India-US Strategic News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

The school is not for reg Indians though, only for NRIs and that too for grades 10-12 only. Some agreement with Govt of India in this respect.

AES Budget details

Its a Cash rich Fat Cow not paying taxes lying to the Indian Govt and Delhi Govt. Kerariwal , are you listening?

a_bharat wrote:
chaanakya wrote: No wonder they are caught in their own games with their pants down.Now they delay in giving information. What happened to law abiding nature of theirs and their declaration by Harf baby that they follow local laws.
Well, they are taking the 5th.
That would be taking 20th in India though?

a_bharat wrote:
chaanakya wrote: No wonder they are caught in their own games with their pants down.Now they delay in giving information. What happened to law abiding nature of theirs and their declaration by Harf baby that they follow local laws.

Oh I get it . Mostly confirmed felons and crooks plead 5th. But alas we don't follow their laws.

a_bharat wrote:

Oh I get it . Mostly confirmed felons and crooks plead 5th. But alas we don't follow their laws.
The right against self incrimination is enshrined in US Constitution 5th Amendment and in India you have the same right in Art 20(3) of the Indian Constitution.

That is what I am saying. We don't follow 5th. It will be CrPC 164 where you can keep quite even without knowing 20(3). Byt that time one is already accused.
KrishnaK

Post by KrishnaK »

Javee wrote:The US School in Chennai is not just for embassy folks, it is for anybody who can pay $20K. The student folks here are primarily expats, but increasingly kids from elite local families. If one wish to pursue bachelors in a ivy league school, they start their education at the American school here, at least that's what I heard from one of the kid who went here and started college in East coast.
There should be some analysis done of what exactly India itself gets out of sending a number of students abroad to do MS/PhD. Few come back to India. At best, I suspect, the net gain is firmly on the US side - talent + huge forex outflows.
Some analysis of how NRIs also kept the desh afloat by remitting forex over the years must be analyzed. There was a time when gulf NRIs were one of our biggest source of foreign exchange. Unfortunately, no conspiracy that.

vina wrote:“The female spouse should not state that she will be working,” the handout states, instructing spouses to list their occupation on visa applications as “housewife,” adding that “no sexism is intended on our part.”
So this is fight of the vijja application wonlee?
That advice, which top Indian officials say is illegal
Bhat .. Is it not self evident? Does not your common sense tell you it is illegal? Why all this word play?

That is an open and shut case of Visa fraud, tax fraud and making false statements in connection with employment.

Oh dear this does not look good. Worse than being detested is being derided. Ridiculous.

Anmol's scoop makes it to TorontoSun:

http://www.torontosun.com/2014/01/14/ba ... 61bb284c64

More direct & explicit in posting the offensive Facebook posts by Alicia May. Also talks about the Bangladesh Jamaai angle

Much better report than what TOI did (I am convinced that the State Dept pulled some strings to ensure that the TOI *did* report about Alicia May but do it in a way that *dumbs it down*. This way, it can be given a quiet burial in one of the largest selling English newspapers in India)

That is an open and shut case of Visa fraud, tax fraud and making false statements in connection with employment
Hmm. Where did I hear those charges before , was it in front of a grand jury in NYC ? Okay, so same-same , does it mean, that all the Wimmin teachers (men escape, only females per the note were forced to lie) , in keeping with the very highly advanced and most humane American legal and law enforcement systems , which self evidently must be far superior to the local Indian ones, be given the American treatment ?

So are the embassy spouse gals gonna be subjected to a strip search (for exactly the same number of times as in the US of course), "visual examination of cavities" (with videos running of course to avoid custodial mistreatment onlee), a brief incarceration with the "General prisoner population of Delhi" (would that include those two arrested for raping a Danish woman ?? :eek: :shock: ) and then with the US passport impounded, let out on a bail of the INR equivalent of a bond of $250,000 ?
Rajiv Lather

Post by Rajiv Lather »

So are the embassy spouse gals gonna be subjected to a strip search (for exactly the same number of times as in the US of course), "visual examination of cavities" (with videos running of course to avoid custodial mistreatment onlee), a brief incarceration with the "General prisoner population of Delhi" (would that include those two arrested for raping a Danish woman ?? :eek: :shock: ) and then with the US passport impounded, let out on a bail of the INR equivalent of a bond of $250,000 ?
This is the bare minimum; add a little something extra to show our ire. American hypocrisy and doublespeak has no limits.

Headlines Today ‏@HeadlinesToday 5m

MEA:American school's handout asking lady tchrs 2 call themslvs 'housewife' in visa form,is violatn of tax & visa laws @SiddiquiMaha

it does look bad - case of consulate encouraging visa and tax fraud and wives of consulate people as illegal workers here.

bare minimum, it needs to be investigated, all the people identified and publicized who are their spouses here and PNG proceedings / heavy fines imposed. atleast SR could claim unaware of american labour laws, but these highly educated people who are spouses of consulate people would surely be aware of what they were indulging in.

chi chi chi..someone should obtain a xerox copy of that handout and put it up for public viewing.
Anand K

Post by Anand K »

IMHO we should use the Brahmastras and Narayanastras and Brahmashirastras in a graded manner onlee. Despite Ms. Harf's brave posture and the fetid articles in New Yokel Times, I think the message has gone through. Lima Charlie. Perhaps there is a real fear that this "law of the land" might come back to bite their a$$es and all their felony-accused wimmen will be hauled off to Chanakyapuri Station to be "searched" thoroughly by Head Constable Durga Panwar's bratwurst fingers.
Give them a face saving exit and make conciliatory moves from our side. Reserve the heavy stuff if PB tries something to save himself or other anti-India elements in the USG get other ideas. Okay, they might use this cease-fire to remove the marked ones from India and resume their tricks but at least we, including he public, will know where the both of us really stand.

None of us here are anti-US, are we? We're just anti-d1ckheads! Especially those who endanger a relationship with so much potential and on which millions of Indians depend upon one way or another. I mean, you are pissed with us on BD and you haul off one of our diplomat to jail like you do with a cr@ck wh0re with a 2-page record?!
Rajiv Lather

Post by Rajiv Lather »

Anand K wrote:...
Give them a face saving exit and make conciliatory moves from our side...
We may - but only after the case against Devyani has been dropped. Even after so many days, my brain still refuses to believe that the Americans fell so low as to treat our lady diplomat like this. Not tolerable...
RCase

Post by RCase »

Oh! The irony. Waiting to see all those MMTMs that defended local laws of NYC minimum wages, privileged elite diplomats of India, subversion of labor laws, 'if you can't pay the wages, why have a maid?' etc.

This looks pretty damning. Will GoI have the balls to follow through with arrests, or will it be 'all is well' and business as usual with some token noises?

Weren't some Indians with genuine H1Bs hauled off in Texas for purportedly working as contractors at their company's clients (IIRC there was a pregnant Indian woman taken into custody) ?

Here we have willful violation, lying and fraud on visa application, with collusion from the embassy staff. If this is not worth a felony by PB's standards, then what gives? It would be fun to watch the blather from the SD spokespersons! I guess she would like to 'whitewash' those press conference statements from a few weeks ago. Never mind the local laws must be followed... Now on to nuclear proliferation and arms control ...

For all the pundits who say that the US would have gamed these situations and planned well, yada, yada ... I disagree.
This looks like a situation that is totally gone out of control, beyond their game theory. Skeletons are tumbling out of the closets. Too many unexpected twists and turns and is a lose situation. Did the SD bite off more than they could chew?

years and years of living like a wealthy roman camp among poor gaulish villages have rendered the patricians soft and left quite a few loose ends that poor gauls can now creep forward and pull the fat senators toga down.

Any further reciprocal action will see "activation" of the second line of CIA sleeper cells in India. The first was superficial in its approach with the usual "women harrassed in India also/caste system/Indians dont follow laws/American judiciary is independent" etc etc. It will be interesting to see who forms this second line of the sleeper cells.

Not so easy chaps.

1. Get them to unequivocally drop all charges and have her reinstated, if she choses to, at The NY Consulate with accreditation to the UN too.

2. An apology conveyed by SD spokeswomen in her daily briefing on behalf of Kerrorist. ( No need for private phone calls to GOI!)

3. Damages to be paid which include legal costs, Devyani's humiliation and state rape, GOI's expenses and release of bail monies. Preet Bharara to come to India to negotiate on behalf of US.

4. Rap on the knuckles for visa fraud in India and all back taxes to be paid to Income Tax Department, as per laws of Bharat Mata.

The angst is because I still remember that when F-86s and F-104s and other military hardware like PUTon Tanks were supplied to Pakis under CENTO/SEATO, there was an assurance that they were not to be used against India. Not to mention the Blood Telegram of 1971.

At the same time we can throw a party, invite them, and condescendingly give them the orders for Apaches, Chinooks, whatever. Awl ij well, buddy. Let us celebrate with a vegetable cheese burger and some Buds. :mrgreen:
Anand K

Post by Anand K »

1. Get them to unequivocally drop all charges and have her reinstated, if she choses to, at The NY Consulate with accreditation to the UN too.
2. Damages to be paid which include legal costs, Devyani's humiliation and state rape, GOI's expenses and release of bail monies.
3. Rap on the knuckles for visa fraud in India and all back taxes to be paid to Income Tax Department, as per laws of Bharat Mata
I think these should suffice, public apology and public caning of PB/ityadi is IMHO furniture. H&D issue and all - let them have this victory perhaps? The above three alone vindicates our core counter-charge. Cold War tricks must not IMO set the tone for our approach to the US, we will leave that to the Cold War burnouts in Soggy Bottom, Chicom pasands and the admirers of virile Paki mards, ityadi. Hopefully once these relics are phased out and those who studied with Indian PIGS (Poor Indian Grad Students) and whose friends/family were killed by Non-State Actors and Taliban populate the place , things will be better.

On that note, anyone want a scenarios thread postulating what would happen if India and US are hostile to each other..... like, US and Iran were are? Step-up the heat, complete divergence of views and p1ss fests et all?
Last edited by Anand K on 16 Jan 2014 13:41, edited 2 times in total.

Here is the link for all registered lobby firms for US-State Department updated till September 15 2013.

http://www.megafileupload.com/en/file/4 ... t-pdf.html

TOTAL ENTITIES: 1900
TOTAL LOBBYISTS: 1654

Please help me in narrowing it down to Lobbyists working against Indian Interests.

KrishnaK wrote: Some analysis of how NRIs also kept the desh afloat by remitting forex over the years must be analyzed. There was a time when gulf NRIs were one of our biggest source of foreign exchange. Unfortunately, no conspiracy that.
I think you missed the point. We are talking of NRIs in USA or UK etc not gulf or other countries. These lots are MUTUs , well few of them are certainly not, but lots of them. And also analyse how much of hot money of NRIs is in India for better interest rates. Desh needed brains and not money. So spare me your crap.

Yogi_G wrote:Any further reciprocal action will see "activation" of the second line of CIA sleeper cells in India. The first was superficial in its approach with the usual "women harrassed in India also/caste system/Indians dont follow laws/American judiciary is independent" etc etc. It will be interesting to see who forms this second line of the sleeper cells.
Needs to be flushed out . Hence it would be a good thing IMHO.

We need to trim(hack?) the high-flying wings of hawks in SD keeping other things absolutely untouched.Nothing wrong in reducing student strength in Amirkhan school while giving permission for korean international school in both chennai(Hyundai,samsung employees) and delhi.INternational schools can be started by Reliance/Mahinsdra/Escorts types.they already have experience in these things.Shut down bars/restaurants catering for furriners.No mercy to mlecchas.Let amirkhans enjoy privileges,but not non-amirkhans in their premises.

I am not optimistic about apology,DKs reinstatement.The US is NOT a superpower without reason.We have a long way to go and many other priorities.But we need to ABSOLUTELY IN CONTROL in our LAND.The US can take care of ITS citizens/diplomats NOT others.We need to THROW the rule book at them.We need to develop good relations with diplomats and nationals of other countries.No need for US to carry the whiteman or koreans burden.

No recruitment of Non-US citizens(other than Indians) to their Iskools.I saw advertisements for furriners in AES websites.Max limit of 16 US citizens should be adhered to.Also relevant tax laws will apply to them.

TIMES NOW ‏@timesnow 8m

India steps up pressure on the US, rules out restoring blanket immunity for US embassy officials
--------------------------------------------------->>
I would prefer that ASCA and American schools be closed down if the facilities are not reciprocal.
Anand K

Post by Anand K »

Is it the fact that there's a pending case against our diplomat which drives India to continue all this from our side? Or is it a soft landing for public display? Why aren't we seeing a return to regular programming? :?:

Maybe, the spiriting away of a whole family from right under our noses smarts? I mean, it's one thing for a trained spook like Rabinder Singh to be whisked out but a whole family being whisked off like this, under the fastest T-visa initiative ever, which makes us look like spiteful idiots?

Rajiv Lather wrote:
Anand K wrote:...
Give them a face saving exit and make conciliatory moves from our side...
We may - but only after the case against Devyani has been dropped.
As the Red Book says, an exit option needs to be given, but that is only to the enemy, not a 'strategic ally'. At least, the relationship has not yet reached that stage. Besides, the exit needs to be given, even to a friend, only after we are sure we have extracted what is due to us. That stage also hasn't been reached.

RCase wrote:Oh! The irony. Waiting to see all those MMTMs that defended local laws of NYC minimum wages, privileged elite diplomats of India, subversion of labor laws, 'if you can't pay the wages, why have a maid?' etc.
Based on a sample of one, the MMTMs' now are all about India's unequal application of the law to upper and lower classes.

which makes us look like spiteful idiots :( :eek:
Is that accurate,forum gurus? Should we move on to regular programming? Has this dragged on for too long time?

SSridhar wrote: Give them a face saving exit and make conciliatory moves from our side...

As the Red Book says, an exit option needs to be given, but that is only to the enemy, not a 'strategic ally'. At least, the relationship has not yet reached that stage. Besides, the exit needs to be given, even to a friend, only after we are sure we have extracted what is due to us. That stage also hasn't been reached.

We should let them smell whatever they smell here for some more time. Intelligently push them to the point where no permanent damage is done. A sprain, not a fracture, so to speak. And use the whip of reciprocity to remind them that "all humans are created equal".

I am utterly shocked at the arrogance and pathetic diplomatese that the Americans have displayed so far. Having dealt with them in various professional avatars. Speaking to American friends, friends from decades, they chuckle and say "You should have believed us when we bemoaned O'Bombers second term; the frustration here is no less!"

Hmm. Unkil trying to do PR goody goody , lunch for Jaishankar in State Dept etc sounds like they are trying to soothe things down with India. I am all for it, as long they eat humble crow and climb down and do restitution.

All the US embassy Mohtarma spouses working in the school must be having sleepless nights for the past few days. They cant run, that will be an immediate admission of guilt which the US SD wont allow, and then you have the ever present fear of a potential night at the Tihar Jail with the "General prison population of Delhi"after having your orifices "probed by the bratwurst like fingers of Head Station Officer Durga Punwar" (trademark-AnandK). The address by the ambassador to the Mohtarmas clearly was an attempt to clam frayed nerves at the edge of breaking.

The embassy cannot put off for long of not giving the salary and tax and employee list that the Govt has asked for. Not doing so will get a posse of Dilli's finest Pandus kicking your door down. Talk of a catch 22 situation. Give the list and details and you shoot yourself in the foot (oops! self discharge your small bore pistol :mrgreen: :mrgreen: ,like the big SD poohbah) and the Pandus come and kick your door, dont give the list and the Pandus kick your door again. Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

TSJ is right. The US embassy and consulate folks are under siege . The babus are ever so slowly turning the screws and aren't making it easy for them. Karma is a female dog ! Holy cow and all the usual addenda to be included of course.
Last edited by vina on 16 Jan 2014 16:03, edited 1 time in total.

+400 and the humour

Indefensible Kissinger
As more details come to light, the darker his deeds seem.
Can we please stop already with the tributes to Henry Kissinger? As more and more material gets declassified, there are periodic exposures of his uglier deeds. Walter Isaacson’s biography showed in detail how Kissinger had the FBI put wiretaps on journalists and government officials, including some of his own top staffers. A couple of years ago, it was revealed that back in 1975, while discussing how the Khmer Rouge had killed tens of thousands, he told Thailand’s foreign minister, “You should also tell the Cambodians”—the Khmer Rouge—“that we will be friends with them. They are murderous thugs, but we won’t let that stand in our way.” More recently, an Oval Office tape was released that captured Kissinger in 1973 saying, “if they put Jews into gas chambers in the Soviet Union, it is not an American concern. Maybe a humanitarian concern.”

And yet Kissinger continues to be publicly lionized in some circles.

Of all the incidents in Kissinger’s dark past, one of the least defensible must be his and President Richard Nixon’s staunch support of Pakistan’s military dictatorship while it carried out a bloody crackdown on its restive Bengali population in 1971. As Nixon's national security adviser, Kissinger stood behind Pakistan—a Cold War ally that prized its close military and diplomatic relationship with the United States—even as it swept away the results of a democratic election, killed horrific numbers of Bengalis and targeted the Hindu minority among Bengalis. He reserved his vitriol for India. And he trashed the career of Archer Blood, the brave U.S. consul general in Dhaka who, while witnessing and documenting the onslaught against the Bengalis, dissented from the White House’s pro-Pakistan policy. Here is a case where you’d think that even Kissinger’s most ardent defenders might settle for an embarrassed silence.

Not so. Confronted with the facts in my new book, The Blood Telegram: Nixon, Kissinger, and a Forgotten Genocide, Robert D. Blackwill makes a plea for sympathy—not for the hundreds of thousands of Bengalis killed, nor for the 10 million refugees or the traumatized survivors, but for “those at the top of the U.S. government who have to make momentous decisions.” In an expanded essay in The National Interest (which is published by CNI and whose honorary chairman is Kissinger), Blackwill goes further: “We should be grateful” to Nixon and Kissinger for their actions.

These apologetics make a revealing case study in how Kissinger’s reputation stays afloat. Rather than grappling with Nixon’s racist contempt for Indians, or Kissinger’s ignorance about South Asia or emotional misjudgments, Blackwill’s ahistorical piece rests on the careful skewing of the record.

When Kissinger’s actions get too indefensible, Blackwill simply ignores them. Take Nixon and Kissinger’s illegal arms transfers to Pakistan during its December 1971 war against India, where Blackwill goes to considerable lengths to overlook what Nixon and Kissinger knew full well: that they were breaking U.S. law. “Is it really so much against our law?” Nixon asked Kissinger, who admitted that it was. Blackwill ignores such evidence from the White House tapes, as well as the warnings of White House staffers and State Department and Pentagon lawyers that such arms transfers were violations of U.S. law. Instead, trying to change the subject, he writes, “Bass expresses indignation at this proposal, suggesting that it was undertaken to assist in the repression of civilians in East Pakistan”—even though these pages in my book actually concentrate on how Nixon and Kissinger broke the law. Blackwill can’t defend Kissinger for breaking U.S. law, but he can’t criticize Kissinger either, so he just pretends it never happened.

Blackwill’s method throughout is to avert his gaze from the most important evidence at the highest levels, particularly the White House tapes of Nixon and Kissinger’s most unguarded conversations, and stare selectively instead at a small portion of the less revealing stuff: Kissinger’s self-serving memoirs and books, public declarations, big interagency meetings, mid-level statements. This gives a systematic slant to Blackwill’s reading of events, which unsurprisingly validates his own ideological predilections. Anyone wanting the complete story can check out more than 2,600 footnotes in my book (the product of almost four years of comprehensive research in U.S. and Indian archives, untold thousands of declassified pages, and unheard White House tapes), rather than Blackwill’s slipshod little sketch. His real problem is that The Blood Telegram painstakingly documents Nixon and Kissinger’s whole record and draws measured and reasoned conclusions that don’t flatter Kissinger.

Blackwill sidesteps my book’s abundant evidence of Oval Office passion and bigotry only by raising the non-issue of profanity, pretending that I am “curiously offended that conversations in the Oval Office are often not the stuff of a church social.” In fact, the candid quotes from Nixon and Kissinger are salient because they are cruel, racist or reckless, not because they are PG-13. (I even point out that Kissinger didn’t swear much, tending toward “balderdash” or “poppycock.”) Indeed, some of Nixon’s harshest utterances about Indians use perfectly printable language: “I don’t know why the hell anybody would reproduce in that damn country but they do.” Kissinger joked about the massacre of Bengali Hindus, and, his voice dripping with contempt, sneered at Americans who “bleed” for “the dying Bengalis.” Is Blackwill really untroubled by such statements?

So the Rapists in Diplomatic US World obey Indian laws when they pay measly amount to their Indian employees but have problems paying Indian taxes when they illegally charge students 20 lakhs per annum.

Also Please note:- Any Club serving US Diplomats "only" is also commercial service. Embassy cannot run any sort of commercial service for schools, clubs, media center for anybody diplomat or otherwise where service or goods are sold for consideration except visa services.

I do not care if they run commercial service. I only care for reciprocity and reciprocity not based on just their preferences alone.

rajanb wrote:
SSridhar wrote: Give them a face saving exit and make conciliatory moves from our side...

We should let them smell whatever they smell here for some more time. Intelligently push them to the point where no permanent damage is done. A sprain, not a fracture, so to speak. And use the whip of reciprocity to remind them that "all humans are created equal".

I am utterly shocked at the arrogance and pathetic diplomatese that the Americans have displayed so far. Having dealt with them in various professional avatars. Speaking to American friends, friends from decades, they chuckle and say "You should have believed us when we bemoaned O'Bombers second term; the frustration here is no less!"
Well - American diplomats don't really have to do any diplomacy - they can typically get away with bullying and peddling wares. Diplomacy gets easier when backed by CBGs. That explains the general gracelessness and tactical blunders when caught in a piquant situation.

Other countries don't have the same advantages. So their diplomats need to be really skilled in deal-making and lobbying.

In the initial weeks of DK's arrest, there were optimists in media, who claimed that the case may not come to indictment stage, as there is not much evidence of human trafficking charge against DK, even if the other charges can be pressed in a civil case against her. I also bought that story but once India started taking reciprocal steps, there was a statement from PB that the case is strong and no backing off. Atleast at that time, SD should have gamed the consequences, or are they totally dumb and did not see what was coming, or MEA has been too clever to carefully calibrate the response to surprise the SD? I still think Amirkhans are not all that dumb with omni present CIA and tjeir 5th columnists all over GOI, or am I missing something here? Clearly something's not working for them

Surprising, isn't it ? How the game has changed in the past two weeks ...

It was all bleak with SD holding all the cards. And preachingvery sanctimoniously on obeying the law, and selectively leaking to WaPo. But whoever came up with the idea to transfer her to UN is a genius. After that, that unravelled the whole plan.

But now things have changed. DK is back in India. And pursuing the dropping of the case without plea bargain. If the case is indeed dropped, the SD becomes juicy target for a lawsuit. And their ppl hear have been outed publicly as racists and for tax fraud. Ah - the delicious irony of being compliant with the law ...

We can predict the next step. Some good-for-nothing sweeteners like "natural allies", keeping China in check, calls to the PM, etc

KrishnaK wrote:
There should be some analysis done of what exactly India itself gets out of sending a number of students abroad to do MS/PhD. Few come back to India. At best, I suspect, the net gain is firmly on the US side - talent + huge forex outflows.
Some analysis of how NRIs also kept the desh afloat by remitting forex over the years must be analyzed. There was a time when gulf NRIs were one of our biggest source of foreign exchange. Unfortunately, no conspiracy that.
Where did I say conspiracy? And where did I say all NRIs? I made a pretty focused point on the benefits that mostly accrue to the US via this route. Looks like you have made it your raisin dieter as our neighbors put it, to be more American than the Americans themselves and defend them against all perceived slights, real or imagined.