Understanding the US - Again

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Understanding the US - Again

The fact that a government agency has an organization that lobbies on its behalf tells you everything you need to know.
Yeah, I wonder why an gotus agency needs a support group. This is something like if there were to be "Friends of IAS" group in Bharat. :mrgreen:

Specifically, the declassified material mentions emails purportedly sent by Bernardo, then the regional director for Eurasia at the Open Society Foundations (a network founded by George Soros). These purported emails discuss a plan to "demonize Putin and Trump" and suggested using the FBI to further the narrative about Russian interference and Trump. However, according to reports, Bernardo denied sending these emails when questioned by Durham's team, and investigators ultimately concluded that the emails were likely a composite created by Russian intelligence, potentially from hacked communications.
In essence, Leonard Bernardo is mentioned in these reports because his name appears on emails that discuss a strategy related to the Clinton campaign, Trump, and Russia, but these emails are now considered likely Russian disinformation.

——-
So it all depends on who you want to believe. There is no truth in the absence of a method to determine the truth.

If it helps, it was a Trump appointee, John Durham, who concluded these emails were Russian disinformation.

Wiki:

John Henry Durham (born March 16, 1950)[3][4][5] is an American lawyer who served as the United States Attorney for the District of Connecticut (D. Conn.) from 2018 to 2021. By April 2019, the Trump administration assigned him to investigate the origins of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) investigation into Russian interference in the 2016 U.S. elections, and in October 2020 he was appointed special counsel for the Department of Justice on that matter.

A Govt statistical org needs friends to ensure it gets adequate funding, and to try to keep Congress or the Executive from politicizing it. This Friends of BLS organization is a collaborative effort of various groups, including the American Statistical Association (AmStat) and the Council of Professional Associations on Federal Statistics (COPAFS).

https://www.friendsofnchs.org/

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS):

Friends of NCHS: This is a voluntary coalition of over 170 organizations and individuals, including professional associations, universities, and advocacy groups. Like Friends of BLS, they advocate for the NCHS to Congress and others to ensure the agency has the resources to carry out its mission.

Statistics dept can be fired since they are into sampling of small data sets and deducing conclusions on the larger data set. Today there is big data processing which can provide the accurate complete picture. There are things like FINRA (finacial regulation agency) which captures all transactions in the US and reports are published by FINRA on the complete money picture within the US. The US has many such such agencies like FINRA that capture all data. It uses things like hadoop, hbase and so on. Statistics is now mostly adopted in AI programs to do clustering algorithms. NSA for example has the trunk route of internet traffic captured and NSA can break any encrption algorithm when required.

Revisions which are consistently in the same direction are not “normal.” They’re supposed to be random and normally distributed in any survey that isn’t fundamentally biased or broken. Basic statistics 101 stuff
AI tells me:
An analysis of the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) monthly "Employment Situation" reports reveals several instances where revisions to the previous two months' job figures have moved in the same direction as the trend set by the current month's initial report. This pattern, often noted by economists and market analysts, can amplify the signal sent by the latest jobs data, indicating a strengthening or weakening labor market.

The BLS routinely revises its initial estimates of nonfarm payroll employment for the two preceding months. These revisions are a standard part of the data production process, as they incorporate additional information from survey respondents who reply after the initial data collection deadline. While these revisions can be both upward and downward, there are occasions where they appear to follow the narrative of the most recent jobs report.

Here are some notable instances from recent years where the revisions to the prior two months' job gains were in line with the trend suggested by the current month's data:

2023: A Year of Consistent Upward Revisions Early On, Followed by a Downward Shift

Throughout the first half of 2023, the labor market consistently outperformed expectations, and the subsequent revisions from the BLS often reinforced this narrative of a surprisingly robust job market.

May 2023 Report (released in June 2023): The initial report for May showed a strong gain of 339,000 jobs, significantly exceeding economists' forecasts and signaling continued strength in the labor market. In the same report, the BLS revised the job gains for the previous two months upwards:

March's figure was revised up by 4,000 from +236,000 to +240,000.

April's figure was revised up by a substantial 93,000, from +253,000 to +346,000.

Link to BLS Report: https://www.bls.gov/news.release/archiv ... 022023.htm

News Analysis: News outlets at the time highlighted these upward revisions as further evidence of the labor market's resilience.

September 2023 Report (released in October 2023): This report delivered a significant upside surprise with a preliminary estimate of +336,000 jobs, again well above expectations. The revisions for the prior two months also trended upward, reinforcing the report's strong message:

July's employment change was revised up by 79,000, from +157,000 to +236,000.

August's employment change was revised up by 40,000, from +187,000 to +227,000.

Link to BLS Report: https://www.bls.gov/news.release/archiv ... 062023.pdf

News Analysis: Economists and journalists pointed to the combined strength of the headline number and the significant upward revisions as a sign that the labor market was not cooling as quickly as many had anticipated.

However, a shift appeared in the latter part of the year.

December 2023 Report (released in January 2024): The initial estimate for December was a solid +216,000. However, the revisions for the two preceding months were both downwards, suggesting a slight cooling trend in the latter part of the year.

October's job gains were revised down by 71,000, from +150,000 to +79,000.

November's job gains were revised down by 26,000, from +199,000 to +173,000.

Link to BLS Report: https://www.bls.gov/news.release/archiv ... 052024.htm

News Analysis: While the December number was strong, the downward revisions to the prior months tempered some of the optimism and were seen by some as a sign of a moderating job market.

2024: A Continuation of the Revision Trend

The pattern of revisions aligning with the current month's trend has continued into 2024.

February 2024 Report (released in March 2024): The February report showed a robust gain of +275,000 jobs, beating expectations. In line with this strong showing, the previous two months also saw upward revisions:

December 2023's job gains were revised up by 43,000, from +290,000 to +333,000.

January 2024's job gains were revised up by a significant 124,000, from +229,000 to +353,000.

Link to BLS Report: The revisions are mentioned in the summary of the March 2024 Employment Situation report. The exact figures can be found in the historical data tables on the BLS website.

News Analysis: The substantial upward revisions garnered significant media attention, with many reports emphasizing the renewed strength of the U.S. labor market at the start of the year.

Understanding the Revisions

It is crucial to note that the BLS's revision process is a standard statistical procedure designed to improve the accuracy of its data. The initial estimates are based on a sample of employers, and the subsequent revisions incorporate more complete data. While the alignment of these revisions with the current month's trend can be interpreted as a confirmation of an emerging pattern, the BLS itself does not explicitly state that it revises figures to match a trend.

Economists generally view the revised data as a more accurate reflection of the labor market's health. The instances highlighted above demonstrate how these routine statistical adjustments can contribute to the evolving narrative of the U.S. economy, providing a clearer, albeit delayed, picture of its trajectory.

Vayutuvan wrote: 02 Aug 2025 01:36
Rudradev wrote: 01 Aug 2025 07:59 There is a streak of desperate urgency in him, a frantic lashing out for things that he imagines will solidify a presidential "legacy" of some kind.
... suggests a knowledge of having gravely limited time.
{removed from here: image of Leonard Bernado letter from John Durham's report annex}
If this is true, then he might be fearing the deep state just like IG before imposing emergency. She was afraid of CIA/the US trying to pull her down. JP and Janata Party were funded by the US was the rumor then.

Rumor now is that Sam Pitroda is CIA pasand.
I think just like Trump, Trump cult members are desperate and flailing.
The Durham annex states, “The Office’s best assessment is that the … emails that purport to be from Benardo were ultimately a composite of several emails that were obtained through Russian intelligence hacking of the U.S.-based Think Tanks, including the Open Society Foundations, the Carnegie Endowment, and others.” (Pg. 17)
You can find it in the annex itself or from Senator Grassley's website:
https://www.grassley.senate.gov/news/ne ... nvestigate

I think Indian commentator Vijay Sardana said it best on the Jaipur Dialogues, paraphrase, how many years since COVID? Well, Trump is a human COVID, in three and a half years he will be gone.

Vayutuvan wrote: 02 Aug 2025 01:42 Is the above email doctored? Senator Mike Lee posted it on X.

https://x.com/SenMikeLee/status/1951299811031880102
The New York Times and other Democrat mouthpieces who helped craft and push the Russiagate hoax are counting on their readers to not look at the actual documents.
Yes, the very document of which a snapshot of a page is provided by Senator Mike Lee, just a little bit further says that it is Russian disinformation. Funny that Senator Mike Lee did not read the actual document.

As I said, Trump cult members are desperate and flailing.

A_Gupta wrote: 02 Aug 2025 02:52 If it helps, it was a Trump appointee, John Durham, who concluded these emails were Russian disinformation.
Yes, absolutely. The shoe is on the other foot and it is being used. :lol:

From here: https://x.com/GrrrGraphics/status/1951431094332694836 who has 250K followers on X. How many do you have @A_Gupta ji?!!!
GrrrGraphics-Ben Garrison 🤠 Cartoons 🇺🇸
@GrrrGraphics

Well, this is interesting- Former Special Counsel JACK SMITH is now under investigation by the HATCH ACT unit by the Office of Special Counsel.

What goes around comes around!
Did you VOTE for THIS? I sure did!
Flashback Friday Jack Smith cartoon!

A_Gupta wrote: 02 Aug 2025 03:03 A Govt statistical org needs friends to ensure it gets adequate funding, and to try to keep Congress or the Executive from politicizing it. This Friends of BLS organization is a collaborative effort of various groups, including the American Statistical Association (AmStat) and the Council of Professional Associations on Federal Statistics (COPAFS).
How come with support from "honest to good" statisticians, they got all the job data wrong during Biden era and now with Trump? Even govt employees can be fired for incompetence in the US. Nobody had done it till now doesn't mean it cannot be done or it should not be done.

I am sure you will also support "Friends of IAS" in Bharat if there were to be such an organization. In anycase, it is very hard to fire babus in India or babus in Dupli-City.

Nobody is going to jail.

I'm not stupid enough to be on X/Twitter.

You assert the BLS got the numbers wrong - I'm supposed to believe your assertion? When you didn't even read the document from which you posted that Leonard Benardo email which, as you can verify for yourself, is called Russian disinformation by the author of that document.

IAS is an administrative job with considerable powers. A BLS statistician has none, probably cannot even notarize documents. Why you conflate the two roles is beyond human reason.

Also note that if I am civil with you, it does not mean I respect you. It keeps going down with each baseless piece you post. I don't know why you make it a hobby of misleading BRF.

A_Gupta wrote: 02 Aug 2025 08:16 Also note that if I am civil with you, it does not mean I respect you.
I need neither your civility nor your respect. Thank you very much.

You @A_Gupta sire, are not as smart as you think you are. So get off the high horse.

Not all IIT JEE toppers are made equal, nor all IIT 10.0 GPA folks.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 02 Aug 2025 09:01, edited 1 time in total.

I deal with lots of AI programs. But AI programs are nascent and frankly NOT that good yet. This business of asking AI with prompts is prone to a) bias based on the RAG they use b) halucination - same prompt yields different answers at different time. Tis f?ng annoying to see people quoting AI generated from such programs as if it is gospel truth. The output sometimes is the same rubbish you read in mags with obvious tilt/viewpoint/agenda. Can forum moderators remove generated AI content especially long essays which are really boring to read after the first few lines, since we know where it is heading. Adds no value to the discussion except re-inforcing a certain viewpoint which invariably is false. And some of it is like apple pie and motherhood type nonsense.

https://www.rediff.com/news/column/the- ... 250731.htm
The Leverage Trump's US Has On Xi's China Has Shrunk
AAKAR PATEL, July 31, 2025

The historian Max Hastings described the Second World War as primarily the death grapple between two gargantuan monsters -- Adolf Hitler's Nazi armies against Joseph Stalin's Soviet forces.
The rest, Winston Churchill's speeches and the American struggle against Japan in the Pacific, was at the most a sideshow and that is true as the nationality of those killed reveals.
The great contest of our time is also between just two powers: Donald Trump's United States of America and Xi Jinping's People's Republic of China.
The rest of the world is a noisy sideshow. The contest between America and China is not military, at least not yet, but the stakes are similar and in many ways higher.
From the outside it can be seen as the struggle for global economic dominance between the west and Asia.
What China needs is time. In 1991, when India entered this new phase called liberalisation, we were level with China in economic terms.
The average India produced as much as the average Chinese. It is true that China had been reforming for a decade before that, and that is seen as an advantage over us, however it had done so from a position which was much below India's.
In industry and agriculture, it had been shut off from the world for decades, unlike India.
And unlike us, the Chinese leadership had put ordinary Chinese through gratuitous suffering out of which the country was just emerging.
Over the next 35 years, China averaged 9 per cent annual GDP growth, faster economic advance than any power had ever achieved in the west.
In the last 10 years China has slowed to average 5.8% growth, which was similar to India's but on a base five times larger.
If China gets another decade to grow without distraction, it will eclipse the United States as the world's largest economy.
It has already done so in what is called Purchasing Power Parity terms, but in a decade it will likely be larger also in absolute terms.
Being number two in a world it has dominated for 150 years is totally unacceptable to the United States.
Western political scientists like John Mearsheimer say that China's rise will inevitably lead to conflict because of what is called the Thucydides Trap, which theorises that when a rising power is about to displace the dominant one, war is the result.
In this theory violence is the result because the existing dominant power, in this case the US, will never accept second position and will subdue its rival however it can.
Some argue that this is a probably a western way of looking at things and that Asian powers are not interested in meddling in global affairs in the way that Europe and the US have done for the last two centuries.
They think China's rise will not threaten US bases around the world or its stranglehold on institutions like the IMF, World Bank and United Nations Security Council.
And therefore the US should consider that when assessing what China's becoming number one means.

A_Gupta wrote: 02 Aug 2025 08:16 I'm not stupid enough to be on X/Twitter.

You assert the BLS got the numbers wrong - I'm supposed to believe your assertion? When you didn't even read the document from which you posted that Leonard Benardo email which, as you can verify for yourself, is called Russian disinformation by the author of that document.

IAS is an administrative job with considerable powers. A BLS statistician has none, probably cannot even notarize documents. Why you conflate the two roles is beyond human reason.

Also note that if I am civil with you, it does not mean I respect you. It keeps going down with each baseless piece you post. I don't know why you make it a hobby of misleading BRF.
We are stuck with this nuisance on BRF. "Ignore" button dabaao, sukh chain paao.

bala wrote: 02 Aug 2025 08:40 ... motherhood type nonsense.
@bala gaaru, make it

motherhood "Mother Jones". Someone (I forget who :wink: ) used to post long screeds from that site. :twisted:

Yet they have the chutzpah to say some of us here are misleading BRF as if BRF is a monolithic group think entity. :roll: :shock: :roll:

KL Dubey wrote: 02 Aug 2025 09:03 We are stuck with this nuisance on BRF. "Ignore" button dabaao, sukh chain paao.
So what happened to all your campaigns of banning yours truly?

g.sarkar wrote: 02 Aug 2025 08:50 https://www.rediff.com/news/column/the- ... 250731.htm
The Leverage Trump's US Has On Xi's China Has Shrunk
AAKAR PATEL, July 31, 2025
^^ Gautam ji, I will respond to this article in Challenge of China thread shortly.
These articles are too much boiler plate and don't understand the dynamics of China and where it is today.
Last edited by bala on 02 Aug 2025 10:19, edited 2 times in total.

Aakar Patel is widely known as Bekar Patel.

https://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way ... ing-remark
Obama Apologizes To California AG Over 'Best Looking' Remark
April 5, 20133:40 PM ET
Eyder Peralta

White House Press Secretary Jay Carney said today that President Obama called California Attorney General Kamala Harris to apologize.

Obama made waves Thursday during a fundraiser in which he referred to Harris' looks.

"You have to be careful to, first of all, say she is brilliant and she is dedicated and she is tough, and she is exactly what you'd want in anybody who is administering the law, and making sure that everybody is getting a fair shake," Obama said according to The Washington Post. "She also happens to be, by far, the best looking attorney general in the country."

Carney said Obama called Harris last night right after the trip.

"He called her to apologize for the distraction created by his comments," Carney said.

As soon as the comments became public, they were dissected everywhere.

Salon's headline: "Twitter to Obama: Commenting on Kamala Harris' appearence was stupid, sexist."

They quote writer Zerlina Maxwell tweeting: "Men wondering why it's not ok to comment on a woman's looks whenever/whereever they want need to google 'male privilege.' Now."

The Root's Keli Goff, however, disagrees.

"[Harris] is beautiful — a beautiful black woman, to be exact," she writes. "And none of us should apologize for celebrating that, including the president — who, for the record, is the best looking president our country has had."

New York Magazine posted a piece that counts the many times Obama has referred to "important, accomplished men" good looking. He's an "equal-opportunity flatterer."

The magazine reports:
"Introducing HUD secretary Shaun Donovan last February, Obama declared, 'There he is, the good-looking guy in the front here.'

"At a speech last March, Obama pointed out his secretary of the Interior, Ken Salazar, by calling him 'a good-looking guy.'

"A couple of months ago, Obama gave a shout-out to the 'outstanding Secretary of the Navy,' Ray Mabus. 'There he is right there — the good-looking guy over at the end.'"
So what do you think? Was Obama's comment sexist? Is it ever OK for a man in power to compliment someone based on looks?

Update at 3:47 p.m. ET. Harris 'Strongly Supports Him':

Michael Falcone, ABC news deputy political director, tweets that Harris' spokesperson said "They had a great conversation yesterday and she strongly supports him."

What controversies did Obama have?
  • U.S. Senate report on CIA torture.
  • United States fiscal cliff.
  • United States House Select Committee on Benghazi.
  • United States support for Saudi Arabian–led operations in Yemen.
  • Uranium One controversy.
  • US domestic reactions to the 2011 military intervention in Libya.
  • 2009 U.S. state dinner security breaches.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category: ... troversies
Category:Obama administration controversies
Controversies related to the political administration of President Barack Obama (2009–2017).

See also the preceding Category:George W. Bush administration controversies and the succeeding Category:First Trump administration controversies

Obama increased the US debt from 10 T to 20 T ; Trump V1.0 added 7.8 T, Biden added 8.4 T; US debt is now 36T only brahman knows how much more in Trump V2.0 or will it decrease.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

bala wrote: 02 Aug 2025 10:39 Obama increased the US debt from 10 T to 20 T ; Trump V1.0 added 7.8 T, Biden added 8.4 T; US debt is now 36T only brahman knows how much more in Trump V2.0 or will it decrease.
Decrease..no way .orange man passed his biigg beautiful bill and Elon left his Doge !!

America is clutching at straws, trying to tax and tariff it's way to maintain it's standard of living.

This will not last. Every major country will take its wealth out.. Trumper is trying to curtail this by making them invest in us economy under threats..will it work ? .. this is where you need a nice bureaucracy to stymie American efforts

We are stuck with this nuisance on BRF. "Ignore" button dabaao, sukh chain paao.
I did, then undid, will redo.

About BLS employment numbers - the BLS numbers are based on surveys. The results of the survey are reported as received at the end of the month, and revised with later survey results. In particular, if there is no response to the survey, finding out that the non-response is because the business has closed or the immigrant left the country takes time, and those results are incorporated into the later revisions.

About other BLS activities - the Trump regime has reduced the data collection for the Consumer Price Index.

Across the board, on health, weather/climate, inflation, and all the other statistical data collection the federal government used to do is being cut. These don't make the headlines and little attention is paid until something like the firing of the head of the Bureau of Labor Statistics happens.

Amber G finds Trump's anti-science dangerous, but should understand that America is entering a post-truth world, that goes way beyond anti-science.

Incidentally, India since January is doing monthly labor force surveys.
Periodic Labour Force Survey (PLFS) This is the main instrument for collecting employment and unemployment data, covering both rural and urban areas. The PLFS uses a stratified, multi-stage random sampling framework and its methodology aligns with International Labour Organization (ILO) standards, providing annual, quarterly, and, since January 2025, monthly estimates.
The data can help with governance like in going from open-loop control & guidance to closed-loop.

The truth about Resident Chump's "strong economy" slowly coming out

https://www.theatlantic.com/economy/arc ... ta/683740/
The striking thing about these trends is how heavily they diverge from how the economy was projected to perform before Trump took office. As the economist Jason Furman recently pointed out, the actual economic growth rate in the first six months of 2025 was barely more than half what the Bureau of Economic Analysis had projected in November 2024, while core inflation came in at about a third higher than projections.

The worst might be yet to come. Many companies did in fact stock up on imported goods before the tariffs kicked in; others have been eating the cost of tariffs to avoid raising prices in the hopes that the duties would soon go away . Now that tariffs seem to be here to stay, more and more companies will likely be forced to either raise prices or slash their costs—including labor costs. A return to the 1970s-style combination of rising inflation and unemployment is looking a lot more likely.

The Trump administration has found itself caught between deflecting blame for the weak economic numbers and denying the numbers’ validity. In an interview with CNN this morning, Miran admitted that the new jobs report “isn’t ideal” but went on to attribute it to various “anomalous factors,” including data quirks and reduced immigration. (Someone should ask Miran why immigration is down.) And this afternoon, Trump posted a rant on Truth Social accusing the BLS commissioner of cooking the books to make him look bad. :rotfl: “I have directed my Team to fire this Biden Political Appointee, IMMEDIATELY,” he wrote. “She will be replaced with someone much more competent and qualified.” He then went on to argue, not for the first time, that Federal Reserve Chair Jerome Powell should be fired for hamstringing the economy with high interest rates. These defenses are, of course, mutually exclusive: If the bad numbers are fake, why should Trump be mad at Powell? (same Nobel winning logic as regards trade incentives to stop the India Pakistan conflict :mrgreen:)
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

https://youtu.be/avJCHcjENlw
00:05 The U.S.-China rivalry is considered one of the most dangerous global flashpoints.
02:51 The shift from viewing China as a partner to a threat began around 2010, influenced by China's rising economic initiatives.
03:14 The "Made in China 2025" program is highlighted as a successful industrial policy that alarmed American leaders.
04:08 Professor Sachs critiques the U.S. approach of trying to contain China, arguing it’s detrimental for both countries.
05:29 The Taiwan issue is a key flashpoint, with U.S. arms support potentially escalating tensions.
07:03 Taiwan is urged to avoid conflict and not rely on U.S. military support to prevent becoming a battleground.
08:22 Sachs expresses cautious optimism for global prosperity, emphasizing the potential benefits of the technological revolution if conflict can be avoided.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

https://x.com/i/status/1951638794073198728

Jeffrey Sach's trolling the orange man .. good watch

If you take your credit card, go shopping, and run up debt, you're running a trade deficit with those shops.

It'd be strange to blame shop owners for ripping you off. That's the level of understanding of the US President.

A_Gupta wrote: 02 Aug 2025 17:41
Typical DNC mentality. Cancel anybody who doesn't echo what comes down from the high command.

KL Dubey wrote: 02 Aug 2025 09:03 We are stuck with this nuisance on BRF.
Typical DNC mentality. Their shortcoming are projected onto the other. :rotfl:

TDM - Typical DNC Mentality from now.

A_Gupta wrote: 02 Aug 2025 17:41
It's never too late to undo the mistake!

Jay wrote: 03 Aug 2025 02:19 It's never too late to undo the mistake!
This is what I call ati telivi. Why even do a mistake in the first place?!!! aDusu tokkanEla kaalu kaDaganEla? :twisted:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U ... ice_parity
A more valid accounting of the differences in the standard of living of American citizens in different states requires recognition that prices vary from state to state and community to community. In general, a dollar has more purchasing power in the poorer states than it does in the richer states. The difference in housing costs from state to state is especially important. The Bureau of Economic Analysis has calculated that the regional price parity of U.S. states ranges from 84.4 in Mississippi (the cheapest state in which to live) to Hawaii at 119.3 (the most expensive state). In other words, an income of $0.84 in Mississippi equals an income of $1.19 in Hawaii with the U.S as a whole having an average PCPI of $1.00. To put it another way, the purchasing power of a dollar is $1.18 in Mississippi and $0.84 in Hawaii. The net impact of accounting for differences in the purchasing power of a dollar in different states is to narrow the gap in the standard of living between rich and poor states.[6]

Ranking states by PCPI, adjusted by regional price parity
Data in this table are from the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) and are for the year 2022.[7] Adjusted personal income is found by dividing personal income by price parity.
Bi-coastals keep screaming that they have to pay more because of the tariffs. But it is deeper than that kind of simplistic thinking. Question to ask is why the progressive Dem ruled states are have higher cost of living than the rest of the country. For the most part, it is a byproduct of inefficient use and deployment of resources.

Throughout history socialist states have been inefficient- USSR, Cuba, India under Nehru/IG (Nehruvian socialism), many african countries, NoKo, Canada, UK, France, Greece, Spain, and China before Sino-American entente of Nixon/Deng.

Role models of Democrat leaders are in Europe, nit in the US.