India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

Ok: Here is what Trump (re)posted a few hours ago:

He is not happy:

He is mad:

KL Dubey wrote: 30 Aug 2025 22:35
gakakkad wrote: 30 Aug 2025 18:11 So basically India refines Russian crude and sells it to the chubs
Not really. Most refineries blend several different crudes before refining. It is a complex process. E.g. for diesel the blended crudes are first desalted, then fractionally distilled with crude diesel being one of the fractions, then goes through at least 1 to 3 catalytic reactions to produce diesel of different specification. There are many other intermediate processes not mentioned here. By the end of the process, it is really not possible to say that we are taking oil from russia to supply diesel to pakraine.
With all due respect, that is all fine. But these techno-legal arguments and terminological exactitude or lack there off childish and ieffective as counter arguments to the realpolitik the US admin is trying to play.

They are simply look at the sources of inputs to Indian refineries and end users of the refined products to make a case that India is using Russian crude in the mix to profiteer from a brutal war in which a large number of civilians are dying.

The same argument can be used to counter the profiteering by pointing out that we can replace Russian crude with another source if it makes economic sense.

Amber G. wrote: 01 Sep 2025 03:44 Ok: Here is what Trump (re)posted a few hours ago:
[img...]https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Gzs0-cbXsAA ... ike]medium[/strike]small[/img]

He is not happy:
[img...]https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Gzs3WyaawAA ... ke]900x900[/strike]small[/img]

He is mad:
[img...]https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GzslnbsbIAA ... ike]medium[/strike]small[/img]
These are looking very big. All three images have 'small' variations. Please be kind to server bandwidth usage. Bandwidth costs money
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

Amber G. wrote: 01 Sep 2025 03:06 - No ‘data’ gap
We don’t need new mushroom clouds for confidence. As you know Hiroshima’s uranium bomb was never even tested
was not because of
— the physics was solid, and leaders knew it.
Here's the truth:
..scientists at Los Alamos continued privately to have doubts that it would work at all. There was only enough weapons-grade uranium available for one bomb, and confidence in the gun-type design was high..
THE TRINITY TEST
Chatgpt etc usually makes such mistakes and it's also easy to miss.

Rest of the argument also assumes a lot of things with respect to "credibility" and "deterrence" such as rational state & non-state actors. You also posted this just now
Amber G. wrote: 01 Sep 2025 03:44 Ok: Here is what Trump (re)posted a few hours ago:
He is not happy:
He is mad:
so I assume you know where I'm going with this
deterrence is credibility + partnerships + economic weight
Europe with all it's credibility+ partnerships+economic weight still ended up calling Trump, daddy :mrgreen: and asking them to deploy a helicopter here or there.

All the niceties and partnerships (& leading in AI, space or precision strikes) worked while Unkill was being nice with their 10 aircraft carriers boating around the world. And I think people (mainly because of Trump) are starting to realize that hard power is all that counts when brown matter hits the fan.

The story that Modi didn't take Trump's calls originated in a German publication, Frankfurter Allgemaine.
https://www.faz.net/aktuell/wirtschaft/ ... 53695.html

m_saini wrote: 01 Sep 2025 04:06 so I assume you know where I'm going with this
deterrence is credibility + partnerships + economic weight
Europe with all it's credibility+ partnerships+economic weight still ended up calling Trump, daddy :mrgreen: and asking them to deploy a helicopter here or there.
@m_saini ji, nice analysis.

But I posit that Europe may or maynot have credibility depending with whom they have that credibility.