Page 28 of 61

Re: Understanding the US-2

Posted: 02 Aug 2014 01:02
by member_22733
Slumdog millionaire opened my eyes on the western perfidy. But what gave me satisfaction is that the main actor Dev Patel, was complaining a few years later that he could not find any role other than stereotypical Indian ones in Hollywood.

The tradition still continues, in the latest case the movie is called "Exodus" where in the middle east a sudden racial change appeared, all those who were the "good" people in the "book" turned white and all the people who were "bad" people in the book turned black

Posted: 02 Aug 2014 01:59
by Rony

Similar to 300 where all 'good' greeks are white and all 'bad' persians are blacks

Posted: 02 Aug 2014 02:16
by ramana
And it doesn't trigger any calls of racism in post 9/11 America.

Posted: 02 Aug 2014 02:28
by sanjaykumar
Exodus itself is a little problem. There are no contemporary records of Israelites expelled from Pharaonic Egypt that I know. It seems to be a case of a nondescript, primitive tribe insinuating itself into the majesty of the ancient Egyptians, however obliquely, as their slaves.

Posted: 02 Aug 2014 09:26
by Vayutuvan
Paging RahulM:

That thespian Mens-Sama Tamakloe would be a prefect fit for the role of the assassin in the opening chapter if Brandon Sanderson's The Way of Kings if and when it is made into a (TV) movie.

Posted: 05 Aug 2014 01:16
by Rony
Read the comment section as well. Typical racism denial and shooting the messenger comments

Racism Is White America’s HIV

Posted: 06 Aug 2014 00:16
by Prem
Pat Robertson Is A Fan Of Bobby Jindal: 'Wouldn't It Be Great If We Had A President Who Was A Former Hindu From India?'“The 700 Club” ran a puff piece on Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal today, and color Pat Robertson impressed.
“Some interesting politicians are out there and they’ve got a couple who have Indian backgrounds,” an astonished Robertson said to introduce the segment.After running an interview in which Jindal played well to the Christian Broadcasting Network audience by saying that the “greatest threat to America comes from within” including an “assault on religious liberty," Robertson said, “what an amazing man.”“He has gone far and will go farther, no question about it. Wouldn’t it be great if we had a president who was a former Hindu from India? What a great story.”Jindal was born in Louisiana.
http://www.rightwingwatch.org/content/p ... oRxdS.dpuf

Posted: 18 Aug 2014 12:45
by Rahul M
unlocked. please discuss internal US issues here.

Indo-US relations goes in that thread and we also have one for US-PRC ties.

matrim saar, indeed !

Posted: 18 Aug 2014 18:07
by Tanaji
So the national guard is finally deployed in Ferguson. Perhaps they will be looked upon as a neutral party and the violence level will reduce. Which begs the question how come the super duper armed cops could not quell a few measly rioting protestors? After all 'Murica, f*ck yeah!we never fail?

Posted: 18 Aug 2014 20:01
by Gus
Apparently (and not surprisingly) these people just have these toys with absolutely no proper training on handling and how to behave with them. That pic of guns raised with finger on trigger is classic. Military guys who patrol never do that unless they are actually going to shoot.

Posted: 18 Aug 2014 21:12
by UlanBatori
Since there is no krikit worth watching anymore :(( I tried to watch the Family Attorney's Press Conference on full-screen from See enn enn, but the video crashed just as it got to the really interesting part.
U may have better luck.

Wonder where the censorship cracked down. But the gist that I saw was the the first two bullets entered the head, and the exit wound was facing forward, one at the top of the skull, one through the right eye. Or the one that entered at the top of the head exited through the eye, which would have implied a shot from above and behind, execution style. Unfortunately there was no corresponding marking on the outline of the back of the decedent, wonder why they didn't take the trouble to mark that if they were going to show it (I have been reading Perry Mason..). Question from mother, presented to due applause:
What more do we have to present to get them to arrest the killer of my son?
Good question. I think Lt. Tragg would most certainly have arrested the suspect at this point. Evidence looks damning - like at the start of a Perry Mason trial.

Any day now they'll arrest and charge the officer with 2nd degree homicide - and he will be found NOT GUILTY because the All-wimmens (all except one white, the non-white was just shouted or sneered down into silence) Jury were "not free to find him guilty of Disturbing the Peace By Discharging A Weapon Inside Urban Limits" like they wanted to. All came out weeping and hollering. (laugh? not really. See the outcome of the Zimmerman trial)

Posted: 18 Aug 2014 21:31
by UlanBatori
And having said that, let me make a suggestion: Lets' try to find and highlight any? one? two? examples where someone from the Minority Community has expressed any concern or sympathy over the rights of the Indian store clerk who was assaulted by a robber. Or the owners of that shop, which was not only looted but burned (nice way to destroy evidence, wonder why it failed), and all those other shops.

I think such things deserve the most attention and highlighting since they are clearly not being highlighted by the Mainstream Media, hain?

THAT might be a positive datum for me to store, regarding the "tomorrow it could be us" concern. Yesss, I AM very concerned. Like today in Ulan Bator, what happens when the Minority Community Historic Colleges actually wake up (ie., by 2PM), get their lunch-time refresment done, and come out on the streets? We have a lot of stores owned by Koreans, that were attacked the last time One Community had a concern about Another Community (neither being Koreans or Indians or Chinese). And now restaurants owned by Desis. And many desi mothers driving cars... I AM very concerned.

Posted: 18 Aug 2014 21:38
by Surya
did the autopsy indicate any powder residue?

Posted: 18 Aug 2014 23:58
by narmad
Tanaji wrote:So the national guard is finally deployed in Ferguson. Perhaps they will be looked upon as a neutral party and the violence level will reduce. Which begs the question how come the super duper armed cops could not quell a few measly rioting protestors? After all 'Murica, f*ck yeah!we never fail?
I stay in the Suburbs of ST Louis and few miles from ferguson/ florissant .
There is a Highway I-70 which acts as an social / economic divide between the suburbs.
I stay just a couple of miles South of I-70 and the ferguson/ florissant area north of I-70 is predominantly black and much under developed and poor.
Lot of unemployment . Pls remember St Louis CITY was # 1 in the crime rate once and still is in the list of dangerous places to live .
We / desis do not venture into that area unless absolutely needed.

The thing is the Cops are all white and are not recruited from that area. There is much animosity between the local population there and the cops.
The initial reaction of the police was very high handed. You could see on TV and hear on the news. The Police staging are looked like a camp in Iraq or Afghanistan. The show of force by the police greatly instigated the protesters.

But after the 2nd day, the control was handed over to the STATE HIGHWAY PATROL and the police have been much less confrontational and so have the protesters.

All these riots have occurred After Dark. The dynamic of the protesters change after dark. You see lots of women and children and church goers during the day, but not so during the night.
There are two sides to it.

I still think the initial reaction by the police was uncalled for. They presented the local population a target to vent their anger.

Comparing the Police in India, they do not have to face really intimidating guys nor do we have such levels of GUN proliferation.
The cops here do not know when they might be shot. They have been trained that way.
I routinely see traffic stops by the cops, where there is nothing going on and both parties wait till the backup car arrives.

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 00:09
by sooraj
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver: Ferguson, MO and Police Militarization (HBO) :lol:

[youtube]/watch?v=KUdHIatS36A[/youtube]

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 01:21
by UlanBatori
OK!! I have to report this. Saw on TV a middle aged black lady (totally non-nonsense, from Ulan Bator no doubt) sitting in a group session with Community Leaders and Police in Ferguson and tell them to their face:
YES! You DO have the right to assemble, and protest, and speak your minds, but you DO NOT have the right to (and she starts counting off on her hand) block traffic, cause harm to others,
(and the Mainstream Media Weanie cut off the video feed before she could get to the parts about looting and burning stores and carting off boxes of Johny Walker and beating up store clerks. )

More power to her! That is courage, to tell the truth to one's own kind, not because it is convenient , but because it is the truth. Probably that was Aunt Thomasina... :roll:

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 01:28
by member_22733
http://abagond.wordpress.com/2014/08/16 ... -politics/
Respectability politics (1895- ) is a cargo cult founded by middle-class Black Americans. It says that the purpose of life is getting cargo (material wealth, “success”) and the key to that is to act more like White Americans – to dress like them, talk like them, etc. It is why, for example, some people say that sagging pants are holding Black people back.
Another form of WU and internalized racism. Nothing else.

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 01:39
by Surya
thanks narmad

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 01:46
by UlanBatori
:mrgreen: It's not the sagging pants, Lokesh, it's the beltline being around the knees. Sort-of tough to walk in anything other than a stereotype "shuffle" if one's musharaff is showing and pants are buttoned around the knees. E-Z to go pakistan, of course.

Now here's the latest:
According to the account on KTFK, phoned in by a woman who identified herself as "Josie," the altercation began after Officer Darren Wilson rolled down his window to tell Brown and a friend to stop walking in the street. (THERE u go! U want more CONFIRMATION than THAT?)

When Wilson tried to get out of his cruiser, Brown first tried to push the officer back into the car, then punched him in the face and grabbed for his gun before breaking free after the gun went off once, the caller said.

Wilson pursued Brown and his friend, ordering them to freeze, according to the account. When they turned around, Brown began taunting Wilson, saying he would not arrest them, then ran at the officer at full speed, the caller said.

Wilson then began shooting. The final shot was to Brown's forehead, and the teenager fell two or three feet in front of Wilson, the caller said.

A source with detailed knowledge of the investigation later told CNN the caller's account is "accurate," in that it matches what Wilson has told investigators.

Q.E.D. What Wilson's "friend" told the TV station == what Wilson told investigators according to a "source". That clinches it, hain?

If true [i](See? CNN is TOTALLY unbiased, and not at all naive! Is that skepticism awesome or what?),[/i]he account represents the first telling of events from the perspective of Wilson....

Earlier Monday, an autopsy conducted for the family of Brown found no evidence that he struggled with Wilson before his death, according to the pathologist in charge of the examination.

Dr. Michael Baden said no signs of a struggle were revealed in his autopsy of Brown's body, conducted after an official examination by the St. Louis County medical examiner's office.
And forensics consultant Shawn Parcells, who assisted Baden, said the findings are consistent with witness reports that Brown may have been shot as he walked away and that he was shot again with his hands up.
Brown family attorney Daryl Parks said he was particularly concerned about gunshots that medical examiners hired by the family indicate came from behind and above.
"Why would he be shot in the very top of his head, a 6-foot-4 man?" Parks asked. "Makes no sense."

(er.. if u stick ur head down into a police car window and try to get an officer's gun, there is a good chance that said gun if it went off, sends a bullet into ur head...)

And the State Govt wakes up about the need to protect citizens, 8 days later...
(compare to A'bad, 2002, anyone?)
"Given these deliberate, coordinated and intensifying violent attacks on lives and property in Ferguson, I am directing the highly capable men and women of the Missouri National Guard (that means they look cool in their tank-driver Klingon costumes)... in restoring peace and order to this community," Gov. Jay Nixon said in a statement.
Later, he told reporters the National Guard would have a "limited mission" to protect the command center in Ferguson.

Gunfire, tear gas and Molotov cocktails Sunday night marked some of the fiercest clashes yet between police and protesters furious about the death of the unarmed teenager.

Family attorney Benjamin Crump said Brown probably would have been either kneeling or bending forward (like into the police car) when he was struck with those bullets.

Nixon issued the National Guard order early Monday after what began as peaceful protests spiraled into disarray after two civilians were shot and injured, Missouri State Highway Patrol Capt. Ron Johnson said. He said those civilians were not shot by police. "Tonight, a Sunday that started with prayers and messages of unity, peace and justice took a very different turn after dark," Johnson said early Monday. Some protesters hurled Molotov cocktails at police, and several businesses were vandalized or looted despite the Brown family's call for calm. "Based on these conditions, I had no alternative but to elevate the level of our response," Johnson said. Officers fired tear gas into hundreds of protesters, including children, who were marching toward a police command post despite an impending midnight curfew. Two children were treated and released for exposure to tear gas overnight at St. Louis Children's Hospital, according to a spokeswoman there.

Protester Lisha Williams challenged the notion that protesters provoked officers. "That is a lie. It was no fight, it was no shots fired," she told CNN late Sunday. "All we did was march to the command center to fall to our knees and say, 'Don't shoot.' And they started shooting."

The clashes kept escalating, with St. Charles County sheriff's officials saying shots were fired in their direction. At one point, employees at a McDonald's restaurant locked themselves in a storage room after the store was overrun, Johnson said.
But the anxiety remains. Children can't even go to school. "Information we received from officials on the scene late Sunday evening has contributed to concerns we have about children walking to school or waiting for buses on streets impacted by this activity," the Ferguson-Florissant School District said on its Facebook page.

Accounts of exactly what happened when Wilson stopped Brown while the teen was walking down a street vary widely. Witnesses said they saw a scuffle between the officer and Brown at the police car before the young man was shot. Several witnesses said Brown raised his hands and was not attacking the officer. Piaget Crenshaw said she was sitting in her home when she witnessed the shooting. She captured video of the aftermath, including images of Brown's body lying in the middle of the street. "From it all initially happening, I knew this was not right," she told CNN's "New Day" on Monday. "I knew the police shouldn't even have been chasing this young boy and firing at the same time. The fact that he got shot in the face, it was something that clicked in me, like no, somebody else needs to see this. This isn't right. I've got to record." Crenshaw said Brown was running away from police and then turned around. She said that was when Brown was shot. But police gave a different narrative, saying Brown struggled with the officer and reached for his weapon. The officer has stayed out of the public spotlight, and more than 22,000 people have endorsed the "I Support Officer Wilson" Facebook page. U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder has approved another autopsy on Brown's body, the Justice Department said. That autopsy will be conducted by a federal medical examiner.

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 01:51
by UlanBatori
This will warm the hearts of the BRFees:
UN CHIEF EXPRESSES CONCERNS ABOUT CITIZENS' RIGHTS IN AMERICASTAN, CALLS FOR HONEST INVESTIGATIONS, ASKS REPRESSIVE GOVERNMENT TO OBSERVE INTERNATIONAL STANDARDS AND ALLOW PEACEFUL ASSEMBLY AND DEMONSTRATIONS
The protests have also gained international attention. U.N. Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon issued a statement Monday on the events in Ferguson, saying that he "hopes local and federal investigations will shed full light on the killing" of Brown. Ban called on authorities to ensure that people are able to assemble peacefully and urged law enforcement to abide by U.S. and "international standards in dealing with demonstrations."

I mean, Ban Ki Moon? The bugger got that much spine?

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 02:24
by Tanaji
Surya, there was no gun powder residue found in the autopsy. However it is also true that the person doing the autopsy was not given access to the teens clothes nor those of the police officers so the jury is still out on that one.

Ulanbatori,

You seem to have the mistaken assumption that police have free license to kill at the slightest challenge to their authority. I am again touched by your willingness to go above and beyond and defend the boys in blue. Or it maybe that the victim is black so he must be guilty for you. I don't know... Fact is police are still required to show serious and persistent threat to life before lethal force can be employed. An obviously unarmed teenager sticking his head into the cruiser does not fit that requirement.

The way things are now is that American troops are governed by more stricter RoE in Afghanistan and Iraq with stricter consequences than the us police force is while policing streets of suburbia.

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 02:35
by Tanaji
As to whether the minority community supports Indians, Koreans or vampires in their issues is irrelevant. In fact in my personal experience of the south , the minority community is as racist as the majority. And evanjehadii to boot... But police high handedness affects all... There is a mistaken smugness and it-wont-happen-to-me-because-i-am-so-law-abiding attitude amongst the US desi janta that is entirely misplaced, partially because most live in upscale neighbourhood s. But the police attitude towards Desi's is no different than towards the minority communities.

Until Desi's get a NAACP type organisation that is powerful, there is not going to be a change. Regrettably we will get bobby jindals more than Jesse Jackson s...

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 05:00
by Rony
Poodle mouthpiece chimes in

Armed police : Trigger happy
THE shooting of Michael Brown, an 18-year-old African-American, by a police officer in Ferguson, Missouri, is a reminder that civilians—innocent or guilty—are far more likely to be shot by police in America than in any other rich country. In 2012, according to data compiled by the FBI, 410 Americans were “justifiably” killed by police—409 with guns. That figure may well be an underestimate. Not only is it limited to the number of people who were shot while committing a crime, but also, amazingly, reporting the data is voluntary.
Between 2010 and 2014 the police force of one small American city, Albuquerque in New Mexico, shot and killed 23 civilians; seven times more than the number of Brits killed by all of England and Wales’s 43 forces during the same period.

The explanation for this gap is simple. In Britain, guns are rare. Only specialist firearms officers carry them; and criminals rarely have access to them. The last time a British police officer was killed by a firearm on duty was in 2012, in a brutal case in Manchester. The annual number of murders by shooting is typically less than 50. Police shootings are enormously controversial. The shooting of Mark Duggan, a known gangster, which in 2011 started riots across London, led to a fiercely debated inquest. Last month, a police officer was charged with murder over a shooting in 2005. The reputation of the Metropolitan Police’s armed officers is still barely recovering from the fatal shooting of Jean Charles de Menezes, an innocent Brazilian, in the wake of the 7/7 terrorist bombings in London.

In America, by contrast, it is hardly surprising that cops resort to their weapons more frequently. In 2013, 30 cops were shot and killed—just a fraction of the 9,000 or so murders using guns that happen each year. Add to that a hyper-militarised police culture and a deep history of racial strife and you have the reason why so many civilians are shot by police officers. Unless America can either reduce its colossal gun ownership rates or fix its deep social problems, shootings of civilians by police—justified or not—seem sure to continue.

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 05:36
by Shreeman
Tanaji wrote:As to whether the minority community supports Indians, Koreans or vampires in their issues is irrelevant. In fact in my personal experience of the south , the minority community is as racist as the majority. And evanjehadii to boot... But police high handedness affects all... There is a mistaken smugness and it-wont-happen-to-me-because-i-am-so-law-abiding attitude amongst the US desi janta that is entirely misplaced, partially because most live in upscale neighbourhood s. But the police attitude towards Desi's is no different than towards the minority communities.

Until Desi's get a NAACP type organisation that is powerful, there is not going to be a change. Regrettably we will get bobby jindals more than Jesse Jackson s...
It is still a very sad commentary on the nature of the USA society -- divided worse than any except perhaps the malsi sects. Regardless of how you look at it, its been pointed out by poster after poster (including the world famous Ulanbatori) that:
* The law enforcement is deeply flawed, the judicial system worse. Reading the important parts of Ulanbatori's posts about "all-wimmens jury" is all too revealing. And that is how it really is. Jury selection and going along with prosecutors makes it all but impossible for any reasonable outcome.
* The society is DEEPLY divided along ethnic/racial/color lines.
* The is no "it-wont-happen-to-me" security.

It is a free for all -- whether caused by "this community" or other reasons.

As for the dark community behavior, there is no doubt that they are openly racist against the caucasian/white community. They have better reasons than jews vs. germans, in my personal opinion.

Not that anyone should hate anyone else for generations, but if there is a chronological limit ("time heals all") then, the white/back tensions are more recent. They are also xenophobic -- only lower strata jobs were available, manufacturing going away meant worse things for them than any other community, the hispanic undocumented affect them worse than the people making all the immigration noise, and so on.

But they do not have a skin color based hatred for the Asian Indian. Yes, there are exceptions. America is not just a melting pot, its also a pot of poison. But in general, even your poor black person sees more in common with the brown person than those who would be comparably "white trash".

As for the protests themselves, there is a "protest" element to them. There is a "riot" that starts unrelated to them in the same place. There timelines will separate at some point. Not sure the State has anything left after the National Guard. Not much the Feds can do either. The murmur will continue this week, at least.

I have a book to summarize for Ramana next, so am separating from these discussions (or trying hard, for a second time) -- a lot of propaganda, very little substance available to analyze. Be seeing you in the positive neuj threads!

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 05:53
by UlanBatori
Tanaji wrote:As to whether the minority community supports Indians, Koreans or vampires in their issues is irrelevant. In fact in my personal experience of the south , the minority community is as racist as the majority. And evanjehadii to boot... But the police attitude towards Desi's is no different than towards the minority communities. Until Desi's get a NAACP type organisation that is powerful, there is not going to be a change. Regrettably we will get bobby jindals more than Jesse Jackson s...
U said it, I Bow To U. I wouldn't have the smarts to figure something this deep. As they say:
A Mind is a Terrible Thing To Waste, But Only If One Had One

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 05:56
by KLNMurthy
UlanBatori wrote:OK!! I have to report this. Saw on TV a middle aged black lady (totally non-nonsense, from Ulan Bator no doubt) sitting in a group session with Community Leaders and Police in Ferguson and tell them to their face:
YES! You DO have the right to assemble, and protest, and speak your minds, but you DO NOT have the right to (and she starts counting off on her hand) block traffic, cause harm to others,
(and the Mainstream Media Weanie cut off the video feed before she could get to the parts about looting and burning stores and carting off boxes of Johny Walker and beating up store clerks. )

More power to her! That is courage, to tell the truth to one's own kind, not because it is convenient , but because it is the truth. Probably that was Aunt Thomasina... :roll:
UB, it is a misconception that such individuals as you highlighted are a rare exception and it is rather condescending to declare that "more" such "courage" should be displayed. Your drawing of an analogy between US Blacks and One Community-Another Community situations "back home" is also quite misplaced. For one thing, except for the actual criminals, AfAms tend to be hardcore law&order types and USA jingos, but they cannot reasonably be expected to ignore racist police oppression that has a multi-century history

What you see in the media is filtered through Majority Community prejudice, whose expression oscillates between supercilious disapproval and overcompensating excusemaking using the squeakiest wheels like Sharpton.

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 06:04
by Satya_anveshi
UlanBatori wrote:This will warm the hearts of the BRFees:
UN CHIEF EXPRESSES CONCERNS ABOUT CITIZENS' RIGHTS IN AMERICASTAN, CALLS FOR HONEST INVESTIGATIONS, ASKS REPRESSIVE GOVERNMENT TO OBSERVE INTERNATIONAL STANDARDS AND ALLOW PEACEFUL ASSEMBLY AND DEMONSTRATIONS
The protests have also gained international attention. U.N. Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon issued a statement Monday on the events in Ferguson, saying that he "hopes local and federal investigations will shed full light on the killing" of Brown. Ban called on authorities to ensure that people are able to assemble peacefully and urged law enforcement to abide by U.S. and "international standards in dealing with demonstrations."

I mean, Ban Ki Moon? The bugger got that much spine?
This needs to be seen as confirmation that this whole charade is just that...a stage managed charade to divert attention from Ukraine where US seems to have lost the plot just as they lost it in Iraq and middle east. Totally timely onlee. Which mainstream media house in US wants to cover Putin's 'humanitarian' aid in Ukraine.

If there is any other alternative explanation of this, it should be Obama getting out of Kerrorist's yet another foreign policy failure. If that is indeed the cause, next step is for Obama to beg Israelis to create enough ruckus that gives Obama a oppty to ask joKerry to take rest as it is obvious no amount of failure is enough for SoS to do so voluntarily.

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 06:12
by UlanBatori
Well... a bit of a stretch to imagine Offcr D. Williams destroying his own life for such things, hain? The riots are a predictable outcome of just one too many Model Youth Shootings (same as in Miami, etc etc), but I can't see either the decedent or the alleged defendant going along with the plot. The UN attention is another thing: who called the UN's attention, I wonder. No international issues whatever - even on PeeAref it has been declared 400% Internal Issue Onlee, despite the first victim being a poor, helpless desi.

I think the Governor sitting on his thumb for 7 days while most of downtown got looted and burned - now THERE's an outrage to be investigated. I bet you when the truth is out, that most of the owners there were desis or Koreans. Narmadji, pls confirm?

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 06:28
by Satya_anveshi
If the price is right, everything is for sale so folks will be happy to get "destroyed" that way. That leaves for the black dude who got killed and well...he became collateral.

Rest of the janta got so much free stuff. It is a win-win overall for US. Who is Putin? and where is Iraq?

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 07:57
by UlanBatori
it is a misconception that such individuals as you highlighted are a rare exception
Please feel free to post more examples of such opinions and statements. In my ignorance I have found only this. Surely there must be millions on FaceBook or Twitter for instance? In CNN comments? I have not found any, but I don't frequent FaceBook etc. so I cannot say.

Are the Black Majority saying this? Are they indeed standing up for the rights of those hard-working, innocent people whose livelihoods have been burned out or looted? PLEASE feel free to highlight that!

How many signs have you seen, held up at Ferguson by the Law Abiding Black Community (yes I have seen the signs by the Other Community, but they are bigots, hey?) asking for punishment of the Looters? The Convenience-Store Robbers?

I am the one who said above that such positive attitudes must be highlighted, and I have done what I could, immediately, to highlight it with all due respect. After you have done likewise, perhaps the discussion of who is being 'condescending' etc might have more substance. Thx. Seriously. Before you post anything else. It should only take seconds because you KNOW so surely that the vast majority feel that way, and FaceBook allows free expression, hain?

Otherwise, with all due respect, I cannot help it, but my evil misguided mind cannot help drawing the analogy with
All (fill the blanks) are not terrorists or bigots. Most (fill the blanks) are Moderate and Law-Abiding and Respectful of other (fill the blanks).
I mean, look at the Pakistanis. Look at the Lashkar-e-toiba. Look at the Hamas. At the ISIL. The ISIS...

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 08:01
by UlanBatori
Satya_anveshi wrote:If the price is right, everything is for sale so folks will be happy to get "destroyed" that way. That leaves for the black dude who got killed and well...he became collateral.

Rest of the janta got so much free stuff. It is a win-win overall for US. Who is Putin? and where is Iraq?

Maybe Michael Brown's buddy was the real store-robber, and he was an Agint? :eek: Sure seems suspicious that he is not charged with anything, and didn't get shot either, hain?

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 08:06
by UlanBatori
May I make a serious observation? Ppl here seem to be struggling hard with the idea that perhaps one does not have to agree with anyone - just seek the truth, and ask the tough, right questions. I feel badly for the dead youngster, and that is in line with worldwide feeling drummed up echoed by the media. I feel for the Oppressed People in Ferguson.

But... reality is complicated. The policemen assigned to the night beat there don't have it so easy either. They are not some mighty Godzillas or Chengis Khans, they are themselves barely out of their teens, maybe a young husband, young father, terrified himself, worried about his young family, struggling to keep their heads above the starvation line.

The store owners who risk investing in Ferguson don't have it easy, and the store clerks who man the night hours in these stores most certainly don't have it easy. Would you like to take that job? I know I would not..

The Governor does not have it easy, the Police Chief is caught in a very tough situation... the lawyer are rubbing their hands, their favored Porsche Dealers are smiling ear to ear...

In all this, the best one can do as outside is to ask tough questions on all sides, and maybe be skeptical of appearances. Think of what is missing - so far it is the slightest hint of sympathy, much less concern, for the store owners, specifically the Convenience store, and that poor store clerk. Does he have a job anymore? Is he in hiding? Dig the FBI put his family and himself in the Witness Protection Program, or are they just starving somewhere in terror?

Is the desi community in St Lousis/ environs doing anything to help them?

Don't jump to oversimplified conclusions on what anyone really feels. (I may be the Grand Lizald of the Ku Krux Kran Brack Panthel Division, for all u know..)

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 08:36
by Satya_anveshi
The way I see it, local junta is getting rewarded (free stuff) for playing their part. Sympathies for store owners will be displayed by insurance companies.

Store owners knew of the risk they were taking when they saw the "oppty" to open stores in the most desirous place they can find.
So, tough luck for getting in the cross fire and glad that there are no casualties among desi community.

Leaving that one thing aside, which part of this conflict, if it gets too "out of control', is NOT in the interest of significant segment of US population (Blacks and Hispanics) and for world peace?

As a well wishes of US, I feel (and I hope) these kind incidents provide US shitizens oppty and time to reflect upon their "free world" and make it even better.

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 08:58
by Satya_anveshi
Not sure why some people are calling this a Negro 'Spring'. It is Fall season after all. Can they name this movement appropriately?

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 16:53
by UlanBatori
From AGuptaji's post in Positive News:
The paper points out that in Ferguson, 86 percent of vehicle stops “involved a black motorist, although blacks make up just 67 percent of the population.” In addition, blacks stopped in Ferguson “are almost twice as likely as whites to be searched (12.1 percent versus 6.9 percent) and twice as likely to be arrested (10.4 percent versus 5.2 percent)”. Searches of blacks only results in discovery of contraband 21.7 percent of the time, whereas contraband is recovered from their less frequently stopped white counterparts 34.0 percent of the time.
Those are surprisingly weak statistics, hain? You don't expect 100% of the population to be scofflaws, or the police to be able to stop 100% of drivers. So let's say 25% of AA but only 20% of the non-AA (meaning desis, Koreans, Chinese, Mexican, "Kakoosians") are scofflaws. There is plenty of evidence to support this, for one thing desis are SDRE, can't drive fast and own Civics and Odysseys rather than Darts or ThunderBirds or Camaros. Let's see what happens to the statistics? This would mean that there are 16.75 stops per 100 population for the AA, and less than 7 stops for the non-AA. Now 71.5% of stops are AA vs. 29% non-AA, with populations being 67% and 33% respectively.

But is my 25% vs. 20% accurate, or diluted for political correctness? Watch those videos of store-looters, what percentage are non-AA? Lots of Chinese and Indians and Koreans there? Even Hispanics? Now what happens to the statistics?

What if of the 25% who get stopped, a whopping 50% are repeat offenders? Whereas of the 20% of non-AAs who get stopped, far fewer are repeat offenders, because they have no support network, once they get that fine etc they are terrified into law-obedience for keeps. Like Moi: the sight of the Hanging Judge-ina in Ulan Bator still gives me the shudders, :eek: even though she let me go free because she had a bad cold and didn't want to mess with minor stuff - she dismissed anything below DUI or Vehicular Homicide and still had enough left to take up the whole month.
N-n-n-n-n-n-ot gilty Yuwar Honner.
Never even gave me a chance to explain that it was an Alleged Illegal Left Turn Which Was Really a Quite-OK Right Turn From Second Lane But the Motorcycle Cop Was Conphyoojed, Yuwar Honner.

So this statistic says nothing about profiling, in fact the correct conclusion is that there is little evidence of profiling.

Now about traffic stops leading to disaster. Yes, that is the prime reason why most ppl abide by the law even when there is no one pointing a rifle at them. It is why we pay taxes as well, surprise, surprise, it is not concern for the government, or for Civic Duty or Patriotism. The fear of the courts and the lawyers and and fines and jail and getting beaten and buggered in jail are all pretty daunting, and makes one Come to a Complete Stop at Stop Signs, Stop when the light is red, drive not much over speed limit + 5mph, and not scoot past stopped school buses. Certainly not shout obscenities at the Police or Judges, or try to grab their guns or slam their car doors on their legs.

Go out on the road in desh and see all the brats old and young, dissing the law with impunity because of, hey, impunity. If they do get caught, well, poppa's bribes and momma's 7th coujin the politician will fix the ticket and bail the brat out. Or the nbd mob will.

And why are the fines so high? Well... see "repeat offender" above. I was sitting at the Gate in Frankfurt some time ago when I heard this loud desi brat declare to a co-brat whom he had identified as from the same yak-herd in Ulan Bator, and it turned out Brat 1 was referring to the particular slum in Ulan Bator where I have my hut too:
Man, don't drive with tinted film on your windows in (Goat-Poo Creek, my nbd). I got stopped the other day in my (Lexus probably) SUV for speeding, and the cop saw the tinted film, and I got a $1000 fine! :shock:
Slashed 10 mph off my usual cruising speed in that nbd right there. :eek:

Also see the stats on road deaths and the consequences of injuries in wrecks, whether in Gleat Satanistan or desh or Pakistan. Yes, society damn well wants to get the idiot drivers off the streets.
twice as likely as whites to be searched (12.1 percent versus 6.9 percent)
Why would you be white and driving around in these places? Presumably few white criminals venture into here, because the turf is owned by AAs. See Harlem NY or Watts, CA or some parts of DC or Detroit or Atlanta of Miami. Same issue. Also the "likelihood of searches" is going to be greater if the cop checks the license and the computer says: "Please wait, this may take a long time to print out".
Searches of blacks only results in discovery of contraband 21.7 percent of the time, while contraband is recovered from their less frequently stopped white counterparts 34.0 percent of the time.
And ur point is?? So in all cases, the cops stop and search 3 times as many people as actually have any contraband, they DO stop whites, and DO recover contraband in searches, they don't just give the cocaine back and say, "OK, Sir, this stuff can hurt, please try not to drive through here carrying this, but as long as you are going to sell it to the *****s here, sure, go ahead, be sure to fill out the sales tax deposit". Let's look at that statistic differently:

In Ferguson, MO, the police seize possessions from white citizens whom they stop, FIFTY-SEVEN PERCENT MORE OF THE TIME than from black citizens!!
Even though far fewer white citizens are accused of law violations than black citizens! :(( :((

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 17:36
by UlanBatori
From See Enn Enn: (very clearly, it IS the *** Enn Enn that is inciting more violence...read b-lo.
Stun grenades and tear gas canisters arced through the night sky and into crowds of protesters overnight in Ferguson, ..after police said they had been targeted with rocks, Molotov cocktails and gunfire amid continuing demonstrations. Two people were shot -- not by police, authorities said. Four officers were injured. Police arrested at least 31 people. Police and protesters blamed outside agitators for the gunplay and violence.
"We don't need these antagonizers out here," said protester Jerrell Bourrage, who earlier grabbed one of the bottle-hurling demonstrators and told him to stop. "We need people who can stand out here to the side and still let your word be known."
OK, ONE more example of someone being proactive.
Monday evening began peacefully enough. For almost two hours, police in riot gear formed a barricade and stood watch as hundreds of protesters marched in a single-file line that stretched so long that different parts chanted different slogans. "Hands up, don't shoot," some repeated. "No justice, no peace," others said. Still others were singing church hymns. But the scene quickly deteriorated after a handful of protesters threw rocks, bottles and Molotov cocktails at police. Officers responded by firing stun grenades and tear gas canisters. Amid the frenzy, gunshots could be heard. Police found two people shot within the protest site, said Missouri State Highway Patrol Capt. Ron Johnson, who is in charge of protest security. One group of protesters made a barricade with portable toilets and orange cones.

Armored vehicles rolled down the streets with officers perched atop, their hands steadied on guns. Other officers darted into the protest crowd to make an occasional arrest before retreating.
.. a building and an unoccupied house were set on fire, and that his officers came under "heavy gunfire."
CNN reporter ordered to move by police

"We have been criticized for using SWAT trucks during protests. We did not deploy them into crowds until things deteriorated," he said. "Once again, not a single bullet was fired by officers despite coming under heavy attack." CNN accounts of the protest varied. On Monday night, CNN's Jake Tapper echoed the frustrations of many in the crowd. "Absolutely there have been looters, absolutely over the last nine days there has been violence, but there is nothing going on in this street right now that merits this scene out of Bagram. Nothing. "So if people wonder why the people of Ferguson, Missouri, are so upset, this is part of the reason. What is this? This doesn't make any sense." However, on Tuesday morning, CNN's Steve Kastenbaum said the police response was among the more restrained in several nights of demonstrations. Police, he said, appeared to be very targeted in responding to "bad actors." "There are people in this crowd who are here to do more than protest, who come here armed" Kastenbaum said. To be sure, Johnson displayed weapons seized early Monday. "This has to stop," he said. "I don't want anybody to get hurt."

(BTW, see this Officer Johnson on the video: I guess he has to called Uncle Tomas Johnson, per some ppl here, hain?)
CNN correspondent Ed Lavandera told of watching community religious leaders "get up in the face" of troublemakers in a failed effort to dissuade them from violence. "Get out of the street! Don't fight!" some protesters bellowed on bullhorns. Others, like Bourrage, told hold of the agitators and tried to get them to stop. "I came to keep my brothers safe," Bourrage said. "We have fathers, brothers, mothers and aunties out here."
Oh! MORE Uncles and Aunts Thomases?

Malik Shabazz, national president of Black Lawyers for Justice, blamed unspecified outside provocateurs for the trouble.
Johnson, during an early morning news conference, urged demonstrators to protest during the daylight hours Tuesday and not after dark. "Make your voices heard where you can be seen and you're not the cover for violent agitators," he said."There is a dangerous dynamic in the night. It allows a small number of agitators to hide in the crowd and then attempt to create chaos." Earlier, in an interview with CNN, Johnson added, "This has to stop." "It has to stop," he said about the violence." I don't want anybody to get hurt. We have to find a way to stop it."
A grand jury could begin to hear testimony from witnesses and decide on whether to return an indictment in the case as early as Wednesday. The Justice Department has opened a civil rights investigation into Brown's death.
(Wonder if they could send Herrowic Public Prosectuor Pleet Bhalala there..)
The Ferguson-Florissant School District has canceled school for the week, and two nearby districts -- Jennings and Riverview Gardens -- opted to remain closed again Tuesday as well, according to CNN affiliate KMOV. (Reminds me of Vimochana Samaram, Malloostan, 1967 BCE)
Some businesses have also been looted or burned, prompting some store owners to arm themselves and stand guard over their shops,

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 18:41
by Neela
https://twitter.com/Potomaker/statuses/ ... 4154888192
@Potomaker
News from Ferguson: A colleague and me got handcuffed and for 3 hours arrested because we did our job to investigate the Michael Brown case
Whiter than White Kraut journos arrested in Ferguson.

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 18:54
by UlanBatori
Rabble-rousin' durned commie pinko Furriners come to teach the good ol' US of A how to run the country! :twisted:
I read that the kind MO Police also trashed the equipment of the Al Jazeera reporters.

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 18:56
by TSJones
^^^^That will be filed in their permanent record also. It will follow them for life. And their employers will always see that when they do a back ground check. It may cost them the rest of their lives in reduced earnings. And, they may not be eligible for memberships in a lot of golf courses and country clubs. Sin in haste, suffer at leisure.

Posted: 19 Aug 2014 19:07
by Shreeman
TSJones wrote:^^^^That will be filed in their permanent record also. It will follow them for life. And their employers will always see that when they do a back ground check. It may cost them the rest of their lives in reduced earnings. And, they may not be eligible for memberships in a lot of golf courses and country clubs. Sin in haste, suffer at leisure.
You wish! All journalists were later released and no charges were filed. It was all a free ride away from a troubled spot. On the permanent record! In America? Never.