years. The Sports Ministry had no idea that the girl had died before the department issued a press release announcing that the amount had been sanctioned by Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda. Sports Minister Kiran Choudhry even went on to state in the press release that the government decided to help Megha given her exceptional qualities in the field of academics, culture and sports. However, they later realised their mistake and a fresh release was issued condoling the death of the Class XI student of Maharaja Agrasain Girls Senior Secondary School, Sirsa.

Olympic gold medal winner Abhinav Bindra on Tuesday had a different experience altogether shooting with different guns at the ITBP's shooting range here during a police sports meet. "It was my first experience, a different one, shooting using an (indigenously built) Insas rifle and a .9 mm pistol. After firing from the rifle, there was this big bang," Bindra told reporters after opening the 52nd All India Police Duty Meet-Shooting hosted by the Indo-Tibetan Border Police at the its Basic Training Centre in Panchkula.

Asked if he had given tips to the shooters present at the range, the 25-year-old ace marksman quipped, "I was actually taking tips from them myself". Bindra has been using a Walther-make air rifle for the past 10 years. Twenty eight teams belonging to Central Police Forces and State Police Organisations, holding aloft their respective flags, gave a sterling display of their parade and honoured the ace shooter.

ITBP's Inspector General PP Singh stressed the significance of the meet, saying "it would be a precursor to future shooters who would bring glory to the country in the days to come". Asked that the Armed Forces were facing shortage of officers, Bindra said the youth should be encouraged more to take it up as a career. "I have great respect for the Armed forces. My grandfather was in the Army. I think we need to encourage our youth more and motivate them to join the forces as they offer a secure career full of thrill and adventure and at the same time one can serve the nation the best," Bindra said.

Asked if he had any plans to join the Territorial Army like legendary cricketer Kapil Dev had done, he said there were no such immediate plans though he added if any offer comes his way he would think over it. On a question pertaining to his rare feat at the Olympics, he said, "I feel happy about it and it gives me a great sense of accomplishment. "At the same time, I also feel that it (his feat) has brought about biggest change in the mindsets of sportspersons, a big psychological change. More and more sportspersons have started to think in terms of that they can do it too and achieve the best at the highest level. The fact that it has inspired and motivated budding sportspersons, I am happy about that," he said.

Asked that many sportspersons lack support from the system despite having abundant talent, he said, "I know challenges are there, but we are improving. "I think we need to have more accountability in our system. We will need to set goals and work towards achieving them. Even if we don't achieve them, but what is important is take a clear path and follow that and success will surely come one day," he said, adding "we also need to have support at the grassroot level to have a strong foundation laid". To a question, Bindra, who is endorsing a leading consumer brand, said few more offers were in the pipeline and soon one would see him endorsing more brands.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

India men made some heavy fodder of 29th seeds Bosnia-Herzegovina, winning 2.5-1.5. Sasi won, others were draws. They now take on 7th seeds France. Should be good game to move up the ladder.... The women won by an identical score as Tania Sachdev lost her first game. Well, did nt I jinx it in the previous post?! Mary Ann Gomez and Swathi Ghate saved Tania's blushes and won their games. They now take on 13th seeded Bulgaria. So both the men and the women have their job cut out in round 7.

As expected, Sasikiran won and Hua Ni drew his game and so they flip flopped again on the live ratings. I am getting tired of keeping track of who is on top of who at what time. Top-man has beaten some low-ranks and stretched his gap at the top only to come down two rounds down the line. Wang Yue, the Chinese top ranked player has made mincemeat of small players and has gained 14 odd points and he is no 9 now. Odd how this system works. Even Ivanchuk seems to have gained quite a bit of points that he had lost. MagnusC has been having a bad day with the olympiads drawing too many matches.

Finally, the Top-Lambsky match will be held in Sofia. Thats no spelling mistake. Any match held in Sofia means any oppn player is a lamb for the chopping. Thats how much I trust Topalov & co in chess bullshitting. Say no to Sofia and save yourselves misery.

India's Arvind Bhat defeated Wee Chung Pei of Malaysia to move into the men's singles second round of the China Open Super Series badminton at Shanghai on Wednesday. Bhat, who beat Chung Pei 21-9, 21-13, will take on Petr Koukal of Czech in the next round. However, Bhat was the lone Indian survivor in singles competition as Chetan Anand and Saina Nehwal lost their respective first round matches. Anand lost to Malaysia's Choong Hann Wong 10-21, 14-21 while Saina went down fighting to fifth seed Lin Zhu of China 6-21, 21-12, 19-21. Saina though reached the doubles second round as she and her partner Canada's Anna Rice got the better of Macau's Ying Long and Ka Lei Mak 21-15, 21-17. They will now play Korean Jung Eun Ha and Min Jung Kim.

KUALA LUMPUR: Top seed Joshna Chinappa moved smoothly into the semi-finals of the NSC Super Satellite No.4 squash tournament, defeating Low Wee Nee of Malaysia 11-6, 13-11, 11-5, at the Bukit Jalil squash courts on Wednesday. She will next meet eighth seed Siti Munirah Jusoh who beat Pushpa Devi 11-5, 11-8, 11-1 in an all-Malaysian quarter-final. Joshna, ranked No.39, last week won her maiden WISPA tour title at the same venue in the NSC Super Satellite No.3 tournament. The 22-year-old from Chennai is expected to make it to her second consecutive final and fourth of the year as she has beaten Jusoh, ranked No.88, in all their three meetings so far.

An injury-time goal by Michael Tayo helped Air-India hold Churchill Brothers to a 1-1 draw in the ONGC I-League football match, played at the Nehru Stadium here on Tuesday. Churchill Brothers took the lead through Felix Chimaokwu in the 38th minute. However, the Goan side allowed Air-India to pick up a goal on the counter. Substitute Samson Singh lobbed the ball to Emmanuel Oveighara inside the box who in turn relayed it to an unmarked Tayo to tap the ball into the net.
November 18: Churchill Brothers SC 1-1 Air-India
November 19: Mahindra United 0-0 Sporting Clube de Goa

The INDIA U16 boys beat their counterparts from Bhutan 5-1 in a friendly match in Thimpu, Bhutan yesterday. The INDIA U16 boys are touring Bhutan for a two match series as part of their centenary celebration there in Bhutan. Manandeep Singh scored twice while Prem Kumar, Lalrindika and Malsawmfela chipped in with a goal each. The second and final match of the series will be played on Tuesday.

After an exciting beginning to the A1GP season, with four different drivers winning the first four races of the season, the focus shifts this weekend to Sepang, Malaysia. In the short history of the A1GP so far, the driver winning the feature race at Sepang has won the driver’s championship that year. After finishing tenth in the new Ferrari-powered car in Chengdu earlier this month, A1 team India will be looking forward to a better performance in Malaysia. Lead driver Narain Karthikeyan says, “Having driven several times at the Sepang International Circuit in the past will be an added advantage to me. The aim is to achieve a more consistent performance and we will strive towards having a top six finish.” The testing and rookie sessions will be held on Friday, followed by qualifying on Saturday, and the sprint and feature races on Sunday.
With the Asian Tour Order of Merit title almost sealed, a tired but focussed Jeev Milkha Singh would be aiming to carry the winning momentum for a second successive title at the $2.5 million Hong Kong Open starting on Thursday. "I'm tired but I am feeling confident this week. This is an excellent golf course. It is an old traditional course. I need to hit a lot of irons off the tee and manage myself well. "I have to play smart golf. I love these kinds of courses where I need a lot of imagination," said Jeev, who was the 2006 Asian Tour number one.

"I've played on the Asian Tour for many years and the Asian Tour has given me a lot. A lot of players have done well coming from the Asian Tour. It all comes down to how sharp a player's game is and how he is going to handle himself mentally in the last round," he added. Jeev's closest rival on the Order of Merit, New Zealand's Brown, will be banking on a new set of irons for a change of fortune in Fanling. "I haven't played that great recently. I will be using a new set of irons this week which will hopefully turn things around for me. "I really like the course here and I'm looking at having a go at it. My form is not where it used to be but I'm working hard at it. I have to stay positive and keep working hard," said Brown.

Meanwhile, defending champion Miguel Angel Jimenez will be eyeing a third title when he tees off tomorrow. Jimenez, 44, will be hoping to follow in the footsteps golf legend Peter Thomson of Australia who won the event three times back in 1960, 1965 and 1967. Chinese Taipei's Hsieh Yung-yo is the only player to have won four titles.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Aronian speaketh about Anand

Q. Can you draw conclusions from the way an opponent plays about his character?
A. Not really. A gentleman at the board can suddenly turn into a barbarian. Like Anand.
Q. You mean the World Champion?
A. Yes, he is a metamorphic player. In a flash he can change into a completely different person, from an almost dogmatic player into a beast.

read his interview actually, pure crackpot ! :D
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Rahul M wrote:read his interview actually, pure crackpot ! :D

At least to me, what he says makes sense. Chess is a weird game, need to love it and hate it both. He was whining about computers, which too makes sense. Given that he was a nobody four years back and came close to be world no 1, and back to somewhere normal {ranked 7 now}, I am sure he knows what it takes to get there. He was in sublime form two years back, even Anand was in awe at his form for a while. Then he came down quickly to earth.

His only YWCA-will-get-pissed statement was about women and how they need to lose their emotions to actually perform as well as the men. Politically incorrect and will get many of the card-carrying-members of the "National Intellectual Society" annoyed. In the context of chess, he has hit it spot on. Judit Polgar is the supreme example he has to cite. Behind her silent outer surface is a hard nut to crack. Thats what he is alluding to. No female can climb to the 27h+ barrier without being cold and methodical. In short, womanly ideals are good for just that, not for chess. Thats his bottomline. Instead of hiding behind the veil of PC-ness, he hit the spot on. Of course, it will rile most of the oldies like Maia Chiburdanidze, Zhu Chen etc. But Judit may be smiling somewhere in Dresden.

I agree he makes sense but some of his statements come across as a little contradictory.
like you have to eschew all emotion but you have to be passionate and romantic to be a great.

but then, "an artist is a bloke who can hold two fundamentally opposing views and still function" still holds I guess. :wink:
colourful character.

Joshna Chinnappa wins the back-to-back squash title at KL
Having made history then by becoming the first Indian woman to grab a WISPA title, she has now gone one better.

“My next assignment is the World doubles in Chennai next month. I plan to take a few days rest on return and get back to serious training again,” she said.
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

Major League Baseball team, Pittsburgh Pirates sign two Indian pitchers, Dinesh Patel and Rinku Singh to minor league deals. Great achievement for the two players. Singh had already won US$100K from the Million Dollar Arm challenge and Patel was recommended by a talent scout. Granted the Pirates are a horrible team and the their minor league teams are mediocre, this is still a great stepping stone for the two pitchers who just started learning the mechanics of pitching and have gotten here mostly through raw talent. I have often wondered why more Indian kids don't take up baseball instead of cricket. The average salary in pro baseball is over US$3 million.

http://www.npbtracker.com/2008/11/non-n ... s/#content
vavinash

Post by vavinash »

Because baseball sucks.. :mrgreen: . How is this Indian sports news? just curious. Are they Indians? or just PIO's?

baseball is the perfect caveman's game, clubs and all that ! :P
how many countries play baseball anyway ? even hollywood has failed miserably to popularise it !

anyway, these two fellows are from poor households in India who were discovered in a talent hunt. IIRC both played cricket.

And these guys are set to make millions (more than Cricketers). Is Baseball still an olympics sport?
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Indian football team captain Bhaichung Bhutia on Tuesday said his dream is to set up a top-class football academy in his home state of Sikkim or in some other north-eastern state once his career as a player is over. "It's my dream project to set up a football academy of the highest quality. But for that I would need at least 40 acres of land. Unless I get this I would not set up the academy," said the ace Mohun Bagan striker at a media conference here to announce the Tata Tea-Arsenal Soccer Stars talent hunt. The Sikkim government has already said that it will consider Bhutia's proposal favourably. "Let Bhaichung come forward with his specific proposal for setting up a football academy in the state... We will favourably consider such a proposal," Sikkim Sports Minister PS Tamang told reporters.

RIP, Peter Thangaraj, the hero of the 60s football team... Not many remember you today, but you moved mountains in your day! Rather, it should be mountains moved away when you stood across the cross-bar!!
Peter Thangaraj, the towering custodian of the Indian team, which won the gold in the 1962 Jakarta Asian Games, passed away following a massive heart attack at Bokaro, family sources said. Thangaraj, who was 72, fell ill on Monday morning and was admitted to the Bokaro General Hospital. The end came at around 11.30 p.m., the sources added. He is survived by wife, one son and three daughters.

Voted Asia's finest goalkeeper in 1958, Thangaraj was a contemporary of India's soccer greats Chuni Goswami, PK Banerjee and T Balaram. He played for the country between 1954 and 1968 and rerepresented India in four Asiads in 1954, 1958, 1962 and 1966. The over six feet tall custodian had been greatly influenced by Russian great Lev Yashin and had picked up his style of throw, which delighted the crowds. Thangaraj, who was presented the Arjuna Award in 1968, was member of the Asian All-Star team twice in the 1960s, and was a member of the Indian team, which played in the 1956 Melbourne and 1960 Rome Olympics.

Title aspirant India Colts asserted itself with a 4-0 victory over Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) XI in the semifinals of the Jindal Steel 45th Nehru hockey tournament at the Nehru Stadium, here on Monday. In the other semifinal, defending champion Punjab and Sind Bank was shown the door by Bharat Petroleum 1-0 in a contest that failed to live up to its rating.

Having come through the qualifying event and won all its super league matches, the only team to do so among the elite eight, India Colts, guided ably by coach A.K. Bansal, looked to be peaking nicely for the final. Though the team tended to attack more from the right, especially in the first-half, there was a distinct difference between India Colts and the unfancied ONGC, which had perhaps surprised itself in making the semifinals. After a couple of wayward shots at the goal, India Colts shot ahead in the 20th minute as Danish Mujtaba unleashed a nice reverse hit following a centre from the right by Mandip Antil.

Seven minutes later, India Colts bolstered its position as skipper Diwakar Ram came up with a carpet drive to convert the team’s first penalty corner. The talented junior team could have had a better tally at the interval, but for some good work by goakeeper Dinesh Ekka for ONGC. On resumption, after thwarting a penalty corner attempt by its rival, with Diwakar making a swift clearance in front of the goal, India Colts got down to the business of scoring goals once again. Jai Karan tapped one home midway through the second-half and Danish Mujtaba put the finishing touches two minutes later with a sharp strike from the left. ONGC had nothing to show but for three abortive penalty corner attempts in the whole match.

In the other match, the finalists of the last edition lacked the flair and firepower to entertain the sparse gathering. Bharat Petroleum struck a goal in the 26th minute by converting the team’s third penalty corner as Ravi Pal slotted one off a rebound after Gurpreet Singh’s shot had failed to break through the defence. Thereafter, Bharat Petroleum looked more concerned about defending the goal rather than step it up against an opponent that was labouring hard to make a match of it. The teams could only spice up the contest with physical aggression, with the players pouncing on each other, resulting in five yellow card bookings. Bharat Petroleum earned three of them to emphasise its raw fighting spirit.
We have a sports mantri who is a numero uno ignoramus. I have no fricking clue how he was the Chief Election Commissioner. Probably a CEC going on to become a congress mantri should speak volumes about how much of a disinterested individual this mantri must have been. Anyway from the horse's mouth! Ensoi maadi!! I hope this country snuffs this oiseaule with a creditable performance even when he is alive, instead of leaving it to posterity to declare what a dumbass one mantri was.

“Today’s generation is looking for less strenuous disciplines and trying to be good at it instead of sweating it out like Milkha Singh to be good at 400m. Don’t expect any more Milkha Singhs in this country,” declared the Union Sports Minister M.S. Gill here on Monday.

Three Indian pugilists advanced to the quarterfinals of the fifth World women’s boxing championship here on Monday. Chhoto Laura (50kg) eased past Vietnam’s Ngu Thi Thuyet 17-4 in the second round after getting an opening round bye. N. Usha was equally dominating during her 12-1 win over Mongolian Burmaa Erdenegrel in the second round of the featherweight division after she too got a first-round bye. Reigning National champion Sushma Yadav (54kg), however, had to fight hard in a low-scoring second-round bout against Sofija Sidorova of Latvia. Sushma trailed by a point in the first two rounds but blanked Sofija 3-0 in the final round to secure a place in the last-eight stage.

I am damn sure that IOA is lagging on dope testing, not just them, a 1008 countries who have the money power to pressure wada into silence. Hopefully for just a short while. Why do we need India to have a body that dumps doping oiseaules to the deep end of the sea? Cos they shame our country's name in many a competition -- the weightlifters come to the forefront. Some athletes too. Otherwise, Indian sports is spotlessly clean unlike some frequent-stanazolol-abusing crikkiting nations that escape under the clause of diuretics. All this "we are sports nation" onlee bakwaas will stop once this wada code compliance comes into effect. Soon....

In an anti-climactic end to an exercise lasting more than two years, the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) has decided not to publish the Code compliance report as scheduled on November 25. The meeting noted that most of the signatories had complied with the Code while a “small number of organisations” had not fulfilled the requirements, a WADA release stated on Monday. The Code compliance report, the first such attempt since the WADA Code came into effect from January 1, 2004, was expected to expose many anti-doping agencies including international federations and National anti-doping bodies.

In the Indian context, the Indian Olympic Association still does not have anything to show with respect to Code compliance. It is the Sports Authority of India which is the de facto agency functioning as the testing authority. The initial Code compliance report by WADA was to include international federations and National anti-doping organisations, with the latter group also including National Olympic Committees in countries that do not have an established National anti-doping body. The National Anti Doping Agency (NADA), registered in 2005, but only recently activated is yet to get operationalised in India. It was supposed to begin functioning on October 1 and then November 1, but is now expected to start functioning only from Jan. 1 next year.
Regarding chess, I lost enthu tracking both the teams after they snatched defeat from the jaws of victory in two consecutive games. In any case, the final round is scheduled for today and both the teams will end up more or less on par with their seedings. Which is an utter shame!

A formidable Indian team comprising the in-form Jeev Milkha Singh and seasoned pro Jyoti Randhawa will spearhead the Asian challenge at the Omega Mission Hills World Cup which begins on Thursday. Jeev has been in sparkling form this year, winning titles on three different Tours, and with Randhawa too showing signs of regaining his touch, the Indians represents Asia's best best this week. Thai pro Thongchai Jaidee said Asian players like Jeev have proved their mettle in the recent past and there simply cannot be any pre-tournament favourites.

"Asians players are getting strong. Anybody can win tournaments these days, said Jaidee, a two-time Asian number one. For Jeev, ranked 45th in the world, things could not have been better this season. The Bank of Australia title on the European Tour was followed by the Nagashima Shigeo Invitational Sega Sammy Cup in Japan before the Indian went on to lift the USD five million Singapore Open which also assured him of his second Asian Tour Order of Merit title. Though Jeev finished just outside the top 10 in the Hong Kong Open last week, the 11th place finish there consolidated his place in the top 50 and the seasoned pro has already announced that he is determined to make a mark in his World Cup debut.

"I've always had to defend a tournament or tried to keep my card somewhere. That's why I've never had the opportunity to represent India but now that we've got a direct entry, I am excited at the prospect at playing in the World Cup," he said. Randhawa, meanwhile, is banking on Jeev's terrific form and said growing up together, they hope their camaraderie would translate into good scores here. "We're comfortable being around each other, we are regularly having meals together on Tour. He's a funny guy as well and I hope we don't take it onto the golf course! We will certainly focus on our game and I'm looking forward to partnering him," he said.

I am hoping the GoI shows two middle fingers to the PeeHF just like it did a week back. The worst that could happen to the Indian team is to visit bakisatan and get their lives endangered. The sooner the boycott becomes all pervasive and across the board, the faster we can get rid of this == bhaichara.

Top officials of Pakistan Hockey Federation have left for Los Angles to attend the International Hockey Federation Congress with high hopes of convincing the Indian Hockey Federation to resume bilateral series. PHF President Qasim Zia, Secretary Asif Bajwa and vice president Rana Mujahid will attend the congress which will be held until November 29. The officials would be meeting Indian hockey's Ad-Hoc Committee chairman Suresh Kalmadi and convenor Aslam Sher Khan to discuss the resumption of bilateral hockey series, a PHF spokesman said.

The Indian junior team was stopped from touring Pakistan earlier this month by its government which was not satisfied with the security arrangements for the test series. The Indian senior hockey team is due to visit Pakistan for a test series in January next year and the PHF spokesman said the Indian officials would be convinced about the need to have the series in Pakistan. The PHF officials will also discuss with the FIH officials and other members countries about the plans of the PHF to hold an annual eight-nation international tournament in memory of Benazir Bhutto. The PHF needs the support of the FIH and its member nations to have this competition which can play a big role in reviving hockey activities in the country, the spokesman said.

Chetan Anand inches his way to the top 10. He stands 14th now. Saina has closed the gap to the 10th ranker. She stays 11th for the week. Somdev climbs one spot to 203. Prakash Amritraj goes down one spot to 211. The Indian football team has climbed 4 spots to 144 despite NOT playing a single game, again. A few more points (7 to be precise) and the gap gets wider.
I-league update
November 23: Mohammedan Sporting Club 0-1 Churchill Brothers SC; Sporting Clube de Goa 2-1 Air-India
November 24: Mohun Bagan AC 1-0 Mahindra United
November 25: Mumbai FC - JCT, Phagwara (15.30 IST); Chirag United SC 3-1 Vasco SC
November 26: Dempo SC - East Bengal Club (15.45 IST)
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

SBajwa wrote:And these guys are set to make millions (more than Cricketers). Is Baseball still an olympics sport?
Nope, not from 2012 onwards. Baseball was an olympic sport in 08 and got voted out this year. Very few takers except for Latin American countries, Taiwan, Japan and S. Korea. I believe softball still will remain for one more OG, but its days are also numbered. Good for the world. An unnatural sport with a small following should NOT be a part of the global olympic movement. Chess has better credentials for being an olympic sport given the olympiad response than other also-rans. Even squash has a better case...
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

vavinash wrote:Because baseball sucks.. :mrgreen: . How is this Indian sports news? just curious. Are they Indians? or just PIO's?
They are both from India.

A major league team has a 40 man roster at any given time and there are 30 teams in the majors. Each team team also has several levels of minor league teams in their system. As mentioned before, average salary in the majors is $3M plus. Top prospects in the minors, including high school kids can make millions as well. The top prospect in last years draft signed a deal for $6M, before even playing in the majors.

My point in general, is that Indian kids should give baseball a shot, because they don't necessarily have to be cream of the crop to make it to the majors in baseball and make money beyond their dreams. It is also good for Indians to open up into other sports.

The 38th Chess Olympiad is over. India finish 16th in the open category and 15th in the women's category. Creditable performance considering we were without our best players in each of these categories - Anand and Humpy. We lacked depth, with the men's 3rd/4th boards being out of form, and Tania Sachdev being erratic on the 2nd board for women.

Armenia and Georgia won the respective categories. The US was a surprise package, finishing 3rd in both categories - very tenacious performance from them; though they were highly seeded, they did better than their seeding . The Chinese women, who battered everyone in the first six rounds to score 6-0, then lost or drew all their remaining 5 rounds to end up 8th. Their men too did worse than their 3rd seeding, finishing 7th.
vavinash

Post by vavinash »

India's performance was below par. The men should not have lost to france and the women surprisingly lost to hungary. That really pulled us down. I would have expected india to loose to US without Anand but the margin was unacceptable. Indian women held Russia in their draw but then lost the way.

Saina has broken into the world top10.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

This win seems to have gone unnoticed.

Mary Kom gets fourth consecutive World C'ship gold
Saturday 29 November, 2008

India's M C Mary Kom (46kg) re-asserted her status as the world's most successful woman boxer clinching an unprecedented fourth successive gold medal but India failed to retain the team crown at the fifth AIBA World Championships in Ningbo City (China) on Sunday.

In a repeat of the previous World Championship final in New Delhi, the 25-year-old out-punched Romania's Steluta Duta 7-1 to grab India's only gold medal at the event.

The other Indian finalist, N Usha (57kg) had to be content with a silver for the second successive time after she lost 1-6 to Chinese Qin Jian.

The defending champions, who were in China with a small seven-member contingent, thus finished the tournament with a haul of one gold, a silver and two bronze medals – through Chhoto Laura (50kg) and L Sarita Devi (52kg), who lost in the semifinals on Friday.

Though she couldn't ensure that the team retained the overall title, Mary Kom was once again the star of the show for India.

The Manipuri boxer remained away from the ring for two years to take care of her twin babies after completing a hat-trick of World Championship golds in New Delhi.

The pint-sized pugilist returned to don the gloves this year at the Asian Championships in September where she failed to retain her gold and settled for a silver.

She claimed the National title earlier this month before leaving for the World Championship to achieve the spectacular feat.

Manipuri women are among the fittest and strongest on avg in India, maybe Coorgi women
and some parts of Kerala in south are another cachment area for track n field sports.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Enough of the self-imposed moratorium after the wounds this country has picked. The world has nt stopped spinning because we sat back for a week and whined away. Time life started going on as before and hope instead of reacting as always, we act now.... Nuff for this thread.

Chess world is off on a tail-spin. FIDE has pulled some rabbits out of its derriere and changed the rules for the next yr's challenger qualification formats. Magnus Carlsen, Nigel Short, Alexei Shirov and many many others have decided to stay away from the new bullshit format. That plus, the drug testing avoidance ban+fine on big-man Ivanchuk has not gone well with the community. {Ivanchuk lost a game and was asked to take a drug test. He said, I want to relax and cool down, so eff off.} Shirov has asked in an open letter and I quote him, "IOC has never guaranteed that chess would become the Olympic sport, so the FIDE policy in licking their posterior is at least questionable."

Open revolt seems the order of the day. MagnusC has time on his side to become a world champion. So his father has taken on an openly confrontational position now against the flow of others. Topalov is a one-man show, he has the support of the Govt of Bulgaria to piss everyone off. Ivanchuk, I am sure is no happier with fide given the flow of events. Anand is his own damn "Dont bother me, I am on a break... Even if not, I will just play chess" routine. Kramnik is outta favor with the Soviets cos he lost the crown that "they" rightfully own. Kamsky is a crazy guy who noone can predict. Shirov has revolted. The assorted Russians like Moro, Kasim, Radjabov etc will swing the Fide way as expected. Whats left are Aronian and Judit. Its not clear what they will do.

This means either FIDE go back to where it was before with its tail well-folded. Or the next year's challenger series to Anand is going to be the usual Fide level bakwaas show. In any case, Topalov wont step back given that its so close yet so far. Kamsky has come out swinging against bullshit rules and murder threats. The losers are clearly Fide, the winners are the assorted new Chinese players who have state backing. A new order is setting in. If only Anand were less diplomatic and vengeful, he can make his presence felt here. But Anand is an iceberg, ruthless and mammoth when the show happens, cool/cold to developments around him. Makes one good reality tv in a chess time-scale. If only someone gets to see this unfolding chain of events, it will be so drama-like.

IOA gets two more months to run hockey affairs

According to sources, the Delhi High Court, hearing the petition filed by outgoing IHF President KPS Gill, has postponed next hearing to February 6. This gives another two months time for the IOA controlled ad-hoc committee on hockey to continue administer the sport in the country. In August this year, the court heard the case and fixed December 4 for next hearing. This has now been postponed to February next year.

An ‘illegal’ AGM of the KPS Gill faction noted with confidence some of the observations of the court that were made in August, and were eagerly waiting for a favourable decision today. Accordingly to the minutes of the ‘illegal’ AGM, the court has asked the IOA to deliver a time frame for holding the election. Another faction of the IHF, headed by Sahara scion JB Roy, was also looking forward to today’s court proceedings. This Group, after having demonstrated two-third majority amidst the IHF electoral college, must have been frustrated as the dates for election getting eluded. It now seems they have to wait at least two more months if the court is the only answer for the IHF election. However, if the IOA decides to call election before that, they will be the happiest lot. For those who wish visible and effective improvement in the functioning of hockey, too, pray for early election. So that the Gill virus can once for all be eradicated. And then expect some fresh air with the incoming of a business house into hockey.

As of now, it is certain the ad-hoc committee is firmly entrenched in the saddle. Let us hope, the Committee grabs the chance it has got, and do something worthwhile so that hockey lovers can remember their work. At least, the IOA can organize the Senior Nationals without any further delay. Domestic hockey is in limbo, except those teams who play this Cup or that Cup rather routinely. We are not sure why suddenly the proposed holding of Nationals in Pune never got announced. It's ages before the City hosted the Nationals, and it is right time it get again. If the ad-hoc committee accords importance to Nationals, some of the accusations it faces of inactivity, might well be forgotten.
As I said before, AK Bansal, the jr coach is now thanking his stars for the cancellation of the jr hockey series in bakisatan. Initially, he seemed skeptical and so did Diwakar Ram about what gain they will have in participating in the Nehru Cup. Now after winning seven games in a row against very tough opposition {some of the creme de la creme of hockey clubs in India} and taking the Nehru cup, AK Bansal sir and Diwakar Ram agree that "Fck pakistan, we saved our lives staying back and whats better, we also got some good exposure/practice with senior players and this made our confidence a world of good." This is the jr Indian team. Indian hockey has not had a short supply of quality players, ever and I say that with a perfectly straight face. If the writing on the wall is clear, the players will continue to be talented. The bakwaas show of the IHF administration-bummers, if corrected, like with the politicians that ruin this country, things will start looking bright and crystal clear to even the most vociferous fatalist. Gold medal in 2016 is very likely! Willing to take bets on that this early :).

Noone has noticed it in a big way in India yet. But the beatch, Brenda, is now the former FIH president..... Down with such retards. The new guy is in, another gora. Like Yogi Berra said, i hope it is not deja vu all over again!
A change in guard at the highest level of the International Hockey Federation (FIH) and the recent terror strikes in Mumbai are unlikely to have a bearing on India hosting the 2010 World Cup in Delhi. In his first interview to an Indian media ever since assuming office of president of the game's governing body (FIH), Leandro Negre told TOI on Thursday that he does not see any reason at the moment to move the game away from India. He, however, said FIH would be keeping a close watch on the situation in India, including political ones, in the run up to the event. {Eff you, thats my welcome to Mr Negre for this opening statement!}

"At this stage there is no reason not to host the 2010 men's World Cup in India. The FIH signed the memorandum of understanding for our showcase event in August this year and I don't see any reason for me to change this," Negre said in an email. "However, the FIH will monitor the situation in India carefully to make sure that the event will be organised at the highest possible level as we will have a close look on the political situation in India too." {Yea, same thing as above. Again cos the reporter was a dumbass who repeated the same content twice.}

The Spaniard, who replaced Els van Breda Vriesman, also suggested that the world body would continue supporting the project concerning revival of Indian hockey. "India is one of the key nations in hockey. The FIH started the project Promoting Indian Hockey in late 2006 and under my leadership this project will definitely not end." {Thank you, you keep your hands where it belongs and we will take care of our sorry state of hockey.}

In a bid to make the game grow in popularity, he said he was planning to bring in more professionalism to world level events. He also said the game's task would be to ensure it's presence in future Olympics. {Thats gonna be a fight, dear sir. Cos the forces that be have been conspiring to dump hockey from the world showcase arena. Best of luck though}

"Being present at the Olympic Games is still the most important task for hockey. The FIH Missions Statement (to encourage, promote, develop and administer hockey at all levels in order to maintain hockey as an Olympic sport on the Olympic Programme and maximise participation, standards, enjoyment and community involvement) is clear about that. {And yea, can you stop raping the rules for once?! That will help us third world colored folks some bloody misery.}

"To make sure that this will happen, the FIH should professionalise its World Level Events and this is one of the main tasks in the coming years."Negre said he would discuss different issues with people involved in the FIH in the coming couple of months "in order to be able to start in a proper way" as the FIH president. {Chai biskoot in the hockey world} "The FIH and hockey became more and more professional in the last years. I will continue to work in that way. All the decisions that will be made in the coming years will all be in the benefit of hockey in general," he said. {Even Brenda promised so much in her online manifesto, thank you FIH. On a sidenote, with a name like Negre, I am sure many of the gora clubs are going to have a field day in case you turn out to do something constructive for the world hockey instead of for the Oiropean rendition of the game. Best of luck, again. Stay away from Indian hockey as much as you can.}

A couple of big events seem to have been cancelled. Indian masters golf very different from Indian Open golf --- the show that started the rise of Indian golf. In contrast to the Bombay thing, this one has the financial meltdown to blame.

The Indian Masters, which was set to be played in New Delhi next February, was dropped from the 2009 European Tour schedule on Friday, becoming another victim of the global economic crisis. The tournament, which was also part of the Asian Tour, was set to take place from February 5-8 at the Delhi Golf Club. "We have done everything possible to ensure that the second edition of the Indian Masters was played in 2009," said Mohamed Juma Buamaim, vice-chairman and chief executive of organisers 'golf in Dubai'.
Ranking updates: PSA -- Saurav Ghosal stays flat at 39. Ritwik stays flat at 57. In the rear, Sid Suchde climbs 13 to 109. Naresh Kumar climbs 13 to 156. The big gainer is Harinder Pal Sandhu -- climbs 113 places to 185. Note that HPS has an all time high ranking of 120 odd and injury came along and he nose-dived. He is doing the Sania rendition of squash. Young and climbing...

Saina Nehwal wasn't even born when Ami Ghia became the first Indian woman shuttler to be ranked as high as No. 7 in the world in 1983. A quarter century later, Saina, all of 18 and now 10th in the world, has sent out a loud warning that cracking the top-five is next on her agenda. But the national champion knows it's a rough climb here on.

"I'm uncomfortable playing all the shuttlers who are higher ranked than me," Saina told TOI a day after the latest Badminton World Federation (BWF) list was released. In fact, if one were to go by statistics, the Indian has beaten three shuttlers in the current top nine, but only one (China's No. 4 Zhu Lin) in the top five.

While Saina's win over world champ Lin in the China Masters in September proved that the Hyderabadi teen has the game to beat the best, Saina says she needs to work on her mobility to overpower the Chinese consistently. "They are very fast on the court. I need to increase my speed to match up to them," explained.

While the Chinese are the ones to beat, Saina says she's also uncomfortable playing the likes of World No. 1 Zhou Mi and 7th-ranked Pi Hongyan of France. "Zhou has a few shots which I just fail to anticipate, especially her flicks. I just cannot understand when she'll hit at the net or push the shuttle behind," explained Saina. If the Indian is candid enough to admit that there's a lot of work to do before she can consistently beat the best, Saina knows it's only a matter of time. "I need to improve no doubt, but at the moment some of them are winning close matches only on their experience. In the end, when it's a matter of 2-3 points, their experience of having been in a similar situation before bails them out. I'm confident that next year I'll be able to pull off a few wins over the top ones," she said.

Welcome back, Sania!! Sania has been seen swinging her racket at the DLTA complex. She seems to have put the injury season aside. The climb upwards should be normal for her.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

So now Aronian has also started swinging against FIDE. Its only Judit left now. There is serious backlash against FIDE's hare-brained proposals.

Olympic bronze medallist Sushil Kumar showed his class as he outsmarted his opponents to defend his 66kg gold medal at the 53rd National wrestling championship which started at the Nandini Nagar College Sports Complex, here on Friday. After getting a bye in the first round, Sushil — representing the Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB) — convincingly got past Sukhraj (Rajasthan), Ramuna L. Torvi (Karnataka) and Pankaj Rana (Services) to book a berth in the final.

Sushil was the one to draw the biggest applause from the crowd as he pounced on his opponents who tried their best to give a fight to the elite grappler. The Railway wrestler was so swift and skilful that the contests ended in his favour in no time. Even his semifinal clash against Rana finished within one-and-a-half minutes with Sushil winning ‘by fall.’ The fans, who expected a good final bout between Sushil and Pradeep Kumar of Delhi, were left disappointed as the former was declared champion after being given a walkover.

“I am feeling good to be back in a competition after the Olympics. I am in good form and very fit. I had no trouble in winning the medal,” Sushil said after bagging the gold. Sushil’s coach Satpal hailed the wrestler for his commitment. “That’s Sushil for you. He could have easily skipped the event, but he gave the Nationals a boost by taking part in it,” he said.

After a two-year sabbatical, Arjuna award winning wrestler Anuj Choudhary made a strong comeback by clinching the gold in 84kg catgory before his home crowd. “I am thrilled to have won the gold after two years. Now, I hope to carry on my good form and look forward to the 2010 Commonwealth Games,” he said. The Olympian wrestler said his final bout against Naresh of Delhi was very tough. “I had some good fights. Feels nice to wear the gold medal,” he said.

The medallists: Men’s Freestyle:
55kg: Gold: Rahul Awane (Mah); Silver: Vinod Kumar (Har-A); Bronze: Balraj Singh (RSPB-A), Anil Kumar (RSPB-B).
66kg: Gold: Sushil Kumar (RSPB-A); Silver: Pradeep Kumar (Del); Bronze: Sandeep (Har-B), Sudhir Rana (WB).
84kg: Gold: Anuj Choudhary (UP); Silver: Naresh (Del); Bronze: Rambir Singh (Pun-A), Ravinder (Har-A).
Women’s freestyle:
48kg: Gold: Nirmala (Har-A); Silver: Priyanka Singh (UP); Bronze: Rekha (Chd), Sumel (Del).
55kg: Gold: Babita (Har-A); Silver: Manju Sekhawat (MP); Bronze: Kamlesh (Del), Sharmila (Del).

Greco-Roman:
55kg: Gold: Rajender (RSPB-A); Silver: Jogender (RSPB-B); Bronze: Surender (Har), Ranjeet Madhok (SSCB-A).
66kg: Gold: Gurvinder (Pun); Silver: Vikram Singh (RSPB); Bronze: Satish (Chd), Sunil (SSCB-A).
84kg: Gold: Manoj Kumar (SSCB-A); Silver: Harendra (UP); Bronze: Sanjay (RSPB-A), Santosh Sindhe (SSCB-B).

Celebrity or non-entity?!
Sportspersons are in the news for making the top 10 in world rankings and others for slipping below the 100 mark too. Gagan Narang’s not so lucky, despite his presence in the cream of crack-shots for over two years!

After his 10 metre air rifle world record breaking effort in Bangkok, he returned home, not to fanfare and hoopla, but to a hardly conspicuous reception. Two National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) officials welcomed him at Delhi airport with a sweet and some drum beating. And there ended acknowledgement for that global achievement.

The odds he overcame to record that World Cup final triumph at Bangkok were truly daunting. Practice prior to that annual championship, restricted to the world’s top 12, was racked by power cuts at the Sports Authority of Andhra Pradesh shooting range in his hometown of Hyderabad. Nor did/does the facility have an administrator. As for import of ammunition and upgrading of equipment, they had stopped it years ago.

When seeking financial assistance for Olympic preparations, the World No. 6 was advised by sports bureaucrats to use cash incentives he received for international achievements to foot the bill for his training. Those earnings were taxed despite the Union Sports Ministry’s written guidelines that they were exempt from income tax. Such apathy was glaring when sportspersons with much less accomplishment walked away with housing sites, simply because they had political godfathers to push their cases.

At other times doubts were raised whether he belonged to Hyderabad or Haryana. So much so that his father B.S. Narang had to produce certificates right from school to prove Gagan’s Hyderabad domicile. Strangely, Saina Nehwal, whose forebears belong to the said northern State, received reward and recognition from there, while Gagan was ignored.

Financial support came subsequently from the Union Sports Ministry and Gold Quest, but a little late in the day. Sadly, Gagan’s first weapon, a second-hand one, was purchased from fellow-shooter Kuheli Gangulee with money realised from the sale of his mother’s plot of land, allotted by the R & D Defence Employees Co-operative Housing Society in Secunderabad for service leading to retirement. For a sport that’s been bringing India honours by the handful since 2006, Gagan hasn’t got his due of both reward or recognition. Which leaves one wondering whether he’s a celebrity or a non-entity?
Crocodile tears start pouring for the now-departed Brenda
It is difficult to fathom the factors that facilitated the exit of Els van Breda Vriesman from the helm of world hockey. The international community is yet to come to grips with the plausible causes on which the opposition cashed in on in the FIH Congress last Saturday at Los Angeles to unseat a dynamic president who dominated the scene for eight years.

Was it her pro-India stance a frailty that floored Els? There is a school of thought that Els was too obsessed with streamlining Indian hockey. {Yea, in the name of streamlining Injun hockey and showing them their place, she destroyed a system that was rotting from the inside. We should all thank madame saheba very bloody much, jee huzoor.} True, she spent a good deal of time trying to fine-tune administration here and projecting herelf as a ‘messiah’ to preserving ethos of Indian hockey. {Thats the clear verdict. She acted as if she was gonna save us, and yet acted without common-sense towards that goal often enough.}

When the FIH unfolded plans for a special project during the last World Cup at Monchengladbach in front of the International Olympic Committee President, Jacques Rogge, eyebrows were raised over why look at India as a special entity. The explanation that the eight-time Olympic champion required focus to arrest its slide in stature appeared somewhat convincing. But the scepticism persisted more on account of the financial commitment involving the IOC and FIH. {heh, we blew quite a lot of cash on this Promoting Indian hockey project. In fact, we blew far more % of our cash reserves on this ill-fated campaign than the FIH could afford. It was 60-40 with we paying 60 for saving ourselves on some decisions over which we had no control over. Bob Davidzon, brenda and the Indian journos pulled a wool over our eyes when we were looking at crikkit. RicC was a product of this charade. He came, he saw, he neither conquered nor spelt the "c" of conquered. He pitted one pit-bull in the form of KPS Gill against another in the form of Aslam Sher Khan, Dhanraj Pillay, Ajitpal Singh & co. The willing cohorts in this drama were the assorted administrators who got caught in sting rackets like Jothikumaran. Thank goodness, I am happy to see brenda packed home. Two to tango, three to misery. We had four playing this game: The two sets of Indian hockey administrators, the gora-sahebs and RicC. The chaos saw many a good coach lick someone's derriere. The normally cool and great Joaquim Carvalho was last seen doing chamcha stuff cos his job was at stake. Does anyone remember Gerard Rach, the 2-month long German nobody whose only claim to fame was serial drinking episodes, but somehow became the coach of Indian team? RicC, what did he do for us? He leaked confidential matters like his other friend Greg Chappel, he chided at Indian players as unfit -- national players who run as fast as most of the world hockey players --, he blamed them for lapse in concentration that allowed goals as a "cultural" issue, he took credit when we won games flat out, overall he was a retard unfit for Indian hockey despite he having won laurels elsewhere. We needed someone, we were stuffed with someone else, so much for promoting Indian hockey.}

While a section hailed the moves of Els and her lieutenant, Bob Davidzon of the Netherlands, to inject an element of professionalism and sophistication in administration as path-breaking, opinion was divided whether the FIH was stepping on the toes of some Indian administrators. {OF course it was, you moron.} The pace at which ‘reforms’ were commissioned, and thrusting the Australian icon, Ric Charlesworth, as coach, had a cumulative effect in accentuating the already prevailing confusion in the aftermath of the poor showing of the national teams (especially the defeat against China in the Doha Asian Games).

The FIH boss was unsparing in her criticism of the IHF, targeting its chief, K.P.S. Gill in every forum. {They wanted to unseat KPS Gill as he had snuffed out the goras on every platform. This was supposed to be revenge served cold, unfortunately for them KPS Gill may have outlasted them, if his plans go right. One never knows.}

When the IHF was disbanded by the NOC, in the wake of India’s failure to qualify for the Beijing Olympics, there was a strong feeling that Els orchestrated the whole exercise, ensuring the formation of an ad hoc committee that received the FIH nod immediately. {Of course, she did that. Was nt it obvious?} If there is a view today that Els burnt her fingers endeavouring to clear the cobwebs of Indian hockey, then it may be genuine. An element of poignancy {poignancy, did I read that right Mr journo?! This is called Stockholm syndrome in certain quarters. You let someone destroy your polity and then you pity about their impending downfall. Wake up and smell the coffee. She was discarded by the system. We should thank our stars for that instead of pitying her.} can be added as it is understood that India is reported to have voted against Els in the hope of getting its nominee as a vice-president in place of Annabel Dillon. {Sweet!} If the pro-India factor was one chink in Els’s armour in Los Angeles, some observers wonder whether she is a true democrat or an autocrat. One commentator compares her to Margaret Thatcher! {And MargaretT was the world's solution to everything, right? Did this Macaulayite not remember that there was an IndiraG before her?!}

It is a fact that Els succeeded in translating her ideas and opinion into a ‘consensus’ within the administration. {She bulldozed em, she threw away people who dissented by a presidential veto.} Her flair for quick decisions, even if they touched the contours of controversy, was interpreted as a streak of dominance. Another section views her tenure of eight years reason enough to give way to new ideas from a fresh incumbent. {Yea and some sanity in the hockey world} One source argues that Els should have read the mood when Peter Cohen, the secretary-general, withdrew his nomination after the contesting candidate, Leandro Negre, visited Australia, seeking support, and also when the European HF solidly backed him.

The rise and fall of Els will form an eventful chapter in the history of International Hockey Federation.
Meanwhile,
The Indian Olympic Association (IOA) appointed ad-hoc committee for hockey has initiated the process for appointing a foreign coach for the senior men's national team and had already interviewed a candidate for the top job. In September the ad-hoc committee had announced that a foreign coach would be appointed for the senior team but since then there has been hardly any development in this regard. "We have shortlisted some foreign coaches. They will be interviewed by IOA and SAI officials," IOA President Suresh Kalmadi said.

"Process has been initiated and one candidate is being interviewed also," said Kalmadi, refusing to disclose the identity of the foreigner. On the names recommended by Tayyab Ikram, chief of the International Hockey Federation's (IHF) coaching development wing, Kalmadi said those named were being considered. "There are some coaches of high repute but we cannot disclose the names right now," he said. Incidentally, the ad-hoc selection committee members are unaware of any such development.

"We could not have any decisive meeting in last four months. We met in Bhopal during junior team selection but did not discuss anything about the selection of coach," said a selection committee member on condition of anonymity. Of late, there has been little activity for the national team and despite plans to organise home-and-away international matches for them, the team have not played any international match after the Sultan Azlan Shah Tournament in May.

On the other side coach-in-charge Harender Singh, who recently held a one-month fitness oriented camp, admits that lack of international exposure has become a major worry for the national game now. "We had sent a mixed team to Azlan Shah Cup, so the last full fledged outing for senior team was Chile Olympic qualifiers in February-March. There were only 17 practice matches played last year while we must play at least 45 such matches every year to match the top teams," said Harender. "Players need to play quality matches with top teams like Holland, Argentina and Korea. If we want to be in top pool than international exposure is a must. I have sent a long term plan to IOA in which international exposure to players is my utmost priority," the coach-in-charge added.

It is learnt that media manager Anupam Gulati, who is travelling with the junior squad, will talk to Argentina hockey officials about the prospects of having a India-Argentina five-Test series there in January. Till then the senior players will take part in technique oriented camp in Bhopal from December 15. India will host a four-nation Punjab Gold Cup from January 31 to February 9 next year in Chandigarh and Jalandhar and apart from the hosts, Argentina, Holland and Pakistan are competing in this tournament.

Harender reiterated that his goal to reach the semi-finals of World Cup and the finals of Commonwealth Games, both the events to be hosted by the Capital in 2010, can be achieved only when the team plays international hockey on regular basis.

Why do even top coaches forget that Ami Ghia was world no 7 in 1983?!

Saina Nehwal’s entry into the top 10 in World ranking was hailed by former National badminton champion and former National chief coach U. Vimal Kumar, who termed it a “very creditable achievement.” Vimal Kumar told The Hindu, “by becoming the first Indian woman player in the World’s top 10, Saina has set a new benchmark for all our players. It means that she will be seeded in all major international tournaments and gets direct entries into Super Series events, which is not only a big honour, but also poses its own set of challenges.”

Elaborating on the challenges that Saina is likely to face on the road ahead, Vimal Kumar said: “Super Series events are confined to 16 to 32 players, and when one is in such a strong league there are chances that one can lose early. Saina too had lost in the first round of her last tournament. She should work on her mental toughness to take such defeats in her stride and work on her consistency, he said.

Vimal Kumar felt Saina has what it takes to stay in the top 10. “It is tough, but she can do it and for that she has to win tournaments or keep making the last eight or last four rounds in major events. It is bound to boost her confidence and help her keep her place in the top ten.” When asked whether a stint of training overseas would help her sustain her momentum, Vimal Kumar felt there was no need for it. “I think she is very happy with the training conditions here and she spars with quite a few top-notch players — both men and women. I don’t think she needs to train abroad,” said Vimal Kumar.

However, he was disappointed with the way the Badminton Association of India had scrapped major events for the remaining season. “There is nothing for our senior players on the calendar, whether it was due to financial crunch or due to security concerns, it is going to hurt the players. Especially when some of them are doing so well on the international circuit,” he added.
Arjun Atwal has every reason to smile, and perhaps every reason to be superstitious. Marking a fresh beginning on the USPGA Tour, he is not ready to divulge his gameplans and goals although "winning a tournament" is obviously highest on the priority list. A cherished USPGA debut followed by three years in purgatory have taught him to be prudent, and certainly the thoughtful pauses on Saturday had a story to tell. His assessment, however, revealed the crux of the tale, and it all started with a turning point.

"In January 2006, at Torrey Pines, I missed a four-foot birdie which would have taken me to a playoff with Tiger Woods but I pushed it right of the cup. I don’t know what happened that day but things were never the same. I developed a back problem as well and really, I should have taken a break. I lost my Full Tour privileges and got a conditional card. The next year, things just slipped from bad to worse. Golf was no longer my priority after the car accident and it was only after the birth of my second son in December that I began to look at life differently," he recounted his burdensome journey.

After the sudden enlightenment, Atwal regained his interest and confidence to swing back into action. Winning the Malaysian Masters early this year proved a positive catalyst and the 35-year-old ground his way through what he labels the "most competitive tour of the world" to cap his season with a victory at the Chattanooga Classic, earning a deserved ticket back to the premium class. "Apart from the win, I’ve been 2nd, 4th, 8th, 9th but you’ve got to understand that the Nationwide Tour is tougher than the PGA. The young and hungry guys vie with the desperate oldies for the Top 25 places. It’s an endless grind."

It’s the pot of gold at the end which is worth the trouble, and Atwal’s eyeing it, down to the last glitter. "I hate not defending a title but I won’t be playing on the European Tour. Next year, I have more important issues and I’ll play around 30 PGA events." But it won’t be all work and no play for the dedicated father. "I will take a summer hiatus, though. My stats show that I normally don’t do too well during that period and besides, my elder son would be on vacation. I want to be there whenever I can."

On the course, of course, he gets help only from the best. "Tiger Woods & I go to the same club, Isleworth in Florida. I see Sam Frost once or twice a week but the best bit is Tiger assisting with the short game. He is a regular, nice guy and never hesitates to explain the nuances." Being close to the World No. 1, it is only natural that Atwal was requested to satisfy the curiosity. "Well, he’s on a rehab programme now, lifting weights, working on upper body strength. For his knee, he’s been cycling for an hour in the morning and also in the evening but he has not hit a golf ball yet."

And never mind what Phil Mickelson says about the stagnancy of US golf. "I don’t care what he says. The economy of golf depends on Tiger. Once he’s back, the TRP will go up and help the sponsors." Atwal will also be back, with new sponsors and a new attitude. "I’ve gained a lot of experience now so I won’t be in awe of it all." The twinkle in his eyes had the promise of better times.

30th Federation Cup football - Calcutta, West Bengal:
December 5: Mahindra United 1-0 Hindustan Aeronautics Limited SC; Churchill Brothers SC 2-1 Mohammedan Sporting Club
December 7: Dempo SC - Chirag United SC (15.15 IST); Mumbai FC - State Bank of Travancore (17.45 IST)
December 8: Mahindra United - Churchill Brothers SC (15.30 IST); Mohammedan Sporting Club - Hindustan Aeronautics Limited SC (17.30 IST)
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

India will look to counter the robust tactics of world champions Argentina in their first of the four-match junior hockey test series at the Ciudad de Buenos Aires Club on Monday. India will also clash with Holland in a one off test on Friday. The 20-member Indian squad led by drag-flicker Diwakar Ram had light training today after arriving on Saturday. The under 21 team missed out on a tour to Pakistan last month due to government not granting them permission. However, they competed in the Senior Nehru Hockey tournament and won the coveted title.

Coach AK Bansal is confident that his charges will be well-prepared to counter the robust tactics of Argentina. "We will play hard and not be cowed down," said Bansal. India will have Mrinal Chaubey in the goal while the deep defence will be manned by Diwakar Ram and Innocent Kullu. The midfield responsibilities will be shouldered among Birender Lakra, Vikas Sharma, Vivek and Manjeet Kullu. Wingers Pramod Kumar and Danish Mujtaba along with strikers Jay Karan and Asif Khan are expected to provide the sting in the attack.

Argentina coach Pablo Lombi said that the series would be well fought and this would help both teams in their preparation for the Junior World Cup in Singapore and Malaysia in June next year. Argentina, who were trounced by India 6-1 in the final of 2001 Junior World Cup at Hobart, Australia, are captained by defender Martin Gebhardt. They will orchestrate a compact defence and midfield strategy and hope for strikers Augustin Mazzilli and Santiago Montelli to come good and score the goals.
Jeev Milkha Singh continues to touch dizzy heights and the on-song Indian leapfrogged to a career best 36th in the latest Official World Golf Rankings following his emotional triumph in the Golf Nippon Series JT Cup. The Golf Nippon Series JT Cup was clearly the most memorable victory for the Indian who was hardly in the right frame of mind with his wife recuperating in a Toky hospital after delivering a stillborn baby. Urged by her to play on, Jeev went on to win his second Japan Tour title of the year -- overall fourth this season --and the 24 rank points he earned in the process helped him break into the top 40, a height no Indian could reach before.

Besides the Golf Nippon Series JT Cup, Jeev's other triumphs this season include Singapore Open, Nagashima Shigeo Invitational Sega Sammy Cup and Bank of Austria Open. Jeev is also assured of this year's Asian Tour Order of Merit title. Among his compatriots, Jyoti Randhawa is ranked 147th, while the US-based Arjun Atwal (200th) is the only other Indian in the top 200. Indian Masters winner SSP Chowrasia is way behind at 323rd.
Three Indian shooters, including Olympic champion Abhinav Bindra, are among the top-10 in latest world shooting rankings released by International Shooting Sports Federation (ISSF). Bindra, who won India's maiden individual gold medal at Beijing in August, retained his second spot while World Cup Final gold medallist Gagan Narang moved up three places to the sixth spot in the men's 10-metre air rifle event.

In the men's double trap event, Ronjan Singh Sodhi retained his 10th spot. Sodhi was world No.1 in June after he won gold in Belgrade World Cup. "I am satisfied to move up few places in the latest world rankings and will try and do the same in the other two events (50-metre three position and prone) as well," said Narang. "I will now target to break into the top-3 bracket through the World Cups in 2009. I am going to take the 10m air rifle event a little easy now and work harder on the 50m three position and prone events for a year," he said.

Abhinav Bindra's Olympic gold is of no help to the country's other shooters, who are still an ignored lot, feels world record holder marksman Ronjan Sodhi. "The Olympic gold will do wonders for Abhinav personally but what good it has done to shooting in India as such?" asked Sodhi. "Ordinary shooters still have to beg and borrow for the guns and cartridges," he said as he practiced for the National Shooting Championships at the Jagatpura.

The double-trap marksman, who missed the wild-card for the Beijing Olympic just by a whisker, also felt that Abhinav's historic feat of winning the first individual Olympic gold would also be forgotten soon. "It has happened before too. People forget too soon," said Sodhi, who equalled the world record twice in the ISSF World Cup at Belgrade, Serbia, in June. Criticising the laxity of officials in the country, Sodhi said a lot more was required to be done for the sport of shooting in terms of better utilisation of facilities. "You have a world class range at Jagatpura but it's unlocked for us only now. I feel that all ranges should have guns and pellets for upcoming shooters. This would broaden the base of shooting in country. The facilities are not being utilised properly," he said.

The 29-year-old shooter, however, lauded NRAI for whatever it was doing for the sport. "It was hard to import the gun and pellets but now once you achieve a certain score you can easily import an air gun and pellets," he said. On personal front, Sodhi, being coached by renowned Australian Mark Russel (who guided Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore on his way to silver medal in Athens Olympics), said he was looking for an Italian master. "I am being coached by Australian Mark Russel but want to have an Italian coach. It is not that Mark is not proving useful. He is very good in certain things but as far as the guns goes Italians are best," he said.

Besides, he is working on improving his concentration, lack of which had cost him dear on a few occasions. "I am happy with the way I am shooting but I need to fine tune and try to improve on what I already have. I feel that sometimes I let go some chances. I want to improve my concentration. "I remember despite being in lead I could finish much lower. At some other tournaments, I could perform to perfection. At Belgrade, when I shot first 30 shots correctly I sensed I can match world record and I eventually did. But I missed the 46th bird and could not break the record, just equal it.

"Earlier, too I had missed out on certain occasions and that is why I wish to work on concentration aspect," said Sodhi, who belongs to a royal f
amily of Sodhinagar near Ferozpur in Punjab. Sodhi said he was eying to peak in 2010 which would be a "big" year for shooters. "This Year is not so important so we can have the luxury of experimenting with certain things. There are no quota places at stake and there will not be any important international events for a while so I will try out few things and would like to be in peak form in 2010 when Indians also host a World Cup prior to CWG in Delhi. It will be a big-big year in shooting," he said.

"There will be 10 quota places to take during Delhi World Cup. It will be a golden chance for the Indian shooters," said Sodhi. Asked if missing out on Beijing Olympics still weighed on his mind Sodhi said he had already forgotten it. "I could not get a wild card but it was a stroke of destiny. I have forgotten about it. I took a long break after that and I feel rejuvenated and fresh. I have started to practice and want to be in best form for the National championship here." About the Indian shooting scenario, he said it was on a high.

"After Rajyawardhan Singh Rathore winning the silver medal at Athens Olympics it was Abhinav Bindra who won the gold in Beijing. There have been other feats like me equalling the world record twice and Gagan Narang winning World Cup final at Bangkok. We have great depth now. "We have very good juniors in Asher Noria and Ajay Mittal apart from many others." Sodhi said he was confident of good showing in Delhi Commonwealth Games and said the problem of shortage of ammunition have been sorted out to some extent.

"It had become a laughing stock. For three years the problem persisted and nothing could be done. It was strange. But now preparations for Delhi CWG are being taken care of. Eight shooters in each event have already been shortlisted," said Sodhi. Regarding the flaws in the shooting range of Youth Commonwealth games at Pune recently, Sodhi said he was not there but knew of certain flaws. "NRAI relies on DK Shukla but he basically is a man related to armoury. He has little knowledge of technicalities of shooting ranges but there is no body else and we have to look at him only."
For the first time in more than a decade, India’s tennis sensation, Sania Mirza, was with her parents for nearly four months, courtesy an injury on her right wrist. But this wasn’t the kind of break that she was looking for. Sania, after all, has been eager to get back on court, her passion for the sport and the desire to experience the winning feeling being the driving factors in her comeback trail. Sania, 22, said she was really happy and feeling very good to be back on court for such long hours. “The most important thing is that I am back and so is my confidence,” she said in a chat with Sportstar.

For someone who is preparing to make a comeback during the high-profile, Continental exhibition tournament in Hong Kong in December (she will be representing Asia in the tournament that will feature players such as Jelena Jankovic, Maria Sharapova and Venus Williams) it is definitely difficult to be forced into a long break from competitive circuit. “But I am looking at it this way. Okay, let me deem the break as an off-season and start afresh my preparations,” Sania pointed out.

Watched by her father Imran Mirza and helped by coach Ganesh Raman and two Hyderabad players — Manchit Madan and Chetan Panditi — Sania seemed to have regained her confidence. “You go through a lean phase when you tend to get self-doubts because of the break. But the most important thing is you are coming out of that with all the support of the family and well-wishers. So, obviously, I am not looking too far ahead right now,” she explained. “The immediate focus will be on the National camp in Bangalore from December 1 to 25, featuring Mahesh Bhupathi and Rohan Bopanna among others,” Sania revealed.

How difficult was it to be away from the action? “Well, being denied the chance to compete, for reasons beyond my control, in the big league is one thing that I badly missed. The feeling of winning is something that cannot be substituted by anything else,” said Sania.

What are the grey areas of concern? “Well, for any sportsperson the solitary objective is to keep improving. And considering that I am back after a long gap, it might not be too easy,” she said. “This is the reason why I don’t want to think or give an impression that I can start winning matches straightaway,” added Sania, who is now ranked No. 99 in the world. “However, I can say that I am in the best frame of mind for the big league again,” said Sania, who will be helped by Sven Groeneveld, who also coaches the World No. 1 Jelena Jankovic.

What kept her going despite the injury? “The passion for the sport, the desire to come back and play against all the top players in the world,” said Sania. “Honestly, I was never worried about the numbers (rankings). Even when I was World No. 27, my focus was on how well I played on a given day, I did not give too much importance to rankings.” “By all means, this is the beginning of a new chapter in my career. Hope things will move in the right direction,” she added.

Sania is well aware of the challenges ahead. “We know that it is not going to be easy. And also that training and coming back to competitive circuit are two different things altogether,” she said. Imran is hopeful that Sania would get a direct entry to the Australian Open next year. “The cut-off ranking is around 100 and Sania should be there. She needs a couple of good wins to start with or else she will drop in rankings,” he pointed out. “I am very keen to see how she holds up in the highly competitive big league as we will be there in Melbourne a week before the Australian Open,” said Imran, who is immensely pleased that Sania has got the power back in her strokes, especially her forehand.
Full propaganda by the chinese continue to claim that china invented chess and it was "brought" to India by chinese monks. A full-blown :(( session is on in chessbase. They want the new tournament at Nanjing to be the "fourth" best in the world, or so chessbase claims.

Quoting the website "This event is striving to become the fourth major chess tournament in the world, after Wijk aan Zee, Linares and Dortmund." Whatever happened to Reggio Emilia (the first category 18 tournament when Anand won it in 1991), the Bulgarian govt funded M-tel tournament, Amber chess rapids+blindfold series, chess classic Mainz, Bilbao masters, Moscow grand prix and so on.... The chicomers need to first aspire to the chess bundesliga before aiming sky high. Too much takleef now that a sdre Injun is the world champion. Roll over guys, do the rotfl routine for the resident chicomers. Thanks for the participation.

Get to know Vidya Stokes, the candidate for vice-president of FIH, who lost in fact. She was on Leandro Negre's side instead of Els van Breda, the beatch.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vidya_Stokes
Vidya is also chairman of the Indian Hockey Confederation, a body created by herself and KPS Gill at the height of the santiago debacle to retain control of IWHF. The IHF supported her case despite the KPS Gill association and thats causing takleef to so many people. The IHF did the right thing in putting Indian camaraderie ahead of politics.

Another full blown crying session on among Indian hockey journos claiming IHF has "bitten the hand that fed us." Welcome to the neo-colonialist mindset. Only difference is people are kissing up to Dutch ass instead of British ass. All in all goras onlee... To quote one piece here,

Els spent considerable time and effort to improve the lot of Indian hockey. It is hurting that it's India that undermined her at Los Angeles. Only we, Indians, can do such acts of self-destruction. {Thanks bummer}

It now appears by trying to help India, Els had to face criticism in the FIH electoral college. All those who did not like her Indian interest, seemed to have used her Indian interest one of the tools against her in the lobbying process. Pitiably, India too joined its haters. Azlan Shah faction of Asian Hockey Federation is against Els, that is their problem. {The MHF and in extension the Asean countries hate her despite Breda doing a whole lot to push the champions trophy from lawhore to KL when Bombay and Delhi were presenting major claims. So, if despite all this, they hate her so much, its cos of her interventionalist attitude rather than going with culture and slowly effecting change. We had the same problems, so whats wrong in siding with the group. Indian interests, first.} I don’t find any reason why India has to be in that lobby, forgetting the fact that Els did everything possible for India. {This guy must be on pot to make this claim.}

To say that she worked only for Indian hockey promotion is not wholly true either. {How come a self-contradiction in the very fcking next line?} “If a country says our sport (hockey) is its national sport, we in the FIH are genuinely concerned our sport should do well in that country” – this is how she reasoned to this writer at Kazan. {First of all, hockey has become "their" sport. Before these goras knew how to spell hockey, we had Dhyan Chand, Roop Singh, Claude Aloysius, Baldev Singh & co. Then, Breda did nt help us in any regard. In fact, she harmed our interests more. Genuine interests or not, noone knows, but the end result was that more harm than good was done. The only bright thing was Jothik gang was busted, and KPS G shown the door for a while. But given that KPS G & co were in their last legs and Santiago happened, we did nt need FIH to enact change. Change was gonna happen anyway. So the FIH cant claim they enforced much. They were just colluders in a monkey chant game.}

If one looks at the views of the past FIH presidents, one can clearly make out all of them took special interest in Indian hockey. Etinnne Glictch, secretary-turned-FIH president, openly advocated removal of RN Prasad from the IHF presidency. Interested parties can browse the pages Sportstar and Saturday Sports Special section of The Hindu for those interviews. {So, why special interests in Breda? Will Leandro Negre be a fck up of a choice? Can this esteemed writer clear his head that access to RicC or Breda does not translate to good for Indian hockey, but good for sound bites that he can claim as "first to report."}

Gill was removed not because of anyone. He was removed after he supported Jothikumaran in the light of sting operation by a television channel. Whether this view is right or not, its the 'sting' and the national anger that followed finished the KPS Gill’s tenure. Yes, Els was vocal and we salute her for her forthright views in this issue. Had IOA President dissolved the IHF had not MS Gill, minister, supported him? Gill's removal was a national effort, Els certainly playing her bit for this. {you are basically repeating, what I said before. The claim that breda did great for us flies in the face of much even you have reported. I dont find anything deeply great behind her candidacy. IF KPS G's ouster was a national effort, what was FIH's claim to having enacted any part of it?}

If Els 'plotted' Gill’s ouster and ‘thrust’ Ric Charlesworth, world’s best coach, she was not sinning. By messing up everything, we are only sinning. {What a jackass argument! She plotted, and so this author claims with having ears into the inner circle. She thrust RicC and that too, he claims. Not sinning.... This is like folks choosing chinese level dictatorship for supposed growth. Sooner or later, the dragon will bite back cos if once thrust upon us, it sets a precedent. And we are not uncivilized third worlders to have choices thrust upon us either. We dont need civilization in the form of gora's advise. We are sane enough to pick our own crap and live with the consequences. Thanks for being in the interests of India and Indian hockey, mr journo.}
Shivani

Post by Shivani »

Sodhi takes a dig at Bindra
The Hindu wrote:
Jaipur (PTI): Abhinav Bindra's Olympic gold is of no help to the country's other shooters, who are still an ignored lot, feels world record holder marksman Ronjan Sodhi.

"The Olympic gold will do wonders for Abhinav personally but what good it has done to shooting in India as such?" asked Sodhi. "Ordinary shooters still have to beg and borrow for the guns and cartridges," he told PTI as he practiced here for the National Shooting Championships at the Jagatpura.

The double-trap marksman, who missed the wild-card for the Beijing Olympic just by a whisker, also felt that Abhinav's historic feat of winning the first individual Olympic gold would also be forgotten soon.

"It has happened before too. People forget too soon," said Sodhi, who equaled the world record twice in the ISSF World Cup at Belgrade, Serbia, in June. Criticising the laxity of officials in the country, Sodhi said a lot more was required to be done for the sport of shooting in terms of better utilisation of facilities.

"You have a world class range at Jagatpura but it's unlocked for us only now. I feel that all ranges should have guns and pellets for upcoming shooters. This would broaden the base of shooting in country. The facilities are not being utilised properly," he said.

The 29-year-old shooter, however, lauded NRAI for whatever it was doing for the sport. "It was hard to import the gun and pellets but now once you achieve a certain score you can easily import an air gun and pellets," he said.
I cannot understand why the GOI makes it so hard for Indian citizens to acquire firearms. We are not under British rule anymore, or are we? Why are so many firearm types outright banned?

Are they afraid that someday the citizens might get tired of esteemed politicians, babus and use them for some noble purpose? :)

The 'renowned shot' system is unacceptable. For an Indian it is easier -but not cheaper- to settle abroad and practice there! Issue license within 24 hours to any Indian who applies for one and let them buy/import any caliber pistol, smoothbore shotguns, and air rifles. Let people import ammunition in any quantity they wish from any manufacturer. People who get license and buy firearms for sporting or defensive reason don't go out and kill hundreds in Mumbai. :)

Only centerfire rifles may be restricted. Without the liberty to acquire quality firearms and ammunition, we can't hope to score more medals with any sort of consistency.
vavinash

Post by vavinash »

Stan the chinks have a massive inferiority complex with respect to Indians in chess. None of their players are good enough to be on top. They can at best aspire to be the tier-II also ran. 5000 BC chinks didn't have a clue about agriculture but they dream that they were playing chess :rotfl: . Try telling one of those proto-neanderthals that karate, kung-fu was copied from India kalari and see the color drain from their faces.

Stan_Savljevic wrote:Full propaganda by the chinese continue to claim that china invented chess and it was "brought" to India by chinese monks. A full-blown :(( session is on in chessbase. They want the new tournament at Nanjing to be the "fourth" best in the world, or so chessbase claims.
er, did they have elephants in china and did they use them in battles?
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

vavinash wrote:Stan the chinks have a massive inferiority complex with respect to Indians in chess.
That goes without saying. They have a massive inferiority complex in anything and everything, let alone chess. Some stars have aligned for a few years for them and they are reaping the benefits of that alignment. This economic meltdown will send them places.

None of their players are good enough to be on top. They can at best aspire to be the tier-II also ran.
The whole chicom machinery is seeing Anand's victory as a loss of face issue. Where an Indian gets to be no 1 is an insult for them. I have seen this "china invented chess" bullshit from chinese students here often enough. And most of them have no damn clue about chess. So it is most likely a history lesson they has been taught since class 3 or 4, in addition to the Indians worship cows, drink urine, Raj kapoor songs etc etc. Like the chinese machinery does for olympic medals, they are assembling a billion pyramid schemes to get to the world no 1.

And the players have been very strategic in building their ELO ratings. In fact, Wang Yue, Ni Hua and Bu Xiangzhi (even Hou Yifan) have been playing tournaments with a hell-bent desire to get to 2750+/2600 in Hou's case. (Massive takleef seeing Koneru Humpy there.) Only those tournaments where they can get good no of ELO points. In fact, Wang Yue is on a 60+ game non-defeat streak and guess what, 70-80% of the games have been played against also-rans. That plus, the massive cook-book scheme that liveratings + FIDE points are, he has jumped from 2700 to 2750 in double quick fashion (in 4 months). Vishy Anand took 3 years to go from 2700 to 2750 and another 6 years to go from 2750 to ~2800. These days, points can be earned in buckets. I am worried about the scandalous FIDE scheme cos one day some country bumpkin is gonna scale 2900 -- someone like Topalov on a gaming spree can induce such a cataclysm.

The way this system has been skewed, there is clearly no incentive for a top player to gain/maintain points whereas the bottom players can very quickly crowd upwards. This is like the chit-fund scams of eons back. Most likely, FIDE copied this strategy from the chinese economic cook-book frauds!

Chess moving from being a fun game to one where overt nationalism and huge prize money as bargaining chips has meant many crooks have entered the fold. I have never been comfortable with Silvio Danailov and the Topalov winning-machine that was seen in Mtel three years back. The form he showed after being the last in the field in the first half of the tournament to winning all the games in the second half (and the tournament) has made many a dog stop barking and take notice. That plus, Shirov's open guess that Topalov cheats, Kramnik-gate, Nigel Short's taunts about cheats in the game etc all suggest some form of underhand schemes that noone can probably discover immediately, but everyone is sure is there. We already had one guy getting caught in India and the US.

Sooner or later, unless there is consistent cheating, people implode. Bu Xiangzhi made a vigorous climb to the top and then of late, he has been imploding. Same case for Aronian. Topalov seemed to have cut a corner with his loss to K-man, but more recently the olympiad has upped his position somewhat. Old men Ivanchuk and Anand have been the only consistent performers -- and perhaps the most cleanest. Both have never been seen indulging in even a temper tantrum, let alone cheating. If I can venture a guess, I see something off with all these vigorous climbs. As Aronian said, these days with computers becoming the norm, people have to check and study games that were played only hours back. Its time that Fischer random and machine-assisted games become the norm. There are way too many cookings going on in the classical game -- let alone the chinese duck version, that it is no longer enjoyable following classical chess. Anand may perhaps be the last universally acclaimed clean world champion!
vavinash

Post by vavinash »

Koneru needs to shift to higher gear. She has a poor record against Hifan. She should be pushing aiming for 2650 soon.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Birthday boy and captain Diwakar Ram struck a hat-trick to gift India 3-2 win over World Champions Argentina in their opening Under-21 Test match at the Ciudad Club de Buenos Aires in Argentina. India had some early scares with Argentina exhibiting electric forays, unnerving the visitors' defence but they soon came to terms with the opposition stepping up their pace with flair and fluency.

Diwakar scored his first goal in the ninth minute and consolidated their position just 10 minutes later through a penalty corner conversion. India led 2-0 at the lemon break. After changing sides, India increased their lead to 3-0 in 55th minute while the Argentines only reduced margins by sounding the board in the 64th and 67th minutes of the game. {This needs working on.... the guys relax after having the match in the kitty... On a bad day, they would have drawn the match. On a worser day, lost. Why why why? Why are they following the seniors in this trend?!}

Earlier, India forward Jay Karan was set up by midfielder Vikas Sharma inside the striking circle before he was obstructed by Nahuel Salis. The resultant penalty corner was sunk in by Diwakar with a low drag-flick past goalkeeper Ezequiel Olivero in the ninth minute. Stung by this reversal, Argentina tried to find an equaliser and earned their first penalty corner when a breach was committed inside the crowded circle by full back Innocent Kullu. However, even though custodian Mrinal Chaubey warded off the attempt from Augustin Cabrera the umpire ruled it illegal resulting in a penalty stroke. {As expected, must have been a gora ump!} Chaubey rose to the occasions as he foiled Santiago Montelli with precision. {What a H&D blow, even with umps, they cant convert PS! Qweschun to ump: Why not retake the PS?!}

India continued their domination with more firepower from Pramod Kumar and Mandip Antil being fed by midios Vivek Sharma, Manjeet Kullu and Birendra Lakra. They had their rivals caught on the wrong foot with strikers Danish Mujtaba and Amir Khan engineering crafty moves in the danger area. Another orchestrated attack got India its second penalty corner 10 minutes later with Diwakar not disappointing the Indian supporters.

India maintained the same tempo upon resumption even though coach AK Bansal made rapid substitutions by trying out the greenhorns. A shaken Argentina conceded another penalty corner in the 55th minute which the Indian skipper converted clinically in the roof of the net. But thereafter complacency and over confidence appeared to have crept in. A few erroneous missed traps in the defence spurred Argentina to seize their opportunities as they scored two goals in quick succession in the 64th and 67th minutes through Alan Andino and Agustin Mazzilli. India, however, held out the final minutes as Argentina went all out in the hunt for the equaliser.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Even as speculation is rife in the hockey community about the World Cup consequent to the change of guard last week, Leandro Negre, the new President of FIH, is chalking out a programme to visit Delhi during the first fortnight next month. This is purely aimed at making a personal study of the progress related to hosting the premier hockey event in 2010. Quite understandably, the FIH is unable to formulate a plan based on the inputs by those charged with the conduct of the event, although it is joint venture between the FIH and the Indian Olympic Association, which is administering the sport through an ad hoc committee.

A section in the FIH is wondering whether it will pay dividends to do business till 2010 with an ad hoc body. An influential segment sees several loopholes likely to develop as time passes. One source privy to the thinking of the FIH President reveals that a clear picture will emerge only by March-April 2009. An added worry is the security environment in the continent that had contributed to shifting the Champions Trophy twice in recent years. Australia is known to be fussy about security concerns and withdraws its players at the first sign of alarm. {Pussies that they are, they wont withdraw from England alone when the July 07 bums exploded}

With those in FIH responsible for anchoring India as the destination of the World Cup being out of the administrative ambit, the foremost question relates to bringing new members to strengthen the FIH side to work on various aspects like sponsorship, marketing, accommodation etc. A change of committees in the FIH is likely to be effected in February, and this may indicate the line of thinking on the issue by the top brass. Mr. Negre is scheduled to visit the FIH headquarters in Lausanne this week to meet the staff and other officials to actually begin his reign.

There is, however, a view that since awarding the World Cup was a decision of the Executive Board, the contemplation of a change does not, or need not, arise at this juncture unless the circumstances become unavoidable. “At the moment, India is the place for the World Cup,” declared one of the top functionaries. Meanwhile, there is a question mark over the continuation of the Special India Project in co-ordination with the International Olympic Committee. The offer of Bob Davidzon, the Project Director, to quit is a sign that there are different voices within the FIH over the issue. It is learnt that Mr. Negre expressed reservations over the exercise in the pre-Congress meetings at Los Angeles.

This probably forced Davidzon put in his papers. However, Davidzon is prepared to reconsider if the FIH is ready to go ahead with the project. He says the work regarding to framing the constitution of Hockey India is nearing completion. A dissenting voice in the FIH believes the Special India Project was linked to the appointment of Ric Charlesworth. {So that is it, folks. You see it developing more clarity. Project India has nothing to do with India, it is all about RicC!! So much for that being Project India.} Since that issue developed into a lot of bitterness and acrimony, reviving the project in the changed circumstances needs to be thoroughly examined. If the current thinking in the higher echelons is anything to go by, the project getting back on rails looks slim.

Another fall-out as a result of the change in the FIH power structure and alignment is hockey going unrepresented in the International Olympic Committee. Els van Breda Vriesman, who lost the race for the third term as President, cannot remain as member in the IOC Council. She has also moved out of the IOC Evaluation Committee for the 2016 Olympics and also from the Association of International Federations (ASOIF). That interesting days are ahead for hockey, especially for those willing to see it from an Indian perspective, is no understatement. {Wow, what a singularly well-thought out ending statement that nails the main point.}

The Indian boxing quartet of Akhil Kumar, Jitender Kumar, A.L. Lakra and Dinesh Kumar is all set for a shot at World Cup glory when the five-day prize money event kicks-off here on Wednesday. Akhil (54kg) and Jitender (51kg) got a direct entry to the tournament as they had made the quarterfinals in the Beijing Olympics, but Lakra (57kg) and Dinesh (81kg) found their way to the draw after a few pull-outs in their respective categories.

The event was originally open to only the top eight from the Beijing Games, but pull-outs forced the organisers to give wild cards. The World Cup offers not just medals but cash prizes as well with the gold medallist getting $10,000 and the silver medallist and the bronze medallist pocketing $5,000 and $2,500 respectively.

Indian boxing official, Jay Kowli, will be on duty as a referee-judge at the AIBA World Cup men’s championships from December 10 to 14 in Moscow (Russia). Kowli had earlier officiated at the AIBA World youth championships in Guadalajara (Mexico) where India’s Thokchom Nanao Singh won the 48kg gold.

If Leander Paes is in town, how can he stay away from soccer, his professed first love? Given half a chance to show off his soccer skills, the tennis ace has always grabbed it with both feet, without ever making a fool of himself. He did it again, on a pleasant Tuesday afternoon at the Mohun Bagan ground. The plan was ‘hatched’ on Monday, when Paes called ‘dear friend’ Baichung Bhutia on landing in Kolkata for a two-day visit. But this was not any normal session; this was Mohun Bagan gearing up for Friday’s Federation Cup against Oil India. The coach’s permission had to be obtained, since such an important tournament was knocking at the door. Karim Bencherifa readily agreed, much to Paes and Bhutia’s delight.

He enjoyed every moment of the outing with Bhutia, Jose Ramirez Barreto and the rest, turning nostalgic when asked about the experience. "This was like getting back to my roots... I used to come to the Mohun Bagan ground regularly for my dad’s (hockey) matches when I was a kid. Any visit to this ground or anywhere in this great city is always special."

The focus then shifted to tennis, the topics ranging from Roger Federer to Somdev Devvarman. That he is a staunch Federer fan came out clearly once again. "He’s had a great year, but lost two major finals and people are making so much of it. The problem is, Roger’s set such a high standard for himself... I’m sure he has at least a couple of more Grand Slams left in him. Maybe he’ll surpass (Pete) Sampras’ record in 2009 itself." He has always rated young Somdev highly and admired his work ethics. "He’s the hardest worker among Indian players. He has a good chance of breaking into the top 100 next year."
Singha, this one is for you. An up and coming Injun chess player.
http://www.chessbase.de/2006/albers/Nad ... uttika.JPG
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Profligate forwards squandered chances galore as India, despite dominating the proceedings, settled for a 1-1 draw with Argentina in the second of the four under-21 hockey 'test' match at the Club Ciudad de Buenos Aires here. India dictated terms for most part of the match but could score only once through a solo by right winger Mandip Antil in the 44th minute.

Argentina, to their credit, waged a grim battle and the reward came in the 61st minute when Santiago Montelli scored the equaliser from a penalty stroke. The hosts began aggressively, trying to break the ice as their rivals took time to settle. They forced two penalty corners in quick succession but while the first flick went wide, the second was well taken by Indian custodian Mrinal Chaubey.

India soon got their bearings and mounted sorties with regularity. They dominated the midfield and created openings around Argentina's semi-circle with crafty interchanges and off-the-ball running. However, they failed to find the target, especially with the opponent goalkeeper Ezequiel Olivero doing a good job under the bar.

Got this update via email from Manisha Malhotra of Mittal Champion's Trust :

Akhil kumar has won his quarter final bout against Marcel Schneider (GER)
15:6 at the world cup finals in Moscow. This is a tournament that has the
world's top 8 boxers and now Akhil is guaranteed a medal. He fights cuban
pugilist Yankiel Leon Alarcon (CUB) in the semis who was the silver medalist
at the Beijing Games. Akhil however seems confident and says his body is
feeling great. He has been training hard with MCT trainer Heath Matthews who
has got his body in optimum shape.
This is a proud moment for us at the trust especially because akhil is
someone we have really brought through rough times and also since he was so
close to a medal at Beijing this will give him a boost and some redemption.
This is also the 1st medal India has won at a world cup level in 14 years.
Akhil fights his next bout on the 13th.
Next up later on tonight is the other boxer Dinesh Kumar who is up against a
tough opponent in Abdelhafid Benchabla (ALG) who he lost to at Beijing, but
as always we all know today is a new day and anything can happen.

Added: Dinesh Kumar has also won.

http://www.aiba.org/default.aspx?pId=2179#
54 kg
SCHNEIDER Marcel GER RED
KUMAR Akhil IND BLUE
Winner: BLUE PTS 15:6

81 kg
BENCHABLA Abdelhafid ALG RED
KUMAR Dinesh IND BLUE
Winner: BLUE PTS 17:11

Thursday schedule:
51 kg
KUMAR Jitender IND
GAGE Jo WAL

57kg
LAKRA Lalit Anthresh IND
SANTOS REYES Arturo MEX

Vijender Kumar is not listed for the tournament in the Middleweight category, where he has a bronze in the Asiad and Olympics. Odd.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Suraj wrote: Vijender Kumar is not listed for the tournament in the Middleweight category, where he has a bronze in the Asiad and Olympics. Odd.

Beijing bronze medallist Vijender Singh (75kg) has pulled out citing a back injury.

http://newsx.com/story/37009
http://newsx.com/story/37765
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

I was looking for the news on the Jr hockey test matches on the web. I am just posting my random thoughts + what I found.

First of all, an intro: India has always had a strong jr team -- 1997 runners up, 2001 winners thrashing Argentina 6-1 in the finals, 2005 -- semi-finalists and 4th spot after losing the bronze play-off to Spain 6-5 on penalty strokes. In any case, we deserved at least a bronze with the usual suspects, the Oiropean umps, playing as the 12th player for the oppn team. See below for more info.
http://www.hinduonnet.com/tss/tss2831/s ... 907200.htm
(The next yr tournament is set for Johor Bahru, Malaysia/Singapore.) So we should nt have expected a flop shop at Argentina even though the Argentines are the reigning world champions after a last min goal against Oz in 2005 finals. In any case, the main priority on this tour:
Junior National hockey team coach A K Bansal has set his priorities in place for the upcoming Test series in Argentina and said he would be working on finetuning his boys in powerplay, a department in which the Argentines rule world hockey. Bansal said he is realistic about the tour and doesn't have loads of expectations against the formidable Argentines. "Argentina is a very tough team and are the winners of the last Junior World Cup. The Argentines are known for their body play and our boys required that experience, so for long I was trying for the trip and eventually it materialised," Bansal told reporters.

In terms of performance, the Indian defence, except for a brief lull in the first match, has snuffed the more physically aggressive Argentine team in Argentina. Thats an indication that this (and perhaps all old) Indian hockey team(s) can match the physical play of European/Arg/Aus teams. The question then is one on offence. The offence missed a load of opportunities in the second game. Even the first game should have been won by an immense margin from all the reports I read. The juniors seem to have inherited the lapse in concentration bug from the seniors. Unless this gets changed and changed quickly, the Sydney Poland fiasco is gonna be often remembered.

There are two more tests against Argentina in the next 4 days. Perhaps one on 11th and one on 14th. I have nt seen the schedule anywhere. Then there is one more test match against the Dutch team. This set of juniors is shaping up super well. AK Bansal seems to have honed the juniors rather superbly. Quite a few of them are good to join the senior team in their original capacities. Diwakar Ram, Mandeep Antil etc seem to be fit cases for promotion. Mandeep may need more exposure. Another up and coming player is Jai Karan. You will hear this name again soon. He scored 7 goals in the Nehru cup when the jrs won the title. He is doing well in Argentina also. There have been many cuttings and changings to this team.

Mohammed Amir, Asif Khan, Birender Lakra, Hari Kripal and Santosh are the other new faces while Asia Cup players Gurbaz Singh, Gurwinder Chandi, S.V. Sunil, goalkeeper P.R. Sreejesh and Roshan Minz were left out. "We decided to change some of the players from the Asia Cup squad. Though we won the tournament, the performance of some of the players were below par while some graduated to seniors. That's when we picked up new boys from the camp and gave opportunities to those who were warming the benches, keeping an eye on the future," Bansal said.

PR Sreejesh also seems capable of making it big. Once Adrian D'Souza needs a deputy, he has a few choices to pick from. He was doing well under the bar in the Nehru cup. Dont know why he was dumped from this squad.
Here is one news clip about him. In his absence, we have

India will have a new goalkeeper in Mrinal Chaubey while Santosh Kumar is the second choice. “Mrinal did not get too many chance but whenever he played, he gave his best. Now he will have a full tournament,” the coach added.

FORGET astroturf, you won’t even bump into a decent hockey ground in Kerala. And if you accidentally pursued the game, chances are that you would end up ruing all those wasted time. But goalkeeper PR Sreejesh, only the third international from the State, embraced the sport with unbridled enthusiasm. Not only he bestrided the countless hurdles that confronted him, but also proved his mettle to earn 14 senior caps. But not before trying his hand in athletics and volleyball. Incidentally, he earned his admission to the GV Raja Sports School in Thiruvananthapuram by virtue of his credentials in shot put. However, driven by boredom he shifted to volleyball. But as destiny had it, one day he was asked to strap the pads in a district-school tournament, as the regular goalkeeper was injured.

From that point he developed a passion for the game. Despite proper mentoring, he picked up the basics of goalkeeping by reading hockey manuals and watching the sport on television. He never missed an opportunity to learn further about the game. Every piece of advice, from senior players during State camps, was grasped with alacrity . But it was not until he was picked in the national junior camp in 2003 that he decided to take the sport as a profession. “That was my hour of reckoning. I realised that I am good enough to play for the nation and belonged to the league,” he reflected.

Making his junior debut for India in the Australian series in Perth (2004), Sreejesh soon cemented his place in the squad. The same year, he earned a senior cap in the India-France Test series. But his unforgettable moment came a year later when he countered the rampaging Pakistanis in the final of a junior four-nation series in Pakistan (2005). Though India lost the match 2-3, Sreejesh was applauded for his bravado. “It was easily the best match I had played. The Pakistanis were literally storming the D and I had to make a save almost every minute,” recollected the IOB player.

Occasionally , he played in the senior team, like in the 2008 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup. However, the presence of two quality goalkeepers in Baljit Singh and Adrian D’Souza (his idol) meant that he had to bide his time. Only 20, Sreejesh hopes to polish his skills and help the junior side win more tournaments. “I have to improve a lot if I have to match them. Both (Baljit and Adrian) have helped me a lot in national camps. Hopefully , I can one day fill in their shoes,” said Sreejesh.

There has been an unending exodus from the snr team: Len Aiyappa, Adam Sinclair, Prabodh Tirkey (dumped unceremoniously after the Santiago debacle) etc. Sandeep Singh (the man in form in the 2005 jr world cup where we finished 4th after losing the semis to Argentina) is not back to old form. He is now too senior for a jr team though. Jugraj has not been seen anywhere also. So Diwakar Ram, the new junior team wonder, needs to be taken care of well. Like Ishant Sharma, if you will. Another old piece.

Captaincy in hockey may no longer hinge on seniority alone. It will depend on contemporary virtues which combine to make a good leader, including communication skills, practical wisdom and the ability to think on one’s feet. India’s experiments with captains, with criteria ranging from seniority to absolute poise on the field, haven’t helped much with Prabodh Tirkey, the midfielder who led the country in its disastrous Olympic qualifier earlier this year, drawing flak for his not-so-evident leadership qualities.

Obviously, captaincy these days is as much about charisma as it is about tactical acumen, a truth not entirely lost on coach in-charge Harendra Singh. "I am in no hurry to choose the captain," declared Harendra on the opening day of the men’s camp at the SAI, South Centre. "Every player here will be told that he is the potential captain of the team. His behaviour on and off the field, leadership qualities, understanding of the game and the ability to think his way out of difficult situations will be the qualities I will be looking for."

One of the main attributes that Harendra will monitor is a player’s communication skills. In the next few days, he will identify potential leaders among defenders, midfielders and frontliners and assign roles to them on the pitch. "They will be responsible for the efficiency of their zone. They will also be asked to communicate with the other zones so that the team plays as a well-knit unit. Later, in team meetings, these leaders will discuss their ploys, strategies, scores and misses with the coaches before we embark on a bigger meeting with the other probables."

Harendra is not loath to the idea of trying out a few players as captains in the preparatory tournaments for the 2010 World Cup and the Commonwealth Games. "Multiple captains in smaller exposure tournaments will help me decide who the ideal candidate will be. Both the World Cup and Commonwealth Games are big tests ahead of us." Like his predecessors, Harendra laid emphasis on fitness and discipline. "The first week here will be devoted to tests in physiology and bio-mechanics. The test results will determine a player’s fitness regimen and practice and game routine," he said. "The players will be responsible for their fitness during camp breaks. Any drop in fitness levels will mean the player will not be eligible for selection. He will, of course, have to work out in a parallel camp on his fitness."

Harendra also has plans to invite senior umpires for educative sessions during the camp. "Most of the fouls occur because of ignorance. From now on, umpires will be part of every camp, talking to the players about the rules."

CAMP NOTES:
1. 39 players reported on the first day. Arjun Halappa, who got married on Sunday, and Bimal Lakra, whose wife is down with dengue, have not reported. Ignace Tirkey, SV Sunil and Kaalu Ram are playing in the inter-Services tournament while Senthil and Sreejesh will join the camp soon.
2. Players resolve not to use mobile phones during practice sessions. All mobiles to be switched off after 10 pm.
3. Junior players will not be included in the senior camp until the Junior World Cup in June 2009.

So what now needs to be done is to wait and see how the Argentines react at home to being 1-0 down in the series half-way through. Are they gonna throw sucker punches at the Indian team and can the Indian team stand blow for blow and deliver the winning nail in the coffin tomorrow? In any case, this has been an eye-opening trip for AK Bansal to forward to the senior team. Alas, the senior team has no coach who can take note of AK B's recommendation though :(.

On a side note, I noticed that Dr MGR university (in Madras) has bestowed an hon doctorate on Sania Mirza. Before that, there was an hon doctorate for Kamal Hassan from Sathyabama university. Will these once "deemed" universities and now full "universities" stop cheapening the Doctor honoris causa that is meant for doyens in certain special fields! What has Sania and Kamal done beyond the normal to get these awards? At least the case of Kamal can be plausibly argued, but the case of Sania is too odd! Why not Leander then, he has proved himself infinitely often for this country. But yea, when people sell their souls anything is possible in today's India. It just makes folks who have got doctorate by research and the real doctors (those who are useful to people in some way) feel a bit too stupid!

AIBA Boxing World Cup Day 2

51 kg
KUMAR Jitender IND RED
GAGE Jo WAL BLUE
Winner: RED PTS 18:6

57 kg
SANTOS REYES Arturo MEX RED
LAKRA Lalit Anthresh IND BLUE
Winner: BLUE WO

So all four Indian boxers are in the semifinals and guaranteed of medals, an unprecedented feat, since the last world level medal was 14 years ago, apparently.

Nice to see atleast someone walking the talk(unlike our netas)....

http://www.hindu.com/2008/12/12/stories ... 701700.htm
Sania Mirza gets a doctorate

“When I started to play tennis, I wanted to be a doctor. I had to choose between tennis and being a doctor and I chose tennis. Now, thanks to MGR University, both my dreams have come true,” said tennis star Sania Mirza, when she was conferred with the degree of doctor of letters by MGR Educational and Research Institute University, here on Thursday.

Attired in a dress befitting the occasion, Sania entered the auditorium making the photographers go berserk. She said, “I feel honoured. A special thanks to MGR University.”

Responding to the University’s wish that she start a tennis academy in Bangalore, Chennai or Hyderabad, Sania said she would certainly consider it.

Sania, now ranked 101, said she is enjoying her training sessions with Mahesh Bhupathi, Rohan Bopanna and the others in Bangalore.

“I am training five to six hours a day with an American coach and am enjoying it. We are punishing our bodies. In a way it’s relaxing to come here,” she said.
Well, if useless two-bit politicians and cine-actors can be given doctorates, she can be given one too. Some recognition is always good.