Supratik wrote:nageshks wrote:
Maybe, but the demographic dynamics of Rohilkhand and upper doab (western UP) are similar to that of lower Assam - Hindus are losing about 2% of the population share every decade in every district. So creating a 30% Muslim state on the borders of Delhi might not be a great idea. The idea that it can be more easily governed seems dubious to me. This was the area that gave us the Pakistan idea last time over (and at that time, they were ~30% of Upper Doab+Rohilkhand. In 2001, Muslim population share of the upper doab+Rohilkhand region was 39%). Creating a Muslim dominated state there is unwise, not to mention, ungovernable too.
The Muslim pocket in UP is to the NW and NE. My data is showing it is between 20-25%. Also the clean sweep of BJP this election shows that UP is not Kerala. What can be done is additional areas can be incorporated from the southern part of the state to keep the population balance. But I still think the state should be divided and heavy Muslim concentration in some parts should not be the key issue in deciding that.
Okay - I did a basic region wise analysis of UP's Muslim population. I will indicate what it means for the proposed states. My source is the 2001 Census Data.
Here is the basic data.
Upper Doab Total Pop. Muslim Pop. Muslim %
Muzaffarnagar 3543362 1349629 38.089
Saharanpur 2896863 1132919 39.108
Meerut 2997361 975715 32.552
Ghaziabad 3290586 782915 23.793
Bulandshahar 2913122 613660 21.065
Baghpat * 1163991 287871 24.731
Gautam Buddha Naga 1202030 156415 13.013
Total 18007315 5299124 29.43
Rohilkhand
Moradabad 3810983 1735381 45.536
Bijnor 3131619 1306329 41.714
Bareilly 3618589 1226386 33.891
Rampur 1923739 945277 49.137
Budaun 3069426 654797 21.333
Jyotiba Phule Nagar * 1499068 590308 39.378
Shahjahanpur 2547855 455049 17.86
Pilibhit 1645183 390773 23.753
Total 21246462 7304300 34.38
Awadh
Bahraich 2381072 829361 34.831
Lucknow 3647834 748687 20.524
Sitapur 3619661 696126 19.232
Balrampur * 1682350 617675 36.715
Kheri 3207232 612638 19.102
Barabanki 2673581 589197 22.038
Gonda 2765586 532585 19.258
Sultanpur 3214832 524642 16.319
Hardoi 3398306 445419 13.107
Pratapgarh 2731174 374126 13.698
Rae Bareli 2872335 340129 11.842
Ambedkar Nagar * 2026876 332212 16.39
Faizabad 2088928 304434 14.574
Shrawasti * 1176391 301117 25.597
Unnao 2700324 296780 10.991
Total 40186482 7545128 18.78
Lower Doab
Kanpur Nagar 4167999 653881 15.688
Allahabad 4936105 627735 12.717
Fatehpur 2308384 307047 13.301
Farrukhabad 1570408 232599 14.811
Kannauj * 1388923 219104 15.775
Kaushambi * 1293154 174698 13.509
Kanpur Dehat 1563336 145525 9.309
Etawah 1338871 95926 7.165
Mainpuri 1596718 84577 5.297
Auraiya * 1179993 83719 7.095
Total 21343891 2624811 12.30
Purvanchal
Siddharthnagar 2040085 600336 29.427
Azamgarh 3939916 593907 15.074
Varanasi 3138671 497516 15.851
Kushinagar * 2893196 487674 16.856
Jaunpur 3911679 399186 10.205
Mahrajganj 2173878 357822 16.46
Mau 1853997 353003 19.04
Gorakhpur 3769456 344960 9.151
Sant Kabir Nagar * 1420226 341154 24.021
Deoria 2712650 308731 11.381
Basti 2084814 306540 14.703
Ghazipur 3037582 300327 9.887
Ballia 2761620 181553 6.574
Chandauli * 1643251 168281 10.241
Bhadohi 1353705 161962 11.964
Mirzapur 2116042 158204 7.476
Sonbhadra 1463519 79102 5.405
Total 42314287 5640258 13.33
Middle Doab (Braj Bhumi)
Aligarh 2992286 531956 17.778
Agra 3620436 323634 8.939
Etah 2790410 319386 11.446
Firozabad 2052958 260414 12.685
Mathura 2074516 167628 8.08
Hathras 1336031 134851 10.093
Total 14866637 1737869 11.69
Bundelkhand-Baghelkhand
Jalaun 1454452 146317 10.06
Jhansi 1744931 129785 7.438
Banda 1537334 126203 8.209
Hamirpur 1043724 83064 7.958
Mahoba 708447 47335 6.682
Lalitpur 977734 28796 2.945
Chitrakoot 766225 27168 3.546
Total 8232847 588668 7.15
So - if we were to have a Bundelkhand and Purvanchal states carved out of UP, we would have remaining UP having the following statistics
Total Pop. 115650787
Muslim Pop. 24511232
Percentage of Muslims 21.19
Purvanchal and Bundelkhand+Baghelkhand are perfectly feasible states. They will have very governable populations of 4.2 crores and 82 lakhs respectively, and the Muslim population there is manageable.
Now a remaining UP will still have 11.5 crores population, and this is not exactly a very easily governable unit.
Now, for the proposed further proposed states.
Paschim Pradesh (a resolution has been passed by UP Assembly for this state, I think)
Paschim Pradesh 54120414 14341293 26.50
Love this proposal. I would like this state formed - let us see the Dilli Billis cry about secularism, when it comes to their doorstep.
Other options include Upper Doab+Braj Bhumi as one state, and Rohilkhand+Awadh+Lower Doab as another state. This option looks a little more promising. We will have
Braj+Upper Doab 32873952 7036993 21.41
Rohilkhand+Awadh+Lower Doab 82776835 17474239 21.11
The second option is a bit difficult to handle, given that Rohilkhand+Awadh+Lower Doab still has more than 8 crores, but it can be done, I suppose. It will be like Assam of the 1970s, with pockets of heavy Muslim presence, but still manageable on the whole.