Indian Missiles and Munitions Discussion
Re: Indian Missiles and Munitions Discussion
what is the other (red) thing on Jag wing pylon? does not look like a drop tank or a bomb.
Could be a Bomb telemetry tracking kit??
The picture is of Sudarshan and has been taken from the december issue of DRDO techfocus pg. no. 5Juggi G wrote:ramana sir as per usual i don't have the faintest idea if the blog picture is really of the Sudarshan LGB for sureramana wrote:G. Juggi, is the blog picture really of the Sudarshan ? The DRDO pix showed the mid body fins being the control fins and rear ones for stability.
And the details of 400m ~ 1000m look bogus.
Likely the lasing pod , Sudarshan does need a laser kit to lase the target.Singha wrote:what is the other (red) thing on Jag wing pylon? does not look like a drop tank or a bomb.
Like the Optimus Prime of transformers

Sorry could not resist.
I liked the scene in transformers-1 where bumblebee who is around 10% Megatron's size goes after him and zaps him with his little laser shouting "you want a piece of me huh?"
and Megatron catches him like a lion catching a small dog, flies up to a rooftop and says matter of factly "yes" before ripping him into two parts
thats why I am great fan of the Chola emperors - very matter of fact people, not given to idle boasting or show boating - they just went ahead and did what they wanted to do - incl sending an army far north to west bengal to fill waters of the ganga into urns and bring it back, defeating anyone who stood in their way. that is why the ancient city of gangai-konda cholapuram came about ('konda' means conqueror of).
and Megatron catches him like a lion catching a small dog, flies up to a rooftop and says matter of factly "yes" before ripping him into two parts

thats why I am great fan of the Chola emperors - very matter of fact people, not given to idle boasting or show boating - they just went ahead and did what they wanted to do - incl sending an army far north to west bengal to fill waters of the ganga into urns and bring it back, defeating anyone who stood in their way. that is why the ancient city of gangai-konda cholapuram came about ('konda' means conqueror of).
Small nitpick sirji, the autobot's name was jazz bumblebee is the yellow one.Singha wrote:I liked the scene in transformers-1 where bumblebee who is around 10% Megatron's size goes after him and zaps him with his little laser shouting "you want a piece of me huh?"
OT - but got to love Megatron and StarScream though. perfect gang leader and his right hand.
I don't know what source you are using for those figures, but according to SIPRI IAF ordered 100 Griffin LGB in 2005 and tens of millions dollars worth of Griffin LGB kits in 2009. If the price of Griffin is around $20,000 per kit, then probably at least around 1,000 kits were procured for around $20 million dollars.vic wrote:India had ordered atleast 1000 Israeli LGB immediately after Kargil. So my guess is by now the LGB inventory should be around ~2500
Some more updates with numbers:
A list of current/planned PGMs in IAF's inventory (1980-2010):
LGB
Total LGB (in-service/ordered) -> 2,015 ****
ASM
Total ASM (in-service/ordered) -> 1,454 ****
Note: Quantities from SIPRI.
* Second order in 2009 for Griffin-3 LGB kits worth tens of millions dollars.
** Quantities not known. Estimates provided in the low side because IAF did not use it in Kargil because of it being expensive (and probably small quantity in service).
*** Although 160 Sea Eagles were ordered, IAF share is probably around 24 missiles as the new order of Harpoon indicates and also as the IAF only has 6 Jaguar IM that are capable of using these missiles.
**** Does not account for numbers used in exercises and combat.
A list of current/planned PGMs in IAF's inventory (1980-2010):
LGB
- 315 x Paveway II LGB (1,000lb GP bomb) -> Mirage-2000, Jaguar [any aircraft with Litening pod]
- 100+(~1,000*) x Griffin 3 LGB (1,000lb GP bomb) -> Jaguar, MiG-27UPG (?), Su-30MKI (?) [any aircraft with Litening pod]
- xx Sudarshan LGB (450kg HSLD bomb or 1,000lb GP) -> Jaguar (first tested with) [any aircraft with Litening pod]
- 500 x KAB-500Kr/KAB-1500Kr (500kg/1,500kg bomb) -> MiG-21 Bison [KAB-500], Su-30MKI [KAB-500/1500]
- ~100**(?) x Matra BGL (1,000kg bomb) -> Mirage-2000
ASM
- 250 x Kh-23 (287kg) -> MiG-27ML (retired?)
- 600 x Kh-25MP/MLT (315kg) -> MiG-27ML (retired?)
- 200 x Kh-31A1/P (600kg) -> Su-30MKI
- 100 x Kh-59ME (930kg) -> Su-30MKI
- ~50 x AS-30L (520kg) -> Mirage-2000
- 24*** x Sea Eagle (580kg) -> Jaguar IM (to be replaced by 24 x Harpoon) [total including IN stock is 160 Sea Eagles]
- 200(?) x Brahmos (2,500kg) -> Su-30MKI [total planned units 1,000 SSM/ASM variants for all services]
- 30 x Crystal Maze (3,000lb) -> Mirage-2000
- xx "K" series Air-Launched Article (2,000kg) -> Su-30MKI
Total ASM (in-service/ordered) -> 1,454 ****
Note: Quantities from SIPRI.
* Second order in 2009 for Griffin-3 LGB kits worth tens of millions dollars.
** Quantities not known. Estimates provided in the low side because IAF did not use it in Kargil because of it being expensive (and probably small quantity in service).
*** Although 160 Sea Eagles were ordered, IAF share is probably around 24 missiles as the new order of Harpoon indicates and also as the IAF only has 6 Jaguar IM that are capable of using these missiles.
**** Does not account for numbers used in exercises and combat.
If that is the approximate number for the guided munitions in store with the IAF. Then this number is very low. IIRC for the for TSP alone it was stsed that there are 5000 stratagic targets that will need to be hit. If we try to do this with guded munitions then we will need at least 7500 to 8000 munitions. For the TSP alone.
I am not considering the targets inside the PRC.
Barak's max range is actually 12 Km, Aster-15 is a over kill for a point defense missile system.Kanson wrote:Rahul M wrote:not happy with barak ?Going by the available Maitri specs, its range is supposed to be at least 15 km with active seeker. Barak-1 max range is ~10km and guidance is CLOS.INDIAN NAVY IS CONSIDERING INDUCTION OF A SAM SYSTEM, AS PDMS, FOR SHIPS UPTO 7000 TONS. THE BROAD QUALITATIVE REQUIREMENTS ARE AS FOLLOWS:-
(B) RANGE OF MISSILE ABOVE 10 KM.
(E) CAPABILITY TO BE INTERFACED WITH 2D/ 3D OR PHASED ARRAY RADARS.
(G) TARGET DESIGNATION FROM RADAR/ CMS.
(H) CAPABLE OF ENGAGING SUB SONIC AND SUPERSONIC TARGETS.
INDICATE ENGAGEMENT ENVELOPE.
Clicky
Aster-15 and even CAAM( as the tender invites system under development too)could fit in.
While Rafael mentions its max range as 10 - 12 km, IAI quotes the max range as 10 km.John wrote:Barak's max range is actually 12 Km, Aster-15 is a over kill for a point defense missile system.
Why it has to be 10 - 12, instead of simply stating the max range as 12 km ?
Indeed MBDA advertise Aster-15 as point defence system. They may respond to RFI. However it is upto the Navy to choose what is deemed necessary. If you ask me, Aster-15 without booster is a modernized VL mica.
Wiki wrote:Corvettes too small to have the costly Aster missile systems will be the best customer for this weapon, that basically is an Aster without its booster and PIF-PAF vectorial control(as example, the diameter and radar are roughly the same in both Mica and Aster)[2]
Those numbers if accurate are quite worrisome, if I remember correctly the US gave pak about 2000(or was it 500?) LGBs and JDAMs almost overnight recently in the F-16 package.srai wrote:....
G. Sagar is right. The picture is from DRDO Techfocus Dec 2010 and the words are also from there.
And the crucial bit about canards (ie mid body fins) doing the steering is there too.
DRDO Techfocus-Dec 2010
So as Griffin -3 has rear fin steering this is not a Griffin copy.
And the crucial bit about canards (ie mid body fins) doing the steering is there too.
DRDO Techfocus-Dec 2010
So as Griffin -3 has rear fin steering this is not a Griffin copy.
Yep. The key lies in mass-production of Sudarshan kits to covert a majority of our dumb bombs into smart ones. We cant import our way out of this problem.abhik wrote:Those numbers if accurate are quite worrisome, if I remember correctly the US gave pak about 2000(or was it 500?) LGBs and JDAMs almost overnight recently in the F-16 package.srai wrote:....
Prem the short text in the Dec 2010 Techfocus says IAF interested in hundreds of the kit. Not thousands. So might be again economical or not seeing big picture.
In Desert Storm, US targeted even tanks with 250lb LGBs. By being economical one reduces the flexibility. Whent hey know how much it costs to import and local source comes up one would think they would buy more. Especially when TSP is being given so many LGBs by uncle.
----------
Very interesting unrelated point in the pdf is the warhead for a UAV being developed and has pictures of it!
In Desert Storm, US targeted even tanks with 250lb LGBs. By being economical one reduces the flexibility. Whent hey know how much it costs to import and local source comes up one would think they would buy more. Especially when TSP is being given so many LGBs by uncle.
----------
Very interesting unrelated point in the pdf is the warhead for a UAV being developed and has pictures of it!
I hope the GPS kits shift to IRNSS kits when IRNSS is available.
Massa is sure to turn off GPS signal if tensions rise.
The significance of the 10 m number is I think because the civilian grade GPS signal has an accuracy of about 10 m. India doesn't have access perhaps to the mil grade GPS signal.
Gagan wrote:I hope the GPS kits shift to IRNSS kits when IRNSS is available.
It's 10ft not m
Gagan: the 10m accuracy was for LGB and not GPS. Dont know how much it will improve with GPS. The PDF states the following:
Does anyone know the max range at which Sudarshan LGB will be effective? Paveway II (for reference) can be released at a max 30K feet. That's roughly 9 KM height and 14 KM horizontal distance, assuming a simple toss-bomb for an aircraft flying at Mach 1.
Its stated that GPS will improve the range (nothing mentioned about accuracy). LGBs have an upper limit on range because the guidance kit needs to be able to "lock-in" to the laser reflected light. GPS guidance has no such restriction - hence bombs can potentially be released from longer stand-off ranges.The extension of kit’s capability to further increase its range using global positioning system (GPS) INS is going on.
Does anyone know the max range at which Sudarshan LGB will be effective? Paveway II (for reference) can be released at a max 30K feet. That's roughly 9 KM height and 14 KM horizontal distance, assuming a simple toss-bomb for an aircraft flying at Mach 1.
So we are still BSing about indeginous rotary engine for UAV while every high school kid is toying with them...
I was told by our BRF member seven years ago that we are on the verge of having our own jind of Rotax engine,,, still no where but just efforts...
Sad state of affairs.. Daniel is already making predator class and Israel ofcourse has its own high endurance UAVs to take on Iran...
I was told by our BRF member seven years ago that we are on the verge of having our own jind of Rotax engine,,, still no where but just efforts...
Sad state of affairs.. Daniel is already making predator class and Israel ofcourse has its own high endurance UAVs to take on Iran...
Very true. IAF is thinking from an "economical" perspective. PGM warstock inventory is very low for a force that is striving to be "modern". There is a severe lack in "bunker-busting" PGMs and 250-kg class LGBs. With the current quantities, IAF will run out of PGMs within days of a full-scale war. Traditional dumb bombing methods will incur heavy losses on the aircrafts delivering them while being far less effective in neutralizing heavily defended targets.ramana wrote:Prem the short text in the Dec 2010 Techfocus says IAF interested in hundreds of the kit. Not thousands. So might be again economical or not seeing big picture.
----------
Just for comparison:
US Smart Inventory List w/ Quantities
aye we can no longer pretend that smart munitions are for high value targets only - every a/c entering the IAF inventory (or being upged) have the capability to deliver guided munitions and should be utilized as such to increase lethality and economise resources. with our inventory of planes not so large, guided munitions can be the force multiplier.
we probably should budget for and build an inventory of around 30,000 Sudarshan kits - Tejas, M2k, Mig29K, Jags, MKIs, MRCA can all drop it.
the older Russian missiles (except KH59) will all expire, so will armat/as30L...we need a new unified common standoff missile family - perhaps working with Israel using popeye as the starting point and a range of seekers (IIR, GLONASS, MMW, ARM), ranges and payloads is the way fwd - 3 missile airframes with changeable seeker heads and range 75km, 150km and 300km.
we probably should budget for and build an inventory of around 30,000 Sudarshan kits - Tejas, M2k, Mig29K, Jags, MKIs, MRCA can all drop it.
the older Russian missiles (except KH59) will all expire, so will armat/as30L...we need a new unified common standoff missile family - perhaps working with Israel using popeye as the starting point and a range of seekers (IIR, GLONASS, MMW, ARM), ranges and payloads is the way fwd - 3 missile airframes with changeable seeker heads and range 75km, 150km and 300km.
Yes key munitions like LGB kits and smart guided artillery munitions in the league of Krasnopol-M/Excalibur need to be built in house and latter should be very much doable as the underlying technologies have already been mastered and perfected with Sudarshan project. We should set a target to achieve self reliance in manufacturing at least above two items, this would lessen the load on exchequer in the long run and at the same time avoid Kargil like embarrassing moments.
We are surely behind the curve. However it is not as bad as you think.ShivaS wrote:So we are still BSing about indeginous rotary engine for UAV while every high school kid is toying with them...
If I remember correctly from April last year Nishant has been flying on an indigenous Wankel engine. Wankel engines are better for UAVs as they are much more quieter and lighter (don't have any pistons). IIRC the indigenous engine ways 30 kgs and produces 55 hp.
Rustom H does show two wing loaded engines. Most probably the Rotax use in the Hansa.
By the way, Here's a list of UAVs (not exhaustive) without indigenous engines in the Rustom H category, take your pick

Predator,
IAI Heron,
IAI Eitan,
EADS Harfang,
Denel's Bateleur,
TAI Anka.
Last edited by Indranil on 30 Nov 2010 09:18, edited 1 time in total.
Singha wrote:aye we can no longer pretend that smart munitions are for high value targets only - every a/c entering the IAF inventory (or being upged) have the capability to deliver guided munitions and should be utilized as such to increase lethality and economise resources. with our inventory of planes not so large, guided munitions can be the force multiplier.
Every pilot is a high value asset. The idea should be to kill them dead and forget WWI Biggles type of dogfights.
Most likely the max range is dependent on the altitude of the target?Kanson wrote:While Rafael mentions its max range as 10 - 12 km, IAI quotes the max range as 10 km.John wrote:Barak's max range is actually 12 Km, Aster-15 is a over kill for a point defense missile system.
Well to me the RFI looks like it will serve as CIWS in large vessels to complement Barak-8 and primary air defense system for Corvettes, Aster 15 does not fit that role. I suspect Barak-8 probably has high minimum range so do we need complementary short range missile system for P-17B/P-15A. I do wish the requirement for VLS is removed so IN can also evaluate RAM and Kashtan-M.
Indeed MBDA advertise Aster-15 as point defence system. They may respond to RFI. However it is upto the Navy to choose what is deemed necessary. If you ask me, Aster-15 without booster is a modernized VL mica.
Last edited by John on 30 Nov 2010 10:35, edited 1 time in total.
Singha wrote:aye we can no longer pretend that smart munitions are for high value targets only - every a/c entering the IAF inventory (or being upged) have the capability to deliver guided munitions and should be utilized as such to increase lethality and economise resources. with our inventory of planes not so large, guided munitions can be the force multiplier.
Do you have some thing like the JSOW in mind or do you have SDB type weapon in mind.
If the Sudarshan LGB kits cost around $25,000 USD each, it would only cost the IAF $750 million to acquire 30,000 LGB kits. This is something IAF of today can quite easily afford.Singha wrote:...
Similar programs:Singha wrote:...
- Storm Shadow / SCALP -> range: 250km+; weight: 1,230kg; guidance: Inertial, GPS, TERPROM, Terminal guidance using imaging infrared
- Taurus KEPD 350 -> range: 500km+; weight: 1,400kg; guidance:IBN (Image Based Navigation), INS (Inertial Navigation System), TRN (Terrain Referenced Navigation) and MIL-GPS (Global Positioning System)
- AGM-158 JASSM -> range: 370km+; weight: 975kg; guidance: inertial navigation with updating from a global positioning system, target recognition and terminal homing via an imaging infrared seeker
http://www.pib.nic.in/newsite/erelease.aspx?relid=0Pune Based DRDO Lab Makes Most Powerful Conventional Explosive
The DRDO is developing a powerful explosive, - the CL-20, that can substantially reduce the weight and size of the warhead while packing much more punch. In fact, the RDX is not the standard explosive in use with the Indian Armed Forces; the warheads are mostly packed with HMX, FOX-7 or amorphous Boron.
Scientists at the Pune-based High Energy Materials Research Laboratory (HEMRL) have already synthesized adequate quantity of CL-20 in the laboratory. “It is the most powerful non-nuclear explosive yet known to man,” says Dr. AK Sikder, Joint Director, HEMRL, who heads the High Energy Materials Division. The compound, ‘Indian CL-20’ or ICL-20, was indigenously synthesized in the HEMRL laboratory using inverse technology, he added. “The HEMRL has taken India to an elite club of countries with advanced capabilities in the field of Energetic Materials,” said Shri Manish Bhardwaj, a senior Scientist with the HEMRL. In fact, the CL-20 is such a fascination for the HEMRL that a larger-than-life size model of the compound occupies the pride of place as one enters the portals of the main building of the DRDO's premier lab in Pune.
CL-20, so named after the China Lake facility of the Naval Air Weapons Station in California, US, was first synthesized by Dr. Arnold Nielson in 1987. CL-20, or Octa-Nitro-Cubane, is a Nitramine class of explosive 15 times as powerful as HMX, His/Her Majesty Explosive or High Melting Explosive or Octogen. The HMX itself is more than four times as potent as the Research Developed Explosive or Royal Demolition Explosive or Cyclonite or Hexogen, commonly known as RDX.
“CL-20 offers the only option within the next 10-15 years to meet the requirements of the Indian Armed Forces for Futuristic Weapons,” said Dr. Sikder. “CL-20 -based Shaped Charges significantly improve the penetration over armours,” he said, adding that it could be used in the bomb for the 120-mm main gun mounted on the MBT-Arjun. “But the costs of mass production of ICL-20 are still prohibitive,” said Dr. Sikder. Compared to Rs.750 per kilogram it takes to produce RDX in the factory today, the HMX is worth about Rs.6,000 per kg while a kilogram of CL-20 costs a whopping Rs.70,000 per kg.
JASSM is being sold to Australia and other allies of USA. It has a range of around 400KM.
Pak has already operationalized Raad and Babur. Both of which have substantial Chinese help in development.
Why are we limiting ourselves to 300KM and following MCTR for Brahmos???
Pak has already operationalized Raad and Babur. Both of which have substantial Chinese help in development.
Why are we limiting ourselves to 300KM and following MCTR for Brahmos???
One kg of CL-20 would increase the cost of say nag missile by say Rs. 70,000 when its cost is around Rs. 1 crore per missile, so cost increase would be less than 1%
CL-20 model in HEMRL.wig wrote:http://www.pib.nic.in/newsite/erelease.aspx?relid=0Pune Based DRDO Lab Makes Most Powerful Conventional Explosive
The DRDO is developing a powerful explosive, - the CL-20, that can substantially reduce the weight and size of the warhead while packing much more punch. In fact, the RDX is not the standard explosive in use with the Indian Armed Forces; the warheads are mostly packed with HMX, FOX-7 or amorphous Boron.
In fact, the CL-20 is such a fascination for the HEMRL that a larger-than-life size model of the compound occupies the pride of place as one enters the portals of the main building of the DRDO's premier lab in Pune.

The cost of some weapons like the JDAMs have come down to the extent that it simply doesn't make sense to have any dumb iron bombs. And the diversity:-from cheap GPS and laser guided bombs to smart sub-munitions, from massive bunker busting ones to 7 pound anti personnel bombs too be carried by uavs, stealthy glide and cruise missiles/bombs... the list is is really huge once you really consider it. We have only taken a tiny step with the Sudarshan. One way of tackling this would be to launch an IMGP like comprehensive program.
Is CL-20 really 15 times more powerful than HMX? Global security, wiki says this
CL-20 [2,4,6,8,10,12-hexanitrohexaazaisowurtzitane (HNIW) ] is a new nitramine explosive that is 20 percent more powerful that HMX.
If this is to serve mainly as CIWS, the max range at low altitude(anti-sea skimming) can't be 12 km, right?John wrote:Most likely the max range is dependent on the altitude of the target?Kanson wrote:While Rafael mentions its max range as 10 - 12 km, IAI quotes the max range as 10 km.
I guess, the tender specified the requirement for upto 7000 ton vessel. So i thought it could fit in. I'm not sure how Navy reacts. You must have seen pics of Barak-8 with booster displayed by IAI.John wrote:Well to me the RFI looks like it will serve as CIWS in large vessels to complement Barak-8 and primary air defense system for Corvettes, Aster 15 does not fit that role. I suspect Barak-8 probably has high minimum range so do we need complementary short range missile system for P-17B/P-15A. I do wish the requirement for VLS is removed so IN can also evaluate RAM and Kashtan-M.Kanson wrote:
Last edited by Kanson on 30 Nov 2010 19:20, edited 3 times in total.
>>Is CL-20 really 15 times more powerful than HMX? Global security, wiki says this
It could have mentioned it as 1.5 times, not 15. Probably a typo.
With regards to all the claims that the Indian ABM system did not take countermeasures in mind & that tests would be "simple" it should now be clear that there is a significant advantage from having both the BM & ABM system developer under the same roof, allowing for parallel development of measure, countermeasure optimally.
I think the below new items speak for themselves and clearly point out that the actual developers are far more aware of these issues than we are, and there are many things about Indian strategic programs that are revealed in due time.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/article915435.ece
Source: http://www.aviationweek.com/aw/generic/ ... %20Missile
I think the below new items speak for themselves and clearly point out that the actual developers are far more aware of these issues than we are, and there are many things about Indian strategic programs that are revealed in due time.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/article915435.ece
Similarly:Interceptor planned
In the coming weeks, the DRDO plans to launch an interceptor missile as part of its efforts to establish a ballistic missile shield. “We will soon launch an interceptor from the Wheeler Island, which will intercept a ballistic missile launched from the Integrated Test Range at Chandipur in Orissa,” a DRDO official said.
The interception would take place at an altitude of 15 km in what is called endo-atmosphere. The missile from Chandipur would mimic the trajectory of a ballistic missile launched from an enemy-country.
“We are trying to attempt a very different trajectory [from the earlier interceptor missions]. When the enemy missile is coming down in its trajectory, it will try to dodge the interceptor missile. The interceptor should be able to take care of this and still hit it,” the official said adding the interceptor would be a single-stage supersonic missile, called Advanced Air Defence. The attacker would be a modified Prithvi missile.
Source: http://www.aviationweek.com/aw/generic/ ... %20Missile
Sources tell Aviation Week that the Agni-II Prime will be an improvement in terms of accuracy, distance and strength. “The launch preparations are on,” an official says. “This is part of DRDO’s extended campaign in December as we have scheduled some more launches.” The A2 will be most likely test-fired for the first time on Dec. 8. “The dates might defer, but the launch is [certainly] soon,” the official says.
In addition to the ability to carry extra fuel, the A2 will have a new motor in its re-entry vehicle for better maneuverability and increased range. With a flex nozzle in the second stage to avoid anti-ballistic missile (ABM) defenses, the A2 has an improved navigation system onboard.
The makers of the A2 at DRDO’s Advanced System Laboratory (ASL) in Hyderabad refuse to give any details of the missile launch. The A2’s launch comes soon after the Nov. 25 Agni-1 test-firing by India’s Strategic Forces Command as part of user trials.
http://ajaishukla.blogspot.com/2010/11/ ... neers.html
A press release from the DRDO, issued today, is attached below:
PUNE BASED DRDO LAB MAKES MOST POWERFUL CONVENTIONAL EXPLOSIVE
New Delhi: Agrahayana 09, 1932
November 30, 2010
Move over RDX! That’s passé for the needs of the Indian Armed Forces. The DRDO is developing a powerful explosive, --- the CL-20, that can substantially reduce the weight and size of the warhead while packing much more punch. In fact, the RDX is not the standard explosive in use with the Indian Armed Forces; the warheads are mostly packed with HMX, FOX-7 or amorphous Boron.
Scientists at the Pune-based High Energy Materials Research Laboratory (HEMRL) have already synthesized adequate quantity of CL-20 in the laboratory. “It is the most powerful non-nuclear explosive yet known to man,” says Dr. AK Sikder, Joint Director, HEMRL, who heads the High Energy Materials Division. The compound, ‘Indian CL-20’ or ICL-20, was indigenously synthesized in the HEMRL laboratory using inverse technology, he added. “The HEMRL has taken India to an elite club of countries with advanced capabilities in the field of Energetic Materials,” said Shri Manish Bhardwaj, a senior Scientist with the HEMRL. In fact, the CL-20 is such a fascination for the HEMRL that a larger-than-life size model of the compound occupies the pride of place as one enters the portals of the main building of the DRDO's premier lab in Pune.
CL-20, so named after the China Lake facility of the Naval Air Weapons Station in California, US, was first synthesized by Dr. Arnold Nielson in 1987. CL-20, or Octa-Nitro-Cubane, is a Nitramine class of explosive 15 times as powerful as HMX, His/Her Majesty Explosive or High Melting Explosive or Octogen. The HMX itself is more than four times as potent as the Research Developed Explosive or Royal Demolition Explosive or Cyclonite or Hexogen, commonly known as RDX.
“CL-20 offers the only option within the next 10-15 years to meet the requirements of the Indian Armed Forces for Futuristic Weapons,” said Dr. Sikder. “CL-20 based Shaped Charges significantly improve the penetration over armours,” he said, adding that it could be used in the bomb for the 120-mm main gun mounted on the MBT-Arjun. “But the costs of mass production of ICL-20 are still prohibitive,” said Dr. Sikder. Compared to Rs.750 per kilogram it takes to produce RDX in the factory today, the HMX is worth about Rs.6,000 per kg while a kilogram of CL-20 costs a whopping Rs.70,000 per kg.
“We have a tie up with industry partner for intermediate commercial exploitation of ICL-20,” said Dr. A. Subhananda Rao, Director, HEMRL. About 100 kgs of ICL-20 has been produced by HEMRL in collaboration with the Premier Explosives Limited (PEL). The CL-20, which looks like limestone or grainy talcum powder, is being manufactured by the PEL factory at Peddakanlukur village in Nalgonda district of Andhra Pradesh. The Rs.60 crores Hyderabad-based company bagged the DRDO’s Defence Technology Absorption Award, 2007 worth Rs.Ten Lakhs, presented by Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh on May 12, 2008, their most prestigious award, claimed company sources.
“The advantage with the CL-20 is its Reduced Sensitivity,” said Dr. Sikder, enabling easy handling and transportation of the lethal weaponry. In fact, the HEMRL is concentrating on the Reduced Shock Sensitivity (RSS) explosives, such as RSS-RDX, which costs about Rs.1,500-2,000 per kg, and RSS-HMX. “There is a whole array of low sensitivity material or Insensitive Munitions we are working on,” said Dr. Rao. “The world around there is a lot of R&D being pumped into what are called the Green Explosives, as also the advanced Insensitive Munitions (IM) and RSS explosives,” added Dr. Sikder, which reduces the chances of mishap and loss to M4, - Men, Money, Materials and Machines.
======================================================================
While main thrust seems to be increasing the insensitive of the explosive/propellants, we are ever increasing the envelope of propellants typically custom designed.
we moved from conventionally used propellants like HTPB/Al/AP to various Nitro amines (RDX, HMX, etc) and Nitrate esters (PETN, NEPE etc) based propellants. CL-20 is one such newly developed Nitro amine. Modern ICBMs are known to use such poly nitro group based propellants.
A press release from the DRDO, issued today, is attached below:
PUNE BASED DRDO LAB MAKES MOST POWERFUL CONVENTIONAL EXPLOSIVE
New Delhi: Agrahayana 09, 1932
November 30, 2010
Move over RDX! That’s passé for the needs of the Indian Armed Forces. The DRDO is developing a powerful explosive, --- the CL-20, that can substantially reduce the weight and size of the warhead while packing much more punch. In fact, the RDX is not the standard explosive in use with the Indian Armed Forces; the warheads are mostly packed with HMX, FOX-7 or amorphous Boron.
“CL-20 offers the only option within the next 10-15 years to meet the requirements of the Indian Armed Forces for Futuristic Weapons,” said Dr. Sikder. “CL-20 based Shaped Charges significantly improve the penetration over armours,” he said, adding that it could be used in the bomb for the 120-mm main gun mounted on the MBT-Arjun. “But the costs of mass production of ICL-20 are still prohibitive,” said Dr. Sikder. Compared to Rs.750 per kilogram it takes to produce RDX in the factory today, the HMX is worth about Rs.6,000 per kg while a kilogram of CL-20 costs a whopping Rs.70,000 per kg.
“We have a tie up with industry partner for intermediate commercial exploitation of ICL-20,” said Dr. A. Subhananda Rao, Director, HEMRL. About 100 kgs of ICL-20 has been produced by HEMRL in collaboration with the Premier Explosives Limited (PEL). The CL-20, which looks like limestone or grainy talcum powder, is being manufactured by the PEL factory at Peddakanlukur village in Nalgonda district of Andhra Pradesh. The Rs.60 crores Hyderabad-based company bagged the DRDO’s Defence Technology Absorption Award, 2007 worth Rs.Ten Lakhs, presented by Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh on May 12, 2008, their most prestigious award, claimed company sources.
“The advantage with the CL-20 is its Reduced Sensitivity,” said Dr. Sikder, enabling easy handling and transportation of the lethal weaponry. In fact, the HEMRL is concentrating on the Reduced Shock Sensitivity (RSS) explosives, such as RSS-RDX, which costs about Rs.1,500-2,000 per kg, and RSS-HMX. “There is a whole array of low sensitivity material or Insensitive Munitions we are working on,” said Dr. Rao. “The world around there is a lot of R&D being pumped into what are called the Green Explosives, as also the advanced Insensitive Munitions (IM) and RSS explosives,” added Dr. Sikder, which reduces the chances of mishap and loss to M4, - Men, Money, Materials and Machines.
======================================================================
While main thrust seems to be increasing the insensitive of the explosive/propellants, we are ever increasing the envelope of propellants typically custom designed.
we moved from conventionally used propellants like HTPB/Al/AP to various Nitro amines (RDX, HMX, etc) and Nitrate esters (PETN, NEPE etc) based propellants. CL-20 is one such newly developed Nitro amine. Modern ICBMs are known to use such poly nitro group based propellants.