India-US Strategic News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
MurthyB
Location: "Visa Officer", Indian Consulate #13,451, Khost Province, Afghanistan

Re: India-US Strategic News and Discussion

Post by MurthyB »

Too many Indians believe that India is so bad that no person who leaves India for the west will ever want to return. I did mention somewhere on this thread that people asked my why oh why on earth I returned to India from Bilayat. Clearly this belief extends to embassy staff right up to policy making level where they cannot imagine a situation in which anyone might not want to remain in the USA forever as a US citizen.

It might be hard to accept, but Indians, possibly just the educated Indians would willingly work in less than optimum and near-slave like conditions simply to follow the idea that living abroad is invariably wealthy nirvana. In fact it isn't - and this can be confirmed from noting the experiences of hundreds of thousands of Indians who have returned to India despite acquiring the right to live and work abroad.

As usual, the government will be the last to catch on.
BTW, a saying in parties here is:
I finally got my US citizenship, now I can go back to India!
Has been uttered by more than one Indian returning to India for good.
shyamoo

Post by shyamoo »

MurthyB wrote: BTW, a saying in parties here is:
So true!!!

People like to keep their options open and would like to return to the US if their R2I doesn't work out. Without citizenship, this back and forth is rather difficult, if not impossible for most.

I'm sorry, your post is not worthwhile for me to respond to in detail.
No problem at all! Totally natural result of taking an untenable perch and going on a rampage about 2 little kids, 3 and 6 years old respectively, taking refuge in the Indian Consulate while their Mom has to be out of the country on the business of the Govt. of India. And calling that a Security Lapse etc. That IS silly, if you say so. Sure, my attitude is one of total joy at flipping that off too. :mrgreen: Glad that topic is closed!

BTW, a sudden attack of concern for Indian citizens from the MEA? May be the start of a new era?

Saip:
Whatever happened to "Me against my brother, me and my brother against the clan. etc...' Bedouin proverb. UB, what is the equivalent in Ulan Bator?
Love thy yak, but never thy clansman
Last edited by UlanBatori on 13 Feb 2014 03:25, edited 1 time in total.

Amit - WRT to the post about Mauritius Amby - No one can make sense out of DK's case...
Something which I may have posted before from a story, makes some sense...(Someone's observation who attended Republican day get together..)
>>>
American who wish the relationship well agreed that the incident was unnecessary and traumatic, and they blamed the "law-and-order" approach of some of their colleagues for the spat, which defending and explaining that that is the way system worked — the guys in dark-suits and earpieces (in this case the Bureau of Diplomatic Security) called the shots although the political leadership should have stepped in to reign them. After Benghazi, it hard to do that, one American sighed despairingly.

From the Indian side too, in more candid moments, there was acknowledgment of lack of focus and leadership at time of transition in the South Asia bureau (where the new Assistant Secretary Nisha Desai Biswal was in the process of being confirmed) and the Indian Embassy in Washington (where both former Ambassador Nirupama Rao and her deputy Arun Singh) were winding down. Basically, said one Indian interlocutor, there was "sloppiness all around" and everyone assumed that since bilateral ties were so good in most other aspects, nothing untoward would happen - least of all such a train wreck based on a deep misreading of each others' bureaucratic cultures...

Hope this wakes people up.. as Neeraj said:
और ठोकर नाम है, बेहोश पग का होश आना
(A stumble (or a kick) is just another name for "coming to senses")

KLPDubeyji, The Indian Foreign Policy thread is there to dissect the underpinnings of the DK arrest fiasco.

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 1#p1560641

We can discuss those aspects there.
UB same thing.

UlanBatori wrote:AmberG: There have been two desi media articles citing deep inside knowledge of the MEA/IFS/Consulate-e-NYC. Both are utterly anti-DK. The first claimed that Nirupama Rao etc were p.o.-ed at DK, and how DK backed off at last moment and refused to board AI afternoon flight etc. We know how nonsensical that rumor was, based on Arshak's submission to the court. The second is this one where they are :(( that DK's buddy and two kids "have the run of the place" and how this is an atrocious violation of Security etc. Also brings in UK as one of the feared interferors.

Both suggest intense personal hatred/resentment against DK. Which brings up an interesting question: Was the initial complaint re: SR initiated from within the Consulate? Maybe the scammers at the SD/BDS thought the Consulate would backstab DK? Anyway, I think the Amby/Consul needs to look into this and weed out his organization. There's some serious poison there... What a shame!
FWIW, you may already know that, but when DK went to JFK, Arshak had arranged private security (composed of ex NYPD) for DK with clear instructions, for DK to go to JFK but wait inside the car and not to get out of car unless or until they get personal ok from Arshak via cell phone. They were not sure, if she went into the building, what kind of pressure, media or other babus can cause.

The okay came only after the Judge cleared her departure.

Also FWIW - the desi media had very good relationship with PB.. (They gave him "Man of the year" award etc)

PS - If you have not read it, please read 'Tuva or Bust', I think you will like it.

PPS - wrt to "DK's buddy and two kids "have the run of the place" .type ramble, wasn't there a ramble only 50 pages ago about DK's evil ambition/plot of getting GC from the hubby???

vnmshyam wrote:
MurthyB wrote: BTW, a saying in parties here is:

So true!!!

People like to keep their options open and would like to return to the US if their R2I doesn't work out. Without citizenship, this back and forth is rather difficult, if not impossible for most.
Nice :D

But it's not just about having the option to go back to the US. At least in the 70s and 80s - anyone who wanted a Green card or citizenship had to make sure that they had a job in the US (they were needed in the US) and that they stayed in the country without leaving for a certain number of years. This used to lead to a situation where if a parent died in India the option of returning for the funeral almost did not exist without killing the chances of acquiring a desired visa leading to a secure career. For a young person this is a hard sacrifice and I have stated earlier that many Indians in the US really did make huge sacrifices for the sake of family. Conditions that trap people into slave like dilemmas are dismissed as fine and dandy because the salary is higher than some particular figure that is set as "minimum" by a bunch of unrelated and unconcerned lawmakers

I think Indians should not be exploited. Too often Indians react to things that are simply biased, unfair or wrong with the idea that "We Indians need to correct ourselves first". I see it happening here again. As I get older, I get greedy and more westernized and I think "What the fuk?Let someone else do the correction and adjust to Indian requirements. Indians will remain Indians and they still must not be mistreated and exploited". The idea that one's own crap smells better than the other guy's perfume is the basis of a great self image in a lot of countries. That is the way to go. IMO

The important thing to note is that the US takes only (mainly) college educated Indians because the US needs them. The US needs unskilled workers as well but they get a good supply from nearby Mexico. Indians are not welcome if they are unskilled. So Indians, who were not allowed into the US just 60 odd years ago and now squeezed through an immigration venturi making it seem like only the US is doing them a favor. Actually the young Indians who go to the US are doing the US an equal favor and in fact the US may be getting much more than paisa vasool from those Indians. But Indians voluntarily accept unfair conditions because they believe that the US is doing them a big favour. The individual Indian has no option other than to allow himself to be used in this manner - the US can accept him or kick him out at its "marzi" citing no reasons whatsoever. But I believe that Indians who have no direct stake in this - with nothing to lose have to get into the fight and ensure that the US stops treating Indians like grovelling begging assholes.

Political insult administered to Narendra Modi shouldn’t be overlooked
Naturally, the US reach-out to Modi will be interpreted as signifying that the US now expects a change of government in Delhi and acknowledges his possible ascension to power. The US is belatedly trying to extricate itself from an untenable position; its step should not be given any undue importance as its political impact is highly marginal. Exaggerating its importance will only play into US hands, persuading the Americans that they can take objectionable decisions and retract from them at a moment of their choosing, without paying any price because they are too important to be ignored or penalised. The US ambassador need not be rebuffed, but the political insult administered to Modi should not be overlooked easily or too soon.

I think HerOnner is also snowed under like everyone else in NYC today. Look on the bright side. Ulan Bator weather is clear skies, -18F. Tonight's low, -35F.

Modi-Powell meeting press release:

LINK

I must say that this is the kind of press release I would expect from the PM's office of India in future.
1. highlighted the "ill-treatment" of an Indian lady diplomat,.
. (NaMO, not "both parties") expressed hope that a permanent solution will soon be found on the issue and stressed that "such irritants should not be allowed to happen if Indo-US strategic partnership needs to be realised to its full potential, stated an official release from the Gujarat government on the close-door meeting that took place at Modi's residence.

2. "Ambassador Powell reassured that the US government was fully committed to resolving this issue at the earliest," the release added.

3. highlighted the "strong foundations of US-India Strategic Partnership laid by former Prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee and reiterated BJP's commitment to further strengthen this partnership. (correct! It was Jaswant Singh and his gang that did the very hard work to educate the uneducated and inform the ignorant)

4. (Now about Indian aid to the US:) discussed Gujarat's involvement in training Afghan officials as well as rural Afghan women for self-employment. He also suggest that Gujarat's model of dairy cooperatives could be of immense value to rural economy of Afghanistan. (Aha! The cows are also being educated, just like they would do it in Ulan Bator: always go to the SOURCE.)

5. Gujarat chief minister also emphasized that the perpetrators of the 26/11 Mumbai attack be quickly :roll: brought to justice (good point about the speed of the US justice system..) and need for "a single global yardstick on terrorism."

That's what I call short, sweet, sharp, to the point. Honest. No "terminological inexactitudes" or waffling. This could be the best thing to happen to US-India Strategic Relations.

Whack! On the face of MMS!

Here is the press release from US Embassy.. (Official site)

अमेरिकी दूतावास प्रेस समाचाि

Excerpts:
अमेरिका औि भाित तवशाल व प्रगाढ़ िणनीततक भागीदािी के साथ अग्रसि हो िहे
हैं। गत नवांबि से एम्बैसेडि पॉवेल ने अमेरिका-भाित सांबांधों पि दृतिकोण साझा
द्रकए औि सुने हैं। वह इस बात पि जोि देती िहेंगी द्रक अमेरिका-भाित भागीदािी
महत्वपूणव औि िणनीततक है, औि यह द्रक अमेरिका, आगामी चुनावों में भाित की
जनता द्वािा चुनी जानी जाने वाली सिकाि के साथ तनकटता से कायव किने की िाह
देख िहा है।
(Wonder why they can't get a good webmaster to post using standard fonts etc )
Anyway here is the press release (in English)
U.S. Ambassador Nancy J. Powell meets with Chief Minister Narendra Modi in Gandhinagar

February 13, 2014

U.S. Ambassador Nancy J. Powell today met with Chief Minister Narendra Modi in Gandhinagar. This meeting was part of the U.S. Mission’s outreach to senior leaders of India’s major political parties in advance of the upcoming national elections. During her visit to Gujarat, Ambassador Powell will meet with representatives from non-governmental organizations and U.S. and Indian businesses. Her discussions focus on the importance of the U.S.-India relationship, regional security issues, human rights, and American trade and investment in India.

The United States and India are moving forward with a strategic partnership that is broad and deep. Starting last November, Ambassador Powell has shared and listened to views on the U.S.-India relationship. She continues to emphasize that the U.S.-India partnership is important and strategic, and that the United States looks forward to working closely with the government that the Indian people choose in the upcoming elections.
I noted the use of रणनीतिक word .. interesting..
(The word is "google" translation of "strategic" :) - It's true meaning is somewhat related to war -- रण = war )
Last edited by Amber G. on 13 Feb 2014 21:12, edited 1 time in total.

Modi should turn up the heat on a few diplomats in this country. Cavity searches in the presence of aggressive alsatians and turn up the heat on a few prominent NGO wallahs.

No need. On diplomacy front the message has been sent. NGOs can be tackled through legislation.

UlanBatori wrote:(correct! It was Jaswant Singh and his gang that did the very hard work to educate the uneducated and inform the ignorant)

UB ji: I hope you are not being sarcastic in the above (sometimes it is hard to tell as you are mixing up this thread and the positive news USA thread just like I had done once).

The performance of Jaswant Singh, Naresh Chandra, and the team of interlocutors was simply superb at that time. The need for the tests were very well articulated and convincing. No spin, no waffling, no mixed signals, and most importantly no bowing down. Amby Naresh Chandra's inglees accent was very gawar, but not his demeanor nor the import of the message nor the dignity with which he dealt with the media. I was completely bowled over, muss say.

Gee! Now I have to provide a color code with my posts? :(( We Uighur yak-herders must speak in what you low-landers call "ambi-gussa" because this is essential to survival. But my admiration for Jaswant Singh is very very genuine. The other entities, I don't know, I was NOT impressed with the Ambassador to the US at the time of the Kargil War (probably same in May 98 as well). That whole spaghetti-spined, inarticulate, pompous, clueless EyeEffEss bunch allowed the Pakis to run circles around India, despite having NO right on their side. It was the teenagers (who inspired kindergartners like me) on the Internet who turned global opinion around 179 degrees inside 2 years. We ran the Pakis off their perches and caves all over the Internet, and countered every attack in the media, despite having no power or money on our side. And of course, it was the heroes who went up the Kargil cliffs in sub-zero weather without even decent shoes, who allowed India to stay in one piece and prevented utter national humiliation and disintegration. The opinion war continues, and still is hurt by the lack of support from the EyeEffEss who seem to have nothing but contempt for our efforts. The snooty *****s would look down their leaking noses at us. Don't for a moment think that we yak-herders spend time arguing for EyeEffEssers out of any love for them.
Last edited by UlanBatori on 13 Feb 2014 23:41, edited 1 time in total.

Modi should talk about issues with Mexico, Canada, rights of red Indians, African Americans etc as well as human rights of lady soldiers present in USA defense forces when dealing with Americans. Also about ratification of international diplomatic treaties by USA and junking away ad-hoc treaties like NSG for which nonmembers have to grovel to get 'waiver' and other roundabouts.

What else is to be discussed with others.
kenop

Post by kenop »

So, the US did not leave the opportunity to talk of human rights

My question is whether Guj. Guvrmand had TSA-like security, so NP had to remove shoes and have her purse searched for weapons, and go through Millimeter Wave Scanner in Dance Pose and got her "birthday suit picture" on file. I HOPE so! There was this "Open Letter to NaMO" that came thru my evil 6th coujin's gee-pata, past the Censors: Said, basically:
PLEASE DO NOT TRUST AMERICA. THEY DOUBLE SPEAK WITH FORK TONGUES. THEN TRY TO KILL YOU... "DO NOT EAT OR DRINK FROM THEM" IT MAY CONTAIN ARSENIC OR PLUTONIUM THAT KILLED SO MANY UNWANTED PEOPLE.
... ALSO REMEMBER AMERICA IS NOT SIGNATURE TO NEARLY 52 CLAUSES OF THE UNITED NATION CHARTER , UNESCO AND NOT ACCOUNTABLE TO THE INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE IN THE HAGUE AND THE WAR CRIMES TRIBUNAL TO MENTION A FEW.
... WANTED TO KILL FEIDEL CASTRO BECAUSE OF HIS FIGHT AGAINST FEUDAL CAPITALISM, KILLED CHILE SOCIALIST PRESIDENT ALLYENDE, KILLED FREDOM FIGHTER CHE'GUEVARA, TRIED TO AND CONSPIRE WITH MARGARETTE TATHCHER TO KILL THE ELECTED NICARAGUAN PRESIDENT, VIETNAM , CAMBODIA, LAOS AND THOSE WARS FOR WHICH THEY REFUSED TO BE ACCOUNTABLE AND ANSWEREABLE FOR CRIME AGAINST HUMANITY.
OF RECENT KILLED WITH TONI BLAIR SADAM HUSSAIN, COL. GADDAFI, NOW WANT TO KILL ASSAD. THEY WORK AND FUND ALL KNOWN TERROR GROUPS IN THE WORLD INCLUDING AL-QUEDA THEIR STEP CHILD AGAINST THE RUSSIAN IN AFGANISTAN. THEY ARE FUNDING PAKISTAN CLANDISTINELY TO TRAIN TERRORIST AND BUILDING NUCLEAR BOMBS AND OTHER ARSENAL TO BE USED GAINST INDIA, SUPPORT PAKISTAN IN REGARD TO KASHMIR AND SIACHIN GLACIER.
RECENTLY EXPOSED IS THEIR HAND IN REGIME CHANGE IN EGYPT, UKRAINE, HERZEGOVINA, BOSNIA. AND ONLY FEW DAYS AGO THEY WERE EXPOSED IN WANTING TO OVER THROW THE GUANA, COLUMBIA, BRAZIL AND VENEZUELAN GOVERNMENT BY FINANCING OPPOSITION AND OTHER ANTI GOVERNMENT FORCES. IN THOSE COUNTRY. ... THE LIST IS HORRENDOUS INCLUDING PROMOTING GM CROPS AGAINST INTERNATIONAL FARMERS, FRACKING AND DESTROYING THE EARTH FOUNDATION, SOLAR PANNEL MAKING AND MANY OTHER ISSUES THAT THEIR COMPANY MUST HAVE SOLE RIGHTS.
ALSO DO NOT FORGET HOW USA FORD FOUNDATION, BUSH FOUNDATION, CLINTON FOUNDATION ARE CIA FRONT ORGANISATION AND ARE FUNDING MANY POLITICAL PARTIES AND NGO THAT IS ANTI YOU , INDIA AND BJP.
AoA! He forgot to mention: If she takes out camera or camcorder, dive under the sofa. That's how Ahmed Rashid(??) the leader of the Northern Alliance was shaheedized: bum was inside camcorder. And that my 17th coujin's Dutch co-denizen used to say that in Hollandistan, they use Coca Cola ("American Champagne") to dissolve rust from nuts and bolts to fix their cars.

Very interesting piece by a MIT PhD scientist and an Ex-Obama Aide (served as a senior director in White House's National Security Council - At one time he was a senior adviser to Obama on India related things..).... (Before some one start mocking let me point out - MATA/MUTU/wannabe professor - whatever :twisted: )

Emerging from Estrangement

(May require subscription)

Posting some excerpts.

As India prepares to hold national elections in the spring of 2014, the United States finds itself in a peculiar position regarding its relationship with the emerging Asian power. Instead of laying the groundwork to build on what will be the largest exercise of democracy in history, the United States is on unsure footing, strangely uncertain about the future of the relationship.

The primary cause of this seeming indifference? None other than Narendra Modi, the current chief minister of Gujurat and the prime ministerial candidate of the main opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). To believe most current polls in India, the BJP will emerge victorious over the incumbent Congress Party, thereby forming a coalition to install Modi as prime minister. Such a development would be another peaceful transition of power for India, in a region that has too often lacked them.
For the United States, however, seeing Modi as prime minister would cause a good deal of angst and present an enormous dilemma. Having revoked Modi's visa to visit the United States in 2005 because of his alleged complicity in the 2002 Gujarat riots, the United States now faces the prospect of being estranged from the most powerful person in India.

The decision to revoke Modi's visa was (and still is) hugely controversial in India. Modi's culpability in the deadly riots may never be fully known, as accounts of his involvement conflict. By revoking his visa, however, the United States has fashioned itself as prosecutor, jury, and judge in an unresolved domestic Indian issue, thereby offending India's sense of national sovereignty.

Add in the perceived hypocrisy of welcoming the leaders of known human rights violators such as China and Russia, and you can begin to understand the hole into which the United States has unwittingly dug itself.

As problematic as this situation has become, the United States has bigger troubles in its relations with India than Modi. The political estrangement inexplicably extends to the whole of the BJP. Over the past ten years, while the BJP has languished in the opposition, the United States has let its relationship with the party atrophy almost to the point of non-existence.

Since 2004, the U.S. government and the BJP have had only one major interaction, a clumsily-handled set of meetings in 2007 and 2008, when the United States was publicly advocating approval of the civil nuclear deal in the Indian parliament. Even President Obama met only with Lok Sabha Opposition Leader Sushma Swaraj during his visit to India in 2010, bypassing meetings with the more senior BJP leaders who would be his natural counterparts.

Such treatment of the opposition is clearly shortsighted. In any democracy, political fortunes can change overnight, and leaders can be thrust into power unexpectedly. Just look at current Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, who was a government technocrat before assuming office in 2004. Common-sense diplomacy dictates that relationships with all prominent political parties and leaders need to be maintained, a lesson that the United States seems to have forgotten in India.

In addition, shunning the BJP ignores the rich history between the party and the United States. After all, it was the BJP that embraced President Clinton in 2000 on the first presidential visit to India in 22 years. It was former BJP Prime Minister Atal B. Vajpayee who was welcomed for a historic address to the U.S. Congress later that same year. And it was the BJP that inaugurated a new strategic partnership with the United States, a partnership that has since thrived so successfully.

The irony is that a BJP government probably represents the best possible outcome from the perspective of the United States. A lack of trust has pervaded relations between the United States and the Congress party since the arrest and strip search of Indian diplomat Devyani Khobragade in New York in December, an incident which outraged Indians and strained diplomatic ties. Should it come to power, the BJP would have an opportunity to build goodwill simply by re-setting the relationship to where it was only three months ago.
Mind the gap

Despite all these issues, it is not too late for the United States to repair ties. To begin, the United States will need to reach out to the BJP with some targeted strategic engagement. U.S. Ambassador Nancy Powell's February 13 meeting with Modi was a good initial step, but it is not nearly enough.

With the State Department and the BJP having had no significant interactions in several years, the United States most likely has little insight into the BJP's objectives for the country and for U.S.-India relations, a glaring gap in knowledge. Furthermore, the lack of recent engagement suggests that Washington officials have not developed the party relationships necessary for sustained interactions based on trust and understanding. The United States should remedy this situation as soon as possible to avoid any unwelcome surprises.

In addition, the U.S. government needs to reform its untenable visa position on Modi. To this day, the United States says only that Modi is welcome to submit another visa application, which will be adjudicated per normal procedures. While legally accurate, the statement again gives the impression that the United States will sit in judgment of Modi, an arrangement at which India bristles.

Instead, on the heels of the December 2013 court ruling that cleared Modi of involvement in the riots, the United States should admit that its earlier visa decision may have been in error, and invite Modi and other BJP leaders for a visit. The symbolism of such an admission and invitation would not be lost on anyone.

No doubt, the U.S. government already realizes the bind it is in and would be very unlikely to deny Modi a visa a second time. Should the BJP come to power, the United States would recognize the infeasibility of barring a sitting prime minister of India from visiting and quietly issue Modi a visa. It would then begin a flurry of diplomatic outreach to build a working relationship with the new Indian government.

After the elections, however, the damage will already have been done. By then, the United States will be unable to escape accusations of opportunism (a line it is already dangerously close to crossing). It would be exposed as a country that stands by its "principles" only for low-level officials unimportant to U.S. interests. By then, it would face a government made up of unfamiliar officials. Averting such a situation is in the best interests of both sides.

U.S. Assistant Secretary of State Nisha Biswal recently said that the U.S.-India partnership will continue to strengthen and deepen, dubbing it a "global relationship." Such a relationship, which holds promise for the people of both countries and the broader international community, is surely worth fighting for. The next step in that fight is escaping the self-imposed estrangement of the past 10 years.

Anish Goel is a senior South Asia fellow at the New America Foundation. He previously served in the White House's National Security Council as senior director for South Asia.

Not sure about his other writings, but his spelling Gujarat as Gujurat sometimes that is a give away as to where he is getting that alternate spelling from. If his information is also from the same sources, I would say "yeah baby, we have found one of the channels through which President Obama is getting his own information". A simple experiment is to search for each of them on G chacha. The results might surprise you. That said, I am going to read his whole article with an open mind and his other writings and come back with an opinion - of course I would have one, whether it matters or not, whether it is write only or read by millions. :)

It's so nauseating to see phrases like "strategic partnership", "global relationship", etc., reappearing in the news articles to describe India-US relations.

Some excerpts from Wikipedia page on Ambassador Naresh Chandra (Padma Vibhushan)
Early life[edit]

Born in Allahabad on August 1, 1934. He was educated at Allahabad and obtained M.Sc. (Math) degree from the Allahabad University. He was a lecturer in the Allahabad University for a short period.
Ambassador Chandra's long official association with the United States spans more than three decades, beginning with his first visit to this country in 1963-64. He has been the Indian Co-chairman of the US-India Technology Group, and Member of the Indo-US Economic Sub-Commission, which lent him valuable insight into the broad range of Indo-US relations. Following the economic liberalisation program in India, he led the first official delegation to the US in 1992 to promote US investments in India. He has been deeply involved in several important conferences organised subsequently in the US by business development groups. http://www.crisisgroup.org/home/index.cfm?id=4224
His work in his words
A specific instance that I will remember of my tenure, is the establishment of Gandhi Memorial - [Mahatma Gandhi’s statue] – in front of our Chancery building in Washington DC – and the way it was accomplished against heavy odds. We were able to have it up just in time to have it dedicated by the Prime Minister of India in the presence of the president of the United States on 16 September 2000. It was a great moment – for South Asians and Americans. I also received many messages from our friends in Pakistan – and the Pakistan Ambassador congratulated me and expressed her happiness at the establishment of the statue.
US sanctions after the Shakti was directly his responsibility. I was not in US. In fact I heard about the mutilated bodies of Indian soldiers from my autowallah that morning and thought it is something he read in some pamphlet or other and did not think about it till evening. When I came back home (I was in a cant. area at that time) heard that Indian soldiers were very angry. As the events unfolded and Pakistanis got whupped and they were NLIing the statement of safe passage was not taken very calmly (I heard).

I don't see how Amby Naresh Chandra could have helped (though he might have played a role behind the scenes). Just saying there are counter examples in IFS (and IAS) who do serve. In fact I would go so far to say that they are the rule - not an exception.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 14 Feb 2014 01:29, edited 1 time in total.

Hey UB you forgot to give the link to that open letter..here is the link http://tinyurl.com/utanbatori420

Anish Goel wrote:Even President Obama met only with Lok Sabha Opposition Leader Sushma Swaraj during his visit to India in 2010, bypassing meetings with the more senior BJP leaders who would be his natural counterparts.
Probably he was listening to DIEs who also asked him to visit St. Xaviers instead of an IIT. Russian President Medved (IIRC) visited IITB at about the same time. Falling for marketing gimmicks of "well dressed suave English speaking" sales droids (I am not knocking Smt. Swaraj, but there are others in this mold in all spheres of life) might lead to the downfall of President Obama.

Why-US-companies-applaud-embassy-outreach-to-India-s-prospective-PM
http://monitorfrontiermarkets.com/us-th ... xt-leader/
The US embassy in India announced Tuesday that the ambassador will meet with prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, signaling a new State Department approach to a man who was once denied a US visa over human rights concerns.For American firms doing business in India, a little fence-mending between US and Indian officialdom is surely a welcome development. The two countries are fresh off an emotionally-raw diplomatic feud this winter that called into question the warmth of their post-cold-war embrace.
By requesting a meeting with Mr. Modi, the US is signaling that the overall relationship is too important to be spoiled by tensions with individual leaders. And it suggests that the State Department agrees with the Indian media consensus that Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party is in a strong position heading into national elections this May.“The understanding here is that the US has to do this because he is prospectively now the next prime minister,” says our correspondent in India.
The embassy may also be listening to the business community, our correspondent adds. “Investors first of all would want a stable government above all else. But he’s definitely being seen as a pro-business, no-nonsense, reforms-oriented guy, chiefly because of his record [as governor] in Gujarat.”Regardless of whether the opposition leader would in fact usher in a more business-friendly regime, restoring bilateral bonhomie is good for business.
Bilateral trade has grown nearly fivefold since 2000, when President Clinton visited India and signaled US interest in closer ties. During his 2010 visit to India, President Obama brought hundreds of business executives in tow, who finalized $10 billion in new US export deals amid the backslapping.Will an American president ever greet Modi in the same affectionate way?“You don’t need to snub him, but you don’t need to embrace him either,” US-India expert Suumit Gangu Ugly told the Monitor last May. “And I think that’s exactly the line the State Department is going to take. They will follow protocol, but they are not going to go out of their way to lionize this guy.”Still, the upcoming handshake in Gujarat is an upgrade from cold shoulder.

I have nothing against Shri Naresh Chandra. All I know is watching TV and despairing at the comparison between the desi Amby mumbling convoluted points of UN resolutions and terminological exactitudes while the Paki goon spoke directly, confidently and completely falsely, but at a 3rd-grade FOX News type level that surely impressed, say, the likes of our dear Resident Authority on US BeerBelly Mentality. I am sure Shri Chandra's major achievement was getting a statue of "Gandy" put up "AGAINST HEAVY ODDS" (zoning laws? gravity?) YAAAWWNN! I would have been impressed had he spent his career fighting instead for the rights of H1B workers. Or of families split by mindless visa bureaucracies. Or PIGS. Or of Indian businessppl. Or streamlining the Indian visa bureaucracy and treatment of Indians in the US (no, I have no complaint about the Indian Consulate beyond the usual expectations). Or getting CNN to stop showing maps of "South Asia" with all of Kashmir in Pakistan (sorry, but a team including my 6th coujin takes due credit for doing that, however imperfectly, by "sensitizing" :mrgreen: top CNN execs at a meeting in Dera Atlanta Khan). And.. er.. pssst... did you see a peep out of the Indian Embassy about the soldiers tortured to death by Pakis, hain? Why was that so hard to convey to the American public? They would completely understand invading a terrorist slum that did THAT to Americans.
Last edited by UlanBatori on 14 Feb 2014 02:45, edited 3 times in total.

OK. I get your point. But aall izz nat last. IOW all izz waill.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 14 Feb 2014 02:43, edited 1 time in total.

Penguin India withdrew the book before court could make public their judgement.

Ramana, I know saar... but that was Chicago Tribune's headline. That is being put out there as misinformation. Look at the comments, people are wondering why India had to ban.

Since there is so much heartburn about the agreement by Penguin Books to declare a Kargil-type Downhill Skiiing Victory (c above), perhaps this might provide some background on the whole issue. It may not be well-known that one of the major US Strategic Exports to India is *orn packaged as "Indology skolar-ship"

Truly what were BRF causes are now becoming maintstream!!!!

S. Vedantam is same guy who holds forth on NPR now a days?

ramana wrote:Truly what were BRF causes are now becoming maintstream!!!!
If only they were nipped in the bud by the powers that be - we would not have been at this place.

ramana wrote:Truly what were BRF causes are now becoming maintstream!!!!
First they ignored , then ridiculed and now We win and get the last laugh when F.MAI=Foreginer Masquearding As Indian are thrown out of political arena in India.

If as is most likely from the polls,that an NDA coalition will come to power with or without Mr.Modi as PM,the US will have to swallow its vomit against India if it wants to re-establish good relations with us and allow for "business as usual" to take place.Funnily enough,the US has always been worried about "log cabin to White House" leaders.Lincoln was bumped of in a conspiracy,and "peanut farmer" Jimmy Carter,a true global peacemaker ,was equally effectively put to pasture and ridiculed.Chai-wallah Modi poses a similar problem,as he is not enamoured of ivy league bovine faeces.In fact he just said that what was needed was more "hardwork" not "Harvard"!

NM with his roots firmly anchored in the soil of Mother India,will not be swayed by the flattery that felled fawning fakir and IMF lackey,"Failure Singh"! It is going to be a long hard road for the US to travel upon once the NDA takes charge.

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php? ... eam_ref=10

Wendy's doodoo on Penguin India Facebook page. Keywords: Hindooooos, Hindooooooootvaaaa, Hindoooo phunda-mentalist, phreee speeech, Hindooooooo violence.
I was thrilled and moved by the great number of messages of support that I received, not merely from friends and colleagues but from people in India that I have never met, who had read and loved The Hindus, and by news and media people, all of whom expressed their outrage and sadness and their wish to help me in any way they could. I was, of course, angry and disappointed to see this happen, and I am deeply troubled by what it foretells for free speech in India in the present, and steadily worsening, political climate. And as a publisher’s daughter, I particularly wince at the knowledge that the existing books (unless they are bought out quickly by people intrigued by all the brouhaha) will be pulped. But I do not blame Penguin Books, India. Other publishers have just quietly withdrawn other books without making the effort that Penguin made to save this book. Penguin, India, took this book on knowing that it would stir anger in the Hindutva ranks, and they defended it in the courts for four years, both as a civil and as a criminal suit.
They were finally defeated by the true villain of this piece—the Indian law that makes it a criminal rather than civil offense to publish a book that offends any Hindu, a law that jeopardizes the physical safety of any publisher, no matter how ludicrous the accusation brought against a book. An example at random, from the lawsuit in question:
‘That YOU NOTICEE has hurt the religious feelings of millions of Hindus by declaring that Ramayana is a fiction. “Placing the Ramayan in its historical contexts demonstrates that it is a work of fiction, created by human authors, who lived at various times..........” (P.662) This breaches section 295A of the Indian Penal Code (IPC). ‘
Finally, I am glad that, in the age of the Internet, it is no longer possible to suppress a book. The Hindus is available on Kindle; and if legal means of publication fail, the Internet has other ways of keeping books in circulation. People in India will always be able to read books of all sorts, including some that may offend some Hindus."