Brilliant speech so far! He says 1200 years of slavery and asks why is Taj our national symbol to foreigners! We have forgotten to take pride in our own achievements. What a man! India would be blessed to have him become the PM.
Paresh Rawal @Babu_Bhaiyaa 23 Jun
Most blogs,Op-ed in national papers r on Modi,all prime time TV debate on him.then they say he is regional leader & no influence outside Guj
His Tribute to Veer Savarkar in the beginning and complete Vande Mataram in the end was cherry on the cake for me. Reinstates my point of him being a savarkaraite hindu and not traditionalist hindu.
Vande mataram in its complete form composed in meghmalhar is a standard prarthana in most of the schools in MH. Glad to have relived the childhood memories.
The one area that I felt Modi had not covered adequately in all his previous outings, and he landed up focusing the first half of his entire speech on it today: Research & Innovation. Brilliant oratory as usual - all the media slandering is like so much water off a duck's back for Modi.
Pre-Modi speech by Devendra ? is very rousing. Though I understand little Marathi, it is very good. "If Modi says he eats two roti, then media will report as Modi against chaawal and hence he is anti-south India". Good punch lines.
When he talks in small gatherings where presentation is needed he used Gujarat model. In rallies he is not using Gujarat and that is very visible in two meeting today. This is his first political rally after his elevation in ranks.
Muppalla wrote:Pre-Modi speech by Devendra ? is very rousing. Though I understand little Marathi, it is very good. "If Modi says he eats two roti, then media will report as Modi against chaawal and hence he is anti-south India". Good punch lines.
Fanne Ji asked me why i keep posting the poison from this guy. He is green poisonous snake of the lawn grass. He tactically announced that he has quit BJP so that Loh Purush can't be held accountable for his verbal attacks against NaMo. Unless Loh Purush disowns him publicly or gets expelled from BJP, this snake should be monitored. Loh Purush has lived his beef-eating moment (secular-Jinnah episode) and is on the sides of Nehruvian India.
Last edited by Sushupti on 14 Jul 2013 18:44, edited 5 times in total.
This fight is very critical. Remember it may not be NM vs Rahul at all. Most likely a guy like Digvijaya would be the PM if UPA comes back in power. Digvijaya is more dangerous than any contemporary i can think off.
It is between Dharama (with Modi as one MahaRathi, there are other players, foot soldiers {ppl like us who also contibute in this war}) and Adharma (repersented by Likes of MMS, RG, DS, NGOS and media crooks {I dont have to name}). Choose which side you are?
around late 90s timeframe when UPA was out of power and we hadnt seen the true face of 10 janpath and its army of orcs, I recall digvijaya singh was then the CM of MP for a while and held up in BRF as a exemplar of the constructive side of the INC and how 'progressive' and 'can do' CMs it could produce
I dont have any insight into his stint as MP CM? was he good then?
he sure started going downhill once appointed as Bayram khan to mentor the young "Akbar" ...
He had wrecked MP. He would not have won the second time but for Onion Crisis (personally know that it was a cong conspiracy). Onion shortage for few months, and MP election was won again by DS. By his third term, even an Onion crisis would not have saved him, he was fell by Uma Bharati. The point to remember was, BJP was still doing good in LS election (one held soon after DS won Assembly and Onions were adequately present).
fanne wrote:He had wrecked MP. He would not have won the second time but for Onion Crisis (personally know that it was a cong conspiracy). Onion shortage for few months, and MP election was won again by DS. By his third term, even an Onion crisis would not have saved him, he was fell by Uma Bharati. The point to remember was, BJP was still doing good in LS election (one held soon after DS won Assembly and Onions were adequately present).
That goes to show the maturity of our economy. As long as onions, caste etc. are election deciders instead of cleanliness, transperancy in governance, some actual steps instead of gimmicks like cash transfer and foodgrain right before election, things will continue to suck here.
RoyG wrote:
I wonder if he has had any communication with Rajiv Malhotra.
It is reasonable to assume that all ideas he projects are not his. I have read Atanu Dey writing about university and university building. It is reasonable to expect and assume, there is team that is scouring the Internet and talking to people to get funnel ideas to Modi and his core team. A CEO does not generate all ideas nor he implements them all. He creates an environment that fosters ideas and provides opportunities to the enablers and implementers. Hopefully Modi is just not talk. He is after all a politician, toda bahut bada chada ke bolega.
Last edited by SwamyG on 15 Jul 2013 02:10, edited 2 times in total.
RoyG wrote:
I wonder if he has had any communication with Rajiv Malhotra.
It is reasonable to assume that all ideas he project are not his. I have read Atanu Dey writing about university and university building. It is reasonable to expect and assume, there is team that is scouring the Internet and talking to people to get funnel ideas to Modi and his core team. A CEO does not generate all ideas nor he implements them all. He creates an environment that fosters ideas and provides opportunities to the enablers and implementers. Hopefully Modi is just not talk. He is after all a politician, toda bahut bada chada ke bodega.
Going by what he has done in Gujarat, it doesn't seem like he's all talk.
RoyG wrote:
Going by what he has done in Gujarat, it doesn't seem like he's all talk.
Agreed. And hopefully, he unites and recognizes other leaders who are like minded and have done their part in their respective states too. He needs to have the buddhi to share recognition/glory/fame and lead. The brightest/ablest leads the other bright/able.
^^The demand that governance standards elsewhere aspire to the Guj level has to first come from the aam janta only. IMO, thats where NM is focussed right now. In drawing rooms, office water coolers and tv studios across India, he is starting to make that impact. In so far as I can see.
Besides, the smart pols are watching. And borrowing what they can whether with credit or without simply because a prototypical template exists and has proven viable and successful at the hustings.... or so I hope.
This trend of singing complete Vande Mataram seems to be picking up. It happened twice today. They sang it completely, with the famous "Tvam hi durga dashapraharana dharini" and "Tomarai protima gadi mandire mandire"...
If it picks up as he travels across desh, wonderful I say.. So many taboos being broken, if that happens.. I so wish, that happens...
fanne wrote:He had wrecked MP. He would not have won the second time but for Onion Crisis (personally know that it was a cong conspiracy). Onion shortage for few months, and MP election was won again by DS. By his third term, even an Onion crisis would not have saved him, he was fell by Uma Bharati. The point to remember was, BJP was still doing good in LS election (one held soon after DS won Assembly and Onions were adequately present).
That goes to show the maturity of our economy. As long as onions, caste etc. are election deciders instead of cleanliness, transperancy in governance, some actual steps instead of gimmicks like cash transfer and foodgrain right before election, things will continue to suck here.
From an aam admi's point of view onions (prices) and caste (opportunities for personal growth) are essential. If one wants to accommodate Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs, then governance ityadi takes back seat. I remember a few decades back traveling near Aurangabad, Nasik, Ajanta & Ellora Caves area.....people eating roti with onion and some powder. Onion is a super food when it comes to helping people deal with heat (so studies say). Cleanliness takes back seat when a family does not see hope or opportunities for growth. Rightly or wrongly at some level caste becomes important - call it 'group selection' or by other name. Humans cooperate at different level, and caste as a group is important to us. There are male insects that swarm in a group to attract female counterparts - the logic is that an individual insect stands a better chance to mate by belonging in that group than staying away from the group. So unless the system is such that individual humans find an opportunity to grow without being in a group, humans will vote for their group.
SaiK wrote:the questions are the voting minds outside gujarat evaluates those kpis?
It is for the Public to ask for that , I am not the suitable person to answer your question.
But, I saw comparative performance presentation of 108 service between TN and Gujrat and and Gujrat was certainly better. Good Governance and Transparency in Administration, Efficiency and effectiveness should not be buzz word but must be measured on certain standards. Those standards should be like world standards and we should demand that. If we dont, ( voting public) then we get what we deserve and what we ask. Nothing to crib about.
Hari Seldon wrote:^^The demand that governance standards elsewhere aspire to the Guj level has to first come from the aam janta only. IMO, thats where NM is focussed right now. In drawing rooms, office water coolers and tv studios across India, he is starting to make that impact. In so far as I can see.
Besides, the smart pols are watching. And borrowing what they can whether with credit or without simply because a prototypical template exists and has proven viable and successful at the hustings.... or so I hope.
Roti(called Bhaakri) of jowar/bajra/nachni flour with onion and dried groundnut powder with red chilli powder has been the staple food of maharashtrians for centuries. Somwtimes when one is rich, one can take a dish called jhoonkaa (besan, aka chanaa flour cooked with onion in water and dried) is accompanied.
Onion and garlic, more so onion, is a big deal in MH. It is not only used for tadka by the well off class, but for farmers and working class, it is equivalent to potato and is a part of staple diet.