India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

drnayar wrote: 07 Aug 2025 02:41 Boeing Orders pending with Indian Carriers

1. Air India - $ 30 B
2. Indigo - $ 9 B
3. Akasa - $ 10 B

A single review of Boeing Orders can hit US for 50 Billion US Dollars

drnayar ji,

These are like birds in a bush, or a pig in a poke. No one knows the next fiasco that boeing will generate for itself

Good talking points, but beyond that it is worth zilch as a bargaining chip

Replacement (airbus) for such orders will take even longer to materialize.

In the meanwhile, the markets will survive on and make do with leased aircraft

BTW, there are many airlines that are desperate to buy India's (or any other airlines' place) place in the boeing queue just to hedge their bets and when they also sell their position in the wait line, they stand to make even more money
Last edited by chetak on 07 Aug 2025 11:15, edited 1 time in total.
Bharadwaj

Post by Bharadwaj »

Indigo does not have a single Boeing on order so that's wrong. Before going scorched earth, we first need to let Trump JR know he is about to permanently lose access to one of the largest real estate markets. He is buddies with many of our MPs so getting the message across will be easy. I suspect it is Lindsey Graham and Stephen Miller who are behind the present troubles.

Bharadwaj wrote: 07 Aug 2025 10:25 https://x.com/IndianTechGuide/status/19 ... 7056263339

Modiji saying that the interests of our farmers and dairy producers are foremost. He says he know he has to pay a heavy price personally for this but he is ready to do so. I think our relationship with the US is headed for complete collapse. My main worry is - TEJAS TEJAS and TEJAS. Find a bloody alternate engine immediately.

Bharadwaj ji,

best not to get into a pissing contest with a guy who has the bigger bladder, not to mention the other associated paraphernalia :mrgreen:

Ideology and religious sentiment is the safest bet, to block such unwarranted intrusions into our economic ecosystems.

The real question is: why are they so very insistent on entering these two specific areas of India's economy.

India's red lines have been well known for decades. Many countries have asked for such access and given up when they were refused such access, but none have been so very adamant

India is more than self sufficient in agriculture and dairy. India's soft power is based on unconditional food aid to countries that have no hope of receiving such help, and the geopolitical fallout of such cultural generosity has become a double edged sword

cui bono or who benefits, will help one understand why the BIF is so keen to infiltrate these sectors and like termites, hollow out our civilizational edifice from within.

Every engine manufacturer (and country) is cartelized and the operate in lockstep to block India, and they all dance to the amriki tune, with the exception of russia

and yet we haven't seen the writing on the wall.

In our stooopide quest for "the best", we have consistently ignored the doable

Once you master the engine tech, panic will engulf the global MIC. That is their last frontier, because we make or can make almost every thing else. If the russkis hadn't "helped" out in the miniaturized submarine nuclear power plant (and much of India's weapon tech), we'd still be building paddle boats

you will not bribe, you will not steal, you will not subvert. It's all maya and ahimsa onlee

and we still foolishly believe that ghundhy was the sole hero who got us our "freedom"

In reality, the practical world is a very different ball game, a world that bose understood even in those days

This govt has gone out of its way to try a procure this tech, the bana bana, garam garam halwa that our "scientists" are demanding but to no avail
Last edited by chetak on 07 Aug 2025 12:02, edited 1 time in total.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

Not just engine tech but chip manufacturing as well . And that is the new oil ..engine for the future

drnayar wrote: 07 Aug 2025 12:01 Not just engine tech but chip manufacturing as well . And that is the new oil ..engine for the future

Right you are drnayar ji.

But at least, in this area, some practical steps are being taken

Bharadwaj wrote: 07 Aug 2025 11:14 Indigo does not have a single Boeing on order so that's wrong. Before going scorched earth, we first need to let Trump JR know he is about to permanently lose access to one of the largest real estate markets. He is buddies with many of our MPs so getting the message across will be easy. I suspect it is Lindsey Graham and Stephen Miller who are behind the present troubles.

what buddies, Bharadwaj ji.

or did you not notice how he has treated Modi ji recently.

when he says "amrika first", what he actually means is "trumpwa first, always and every time"

Only, innocent India did not hear the message, because it was drowned out in babel of self praise and rhetoric
Last edited by chetak on 07 Aug 2025 12:23, edited 1 time in total.
Bharadwaj

Post by Bharadwaj »

^^^^^^^^^^
We invested peanuts and expected a tejas powering jet engine in return. That boat has sailed now based on what the def sec said last month. I suspect we will need an engine for Both the mk1a and mk2. The rd93 can be turned into something acceptable if the Russians infuse material technology from the rostec 177s. This will give the wing time that IAF wants. The easy solution is the m88 but will the French stick with us if Orange baboon goes full postal on us?
Bharadwaj

Post by Bharadwaj »

chetak wrote: 07 Aug 2025 12:20
Bharadwaj wrote: 07 Aug 2025 11:14 Indigo does not have a single Boeing on order so that's wrong. Before going scorched earth, we first need to let Trump JR know he is about to permanently lose access to one of the largest real estate markets. He is buddies with many of our MPs so getting the message across will be easy. I suspect it is Lindsey Graham and Stephen Miller who are behind the present troubles.

what buddies, Bharadwaj ji.

or did you not notice how he has treated Modi ji recently.

when he says "amrika first", what he actually means is "trumpwa first, always and every time"
Sir I said JR as in DON JR who has money invested in our market.

Bharadwaj wrote: 07 Aug 2025 12:23 ^^^^^^^^^^
We invested peanuts and expected a tejas powering jet engine in return. That boat has sailed now based on what the def sec said last month. I suspect we will need an engine for Both the mk1a and mk2. The rd93 can be turned into something acceptable if the Russians infuse material technology from the rostec 177s. This will give the wing time that IAF wants. The easy solution is the m88 but will the French stick with us if Orange baboon goes full postal on us?

Bharadwaj ji,

The various GoI (both congi and non congi) limited their investments to peanuts because they had lost faith and did not trust the people who promised them the earth

It's also why the GoI and the entrenched ecosystem is so very focussed on "getting phoren technology"

One would refer you to the older posts where this subject has been discussed ad nauseam

ISRO, BARC, various missile programs, et al have delivered, and the outcome has been geopolitically shattering, causing the world to sit up and take notice.

why not this engine group

This is not an invitation to post further.

One suspects that our birds of prey will soon be making a visit here and one has no desire to be caught in the crossfire.

I, for one, am done replying.
Bharadwaj

Post by Bharadwaj »

Tharoor (whose view I respect despite the past) is calling for counter tariffs and he could be right. Orange baboon is feral and any weakness will be preyed upon. Time for GOI to make life difficult for those yankee businesses that are invested in India(coke, Pepsi etc) so that the message gets past the present coitree and into orange's head. Modiji and BJP are not the types to forget a slight to our Nation easily. The U.S will regret this for decades.

Couple of articles on how this illogical trade tariff can impact Indo-US relation negatively...

'A slow-motion catastrophe': Trump is setting fire to decades of US-India diplomacy

India-US spat over trade and oil threatens wider fallout

Bharadwaj wrote: 07 Aug 2025 13:07 Tharoor (whose view I respect despite the past) is calling for counter tariffs and he could be right. Orange baboon is feral and any weakness will be preyed upon. Time for GOI to make life difficult for those yankee businesses that are invested in India(coke, Pepsi etc) so that the message gets past the present coitree and into orange's head. Modiji and BJP are not the types to forget a slight to our Nation easily. The U.S will regret this for decades.
Reciprocal tariffs will hurt our own economy. Trump is just an elected executive of a debt ridden declining country with a limited term. Importers will find ways to find the imported item bypassing tariffs and exporters will find alternative markets. We should use this as an excuse to reform our economy even further. Diversify our exports and reduce dependence on US market and technology.

We should let Trump make a fool of himself and destroy his reputation. We should simply target his/his minions personal business and not target America. Hit him where is hurts the most. Keep sending principled statements and not respond to his tantrums. Over time, things will fall in place. Whatever we do, do it with cool headedness and not give in to emotions. Like Trudeau, this guy will fade away in time. India has leverage that will stun him very easily, but we need to do it slowly over time.

A_Gupta wrote: 06 Aug 2025 23:48
Take the case of MKC - Montana Knife Company. MKC’s proprietor thought that since his product is made in the US he is immune from tariffs. But the furnace he uses to melt the steel for his knives comes from abroad and has been hit by tariffs. The cost of his equipment has gone up to $600K from $500K to because it is imported. To help this manufacturer you want to tariff finished products, not the upstream items.

That easily generalizes. To help a manufacture, don’t tariff the upstream inputs.

A careful re-industrialization policy would identify the critical items to be manufactured in country and then identify points in the supply chain which should or should not be tariffed or should or should not get government incentives or concessions.

It is likely very complicated, but that is where data, computing power, and AI can help.
Right. One of the tenets of a tariff policy is that raw and intermediate goods are tariffed at lower levels than the finished product. Trump has not applied his mind to this. The US wants to make cars ? Not when the steel and auto parts are tariffed are tariffed at 50% Want to revive shipbuilding ? Not when your biggest raw material - steel, has a 50% tariff.
I phones ? The total number of tooling engineers in the US (according to Tim Cook) will fit into a room.

Bharadwaj wrote: 07 Aug 2025 10:25 https://x.com/IndianTechGuide/status/19 ... 7056263339

Modiji saying that the interests of our farmers and dairy producers are foremost. He says he know he has to pay a heavy price personally for this but he is ready to do so. I think our relationship with the US is headed for complete collapse. My main worry is - TEJAS TEJAS and TEJAS. Find a bloody alternate engine immediately.
The bolded part is what worries me. Modi is not given to sensationalism or loose remarks. Is he referring to "regime change" operations or other evil intent? If so, he needs to take the nation into confidence

Indians, in general, don't like to be bullied. And after the 1971 & arming of Pakistan, its only over the last decade or two that Indians have begun to warm upto America. Trump has decided to piss in that pool

So, if Modi shares his concerns with the aam-aadmi of India, the entire nation will be with him. His approval rating & sheer amount of respect he commands, is unrivaled. He should use it, if anything sinister is afoot

Modi has invested personally in building relationships around the world for the sake of realizing India's economic potential. His schedule of visits to foreign capitals and summits has been tireless.

Trump has ensured that a good part of that effort, especially as regards Modi's projections for India's economic growth, will be set back by years together. I think that's what Modi sees as the heavy personal price.

Regime change operations (and worse) have been par for the course since long before all this.

FYI:
“ Trump’s trade advisor, Peter Navarro, has also alleged that India uses the dollars from trade with America to pay for Russian oil, however most of India’s oil trade with Russia is settled in dirhams, the currency of the United Arab Emirates (UAE), refiners have told CNBC-TV18.”
https://www.cnbc.com/2025/08/07/india-i ... ybook.html
India has been a lot more willing than Brazil and China to find a middle ground with the U.S.

The government has already reduced duties on imports of U.S. motorcycles, bourbon, ethernet switches, synthetic flavoring essences and fish hydrolysate, to name a few. It has also allowed Tesla
to set up shop in Mumbai and withdrew the equalization levy on internet giants, widely known as the Google tax.

India has also increased its oil purchases from the U.S. by 120% in the last six months, source in the Indian government told CNBC-TV18, which was one of Trump’s primary demands when Modi visited the White House in February 2025.

However, since then, Trump has moved the goalposts from just reducing the U.S.′ trade deficit with India to the South Asian country’s relationship with Russia.
My POV, Trump could next demand, derecognize Palestine. (“ Donald Trump has threatened Canada after it moved to recognise a Palestinian state, reacting to Mark Carney’s announcement by saying that signing a US trade deal would now be “very hard”.)

Trump will keep moving the goalposts. India should just stand firm.

I think there are several retaliatory steps we can take.

1. There was a proposed digital tax of 6% announced in Mar and then kept in abeyance. This should be done immediately - make it 10%
It will mean google, Amazon, FB etc having to pay up. Most of the world is now in favour of this tax.
2. Impose a 10% tax on all remittances or spends in the US (credit cards, forex, bank transfers). That will reduce tourism and students who have
a choice of other countries.
3. Tax on Mastercard and Visa (2% of transactions, except for US where it will be 10%). That will encourage a faster shift to UPI and Rupay.
4. Tax of 25% on aircraft and oil products. That automatically means Boeing sales will stop. Let the industry look at Embrarer or even the
Chinese C-919. The EU is playing dirty with certifying the C-919. I think they will do what it takes to get into the Indian market. Embrarer is
also a good choice - I briefly evaluated their aircraft for an Indian airline. It also means US oil is too expensive to import, so we buy more from
Russia without saying so.
5. Reciprocal tariffs on US imports where there are alternate suppliers.