India Media role in contempt and derision about India

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India Media role in contempt and derision about India

merlin wrote:
Well then they are fighting for the country is it not. Just that it seems more fashionable to put it that they don't really fight for the country but for the paltan/izzat, etc.
Merlin, no one can be trained to fight and give his life unless he is given a tangible cause that he can relate to and feel. The only people who directly fight for their country and claim that their patriotism is more than that of anyone else are keyboard warriors such as us. Point a gun at any one of us all we will instantly realize how bad our country actually is and how it is not worth fighting for.

merlin wrote:
Well then they are fighting for the country is it not. Just that it seems more fashionable to put it that they don't really fight for the country but for the paltan/izzat, etc.
Merlin, no one can be trained to fight and give his life unless he is given a tangible cause that he can relate to and feel. The only people who directly fight for their country and claim that their patriotism is more than that of anyone else are keyboard warriors such as us. Point a gun at any one of us all we will instantly realize how bad our country actually is and how it is not worth fighting for.
So why didn't you become an Army surgeon when you were younger? Just too inconvenient for ya? No wimen nurses to boss around?

TSJones you are given a official mod warning here.

TSJones wrote:
So why didn't you become an Army surgeon when you were younger? Just too inconvenient for ya? No wimen nurses to boss around?
There are always women nurses except sometimes in the army they are your bosses!

TSJones wrote: So why didn't you become an Army surgeon when you were younger? Just too inconvenient for ya? No wimen nurses to boss around?
I was too scared. I believe people carry guns in the army and I am afraid of guns.

ShauryaT wrote:A TRADITION OF RAPE
I was led to the above article from somewhere on this board. Apologies if this was posted earlier. It is a perfect example of how a deracinated mind can take a very well established tradition, a tradition which has helped build an institution, holding society together and instead of focusing on instances of abuse in the system ends up attacking that very institution and its associated traditions under the influences of the ideas of "individual choice". The author makes aspersions and links beyond the understanding of the author. Just like the AAP makes noises about the system without understanding how to manage the reform process, these social anarchists do the same on our traditions and institutions. Underlying all of this is the matter of individual choice and freedom, taken to its extremes is the direct opposite of Dharma, which seeks to bind individuals, families and the larger society into an interweaving web, making a nation.

We do have some real issues of women's security in the public place, especially in some parts of the country and abuses within the institution of marriage to deal with, but is this the way to go about them with contempt and derision?
LOL Shaurya.

The dame seems to have an overly romantic view of getting to know someone and then having sex. Clearly she has not heard of one night stands and she over-rates the value of marital sex after a decade or two of marriage.

My assessment is that she lives in the US but her parents want her to get married to a man of their choice.

TSJones wrote: So why didn't you become an Army surgeon when you were younger? Just too inconvenient for ya? No wimen nurses to boss around?
I was too scared. I believe people carry guns in the army and I am afraid of guns.
No, tou probably detest what guns and bombs do to the human body. Just not your style.
Last edited by TSJones on 04 Mar 2014 23:44, edited 2 times in total.

merlin wrote:
This Brit balderdash of "paltan/izzat" needs to go. It is one of the residual colonial nuisance still carried on by the Army.
Brits needed to construct such nonsense to keep ethnic divisions within ranks. If the "izzat" of the nation were permitted to be the rallying cry then the goras would have been at the receiving end of of it first.
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

Let me cross post what you wrote earlier so that others can judge what you have said while you exercised your " fundamental right to criticise". The reference to "Indians" in third person as you exclude yourself from the group and laugh at those Indians wetting their pants, is an absolute classic. If you were not British when you made that comment, you certainly weren't Indian either.
Classic misinterpretation. You haven't clearly come across idea of self criticism and if you are an observer you may refer them to be group even when you are part of it.

May I remind members the subject of this thread is Indian media's attitude towards India and not shiv or any other member's views?

ashish raval wrote: ...

Now you are trying to make it personal to me (or perhaps it was always intended to be). I had not started it, you did as your comments were clearly in the context about the LA times article where Indian citizens abroad posts their views. You have made judgement about attitude of NRi's in the above post here. Now I don't want to indulge in discussion of attitude of my own countrymen living in India on this matter or else this place will get indulged again in east vs. west debate. Your post conveys your feelings very well above. Why don't you tell people from who are living in India to be loyal to India first rather than lecturing and questions Indians living abroad to prove their loyalty to their karmabhumi rather than matrubhumi. I don't have to prove to anyone where my loyalty lies. Go and first question to Sonia Gandhi or Kashmiri's to prove their loyalty and then come to me. I have seen worst comments by Indians living in India about India than my post meant to be. My post was mere to highlight a simple point that our babus either don't understand gravitas of situation or have shut down eyes like cats do and say I don't see anything coming ! And I don't see anything deriding about highlighting that.
Sorry to jump into this exchange, but I am sure Indians would surely prefer to be criticizing Sonia Gandhi, babus kashmiris, andamanese, etc, as you are advising them to do, instead of spending valuable time in engaging with NRIs. But the problem is that many a time, NRIs, like white busybodies, tend to be self-important and muddy the waters by presuming that they have some special wisdom to impart to ignorant Indians, generally based on nothing more than having achieved a degree of material success in a white country. I have seen this attitude time and again.

NRIs have made a choice to live abroad and give their lives to another country. It is a mark of intelligent Indians' courtesy and openness that they welcome NRI participation in discussions on topics about India. It is upto NRIs to see to it that they participate in a way that is respectful of India and Indians, and try to contribute constructively to the discussion instead of taking the privilege of participation in Indian matters for granted.

TSJones wrote:
No, tou probably detest what guns and bombs do to the human body. Just not your style.
Is there a point to this targeting of personalities on the forum? Is it relevant to the thread or the forum? Mods?

Let me try and get this back on track. the topic can be hurtful, but is not really meant to insult. The link at bottom posted earlier in this thread describes the elements that come into play when an Indian, usually a well educated person who knows or has tasted western literature and media that have spent over a century pointing out all that is wrong with India and all that is right with themselves internalizes that information.

This educated Indian finds that his views, learned from western media and literature, receive a ready audience among fellow Indians who have similarly absorbed their own views from the same media and literature from a similar school and college bcakground

The attitudes displayed by this group of similarly educated Indians who are well up with western literature was first described in sociology papers in a study of South American society. Native South Americans who learned Spanish also learned the derisive attitudes that the Spaniards had towards natives. And although those Spanish educated natives were themselves locals, they started looking down on other uneducated locals and started speaking of those people with the same derision and contempt that the Spaniards had towards locals. The Spanish educated locals considered themselves equal (or slightly below) the Spaniards but above their ethnic brothers - the uneducated locals. In turn the educated locals received special attention and acceptance from the Spaniards.These attitudes were termed "fractal recursivity" because they behavior was like fractals where the relationship between the larger gruop and smaller group was the same, no matter what the scale of magnification might be.

Exactly the same dynamics come into play with the educated Indian who is filled with information from 200 years of Anglophone literature. He starts seeing western society as fundamentally superior and looks down on the inferior Indian. As long as he takes on the western view of the world, his view are received readily in the west and among his educated Indian peers in India (the SLIME/DIE). they form a cosy trans-national ("global") self supporting group - the educated "superior" Indians in India along with western media who like them and accept them as "normal people" as opposed to the inferior starving multiarmed vegetarian rapist fundamentalist locals.

The difficulty is that these attitudes live right here within our society and pointing it out causes great anger of cognitive dissonance. It does that every time the topic comes up. The intent should not be to shame or mock, but to create insight and self-awareness among thinking educated Indians . In educated Indian society the resistance to criticizing India and Indians is low and opposition to people who support something about India is high. Traditionally that has been because of a language barrier. the critic of India has always had a great English education and is well up with western literature. The Indian defender has typically not had the English language skills to put forward his viewpoint. Add that to the automatic "validation" the English speaking Indian got from western media and existing literature, The person defending the local culture stood no chance. But that is changing. And it must be changed. And as part of the change there must be increased resistance to mindless India bashing and India bashers need to be questioned and asked whether they have any valid and noteworthy criticism. Many don't. They simply bash because it is easy to bash and evokes a laugh from similarly sepoy minded peers. It happens too often to be chance.

The original link:
A_Gupta wrote:http://blog.shunya.net/shunyas_blog/201 ... ymple.html
I often think that we, the globalized Indian elites, haven't decolonized our minds enough. Sixty years after political independence, we still carry an inferiority complex about our literary culture. Our English language literati, chronically insecure and hungry for external validation, pursue British publishing venues and accolades over Indian ones. Yes, target markets and economics explain many things but there is more—it is as if we accord a higher caste to the British and subconsciously elevate and mimic their literary culture. It is one thing to admire and be inspired by other literary cultures, but our attitude here is one of deference, lacking the self-confidence of equals. Nothing like Bookers and Oscars, or reviews, endorsements, and fat book deals in Britain (also increasingly in the U.S.) to turn our heads. Indian novels that "make it" in the Anglophone West are then taken seriously in India—not vice-versa. Do we ever grant the same cachet to books that win Sahitya Akademi and other awards in India? Or crave translations of our best non-English books?

SRoy wrote: This Brit balderdash of "paltan/izzat" needs to go. It is one of the residual colonial nuisance still carried on by the Army.
Brits needed to construct such nonsense to keep ethnic divisions within ranks. If the "izzat" of the nation were permitted to be the rallying cry then the goras would have been at the receiving end of of it first.
Roy I believe this topic is vast but OT here. It is better discussed in the mil forum separately. I actually have three books on the subject of what it is that makes men fight and what is done to keep them that way - with analyses going back to wars fought centuries ago as well as to modern wars. I believe it is too simplistic to dismiss paltan/platoon loyalty as wrong. Loyalty to platoon, leader, regiment, flag and nation are not mutually exclusive. All are necessary and useful. I think it would be instructive to study where the loyalty structure is messed with as was done with the Pakistan army, where Islam has replaced other loyalties. Sorry. OT

Compare TOI's coverage of the Voluntary Withdrawal by the *orn publisher (above) with the coverage of this case.
Garcia had objected to the film after learning that it incorporated a clip she had made for a different movie, which had been partially dubbed and in which she appeared to be asking: "Is your Mohammed a child molester?"
The actress received death threats as a result of her appearance in the film.
The controversial video, billed as a film trailer, depicted Prophet Mohammed as a fool and a sexual deviant. It sparked a torrent of anti-American unrest among Muslims in Egypt, Libya and many other countries in 2012.
Google had refused to remove the film from YouTube despite pressure from the
White House and others, though it blocked the trailer in Egypt, Libya and certain other countries.

A lawyer is quoted as saying
"It's absolutely shameful and ridiculous. If you want a publisher to withdraw a book, all you have to do is file a police complaint. Reading has no future in this country," Liang said.
Hype tripe.

He really should try filing a police complaint about some book to see how it pans out. It is only when the complaint has some basis that the shivering starts in the undies.

I own at least two banned books written by authors in Bangalore that say some really nasty things about Islam and Christianity. People who support the right to publish this sort of stuff really need to see what has been written and banned before they shoot their mouths off.

shiv wrote: I actually have three books on the subject of what it is that makes men fight and what is done to keep them that way - with analyses going back to wars fought centuries ago as well as to modern wars.
Please share name of these works. I am interested. My knowledge of this comes from mostly western readings with Samuel Huntington's "The soldier and the state" leading it.

shiv wrote: I actually have three books on the subject of what it is that makes men fight and what is done to keep them that way - with analyses going back to wars fought centuries ago as well as to modern wars.
Please share name of these works. I am interested. My knowledge of this comes from mostly western readings with Samuel Huntington's "The soldier and the state" leading it.
1. Men against Fire by SLA Marshall (this is an old classic)
2. Acts of War - the behavior of men in battle by Richard Holmes
3. On Killing - the psychological cost of learning to kill in war and society by Lt Col Dave Grosman

If you had to choose just one, I would suggest "Acts of War"

Speaking of shivering in undies, it does appear that there is a certain amount of that in progress, since Penguin dived under. So the tolerance for the cra* put out by certain entities may be getting a bit short.

The gyan is that Din Nath Batra and his tribe spent years poring over every word of the *orn books b4 filing complaints. Obviously when they did, it has been a slam dunk each time.

Two down, maybe a dozen to go and it may turn into a rout. The key argument all these years was
Publishers just want to make money

Exactly. And they would prefer to stay out of jail as well. Losing Rs. 5 crore defending suits against a book that nets maybe Rs. 20 lakhs (Say Rs. 100 times 20,000?) does not seem a great money-making venture.

UlanBatori wrote:The key argument all these years was
Publishers just want to make money

Exactly. And they would prefer to stay out of jail as well. Losing Rs. 5 crore defending suits against a book that nets maybe Rs. 20 lakhs (Say Rs. 100 times 20,000?) does not seem a great money-making venture.
I also think there has been a degree of stupidity among publishers. Publishers don't seem to read or understand everything they receive and take gut level decisions on what they think will spin money.

I posted on the Latimes site about two books by Indian authors that I obtained before they were banned. One is about Islam and the other about Chrstianity. They are seriously, seriously offensive. Freedom of speech is one thing but one needs to think about hurting sentiment before exercising freedom of speech. I think books such as those will be allowed to circulate freely if Doniger's work is allowed.

The great thing about banned books is that they are forgotten. That is why the people who are getting their knickers in a twist about Doniger think that Hindus are targeting only books perceived as anti Hindu. Perhaps those people need to see a sample of other books that were banned and need to take a call on why they should not be unbanned AFTER seeing the content.

Tsj is one warning away from a ban. So choice is totally yours.

@NRI debate; it would be another idea to view Indians who live abroad as 'merceneries of profit' or 'fair weather punters', their main consideration for shifting loyalties doesn't involve nationalism (yet) but simply the ability to profit from a better ecosystem/governance/economy. But priorities can change later to involve natioanalism or loyalty towards country of birth or towards their adopted country as their world view and conscience develops. Unlike Indians who live in India, there is a churning at many levels for this group of non-residents and they have opportunities to make choices. Demanding nationalism from this group at first seems a silly exercise, as they already made their choice which isn't exactly of the highest nationalistic order. So an Indian who hasn't been forced to make such choices has no horse in this debate and will not relate to it. So the discussion is between Indians who made one choice and Indians who made another. Thus Indians who gave up on India may need to be more circumspect in their addressing India in third person, because it would be seen by some as hypocrisy.

Media reflects this debate at some levels, because they too are often forced to choose a side, and they make their choices depending upon whom they see as stronger and as their strongest benefactor. They see USA & China as strongest and thus take sides with these entities. Just saw a Nisha Desai Biswal article floating around on ToI, most readers in India wouldn't even be interested in something like this and they know lesser about some Nisha Desai Biswal, but hey it's there on the main editorial page. It's just ToI making their choice on whom they see as the strongest, it doesn't have anything to do with the interests of their readers or interests of Indian public or nation. They see India and Indian Army as weak links and thus write about these derisively. This habit of denigrating India is just a reflexive action of siding with the stronger entity with whom they have better chance of survival. This seems to be built into the psyche as part of surviving successive challenges.

shiv wrote:Roy I believe this topic is vast but OT here. It is better discussed in the mil forum separately. I actually have three books on the subject of what it is that makes men fight and what is done to keep them that way - with analyses going back to wars fought centuries ago as well as to modern wars.
All your references are Western authors. Their own ideas of statehood based on nation-state one is messed up. So, I'd pay minimum attention to that. All that comes out of a white's mouth is not a gospel truth.
shiv wrote:I believe it is too simplistic to dismiss paltan/platoon loyalty as wrong. Loyalty to platoon, leader, regiment, flag and nation are not mutually exclusive. All are necessary and useful.
Agreed. Then the question of choosing between platoon and nation should not arise.
Truth is somewhere in between. Our soldiers have good understanding of which line of loyalty to be applied where. Being from the background, I'm privy to few cases, where during Kargil war men have exactly made those choices.
Actually there is no issue here. It is the commentators that are wrong. "Izzat" has nothing to do with loyalty at the unit level. It is the pride. And the pride never supercedes loyalty to the nation.
There is a reason why the commentators are wrong. They are still using Brit framework, where any talk of loyalty was clever mixed with unit pride. Under the Raj any notion of loyalty to the nation (though there was the idea of the loyalty to the crown) would have resulted in 1857 every week.
A 10th pass soldier of the modern IA has better understanding of the line between and pride and loyalty.
shiv wrote:I think it would be instructive to study where the loyalty structure is messed with as was done with the Pakistan army, where Islam has replaced other loyalties. Sorry. OT
Nothing wrong with that. If their notion of nationalism is based on Islam, then it is perfectly in line. I see a lot of heartburn among commentators of various hue(not just you) on this issue, because their own armies are incapable of transforming civilizational memes as rallying point for their soldiers.

This topic belongs to startegic forum itself.
Last edited by SRoy on 05 Mar 2014 10:22, edited 1 time in total.

SRoy wrote: All your references are Western authors. Their own ideas of statehood based on nation-state one is messed up. So, I'd pay minimum attention to that. All that comes out of a white's mouth is not a gospel truth.
I think you are missing a huge amount of information about what drives men who face death with that judgement. It would be better if you actually read what they have to say and then reach judgement on the content. However it remains OT here. maybe on some other thread...

No, I'll definitely read them for information value.

SRoy wrote:^^
No, I'll definitely read them for information value.
Go for Acts of War. Marshall is famous but some of the stuff he writes has been questioned and modified later. He was the first to talk about what drove men and the first to point out that many men were simply not fighting and even when they fired - did not know what they were firing at in the noise, fear, smell and confusion of battle. Same things are dealt with better in Acts of War.

shiv wrote: The attitudes displayed by this group of similarly educated Indians who are well up with western literature was first described in sociology papers in a study of South American society. Native South Americans who learned Spanish also learned the derisive attitudes that the Spaniards had towards natives. And although those Spanish educated natives were themselves locals, they started looking down on other uneducated locals and started speaking of those people with the same derision and contempt that the Spaniards had towards locals. The Spanish educated locals considered themselves equal (or slightly below) the Spaniards but above their ethnic brothers - the uneducated locals.
I never thought it could be articulated so simply in a paragraph what this movie of 2 hours tries to say:

Ask and Ye Shall Find at the Temple of Googleswara.
That's a lot of buying and reading to do!!! :mrgreen:
Note that Doniger, Courtright, Laine, and other *orn-peddlers don't even make it to this list. :(( :(( They were just "pulped" by their own publishers.
Very revealing (no pun intended) list. The famous western epic Debbie D. Dallas is missing, so it can be bought in India? Shows again that the problem with Doniger's books is quality, not theme. False advertising, IOW, just like what got Salman Rushdie into such disfavor with the Ayatollah with Satanic Verses.

Shiv ji: Thanks.

UlanBatori wrote:Ask and Ye Shall Find at the Temple of Googleswara.
That's a lot of buying and reading to do!!! :mrgreen:
Note that Doniger, Courtright, Laine, and other *orn-peddlers don't even make it to this list. :(( :(( They were just "pulped" by their own publishers.
Very revealing (no pun intended) list. The famous western epic Debbie D. Dallas is missing, so it can be bought in India? Shows again that the problem with Doniger's books is quality, not theme. False advertising, IOW, just like what got Salman Rushdie into such disfavor with the Ayatollah with Satanic Verses.
In fact Satanic Verses was "double false advertising". That book deserved to be banned simply because it is life threateningly boring. I think Rushdie writes well - but not that book.

I am with the Ayatollah 400% on that. Fortunately, unlike him, I had the foresight to not pay hard-earned yak-dung-patties for it. Same can be said of Stanley Wolpert's Nine Hours to Rama Which Read Like 900,000,000 years. Plain 100% pakistan.

Dhanajay, That behavior of the colonized mind towards the own colonized people is called "Fractal Recursivity"

One more term to thow around at MUTUs!!!

UB the download links are there in gdf e-books thread.

BS alert: One source/premise of Aryan Invasion Theory
The territory of Ukraine has been inhabited for at least forty four thousand years.[1] It is where the horse was first domesticated[2] and a candidate site of the origins of the Proto-Indo-European language family.[3][4]

[1] http://www.telegraph.co.uk/science/scie ... bones.html
[2] Matossian Shaping World History p. 43
[3]"What We Theorize – When and Where Did Domestication Occur". International Museum of the Horse. Retrieved 2010-12-12.
[4] "Horsey-aeology, Binary Black Holes, Tracking Red Tides, Fish Re-evolution, Walk Like a Man, Fact or Fiction". Quirks and Quarks Podcast with Bob Macdonald (CBC Radio). 2009-03-07. Retrieved 2010-09-18.
OK, what's wrong with that?
The climate of the Ukraine can be described as dry and continental influenced climate with warm, dry summers and fairly severe winters. January is the coldest month with daytime temperatures usually around 0°C, but in some cases winter months can be quite colder with temperatures far below zero, about -20°C or lower and strong, cold northeasterly winds, called Bora. Heavy snowfall or even snowstorms are also possible on some days.
So according to the above theorists, humans first started surviving and procreating here, rather than in, say, places like India where the climate is:
Required clothing:
Lightweight cotton clothing is advised throughout the year, with an umbrella or raincoat for the monsoon season. Be prepared for high temperatures and humidity, no matter where you go. A sweater and warmer clothing is advised for cooler evenings. Warmer clothing is advised for the northern mountainous areas of India, which can have quite cold winters.
So like Rajiv Sreenivasan said of the St.Thomas legend, the Early Ukrainians just froze to death each winter and buried their skeletons, older and older each year, and just thawed out and made babies the rest of the year. And trained horses to undertake the strenous gallop over the Khyber Pass into Mohenjodaro where they sat down and copied the Vedas from the Iliad and Odyssey. Yup.

Once I saw the mention of the EJ influence, the rest all falls into place nicely. The Witzel-Farmer-LarsFosse clique, the Indology Researchers, the AIT, the 900 theses of Pico...

Spot the contempt here

US Diplomat Talks With Foreign Secy
U.S. diplomat holds talks with Foreign Secretary
Sandeep Dikshit

India-United States

A senior U.S. official held talks with Indian Foreign Ministry officials on Wednesday, two months after she postponed a visit owing to the Devyani Khobragade episode. Official sources said U.S. Assistant Secretary of State for South and Central Asian Affairs Nisha Biswal met officials, including Foreign Secretary Sujatha Singh, to discuss ways to energise the existing dialogue mechanisms and “generate fresh momentum over the next few months.” She also held talks on India-U.S. relations with her counterpart — Joint Secretary for Americas in the Ministry of External Affairs.

Ms. Biswal had planned to visit India in January, but she opted out after Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi and BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi declined to meet a U.S. Congressional delegation in protest against the arrest of the Indian diplomat.

During her call on Ms. Singh, measures to “achieve progress in resolving to mutual satisfaction issues that have emerged on either side in recent months” were discussed, official sources said.

“The Foreign Secretary underlined the need for officials on both sides to expeditiously resolve outstanding issues, to enable both sides to focus their energies on the substantive and strategic issues that underpin this vital partnership,” the sources added.

Despite discord on trade related issues as well as the Khobragade episode, official sources said both sides reaffirmed the priority attached to the India-U.S. strategic partnership. Particular mention was made of the upcoming visits, including U.S. Energy Secretary Ernest J. Moniz’s visit next week for the bilateral Energy Dialogue.

The US diplomat held talks with her counterpart in MEA the Joint Secy for Americas. She called on Foregin Secy.

However read the title of the report from Hindu!!!

In diplomatese there is difference between Talks and calling on someone.

Wendiata

UlanBatori wrote:Wendy's menial sepoys :eek:

I think:
Colonisation->Westernization->Secularization->Normatization = Christianization or Islamization

Look what I found in searching for other things.Collected works of M.K.Gandhi, Vol. 34. Look on page 564-572 of the 606-page pdf document: starts at Page 452 of the work itself. "Drain Inspector's Report". Young India, Sept. 1927. MKG also had to write long slams against the hatchet job by Katherine Mayo. Man, I feel like the only thing that has changed is that now there are far fewer desis who take the trouble to counter such cra*, and far more who kiss the oiseules of the Oiseules.

shiv wrote:In fact Satanic Verses was "double false advertising". That book deserved to be banned simply because it is life threateningly boring. I think Rushdie writes well - but not that book.
Rushdie is pretentious too in addition to coming very close to plagiarism of concept and plot in the Children's book "Haroun and The Sea Of Stories" which is modeled after "kathA saritsAgara". He does not give credit to this 8-9th CE samskrita classic but the more discerning reviewers among the lot do.
He is being put up for nob-e-l where as RK Narayan was passed over. Lajja lajja no-bell committee.

UlanBatori wrote:Once I saw the mention of the EJ influence, the rest all falls into place nicely.
... the rest all false :idea: into place nicely.