Indian Naval Discussion

Willy

Re: Indian Naval Discussion

Post by Willy »

indranilroy wrote:Vishnu,

As far as getting the JFK or any other super carrier goes, from my first post, I have pointed out that we don't have the logistics. And that in itself is one of the primary reasons why we shouldn't get the ship even if we got it free.

Regarding whether we have the capability to man such a ship. Well someday, we have to. The sooner we start preparing for it, the better.

I actually thought from your first post that you were calling this a sinister business plan to some of us fool-hardy Ameri-fans.
And Buy 90 Superhornets for Airwing of the old Lady. The Uncle gets the name of donating a carrier and maintaining the stability in the region.
I find it surprising there is still takers in India for this.
It turns out that you were not. So there is no discord.

I have always said this, and I will always say it. I don't care where it comes from as long as it is useful to us. Whether somebody earns through us or loses through us is non of my concern. I think in matters of national defence, all that matters is what we gain. With this I shall lay my case.

Another rust bucket we do not need!!!!

all the incomplete oscars are probably in sevmash.

* K-139 Belgorod, laid down July 24, 1992, is currently still on the building ways at the SEVMASH Shipyard in Severodvinsk[21]. Its construction was frozen several times due to lack of funds. Finally, on July 20, 2006, Russian Minister of Defense Sergey Ivanov announced, "The Ministry of Defense does not need Belgorod... therefore, it will not finance its further construction."[22] If the submarine is going to be finished, it is not clear who will pay for it. Construction halted at approximately 75%.
* K-135 Volgograd, laid down September 2, 1993; construction stopped January 22, 1998; incomplete[23]
* K-160 Barnaul, laid down April 1994; construction stopped; incomplete[24]

if we are looking for a platform to unleash brahmos in large numbers (24) , these are a proven class of sub. the granit is large than brahmos so a
sub-caliber liner will be used inside the tubes.

The Oscar-2 will be an expensive monster to purchase and operate , we are better of investing that money in buying more IAC.

Austin, Dont know about the costs of operating the Oscar, but if it is available / acquired then it will give an interesting capability to the IN also the cost might be similar to the P 75I as proposed by the MOD.

There are news on second line of submarines under P-75I project around for 50K crores. What is interesting is that 1 sub is going to be built in HSL in Vizag. IMO, the lone sub that is going to be built in Vizag is nuclear one (later on production ramp up can be done by India), probably that is why the price is astonishingly high. My feeling is that only two nations that have production facilities both for conventional and nuclear subs, that is France and Russia.

Since there are strategic relationship between Russia and India, except the contact going to Russia. While the conventional sub will be from Italian-Russo stable.

[quote="kmkraoind"]There are news on second line of submarines under P-75I project around for 50K crores. What is interesting is that 1 sub is going to be built in HSL in Vizag. IMO, the lone sub that is going to be built in Vizag is nuclear one (later on production ramp up can be done by India), probably that is why the price is astonishingly high. My feeling is that only two nations that have production facilities both for conventional and nuclear subs, that is France and Russia.

Since there are strategic relationship between Russia and India, except the contatct going to Russia. While the conventional sub will be from Italian-Russo stable, may be Amur class. While the sub built at Vizag will be SSBN.
SriSri

Re: Indian Navy - News and Discussion

Post by SriSri »

Indian Navy Inducts Three Fast Attack Crafts to Strengthen Coastal Security

The Indian Navy's three fast attack crafts received a warm ceremonial welcome on Kochi port on Monday. These ships will be deployed at base ports in Kochi and Goa.

This move is an effort to strengthen the coastal security and surveillance by Indian Navy post Mumbai attacks in November 2008.

The main role of these crafts is for naval patrolling duties in coastal waters, detecting and destroying fast moving targets, policing anti-smuggling and fisheries protection and also the search and rescue operations.

"This ship with its high speed and high maneuverability and the ability to stay out and see for long durations will defiantly contribute in a very positive way to enhancing the security and the preparedness of the NSG to deal with any kind of threat in this region. Also the ship with its fast response is the ideal platform for the search and rescue operations and we will be able to render any assistance possible to the civil administration whenever the need arises," said Lieutenant Commander Subal Nathan, commanding officer of ship Kalpeni.

The ship named INS Kalpeni would be based in its base port of Kochi, while the other two, INS Cankarso and INS Kondul would be leaving for Goa port in order to enhance security along the coast of Kerala and parts of Karnataka coast.

INS Cankarso, INS Kondul and INS Kalpeni named after three Indian islands of Goa, Nicobar and Lakshadweep, have a displacement of 320 tonnes, each equipped with water jet propulsion for precise steering control.

Each ship will be having four officers and 40 sailors on board and is equipped with state-of-the-art armaments, which can fire up to a range of five kilometers.

http://www.india-defence.com/reports-4541
SriSri

Post by SriSri »

Cross posting from Indian Navy news thread..
Indian Navy Inducts Three Fast Attack Crafts to Strengthen Coastal Security

The Indian Navy's three fast attack crafts received a warm ceremonial welcome on Kochi port on Monday. These ships will be deployed at base ports in Kochi and Goa.

This move is an effort to strengthen the coastal security and surveillance by Indian Navy post Mumbai attacks in November 2008.

The main role of these crafts is for naval patrolling duties in coastal waters, detecting and destroying fast moving targets, policing anti-smuggling and fisheries protection and also the search and rescue operations.

"This ship with its high speed and high maneuverability and the ability to stay out and see for long durations will defiantly contribute in a very positive way to enhancing the security and the preparedness of the NSG to deal with any kind of threat in this region. Also the ship with its fast response is the ideal platform for the search and rescue operations and we will be able to render any assistance possible to the civil administration whenever the need arises," said Lieutenant Commander Subal Nathan, commanding officer of ship Kalpeni.

The ship named INS Kalpeni would be based in its base port of Kochi, while the other two, INS Cankarso and INS Kondul would be leaving for Goa port in order to enhance security along the coast of Kerala and parts of Karnataka coast.

INS Cankarso, INS Kondul and INS Kalpeni named after three Indian islands of Goa, Nicobar and Lakshadweep, have a displacement of 320 tonnes, each equipped with water jet propulsion for precise steering control.

Each ship will be having four officers and 40 sailors on board and is equipped with state-of-the-art armaments, which can fire up to a range of five kilometers.

http://www.india-defence.com/reports-4541
SNaik

Post by SNaik »

Singha wrote:all the incomplete oscars are probably in sevmash.
if we are looking for a platform to unleash brahmos in large numbers (24) , these are a proven class of sub. the granit is large than brahmos so a
sub-caliber liner will be used inside the tubes.
Not probably. They ARE at Sevmash. Unfinished hulls of Barnaul and Volgograd were launched but not scrapped. Belgorod is still on the slip.

Granit is a big beast, around 1.4 m with wings folded. It might be a tight fit, but it may be possible to squeeze 2 Brahmos in one SM-225A launcher.
jai

Post by jai »

if we are looking for a platform to unleash brahmos in large numbers (24) , these are a proven class of sub.
Actually, not just Brahmos, but also perhaps Nirbhay, Sagarika (after some modifications) and any others not declared yet.

These are big boats, but well worth it if we can get them - considering they are already under construction and Russia does not need them. May be we should reduce the planned P 75I numbers and allocate funding for these beasts if we can get them.

India now needs to plan its requirements keeping the dragon in mind and these boats may more than help.
jai

Post by jai »

Wondering what are the implications of such a possible procurement ? Would this be allowed under MTCR ? Could the hulls be moved to India for construction to complete here ?
saurav.jha

Post by saurav.jha »

@singha

Acquiring any one of them will cost a bomb. And the way MoD works we may see the negotiations going on for years .

there would no restrictions on them...if Akula2 is ok, so is its fatter brother the Oscar2.

Pratyush wrote:Austin, Dont know about the costs of operating the Oscar, but if it is available / acquired then it will give an interesting capability to the IN also the cost might be similar to the P 75I as proposed by the MOD. JMT
The Oscar 2 is a cold war era sub and its missile were dependent on Naval Reco Sats for long range engagements , these were designed to harass USN CBG in blue water.

I am not certain if that sub has any relevance in IN doctrine , its an expensive granny with twin reactor , we are probably better off leasing 1 more Akula than Oscar.
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

[quote="SriSri"]Indian Navy Inducts Three Fast Attack Crafts to Strengthen Coastal Security

IMVVVHO these boats should go to CG. Why is the Navy getting into CG's turf ?

Rupesh wrote:IMVVVHO these boats should go to CG. Why is the Navy getting into CG's turf ?
Post 26/11 the coastal security came under the operational control of Navy.
Jamie Boscardin

Post by Jamie Boscardin »

"Force projection beyond territorial borders" (primary role of an AC), but where we will project force and for wt?
The only 2 enemies we have (Pak & China) are our neighbors, so it's going to be land/air based warfare with IA n IAF playing the major role, with IN with a blockade of the sea-lanes.

inputs, plz!

Published on September 20th, 2010
By Cmde (retd) Ranjit B. Rai
India’s Navy is transforming to become a C4ISR nuclear force in the Indian Ocean: Frontier India

A very detailed article.
vishnu.nv

Post by vishnu.nv »

Millions of Indians are working abroad. The carriers are used more as show of power rather than it will be used in war. Consider a IAC visiting a country with more fighters than of many countries airforce. :-)

making warships happen
The 650-metre dry dock at the Pipavav shipyard in Gujarat. This dry dock can take two aircraft carriers simultaneously and still have space left over for the odd destroyer
A cash-strapped UK defence ministry, unable to pay for the two aircraft carriers on order with BAE Systems, had offered one of them to New Delhi. In the circumstances, a few news reports in India on “high-quality British shipbuilding” could only be useful.
Given that the Indian Navy already has four aircraft carriers in the pipeline — the lame but functional INS Viraat; the infamous Gorshkov (renamed INS Vikramaditya), being constructed in Russia; a third (so far unnamed) carrier being built in Cochin Shipyard; and another to follow that — Britain’s offer of yet another carrier might be considered wildly optimistic.
With £1.2 billion ($1.8 billion) already spent on the CVF, and 4,000 skilled workers busy fabricating the Queen Elizabeth, London knows that an outright cancellation would ruin Britain’s shipbuilding industry. And so, one of the aircraft carriers hopes to wash up on India’s shores.
ndia has, in varying degrees, every component of this ecosystem. The MoD must bring them together, compensating for one component’s weaknesses by harnessing another’s strengths. Instead, South Block’s proclivity to view each entity individually creates the impression of a shortfall of capacity.
Here is the MoD’s logic: Pipavav has the facilities but not the experience; L&T has the experience, but not the facilities; MDL has both, but it doesn’t have the capacity!
India needs a significant navy but it can only afford to build up quickly if the MoD brings together the warship-building eco-system. Indian money must build Indian capabilities, not pay for British shipbuilding industry to survive.
JimmyJ

Post by JimmyJ »

Jamie Boscardin wrote:"Force projection beyond territorial borders" (primary role of an AC), but where we will project force and for wt?
The only 2 enemies we have (Pak & China) are our neighbors, so it's going to be land/air based warfare with IA n IAF playing the major role, with IN with a blockade of the sea-lanes.

inputs, plz!
Maldives, Mauritius, Seychelles [Security Cooperation]
IOR [Anti piracy, sea lane blockades and inspections]
Visits projecting friendship[Middle East, Africa, South East Asia, East Asia]. Will add Pacific and Atlantic in 10 years ;)

Indian Pvt Sector is hitting back with help of Ajai Shukla but for now foreign pimp+Babu network may be too strong
jai

Post by jai »

"Force projection beyond territorial borders" (primary role of an AC), but where we will project force and for wt?

inputs, plz!
The Andaman Sea to Somalian coast...perhaps down to Madagascar. The Indian Ocean is huge and there is a need to keep the dragon out of it and defeat the string of pearls. Besides, it should bolster the opportunity to threaten the TSP western flanks as well...besides providing the opportunity to pulverize Gwader if and when required. The A.Khans would be out of Afghanistan sooner than later, reducing our pressure to hit this side.

The dragon has a huge coast line as well, and many (if not most) of its key assets are on its eastern side, so we will have to find a play there if we are to ever hurt the dragon seriously....as far as the western side is concerned, at best (with current capability) we may only be able to give it pin pricks - we will have to do better.

Think 10 - 20 years ahead.....besides, the PLAN is modernizing and expanding very fast..before long, they will have multiple carriers also. In the event of a conflict with the dragon, we can expect the Chinese fleet to get very active in the Indian Ocean and threaten south India, where we have some of our most crucial assets. I am sure the Dragon has huge purpose in setting up bases in Burma/TSP elsewhere....just wondering why else would they be offering to build ports in Srilanka ?

The RN's QE 65,000t carriers are excellent dsigns,but can we handle such a diverse assortment of flat tops? By 2015,we will have the Gorshkov/V'ditya,IAC-1/Vikrant-2,and the Viraat still capable of sailing on until 2020,used as an ASW carrier and in support of amphibious ops,apart from fleet defence with the remaining Sea Harriers,plus any that can be obtained from the large early-retired RN's stock.Three carriers gives us the ability to always have at least one,if not two always operational.

The Q arises here as to the size and configuratyion of the second carrier to be built at Cochin.Will it be significantly larger than IAC-1? If it is also going to be as large as the RN carrier,then we must take a serious look at the offer.One option is for a large part of the work on the carrier being completed in the UK,the entire hull and carrier launched with considerable internal work already completed inside the modular sections, and the carrier then delivered to India where all the sensors and other key outfitting is completed.This gives the Indian yard the task of installing and integrating all sensors and weapon systems,combat systems,etc.,sea trials,etc.The Cochin shipyard after IAC-1 is launched/deliverd,can then be engaged in building a new class of amphibious flat tops of around 25-35,000t of Mistral or Juan Carlos class.It will give us the opportunity of acquiring both a new carrier and build large amphibious ships simultaneously,otherwise,the carrier would have to be completed before work on the LHPD can start.Other yards like MD are too busy as of now with vital multiple projects to be able to build a new flat top.The key factor of this possible deal would be at what cost would a partly completed RN carrier arrive at?
Willy

Post by Willy »

Philip wrote:The RN's QE 65,000t carriers are excellent dsigns,but can we handle such a diverse assortment of flat tops? By 2015,we will have the Gorshkov/V'ditya,IAC-1/Vikrant-2,and the Viraat still capable of sailing on until 2020,used as an ASW carrier and in support of amphibious ops,apart from fleet defence with the remaining Sea Harriers,plus any that can be obtained from the large early-retired RN's stock.Three carriers gives us the ability to always have at least one,if not two always operational.

The Q arises here as to the size and configuratyion of the second carrier to be built at Cochin.Will it be significantly larger than IAC-1? If it is also going to be as large as the RN carrier,then we must take a serious look at the offer.One option is for a large part of the work on the carrier being completed in the UK,the entire hull and carrier launched with considerable internal work already completed inside the modular sections, and the carrier then delivered to India where all the sensors and other key outfitting is completed.This gives the Indian yard the task of installing and integrating all sensors and weapon systems,combat systems,etc.,sea trials,etc.The Cochin shipyard after IAC-1 is launched/deliverd,can then be engaged in building a new class of amphibious flat tops of around 25-35,000t of Mistral or Juan Carlos class.It will give us the opportunity of acquiring both a new carrier and build large amphibious ships simultaneously,otherwise,the carrier would have to be completed before work on the LHPD can start.Other yards like MD are too busy as of now with vital multiple projects to be able to build a new flat top.The key factor of this possible deal would be at what cost would a partly completed RN carrier arrive at?

The Q here being weather the IAC-2 will be conventional powered or nuclear.................
Willy

Post by Willy »

Here is the MoD’s logic: Pipavav has the facilities but not the experience; L&T has the experience, but not the facilities; MDL has both, but it doesn’t have the capacity!

With L& T's new shipyard on the east coast about ready dont think the logic about not having the facilities, arise. They do have most experience among the private sector yards in the sub building field.
venkyt

Post by venkyt »

Considering QE class of a/c for us is definitely good idea. We can expect it to be delivered around 2015-17. Even if all our parliamentarian pigs, babus, and IN give complete support in every form 'today', we can't expect Made-in-India one even around 2020 for sure. I think, most of us would agree here. In this scenario, importing is not at all a bad idea as A.Shukla has painted. We should look at it from the perspective of enhancing national security at a faster rate and not actually from the perspective of number of jobs it creates over there or here. Even if we are ready to build Made-in-India one, can we be sure that it will not involve any import of any component/system or creation of jobs-abroad, at all.

If I am yet to decide for our good, I'll consider 2nd a/c as well for direct import. But, I'll make sure, a significant number of our engineers are there in UK to get on-job-training, Knowledge-Transfer, Know-How, our favorite ToT etc while building & finishing 1st and 2nd boat. This way, 3rd one,if needed, can be built here India. Finance and 'Accompaniments' for these 1 or 2 or even 3 boats require separate discussion and not in this post. I am sure to an extent we can manage Finances for 1 & 2 &/ 3 boats.
vishnu.nv

Post by vishnu.nv »

I would say, the getting the QE class is not a good idea. QE class is made for RN needs, not IN.
They are supposed to operate JSF not Mig-29K or NLCA. Like this every place we could see the dissimilarities. If we want to speed up the second IAC, get the designs of the QE class if possible, put an Indian Nuclear propulsion and aircraft launching mechanism from US like what French did with their design. Customize it for our needs and get it build In an Indian shipyard.

But again why we get the design in first place if IN is having such a design for IAC2?
Jamie Boscardin

Post by Jamie Boscardin »

Let me be specific:
If we are going to play a defensive-offense, i.e:Patrolling our waters for offensive denial, then the subs, frigates, land-based IN UAV/aircraft's and the best of the best brahmos should be more than enuf.
The AC is pretty much a sovereign property even in international waters, to be used much beyond Somalian waters or the Malacca straits, that's where they will be utilized. I'm sure the AC's wont be sent to Australia for getting Indians back on racism charges on the aussies...

So the point is, specifically for INDIA, is this more of a EGO boost or their is a real need.
AC's don't just travel alone, they have a plethora of vessels, subs accompanying them, they are like an "AirForce One".
jai

Post by jai »

EGO boost ? With such super friendly neighbours who want to bleed us through a thousand cuts; do not want to peacefully settle our 4000 kms of "un resolved" border and are getting billergent by the day ?

So may be we need more ships for additional "fleets", so be it....constructive employment for country men !

I for one would be happier if my hard earned monies (TAX) is used for better defense than wasted else where by politicians....
vishnu.nv

Post by vishnu.nv »

Jamie Boscardin wrote:Let me be specific:
If we are going to play a defensive-offense, i.e:Patrolling our waters for offensive denial, then the subs, frigates, land-based IN UAV/aircraft's and the best of the best brahmos should be more than enuf.
The AC is pretty much a sovereign property even in international waters, to be used much beyond Somalian waters or the Malacca straits, that's where they will be utilized. I'm sure the AC's wont be sent to Australia for getting Indians back on racism charges on the aussies...

So the point is, specifically for INDIA, is this more of a EGO boost or their is a real need.
AC's don't just travel alone, they have a plethora of vessels, subs accompanying them, they are like an "AirForce One".
Yes...I see in many other forum's this question is being raised all of a sudden. The RN can't afford a even two carriers why India needs 3? isn't it just Indian Ego? so on..

India never considered Australia as an Enemy. We consider them as Enemy only in cricket field not in battle field. :lol:

But IN has to defend our country. From the so Chinese plethora of vessels crossing Malacca straits to our western Neighbors we face real threat. Ask US why they need 11 super carriers. With our economy booming and willingness to actively participate in global issues carriers are the perfect weapons.
Though our Immediate need is to control the Indian ocean which is going to be a lot crowded in coming years.

Indian Naval Chief visits P-8 line in Renton, Washington state.
Indian Chief of Naval Staff Admiral Nirmal Verma travelled to Boeing in Seattle on Monday, along with Indian and U.S. Navy representatives. While in Puget Sound, Verma received P-8A and P-8I program updates and also a 737 Family of Systems briefing. The group toured Boeing’s 737 Family of Systems trailer and the P-8 line in Renton to view P-8A aircraft T4 and also T5 assembly.

"The Indian Navy is very much looking forward to delivery of the first P-8I aircraft," Verma said during his visit.

"Admiral Verma was very interested to hear about the P-8I program’s progress and also to see the in-line production process used to build P-8 aircraft," said Bob Feldmann, Boeing vice president and general manager of Surveillance and Engagement. "We’re nearing the start of assembly of the first aircraft for India so there is a lot of excitement within the customer community."

Later this week Verma will travel to Naval Air Station Patuxent River, Md., to see the P-8A aircraft in flight test there.

India is the P-8 program’s first international customer, having signed a contract with Boeing for eight P-8I aircraft in January 2009. Boeing’s team will machine the first P-8I parts later this year. Per the contract Boeing will deliver the first P-8I within 48 months of the initial signing and the remaining seven by 2015.
article link
dinesha

Post by dinesha »

MDL likely to set up shipyard in Gujarat for building warships
PTI | 11:09 PM,Sep 22,2010
http://ibnlive.in.com/generalnewsfeed/n ... 44644.html
Ahmedabad, Sep 22 (PTI) Central PSU Mazagon Dock Limited is likely to set up a shipyard along Gujarat coastline for building war ships, with an expected investment of Rs 1,000 crore, a top Gujarat Maritime Board official said here today. "A dialogue has already been initiated with the company officials for setting up the shipyard in Gujarat. Now we are in the process of working it out," Chief Executive Officer and Vice Chairman Gujarat Maritime Board Pankaj Kumar told PTI. "A team of MDL officials is scheduled to visit Gujarat in October to select a site for this proposed shipyard," Kumar said. According to Kumar, as per initial proposal the centre- run PSU is expected to invest close to Rs 1,000 crore for setting up the shipyard. MDL is likely to explore opportunities for setting up the shipyard at one of the proposed marine shipbuilding parks by the Gujarat government, sources said. MDL Mumbai is one of the leading shipbuilding and offshore fabrication yards in India established in 18th century and is at present in the process of building nine Scorpene submarines :eek: . The central PSU has capability to build warships, submarines, merchant ships upto 30,000 DWT and fabrication of well head platforms, process and production platforms and jack up rigs.

The QE class has a cat or ski jump option as well,which the French were considering.The RN after decades of operating Harriers,prefer the ease of recovery of aircraft through safer vertical/roling landings.Catapults are also heavy,expensive and cost a lot and require massive power for operating the same.A STOBAR QE would be ideal for the IN as a STOVL version of the 5th-gen fighter is supposedly being planned.As I mentioned earlier,the hull and some eqpt. pre-fitted in modular sections and compartments can be floated out/launched in the UK wiht the expensive critical sensors,specialised eqpt.,etc.,fitted in an Indian yard,preferably Cochin.China is doing something similar with the Varyag but here the hull alone was obtained which also required repair and renovation.This would bring down the costs of the carrier,which would have eqpt. similar to that installed on IAC-1 and perhaps even the Gorshkov/V'ditya,as the aircraft aboard would include MIG-29Ks and naval LCAs.The question of propulsion is a major matter.I'm not sure whether we can in such a short time design and fabricate a large nuclear reactor for the vessel.If there is a need for another QE sized carrier we could perhaps consider the option.

Here I would like to bring to notice the massive race for the Arctic wealth,after the melting of the ice-cap.Russia is taking full advantage of the situ and their oil tankers/ships carrying their huge oil /energy wealth are now traversing the N-East passage through to the Pacific and Asia via the Arctic Sea.These are being led by nuclear-powered ice-breakers.Russia is also building a number of "floating nuclear power stations",shown in a BBC report to open up remote areas of the coast to power ports and communities for onshore logistic support of this new maritime trade.The GOI/IN/BAARC should begin a crash programme in designing and developing such reactors.With their huge experience,we could elicit Russian assistance for the same,as we are already doing with the ATV programme.Russia also has considerablee experience of operating large nuclear-powered warships.
vishnu.nv

Post by vishnu.nv »

As per the latest reports of DAE chief's interview we are seriously experimenting with nuclear propulsion. The First generation of Reactors is in production for the Arihant class while an improved second generation is on the making.
While the next carrier should have a Nuclear propulsion developed in India. The construction of the current IAC will take another 5 years during which we can perfect the propulsion mechanisms.
The QE class is build according to the RN philosophy of STOVL operations. IN already has two carriers in the STOBAR category, a logical path ahead will be to have a catapult assisted Take of mechanism. The question whether it should be steam based or new EMALS has to done by the DRDO based on technological feasibility study. We could construct another land based carrier for testing these catapults and can take Uncles help in this case. Our fourth carrier after the IAC2 should have the catapult assisted takeoff launching FFGA’s and NMCA and UCAV’.
narayana

Post by narayana »

MDL Mumbai is one of the leading shipbuilding and offshore fabrication yards in India established in 18th century and is at present in the process of building nine Scorpene submarines :eek: . The central PSU has capability to build warships, submarines, merchant ships upto 30,000 DWT and fabrication of well head platforms, process and production platforms and jack up rigs.
A Newbie Q to Gurus like Phillip saar,why didnt we opt for 6+6 scorpenes for same price?this could be independent to the second line subs,and MDL could take care of these as they will have enough expertise till then,and the new line subs could be constructed at private public yards like L&T and HSL

And what is P76?,never heard of this project before.

Christopher Sidor

Post by Christopher Sidor »

Our IAC-1 is going to have conventional propulsion. Some people have suggested that it is going to be GAS based propulsion. Even the proposed IAC-2 is going to be a conventional propulsion and not nuclear. This means that all the aircraft carrier that India will operate will be restricted to Indian Ocean. Queen Elizabeth class of aircraft carriers are a good option, but have some drawbacks
1) They have been designed for F-35 and VSTOL aircraft. Mig-29K and LCA-Naval are not VSTOL aircrafts. Even the future naval fighter tender (naval RFI) might not include F-35.
2) Their design is mostly based on British requirements. We have a different set of requirements.
3) We get no design input or any way to enhance our design exposure.

Their tentative costs, i.e GBP 2 Billion is a tad on the higher side. For the same we can built 1 or 2 more arihants. Moreover with 4 aircraft carriers, in 2020 Indian Navy will have its hands full. An Aircraft Carrier requires berthing facilities, support structure and ships, crew and most of all fuel to run.

whatever uranium supplies we have domestically which is not much HAS to be preserved and kept for SSN & SSBN programs.

aircraft carriers need lots of big reactors (nimitz class has 6) and would be a total waste of precious uranium when gas turbine + diesel works.

vishnu.nv wrote:
The RN can't afford a even two carriers why India needs 3? isn't it just Indian Ego? so on..
RN / UK does not have neighbours like Pakistan and China and their permanently malicious intentions

I think all Indian aircraft carriers should be conventionally powered and a major part of the submarine force should be nuclear powered, till India has more options in the coming future.This way all the lobbies in IN would be happy and resources would be spent wisely.