South India River Water Issues/Disputes

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Javee

Re: South India River Water Issues/Disputes

Post by Javee »

Yagnasri,
I'm from Central TN and live in Chennai, I'm yet to see any organized movement by any party to target non-tamil speaking population in the last 30odd years. TN also has Kannada, Urdu, Hindi, Saurashtra and Telugu speaking population, so it's not any less cosmopolitan than KA.

I think I can see why you are unhappy with TN, it's because we don't speak hindi like you expect us to. The govt cannot control me from not learning a language- hindi or German or French, it is all same to me as it is useless for my day to day life in TN. Dakshin hindi Prichard Sabha has been operating out of Chennai for the last 40 years, did we go break/loot/arson them to not teach hindi? Hindi has been taught in schools, the govt has not stopped it. Don't let your other prejudice come in to this thuggery act by KA politicos. I'm just sad that all the goodwill generated by Bengaluru has been shattered by the politicos, they are just trying to kill the Golden goose for their short term benefits.

I think thugs from both sides should select a neutral venue and fight it out and let the common man live in peace.

Vina,
For your question on how TN govt reacted to thugs,
The arrested persons were booked for rioting, trespass, rioting with weapons and under the Tamil Nadu Public Property (Prevention of Damage and Loss) Act and Explosive Substances Act.

Now tell me what did KA did with the the so called agitators for wilful destruction of Tamil owned property??

kvraghav wrote:As far as language based regionalism is concerned, everyone knows who supported assassination of the PM just to support fellow language brethren from the other country.
I am curious to know, who are you referring to?

There is simply no equivalency in scale/degree/extent/no. of incidences of violence in KA and TN.

For people questioning about what Karnataka did, there was a golibar in which one person died and one person during police Lati charge, not some dummy fir. And please don't talk about cosmopolitan chennai. The problem with TN is they expect everybody to learn Tamil when in TN even when I went to get visa.

The major question is as a city, why is so much pressure being put on bangalore in terms of resources inspite of none of the politicians even caring to develop bangalore. It is the collective failure of entire south india including rest of Karnataka.
prasannasimha

Post by prasannasimha »

350 peopel were arrested 2 people died in firing
I am pretty amused at statements like there are hardly 15 % Kanndaigas and we are all thrashing Tamilians etc etc here.The average joe wasn't even bothered. I ahve currently 6 Tamilians, 2 Andhra and 2 Kannadiga workers working on the renovation of my house just now and all the Tamilians come over the week across the border and Karnataka and go back to TN on the weekend.
I am also amused to hear that the Hamlet in the 80's called Hosur was bigger than Bangalore and had more industries- clearly the person who quoted that had not been to Bangalore at that time.(I have been to both those areas then and have been to Hosur many times. Guess when Texas Instruments and the other companies set up their infrastructure in Bangalore !! I can understand Parochialism but this is amusing.
Vadivel

Post by Vadivel »

kvraghav wrote:The major question is as a city, why is so much pressure being put on bangalore in terms of resources inspite of none of the politicians even caring to develop bangalore. It is the collective failure of entire south india including rest of Karnataka.
So if i understand you correctly, elected representatives of Kerala, Telengana, AP, TN should also take care of Banglore and its woes apart from Karnataka politicians. :?:

^^^nope, if they take care of their owes, it is more than enough. Such a beautiful infra and real estate market of Hyderabad was destroyed for division politics.
SaraLax

Post by SaraLax »

kvraghav wrote:^^^arent you contradicting yourself by posting the link? The Tamil sangha adhyaksha has himself thanked the chief minister for security and has said no attack has happened except that of santosh after he made derogatory attacks and if some one has to stay back due to phobia, what can we say. As far as the saintly Tamils are concerned they have directly attacked people of Karnataka by beating up a tourist and many people are giving interviews on how people were treated even in police stations and in hotels. As far as language based regionalism is concerned, everyone knows who supported assassination of the PM just to support fellow language brethren from the other country.
kvraghav sir,

Seems like you have a special liking for Tamils !. Good to note that you are one of the Kannadigas ( i hope so) that is a bit interested in the current set of postings on this specific river water issues thread.

Firstly, requesting an help from your side. Below are links to some pictures of what happened yesterday to an unfortunate Tamil lorry driver (stripped to his under-garments and thrashed in the NH4 passing through Chitradurga district bordering Andhra) in Karnataka.

Pic Of Tamil Driver Stripped By Kannadiga Extremists - 1

Pic Of Tamil Driver Stripped By Kannadiga Extremists - 2

Pic Of Tamil Driver Stripped By Kannadiga Extremists - 3

Pic Of Tamil Driver Stripped By Kannadiga Extremists - 4

Pic Of Tamil Driver Stripped By Kannadiga Extremists - 5

- Do have a look at all of the above linked pictures in enlarged mode
- To which Kannada extremist group do you think they belong to ... any inputs based on the flags they are holding & shawls wearing around their neck ?.
- Can you please also post these pictures to the Bengaluru police (they have tweeted on this aspect of needing help from the public in terms of id'ing the violent protestors) and help get these violent Kannadiga fellows arrested ?. ( Assuming you indeed are a Kannadiga - I only hope i am not asking you to commit treason here )

Now - I would like to take you back to 2014 when the present CM of Karnataka came to Coimbatore / Madurai in TN to seek investments from the local enterpreneurs to his State.

The below is what the Karnataka CM said in an Investment Roadshow in Coimbatore, TN during 2014...
"Stating that Karnataka was an investor-friendly State, Mr. Siddharamaiah assured full support to industries willing to invest at an industrial area that his Government was developing on about 1,400 acres in Chamarajanagar district, near Erode district of Tamil Nadu.

The Karnataka Chief Minister later told presspersons that in Karnataka, the law and order situation was “very good.”

One bad incident took place at the time of the Cauvery dispute. It would not repeat.
The prevailing situation was very good and that was why a lot of investors were looking at investing in Karnataka. A global investors’ meet would be held in Karnataka in October this year."

Hmm ... law & order situation is very good ..... one bad incident at time of Cauvery dispute .... wont be repeated ... in hindsight - that was one great pathetic lie by the CM of Karnataka !! The bad incidents have been repeated now and the Karnataka CM was allowing them to happen !!!.

Now with the Kannadiga extremists having resorted to 'crash', 'boom' & ' bang' of well chosen TN business establishments in Karnataka this week - All the Karnataka CM or even the next one, will have to say when they meet the next set of gullible investors with in or outside India is " law & order is very good .... only TWO bad incidents of Cauvery dispute .... It won't be repeated ." ? Frankly Kannadigas could still do worse sir .. i can quite agree with your this statement in one of your previous post sir !!.

After all - these are investments brought in by other South Indians into Karnataka and who really cares for the 'Konga' Investments in Karnataka, particularly during Cauvery river rioting in Karnataka. Kannadiga hooligans can ransack, set fire & destroy them, enjoy post-destruction hi-fives & holler around, without any disturbance from cops & do it across most areas of Karnataka. It is going to be as tough as a hike to Mt.Everest if any of these losses of the 'Kongas' would even be compensated by any entity in Karnataka.

If we link all Indian rivers, will it solve the Cauvery water problem?

Saralax ji,
unless you are personally affected,relax sir & please dont repeatedly count the losses.
If you ask me the loss is less to tamilian property than the longterm loss suffered by bangalore in this self flagellation called kaveri agitation on the roads of bangalore.

Insurance payouts will be happening all around (especially for the vehicles immediately),heck that KPN bus guy seemed least flustered because of it.
Rest all uninsured property damage will be compensated - either by the KN govt in a lowkey manner or the local courts "forcing it" so that the KN govt can save face, its no longer the 90s & bangalore has its global image to take care of .

The people who get the most benefit in this farce are the insurance businesses - who although will be paying out many 10's of crores of asset value for the destruction, will be making merry for the next 1-2 years in bangalore charging that incrementally higher premium for insured businesses or spooking the rest who dont need or have insurance to get insurance.Thats the shortterm additional burden on bangalore economy as a whole.

Compared to the max 100 crore property loss due to bonfires of trucks & buses across the city, the immediate intangible loss due to disruption of IT business & other business for one day in bangalore would have costed a greater loss to the KN govt exchequer & the economy .
The longterm cumulative effect of such city wide eruptions (avg 1 per decade) anyway cannot be quantified - last was when Rajkumar died in 2006.Previous to that was the previous kaveri agitation of 1992.

Only irriversible thing in the current agitation is the loss of 2 lives in police action & KN govt announced some token compensation to their families i think.

Rest all is reversible & tempers & passions cooled & amends can be made in good time - which will be most likely intent of KN govt going ahead.

As quite a few stressed here political agitations taken to the streets & causing widespread damage is nothing new to India, no state is immune to them, not even TN.
JJ controlled her law & order as she is the political beneficiary in the SC judgement - KN CM staring at a political loss gambled on calculated brinkmanship by tying the hands of his police & letting loose the paid gundas for a day.TN led by JJ didnt blink or over react & thus loss is complete for Siddaramaih.

Cauvery issue bungling aside, ousting Karnataka CM Siddaramiah won't be easy

TS Sudhir Sep 14, 2016

On 6 September, 'with a heavy heart', Siddaramaiah agreed to release water to Tamil Nadu, on orders of the Supreme Court. It is with an equally heavy heart that his rivals in the Congress realise that his 'mismanagement' of the Cauvery crisis, won't help them unseat the chief minister.

It is no secret that letting hooligans take control of parts of state capital Bengaluru and incidents of assault on Tamils in other pockets of Karnataka, has not done Siddaramaiah's CV any good. Given that he presides over a faction-ridden Congress party and isn't exactly a Delhi durbar man, many within his own party saw this as a perfect opportunity to hand him a VRS. But then Siddaramaiah is a far better player of political chess than any of his colleagues.

The chief minister's mistake was that he let himself be convinced by his police top brass that "everything was under control". In keeping with the ghettoisation that has taken place in Bengaluru, like in many other cities, police protection was provided in areas like Malleswaram and Indira Nagar where Tamils are in sizeable number. Bengaluru is home to 35 lakh Tamil-speaking population. That would be enough, he was assured on Monday morning.

Brand Bengaluru suffered for taking a laidback thanedaar-like bandobast approach to the situation. This when the violence seemed to have been meticulously planned and concentrated in a limited zone to create maximum impact and attract eyeballs.

But compared to say, a year ago, Siddaramaiah has managed to neutralise the dissident camp within the party. Leader of Opposition Mallikarjun Kharge, who was a critic of the chief minister, was mollified with a ministry for his son Priyank Kharge in June. Former Union minister Janardhana Poojary who had accused Siddaramaiah of trying to make a Congress-mukt Karnataka, has no support base. Karnataka Congress president G Parameshwara who tried his best to be made deputy chief minister, had to contend with the home ministry.

In hindsight, making Parameshwara the home minister was a masterstroke. Now even though Siddaramaiah is in the firing line, law and order is essentially the home minister's domain. This will mean Parameswara cannot raise the banner of revolt against the chief minister, because he will have to answer far more serious questions.

In the last year that Parameshwara has been at the helm of affairs, the law and order machinery has been in the news only for the wrong reasons. From the suicide by the two DSPs to tension on the Karnataka-Goa border to the Cauvery crisis, the home minister has not come out of it smelling of roses. But in the typical tradition of the Congress, while the chief minister's stock is down in public perception, the home minister's Dalit credentials ensure he gets away.

But what is far more critical is whether Siddaramaiah is losing support among the electorate, with elections less than two years away.

Yes and No. With the demolitions in Bengaluru as part of the effort to clear storm water drains last month, his popularity nosedived in the state capital. And the mayhem on Monday won't help his cause either. "But in rural Karnataka, a reverse consolidation of backward classes is taking place who feel that just because Siddaramaiah does not belong to the Vokkaliga, Lingayat or Brahmin communities, he is targeted. They feel the upper class-dominated media is critical of him," says Sugata Raju, political analyst, adding, "So it works both ways because any effort to unseat him will lead to sympathy for him within his support base.''

Just as Bengaluru gets back to normal, a Karnataka rail roko has been announced for Thursday by Kannada Okkoota leader Vatal Nagaraj

What is interesting is that the BJP has chosen not to play politics over Cauvery, with party chief BS Yeddyurappa and others backing the Karnataka cause. That is partly due to the dilemma the Karnataka BJP finds itself in. Siddaramaiah let it be known that Jagdish Shettar as chief minister in 2012 too had released 10,000 cusecs of water everyday to Tamil Nadu for nine days. Now the BJP pot cannot call the Congress kettle black.

Within the party, the blow hot-blow cold relationship between Yeddyurappa and Leader of Opposition in the Karnataka Legislative Council, Eshwarappa is not doing the BJP's hopes to present a united face ahead of 2018 polls any good. No one is quite sure if Eshwarappa's script is being dictated by someone else.

Then there is the age factor. Yeddyurappa is 73 years old and Prime Minister Narendra Modi's unwritten rule is that no minister or chief minister should be older than 75. Observers point out that it will effectively mean that while the BJP will gain from the Lingayat consolidation that Yeddyurappa will bring to the EVM, he won't be made chief minister. This has made the Lingayat community suspicious that one of their own — in fact, their tallest political leader — will be used and dumped.

Karnataka is not out of the woods yet. Just as Bengaluru gets back to normal, a Karnataka rail roko has been announced for Thursday by Kannada Okkoota leader Vatal Nagaraj. Narayana Gowda, leader of another outfit, Karnataka Rakshana Vedike has said while no harm will come to the Tamil population in Bengaluru, he is in favour of a ban on all Tamil TV channels in the state and the prevention of Tamil Nadu vehicles from entering Karnataka.

With such non-state actors trying to indulge in parallel policing of Karnataka, it is time Siddaramaiah cracks the whip on all such fringe group elements holding the state to ransom. At the same time, he should engage in a dialogue with Tamil Nadu and the Centre to arrive at a mechanism to share water from the perennially-deficit Cauvery basin. He will be doing both Karnataka and his own political career a huge favour.

SaraLax wrote:
kvraghav wrote:....

All the links that you posted happened after the woodlands and other incidents in TN, which news channels continously played up. Till then, there was no violence. Only one student, who posted hateful comments on karnataka and kannada actors was manhandled, and that guy just apologized and was let off, just a minor scuffle. It was on social media, and TN channels played it up and it led to the attacks in TN. That was then played up in Karnataka and the cycle continue.

There have been riots in other states & cities. There may be temporary setback to investment, but its not going to affect it in a big way . It is no bigger than some riots by muslims in Mumbai protesting attacks on Rohingyas etc.

There was no loss of life of any tamilians or no one hurt, two kannadigas were killed in firing. Even the buses of KPN Travels that were burned, there are reports floating around that the operator got it done to claim insurance for his buses.

Two incidents 25 years apart, I think we will survive that.

putnanja wrote:
SaraLax wrote:

All the links that you posted happened after the woodlands and other incidents in TN, which news channels continously played up. Till then, there was no violence. Only one student, who posted hateful comments on karnataka and kannada actors was manhandled, and that guy just apologized and was let off, just a minor scuffle. It was on social media, and TN channels played it up and it led to the attacks in TN. That was then played up in Karnataka and the cycle continue.

There have been riots in other states & cities. There may be temporary setback to investment, but its not going to affect it in a big way . It is no bigger than some riots by muslims in Mumbai protesting attacks on Rohingyas etc.

There was no loss of life of any tamilians or no one hurt, two kannadigas were killed in firing. Even the buses of KPN Travels that were burned, there are reports floating around that the operator got it done to claim insurance for his buses.

Two incidents 25 years apart, I think we will survive that.
That was very neatly tied up, complete with velvet ribbon and all.

Good going, saar.

The latest reports on the burning of the KPN buses is that they spontaneously self combusted and no one was responsible. The fire department was scared to come out and get their shiny fire engines dirty as they had an inspection the very next morning.

Brand Bangalore did not take a hit, what does Mohandas Pai know about such things??

Boisterous, good natured, well intentioned Bangalore citizenry were simply expressing themselves, just like the good folks of Paris did when they burnt cars. No real harm done as insurance is always there.

The insurance companies will payout very generously indeed, like Rs 43,271.37 after depreciation and deductibles for a Rs 18 Lakhs worth car.

My sis in law was stuck alone in the old airport / indiranagar area till 4 AM. No problem. The rest of the family had dinner and went to sleep as usual as because all had faith in the good people of the city.

Really joyful, living in Bangalore, no??
Last edited by chetak on 15 Sep 2016 07:40, edited 1 time in total.

News9 yesterday was discussing about the bus burning. Seems insurance companies don't offer coverage for property lost in riots/arson. TIFWIW.
Javee

Post by Javee »

KPN worked his @ss off for the last 20 years to build an organization and here comes a gem from a member here, he did it to claim insurance. Awesome analysis, actually the Tamils in KA are so stupid that they were running scared for needless reasons.

arshyam wrote:News9 yesterday was discussing about the bus burning. Seems insurance companies don't offer coverage for property lost in riots/arson. TIFWIW.
There is a clause in the insurance cover which is purposely not offered to the gullible by insurance companies when they sell you the cover. It is called SRCC --- Strike, Riots and Civil commotions and you have to specifically ask for it.

I include this clause as standard part of all my insurance for my vehicles.

But I am very sure that the $#@%&^ insurance companies will still find some way to gyp you out of your legitimate settlement.

Kashi wrote:
SwamyG wrote:Desalination is probably one of the best way forward. Desalination by crazy amounts, TN needs to think really big. Like desalinating water from the sea and using that to hydrate the existing (and new) canals.
We need a combination of things- Desalination plants and JalYukta shivir abhiyaans all over the state. I would have thought that a progressive state such as TN would have gone for it a long time back.
I think the tanker-lorry contracts are so profitable that the politicians have struck gold having them. There are so many legal ways to make money, if one has the right connections, of course with a little bit of unethical business and behavioral practices one is set for the next 70 generations. The politicians turned barons actually benefit from these water crisis; and would obstruct all other solutions.

MGR is said to have tried something on desalination.

SaraLax wrote:
kvraghav wrote:^^^arent you contradicting yourself by posting the link? The Tamil sangha adhyaksha has....
I share the same liking to Tamils that you share for kannadigas. I can post links of Kannada hotels attacked in chennai and go on but that will be repetition of things already discussed. I wanted to ask one thing, do you even know why the previous week agitation was non violent and this was violent? The newspaper of the morning carried the news where Kannada hotel was targeted. Please help to catch this Tamil terrorists first. Then came the fb vedio by a guy where he is beating a kundapura tourist in rameswaram asking him to say kaveri belongs to Tamil. Please help to catch that tamil terrorist. The thing with these argument are like godhra, we never want to talk about the instigators.

A good post. It is tough to hide deep seated biases and hatred. It comes in some post or the other :rotfl: Does the new forum have a like button?
csubash wrote:From chetak, chandrasekaran, vina & yagnasri's post above , it looks as if the violence against TN & Tamils properties deserve this as TN seems to have exploited Cauvery & Karnataka from time immemorial. Every one has given suggestions for TN - how to use water efficiently, how to extract ground water, which crop to plant, which party to vote. TN people in Karnataka few of them whom I have spoke to are in morbid fear even to speak in Tamil in a public place. I'm sure more Tamil people will leave bangalore/ Karnataka in the future many being born & brought up in Karnataka. Every party be it sadananda gowda or siddhu or vattal Nagaraj all have squarely blamed TN for the current problem when clearly this was from the apex court of the country. Ascribing motive to SC judge ( not that they are angels) & KJo asking to ignore SC all makes federalism a joke. Sorry for a bad rant - saying "sorry " is a powerful weapon which is seldom used now.

kvraghav wrote:For people questioning about what Karnataka did, there was a golibar in which one person died and one person during police Lati charge, not some dummy fir. And please don't talk about cosmopolitan chennai. The problem with TN is they expect everybody to learn Tamil when in TN even when I went to get visa.
Good, no? They don't expect everybody to learn Tamil when in Bihar, Rajasthan, Andhra or elsewhere. If not in TN, where? :rotfl: Growing up in and around defense colonies, I have seen non-tamilians happily speaking Hindi with tamilians when buy groceries and other local services. The vendors spoke in tamil, broken english and Hindi.
Schmidt

Post by Schmidt »

On the subject of language , if you call any tech support or customer service for any company located in northern India , they will start yakking off in Hindi straightaway , even when they know you are calling from the south

You need to gently remind them to speak in English and only then will they switch to English

Also , most north Indians who come and live in Chennai for years , rarely bother to make the effort to learn Tamil

The situation is getting worse

Now many retail establishments and F&B outlets , salons etc are staffed with North / North Easterners , it is frustrating to get your point across to these people even about what you want to buy or how you want your hair cut

Its hilarious to go to Murugan Idly and see the NE waiters struggle with the menu , the service suffers as a result

Don't know what happened to all the Tamil work force - cant believe that they have all managed to find better paying jobs en masse

Entitlement(no ref to Kaveri isse) in TN has now seeped to the labour classes.Without north indian labour TN will collapse.

OTOH,its a question of supply and demand.North India has infinite surplus labour.

Two incidents 25 years apart, I think we will survive that
I wouldn't be quite as sanguine as that. This was clearly an orchestrated riot , everyone knows that. It harks back to the days of Channa Reddy being changed as CM due to orchestrated riots or Bangarappa orchestrating riots. Siddaramaiah dismissing that college incident as "minor" does him no good. What should have happened is a crackdown on those goons. But no, those same kind of goons were given a free run on Monday and we saw what happened.

What the folks need to realise is that Bangalore is what it is today is precisely because it is an open welcoming civilised place. Exactly like Silicon Valley/NY/London etc. For e.g., without attracting talent from all over the world , Silicon Valley would stagnate and die. If for e.g., California states that all employment in Silicon Valley /Hollywood / LA should go to only California residents, that will be the kiss of death.

The Gokak /Sarojini Mahishi kind of agitations are non starters. This is not Govt jobs being doled out , and these are in competitive industries operating globally. The days of command economy and guys doling out jobs are long gone.

And good luck with Hubli as an IT centre. Try getting someone to move there, or even a local to stay there. I know someone who has a small team of folks in Belgaum. He told me that it is difficult to find good folks to hire, and even if you take the pain and find and hire someone, within a year, he/she moves to Bangalore for a far higher salary and opportunity and for a big city cosmopolitan life style.

Wake up and smell the coffee folks. This kind of thuggery by the goondas for hire and the politicos will kill the goose that lays the golden eggs. And remember, the rest of KA mooches off the tax that Bangalore contributes (approx 80% of KA's tax revenues).

OT:
vadakkus ‏@vadakkus Sep 12
Ok. Tweetstorm coming up on Bangalore/Bengaluru and why it reacts the way it does. #KaveriIssue

I think this fellow has some insights.

7 Locals Arrested For Torching KPN busese

So, I guess that puts paid to the theory of KPN torching their own buses huh ?
The police identified the suspects as Rakshith, 19, Satish, 27, Kiran, 27, Kempegowda, 28, Prakash, 46, Lokesh, 25 and Chandan, 19, residents of D’ Souza Nagar and the neighbouring Veerabhadranagar. They work in various industrial units in Peenya and Kengeri.
Based on a complaint by a KPNTIPL driver Venkatachalam, the police had registered a case under IPC Sections 143 (unlawful assembly), 147 (rioting), 427 (mischief causing damage), 324 (voluntarily causing hurt by dangerous weapons) and 435 (mischief by fire or explosive substance with intent to cause damage). He had stated in the complaint that unknown persons had torched 42 buses

kvraghav wrote:^^^arent you contradicting yourself by posting the link? The Tamil sangha adhyaksha has himself thanked the chief minister for security and has said no attack has happened except that of santosh after he made derogatory attacks and if some one has to stay back due to phobia, what can we say. As far as the saintly Tamils are concerned they have directly attacked people of Karnataka by beating up a tourist and many people are giving interviews on how people were treated even in police stations and in hotels. As far as language based regionalism is concerned, everyone knows who supported assassination of the PM just to support fellow language brethren from the other country.
Yes Burning people's cars of TN tourists in Mysore and Burning private cars and lorries in TN and tell users now do what you can to get home is a very minor issue.

Lowest water level since 2000 in KRS dam from news report, basically saying they have sowed crops but there isn't any water that will be available for next 2-3 months after releasing water to TN.

arshyam wrote:News9 yesterday was discussing about the bus burning. Seems insurance companies don't offer coverage for property lost in riots/arson. TIFWIW.
A PTI report was saying this few days back.
However, the Managing Director of Salem headquartered KPN Tours and Travels Limited Rajesh Natarajan claimed that 40 of his buses were set on fire.

"Around 40 of our buses were set on fire," Natarajan told PTI here.

He said many of his buses were insured.

http://www.deccanherald.com/content/569 ... -fire.html

Putnanja, 87.7 is pretty low, KRS dead storage is around 64ft. A few posts back you had stated Metter dam at 81 feet has lots of water, its dead storage is 74 ft.

The public gets a false sense of assurance from these Dam levels, these dams and built between Hill gorges and bottom part is dead storage, the dam resovoirs only fill up when the water crosses atleast 5 feet more than dead storage.

Lets hope there is some rain in KRS catchment areas for the coming summer. Goods News as per http://dmc.kar.nic.in/RL.pdf inflow yesterday was 8297 cusecs, hope there is good inflow in the coming 15 days.
Last edited by Aditya_V on 15 Sep 2016 14:08, edited 1 time in total.

I agree 400% that this was orchestrated riot. Nothing can justify poor and old Tamil driver being beaten up by thugs using abusive language and forcing him to say "Kaveri Nammadu" (Kaveri is ours). KA Govt failed completely in maintaining law and order. Attack on KPN travels could be the handiwork of a business rival since there are many businesses owned by Tamilians in Bangalore but KPN was specifically targeted heavily. I hope the attackers are brought to justice.

Never understood this "Kaveri Nammadu". yen nimmappan mane aastina Kaveri? (Is Kaveri your ancestral property?) Kaveri belongs to all the states where it flows. Since Kaveri originates in Kodagu, should Kodavas start claiming Kaveri is theirs? There has been an explosion in the number of organizations claiming to protect KA interests. Even Muttappa Rai has one now called "Jaya Karnataka". It's just a front org for his shady activities. During issues like Kaveri, they seize the opportunity to remind people they exist by indulging in violence. I don't see these Kannada organizations doing anything else other than hoDi baDi (maar peet) when they get an opportunity. Now that the protests are dying down, you won't hear from them for quite sometime. I haven't seen even a single organization having a vision on how to develop and promote Kannada especially among the migrant population. Most of the members of these organizations can't even speak shuddha Kannada. There are at least 4 languages apart from Kannada native to KA - Kodava, Tulu, Konkani, Sanketi. What has "Karnataka Rakshana Vedike" done for these languages or people who speak these languages?

Regarding Kannada actors making statements - less said the better about some of them. Today they will make some grand pro Karnataka statement on Kaveri and tomorrow they will buy remake rights of some Tamil movie. They are just trying to cash in on the Kaveri issue to be in the limelight. [I am just fed up of remakes in KFI. I had lost all hopes on Kannada movies but in the last few years a new generation of directors and actors have arrived on the scene with very good original ideas and they are showing a lot of promise! Checkout "Tithi", "Lucia", "Godhi banna.. " etc]

Compared to 1991 riots, this is definitely a minor one though it should have been avoided. Given Bangalore's diversity, it has done quite well. Kannadigas definitely deserve appreciation for being welcoming to outsiders. I hope it remains that way but we definitely need to work on better integration. I don't think comparison with Chennai is apples to apples. We'll see how tolerant Chennai will remain if and when Tamil population drops to 35% - 40%. It's not easy.

I agree with many posters here that water sharing agreement needs to be revised and a percentage based sharing seems like a good solution after a detailed study. A British era agreement can't be forever since demand on both the sides keeps changing.

http://indianexpress.com/article/india/ ... s-3032415/

Vultures from NGOs are trying to feast. Notice that the PIL is filed in Madras which has no jurisdiction on the localities of other states and can not look into happenings there. The people in a state are the responsibility of that respective state and not of the other state simply because their mother though is the official language of another. If Madras High Court orders anything, then politicos will make it as if TN court is interfering with KA and Kerala and will create further heart burning.

Samuel Johnson in 1774 made a famous comment "Patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel."
In 1774, he printed The Patriot, a critique of what he viewed as false patriotism. On the evening of 7 April 1775, he made the famous statement, "Patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel." This line was not, as widely believed, about patriotism in general, but the false use of the term "patriotism" by William Pitt, 1st Earl of Chatham (the patriot-minister) and his supporters. Johnson opposed "self-professed patriots" in general, but valued what he considered "true" self-professed patriotism.
Johnson had advocated that the English and the French were just "two robbers" who were stealing land from the indigenous people of North America, and that neither deserved to live there.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Political ... he_Patriot

As my grandfather used to describe village fights,

"My mother, right or wrong,
My father, drunk or sober"

A nation taking pride in Mangalyaan, Vikas Engine, Arihant, Tejas, Arjun, Dhruv and yet this bickering.

Since today is M Visvesvaraya's Birthday, and celebrated nationally as Engineer's Day, why dont forum members put their engineering minds on possible solutions?

SwamyG wrote:A good post. It is tough to hide deep seated biases and hatred. It comes in some post or the other :rotfl: Does the new forum have a like button?
csubash wrote:From chetak, chandrasekaran, vina & yagnasri's post above , it looks as if the violence against TN & Tamils properties deserve this as TN seems to have exploited Cauvery & Karnataka from time immemorial. Every one has given suggestions for TN - how to use water efficiently, how to extract ground water, which crop to plant, which party to vote. TN people in Karnataka few of them whom I have spoke to are in morbid fear even to speak in Tamil in a public place. I'm sure more Tamil people will leave bangalore/ Karnataka in the future many being born & brought up in Karnataka. Every party be it sadananda gowda or siddhu or vattal Nagaraj all have squarely blamed TN for the current problem when clearly this was from the apex court of the country. Ascribing motive to SC judge ( not that they are angels) & KJo asking to ignore SC all makes federalism a joke. Sorry for a bad rant - saying "sorry " is a powerful weapon which is seldom used now.
Swamyg saar,
already two : rotfl : emoticons in the two piddly posts you posted on this thread ?
iam sure that being the cheerful persona that you are,you are yet again unable to hide your glee hain ji?

Btw someone recently claimed here that someone else are the real usurpers in hosur & bangalore .
Then i remembered your recent pounce on a gujju post(atleast it was a claim which has some grounding - as gujjus lost both Karachi & Mumbai) whereas having retained chennai you went ahead and gleefully put in your claim that Tirupati too was usurped by someone.
What is that ? Are you compensating for something that you dont want to acknowledge?
SwamyG wrote: quote="Kakkaji"
Gujarat should ask for special category status because it did not get Mumbai when it was created out of the erstwhile Bombay state.

:roll: /quote

TN should ask for special category status because it did not get Tiruvengadam (a.k.a Tirupathy) :rotfl:, among ancient tamils their territory extended till Venkatam. :rotfl: :rotfl:
viewtopic.php?p=2039610#p2039610
In above context,let me quote back your lines on this thread for your perusal.
Swamyg wrote:It is tough to hide deep seated biases and hatred. It comes in some post or the other :rotfl: Does the new forum have a like button?
Btw Swamyg saar,
I remember your first defence of seeman as somebody "inevitable" due to the supposed history of "tamil vs nontamil" .
Is it why he is complaining against Sricity these days ?

PS:
svenkat wrote:....Hosur is more telugu than kannadiga but kannada presence is substantial in hosur,thali and dhenkanikotta(ridiculously called thenkanikottai).The best solution might be to give hosur taluka to andhra... viewtopic.php?p=2044026#p2044026
Svenkat saar,
Please to excuse us in your IED's(or whatever they are) - we dont want hosur and have to respectfully decline your kind offer.All those borders came about through a widely acknowledged legitimate process.
For that matter we are one of the lesser likely groups to harbor any subnationalist revisionist germ or the chip on the shoulder thats likely to come with it.
Last edited by Lilo on 15 Sep 2016 17:02, edited 1 time in total.

Lilo wrote:For that matter we are one of the lesser likely groups to harbor the revisionist germ or the chip on the shoulder thats likely to come with it.
LiloJi, I apologise if I got this wrong, but if by "we" you mean Kannadigas, I distinctly remember during my stay in Bengaluru in the mid 2000s there being a substantive undercurrent of pining for Kasargode (especially the Northern Half) and a feeling that Karnataka was hard done by the States reorganisation commission.

There is ample rains in the Western Ghats, the solution is to build dams and reservoirs in catchment areas

Take Bombay, for example. The British built 3 dams for its water supply in 1860, 1879 & 1892. Post independence, BMC wisely built four more dams in 1957, 1973, 1983 and 2012 for a whopping 3.4 billion liters of water daily.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Water_sources_of_Mumbai

The Ganga Canal was built from 1842 to 1854 and stretches 560 km to solve drought in UP. 3100 sq km and 5000 villages were irrigated. The College of Civil Engineering, India's first engineering college was established at Rourkee.

You may hate Maccauley and Dalhousie but you cant deny the good they did.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ganges_Canal

Maharashra (Konkan), Goa, Karnataka & Kerala get adequate rainfall. Solution is to build dams and reservoirs in catchment areas.

This will also result in employment and infrastructure the same way China keeps its population constructively engaged and prospering.

As for false environmental concerns of NGO's, dams actually lead to more vegetation by irrigating surrounding areas

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ranganath ... _Sanctuary

Kashi wrote:
Lilo wrote:For that matter we are one of the lesser likely groups to harbor the revisionist germ or the chip on the shoulder thats likely to come with it.
LiloJi, I apologise if I got this wrong, but if by "we" you mean Kannadigas, I distinctly remember during my stay in Bengaluru in the mid 2000s there being a substantive undercurrent of pining for Kasargode (especially the Northern Half) and a feeling that Karnataka was hard done by the States reorganisation commission.
Kashi ji,
I dont get what do you mean by an "undercurrent".
Is that issue still being raised in mallu-kannadiga forums (official or unofficial ?) - this is the first time iam hearing about it.
Btw iam not a kanndaiga , i hail from andhra .

Lilo wrote:Kashi ji,
I dont get what do you mean by an "undercurrent".
Is that issue still being raised in mallu-kannadiga forums (official or unofficial ?) - this is the first time iam hearing about it.
Btw iam not a kanndaiga , i hail from andhra .
LiloJi, my apologies for the misunderstanding. I recall an Andhra (now Telangana) acquaintance remark that they (Andhrites) never really got too serious on the issue of linguistics because despite everything, "our language is spoken across all our borders- Maharashtra, Odisha, TN and Karnataka" (I don't think he mentioned Chattisgarh, but then probably those border regions speak more of Adivasi languages/dialects).

I recall reading quite a few newspaper reports (small nondescript items tucked away in the inner pages) about how Karnataka was hard done on Kasargode. Mostly about few activists and their attempts to "redress the historical wrongs". On of them activists was named Kasargode Chinna, if I remember correctly!

I also remember seeing a few banners and small demos at some places, but that was barely a handful of people. But Deccan Herald used to run quite a few news items on Kasargode. A few statements from politicos here and there. Occasionally around the time when Belgaum issue used to heat up.

In respect of the Brits doing good work in irrigation area, we need to understand agricultural activity was taxed by them unlike our nation today. So it is basicaly an investement to increase loot. I do not know any brit with possible exception to Arthur Cotton doing some good work. Even in his case I am not certain.

In respect of losing Thitupathi Kanchi was more disputed than that place.

The famous Bengal famine is the result of usurious rates of tax on farm produce.