Ok, a long series of hockey news and views.
Some myths about hockey
Gurbux Singh: The decline of hockey in the country, for me, began in 1976 because that was the year astroturf was introduced. India, champions by far in field hockey, found it difficult to adjust to the new turf. We could no longer compete with the teams from the west who had the infrastructure and money to ensure they stayed at the cutting edge of hockey.
s2h Comment: If he really believes so, India should give up hockey, not to waste public money any longer. For heaven's sake don't call astroturf unless that brand is being discussed. Why can't you say synthetic turf, which is correct. Kindly bear in mind India was never Champions after 1964. For the 1976 Olympics, Germany was the defending champions which perhaps proves we were not champions prior to 76 also. {I assume Gurbux Singh means the WC win in 1975. We did nt win an OG till 1980, but heh we were in the medal tally even through 72 Munich.}
Gurbux Singh: The government has failed to provide infrastructure and training facilities. We need close to 40 astroturf surfaces so that the game can be developed at the grassroots level.
s2h Comment: Please get the facts correct first. There are 47 turfs available in India. They are grossly under-utilized. Hockey is dying because the State associations have become moribund, exceptions to this are few and far between. Even in Bengal there is no hockey except two to three localities. Why can't you say IHF failed to provide infrastructure, is it because you are always part of IHF? {Thats a hitting comment}
Gurbux Singh: It’s true hockey can’t compete with cricket but the game generates substantial interest in the region. This is because I’ve seen a crowd of 40000-50000 attending hockey tournaments in India whereas in Europe a turnout of 10,000 is considered huge.
s2h Comment: Entry is free in India, it is ticketed in Europe. Then if you compare the population of each European country and where this gentleman found 40-50000 crowd, then what we have is pittance. {True, 40k in a metro Indian city with a population of ~50 lakhs, average Indian city of size 10 lakhs. The capacity of most stadia is more than 40k. In any case, 40k is an optimistic number seen for perhaps some of the biggest and well-advertized events. If there are >1000 folks in a say Beighton cup game or an Aga Khan cup game these days, it must be remarkable.}
Gurbux Singh: A few days back the Bengal Hockey Association (BHA) was informed by the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) that the National Championship would be played from December 20 to January 4. The Beighton Cup was forced to be postponed. BHA agreed and shifted the Beighton Cup to a December 30-January 14/15 slot.
s2h Comment: Yes, correct. The Ad-hoc Committee needed to have organized the National, which is wrong. Now the question to the player-turned columnist. You have been part of every IHF that has come in the past 30 years. Why can’t you reason with them to have Nationals in the past also?
Gurbux Singh: This (going away of Els van Breda Vriesman) should be good news for us as the outgoing president had caused much damage by meddling in our affairs.
s2h Comment: If some body wants to reason, and help you improve your game, is it called ‘Meddling’? {I can see the truth in both statements, the first one is a whine about organizational meddling that Brinda propagated, the second is a whine for the decline of the game that he loves so much. For once, both perspectives are true. I will stick to what Gurbux says this time round. Brinda was a paindabutt.}
Note: TNHA has been dissolved and the Tamil Nadu Olympic Committee has formed an Ad-hoc Committee to run the State’s hockey affairs. Yet, this gentleman accepts a team from the Jothikumaran faction, proving the fact most of the former players support KPS Gill and Jothi regime.
Note2: A television channel (NDTV) ran a 10-minute program on how the Punjab Police team had to stay in an unclean accommodation and the team’s protests that made the Beighton Cup in the media for all the wrong reasons. We were told that Bengal Hockey Association has been receiving generous grants from its president JB Roy, who had pitched in to become President of the IHF. Why does then such a thing happen? This former player, who is also organizing secretary of the tournament, it seems, cares more for Gills and Jothis rather than his own ilk players!
The Deutsch aint bringing their best team for the Punjab gold cup
Celebrated coach, Markus Weiss, who was awarded the coach of the year prize this year, has picked up a strong, youthful German team for the twin-four nation hockey tournament to be held in Chandigarh from January 31 to February 9. The team includes four stars, Max Weinhold, Moritz Fuerste, Maxmillan Mueller and Tobias Hawke, who were part of the gold medal winning team at Beijing. The event features four teams, India, Germany, the Netherlands and New Zealand.
Meanwhile, the senior team plays Argentina very soon
Newly appointed men's hockey team captain, Sandeep Singh on Sunday said India will look to win the test series against Argentina to get into the winning momentum for four-nation Punjab Gold Cup.India plays a four match test series against Argentina to be played at Mar Del Plata on January 18, 19, 21 and 22, while the Punjab Gold Cup starts here from January 31.
"Getting into winning groove is important and we will like to start this from the Argentina series and follow it up with the four-nation tournament. This will help us in future as our focus will be to win the major tournaments ahead that includes next year's World Cup and the Commonwealth Games," Sandeep said. The drag-flicker was on Friday named captain of the 22-member squad that will play against Argentina and the Punjab Gold Cup, featuring Germany, New Zealand and Netherlands besides India.
The mentally-tough Sandeep has come a long way in his career after receiving a severe jolt in August 2006 when he received a bullet injury in his back in an accidental fire while travelling in a train. The incident eventually kept him out of action for sometime. "When I was in the hospital, the doctor told me that I would not be able to play hockey again. These words left me shattered for a moment, but my family, friends, my coaches and physio gave me strength and perhaps being mentally tough also helped me to overcome the traumatic period," he said.
Asked if he had prior knowledge that he would be named captain, Sandeep said, "No, it came as a surprise though a friend had informed me that some news regarding this (he being named captain) had appeared in a newspaper a week back." {This is the state of Indian hockey, that newspaper was S2h actually. S2h knows it before Sandeep knows it!}
Sandeep said stepping into the new role of a skipper won't be difficult as his goal was always to win matches. "The mindset will not change. As a drag flicker, I have always strived that my team wins and comes on top. Now also, when I am captain I will be aiming for the same thing. I am lucky to have senior players like Dilip Tirkey, Deepak Thakur, Prabhjot and others in the team and hopefully we should do well," said Sandeep, who hails from Shahbad town in Kurukshetra. Sandeep said there is no rift in the team and everybody was very happy with the decision.
"Everyone is happy. There is no junior-senior thing in our team. We play like a family, as a unit and the aim is to make India win," he said. "In future also, we will work like a unit and produce results," he added. Asked if the Indian team that failed to qualify for the Beijing Olympics first time in eight decades lacked skill, Sandeep, who replaces Prabodh Tirkey, said, "yes, nobody expected it to be like that. But I think that is history now and we should look ahead."
Meanwhile, former skipper Pargat Singh said he was surprised at the decision as he felt Sandeep should have been groomed for some more time. "I cannot say what has prompted them to name Sandeep as captain. Personally, I feel he should have been groomed for some more time. "But may be it is the eye on future or may be some of our players are not fit enough at this stage which has prompted selectors to take this step. But whatever it is, I think the selectors should ensure that they have a bench strength of fit and performing players ready when major tournaments come up ahead," Pargat said.
Whereas the junior team heads to Oz-land
On the eve of Under-21 team's departure to Australia to take part in the Australian Youth Olympics, coach AK Bansal gives importance to the competitive atmosphere expected Sydney rather than mere participation. "Indian Juniors had played Argentina in the recent past, and in the beginning of the year against British and Australian teams in Kuala Lumpur. Therefore, I feel more than the competition, the atmosphere is very important in the sense that there will be many more people watching the matches in Sydney as this is a multi-sport event, and a good crowd is expected", he said a day before the team is scheduled to leave for Australia. The team left India today (Friday) morning. Great Britain, Australia and Malaysia are in the fray, besides India.
Recently, the Indian women team has also agreed to take part in the event, and will be flying in two days time.
The ad-hoc committee has nearly retained the same squad that visited Argentina early last month, and the present visit is yet another effort to give the boys maximum exposure before the target tournament -- Junior World Cup in June this year. "Playing against empty stands is one thing, and performing against full stands is another", Bansal elaborated. "My boys have to be tough and should not be over-awed by the occasion. Sydney presents them an ideal opportunity to play under heavy pressure and British and Australian teams will have the backing of the local support".
Indian juniors last played Australia in the early 2008 in the KL Invitation tournaments. India defeated Australia in the league, before losing the final by the thinnest of margins. According to Bansal, Australia will be eyeing the Gold, and British will give both India and Australia a tough time. The tournament will take place between Jan 14 and 18.
That said, the women's team lacked money according to a report a few days back.
Women's hockey in India is never short on controversies. The latest to rack the game is the irregular flow of graded payments to the national pool of players and coaches that began with the entry of a sponsor three years ago. It's been nearly a year since the players and coaches received their cheques from City Limouzines, the sponsor roped in by the Indian Women's Hockey Federation (IWHF) in 2006, sources told TOI. Payments were regular in the first few months but shrunk to a trickle by mid-2007 before the last of the cheques were handed over in February 2008, the sources said.
According to the IWHF grid laid out in 2006, players were bracketed in the Rs 10,000, Rs 8,000, Rs 3,000 and Rs 2,000 categories while the coaches were given Rs 15,000 (national coach), Rs 12,000 (chief coach, juniors) and Rs 5,000. {Anyone whining about BCCI, please take note. This is what happens when the organizational apparatus of a particular game goes bonkers. They pay cash on the order of a low 1000s. Comparing with BCCI, "For a four-day Ranji league game, such a player stands to make Rs 80,000 and for every five-day Ranji knockout game he will be paid Rs 1,00,000."
http://www.hinduonnet.com/tss/tss2907/s ... 001700.htm}
There were obvious difficulties in grading players every month, particularly with the frequent entries and exits in the team but sources alleged that the IWHF contributed to the situation by being rather slack in its approach. City Limouzines officials corroborated the view stating that there were many months of inactivity when frequent reminders from the sponsor to the federation went unheard.
"We told them on many occasions to send the list of players to us so that we could clear the payments. We are committed to paying stipend to players and coaches and there has never been any delay from our end," a City Limouzines official told TOI. The official said the cheques were always drawn against the names of the players. "This way, we ensured the recipients got the money promptly. There are many players with limited sources of income. We didn't want any complaints from anyone." According to the official, the sponsor was only playing it safe, particularly after it found that the IWHF had not allegedly kept its word on two other issues. One was the publicity and advertisement which the federation had said the sponsor would get in major tournaments.
"Out of a total amount of Rs 1.05 crore to be handed over annually to the IWHF until the 2010 Commonwealth Games, Rs 50 lakh had to go to the players and the other half was to be given to the IWHF for publicity. But we weren't happy with the results or the visibility that we got. So we decided that we wouldn't pay them the other Rs 50 lakh," the official said. The remaining Rs 5 lakh, reserved for team jerseys and kitting, too hasn't been spent in a deserving fashion in the past, the official alleged.
The IWHF denied it had defaulted on the payments but admitted there had been a delay. {So why blame everyone except yourselves?} "There are difficulties in getting things done on time because we are functioning without an office," a federation official told TOI. "We have to prepare lists of players for every month and that requires time." The official insisted the players would be paid once they reach Delhi in the next few days en route to their respective international tours.
Can someone put more sense into the ad-hoc committee and dump all these neutral venue bullshit?
Pakistan's hockey officials are considering inviting India for a Test series on an offshore venue later this year. Qasim Zia, the Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) president, said on Friday that the PHF has discussed the idea of playing matches on neutral venues with India and other major hockey-playing nations in a bid to revive Pakistan hockey. {Thats right, he does nt give an eff about India. His team is hugging the bottom of the table and he desperately wants to play someone to get practice. For all the hatred they spew against India as happened just recently, these H&D lacking beasts would nt mind flip-flopping a few days later. Say no to baki-satan in any name or form or sport. Boycott baki-satan. Baki-satan paindabutt}
"Our options are open," said Zia, a former hockey Olympian who is currently a central leader of the ruling Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP). "We want to revive Pakistan hockey and would not mind if the matches are arranged on neutral soil against top hockey teams, including India." {This maaki did nt flinch an eye last month to do a tit for tat and not come to the Punjab gold cup when his team was the one that would have gained more

If that was unthinkable, how come neutral matches are now feasible? As they say, a baki's brain is ah-so-gaali.}
Pakistan and India have suspended sporting ties because of strained relations between the two governments over November's terror attacks in Mumbai that left over 170 people killed. Pakistan pulled out its team from a four-nation hockey tournament hosted by India from January 31 to February 9 in Chandigarh after India blocked its cricket team's tour of Pakistan. Pakistan also decided against sending its squash team for the Asian Junior Squash Championships to be played in Chennai later this month.
But Zia said those decisions were taken by the government and not the sport authorities. "We have no problems playing with India on some neutral venue," he said adding that hockey can be revived in the region with more matches between the two counties - once regarded as the powerhouses of the game at the world level. {Hockey will be revived in India, and there ends our end of the bargain. Fck the region.} Zia said the PHF has various neutral venues like Dubai in mind. Pakistan has not hosted a major hockey team since the 2004 Champions Trophy in Lahore as leading sides have stayed away from the country because of security apprehensions. {Finally someone had to say what the real reason is

}
Tennis: As the dhimmedia has finally noted that there was someone on the Indian tennis scene apart from Sania {one DDM report even went to ask the question: Is Somdev our hope?

well, thats what happens when someone finally arrives on the scene and asks half-time heh kya?}, here is a look at Yuki Bhambri, who will definitely don the Davis Cup colors {to start with} very soon. There is massive resentment in Prakash over his feud with Leander. It is ok for Mahesh to pick a side as he is the senior guy, for someone like Prakash to get involved in a melee is a dangerous thing to do given the gap between speaking and performing of Leander and Prakash. Anyway, now that Prakash is off the DC team and Rohan Bopanna looking like he is on his last legs {of sorts}, there is a clamor for fresh blood and where else to go than a 16 year old. Perhaps in another year or two....
http://www.sportstaronnet.com/stories/2 ... 101800.htm
The other day, when someone addressed her as ‘Sania’, she corrected him quickly saying: “Are yaar, I achieved something which merits you to recognise me as Saina.”
Saina also admitted that it is not going to be easy for her any more in international events. “Definitely, there are many more to achieve like winning the All England Championship and the World Championship (to be held in Hyderabad) next year. I know the route to these big events is dotted with huge hurdles but I am more confident,” she said.
http://www.sportstaronnet.com/stories/2 ... 702400.htm
That world championships is not too far off.
First time in the history of Indian badminton, Hyderabad will be hosting the World championship for men and women from August 8 to 13. “The tournament will be held at Gachibowli Stadium, where we have eight courts,” he added. Hyderabad will also host the India Open for the second time from March 24 to 29. Chowdary said that the Andhra Pradesh Badminton Association would formally submit a requisition to the Badminton Association of India to host the senior Nationals at Vijayawada for the year 2009-2010.
An article on Guru Sai Dutt and Sikki Reddy, up and coming players from AP.
http://www.sportstaronnet.com/stories/2 ... 802600.htm
TT: Gujarat’s Pathik Mehta and Maharashtra lass Divya Deshpande emerged the key performers in the 70th senior National table tennis championships here on Saturday. Unseeded Pathik, ranked 32nd, showed great character and endurance while winning all his three matches on the day. His best came in the quarterfinals where he salvaged two matchpoints before turning the tables on India No. 1 Subhajit Saha. Unseeded Divya performed exceptionally well to show the defending champion and fourth seed Poulami Ghatak the door.
Second-seeded Neha Aggarwal was taken out in the pre-quarterfinals by another Maharashtra player, Ashlesha Bodas, 4-1. Four-time National champion Mouma Das made a comeback by beating third-seeded Madhurika Patkar in another big upset in the quarterfinals. Pathik, who plays in the Spanish first division, removed 13th ranked Subham Chowdhury in the second round. He then consumed sixth-ranked and seventh-seeded Devesh Karia in the pre-quarterfinals before plucking out Subhajit.
Another ode to Sahu Mewalal
Sahu Mewalal, who died of old age troubles in a Kolkata nursing home on Saturday, was the most admired goal poacher of his time in the 1940s and 1950s. His short build made him all the more lovable. What he lacked in inches he made up with elusiveness, an eye for opportunities and openings and sure-shot aim.
For obvious reasons, comparisons, it is said, are best avoided. Still, for the benefit of the present young generation of soccer fans who may not even have heard of the pint-sized legend called Mewalal, much less seen him in action, let it be said he was the Indian version of Diego Maradona of his times. Maradona stands 5ft 4in his football boots. Mewa Lal, who played in an age when most Indians played barefooted, was even shorter. {And this bare-footed thing was why we did nt participate in the 1950 world cup when we had a good shot at winning it all. We could have matched Puskas & co, that is the opinion of famous football watchers
http://www.fanline08.at/en/?p=1181}
Did anybody care to invite Mewalal when everyone in Kolkata was welcoming Maradona when he visited the city recently? One can't say for sure. But even if Mewalal might have been bed-ridden, it would have done his heart good to at least be remembered on the occasion.
Mewalal played in a different age. Football teams everywhere played in the 5-3-2-1 formation which had a special charm of its own, with goals being scored by centre-forwards following flying sprints and centres from the wings. And Mewalal was the most celebrated centre-forward of his time, a position he switched to, and made his own, after starting his career in the Kolkata league as a right-winger at 18.
Much of the credit for India's gold medal in the first ever Asian Games in 1951 at New Delhi's National Stadium, called Irwin Amphitheatre those days, belonged to Mewalal. His four goals included a spectacular long distance match-winner against Iran -- the only goal of the final. The story goes that even as he played his role in that famous victory, there was a bereavement back home in distant Kolkata. On instructions from Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru, a Dakota aircraft was kept waiting at Safdarganj airport to fly Mewalal back home straight after the match, such was the regard Mewalal was held in.
Mewalal's death is the third sad blow that Indian football has suffered in a year. The Darjeeling-based Chandan Singh, centre-half of that 1951 Asian Games gold medal-winning team and goal-keeper Peter Thangaraj left this world earlier in the year. Each man was a football legend in his right.