rshinde wrote:"America aur Modi Mile hue hai" - Arvind Kejriwal

I have a suggestion for Modi - he needs to put a policy in place to acquire all the AAP unused brooms.
When he starts his cleanup campaign the brooms will come in handy!

rshinde wrote:"America aur Modi Mile hue hai" - Arvind Kejriwal
Not that it matters but these folks wanted a little something to balance his tremendous reception by the Indian-Amercian Community and a good reception by the GOTUS. ACA organized court filing/protest proved to be non-events. After the SIT/SC clean chit these folks, both in India and US, hung on to the visa denial as the ultimate proof. I have seen Congress politicos on TV harp on the visa denial as proof of Modi's culpability. I too was not happy with the program when it was initially announced considering it as a waste of time.But their talks yielded no resolutions to thorny disputes over taxes, trade and civilian nuclear energy cooperation that have divided the United States and India in recent years. And there was little sign that human rights - a particularly sensitive topic for Modi, who has been accused of being complicit in deadly anti-Muslim riots - was a major item on the agenda.
"Human rights and the importance of inclusive governance were part of the discussions between the president and the prime minister today," Josh Earnest, the White House press secretary told reporters. But a statement issued jointly by the U.S. and India after the talks made no mention of the issue.
Still, in a striking gesture that Modi later said gave their relationship a "new dimension," the president left the White House on Tuesday to give the prime minister a personal tour of the King Memorial, recalling Obama's own visit in 2010 to the onetime home in Mumbai of Mohandas K. Gandhi, the Indian champion of democracy and nonviolence who was a model for the U.S. civil rights leader.
At a luncheon at the State Department not long after, Modi was effusive in thanking Obama "from the core of my heart" for leading him around the memorial. "He took out a lot of time," Modi said. "We were together yesterday and today for quite some time, and today in fact he took me around, and with such ease and such humility."
But human rights activists had pressed the Obama administration to get the president to raise the issue with Modi while he was in Washington.
If he did, it was in private.
"The purpose of these meetings was to improve U.S.-India relations, so we weren't expecting Obama to give him the cold shoulder, but we were hoping there would be a little bit of measure in the red-carpet treatment, so we were surprised by the Martin Luther King side visit," said John Sifton, the Asia advocacy director for Human Rights Watch. "Delivering a message about human rights is always awkward."
The tone of the entire report is negative .. but when the POTUS dashed all hope of these bunch of crooks, this reporter had to take one last swipe at Modi ji by comparing the dinner arrangement. The truth of course was acknowledged by Sec. Kerry in his remarks at the SD Luncheon.The 20-person dinner was a stark contrast to the lavish affair Obama threw for Modi's predecessor, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, in November 2009, when more than 300 guests dined on arugula salad, curried prawns and pumpkin pie tart at an event whose bill came to more than $570,000.
Not that the Madison event was devoid of power play. As Rajiv Malhotra had remarked to me last week, the 18,000 attendees in Manhattan were all extras in a script. The play was for the projection of Modi’s soft power in advance of his meetings with the American President and power brokers. The message was certainly not lost on the 30+ American members of Congress in attendance. It was a brilliant way for Modi to pack the deck before his meetings. Indian Americans, the richest ethnic group in the United States, are slowly starting to punch in their weight class, and becoming an important political constituency. The public demonstration of their love for India and support for Modi was a good reminder to the American politicians present there what side Indian Americans would expect them to take.
It was also a sight for any politician worth their salt to envy. The subtext was, if Modi could evoke this reaction in Manhattan, what kind of support did he enjoy in India? As a fresh-faced Columbia journalism major who I met in the Press area remarked to me “Wow! I can’t imagine such enthusiasm here for any politician, certainly not for Obama.”
This is not to say that Modi’s engagement with the audience was not genuine. He is clearly appreciative of the diaspora’s contributions to India’s past and present, and the potential for the future. The Indian diaspora’s relationship with India is symbiotic. Despite the abundance of cynical naysayers, Pravasi Bharatiya ties with India are natural. The WSJ, in its fairly balanced coverage, reported Indian Americans as saying that the image of India affected how they were perceived and vice versa. An India that is developed, clean and successful is a positive asset for more than sentimental reasons for the diaspora.
A small number of protestors appeared at the Modi event, though I encountered far more pro-Modi signs outside the venue. Yet the Washington Post devoted nearly half its coverage of the Madison Square Event to these insignificant protestors. Let us be 100 per cent clear. Just as the Madison Event was a projection of India’s soft power, the protestors are deployed with the sole aim to diminish it. They are part of the great game. Pictures of a group of Sikh protestors holding signs saying “1984 Sikh Genocide” along with “arrest Modi” demonstrate that they are unencumbered by facts. ISI systematically funded Khalistani groups over a period of time while the Indian government lay asleep.
Not that all protestors need to be ISI funded. There are plenty that are ideologically opposed to Modi and would work for the ISI cause for free. Crown Prince-in-waiting, Rahul Gandhi had even told the US Ambassador to India after the Mumbai attacks that Modi was a bigger threat than the LeT.
Syed Akbaruddin @MEAIndia 11h11 hours ago
Urge you to come & invest in India before the que gets too long -PM @narendramodi to US business
Actually, a lot of Iraqis and Syrians don't hate India. Both countries, curiously enough, retain memories of their pre-Islamic civilizations. In my opinion, India should encourage that tendency. It's very useful. But I do agree with you that the priority for India should be on developing India.[/quote]chetak wrote:
We don't need their goodwill. They hate us anyway for obvious reasons. why should we care about their medical condition or any other condition. Stay home, guard your borders and get down to nation building and securing prosperity.
Modi ji: Hum Tibet mein parmanu visfot karnewale hei.....ghabraey nahi,apko pahle tarikh bta dengegandharva wrote:
This is ultimate tweet. It is like telling Yankees "look brothers, there is already huge queue as I visited others before coming here. Be equal with them and join the queue or be lost forever"Syed Akbaruddin @MEAIndia 11h11 hours ago
Urge you to come & invest in India before the que gets too long -PM @narendramodi to US business
They should be ticketed.rsingh wrote:Modi ji: Hum Tibet mein parmanu visfot karnewale hei.....ghabraey nahi,apko pahle tarikh bta dengegandharva wrote:
Obama: Holy Cow......
Modi Ji : Theek hei it will be operation "Holy Cow".
Poor driver gets the ticket?Everyone riding in a vehicle must wear a seat belt or be contained by an appropriate safety system.
A law enforcement officer may pull a vehicle over solely because someone inside the vehicle isn't wearing a seat belt. If you're driving a vehicle, you're responsible for ensuring that all passengers are wearing a seat belt. If they're not, you could be hit with a $50 fine and have 2 points applied to your license.
Didn't some australian cop ticket their prime minister for the same offence??saip wrote:They should be ticketed.rsingh wrote:{quote="gandharva"}{/quote}
Modi ji: Hum Tibet mein parmanu visfot karnewale hei.....ghabraey nahi,apko pahle tarikh bta denge
Obama: Holy Cow......
Modi Ji : Theek hei it will be operation "Holy Cow".
Washington DC seat belt law.Poor driver gets the ticket?Everyone riding in a vehicle must wear a seat belt or be contained by an appropriate safety system.
A law enforcement officer may pull a vehicle over solely because someone inside the vehicle isn't wearing a seat belt. If you're driving a vehicle, you're responsible for ensuring that all passengers are wearing a seat belt. If they're not, you could be hit with a $50 fine and have 2 points applied to your license.
Well said Philip ji. It is because of such posts from you that I am never angry at you for very long, even though you give me enough reason to be angry with you.Philip wrote on page 29:
The only place that Indian troops should venture out is in defence of our borders in the neighbouring states .Further afield only as UN peacekeepers.We sent millions of Indians to fight the white man's wars in both WW! and WW2 and also to Africa to fight the natives in the colonies.My old school had a few of its students even fighting the Masai in Kenya with MGs while they attacked with spears and were mowed down like vermin. Indians did the dirty work for the white man in the past,NEVER again!
If the US were truly interested in Syria being "united" they wouldn't have been funding and arming Sunni Islamists there since 2012. Nor would the US have happily allowed the Gulf states to create ISIS and unleash them on Iraq.TSJones wrote:The US has made it quite clear that foreign military is no solution to ISIL. The US believes only a united Iraqi front can defeat them. not Shia front, not Kurdish front, but a UNITED front. How many times do we have to say it? The US does not want a large contingent of foreign troops in Iraq. How plain can we be about this? We would indeed like some moral support in our endeavor in Iraq and Syria. But nobody is expecting or demanding a large presence of foreign troops. How would you guys like if I just droned on and on about US troops in Kashmir? As if the US has any intention of ever do so?
How do you know it was motorma in front, hain ji?UlanBatori wrote:POTUS-types don't wear seat-belts: they are "contained" by the mass of the Secret Sarbhij sitting in front, and the camera-mohterma showing her "courage" sitting in front.
U HAD to pooch, didn't u?Raja Bose wrote:How do you know it was motorma in front, hain ji?UlanBatori wrote:POTUS-types don't wear seat-belts: they are "contained" by the mass of the Secret Sarbhij sitting in front, and the camera-mohterma showing her "courage" sitting in front.
more confirmation of the state department (and hilary) hostility.Present for both these events was Aaron Schock, a 33-year-old Republican House of Representatives member from Illinois, arguably the best friend Modi has in the U.S. government. Schock helped arrange the appearance in Central Park, where he introduced Modi to the crowd. House and Senate members showed up for the Madison Square Garden speech—outside their own districts, in late September of an election year—in part due to Schock’s determined whipping. According to Schock, that afternoon Steny Hoyer, a senior House Democrat from Maryland, put his arm around Schock to introduce him to Modi. “Oh, I know Aaron,” said Modi. It’s a relationship that’s been good for both.
Powell was not the first member of the U.S. government to meet with Modi. That was Schock in 2013, when he visited India with a group of Republican members of Congress. “I don’t understand the justification for his treatment,” says Schock, “given the way we treat leaders around the world who have been proven, beyond a shadow of doubt, to suppress religious freedom, to have incited violence against ethnic minorities.” Before the trip, Schock says he consulted with the State Department, which advised him not to visit Modi. He also consulted with Condoleezza Rice, who had no objections.
“We landed in Ahmedebad,” says Schock. “There are 20 television cameras, an Indian press pool like I’ve never seen.” The visit was a big deal. To a domestic audience, the Americans—some Americans—had come around. After meeting with Modi, Schock briefed Powell, the U.S. ambassador, at her residence in Delhi. Once home, he successfully lobbied Speaker of the House John Boehner (R-Ohio) to invite Modi to address Congress. He asked for a classified briefing on the evidence against Modi, coming away unimpressed, he says. And he returned to India to visit Modi again, in part to broker the appearance at the Global Citizen Festival, an intervention reported in India’s press.
And in the future, it can’t hurt for a young congressman to have the ear of an old prime minister. “When I met with Modi a year ago, I said: ‘When you become prime minister, you’re going to have a lot of friends,’” says Schock. “He said, ‘I may be old, but I have a good memory.’”
India-US working group on intellectual propertyIndia took a leap forward to meet US demands on climate change with Prime Minister Narendra Modi's and US President Barack Obama's joint statement.
The government took the final decision to partially accept US demands on the phase-out of global warming refrigerant gases in India, a step India had refused to take so far and the ministries concerned had advised against.
On the eve of Modi's visit to Washington, US negotiators had pushed the Indian government hard, indicating that the entire package of agreements on the power sector hinged upon India also agreeing to the US' specific demands on climate change. The US had demanded that India agrees to kick-start talks that would lead to the ban of a family of refrigerant gases, called HFCs, which are short-lived but have a strong impact on the atmosphere in the period they last.
India had so far held back from doing so before 2015 for several reasons. The alternatives to HFCs, required for some sectors of the economy, are the proprietary technology of select US-based companies and entail high costs. Then some of the technologies are yet not tested for safety. Third, the US wanted to phase out the greenhouse gases under the Montreal Protocol instead of the UN convention on climate change, where higher costs of transition could be availed. Additionally, it would set a precedent of letting climate change decisions being taken outside the UN climate convention, which India has long objected to.
The US was keen that India agrees right away to kick-starting decisions to deal with the refrigerant gases under the Montreal Protocol, which in diplomatic jargon is referred to as setting up a "contact group" on the issue.
The government officials involved in the negotiations had suggested against such a move at present. "Strategically it made sense to negotiate this as part of the entire package under the UN climate convention for the 2015 global deal," a senior official explained. "But it was decided at the highest levels to do so otherwise, I guess," he added.
Another source told Business Standard the high pressure from the US ensured that the issue was resolved at the highest level in the government, with the Cabinet only approving the agreement between the two countries "in principle", leaving the final call to the prime minister's office.
The final statement that emerged from the meeting of the two heads of government at Washington said the two countries, "recognised the need to use the institutions and expertise of the Montreal Protocol to reduce consumption and production of HFCs, while continuing to report and account for the quantities reduced under the UNFCCC (United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change)."
It added, "They (India and US) pledged to urgently arrange a meeting of their bilateral task force on HFCs prior to the next meeting of the Montreal Protocol to discuss issues such as safety, cost, and commercial access to new or alternative technologies to replace HFCs."
This language did not have India committing all the way to set up a 'contact group', as the US desired, but it did break India away from its existing redlines to move a step closer towards eventual agreement.
"The critical final step could be taken by India nearer to the Montreal Protocol meeting in November. The government would be required to change its existing non-negotiable redlines to accept that the issue can be dealt with outside the UN climate convention," one of the two senior officials Business Standard spoke to explained. The bilateral task force on the refrigerant gases will meet before this November meeting now, as decided by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and President Barack Obama.
The decision of India and the US to establish a high-level working group on intellectual property will allow America to put "pressure" on India to expand liberal grants of drug patents in the country, independent American health care experts have warned.
"This working group will give the US a dedicated forum to continue to pressure India to adopt TRIPS-plus IP measures, including repeal of section 3(d) of the India Patents Act, adoption of data exclusivity/monopolies, patent term extensions, and restrictions on the use of compulsory licenses," Professor Brook K Baker from the Northeastern University School of Law, said.
Agreeing on the need to foster innovation in a manner that promotes economic growth and job creation, President Barack Obama and Prime Minister Narendra Modi in a joint statement issued on Tuesday committed to establish an annual high-level Intellectual Property (IP) Working Group with appropriate decision-making and technical-level meetings as part of the Trade Policy Forum.
Baker argued that there will be efforts to strengthen enforcement measures and investor rights including investor/ state dispute resolution.
"The US, in particular, will work to eliminate local working requirements that India is seeking to use to promote its own technological development," he said.
"The fact that this working group will have "decision-making" powers which is particularly problematic as it places the US fox in the Indian chicken coop," he said.
According to a fact sheet issued by the White House after Modi-Obama meeting, as part of an ongoing commitment to strengthen engagement, both governments also agreed to establish a high-level working group on intellectual property under the TPF that will meet at the senior official and expert level to discuss the range of intellectual property issues of concern and interest to both sides.
"It is very clearly going to be used to pressure India to expand liberal grants of drug patents in India, and to block or restrain the use of compulsory licenses on drug patents," said Jamie Love, Director, Knowledge Ecology International, an NGO working on knowledge governance.
Baker said the US consistently advances higher intellectual property protections through its trade working groups and trade partnership groups.
"It is significant that this sentence is embedded in the section on economic growth and increasing foreign direct investment, as US IP industries and the USTR promote heightened intellectual property rights and strengthened enforcement mechanisms as being key to investor confidence and ultimately to innovation itself," he said.
Unkils slimy plan of foisting Arvind Subramanian seems to have bombed too. UNKIL WILL ALWAYS REMAIN UNKIL.CRamS wrote:Guys, is this a genuined cooperation agreement or it part of Uncle's slimy plan to snoop in on India's space efforts and of course punch the best and brightest with green cards and $s?
May not be exactly about this cooperation, but about 'best and brightest' and $s, GM Tech center in B'lore hired about 30 to 35 of ISRO scientists with Ph.ds about a decade ago. Except $s they didn't get any facilities for research and after 3 years all of them were let go as no patent applications were filed by them. ISRO scientists are good in ISRO only. Some of them are still unemployed.CRamS wrote:Guys, is this a genuined cooperation agreement or it part of Uncle's slimy plan to snoop in on India's space efforts and of course punch the best and brightest with green cards and $s?
Unkil can and is already taking some of the best and brightest without any cooperation, not just in aerospace but in all areas. ISRO is certainly fully aware of any 'risks' I'm sure. And without cooperation from NASA, I'm not sure if deep space tracking would have been possible for both Chandrayaan and Mangalyaan, not to mention our very first rocket tech. In any cooperation between ISRO and NASA there will be cross pollination and give and take. The point is that the most advanced space power wants to join hands with ISRO and that is not a bad thing.CRamS wrote:Guys, is this a genuined cooperation agreement or it part of Uncle's slimy plan to snoop in on India's space efforts and of course punch the best and brightest with green cards and $s?
There is geopolitical reasons for India to participate.Victor wrote: The point is that the most advanced space power wants to join hands with ISRO and that is not a bad thing.
you guys can team with the Chinese all ya want, but kindly don't allow them to copy anything we jointly develop. Those guys will steal you blind if they can. serious beans. Space X won't even patent any of their ideas and processes. Elon Musk says why give the Chinese a play book?svinayak wrote:There is geopolitical reasons for India to participate.Victor wrote: The point is that the most advanced space power wants to join hands with ISRO and that is not a bad thing.
PRC wants to cooperate with ISRO. PRC will change its policy going forward with India with ISRO achieving successfully.
ISRO wil cooperating with all the 3 major powers in the world. This is unique.
That was back in 2013.Agnimitra wrote:J&K
Separatist Basharat Pir made head of NYTimes India blog
Just like Raheel Khurshid with Twitter India...
last month but before that they spewed up much Idiotorial spit and venom.yvijay wrote:And they closed that blog that this year I think.