Indian IT Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian IT Industry

shyam wrote:What about midlevel shops, schools, hospitals etc? You will have to provide applications on the server, similar to salesforce.com. This service will provide automatic back up service too.

Advantages to the customers are low upfront cost for setup (all you have is dumb displays), no need to upgrade when current system becomes obsolete, less IT infrstructure to maintain.
Welcome Back To The Future. Welcome to the world of IBM Mainframes and and bullet proof reliability and the brave new world of CICS :rotfl: and hundreds of thousands of concurrent users, supported with a processor not much more powerful than an 80486 and having 31 bit addressing to boot (1 bit was for compatibility with 16 bit systems out of the 32 bit). :roll:

liar liar! :evil:

thin clients with as much computing power as todays servers

netbooks as good as todays desktops

touch PCs/smartphones as good as todays laptops

all 25% of todays weight and power as smaller power supplies, light local SSD drives, cooler CPUs, smarter sw, OLEDs sink in

network attached media centers/home "mainframes" holding
terabytes of data, p0rn, photos, anything you want to stream to any monitor at home

always-on with desktops for win,mac,linux whatever you
want to run in parallel

encryption/protection/firewalls at multiple levels to keep
sharp kids out of your "secure home netwk zone"

24-28" OLED for all home displays

rent any applic by the hour off the cloud. want to PS occasionally but dont want the hassle of a install, patch, cost ? rent it for 10 Rs every hr.

rent any movie or book ever written on earth - instantly.
download to "paper" quality bendable reader for the rich
feeling of lying down in bed and reading a real book.

Guys, what is the difference between Windows Vista's different versions, Home Basic, Home Premium, Business and Ultimate.

If I get one of the home programs, will running MySQL, Apache and those kind of things become difficult/impossible ? At this point in time I will have very limited number of users (me basically) and a couple of programs I will testing/fine tuning. Nothing fancy schmanzy. It should be good enough to run Eclipse IDE and execute Java pretty decently.

Buying Mickey Soft in retail is a total rip off. It makes more sense to go and buy a brand new dabba /laptop.

The Microsoft page

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/window ... fault.aspx

Something that makes more sense:

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,2 ... 721,00.asp

Home Premium should be adequate for your case.

Tip: If you have an existing copy of another MS OS, install that first, buy the OEM version of Vista and then "upgrade". Legal.

Tip2: Put in 4 GB of RAM, and install the 64 bit version.

vina wrote:Guys, what is the difference between Windows Vista's different versions, Home Basic, Home Premium, Business and Ultimate.
If I get one of the home programs,
vina saar, why are you abandoning ye olde XP? Eclipse should run fine as long as your Java works well and you have adequate memory (Eclipse is built on OSGi which is a Java based standard but is also a memory hog in its equinox avatar). I have seen people use Eclipse on Vista - various flavours (Batata vada edition, Halwa Poori edition and Uttapam editions) - no complaints AFAIK.

gali gali mein shor hai, Vina sir planning to be Quant hai ?

^^^ Then he needs Matlab, GAP and other evil tools, no? What will roly poly SDR-Eclipse do for him? :mrgreen:

Thanks guys. I have Ubuntu on my desktop at home and so I cant get an "upgrade" to Windows and the thought of paying close to 15K for Mickeysoftware , makes you wonder why not pay Rs 20K more and get a new fancy schamcy laptop!

Since I dont have anything personal invested in XP, and support will wind up for that anyway and hopefully with the SP1 out for Vista, I do hope most of the bugs are fixed and taken care of, just like SP1 did for XP!.

What I discovered is this. Open source is great, it has most of the stuff needed for everything and they support Windows as well. Linux is great, but some of the software support Windows much better. By going for Windows, you dont lose the plus points of open source, plus you get the benefits of the Windows ecosystem (including Viruses I suppose) :roll: .

So, between LAMP and WAMP, unless you are a pure 'open source' guy and are not going to use any Windows /proprietary stuff with better support on Windows, WAMP is better than LAMP.

SDR- Eclipse will be needed, along with the OpenSource /free version stuff like R and also the opensource alternatives to Matlab like Octave which are compatible with it. I just need basic features of stuff, not any high fund IT/Vity stuff. Just me skinflint kaam-chalao type onree Saar! , along with that Infernal Mickeysoft Excel (where I am a "power" user) .

Can't I just use it to "collate pictures and movies onree " ? :evil: . Why this spekulashun ? :(

After economic meltdown, the word quant has become a gaali now? Quantu=g***u? :mrgreen:

vina wrote: SDR- Eclipse will be needed, along with the OpenSource /free version stuff like R and also the opensource alternatives to Matlab like Octave which are compatible with it. I just need basic features of stuff, not any high fund IT/Vity stuff. Just me skinflint kaam-chalao type onree Saar! , along with that Infernal Mickeysoft Excel (where I am a "power" user) .

Can't I just use it to "collate pictures and movies onree " ? :evil: . Why this spekulashun ? :(
Another open source alternative to Matlab is scilab http://www.scilab.org.
For MS Excel open source alternative, you have choice between GNumeric and OpenOffice Calc.
saumitra_j

Indian IT Industry

Post by saumitra_j »

Heard from my ex colleagues that India's most popular (most hyped??) IT employer let go of its bottom 5% last Friday :roll:

saumitra_j wrote:Heard from my ex colleagues that India's most popular (most hyped??) IT employer let go of its bottom 5% last Friday :roll:
FWIW, they've always let go of a percentage of poor performers as per their banding exercise. The % has been increased this year. They're still honouring their recruitment offers to freshers.

saumitra_j wrote:Heard from my ex colleagues that India's most popular (most hyped??) IT employer let go of its bottom 5% last Friday :roll:
Is it a vegetable co or its competitor from B'luru?

Asking because i know that a certain vegetable co is doing a similar thing in first week of April...
Last edited by sum on 03 Apr 2009 09:59, edited 1 time in total.

people are talking of bottom 5%

the reality brothers is that only top 25% is "safe", rest can be targeted at any moment desired.

for entire itvity not just most revered co.

What is the secene like in Blore. Are programmers with 3-5 years experiance in demand? How long are they taking to find a job?

Wasnt it bottom 10% as per TFTA GE model onlee? :((
amol.p

Post by amol.p »

Dell sees slowdown in IT spending by large enterprises

NEW DELHI: Dell India is witnessing slowdown in IT hardware spends by large enterprises, its biggest customer base, and is relying on segments such
as public sector, small and medium businesses (SMBs) and individual consumers to shore up market share in India, its country head said on Thursday.

"The market is slowing down but we keep looking for areas where we can grow our market share in these times," Dell India country general manager Sameer Garde said.

In the public sector, Dell India is particularly eyeing education and healthcare segments. It has participated in some ICT programmes in states such as Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra and Rajasthan. i Large enterprises are looking to reduce ther maintenance costs within their reduced IT budgets, while SMBs are an untapped market, Mr Garde added. Of the 8 million SMBs in India, only one million spend on IT, he said.

Dell recently restructured its operations to focus on four business segments - large enterprises, public sector, SMBs and consumer. "We have changed our go-to-market strategy in the last 6-8 months and moved from a purely direct selling model to a mix of direct and retail," Mr Garde said. He refused to comment on whether the Indian arm is on track to achieve its target of $1 billion in revenues this year.

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/Inf ... 350943.cms
saumitra_j

Post by saumitra_j »

FWIW, they've always let go of a percentage of poor performers as per their banding exercise. The % has been increased this year. They're still honouring their recruitment offers to freshers.
Not quite - yours truly has an email from HR stating "We don't have an exit policy for poor performers" blah blah for a notoriously bad performer whom no reasonable person could have kept in employment- circa 2006 the only quick exit option was proven case of sexual harassment/false papers etc else bad performers could live on as long as they pleased! This company letting go means we can expect murders in the market now...... :roll:
Is it a vegetable co or its competitor from B'luru?
Not sure I quite get the Vegetable bit - I meant an IT company whose CEO had his presidential ambitions nipped in the bud by a humble farmer :twisted:
CalvinH

Post by CalvinH »

HCL freezes salary, cuts bonus
IT major HCL Technologies has decided to mitigate pressures on operating margins by freezing salary increments through 2009-10.
also from the same story
the company reportedly told its employees that there won’t be any wage hikes for the financial year ending July 31, 2009
CalvinH

Post by CalvinH »

Saumitra vegtable oil company is Western India Products Limited.

5% would be >5000..well they cant hide this news. They currently have a promotion freeze I think..
saumitra_j

Post by saumitra_j »

Saumitra vegtable oil company is Western India Products Limited
Thanks Calvin, I should have guessed it .....my bad.
I heard about the bottom 5% - people have been let go for sure but strangely no news in the local media either. I know for sure that in Pune, last friday was the last day for those who found themselves in the lowest band consistently for last two years.....no idea about absolute nos though

Vegetable co and Most Admired Company seem to be in bed with the media folks...

They keep taking out tons of guys (some reasons given are outright BS) but one never hears a peep about them in any paper...

sum - very true.

sum wrote: They keep taking out tons of guys (some reasons given are outright BS) but one never hears a peep about them in any paper...
Really? :-?
Granted i'm doing Jeehard in Kufr lands but haven't heard anything of that sort tbh.

I do know that Veg co is taking out atleast 3-5%(Thats quite a huge number) of its bottomline/benched folks in April first week(it may have even been done by now!! :-? ) and many have already been sent on their way in the last week of March...However, there was not even a single mention of even a single job being lost in this co.

By contrast, when even 10-15 people are taken out in a non-desi MNC, all the papers are full of them.

Motorola's Jha emerges as America's top paid CEO.

Mobile phone maker Motorola's India-born chief Sanjay Jha has emerged America's top paid CEO, while Citigroup's Vikram Pandit tops the league among bailed out banks, a survey said today.

Another Indian on the list is PepsiCo's Indra Nooyi at the 36th slot with a pay package of $13.98 million.

With a total payout of over $104 million in 2008, Jha is the only CEO to get a compensation package exceeding $100 million, with Occidental's Ray Irani at a distant second with $49.9 million.

Irani is followed by Walt Disney's Robert Iger ($49.7 million) at the third slot.

In the overall ranking, compiled by the Wall Street Journal, Citigroup CEO Vikram Pandit comes at the fourth position with a payout of $38.2 million (so much hoopla about the $1 salary).Besides, Pandit is the highest paid CEO for bailed out banks in the US, WSJ said.

The WSJ CEO Compensation Study was conducted by management consulting firm Hay Group and based on an analysis of CEO pay of the first 200 US companies with fiscal year 2008 revenue of at least $5 billion that filed their proxy statements between October 2008 and March 2009. WSJ said the study would be updated as companies file new proxies.
CalvinH

Post by CalvinH »

sum wrote:Vegetable co and Most Admired Company seem to be in bed with the media folks...

They keep taking out tons of guys (some reasons given are outright BS) but one never hears a peep about them in any paper...
Now that seasoned maulanas has mentioned it i think it may be true. First these employees will be too ashamed to come out in open and accept that they got laid off from Infosys/Wipro. Secondly you can selectively prune them of workforce from different locations over a period of time and third letting unit management take care of the job rather than HR at corporate level. So no coordination between layoffs to create a noise and with these in place whatever remaining goes out to media is nipped there. Wonderful onleeee

NEEED help

My company has bought an Indian company, and I have been assigned to couse them about cultural issues. What issues do Indians meet when they come to the west?

Rishirishi whatever they do caution them not to use the word Rubber, when they mean a eraser and a Fag when they want a cigaratte :mrgreen:

I remember my ex-ex-company sending a 40 page booklet of do's, dont's and general info to everybody making the trip from India across the seven seas.

Rishi this is a famous book on the topic named "Riding the waves of culture"

http://www.flipkart.com/riding-waves-cu ... j0x3fbw7ye

was mentioned by our Globesmart instructor as we lolled around attending corporate training in Gateway hotel
on residency road contemplating the excellent mutton coming up for lunch.

meantime, Hewitt india best employers survey finds the most revered co nowhere in sight now as also its
big3 peers this time.

http://was2.hewitt.com/bestemployers/as ... expand=125

a certain large co on ORR has clawed up from 5th(2007) to 4th this yr

no web 3.0 cos like google, amazon, yahoo ? did the pampered even participate?

must mention Netapp who had a very generous company paid pizza and beer for all on fridays,
scaled back to pizza last yr. always liked their products.
AnimeshP

Post by AnimeshP »

Rishirishi wrote:NEEED help

My company has bought an Indian company, and I have been assigned to couse them about cultural issues. What issues do Indians meet when they come to the west?
OK .. based on my personal experience ... 2 things that immediately come to mind ...

Shaking head sideways - For Indians.. it means yes ... for almost everyone it means no
The meeting ettiquettes in India are different ... Most people do not carry a notepad and pen in a meeting ... you'll find very few people taking notes .... So this is something you might want to brief your Indian team on when they get here ...

Rishirishi wrote:NEEED help

From top of the mind:

1. Speak SLOWLY. Rather SING your speech.
2. Use Deodorant
3. Say Thank you, and you are welcome.
4. Keep doors open for others.
5. Know the taboo subjects and avoid them.

6. Be on Time for meetings.

7. Dont be overformal and dont address emails to boss with "Dear Sir/Ma'am".

8. Never ever address a female as "Madam", call her Ma'am if you want.

9. Try not to engage phoreners in political/Religious discussion.
10. Don' talk in your mother tongue in meetings.
11. Allow others to complete their sentences.
12. Be punctual
Last edited by Vikas on 05 Apr 2009 08:21, edited 1 time in total.
Arunkumar

Post by Arunkumar »

13.) Avoid using high funda super duper exotic English words. Use simple English.
14.) Like others have mentioned above, be punctual.
15.) Speak slowly and clearly on the phone.
16.) Keep hands in control i.e penchant for gold-digging or gear changing 8) .

Arunkumar wrote:13.) Avoid using high funda super duper exotic English words. Use simple English.
Amirkhanis need to be taught this too.....they have a penchant for using high-funda words in a know-it-all tone while talking about even simple no-brainer stuff. :mrgreen:

Eating with spoon and forks
Arya Sumantra

Post by Arya Sumantra »

17) You will be cut short if you criticize them or do chhote mooh badi baat but being a "third" world denizen yindians will be expected to be open minded if lectured on how we should be.

18) In any group meeting over tele-conference if the amirkhanis are ready with results then they will speak fast and go to the point straight away. If they don't have results or want to avoid any dangerous questions expect them to
a) s-t-r-e-t-c-h the words and amplify the amirkhani accent more than usual or
b) waste a lot of words to convey a simple message as if they are enjoying speaking the language or
c) use new terms/jargon coined by them and amplify significance of their observation/results and pass it off as a breakthrough

19) In a joint effort, if you want to prove an amirkhani group is wrong, you cannot do so by verbal duels. Expect a lot of unity among them as a group. Be ready with all available references to counter the anticipated points they will use to defend themselves. When argued that they were wrong they just wouldn't accept no matter how much technical I got. Eventually when I shot videos of a phenomena to show evidence they were dumbfounded and it triggered internal arguments within their group.

20) Be ready for some jaichands on your side to act like their chamchas and reporting all your progress to them without your knowledge.

Raja Bose wrote:
Arunkumar wrote:13.) Avoid using high funda super duper exotic English words. Use simple English.
Amirkhanis need to be taught this too.....they have a penchant for using high-funda words in a know-it-all tone while talking about even simple no-brainer stuff. :mrgreen:
Actually they need to be also taught some punctuality, contrary to all the hype I heard about people @ onsite being extremely punctual etc, I noticed many times that Gora log WERE late to meetings, sometimes their track record being worse than Indians...believe me I actually kept record of it...they are just as fallible...
Arunkumar

Post by Arunkumar »

Arya Sumantra wrote: 20) Be ready for some jaichands on your side to act like their chamchas and reporting all your progress to them without your knowledge.
True. Our design center was doing better than the one abroad, so one of them started cultivating one incompetent chamcha here , begun implementing divide and rule policy to show these third world guys cant do it. Divide and rule policy runs in their blood.