Re: The Cricket Thread

1992 WC?

Tanaji wrote:1992 WC?
Kafir. Don't you remember Imran bhai holding the world cup dressed in green?

I don't have time to go through all but any interested folks can look up here for a list of India's ODI series since 1990. I clicked the first few but cricinfo does not have photos for many of those series in its archives. For some, I could see Kapil etc. in whites.

hint : it's quite easy if you use my hint. :P

Sehwag's debut was in April1999 against Pak

oopsie, I made a mistake about sehwag. for some reason I was thinking his debut was the 58 against aus.

anyway the answer is : Ind V Zim ODI series 2000.

^^ I was just about to post the same thing saar ! http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc_cricket ... 02655.html

I just knew it would be Mahanama or the usual suspects..

graeme swann has been said by english media to be best off spinner in world.

he has a good test coming up on saturday vs sehwag,gambhir and srt. not saying who will win, but its a good test vs confident players of off spin.

If BD lose to Ireland and we win against the white Pacquis then it would make a great February ending!

Get gawd's autograph if you meet in person, and copy a link here with a pic.

When was the last Test that had a "Rest Day"? I remember in the 80s this was common. Nowadays, no one has time for rest. :eek:

Has Swann ever played in ODIs against India ? I remember in Chennai test he took 2 wickets in each innings and iirc 3 were lbws, pretty much in line with what Harbhajan had to say about him i.e. he bowls wicket to wicket.

KJoishy wrote:When was the last Test that had a "Rest Day"? I remember in the 80s this was common. Nowadays, no one has time for rest. :eek:
The rest day was when most of the fixing was done

negi wrote:Has Swann ever played in ODIs against India ? I remember in Chennai test he took 2 wickets in each innings and iirc 3 were lbws, pretty much in line with what Harbhajan had to say about him i.e. he bowls wicket to wicket.
IIRC Sehwag gave him a good hiding in one of the ODIs he played against us. Our batters will enjoy batting against him, for them it is just a matter of dismantling another reputation. England doesn't have a bowler who can win them a match against us so which ever team bats better on the day will win. AoA onlee.

swann meanwhile playing the snooty pom to perfection.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2011/fe ... -world-cup
Before the terrorist attacks in Mumbai resulted in the cancellation of the last two matches in 2008, England lost 5-0. "That's certainly something we want to turn around, because there is nothing better than silencing an Indian crowd," added Swann.
Asked about how to stop Sehwag's punishing strokeplay, for example, he said: "We've got our game plans and we know how we're going to bowl at him but I'm not going to tell the press and give him a heads-up.
"India will never be the new home of cricket – because there is always Trent Bridge.
:roll: :rotfl:
"For an Englishman in India it will always be right up there. It certainly wouldn't top playing at Lord's or Sydney but it's pretty close."

^ Good for him, after the match on 27th he would need this.

What is that Negiji....one of those Kin-key things hain?

^ Neck support ! :x Swann will need it after being hit out of the park by likes of Sehwag and Pathan.

Mahendra wrote:What is that Negiji....one of those Kin-key things hain?

I'm surprised the English aren't jumping up and down about bace and pounce. One Shri Caddick did a lot of talking before the encounter in 2003 WC and his pacy short one was promptly deposited out of the stadium by SRT. SRT was batting like a dream during the 2003 WC and it was perhaps the only occasion in my opinion where he looked streets ahead of Lara. I'm sure all the Quadianis here would grudgingly acknowledge that the 98 SRT scored against the Terrorists 11 was almost as good as winning the WC.
Till that match almost every Paki commentator would drop in a few lines about Miandad's sixer at Sharjah. Post centurion in 2003 hardly anyone talks about it.

+++1 ^

:twisted:

I hope kari naaku Shastri or SG makes a mention of Caddick's taunt and the resultant jhapad at sachins hand. Swann sure does seem like hes setting himself up for something this time. Sachin doesnt talk much but Viru certainly does :)
R_Kumar

Post by R_Kumar »

I remember SRT in white when he was brutal with Australia back in 1998 and made very quick 100 in Kanpur ODI. It was triangular series(Ind-Aus-Zim). In my memory that was the last time I saw Indian team playing ODI in white. Just after this series we had famous desert storm in color cloths.

The English will come well prepared, no doubts about it. What they can't prepare for is the individual brilliance of the Indian batters. Each one of our top 7 can play a blinder and knock them out. Sachin, Sehwag and Yuvraj in particular have a liking towards the English bowling. What they haven't experienced is Pathan storm. If Shri Shri Swann ji gets to bowl to Pathan it is going to be very interesting to watch.

What our batters need to look out for is complacency and over confidence.

PS: The curator can throw a spanner in the works by preparing a slow low wicket

R_Kumar wrote:
I remember SRT in white when he was brutal with Australia back in 1998 and made very quick 100 in Kanpur ODI. It was triangular series(Ind-Aus-Zim). In my memory that was the last time I saw Indian team playing ODI in white. Just after this series we had famous desert storm in color cloths.
I remember Zaheer Khan hitting Henry Olonga for 4 consecutive sixers in 2000?
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Mahendra wrote: batters.
For all ye reminiscing white flannels vs. pajamas, when did the term batsmen get out of vogue and started getting replaced with batters? Is that Queen's Anglais?! When did batswoman get replaced with batter?

Mahendra wrote:
R_Kumar wrote: I remember SRT in white when he was brutal with Australia back in 1998 and made very quick 100 in Kanpur ODI. It was triangular series(Ind-Aus-Zim). In my memory that was the last time I saw Indian team playing ODI in white. Just after this series we had famous desert storm in color cloths.
I remember Zaheer Khan hitting Henry Olonga for 4 consecutive sixers in 2000?
heh, we lost that match due to the antics of one douglas marilier who invented the scoop through leg slip.

Mahendra wrote:Till that match almost every Paki commentator would drop in a few lines about Miandad's sixer at Sharjah. Post centurion in 2003 hardly anyone talks about it.
Not a fan of Manjrekar...but he did stick it to Aamir Sohail. There was another match in the same ground that these two were commentating on

Sohail: blah blah blah
Manjrekar: Yeah. There was another match a few days ago here. Did you happen to watch it?
Sohail: <Silent for quite a few seconds> Yes Sanjay, I did watch that match. :rotfl:

Stan_Savljevic wrote:
Mahendra wrote: batters.
For all ye reminiscing white flannels vs. pajamas, when did the term batsmen get out of vogue and started getting replaced with batters? Is that Queen's Anglais?! When did batswoman get replaced with batter?
Not the Queen's Anglais but certainly the Convict's
Bichel let off, Gillespie challenges Indian batters
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Like all good things in oz, that is also a copycat version of something umrikan. It is still jarring to the ear when I get those "hi maite" emails.

Yeah maite! can't agree more. Imagine an OZ nurse asking a patient who just got admitted from Casualty " Have you come To-die"?
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Very witty Mahendra!!
Manu

Post by Manu »

Gus wrote:
Mahendra wrote:Till that match almost every Paki commentator would drop in a few lines about Miandad's sixer at Sharjah. Post centurion in 2003 hardly anyone talks about it.
Not a fan of Manjrekar...but he did stick it to Aamir Sohail. There was another match in the same ground that these two were commentating on

Sohail: blah blah blah
Manjrekar: Yeah. There was another match a few days ago here. Did you happen to watch it?
Sohail: <Silent for quite a few seconds> Yes Sanjay, I did watch that match. :rotfl:

That was Ramiz Raja - 400% sure. Not Aamir Sohail.

^ Good for him. Amir Sohail got his answer by one Shri Venktesh Prasad. Never been so proud in my life I guess.

archan wrote:^ Good for him. Amir Sohail got his answer by one Shri Venktesh Prasad. Never been so proud in my life I guess.
That is one of the best moments in Indian cricket.
Speaking of Sohail, don't forget Sidhu paaji episode:

Heard there was baton charging during India England ticket sale... did you join in the fun Marten bhau?
rvishwak

Post by rvishwak »

Mahendra wrote:
rvishwak wrote:on a serious note If betting in UK is legal can an Indian citizen residing in India place a bet?
Absolutely, you can bet by proxy. If you could transfer the amount to my account then I will provide you with further details.

I am 400% trustworthy onlee. Many mullahs here will vouch for me( after I give them their cut)

unsolicited advice. Do not venture into betting unless you are Daewoo Bhai or his Pawarful friend
advice taken chance to get rich quick gone :(

rvishwak:

The problem is not betting itself, the issue is how will you place the bet and get the earnings? To bet in UK, you will need to pay up in pounds, which lets assume you manage some how, but if you win, how will you get your earnings back? The winnings will be in pounds, which have to be sent to a UK bank account. By law, a resident Indian cant have a foreign account. There is of course hawala, but then thats the sticky slope there...