India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

https://www.cnbc.com/2025/05/15/trump-t ... india.html
U.S. President Donald Trump on Thursday said he told Apple
CEO Tim Cook that he doesn’t want the tech giant to build its products in India, taking shots at the company’s moves to diversify production away from China and urging him to pivot Stateside.

“I had a little problem with Tim Cook yesterday,” Trump said. “I said to him, ‘my friend, I treated you very good. You’re coming here with $500 billion, but now I hear you’re building all over India.’ I don’t want you building in India.”

Trump was referencing Apple’s commitment of a $500 billion investment in the U.S. which was announced in February.

Apple has been ramping up production in India with the aim of making around 25% of global iPhones in the country in the next few years, as it looks to reduce reliance on China, where around 90% of its flagship smartphone is currently assembled.

“I said to Tim, I said, ‘Tim look, we treated you really good, we put up with all the plants that you build in China for years, now you got build us. We’re not interested in you building in India, India can take care of themselves ... we want you to build here’,” Trump said.

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cq54ggd62w3o
India disputes Trump claim it is ready to charge US 'no tariffs'
US President Donald Trump's claim that India has offered to drop all tariffs on goods imported from his country has been swiftly disputed by Delhi.
In a statement to local news agencies India's foreign minister S Jaishankar countered the claim saying talks are still going on and "nothing is decided till everything is".

The statement is in stark contrast to comments by Trump to reporters earlier in the day, when he declared Delhi had "offered us a deal where basically they are willing to literally charge us no tariff".

Waiting for some MUTUs to pitch in saying his words are being misinterpreted

https://x.com/MeghUpdates/status/1922987351527092265 Now DT walking back on his tall claims.

https://www.financialexpress.com/busine ... s-3844718/

5% tax on all foreign remittances from US.

Not sure how true this is or if this bill will even pass, but it’s an interesting taxation strategy.

Yagnasri wrote: 15 May 2025 18:31 https://x.com/MeghUpdates/status/1922987351527092265 Now DT walking back on his tall claims.
No problem for us but Paki's will feel the shock. :rotfl:

But he damaged his equation with our PM. Many times, this personal connection thing helps a lot. But we are going back to the decade-old policy of US equating Pakis and us. I doubt he realised what he did when he made that stupid statement.

India certainly has a strong claim to sit at a higher level in various world bodies, such as the UN Security Council. As India’s case strengthens, expect the incumbents to try to undermine India one way or the other, including bucketing rising India with Bhikaristan, as they do not want to see dilution of their power and privilege.

From this point forward, no one will do justice for India, except where Indian pressure and power forces them to do so. I think the government knows that, but the Indian people, IMO, have not adjusted their mindset from five years ago.

The 5% tax on foreign remittances seems to apply only to non-Citizens. Lots of havala transactions then.

> Trump also recently announced that he is finalizing a presidential memorandum to “shut down remittances” sent by people in the U.S. illegally.

If done illegally and caught I think Trump would deport.

MEA has officially refuted ALL LIES of .@realDonaldTrump who is used to blow trumpet in THIN AIR.

US WAS NOWHERE INVOLVED IN 'UNDERSTANDING' b/w Bharat & Pakistan. #Modi Sarkar didn't ENTERTAIN US. Trade was NEVER part of ANY discussions.

This ends controversy which was never there. Now, Bharat's retaliation to fake heroics of Trump will be visible in Tarrifs & Defence Purchases.

Pakistan to Give “Relief” Funds to Global Terrorist Masood Azhar

Through IMF, West Funding Terrorism against India and Indians.

https://thehill.com/opinion/internation ... ith-india/
Trump just undermined America’s strategic partnership with India
BY BRAHMA CHELLANEY
.... few anticipated that the decisive external actor to intervene, President Trump, would seek not to de-escalate tensions impartially, but to tilt the scales in favor of the state sponsor of terror.

Pakistan’s military has enabled terrorist groups to operate from its soil for decades. Its terrorist proxies have carried out attacks in India with the support — tacit or overt — of Pakistan’s army, which has ruled the country directly or indirectly since its founding in 1947.
But this time, when India hit back with precision and restraint, it wasn’t Pakistan that reversed the tide of battle. It was Washington.
The Trump administration stepped in at a pivotal moment, using coercive leverage to compel India to cease its operation prematurely. In doing so, Trump not only spared Pakistan the consequences of its actions but also damaged the foundation of U.S.-India strategic trust.

Trump later revealed that he had threatened trade sanctions to halt India’s advance. “If you don’t stop, we are not going to do any trade,” he said during a White House press conference. He reiterated in Saudi Arabia, “I used trade to a large extent to do it.”
If true, the U.S. leveraged economic blackmail — not diplomacy — to protect a state that exports terrorism. That raises a chilling question: If Washington can use trade threats to dictate India’s conduct in a military crisis, what’s to stop it from weaponizing defense supply chains during the next one?

Two days into India’s military campaign, the International Monetary Fund — under strong American influence — approved a $2.4 billion bailout for Pakistan, offering a financial lifeline to a country teetering on the brink of default. The timing of the bailout was telling, rewarding the most persistent terror sponsor in South Asia even as its proxies triggered a military crisis.

The bailout signaled to the world that you can export jihadist terror and still enjoy Western protection — if you’re geopolitically useful enough.

In fact, Trump has shown an unsettling willingness to engage with actors whom most nations deem beyond the pale. On May 14, he met with Syria’s self-declared president Ahmad al-Sharaa — better known as Abu Mohammad al-Jolani, a U.S.- and U.N.-designated terrorist and a former leader of Syria’s al Qaeda affiliate.

This pattern of behavior highlights the jarring truth that Trump’s America is not a reliable strategic partner for India. Paradoxically, India should be thankful for this wake-up call.

I am not able to confirm this report, so please take as something that possibly happened, but needs to be confirmed.
Mamdani is running as a Democratic Socialist or some such for the Mayor of NYC.
https://www.opindia.com/news-updates/zo ... -********/
US: Son of ‘filmmaker’ Mira Nair, running as NYC candidate for Mayor, leads Khalistani hate mob demonising Hindus as ‘********’
Zohran Kwame Mamdani, the son of filmmaker Mira Nair and a member of the New York State Assembly, stirred the hornet’s nest by leading a hate mob against the Hindu community at Times Square.

“Who are the Hindus? Harami (********),” the mob was heard yelling. Mamdani remained unflinched despite the dehumanisation of the Hindu community by his supporters. He instead began spewing vitriol against Ram Mandir.

“I am here today to protest against the BJP government in India and the demolition of the Babri Masjid that attempted to build a temple on the ruins of it,” claimed Zohran Kwame Mamdani.

A_Gupta wrote: 18 May 2025 09:40 I am not able to confirm this report, so please take as something that possibly happened, but needs to be confirmed.
Video-> NYC Candidate for Mayor Zohran Mamdani led a mob of protestors in Times Square calling Hindus as ******** and heaping abuses upon Lord Rama...

A true scumbag

Amber G. wrote: 18 May 2025 09:57
A_Gupta wrote: 18 May 2025 09:40 I am not able to confirm this report, so please take as something that possibly happened, but needs to be confirmed.
Video-> NYC Candidate for Mayor Zohran Mamdani led a mob of protestors in Times Square calling Hindus as ******** and heaping abuses upon Lord Rama...

A true scumbag
Any links to US print/TV/net MSM? That is required before it can be entered into Wikipedia.

Rakesh wrote: 27 Feb 2022 00:46 1) What the millions of Indians - NRIs - can do for India is to push the GOI's interests with the US Govt.

2) What the millions of Indians - NRIs - must NOT do is to impose the US worldview onto India. That worldview has gotten stale and rotten.

I will not paint all NRIs with a broad brush, but I see a number who adopt the second strategy. Perhaps - subconsciously - to these NRIs, there is a burning desire to prove their loyalty to America. I understand and endorse the concept of gratitude, but what I cannot fathom is the concept of groveling to the point of losing one's own identity and dignity. I find that behaviour puzzling to say the least.
https://x.com/greatbong/status/1923925823108829419 ---> What do you get the US President who just got a $400 million jet to play with? Nothing anyone but the billionaires can afford.

Which brings us to the Indian-American billionaire class—specifically, the Sundar-Satya-Srinivas types. The ones who dot Silicon Valley, sparkle on conference panels, and get accused of not doing enough for their country of origin in the way the Jewish diaspora, who are also US citizens, do for Israel. They stay silent during Pahalgam and do not spend money in the right places to further Indian interests. The expectation is that, having cracked the capitalist cheat code, they would now use their riches to nudge geopolitics. But we forget: these people are billionaires only in money. In their souls? They are still middle-class.

First-generation Indian immigrants carry a unique trauma: they once stood at a U.S. visa counter and said. “I will return to India after my studies.” Decades later, they are still afraid of being caught. They fear that showing open allegiance to India might somehow make the US revisit their entrance interview and then take back their H-1B... retroactively.

We misunderstand the Indian-American billionaire. Their dreams are modest—own a franchise cricket team or get Shah Rukh Khan to dance at their dayghters’s wedding. These are not acts of empire; they’re just deluxe versions of your uncle’s bucket list back in Pune.

Real power—world-shaping, memory-bending, Wikipedia-rewriting power—terrifies the middle-class Indian soul. It is loud. It draws attention. It makes you a target. Like Musk is.

Better to build a unicorn than a legacy. Better to be loved at Davos than feared in D.C. These billionaires grew up fearing their manager’s performance review, their neighbor’s gossip, their aunties’ unsolicited opinions on their life-choices. Even now, they’re haunted by the great middle-class ghost that whispers, “What will people say?” And so, they build, invest, disrupt—within their little sandboxes—but dare not declare.

They don’t understand that the privilege of being a billionaire is not caring what people think. It is deciding what people think. They don’t have to fit in. Others must now fit into the world they build.

Will this change? Maybe. Maybe in a few generations, Indian-Americans will finally exorcise the ghost of their origin story. Their children and grandchildren may grow super-rich, come to terms with the hyphenation of the American and Indian within them, and internalize the phrase "memory is policy"— collective memory drives political action, and that identity, not just income, defines who we are.

But until that happens, don’t expect any help from your super-rich NRI uncles and aunties.
ernest

Post by ernest »

Rakesh wrote: 19 May 2025 01:10 https://x.com/greatbong/status/1923925823108829419 --->
...But until that happens, don’t expect any help from your super-rich NRI uncles and aunties.
That one hits the nail on its head. Most Indian Americans, in senior positions in American companies have been bending over the back to accomodate anti India forces. Perhaps they fear their rozi-roti being threatened, like the post suggests. Not unsurprising that some Indians made great mercenaries for the colonial crown.

One get a little confidence from the conduct of younger generation of Indian tech leaders like Aravind Srinivas, who has been reasonable vocal on the terror attacks and Op Sindoor. Do note that he is not an Indian-American, but an Indian citizen on a US work visa. We hope to see more shift in that direction from other Indian/PIO business leaders.

I have, for one, moved all my AI searches away from google/chatgpt/ms copilot to Perplexity.

@Rakesh ji, "great bong" is almost correct. What that Xerati misses is that neither Pichai nor Nadella actually started their own unicorns. They are appointed by the board of their respective companies they work for. Their billions are on paper and also their being employed depends on the founders who still own a enough stock to impose their writ. That is what had happened to Anurag <something> who was fired from Twitter when Musk took over. Jack is still around and still has billions. That is the difference. Same with Shantanu <something> of Adobe, and Srinivas <who>? Is he the perplexity guy? Then he is in a different bucket.
ashishmact

Post by ashishmact »

In my humble view , it is wrong to see world as bipolar ( divided between US and China) . Fact is that it is not only China that sees India as rising threat. It is also US.

In PPP terms we are a 17 trillion economy against 30 of US and 40 of China. India will surpass US before it passes China.

It is natural for US to not support us fully. If we run a deffrential of 3% growth in 20 years we will surpass US.

I think Us thinks that becoz of 9/11 they become too focused on Islamic terrorism resulting in neglect of China by US. And result was between 2000 to 2015 China became too big.

Trump’s wake-up call for India’s foreign policy
https://www.japantimes.co.jp/commentary ... gn-policy/
21 May 2025
Recent actions expose an uncomfortable truth: The U.S. is not a dependable security partner

https://x.com/BDUTT/status/1925473487361384818 ---> At least the myth that Trump is good for Indian interests has been buried.

External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar has dismissed US President Donald Trump's claim that Washington played a key role in brokering a ceasefire between India and Pakistan.

In a rare interview with Dutch public broadcaster NOS, Jaishankar said the cessation of hostilities was a direct outcome of military-to-military communication between India and Pakistan.

Key Points:
India-Pakistan Ceasefire: Jaishankar stated that the understanding on cessation of hostilities was arrived at following direct negotiations between the two sides.

US Role: He clarified that while US Vice President J.D. Vance and Secretary of State Marco Rubio spoke with Indian and Pakistani leadership, the ceasefire was not a result of US intervention.
Military Communication: Jaishankar revealed that the Pakistani Army sent a message on May 10 through a hotline expressing willingness to stop firing, which led to the cessation of hostilities.
Operation Sindoor: Jaishankar emphasized that Operation Sindoor, India's precision strikes on terror infrastructures in Pakistan, continues because there is a clear message that India will hit terrorists in response to any future terror strikes .

Worth watching the whole interview <linked here> or the above article < linked in the first line of the post>

Actually what is being buried is the myth that Trump is good for *American* interests.

Everyone already knew Trump was not "for" Indian interests-- but many believed he was sincerely America-First, and therefore India could benefit by engaging him on a strictly transactional level. As opposed to the fossilized cold-war era thinking and globalist/left ideological proclivities of the institutional establishment-- also known as the US foreign policy "Blob"-- which governed the priorities of Clinton, Bush, Obama, and Biden.

But a guy who can be bought by the slimy Qataris with a $400 million plane-- not to mention rented by the Pakis with a measly $60 million investment in his family's shady crypto venture-- that's not an "America-First" guy, any more than the Maino-Gandhi dynasty are "India-First" people. He is hopelessly corrupt and that's it.

GOI knows this very well and are probably considering all options.

If India decides to join in the "auction" by making its own offerings to Trump's private coffers, it risks getting into a bidding war with the combined funds of China, Turkey, and Qatar (all of whom have paid handsomely for the dropping of tariffs, the recognition of Erdogan's pet jihadi Al-Sharaa as legitimate leader of Syria, the protection of Pakistan from an Indian beating during Op Sindoor, and many other things). Remember, the guy is a crook. If somebody pays him 100 million today someone else can buy him off to do a U-turn with 101 million tomorrow.

Conversely, India can wait it out-- allowing Trump to get distracted by other nonsense in different theatres of domestic and global politics-- and meanwhile pursue a low-key strategy to undermine Paki and Chinese interests in its near-abroad. For example: expanding on the IWT-cutoff by constructing more riverine projects in J&K, continuing support to the BLA and TTP insurrections, keeping Bangladesh's Yunuch ambitions on a tight leash, and of course incorporating all the learnings from Op Sindoor into building up military capabilities against China (the real military opponent in previous weeks) even further. All the while doing as much trade as possible with the US to help fuel continued economic growth.

The Trump-for-sale issue will stop being an issue likely by November 2026, when Trump's party receives a drubbing in the midterm elections; thereafter, he will have a tough time enacting any policies, and become completely embroiled in domestic politics as the 2028 presidential election begins to loom.

So no point in wasting money on trying to buy Trump, who is anyway about as reliable as any cheap plastic object you would purchase on Temu. The US public will realize this sooner rather than later.

Amber G. wrote: 22 May 2025 23:29 External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar has dismissed US President Donald Trump's claim that Washington played a key role in brokering a ceasefire between India and Pakistan.

In a rare interview with Dutch public broadcaster NOS, Jaishankar said the cessation of hostilities was a direct outcome of military-to-military communication between India and Pakistan.
Great link. How can we make it go viral or at least get a mention in the American media? CNN/MSNBC/NBC folks might be willing to air this. All of you who were supporting KD Harris might have a inner track to those channels via DNC minions, perhaps.

Rudradev wrote: 22 May 2025 23:50 But a guy who can be bought by the slimy Qataris with a $400 million plane--
RD gaaru, that is stretch. He did get a pledge of 1.4 trillion USD from his west asian trip. There maybe some quid pro quo for India in there. IMEC? That will cut out China, Iran, Turkiye. Syrian is being made American "********". Israel is not stopping in Gaza.

Regarding the Japan Times article:

Japan, SoKo, Taiwan, Philippines, Singapore, Malaysia, Australia, and NZ have no alternative. India always knew that the US is an unreliable security partner starting from Nehru (or was it IG) who asked for the US nuclear umbrella to deal with China. Kennedy did not bite. We had to perforce - under the guise of NAM - had to ally with USSR.

As far as the US is concerned, ekam sat vipra bahudaa vadanti. And Kissassinger said it long time back. "Enmity with America is dangerous but alliance is fatal" (paraphrasing here).

What is apparent now is that Quad is finished. We are back to cold war between the US and China. We should trust and ramp up our own weapons production, put all critical projects on a fast track (Kaveri comes to mind), etc to cut dependency on the US and its European poodle UK.

Rudradev wrote: 22 May 2025 23:50 So no point in wasting money on trying to buy Trump, who is anyway about as reliable as any cheap plastic object you would purchase on Temu. The US public will realize this sooner rather than later.
Unfortunately for the Amrus, the opposition to Trump are AOC, Mayor Pete, and Grovellin Noisome. :shock:

This is a must-watch! It’s not every day you hear this kind of honesty on U.S. mainstream media — but this video breaks through in a big way. Powerful, raw, and eye-opening. If you care about what’s really going on, you need to see this.

Please watch and share it far and wide. Let’s get the truth out there.
(Along with my previous post, highly recommend share it with US leadership and media)

Video Description:

India is Furious at Trump: Here's Why

This in-depth breakdown explores the growing tensions between India and the Trump regime — tensions largely unreported in U.S. media but widely covered in India.

The video details three major reasons for India’s outrage:

1. False Claims of Ceasefire Mediation: Trump took credit for brokering peace between India and Pakistan after the Kashmir terrorist attacks. India firmly denies any U.S. involvement, insisting the ceasefire was the result of bilateral negotiations and Indian military strength.

2. Misleading Trade Deal Claims: Trump publicly claimed a trade agreement with India that does not exist. Indian officials state no such deal has been made and reject suggestions that trade was used as a bargaining chip in ceasefire negotiations.

3. Trump Family’s Crypto Deal with Pakistan: The Trump family reportedly holds a 60% stake in WLFI, a company that recently signed a partnership with Pakistan’s Crypto Council. This raises questions in India about whether U.S. policy is being swayed by personal financial interests.

The video features clips from Indian media, including Vantage with Palki Sharma, DW News, and direct quotes from India’s Foreign Minister S. Jaishankar, providing on-the-ground insight into how India views the situation. We also show Trump’s controversial comments on Apple, tariffs, and nuclear conflict — and how they’re adding fuel to the fire.

Watch now to understand why India is pushing back hard against Trump’s claims — and what it means for US-India relations going forward.

Amber G. wrote: 23 May 2025 03:39 This is a must-watch!
[youtube...]K83cRrJqIHU[/youtube]
Good video which should be widely circulated. I will do my bit, but also see this. We should not get overly excited because this seems to be an attempt to show Trump in bad light by the oppo. Please see more here.

viewtopic.php?p=2649581#p2649581

Is this claim true?
Another drawback with F-35 is that the lifetime cost of owning F-35s is estimated to be around $1.5 trillion due to maintenance, upgrades, and spare parts.

https://www.firstpost.com/explainers/us ... 90408.html
Unfruitful partnership: Why US dumped 15 shipments of India’s mangoes worth Rs 4.28 crore

In brief, the US rejected shipments of mangos because of problems with the PPQ203 forms that were certified by the USDA inspector stationed in India.
So, what led to the US rejecting the mangoes? According to the exporters, the shipment of fruit was rejected owing to errors in the documentation process. The American officials pointed out inconsistencies in the documentation related to the irradiation process. They noted that there were multiple inconsistences with the PPQ203 form — a document that is a must to export mangoes to the US.

What’s important to note here is that the PPQ203 form is certified by a United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) inspector.

Another exporter, whose shipment was initially held at Los Angeles airport told the Indian newspaper that the consignment did not meet the “entry requirement” — specifically, the mandated irradiation treatment. He, however, refuted the claim, stating that the irradiation process was indeed completed and that the PPQ203 form was issued only after the procedure. “How can we receive the form if the treatment was never done? And without that form, issued by none other than the USDA officer, the mangoes couldn’t even have been cleared for loading at Mumbai airport,” he said.

Palki Sharma: On the India-US trade deal,
a. permanent change in US tariff rates towards India will require Congressional approval --> won't be ready in time for the July deadline. Therefore India seeks an interim deal - basically return to the status quo before all this tariff nonsense.
b. economic analysts think India can handle the consequences of no deal without significant damage
c. India is widening its trade network with other countries to reduce dependence on a deal with the US.

https://youtu.be/Qbjk24hpumM?si=ZRIq-w3iVIxW-qXw

FYI: South Africa holds the G20 Presidency till November 30, 2025. The United States will then take over the presidency on December 1, 2025, and hold it through November 2026.

A_Gupta wrote: 23 May 2025 05:56 https://www.firstpost.com/explainers/us ... 90408.html
Unfruitful partnership: Why US dumped 15 shipments of India’s mangoes worth Rs 4.28 crore
It is stretch to connect this to Trump's presidency. I hope that is not the intention of this post. AFAIC, it is just one of those snafus that happens all the time.

A_Gupta wrote: 23 May 2025 06:04 Therefore India seeks an interim deal - basically return to the status quo before all this tariff nonsense.
Did Palki Sharma say that or is it your own rephrasing, if I may ask. :-?

A_Gupta wrote: 23 May 2025 05:56 https://www.firstpost.com/explainers/us ... 90408.html

In brief, the US rejected shipments of mangos because of problems with the PPQ203 forms that were certified by the USDA inspector stationed in India.
So, what led to the US rejecting the mangoes? According to the exporters, the shipment of fruit was rejected owing to errors in the documentation process. The American officials pointed out inconsistencies in the documentation related to the irradiation process. They noted that there were multiple inconsistences with the PPQ203 form — a document that is a must to export mangoes to the US.

What’s important to note here is that the PPQ203 form is certified by a United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) inspector.

Another exporter, whose shipment was initially held at Los Angeles airport told the Indian newspaper that the consignment did not meet the “entry requirement” — specifically, the mandated irradiation treatment. He, however, refuted the claim, stating that the irradiation process was indeed completed and that the PPQ203 form was issued only after the procedure. “How can we receive the form if the treatment was never done? And without that form, issued by none other than the USDA officer, the mangoes couldn’t even have been cleared for loading at Mumbai airport,” he said.
This is a non-tariff barrier that US is using. It shows they are not sincere about trade. This has to be a negotiating point in the upcoming bilateral trade agreement.

Trump administration blocks Harvard from enrolling any international students.
<page1>
<page 2>

For USA:
Accepting foreign students at Harvard brings many of the smartest minds from around the world to the US..
Attracting and keeping global talent is one of America's best competitive advantages.

This is really dumb!

A statement from Sally Kornbluth, President of MIT

xpost.
A_Gupta wrote: 23 May 2025 08:15 The US govt terminates Harvard's visa program (i.e., no students from abroad). Existing international students must transfer or leave the US.
https://www.foxnews.com/politics/harvar ... p-noem-dhs

ramana wrote: 23 May 2025 08:01
This is a non-tariff barrier that US is using. It shows they are not sincere about trade. This has to be a negotiating point in the upcoming bilateral trade agreement.
The US rejection of 15 Indian mango shipments worth Rs 4.28 crore over documentation issues related to irradiation seems excessive. Irradiation is a process that exposes food to ionizing radiation to kill pests and extend shelf life. It's a common practice for exporting perishable goods like mangoes. With the PPQ203 form certified by USDA inspectors in India, this move appears to be a case of bureaucratic red tape hindering trade.

A_Gupta wrote: 23 May 2025 05:47 Is this claim true?
Another drawback with F-35 is that the lifetime cost of owning F-35s is estimated to be around $1.5 trillion due to maintenance, upgrades, and spare parts.
The $1.5 trillion cost is for the *ENTIRE* F-35 fleet. No individual country is going to spend that money on maintaining their F-35s.