India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

Surya wrote:
The IA has gone beyond the call of duty to improvise so that they could carry on
You mean like huffy and tuffy :)
Ask the Israelis - they will tell you the M 60 was unusable the way they received it

I think all professional competent armies do that.
Well I am not saying that IA is unique in that respect, just that it did go beyond the call of duty since there was no help available, and well the comparisons with Israeli's is actually very welcome dont you think :)

They do it because they get NO HELP from others in India to meet their needs.
Cmon this is silly

Right now there are desi companies devoping components for T 90.

I could give you examples from IPKF where PSUs stepped in to help out. The only guys coming up short are the OFBs

Actually the comparison with Israel was a start to show how far off they are

Just take the Centurions and T 55s for example. The diff is of course the Israelis know how to involve their companies and army together.

Surya wrote:
The diff is of course the Israelis know how to involve their companies and army together.
In Israel, every one has been in the Army or will be very soon.

That has to be a great motivator. :)

absolutely but also the motivation that even if weapons come from abroad they can never rely on them

I never hear them rubbish their products. The worse I have heard is the Uzi is not so greatwe need something to give to the dumb guys :mrgreen:

Surya wrote:chetak

absolutely but also the motivation that even if weapons come from abroad they can never rely on them

They have no option Surya ji.

Their life is literally on the line every time. The weapons have to work for them in their conditions and environment.

It's either adapt the weapons or die.
Last edited by chetak on 19 Mar 2010 15:34, edited 1 time in total.

RayC,

Wait for DRDO products? They had a chance to deploy T-72 and Arjun Tank side by side.

On Trishul issue, My thoughts.

Unless you field in numbers, you will never improve it.

Surya wrote:
They do it because they get NO HELP from others in India to meet their needs.
Cmon this is silly

Right now ...
And IA will happily involve any one who can help them as you yourself say is happening; which again does not take away from my original point.

IA's charter is very clearly defined by GoI and a lot of the triade is clearly missing that point.

chackojoseph wrote:RayC,

Wait for DRDO products? They had a chance to deploy T-72 and Arjun Tank side by side.
Which may still happen, now Arjun is finally ready, so whats the problem?

How can it not take away from your original point??

you just claimed no one helps them

I just pointed out that other have stepped in and worked overtime (like PSUs during IPKF) to help them when they(the Army) have run in distress to them

and you come back and claim that does not take away from your original claim?? :eek:

Surya wrote:How can it be your original point??

you just claimed no one helps them

I just pointed out that other have stepped in and worked overtime (like PSUs during IPKF) to help them when they(the Army) have run in distress to them

and you come back and claim that was your original claim?? :eek:
Look Surya, let me state that again, ANY specific R&D, improvisation etc activity undertaken by IA is because IA has not been able to get help in meeting particular needs from outside, some times it does carry out joint improvisations etc too.

However improvisations etc are not really the domain of IA, as pointed by Avik on the example of Mine clearling system, IA was doing it since it was the only practical solution available at that time -- thats it.

Please keep the context in mind, one statement taken out of its context can mean something very different.

Now, if you disagree with me, fine show me how IA went of improvisations on its own ignoring existing help from Indian vendors and I will learn that IA does indeed sometime prefer to improvise on its own too.

Please there is no department anywhere for improvisations??

If you are half worth it you better improvise

Goes for the IA as much as it goes for all us in our respective areas of work.

and improvisations sometime have nothing to do with someone else not being available.

So bottom line nothing fantastic about it and does not say anything about others willing or not willing to do it

Other do it to - IAF does it

navy does

Hell I am sure the BSF and CRPF will also have claims in that area.

Surya wrote:Please there is no department anywhere for improvisations??
Surya chuck it -- my statements were in a entirely different context -- you are entitled to what you think -- peace.

tsarkar wrote:Rahul,

The point Chetak and I are making was the top brass in DRDO felt their position threatened and left no stones unturned to get Paulraj out of any cutting edge projects or leadership position.

{ :rotfl: so the DRDO leadership that "left no stones unturned to get Paulraj out of any cutting edge projects or leadership position" brought him back at the end of his sabbatical as the founding director of the "Centre for Artificial Intelligence and Robotics" which is one of DRDO's premier labs ?? http://www.drdo.gov.in/labs/cair/histor ... round.html :wink:

sorry, this story of DRDO leadership pushing out Paulraj sounds like it's coming off the hinges.}

What the Navy could have done in this matter is limited, since its an operational organization with limited mandate for scientific/development work. Navy couldn’t push Paulraj into a leadership position in the scientific community, nor did it have a suitable billet for him.

{The navy didn't have to for DRDO "pushed him into leadership position" by its own accord. see above. on the other hand please remember he left the navy to join DRDO (because navy was unwilling to let him continue as a scientist), that puts paid to this piece of imaginative story. }
He is a magnanimous person, and his capabilities were immense to carve himself a niche in the world, so he is being generous to his detractors.
{in these case the detractors were at NHQ, not at DRDO. and I agree he has been magnanimous to the institution that was unwilling to let him continue as a scientist}

What the use of the “Scientist of the Year” award after shoving him out?
{shoving him out ? :rotfl: you forget if someone shoved him out it was the navy. he went for a 2 years sabbatical (from DRDO) and then came back and started a cutting edge lab for DRDO.
doesn't look like "shoving him out" to me.}

Would any BR member appreciate being demoted at work, followed by a paper certificate citing he’s “employee of the year”? Wouldn’t a promotion be a better appreciation of his work?
{this is an extremely disingenuous argument for what happened was quite opposite.}

VSM is a services decoration, nothing to do with DRDO.
{I never said it was. please read my post again if you didn't understand it}

I rest my case here. My conviction remains that IA would not unnecessarily block Arjun, and I will wait for further information to emerge.
{the army, since Gen VP Malik's days, has already blocked the arjun for far too long.}

BTW, please illuminate us on –
1. Was DRDO honest in saying Trishul was ready and Barak purchase was unnecessary?
{this is again a not very honest argument. Dr kalam gave the go ahead himself for a limited number of barak systems as preparedness was being hampered in mid 90's because of the delay in trishul. I think it's in the MOD reports as well. what they later argued was that navy shouldn't standardise on the barak as the much cheaper and according to them similarly capable trishul was ready. is that a wrong stand to make ?}
BTW, IA bought Tunguska for the same reason.
{and has IA standardised on the tunguska ? how many has it bought ? why did it buy the spyder then ? }

2. Where is Trishul technology demonstrator today?
{not sure what answer you expect to this rhetorical question, but in terms of development, fully developed. the small number of complete systems are expected to be transferred to the IAF}
3. Why is DRDO going ahead with Maitri JV with MBDA if Trishul is such a great technology demonstrator?
{is there any reason why they shouldn't want to improve ?
the general trend has been towards seeker equipped SAMs, trishul/SRSAM takes the same course in getting MBDA's help for seekers, which is our weak area.}

4. Why is DRDO going ahead with Maitri JV with MBDA if DRDO ALREADY HAS THE KNOW HOW, as it claimed during Trishul fiasco, to make quick reaction missiles?
{that "DRDO ALREADY HAS THE KNOW HOW" is clear from the fact that MBDA's primary contribution will be in providing seeker tech, the rest will be built from the knowledge base for trishul}
Incase anyone come up with the reason that IN killed Trishul because it looked ugly or IN brass had a personal dislike of DRDO brass, IN could gladly use Trishul in OPV/Corvettes/Missile boats, if it was available. Just like IAF will concurrently use Spyder & Akash, IN will use Maitri concurrently once it comes along.
{IN had already decided to standardise on the barak by then, and the focus moved to maitri.}

I couldn’t be more happier, if the nation’s premier scientific establishment came up with a successful missile. But I am against falsehood and misrepresentation to cover failures.
{same here. people peddling falsehoods and twisting facts out of a misguided sense of the service's honour and dignity (not talking of you) is a very reflection on the balance of these individuals }
I quote the Paulraj and Trishul examples, NOT TO GENERALIZE OR BELITTLE, but to indicate that DRDO is not above skullduggery and lying to protect its own interests AT THE COST OF NATIONAL INTEREST.
{which again is completely false and fabricated as is clear from the above comments.}

tsarkar wrote:I couldn’t be more happier, if the nation’s premier scientific establishment came up with a successful missile. But I am against falsehood and misrepresentation to cover failures.
Good Sir, I appreciate that. Most of us are against falsehood and misrepresentation.
tsarkar wrote:The point Chetak and I are making was the top brass in DRDO felt their position threatened and left no stones unturned to get Paulraj out of any cutting edge projects or leadership position.
I think, everyone here condemns cronyism and neptoism. Leaving rumour-mongering and hand-waving, could you able to establish clearl proof for you assertion that drdo top brass got threatened by Paulraj so his ouster? You link states to the contrary that NPOL gave him enough levarage. Further Paulraj states in his own words, he putdown the drdo and NPOL in the fingerpointing fight at the end of the SONAR project with BEL team headed by another Navy Captain. So could this be one of the reason? But i'm willing to listen to you assertion with any supportive backup. Do you have any ?
tsarkar wrote:What the Navy could have done in this matter is limited, since its an operational organization with limited mandate for scientific/development work. Navy couldn’t push Paulraj into a leadership position in the scientific community, nor did it have a suitable billet for him.

He is a magnanimous person, and his capabilities were immense to carve himself a niche in the world, so he is being generous to his detractors.
Through Chetak-ji, i heard Navy considers anyone seconded to DRDO as disloyal and he also stated Paulraj as exception to the officers who appeased DRDO to join the Org. In this situation, why Navy should have asked Paulraj to join DRDO. Despite facing detractors, Rickover put up with the US Navy and stayed there. So far i havent received any proper answer, why, Paulraj being a Naval Officer, didnt went back to his parent Org after the SONAR project? Instead he went to Stanford Univ. By leaving Navy is it not he showed disloyalty to Navy.
tsarkar wrote:What the use of the “Scientist of the Year” award after shoving him out? Would any BR member appreciate being demoted at work, followed by a paper certificate citing he’s “employee of the year”? Wouldn’t a promotion be a better appreciation of his work?
Going by your logic, any gallantry award issued posthumously is a kind of demotion ? That award is for recognition and gratitude. I dont know abt your employees but Scientist look for recognition.
tsarkar wrote:BTW, please illuminate us on –
1. Was DRDO honest in saying Trishul was ready and Barak purchase was unnecessary? BTW, IA bought Tunguska for the same reason.
There are two streams of discussion involving Barak deal. 1. Scandal involving GF, SushilKumar, Nada etc. 2. Procedural fiasco between DRDO/Navy. I deal with the second.

Kalam never disagreed to the Barak purchase.
The process of acquisition of the missile was initiated in 1995, according to the FIR. It states that a team of officials of the Indian Navy and the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) attended the field demonstration of the Barak-1 AMD (Anti-Missile Defence) system in Israel in December 1995. After this field trial, Naval Headquarters (NHQ) forwarded in 1996 a draft Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) note for the acquisition of six Barak AMD systems to the Defence Minister for approval.
But Kalam made two conditions.
The FIR states that the Scientific Adviser to the Defence Minister, A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (now the President), agreed to the NHQ proposal provided the Navy monitored and ensured the performance of the Barak system as claimed and installed it at the earliest and also placed an order for indigenous Trishul missiles and systems to give their production a thrust.
Why he placed the first conditon ?
Dr Kalam, who had earlier headed the Defence Research Development Organisation (DRDO) and was then the scientific advisor to the defence minister wrote in a letter dated June 23, 1999: "It has been brought to the Raksha Mantri's (Defence Minister) notice that imported anti-missile defence systems has a failure rate of nearly 50 per cent as witnessed by DRDO during trials by the services. Even the cost of failure analysis by foreign suppliers is very high. We will be at the mercy of foreign suppliers for spares and support during the lifecycle of the entire system."
and the team who witness the trial says:
On August 4, 2000, A.K. Kapur, former Project Director of the Trishul Project and a member of the team that witnessed the demonstration of the Barak AMD system in Israel, wrote to the then Vice-Chief of the Naval Staff in his capacity as a member of the PNC constituted for the import of the seven Barak AMD Systems. Kapur claimed that the formal evaluation task was not assigned to the team that visited Israel in 1995. The manufacturer told the team that details would be given when India actually decided to acquire the system. "A more comprehensive system evaluation was required before procurement," Kapur wrote.
This in accordance with what Kalam wrote as a conditon for the Barak purchase in 1996. Till 2000 such a comprehensive eval wasnt happened. In 2003, Barak failed to hit the test missile with dummy warhead in the test trial. So throughtout the Barak deal, DRDO has maintained consistency in telling its stated position. So where comes the dishonesty. If you still fell it that way then speak with facts.
Link1:http://www.hinduonnet.com/fline/fl2321/ ... 804100.htm
Link2: http://ibnlive.in.com/news/1999-letter- ... 740-3.html
And Vishnu Bhagwat has to say on this.
Let us talk about the Barak deal. Were you against it?

A professional is not for or against a deal. Building up an offensive capacity is our primary duty. We had a limited budget. The naval doctrine is to hit first and destroy enemy capability and neutralise them at a far enough distance. Any last ditch defence system does not fit in. I and Dr Abdul Kalam, scientific advisor to the PM, discussed it in great detail. A refit of the Virat would have cost us around Rs 350 crore. So I said one system of Barak was okay. But George Fernandes wanted a suitable recommendation from the naval headquarters for his approval. He then waited to reverse my decision.
tsarkar wrote:I quote the Paulraj and Trishul examples, NOT TO GENERALIZE OR BELITTLE, but to indicate that DRDO is not above skullduggery and lying to protect its own interests AT THE COST OF NATIONAL INTEREST.
Contrary to you assertion of "NOT TO GENERALIZE OR BELITTLE", you actually done that.

So far i havent received any proper answer, why, Paulraj being a Naval Officer, didnt went back to his parent Org after the SONAR project? Instead he went to Stanford Univ.
correction, he joined DRDO after leaving the navy. he went to stanford on a sabbatical from DRDO and came back to DRDO once that period was over to head the CAIR.

So far i havent received any proper answer, why, Paulraj being a Naval Officer, didnt went back to his parent Org after the SONAR project? Instead he went to Stanford Univ.
correction, he joined DRDO after leaving the navy. he went to stanford on a sabbatical from DRDO and came back to DRDO once that period was over to head the CAIR.
Good Rahul, my question is why he first of all left Navy, if what tsarkar/chetak says is true ? He was described as an exception to other Naval officers who wanted to join DRDO. The facts fly in the face, thats all.

Y'know what, this is getting really old.

Why dont both sides that are arguing compose a mutually agreeable query, write to Commodore Paulraj at apaulraj (at) stanford (dot) edu, and please let us know what he says, in settlement of this ridiculous dispute. And save us all a lot of ruckus and irritation.

Incidentally, for those who dont know (not, Im sure any of the leaders of this dispute, they mustve checked out every single detail of his life by now), Cmde Paulraj is a graduate of the Naval College of Engineering, Lonavala. And so are a large majority of the Naval Engg officers. Think what they could do in terms of R&D if they were allowed, instead of defence research being the exclusive preserve of any one org. Just my opinion. Im sure there will be many out to shred it with various 'figures' and 'facts', but it seems common sense to me!
Last edited by ASPuar on 19 Mar 2010 19:31, edited 2 times in total.

Dear Avik,

1. Automated mine laying equipment:
http://www.drdo.org/labs/rde/achieve.html
This is a self-propelled mine burier for burying the indigenously developed influence mines. This equipment is based on a high cross-country mobility vehicle. Around 480 mines can be stored in palletized containers housed inside the vehicle. A suitable burying mechanism is mounted at the rear end of the vehicle. A suitable arming device arms the mines before it is buried in the ground. This equipment can bury 240 mines in one hour.
Wiki wrote:Mining and De-mining equipment: The Self Propelled Mine Burier has been developed by the DRDO against a requirement projected by the Indian Army, its an automated mine laying system developed on a high mobility vehicle and is currently in trials. The Counter-Mine flail, is a vehicle built upon the T-72 chassis, and has a series of fast moving flails to destroy mines. A prototype has been displayed, with the program run per Army requirements.
2. Charge Line Mine Clearance
http://www.drdo.org/Materials/Charge%20 ... learing%20(Vehicle.htm
A Charge Line Mine Clearing (Vehicle) equipment was designed and developed to meet the tactical and strategic requirement of the Army for neutralizing antitank land mines and creating a safe lane for the advancement of tanks or armored vehicles in a mine infested war field. The CLMC (V) consists of an explosive filled hose 300 m long laid in a box and mounted on a two wheeled trailer towed by a tank. The explosive hose is projected onto the minefield by a cluster of six rockets. It gets straightened in flight with the help of parachutes and detonates after landing actuating the anti personnel and /antitank mines by blast. A safe lane 6 m wide and about 250 m long is formed by a single unit. The store was accepted by the Army for induction into Service.
3. Catapult SPG - Vijayanta:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M-46_Catapult
The M-46 Catapult is a self propelled gun developed in india by Combat Vehicles Research and Development Establishment of Drdo. It is based on the conversion of ageing British/Indian Vijayanta tank's hull mounted with Russian 130mm M-46 field gun.
4. Up-gunning of T-55: Kit for that was developed by DRDO lab.

I think this list is suffice for the discussion of Arjun Vs T-90S. Unfortunately, i'm not able to agree with many of assertion on Arjun Project. The very fact that ARmy ordered for 1000 to produced locally in the same HVF runs contrary to your assertion of T-90s being choosen as for the speedy delivery of T-90S tanks throu kits. And i guess you are mixing PPS, LSP issues, i.e. 60% of tank A and 80% of tank B performance to the actually acceptance of 124 tanks. Here too i disagree with that.

Think what they could do in terms of R&D if they were allowed, instead of defence research being the monopoly of DRDO.
ASP sahab, who is stopping them from conducting research ? and who says research is the monopoly of DRDO ? till a few years back, the barriers were from IN's side, thankfully the situation has started to change in the last decade. it is this attitude correction that is well on its way in IN and starting in IAF.

EDIT : even now there are elements who proudly proclaim that 'product/tech development is not our job, we are users onlee'. :roll:
how can you have a R&D unit with that approach ? whatever IN has done in this aspect is because of the foresight of a string of Admirals who understood the need of taking domestic capability on-board and co-ordinated their own efforts with those of the DRDO and DPSU's.

Rahul,

You’re the one making incorrect and false statements here.

{ so the DRDO leadership that "left no stones unturned to get Paulraj out of any cutting edge projects or leadership position" brought him back at the end of his sabbatical as the founding director of the "Centre for Artificial Intelligence and Robotics" which is one of DRDO's premier labs ?? http://www.drdo.gov.in/labs/cair/histor ... round.html

Paulraj taking over CAIR was his overlooking ills done to him, and infusing new capabilities to national infrastructure not present earlier.

{on the other hand please remember he left the navy to join DRDO (because navy was unwilling to let him continue as a scientist), that puts paid to this piece of imaginative story. }

FALSE. HE NEVER LEFT NAVY TO JOIN DRDO. The Navy NEVER prevented Cdr Paulraj from his scientific pursuits.

{in these case the detractors were at NHQ, not at DRDO. and I agree he has been magnanimous to the institution that was unwilling to let him continue as a scientist}

http://indiannavy.nic.in/t2t2e/trans2em ... _sonar.htm

“In 1969, the Navy had nominated Lieutenant A Paulraj a gifted young electrical officer, for the M Tech course in the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Delhi.” “VCNS finally relented on the condition that I get back to the Navy in the two years allowed for the M Tech.”

The same VCNS who had earlier objected, later allowed him to do M Tech. The same Navy gave him special posting at Delhi to complete his PhD. The same Navy let him go to UK. The same Navy gave him a free hand to improve 170B. The same Navy showed confidence in him to develop APSOH and HUMVAD.

GIVE US PROOF OF NHQ STALLING DR PAULRAJ AT ANY STAGE OF HIS POST M TECH CAREER.

{shoving him out ? you forget if someone shoved him out it was the navy. he went for a 2 years sabbatical (from DRDO) and then came back and started a cutting edge lab for DRDO. doesn't look like "shoving him out" to me.}

“He made it clear that my sonar career was over and I should find wider interests. Since I was not seconded to DRDO, the CNS's (Admiral Dawson's) clearance was needed, and went along with this.”

THE ABOVE MAKES IT CLEAR THAT HE WAS A NAVAL OFFICER, NEITHER SECONDED NOR PART OF DRDO.

He was a commissioned officer while developing APSOH. Its DRDO that kicked him out of the sonar project and the scientific R&D establishment.

He was promoted to Commodore, while still in the services.

PLEASE PROVIDE PROOF THAT NAVY SHOVED HIM OUT. Navy sent him to US because DRDO/Scientific Advisor to RM prevailed on CNS to send him to US.

{what they later argued was that navy shouldn't standardise on the barak as the much cheaper and according to them similarly capable trishul was ready. is that a wrong stand to make ?}

Yes. I have personally assisted Trishul trials. In the anti sea skimmer missile mode, it was a complete failure. The reasons were system integration and control laws. DRDO simply lacked the expertise, and DRDO lacked capability to acquire that expertise. It was never ready.

{but in terms of development, fully developed. the small number of complete systems are expected to be transferred to the IAF}

PLEASE PROVIDE PROOF THAT TRISHUL IS READY, AND A SMALL NUMBER OF COMPLETE SYSTEMS ARE EXPECTED TO BE TRANSFERRED TO IAF. THIS IS UTTER FALSEHOOD.

In conclusion, Rahul, PLEASE PROVIDE PROOF FOR YOUR FOLLOWING STATEMENTS –

1. “navy was unwilling to let him continue as a scientist” False.

2. “please remember he left the navy to join DRDO”. False. He lead APSOH from a naval billet at NPOL.

3. “you forget if someone shoved him out it was the navy. he went for a 2 years sabbatical (from DRDO)”. False. His own words, he was NOT seconded to or any part of DRDO. He was sent on insistence of Dr Arunachalam who prevailed on CNS.

4. ”In terms of development, fully developed. the small number of complete systems are expected to be transferred to the IAF” Expected when? I again ask, where is the Trishul?

Think what they could do in terms of R&D if they were allowed, instead of defence research being the monopoly of DRDO.
ASP sahab, who is stopping them from conducting research ? and who says research is the monopoly of DRDO ? till a few years back, the barriers were from IN's side, thankfully the situation has started to change in the last decade. it is this attitude correction that is well on its way in IN and starting in IAF.
Fine, point taken. Glad to hear that things are going well in Navy & IAF R&D.

Guys, please, instead of arguing in the air, why not just ask the gentleman what his opinion is, when his email address is so readily available? At least write to him with the contentious issues from both sides, or else, invite him to visit our forum, take a brief glance, and and then lets see if he replies. Its worth a shot at least. And it would settle the matter once and for all.

Kanson,

One of the Barak tests failed because of interference issues with existing electronic equipment (since resolved). This could happen to any missile, and has more to do with ensuring EM compatibility.

The other Barak test failed because of mistakes in interfacing.

Both these issues were corrected. There have been no failures since.

On the other hand, Trishul had flaws from inception and no corrective action was possible.

"Going by your logic, any gallantry award issued posthumously is a kind of demotion ? That award is for recognition and gratitude. I dont know abt your employees but Scientist look for recognition."

You're completely twisting my words. Bravery is rewarded by gallantry awards. Performance and Potential, like in this case, is rewarded by promotions.

"Up-gunning of T-55" was an Army initiative started at EME workshops, later transferred to DRDO for systems testing, and finally concluded at EME workshops.
Last edited by tsarkar on 19 Mar 2010 19:44, edited 1 time in total.

Dear Sarkar,

Talking about your assertion:
Was DRDO honest in saying Trishul was ready and Barak purchase was unnecessary?
I provide proof stating that Kalam never disagreed to Barak purchase and infact he agreed to them as Trishul is not ready. I have provided the links. DRDO never used the argument of "Trishul ready so no Barak". It highlighted the procedural flaws in the Barak purchase.

So, i say again, there is no dishonesty.

Sarkar,

Up-gunning of T-55 involved fitting of Vijayanta tank gun to T-55 and futher modification. Kits for that was developed by DRDO. Where that modification happened is not the point.

http://www.drdo.org/labs/arde/achieve.html
For the Armoured Corps, we made a significant contribution by the successful development of Up-Gunning kit for the T-55 MBT. The original 100 mm gun of this tank was retrofitted with 105 mm of the Vijayanta which greatly enhanced the fire power of the tank. Standardization of the gun and ammunition for both the tanks has brought about a major reduction in the logistic burden. With the combination of a rugged chassis and turret with a high performance gun and ammunition system, the upgunned T-55 compared well with the T-72s and Vijayantas.
Last edited by Kanson on 19 Mar 2010 19:51, edited 1 time in total.

This is amusing dragging Captain Paulraj into this hoopla to prove exactly what ?

Tsarkar lets make a list of missiles under IGMDP how many are successful (in service and deployed) and how many failed ? Compare that with the projects undertaken by Novators, Raytheons and Dhiels out there . What gives ?

Let me be very honest here what has happened is the debate on T-90 vs Arjun has been scuttled and been made out to be a services vs DRDO affair for whatever reasons else no one was even posting on this thread until a few days back.
Last edited by negi on 19 Mar 2010 19:53, edited 1 time in total.

Further proof that DRDO was lying -

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/1999-letter- ... 740-3.html

Dr Kalam further wrote: "Importing of any missile system will take one to two years and there is no reason that Trishul cannot be made ready before that."

Anyone associated with Trishul project will know Dr Kalam was either superlatively optimistic or lying.

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/what- ... al/14511/0

In a written response to queries sent by The Indian Express, the DRDO today admitted to the major problems that crippled the Trishul programme: “Consistency of the missile guidance and control system — mainly the technical problems in perfecting the three-beam missile guidance system. Non-availability of critical components, devices and subsystems due to embargoes imposed upon the country and also depletion of experienced specialist manpower during a critical phase of the development has led to delay in the project.”

Its TEN years since Dr Kalam's TWO years. Trishul was made a TD in 2006. DRDO had SEVEN years from 1999 to 2006.

Negi, my only point here is that DRDO isnt a holy cow. It lies and misleads to cover failures, and that hasnt helped them win the services confidence.
Last edited by tsarkar on 19 Mar 2010 19:56, edited 1 time in total.

Sarkar,
What the use of the “Scientist of the Year” award after shoving him out?
Its ur words. So going by your logic, any gallantry award issued posthumously should not be considered.

Negi, my only point here is that DRDO isnt a holy cow. It lies and misleads to cover failures, and that hasnt helped them win the services confidence.
Thats is not the issue. As Bhagwat mentioned, DRDO laid its foot in the door of imports. You still not provided any proof that DRDO is lying..

Kanson,

You are making a personal attack here by quoting me out of context and speculating on what my opinion is.

My opinions on scientific achievements DOES NOT REFLECT MY OPINION on gallantry.

I am reporting your post to moderators.

BTW, Kanson, Dr Kalam and DRDO had seven years from 1999 to 2006. Why couldnt they make the missile ready? On what basis did Dr. Kalam say that Trishul could be made ready in two years? You have exact words from his letter.
Last edited by tsarkar on 19 Mar 2010 20:21, edited 1 time in total.

Thats a sure way to say cop out. Anyone who cant argue do that. Pls..take your shot.

tsarkar wrote: Negi, my only point here is that DRDO isnt a holy cow. It lies and misleads to cover failures, and that hasnt helped them win the services confidence.
Sir no one is a holy cow , for instance what was the IN estimate for Gorshkov induction (didn't a team go to Russia to check the Gorky first hand ?) ? Are the one's who did the original effort/cost estimate Liars ?

Negi,

For the record, IN never wanted Gorshkov. It was on offer from 1996 to 2002, and when GoI conveyed Russian offer to IN, IN CNS politely refused multiple times. It was NDA in an over-zealous fit of procurement that availed Russian offer.

The team that first visited made it clear on return that the Russians never gave any technical documentation (claiming it was lost/builder in Ukraine) or allowed any form of detailed inspection.

The IN Captain overseeing was project was refused access to the ship on many occasions when he wanted to inspect work. He once barged into the shipyard's director's office saying that ship is Government of India's property and he never be stopped.

The IN team there sent regular reports how the machinery was in a worse state than what the Russians said and that it would need replacement.

I do not claim services are without fault.

I only want to present my views that it isn’t always that DRDO is making fantastic stuff and services are hell bent on not accepting them.

Look how IA jumped at Brahmos when it wasn’t even meant for them. It is because of IA that Block II with SCAN was developed. SCAN is a 100% Indian achievement.
Last edited by tsarkar on 19 Mar 2010 20:32, edited 1 time in total.

tsarkar wrote: I only want to present my views that it isn’t always that DRDO is making fantastic stuff and services are hell bent on not accepting them.
Yes that point has been made and taken so why continue on that line ?
Look how IA jumped at Brahmos when it wasn’t even meant for them. It is because of IA that Block II with SCAN was developed. SCAN is a 100% Indian achievement.
And point being ? did anyone make a blanket statement alleging IA being not supportive of 'All indigenous' equipment ? I guess debate started with T-90 vs Arjun issue and I am waiting for people to post some similar rebuttals on it , if any .
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

RayC wrote:Valid point has been raised by you. Yet, at the same time, there will be a lot of people vociferously stating that one could have waited for the DRDO product rather than buying ex import.

That takes me back to the GSQR controversy of the Arjun, which surprisingly was cleaned up but not merged with this thread. There were informed posts and there were those which were embarrassing to some, or I surmise, since it is the normal practice to merge posts in appropriate threads. One could state it could also be because of oversight.
RayC,

Why the effort to drag in the GSQR and delay equation? They are inter-related and continuously feed on each other. Can't that be left as a draw?

What is important is, after all the delays / GSQR changes, the system was ready and it is still contemporary!! Lets say both DRDO and IA had their share for the history.

But, what in the world should hinder a perfectly good product that has been available for 4 years (?), while a slightly less capable system would be inducted for another decade or more.

FMBT and all that talk is hogwash. FMBT is not stopping IA from inducting T-90S in next decade.

One answer I can really see in support of IA's stand is that Arjun is somehow a dead-weight in the doctrine (which will never be open to us anyway).

If that were the cases, That brings more problems for IA.:
Because, if that were the case, IA should have just been upfront in 90's and said that situation has changed and that GSQRs and its updates are all out of the window. They should have taken their share of flak and maybe engage more closely with DRDO for replacement GSQR. MoD could have halted the project.

So fast-forward to now, and if "doctrine" is the real reason, then IA was probably just looking for a scapegoat instead of admitting that they have no place for Western tank in their arsenal.

Yes Negi, I rest my case. No point in adding to the acrimony.

I only responded to some member's contention that Trishul was ready to be delivered to IAF. (I'll disregard the "your statements false" part).

OT - I just discovered over past days that internet discussion forum takes a heavy toll on time that could be used for social/recreational/sports or similar pursuits. Plus, creating acrimony among my own fellow countrymen isnt exactly satisfying :)
Last edited by tsarkar on 19 Mar 2010 20:33, edited 1 time in total.

BTW, Kanson, Dr Kalam and DRDO had seven years from 1999 to 2006. Why couldnt they make the missile ready? On what basis did Dr. Kalam say that Trishul could be made ready in two years? You have exact words from his letter.
Sarkar, if Kalam said in 2006 that the Trishul missile is ready then that is called lying. The issue of Trishul is with some components that they couldnt get from outside. So they tinkered with whatever they got and aimed for rectifying that throu other means. So i dont see any dishonesty with DRDO and i repeat, DRDO never said, "Trishul is ready so dont go for Barak".

tsarkar wrote: OT - I just discovered over past days that internet discussion forum takes a heavy toll on time that could be used for social/recreational/sports or similar pursuits. Plus, creating acrimony among my own fellow countrymen isnt exactly satisfying :)
Yes sir and that is why we surf BRF when at work. :mrgreen: :lol:

Kanson,

The design was flawed. Not the aerodynamic design, but the system architecture. No amount of imported parts could have rectified it. And everyone knew it.

To give an analogy, I cannot take LCA flight computer, fit it to a MiG-21, and expect smaller turn radius and more nimbler fighter. Something similar was tried with Trishul.

Lets end the discussion here. All BR members are keen in the nation's best interests and I appreciate and respect that fact.

Barak would have not come without DRDO's ok.

About Admiral Gorshkov, it proves to be a wise decision even today in spite of the price problem. Navy will have both Gorshkov and self made carrier, which is commendable.