Posted: 07 Aug 2025 11:09
by chetak
drnayar wrote: 07 Aug 2025 02:41 Boeing Orders pending with Indian Carriers

1. Air India - $ 30 B
2. Indigo - $ 9 B
3. Akasa - $ 10 B

A single review of Boeing Orders can hit US for 50 Billion US Dollars

drnayar ji,

These are like birds in a bush, or a pig in a poke. No one knows the next fiasco that boeing will generate for itself

Good talking points, but beyond that it is worth zilch as a bargaining chip

Replacement (airbus) for such orders will take even longer to materialize.

In the meanwhile, the markets will survive on and make do with leased aircraft

BTW, there are many airlines that are desperate to buy India's (or any other airlines' place) place in the boeing queue just to hedge their bets and when they also sell their position in the wait line, they stand to make even more money

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 11:14
by Bharadwaj
Indigo does not have a single Boeing on order so that's wrong. Before going scorched earth, we first need to let Trump JR know he is about to permanently lose access to one of the largest real estate markets. He is buddies with many of our MPs so getting the message across will be easy. I suspect it is Lindsey Graham and Stephen Miller who are behind the present troubles.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 11:58
by chetak
Bharadwaj wrote: 07 Aug 2025 10:25 https://x.com/IndianTechGuide/status/19 ... 7056263339

Modiji saying that the interests of our farmers and dairy producers are foremost. He says he know he has to pay a heavy price personally for this but he is ready to do so. I think our relationship with the US is headed for complete collapse. My main worry is - TEJAS TEJAS and TEJAS. Find a bloody alternate engine immediately.

Bharadwaj ji,

best not to get into a pissing contest with a guy who has the bigger bladder, not to mention the other associated paraphernalia :mrgreen:

Ideology and religious sentiment is the safest bet, to block such unwarranted intrusions into our economic ecosystems.

The real question is: why are they so very insistent on entering these two specific areas of India's economy.

India's red lines have been well known for decades. Many countries have asked for such access and given up when they were refused such access, but none have been so very adamant

India is more than self sufficient in agriculture and dairy. India's soft power is based on unconditional food aid to countries that have no hope of receiving such help, and the geopolitical fallout of such cultural generosity has become a double edged sword

cui bono or who benefits, will help one understand why the BIF is so keen to infiltrate these sectors and like termites, hollow out our civilizational edifice from within.

Every engine manufacturer (and country) is cartelized and the operate in lockstep to block India, and they all dance to the amriki tune, with the exception of russia

and yet we haven't seen the writing on the wall.

In our stooopide quest for "the best", we have consistently ignored the doable

Once you master the engine tech, panic will engulf the global MIC. That is their last frontier, because we make or can make almost every thing else. If the russkis hadn't "helped" out in the miniaturized submarine nuclear power plant (and much of India's weapon tech), we'd still be building paddle boats

you will not bribe, you will not steal, you will not subvert. It's all maya and ahimsa onlee

and we still foolishly believe that ghundhy was the sole hero who got us our "freedom"

In reality, the practical world is a very different ball game, a world that bose understood even in those days

This govt has gone out of its way to try a procure this tech, the bana bana, garam garam halwa that our "scientists" are demanding but to no avail

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 12:01
by drnayar
Not just engine tech but chip manufacturing as well . And that is the new oil ..engine for the future

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 12:03
by chetak
drnayar wrote: 07 Aug 2025 12:01 Not just engine tech but chip manufacturing as well . And that is the new oil ..engine for the future

Right you are drnayar ji.

But at least, in this area, some practical steps are being taken

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 12:20
by chetak
Bharadwaj wrote: 07 Aug 2025 11:14 Indigo does not have a single Boeing on order so that's wrong. Before going scorched earth, we first need to let Trump JR know he is about to permanently lose access to one of the largest real estate markets. He is buddies with many of our MPs so getting the message across will be easy. I suspect it is Lindsey Graham and Stephen Miller who are behind the present troubles.

what buddies, Bharadwaj ji.

or did you not notice how he has treated Modi ji recently.

when he says "amrika first", what he actually means is "trumpwa first, always and every time"

Only, innocent India did not hear the message, because it was drowned out in babel of self praise and rhetoric

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 12:23
by Bharadwaj
^^^^^^^^^^
We invested peanuts and expected a tejas powering jet engine in return. That boat has sailed now based on what the def sec said last month. I suspect we will need an engine for Both the mk1a and mk2. The rd93 can be turned into something acceptable if the Russians infuse material technology from the rostec 177s. This will give the wing time that IAF wants. The easy solution is the m88 but will the French stick with us if Orange baboon goes full postal on us?

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 12:24
by Bharadwaj
chetak wrote: 07 Aug 2025 12:20
Bharadwaj wrote: 07 Aug 2025 11:14 Indigo does not have a single Boeing on order so that's wrong. Before going scorched earth, we first need to let Trump JR know he is about to permanently lose access to one of the largest real estate markets. He is buddies with many of our MPs so getting the message across will be easy. I suspect it is Lindsey Graham and Stephen Miller who are behind the present troubles.

what buddies, Bharadwaj ji.

or did you not notice how he has treated Modi ji recently.

when he says "amrika first", what he actually means is "trumpwa first, always and every time"
Sir I said JR as in DON JR who has money invested in our market.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 12:38
by chetak
Bharadwaj wrote: 07 Aug 2025 12:23 ^^^^^^^^^^
We invested peanuts and expected a tejas powering jet engine in return. That boat has sailed now based on what the def sec said last month. I suspect we will need an engine for Both the mk1a and mk2. The rd93 can be turned into something acceptable if the Russians infuse material technology from the rostec 177s. This will give the wing time that IAF wants. The easy solution is the m88 but will the French stick with us if Orange baboon goes full postal on us?

Bharadwaj ji,

The various GoI (both congi and non congi) limited their investments to peanuts because they had lost faith and did not trust the people who promised them the earth

It's also why the GoI and the entrenched ecosystem is so very focussed on "getting phoren technology"

One would refer you to the older posts where this subject has been discussed ad nauseam

ISRO, BARC, various missile programs, et al have delivered, and the outcome has been geopolitically shattering, causing the world to sit up and take notice.

why not this engine group

This is not an invitation to post further.

One suspects that our birds of prey will soon be making a visit here and one has no desire to be caught in the crossfire.

I, for one, am done replying.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 13:07
by Bharadwaj
Tharoor (whose view I respect despite the past) is calling for counter tariffs and he could be right. Orange baboon is feral and any weakness will be preyed upon. Time for GOI to make life difficult for those yankee businesses that are invested in India(coke, Pepsi etc) so that the message gets past the present coitree and into orange's head. Modiji and BJP are not the types to forget a slight to our Nation easily. The U.S will regret this for decades.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 14:05
by putnanja
Couple of articles on how this illogical trade tariff can impact Indo-US relation negatively...

'A slow-motion catastrophe': Trump is setting fire to decades of US-India diplomacy

India-US spat over trade and oil threatens wider fallout

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 15:53
by williams
Bharadwaj wrote: 07 Aug 2025 13:07 Tharoor (whose view I respect despite the past) is calling for counter tariffs and he could be right. Orange baboon is feral and any weakness will be preyed upon. Time for GOI to make life difficult for those yankee businesses that are invested in India(coke, Pepsi etc) so that the message gets past the present coitree and into orange's head. Modiji and BJP are not the types to forget a slight to our Nation easily. The U.S will regret this for decades.
Reciprocal tariffs will hurt our own economy. Trump is just an elected executive of a debt ridden declining country with a limited term. Importers will find ways to find the imported item bypassing tariffs and exporters will find alternative markets. We should use this as an excuse to reform our economy even further. Diversify our exports and reduce dependence on US market and technology.

We should let Trump make a fool of himself and destroy his reputation. We should simply target his/his minions personal business and not target America. Hit him where is hurts the most. Keep sending principled statements and not respond to his tantrums. Over time, things will fall in place. Whatever we do, do it with cool headedness and not give in to emotions. Like Trudeau, this guy will fade away in time. India has leverage that will stun him very easily, but we need to do it slowly over time.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 17:34
by Deans
A_Gupta wrote: 06 Aug 2025 23:48
Take the case of MKC - Montana Knife Company. MKC’s proprietor thought that since his product is made in the US he is immune from tariffs. But the furnace he uses to melt the steel for his knives comes from abroad and has been hit by tariffs. The cost of his equipment has gone up to $600K from $500K to because it is imported. To help this manufacturer you want to tariff finished products, not the upstream items.

That easily generalizes. To help a manufacture, don’t tariff the upstream inputs.

A careful re-industrialization policy would identify the critical items to be manufactured in country and then identify points in the supply chain which should or should not be tariffed or should or should not get government incentives or concessions.

It is likely very complicated, but that is where data, computing power, and AI can help.
Right. One of the tenets of a tariff policy is that raw and intermediate goods are tariffed at lower levels than the finished product. Trump has not applied his mind to this. The US wants to make cars ? Not when the steel and auto parts are tariffed are tariffed at 50% Want to revive shipbuilding ? Not when your biggest raw material - steel, has a 50% tariff.
I phones ? The total number of tooling engineers in the US (according to Tim Cook) will fit into a room.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 17:38
by Prem Kumar
Bharadwaj wrote: 07 Aug 2025 10:25 https://x.com/IndianTechGuide/status/19 ... 7056263339

Modiji saying that the interests of our farmers and dairy producers are foremost. He says he know he has to pay a heavy price personally for this but he is ready to do so. I think our relationship with the US is headed for complete collapse. My main worry is - TEJAS TEJAS and TEJAS. Find a bloody alternate engine immediately.
The bolded part is what worries me. Modi is not given to sensationalism or loose remarks. Is he referring to "regime change" operations or other evil intent? If so, he needs to take the nation into confidence

Indians, in general, don't like to be bullied. And after the 1971 & arming of Pakistan, its only over the last decade or two that Indians have begun to warm upto America. Trump has decided to piss in that pool

So, if Modi shares his concerns with the aam-aadmi of India, the entire nation will be with him. His approval rating & sheer amount of respect he commands, is unrivaled. He should use it, if anything sinister is afoot

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 17:48
by Rudradev
Modi has invested personally in building relationships around the world for the sake of realizing India's economic potential. His schedule of visits to foreign capitals and summits has been tireless.

Trump has ensured that a good part of that effort, especially as regards Modi's projections for India's economic growth, will be set back by years together. I think that's what Modi sees as the heavy personal price.

Regime change operations (and worse) have been par for the course since long before all this.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 18:05
by A_Gupta
FYI:
“ Trump’s trade advisor, Peter Navarro, has also alleged that India uses the dollars from trade with America to pay for Russian oil, however most of India’s oil trade with Russia is settled in dirhams, the currency of the United Arab Emirates (UAE), refiners have told CNBC-TV18.”
https://www.cnbc.com/2025/08/07/india-i ... ybook.html
India has been a lot more willing than Brazil and China to find a middle ground with the U.S.

The government has already reduced duties on imports of U.S. motorcycles, bourbon, ethernet switches, synthetic flavoring essences and fish hydrolysate, to name a few. It has also allowed Tesla
to set up shop in Mumbai and withdrew the equalization levy on internet giants, widely known as the Google tax.

India has also increased its oil purchases from the U.S. by 120% in the last six months, source in the Indian government told CNBC-TV18, which was one of Trump’s primary demands when Modi visited the White House in February 2025.

However, since then, Trump has moved the goalposts from just reducing the U.S.′ trade deficit with India to the South Asian country’s relationship with Russia.
My POV, Trump could next demand, derecognize Palestine. (“ Donald Trump has threatened Canada after it moved to recognise a Palestinian state, reacting to Mark Carney’s announcement by saying that signing a US trade deal would now be “very hard”.)

Trump will keep moving the goalposts. India should just stand firm.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 18:10
by Deans
I think there are several retaliatory steps we can take.

1. There was a proposed digital tax of 6% announced in Mar and then kept in abeyance. This should be done immediately - make it 10%
It will mean google, Amazon, FB etc having to pay up. Most of the world is now in favour of this tax.
2. Impose a 10% tax on all remittances or spends in the US (credit cards, forex, bank transfers). That will reduce tourism and students who have
a choice of other countries.
3. Tax on Mastercard and Visa (2% of transactions, except for US where it will be 10%). That will encourage a faster shift to UPI and Rupay.
4. Tax of 25% on aircraft and oil products. That automatically means Boeing sales will stop. Let the industry look at Embrarer or even the
Chinese C-919. The EU is playing dirty with certifying the C-919. I think they will do what it takes to get into the Indian market. Embrarer is
also a good choice - I briefly evaluated their aircraft for an Indian airline. It also means US oil is too expensive to import, so we buy more from
Russia without saying so.
5. Reciprocal tariffs on US imports where there are alternate suppliers.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 18:13
by Rudradev
williams wrote: 07 Aug 2025 15:53
We should let Trump make a fool of himself and destroy his reputation. We should simply target his/his minions personal business and not target America. Hit him where is hurts the most.
Speaking of this— there are 6 new Trump Tower projects coming up in Mumbai, Pune, Noida, Hyderabad, Bengaluru & (I think) Gurgaon. Once they are complete, India will have more Trump Towers than any other country, including the US.

Perhaps our Babus and Milauds can show some willingness to work in the nation's interest for once and do what they do best... bring all these projects to a grinding halt. Some PILs and aandolan protests could help kickstart the process and draw publicity.

It's actually fine to draw Trump into a high-profile mud-wrestling match. It should not be India's PMO that does it (he doesn't have the aukaat) but street level goons and noisemakers slanging him on India's behalf.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 18:17
by chetak
Bharadwaj wrote: 07 Aug 2025 13:07 Tharoor (whose view I respect despite the past) is calling for counter tariffs and he could be right. Orange baboon is feral and any weakness will be preyed upon. Time for GOI to make life difficult for those yankee businesses that are invested in India(coke, Pepsi etc) so that the message gets past the present coitree and into orange's head. Modiji and BJP are not the types to forget a slight to our Nation easily. The U.S will regret this for decades.
Reciprocal tariffs will hurt our own economy. Trump is just an elected executive of a debt ridden declining country with a limited term. Importers will find ways to find the imported item bypassing tariffs and exporters will find alternative markets. We should use this as an excuse to reform our economy even further. Diversify our exports and reduce dependence on US market and technology.

We should let Trump make a fool of himself and destroy his reputation. We should simply target his/his minions personal business and not target America. Hit him where is hurts the most. Keep sending principled statements and not respond to his tantrums. Over time, things will fall in place. Whatever we do, do it with cool headedness and not give in to emotions. Like Trudeau, this guy will fade away in time. India has leverage that will stun him very easily, but we need to do it slowly over time.

williams ji,

you called it right.

one would have thought that someone like tharoor would have some more sense, but somewhere along the way, someone seems to have put a leash around his neck. When you spend that much time in the UN and also have a roving eye,............... there is no need to paint a picture, no. ............. :mrgreen:

There is a time to retaliate and there is a time to shelter and watch the storm rage and this is not one of those times for retaliation. The blowback will push India back by at least a decade, and may end up in a regime change which is their main objective. The results of the 2024 elections bear witness to the fact that the deep state was and continues to be very active in India and is being fronted by the mafioso.

Modi ji's stand shows strength and resilience, without pissing away the interests of our population. The time to retaliate will come and Modi ji will know the moment and the methodology to use

amrika has been ravaged by the deep state since the cigar smoking clinton administration, followed by obummer, and then by the shadowy gang that ran the biden presidency. The amriki people fought back and trump somehow surfaced, but had his second term stolen from him by the deep state using billionaires, while leveraging their tech and media muscle

However, trumpwa's second term is now fatally compromised by the behind the scene advisors and cheerleaders embedded by the deep state but the clown is too pig headed to admit it or even see the writing on the wall.

So what he is doing is running an extortion racket on an international scale and like robert herrick said, he is gathering his rosebuds while he may, by filling family coffers

If Modi ji had put in 15 -20 billion$ into the crypto racket, would India have been targeted in such a vicious manner

I would venture a guess and say yes.

The goras simply cannot afford to allow a resource rich country like India to rise without their puppet in place. They need a "leader" who can be controlled, like that harrow educated twat was, and they saw the superb job that raincoat did for the goras during his ten forgettable years in power, with a proverbial foreign hand on the tiller of the state.

The global order is slowly changing and the sun is firmly setting on another gora empire

an order for around 6-8 P8 I ASW maritime reconnaissance aircraft for the IN may have been put on hold and the f-35 has been rejected. Indian attitudes are also hardening and the signals being sent are unmistakable.

we can forget about the jet engines from the goras because that will be big content of the very first blowback

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 18:21
by chetak
Rudradev wrote: 07 Aug 2025 18:13
We should let Trump make a fool of himself and destroy his reputation. We should simply target his/his minions personal business and not target America. Hit him where is hurts the most.
Speaking of this— there are 6 new Trump Tower projects coming up in Mumbai, Pune, Noida, Hyderabad, Bengaluru & (I think) Gurgaon. Once they are complete, India will have more Trump Towers than any other country, including the US.

Perhaps our Babus and Milauds can show some willingness to work in the nation's interest for once and do what they do best... bring all these projects to a grinding halt. Some PILs and aandolan protests could help kickstart the process and draw publicity.

It's actually fine to draw Trump into a high-profile mud-wrestling match. It should not be India's PMO that does it (he doesn't have the aukaat) but street level goons and noisemakers slanging him on India's behalf.

Rudradev ji,

trump is the amriki vadra.

same greed, tactics and methodology

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 19:36
by Deans
Chetakji, You put it very well. I think Trump will do more to destroy US power (relative to other powers) in one term, than any other President.

A big part of me wants retaliation and that was the basis of my previous post. However, we can do that with a predictable opponent. Trump is both deranged and unpredictable and there do not seem to be checks and balances to rein him in.

My sense is if China or Russia escalate against the US - and the chances of that grow higher each day, we will be best served by staying on the sidelines, while at the same time taking steps to secure our self interest - weather oil, or Aatmanirbhar, or not giving the US special favors.
I think the optics of Putin visiting India and Modiji going to China are big and will not be lost on those people in the US that do understand diplomacy.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 19:53
by Tanaji
In the meanwhile Trump has called the Intel CEO to resign

https://www.reuters.com/world/china/tru ... 025-08-07/

Clearly the chip foundries are not getting set up fast enough in Detroit.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 19:56
by A_Gupta
Just to point out that India misread its relationship with Trump’s America:
The government has already reduced duties on imports of U.S. motorcycles, bourbon, ethernet switches, synthetic flavoring essences and fish hydrolysate, to name a few. It has also allowed Tesla
to set up shop in Mumbai and withdrew the equalization levy on internet giants, widely known as the Google tax.

India has also increased its oil purchases from the U.S. by 120% in the last six months, source in the Indian government told CNBC-TV18, which was one of Trump’s primary demands when Modi visited the White House in February 2025.
This is what you do in a normal relationship. Partner country has concerns, you do what you can to help with that. With Trump the way he is, none of these above should have been done without a trade deal.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 20:06
by hanumadu
I wouldn't want to live in a Trump tower. I hope other Indians feel the same way.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 20:07
by Bharadwaj

I will repeat what I have been braying on for the last couple of days. Donald jr needs to be advised by his friends in our political establishment. Thats all it may take to end this sh** show.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 20:12
by Prem Kumar
chetak wrote: 07 Aug 2025 18:17 The goras simply cannot afford to allow a resource rich country like India to rise without their puppet in place. They need a "leader" who can be controlled, like that harrow educated twat was, and they saw the superb job that raincoat did for the goras during his ten forgettable years in power, with a proverbial foreign hand on the tiller of the state.
And this is why Modi shouldn't have squandered 10+ years, Prithviraj-style. Mafiosi family should have been paupered, put behind bars and Congress damaged so badly that there shouldn't be an alternative to BJP

Yet, here we are

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 20:32
by Jay
chetak wrote: 07 Aug 2025 18:17 amrika has been ravaged by the deep state since the cigar smoking clinton administration, followed by obummer, and then by the shadowy gang that ran the biden presidency. The amriki people fought back and trump somehow surfaced, but had his second term stolen from him by the deep state using billionaires, while leveraging their tech and media muscle
Everything happening is the opposite of this narrative. It's just the pedo-prez trump and all his supporters/voters who are enabling this behavior and nothing more. The more people try to white-wash it, the more ridiculous this "deep state" conspiracy theory looks.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 20:37
by A_Gupta
Trump’s business friends in India?
https://www.citizensforethics.org/repor ... -politics/

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 20:41
by Rudradev
A_Gupta wrote: 07 Aug 2025 19:56 Just to point out that India misread its relationship with Trump’s America:

This is what you do in a normal relationship. Partner country has concerns, you do what you can to help with that. With Trump the way he is, none of these above should have been done without a trade deal.
I don't know that it's necessarily a mis-step. India took measures over the past six months that affected the bottom line of several US businesses positively (and a six-month window allows time for management to register the positive effects). Now those businesses have something to lose, even if India simply walks back those measures, let alone engaging in any further retaliation. An incentive has been demonstrated for them to do whatever they can to pressure Trump.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 20:42
by VKumar

Good one.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 20:44
by Tanaji
Deep state or not is irrelevant. The fact is that for the longest time we have been told that the worlds oldest democracy is a paragon of checks and balances and a model of how government should work.

This has been proved to be a lie with one person and a convicted rap.st criminal at that, riding roughshod over everything. And as you said, both parties stand by and do nothing. Americans are to blame, not some mythical shadowy deep state. DS didn’t deliver the mandate , Americans did.

Any other country and people would have been rioting in the streets long ago.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 21:01
by A_Gupta
Jay wrote: 07 Aug 2025 20:32 Everything happening is the opposite of this narrative. It's just the pedo-prez trump and all his supporters/voters who are enabling this behavior and nothing more. The more people try to white-wash it, the more ridiculous this "deep state" conspiracy theory looks.
The original American Deep Stare Conspiracy theory involves the CIA, the FBI and shadowy oligarchs.

In desi hands it has morphed into an alibi for anything that Trump does that is bad for India; and expanded to include even the official past administrations.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 21:40
by hanumadu
Trump's 25% tariffs wen't into effect yesterday. It seems that US companies could place orders till yesterday and recieve shipments till September. So this drama will continue at least till September when the real impact will be felt.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 21:58
by Rudradev
Anand Ranganathan: negotiate with Russia to discount oil sales to the same levels as they offered in 2022-23 (about 24%). India has proved its loyal friendship by standing up for them under pressure.

This level of discount will by itself more than make up for any projected losses from the expected US tariffs.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 22:12
by KL Dubey
Good article summarizing the situation:

https://www.cnbc.com/2025/08/07/india-i ... ybook.html

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 22:16
by Amber G.
I know there are a lot of Trump fans here, but thought this 'Trump vs. Reality' list was worth sharing. Nothing really new for those of us who’ve long seen Trump as a bully and serial exaggerator — but maybe, just maybe, a few more people will start paying attention now..

Trump vs. Reality: India Edition

Trump's been throwing shade at India – but a lot of what he’s saying just isn’t true. Let’s break it down, one claim at a time:

Claim 1: “India stopped buying Russian oil”
What Trump said: “India’s not buying Russian oil anymore – or so I heard.”

Reality check: Nope. India is still buying Russian crude. Business as usual.

Claim 2: “India is the Tariff King”
Trump’s take: India’s abusing global trade rules with sky-high tariffs.

Reality: India's average tariff? 16%. That’s similar to Turkey and Argentina. The weighted average? Just 4.6%. Not royalty material.

Claim 3: “India is a dead economy”
Trump’s claim: The US barely does business with India.

The truth: India’s been the US’s top trading partner four years running. Trade hit $131.84 billion in FY 2024-25. Exports to the US are up 11.6%. Target: $500 billion by 2030.

Claim 4: “I brokered peace between India and Pakistan”
Trump’s story: He stopped a nuclear war between India and Pakistan.

Fact check: Total fiction. No proof, no acknowledgment from India. Jaishankar made it clear – no such talks, no such help.

Claim 5: “Kashmir has seen 1,500 years of war”
Trump’s version: 1,500+ years of Kashmir conflict.

History says: The conflict began in 1947. Before that, Kashmir was a princely state under British rule. The 1,000-year war? Just made up.

Claim 6: “Modi asked me to mediate in Kashmir”

Trump’s statement: PM Modi wanted him to step in.

India’s response: Absolutely not. India’s stance has always been that Kashmir is a bilateral issue – no third-party involvement.

Claim 7: “India got a sweeter Paris climate deal”
Trump’s excuse: India got a better deal, so the US pulled out.

Reality: India met its Paris goals early. First G20 nation to do it. No “sweet deal” – just serious climate action.

Claim 8: “India is stealing American jobs”
Trump’s warning: India’s taking US jobs – “not anymore, folks!”

Fact check: Indian firms have created over 425,000 jobs in the US. Invested $40 billion. Indian students added $7.7 billion to the US economy. Oh, and Indians run Google, Microsoft, IBM, Adobe...

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 22:20
by williams
hanumadu wrote: 07 Aug 2025 21:40 Trump's 25% tariffs wen't into effect yesterday. It seems that US companies could place orders till yesterday and recieve shipments till September. So this drama will continue at least till September when the real impact will be felt.
We can simply subsidize those industries that is affected by this tariff and funding it with the US treasury bonds we own. In future buy other assets and suck the monetary strength/purchasing power out of the American system. We can work out a deal with thawing China to do the same. We have to show size matters in this kind of fight.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 22:23
by drnayar
https://www.wionews.com/world/-can-t-be ... 4574568204

Amid the chaos around the US tariff imposed on India, China has expressed its support for its neighbouring country saying that India's sovereignty is non-negotiable and its foreign policy choices cannot be manipulated by other countries.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 22:24
by KL Dubey
That is true. Indigo has placed all its orders with Airbus to date...they have only a few leased Boeing long-haul aircraft.

However, Air India does have 200+ Boeings on order. Given the huge backlog of Airbus (I think 500+) on the Indigo order, I very much doubt Air India will move the contract to Airbus and expect to receive aircraft in a timely manner.

Posted: 07 Aug 2025 22:31
by KL Dubey
williams wrote: 07 Aug 2025 22:20
hanumadu wrote: 07 Aug 2025 21:40 Trump's 25% tariffs wen't into effect yesterday. It seems that US companies could place orders till yesterday and recieve shipments till September. So this drama will continue at least till September when the real impact will be felt.
We can simply subsidize those industries that is affected by this tariff and funding it with the US treasury bonds we own. In future buy other assets and suck the monetary strength/purchasing power out of the American system. We can work out a deal with thawing China to do the same. We have to show size matters in this kind of fight.
Yes. That $700 bn forex reserve can easily come in handy here. According to the CNBC article I posted, the "worst case" analysis would cost the economy about $25 bn, which isn't that much. Purchasing power of most american consumers is declining every year. This reality is masked by GDP per capita numbers, but the high GINI coefficients tell another story.