India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

Vayutuvan wrote: 04 Jun 2025 00:54
But JD Vance turned around and supported Trump's claim on ceasefire. Goes to show that personal likes and dislikes are of no use in geopolitics. ......
I think it is more sinister, but par for the course.

Via ANI
Conversation
ANI
@ANI
#WATCH | Washington DC | US Secretary of Commerce Howard Lutnick says, "...There were certain things that the Indian government did that generally rubbed the United States the wrong way. For instance, you generally buy your military gear from Russia. That's a way to kind of get under the skin of America if you're going to buy your armaments from Russia. I think India starting to move towards buying military equipment from the United States, which then goes a long way. And these kind of things just creating that relationship being a part of BRICS, which is, oh, let's move to not support the dollar and dollar hegemony. That's not really the way to make friends and influence people in America. The President calls that out directly and specifically, and the Indian government is addressing it specifically. And that's how you move on to a really positive place. Put it on the table, address it straight on, resolve it straight on and get to a really good place. And I think that's where we are...

Even if Nutlick lives up to his name 24x7 he will get nothing from the Indian establishment now because the US has rubbed India the wrong way!

Nutlick is a moron. The question is if he remains by the end of this year after TACO. Trump will accuse him of causing fiscal & market problems & he’ll be gone.

I think the US has understood for some time now that India has a very clear position that there will be no talks with a gun pointed at our head... The problem is that we will not deal with people who are pointing a gun at our heads. I mean frankly, if your neighbour unleashes his rot while as to bite your children and in fact to do worse to your children, and then says, let's talk. You think he's going to talk to him until he either unleashes those rockweers or locks them up in a kennel or puts them to sleep. It's as simple as that. You're not going to talk to people who are pointing guns at your temples. It's not going to happen,

Congress MP Shashi Tharoor on being asked if India is willing to talk to Pakistan and the US' position in this regard.

हिंदी में कहावत है खून का बदला खून लेकिन यहां था सिंदूर का बदला खून -शशि थरूर
pravula

Post by pravula »

Amber G. wrote: 05 Jun 2025 04:45
I think the US has understood for some time now that India has a very clear position that there will be no talks with a gun pointed at our head... The problem is that we will not deal with people who are pointing a gun at our heads. I mean frankly, if your neighbour unleashes his rot while as to bite your children and in fact to do worse to your children, and then says, let's talk. You think he's going to talk to him until he either unleashes those rockweers or locks them up in a kennel or puts them to sleep. It's as simple as that. You're not going to talk to people who are pointing guns at your temples. It's not going to happen,

Congress MP Shashi Tharoor on being asked if India is willing to talk to Pakistan and the US' position in this regard.

हिंदी में कहावत है खून का बदला खून लेकिन यहां था सिंदूर का बदला खून -शशि थरूर
Also, someone needs to remind the press about https://georgewbush-whitehouse.archives ... 0to%20them.
The United States will make no concessions to terrorist demands and strike no deals with them.We make no distinction between terrorists and those who knowingly harbor or provide aid to them.

I have no idea what purpose this serves in this thread!!! :roll:

US Vice President Vance expressed full support for India's fight against terrorism: All-party delegation
During a high-level meeting with U.S. Vice President JD Vance, Indian MPs including Shashi Tharoor and Tejasvi Surya emphasized that there can be no moral equivalence between terrorists and their victims. Tharoor rejected the idea of mediation, stating it wrongly implies parity between aggressors and defenders. Vance strongly supported India’s stance on terrorism, especially in light of the recent Pahalgam attack, praising India's restraint and balanced response. He expressed admiration for India's leadership, reaffirmed the U.S.–India strategic partnership, and showed optimism about future trade and cooperation.

Consulate General of India in NYC held a special Eid event to which NYC Candidate for Mayor Zohran Mamdani was invited (and attended)
He then went on to attack the Indian leader as a war criminal...
And he led a mob of protestors in Times Square calling Hindus as ******** and heaping abuses upon Lord Rama

Anti India

Amber G. wrote: 06 Jun 2025 09:04 Consulate General of India in NYC held a special Eid event to which NYC Candidate for Mayor Zohran Mamdani was invited (and attended)
And he led a mob of protestors in Times Square calling Hindus as ******** and heaping abuses upon Lord Rama
Bunch of blundering nincompoop Babus

Can we expect any action?

Manish_P wrote: 06 Jun 2025 10:20
Amber G. wrote: 06 Jun 2025 09:04 Consulate General of India in NYC held a special Eid event to which NYC Candidate for Mayor Zohran Mamdani was invited (and attended)
And he led a mob of protestors in Times Square calling Hindus as ******** and heaping abuses upon Lord Rama ....
Bunch of blundering nincompoop Babus Can we expect any action?

Manish saar,

especially after pahalgam, no one would have commented if this event had been avoided altogether.

It takes a particular type of genius to precipitate such a situation, but undoubtedly, our babooze have that ingenuity in spades, particularly when shaming the nation

why are these idiots still hell bent on seeking validation, that too from some ummah scum

Sadly, our one exam wonder babooze are lacking, both in ithiasbodh, and shatrubodh, not to mention the garden variety of common sense

chetak wrote: 06 Jun 2025 18:10 ...
Sadly, our one exam wonder babooze are lacking, both in ithiasbodh, and shatrubodh, not to mention the garden variety of common sense
Frankly speaking, Chetak sir, I have no expectations from the babus. I fully expect them to be generally incompetent and self-serving except for the rare outlier.

What I am simply curious now is will there be action taken against the officials in this case.

At the max I expect it to be merely a transfer like say from US to Europe...

But I won't bet even a rupee on it

chetak wrote: 06 Jun 2025 18:10 [why are these idiots still hell bent on seeking validation, that too from some ummah scum
chetak gaaru, but but but this man is our own; son of Mira Nair, no less. A cultural attache might have decided to call this guy based on Mira Nair's "success" in Hollywood with two of her "widely acclaimed" movies - Mississippi Masala and Monsoon Wedding, nevermind they are far from a reflection of India and its culture.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 07 Jun 2025 03:50, edited 1 time in total.

This has consequence on India: US has capitulated itself to China. Now DJT will visit China and Emperor will visit US, wtf. This is getting ridiculous. Then there is the hickup about rare earths and magnets, a supply chokehold of China. Looks like China has bought out DJT for a large sum of money.

Gordon Chang weighs in on President Donald Trump's phone call with Xi Jinping, two Chinese nationals being accused of smuggling a toxic biological pathogen into the U.S. and OpenAI's CCP-linked groups finding. China's Temu is sending seeds to Americans to plant, which are invasive plants that will choke other things.

India is in for a rough ride. Sindoor has active collusion with Pak land and useless china equipment. Already China is threatening Bhutan and wants to annex bhutan into China.

Even the Panama Canal policy was a shakedown of the Chinese. Now Paki crypto deal. Trump is totally bought. That said, Gordon Chang had been predicting the demise of Chinese economy for a long time 25 years and going. It is like BRF folks hoping for the demise of Shitiistan as a country.

Unfortunate as it is paapee chiraayoo.

Vayutuvan wrote: 07 Jun 2025 03:53 Even the Panama Canal policy was a shakedown of the Chinese. Now Paki crypto deal. Trump is totally bought. That said, Gordon Chang had been predicting the demise of Chinese economy for a long time 25 years and going. It is like BRF folks hoping for the demise of Shitiistan as a country.

Unfortunate as it is paapee chiraayoo.
My theory is that given how the world resources are controlled, there is only room at the very top for 2 players. It was US and Soviets at a time but now it’s China and US. I suspect this can even be empirically proved that a third entrant is not possible as there are no resources to control to make this possible. The distribution of this bipolar world can be debated with one having more of a share but there isn’ta third entrant. US and China have long agreed mutually to that - this bit is in realms of conspiracy though.

I was always amazed as to how easily people bought into DJT’s anti Chinese gimmick. DJT history is littered with examples of him ripping up contracts, agreements and treaties that he himself signed because he doesn’t like it and wants a better deal - he has shafted his contractors many times in his New York days. The current anti Chinese gimmick is just the same principle - he just wants a payoff and it’s a bonus that it appeals to his electorate . China will pay up or already has and we will go back to the bipolar world.

Are people having buyers' remorse? Musk had it and imploded (ketamine to blame?) . Now I see some remorse on this board too. People expected rivers of milk and honey to flow in India when the orange ape is in the 'white' house. As someone rightfully said if you let a joker into a palace he does not become the king but the palace becomes a circus.

> Are people having buyers' remorse?

Do you expect them to admit it?

It can be said that Trump introduced a lot of uncertainty into geo-politics; India so far has kept its balance better than other countries that have been shaken more.

The US Potus has become either a circus or those who can't remember their names & autopen signing with scholarly LGBTQ debates/funding. Take your pick. But the Deep State behind the scenes knows how to keep the rest of the world boiling in mayhem. They (deep state) control worldwide 300 T in assets/wealth looted from around the world.

My view is simpler: India just needs to be left alone so that it can rise and DJT is the best option for that. Not because he has any love for India - thats impossible - but he will tie up US in internal conflicts and make it an unreliable partner for the rest. Hopefully this means we will be left alone as regards the usual dirty tricks.

My view is that to the extent India needs exports, foreign investment and foreign technology to rise, to the extent India's rise cannot be purely driven from internal growth, India needs a stable global economic environment and a neighborhood that is relatively free of active conflict (I don't have realistic hopes for peace). DJT has not helped in that regard, in particular he has given Pakistan some lift after its devastating defeat in Op Sindoor.

However, India has been **so far** less shaken than other countries by DJT's disruptions, and thus has gotten a sort of competitive advantage. I see this as temporary, though.

IMO, it would be best if DJT settles down on his final trade policy, not raising and lowering tariffs like a bouncing basketball -- whatever the final policy is, India can deal with it, it just needs to be stable, applying for 3-5 years so that return-on-investment decisions can be made. The current uncertainty causes investments and supply chain decisions to be delayed.

A_Gupta wrote: 07 Jun 2025 21:44 > Are people having buyers' remorse? :rotfl:

Do you expect them to admit it? :rotfl:

It can be said that Trump introduced a lot of uncertainty into geo-politics; India so far has kept its balance better than other countries that have been shaken more.
Same as those who supported Biden 2024 and when he bombed spectacularly in the first and only debate, closed ranks behind unelected and proven to be incompetent KD. They did not learn anything during 2021-2024. Also voting in Gavin "Noisome" Newsom who butchered the hen laying golden eggs so much so that there is a huge emigration to other states, especially TX. Same with NY and NJ. IL is not far behind.

At least Whitmer (MI), Shapiro (PA), Fetterman (PA senator) are waking up to the reality of anti-semitism which has been nurtured under the nose of bumbling and incompetent Biden admin. Still AOC, The Bern, HiC, Obamas, Bidens are all being protected by the high and mighty in the DNC. Fetterman is being made a PNG in DNC while the bumbling idiot coach Tim Walz (Gov, MN) is given importance.

My post should go into "UNderstanding the US". I would like to take it there. I had been suggesting that to the dramatis personae but they are mulishly recalcitrant.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 08 Jun 2025 02:13, edited 1 time in total.

First, DJT's thinking that he is negotiating with the Chinese from a position of strength is wrong. It is the other way around. The US has mortgaged its future with China and cannot easily extricate itself from the debt trap. So, just because he is negotiating with China does not mean it is bad news for India. DJT can be brought by India, too, for whatever is in her interest. Forget about the enraged tweets about peace making; the real substance is in access to technology and the market. If our trade negotiations yield that, it will be good. Paki's Munna status is unlikely to disappear anytime soon, and Chinese internal political troubles are unlikely to subside simply because of a trade deal with the US.

Also there were a few mandarins in the strategic community who brought the Indo-US partnership as anything more than transactional and neutral. It was always termed as the dance with the devil and India had been careful to keep this relationship that way. Who said Indian game play is going to be easy because of DJT? It is just going to be less sleazy compared to Biden admin was my opinion. We need to wait and see if that is true.

Why America sides with Pakistan over India
In this in-depth video, we explore the complex geopolitical landscape behind why the United States appears to be aligning with Pakistan over India. With tensions rising across South Asia and shifting alliances in the global power dynamic, we unpack how historical military ties, counter-terrorism strategies, and U.S. foreign policy objectives may be influencing this strategic pivot. We analyze defense agreements, trade interests, regional stability goals, and diplomatic narratives to understand the bigger picture. Whether you’re a student of international relations or just curious about global politics, this video brings you real insight into the U.S.-Pakistan-India triangle with clarity and objectivity.

- Understand the U.S.-Pakistan-India geopolitical triangle
- Get insight into America's long-term strategy in South Asia
- Examine military, diplomatic, and economic factors
- Decode media narratives and international alliances
- Learn how national interest drives foreign relations

Timestamps for 29-Minute Video:
0:00 – Introduction
1:45 – The U.S. and Pakistan: A Historic Partnership
5:20 – U.S.-India Relations: Strategic but Complicated
9:00 – Counter-Terrorism and Military Interests
12:30 – China Factor: Shaping U.S. Decisions
16:00 – Economic Interests and Aid
19:20 – Diplomatic Narratives in the Media
22:15 – How India Views This Alignment
24:40 – What This Means for Global Politics
27:10 – Final Thoughts and Predictions

"I can’t speak to what’s on the mind or the plans of the President....world knows his nature", says US State Dept Spox in response to a question by Pakistani reporter on if Trump plans to mediate on Kashmir..

Paul Kapur, soon to be Trump's top South Asia diplomat during nomination hearing.

Paul Kapur, an Indian-origin, has been nominated by President Donald Trump as the Assistant Secretary of State for 'South Asian Affairs.

Background :

PhD from the University of Chicago and a BA from Amherst College. He is currently a professor in the Department of National Security Affairs at the United States Naval Postgraduate School.
Books like "Dangerous Deterrent: Nuclear Weapons Proliferation and Conflict in South Asia"
Served on the State Department's Policy Planning Staff from 2020 to 2021, f
Views : Kapur is a strong proponent of deepening US-India strategic ties skeptical about Washington's focus on human rights concerns in India. In contrast, he has a more critical stance on Pakistan,

Forget America. Why is India giving off ramps for Pakistan all the time? I know we have a two front scenario and America wanted to avoid a nuke confrontation. But we had the chance to do more before the DGMO meet. We could have destroyed their ports and cleaned up their power grid in another 30 minutes. Some more precision strikes could have removed their power center in Quetta. We could have declared cessation of firing after that. Baluchis would have taken over their land and Pakis would have disintegrated without any ground operation. Yet there were some strategic calculation in keeping the snake half dead. My guess is we don't like the instability of anarchy in the land of the pure. We want US and China to manage their munna's failure and keep feeding them some crumbs. All the while we will grow more in economic strength after this skirmish. It is a strange sort of calculation.
A Deshmukh

Post by A Deshmukh »

My guess is timing.
Pahalgam came as per timing planned by enemies (TSP, Dragon, Uncle).
It also came as a trap - if we tried to take over PoK/GB.
Our response was out of script.
Current CT is we have hurt Uncle's stock stored in TSP. and they wanted a ceasefire to remove their stuff.
Next conflict should happen when we want it to happen. and all the jingoes expect will happen - ports destruction, Skardu/GB.
Before that, we need to soften them up internally - food riots, no fuel, no power.

A Deshmukh wrote: 11 Jun 2025 14:07Before that, we need to soften them up internally - food riots, no fuel, no power.
Unpredictable supply of water !! Most importantly.

Various sources are saying “Pakistan COAS Asim Munir Invited To US Army Day Celebrations On June 14”

A_Gupta wrote: 11 Jun 2025 21:49 Various sources are saying “Pakistan COAS Asim Munir Invited To US Army Day Celebrations On June 14”
Link:https://www.business-standard.com/exter ... 788_1.html

Yes, looks like Fraud Marshal Munir is trading in his battlefield strategies for a birthday party with the birthday boy himself, Donald Trump. Guess that's what happens when you're buddies with the king of 'alternative facts.'

Happy birthday, Donny, from all those who still can't get enough of your, ahem :eek: , 'greatness' around here"...May your ego continue to inflate like your narangi_Kesh and your birthday as unforgettable as your tweets or even better than your loyal followers in 'understanding the US' threads ....who still haven't figured out why...

Will he attend given high possibility of a coup when he's out of the country? Should tell us something one way or the other.

Amber G. wrote: 11 Jun 2025 23:17 ... inflate like your narangi_Kesh and your birthday as unforgettable as your tweets or even better than your loyal followers in 'understanding the US' threads ....who still haven't figured out why...
Gel jarhead is going to slime his way through in to your good books and slither into your heart and mind, I am suar.

Meanwhile Breaking: All 12 members of the Fulbright Scholarship Board have resigned, accusing the Trump administration of “usurping” their authority—canceling nearly 200 awards and launching reviews of 1,200 more. They say it undermines academic freedom and the program’s mission. :shock: (Indian Fulbright‑Nehru students are seeing real effects: canceled visas, downgraded fellowships, and uncertainty due to U.S. policy shifts..)