'Make in India' Single engined fighter

Re: Indian Single Engined Multi Role Fighter with Transfer of Manufacturing Technology

shiv wrote:Please watch this 30 second video which says why we need the Tejas over imports. For those who may have forgotten one vital issue
https://twitter.com/bennedose/status/794001016031244288
I have never seen in any country such stupid question being asked.

Every country wants their product 100% built inside and weapon systems are guarded technology.
A naive person who has no idea on warfare would ask such a question.

Re: Indian Single Engined Multi Role Fighter with Transfer of Manufacturing Technology

Austin wrote: “I’m sure whoever gives the best deal will win. All the aircraft are very capable,” said Indian Air Force commander ACM Arup Raha.

“It will depend upon who provides the best transfer of technology; and, of course, the price tag,” he continued.
This clueless IAF guy is the main reason for the RFI and the eventual Arjun-ization of the LCA.

Whether he understands the destruction to domestic aerospace endeavors he is about to bring is debatable.

I find among such folk, it is customary for them to start babbling about "transfer of technology" as if handing over bags of money to foreign aircraft producers transfers anything worth the enormous cost to India.

There was no debate or discussion of the RFI before he announced it. Its not clear whether any strategic planning for the buildup of domestic aerospace capabilities is being done prior to unleashing these idiots with the nation's credit card on an expensive shopping spree.
Last edited by Indranil on 04 Nov 2016 03:17, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Calling the active COAS "clueless IAF guy" is unacceptable. 2 week ban.

We can only hope that this new tender takes eternity to move to RFI stage with Inertial set at MOD while Tejas gets the lead time to be built in numbers

Austin wrote:We can only hope that this new tender takes eternity to move to RFI stage with Inertial set at MOD while Tejas gets the lead time to be built in numbers

You are being wildly optimistic, no orders for LCA beyond the original 40 will be issued till the rfi is finalized. Once done the argument will be that we are getting this new wonder jet. What is the need for LCA.

^^^. That is exactly the reason the production lines of the LCA are not being expanded.

Everyone is searching around for a technical explination or a budgetary explination as to why the LCA production lines are not being expanded. Some claim the production lines for MK1 will not be adaptable to MK1A which is total nonsense.

The real reason is due to clueless guys like Anup Raha who is trying to kill the LCA project. He needs to be removed as IAF chief if the LCA program is to survive. His incompetence in understanding that a huge proportion of the national aerospace R&D future rests on the LCAs success will cost us dearly.
Last edited by Indranil on 04 Nov 2016 03:17, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Calling the active COAS "clueless IAF guy" is unacceptable. 2 week ban.

Austin wrote: “I’m sure whoever gives the best deal will win. All the aircraft are very capable,” said Indian Air Force commander ACM Arup Raha.

“It will depend upon who provides the best transfer of technology; and, of course, the price tag,” he continued.
I have a problem with the news item by Neelam Mathews.

It is a report with no mention of an interview or press conference. The reported has simply quoted Arup Raha with no real evidence that he said that. I have seen reporters lying or simply quoting out of context in the past.

When we are looking for some information people tend to believe what confirms their gut feeling - which is called confirmation bias. I think it is unfair to curse a serving officer on the basis of a news report by one Neelam Mathews. I have seen and heard more of Arup Raha than Neelam Mathews.

I have a problem with the news item by Neelam Mathews.

It is a report with no mention of an interview or press conference. The reported has simply quoted Arup Raha with no real evidence that he said that. I have seen reporters lying or simply quoting out of context in the past.

When we are looking for some information people tend to believe what confirms their gut feeling - which is called confirmation bias. I think it is unfair to curse a serving officer on the basis of a news report by one Neelam Mathews. I have seen and heard more of Arup Raha than Neelam Mathews.
I read those comment from Arup Raha before I think he said that on Occasion of Airforce Day Interview

http://ajaishukla.blogspot.in/2016/10/i ... ement.html
The air chief indicated that a new Make in India fighter production line could come up soon, based on “unsolicited offers” from Lockheed Martin, Boeing and Saab for building their fighters in India --- respectively the F-16 Block 70, F/A-18 Super Hornet and the Gripen E. These offers are conditional on the IAF buying and operating the fighter in question.

“This is very much on the table and I’m sure whoever gives the best deal [will win]. All the aircraft are very capable, so it will depend upon who provides the best transfer of technology; and, of course, the price tag. It’s on the table; nothing is decided as yet.”

Said Raha: “This will not be just licensed manufacture. It will be proper transfer of technology. Also, India will become a hub for manufacturing, as well as maintenance, repair and overhaul (MRO) for other air forces in the region.

Austin wrote:We can only hope that this new tender takes eternity to move to RFI stage with Inertial set at MOD while Tejas gets the lead time to be built in numbers

You are being wildly optimistic, no orders for LCA beyond the original 40 will be issued till the rfi is finalized. Once done the argument will be that we are getting this new wonder jet. What is the need for LCA.
That is possible , I just wonder why Parrikar is even entertaining this new MMRCA deal every thing is happening under his watch and under Modi .

He professes indiginisation at every opportunity and is more than happy to oblige to IAF demands for a new Single Engine Fighter when they have just ordered 36 Rafale and the ink has not even dried on that deal.

He can say to IAF to use Tejas and work with Indian Industry to build better model and work with private company if HAL is not delivering the numbers in needed time.

Eventually every thing stops at the top and Parrikar can easily cancel the RFI and let IAF work with Industry to meet its need via Tejas.
Amoghvarsha

Post by Amoghvarsha »

That is possible , I just wonder why Parrikar is even entertaining this new MMRCA deal every thing is happening under his watch and under Modi .

He professes indiginisation at every opportunity and is more than happy to oblige to IAF demands for a new Single Engine Fighter when they have just ordered 36 Rafale and the ink has not even dried on that deal.

He can say to IAF to use Tejas and work with Indian Industry to build better model and work with private company if HAL is not delivering the numbers in needed time.

Eventually every thing stops at the top and Parrikar can easily cancel the RFI and let IAF work with Industry to meet its need via Tejas.

And how do we make up numbers till the Tejas comes up,if it actually comes up.
ashishvikas

Post by ashishvikas »

Amoghvarsha wrote: And how do we make up numbers till the Tejas comes up,if it actually comes up.
Very simple hai ji, just invest HALF of money which you are going to spend on F-16 OR Gripen on making new production lines for Tejas. F-16 OR Gripen will be quite costly compared to Tejas.

And Tejas has arrived already. First squadron of Light Combat Aircraft Tejas inducted into IAF in July.

Tejas Mk1 itself is potent fighter, just induct them in numbers.

MK1-A, Mk2 & MK3 can be ordered when they are ready.

On such threads a lot of people simply post without reading earlier posts so we have a rehash of much that has been said 3-4 times before. The curve gets ahead of itself that way threading into hyperspace

The real problem people on BRF are those who complain that the thread moves too fast and act as if it is their birthright to read every post and be properly informed about who said what. Just ban them - they are trying to slow down threads and post counts :mrgreen:
Amoghvarsha

Post by Amoghvarsha »

tejas warrior wrote:
Amoghvarsha wrote: And how do we make up numbers till the Tejas comes up,if it actually comes up.
Very simple hai ji, just invest HALF of money which you are going to spend on F-16 OR Gripen on making new production lines for Tejas. F-16 OR Gripen will be quite costly compared to Tejas.

And Tejas has arrived already. First squadron of Light Combat Aircraft Tejas inducted into IAF in July.

Tejas Mk1 itself is potent fighter, just induct them in numbers.

MK1-A, Mk2 & MK3 can be ordered when they are ready.
Tejas MK1 isnt a potent fighter.It cant even get a IOC.Its way way away from being a potent fighter.May be the one with 2052 radars and F414 engines will be the one.

The Tejas isnt a better fighter than block 70 F 16 or Gripen.

IDK why it is hard to understand that India is a country without any militray alliance cover,so the primary objective is to gather and maintain enough strength so that we have a deterrent capability.Rest everything can come later.

Amoghvarsha wrote:
Tejas MK1 isnt a potent fighter.It cant even get a IOC.Its way way away from being a potent fighter...

I say paper planes f-16 block 70 and grippen 'e' may turn out reasonably good fighters to hold their own against fishbeds and bisons, maybe just maybe.

Tejas is today an existing multirole fighter jet which HAS CLEARED IOC Mister.

By the way if you are in for "getting superior" then why not Rafale which bitchslapped f-16 in MMRCA?

^ It will ultimately come down to cost v capability. How much premium is the MOD willing to pay for the superior capability of the Rafale. 10%? 20%? 50%? The entire MRCA deal fell apart and the 9 odd Billion got a fraction of the original 126 without TOT (but with some access) or domestic production but simple offset. Even as such it is likely to be unaffordable if scaled up to 126 with cost adjustment for initial deal and customization. If the current reports are to be believed the new requirement is for 200-300 aircraft which would make the entire deal, even if if they simply did away with the MII requirement - unaffordable. I think this is one of the reasons for eliminating all but the two lowest cost western options from the MRCA.
Last edited by brar_w on 03 Nov 2016 16:16, edited 3 times in total.

F16 as single engine fighter under makenin India is classic case of "der she aaye magar durast aaye". The correct decision 15 years ago would have been to transfer the M2k line to India but never happened.

So what Modiji has done is turned to clock back 15 years and is going for the same objective again but with F16 this time as M2k line is shut down.

Very simple!

Viv S wrote: What stuff? :-?
Everything you write
I don't count what I write. Although the little ticker tells me its been 4432 posts thus far.

Neshant wrote:This clueless IAF guy is the main reason for the RFI and the eventual Arjun-ization of the LCA. Whether he understands the destruction to domestic aerospace endeavors he is about to bring is debatable.

I find among such folk, it is customary for them to start babbling about "transfer of technology" as if handing over bags of money to foreign aircraft producers transfers anything worth the enormous cost to India.

There was no debate or discussion of the RFI before he announced it. Its not clear whether any strategic planning for the buildup of domestic aerospace capabilities is being done prior to unleashing these idiots with the nation's credit card on an expensive shopping spree.
Yes, he who has spent his entire life around air-warfare is a clueless idiot. While you, who maybe spends about 1% of his time doing time-pass on BRF, closest you would've got to a fighter a/c is touch one in an airshow, are a bloody genius. Brilliant!

Amoghvarsha wrote:
Tejas MK1 isnt a potent fighter.It cant even get a IOC.Its way way away from being a potent fighter...

What was that it got in 2013 then?? I wonder... :roll:

HAL and it's vendors inability to scale up within a specific time frame reg LCA manufacture is only reason for the single engine fighter tender

Yeah, the scaling up will happen in the absence of orders. I have Howrah bridge for sale for you.

Desh could really use a committee to investigate/analyse and offer a well charted path into defence manufacturing and offer a road map for the next 50 years.

Needs to be headed by Vikram Sarabhai/Homi Bhabha/ APJ Abdul Kalam equivalents of 2016.

For the moment we are just fire fighting on a need basis with no stated clear goal in sight.

nirav wrote:Desh could really use a committee to investigate/analyse and offer a well charted path into defence manufacturing and offer a road map for the next 50 years.

Needs to be headed by Vikram Sarabhai/Homi Bhabha/ APJ Abdul Kalam equivalents of 2016.

For the moment we are just fire fighting on a need basis with no stated clear goal in sight.
Not just the moment, it's been 70 years.

^quite right.

What we have instead is a committee to "fix" BCCI.

MOST pressing need of the country!

Paul wrote:..
So what Modiji has done is turned to clock back 15 years and is going for the same objective again but with F16 this time as M2k line is shut down.

Very simple!
Not just 15 years. The M2K line was to be set up to counter the PAFs F-16s in the early 1980s :). Then FSU told us "you buy our MiG 29s yes? " and we lost the ability to set up a manufacturing capability

.. If we'd taken the M2K in the 1980s, by now we'd had 300 a/c in various blocks with latest evolution fitted with 2052s and GE 414s and parallel development of the LCA.

I would like us to understand how this could have happened by citing the example of what the Singaporean did with the Douglas Skyhawk starting from 1973

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ST_Aerosp ... er_Skyhawk

Cosmo_R wrote: ....and we lost the ability to set up a manufacturing capability

.. If we'd taken the M2K in the 1980s, by now we'd had 300 a/c in various blocks with latest evolution fitted with 2052s and GE 414s and parallel development of the LCA.
What? Didn't we set up the manufacturing for Jaguar?
RohitAM

Post by RohitAM »

Indeed we did set up manufacturing for the Jaguar, and that's allowing us to be able to upgrade and modify it in any way we want - but we never seemed to have transferred those skills to successive generations. The M2K was a more modern aircraft at the time, with a newer manufacturing line, as well as being a fairly capable multi-role fighter which would've truly given us a fairly solid industrial learning base. However, that didn't happen, and combined with the demise of the Marut, the acquisition of the MiG-29's, and the perennial short-sightedness of the MoD/MoF Babus and the IAF, we are stuck with trying to buy another Western single-engined fighter. We should be happy that the Russians don't make single-engined fighters (MiG had proposed one years ago, but it had been shot down by the Kremlin), otherwise they'd take this contract too after sweet-talking all and sundry in the bureaucracy and the IAF.

nirav wrote:^quite right.

What we have instead is a committee to "fix" BCCI.

MOST pressing need of the country!
OT, but BCCI is probably the only world beating institution and 800lb gorilla dominating its category that the country has ever produced, and our judges and Shashank Manohar are intent on sabotaging and cutting it down in power.

RohitAM wrote:Indeed we did set up manufacturing for the Jaguar, and that's allowing us to be able to upgrade and modify it in any way we want - but we never seemed to have transferred those skills to successive generations.
What is the reason why we have not learned anything from the Adour engine manufacturing and modified the design to build smaller engines for entry level aircraft or UAVs etc? Is it that we are goody two shoes folk who shy away from the idea of copying IPR, or is it because of the disconnect between HAL and GTRE/DRDO.

rohitvats wrote: Yes, he who has spent his entire life around air-warfare is a clueless idiot. While you, who maybe spends about 1% of his time doing time-pass on BRF, closest you would've got to a fighter a/c is touch one in an airshow, are a bloody genius. Brilliant!
Rohit time was when we gave token respect to serving men because this was an Indian Defence Website and military discussion forum. No more. No one gives a flying fork. It's called liberalism, freedom of expression.

RohitAM wrote:Indeed we did set up manufacturing for the Jaguar, and that's allowing us to be able to upgrade and modify it in any way we want - but we never seemed to have transferred those skills to successive generations. The M2K was a more modern aircraft at the time, with a newer manufacturing line, as well as being a fairly capable multi-role fighter which would've truly given us a fairly solid industrial learning base. However, that didn't happen, and combined with the demise of the Marut, the acquisition of the MiG-29's, and the perennial short-sightedness of the MoD/MoF Babus and the IAF, we are stuck with trying to buy another Western single-engined fighter. We should be happy that the Russians don't make single-engined fighters (MiG had proposed one years ago, but it had been shot down by the Kremlin), otherwise they'd take this contract too after sweet-talking all and sundry in the bureaucracy and the IAF.
The demise of the Marut was hastened by the Jaguar acquisition. History repeats. India looses. Future generations should call us idiots, if this one manages to repeat these mistakes of history.

brar_w wrote:
It is a matter of g limits in certain scenarios. Unless you want to jettison the drop tanks - but why would you want to jettison them?
That's what they do if they hit into an air combat scenario. The first things that go are bags, and any weapons that are not required such as potential A2G weapons. G Limits do not come into the picture if one lets go of these bags.
Thanks, but I know why they drop them. My question was to point out what the limitations of the drop tanks are.
EFT's won't survive contact with the enemy. Whether fending off SAM's, or entering into air combat they are the first to be let go off. There needs to be a damn good reason not to do it, particularly if you are fighting from home.
Most airplanes themselves won't survive being hit by 30mm rounds, but yes the CFTs placement means that the odds of a round hitting a fuel tank and going up in flames are higher. But just how many fighters have, to date, been shot down in air to air combat? Ack ack will likely take down a CFT or non-CFT equipped fighter, unless you're talking about a jet designed to be able to take a pounding, such as the Frogfoot.

shiv wrote: Maybe this is my imagination..
Even I do not buy this marketing pitch that with CFTs its fully 9G capable. It seems very unlikely to me as well. May be when CFT are fully empty, but not with fuel in them. Because then they will have to strength the wings to take more G forces that the additional fuel weight adds, or the manoeuvre would take a significant life debit on the parts thereby reducing the life of airframe. Also lets not forget about sloshing in those tanks. With some amount of fuel in the tanks it would be sloshing like crazy while manoeuvring making CG management a nightmare unless there are compartments in the CFTs and fuel management system to take care of it separately.
The CFTs are not one large fuel tank. They are actually 4 separate sectional fuel tanks with just a fairing on top that gives them the look of one long contiguous tank. So they're contained in a smaller space and not sloshing about the entire length of the CFTs.

Again, if a layman can sit on his chair and think about sloshing, do you not think that the designers and test crew won't think of such scenarios? 3 dozen sorties that were done to qualify the CFTs were obviously done to check the fuel system functioning, the manevuer limits, monitor loads on the airframe, etc.

And if this test pilot's statement is marketing pitch, I must say, it leaves you open to the same criticism each time a Tejas TP says something good about it.

My question was to point out what the limitations of the drop tanks are.
Most here are well aware, but the point is that you can get rid of these limitations under many instances (many not all) whereas whatever drawbacks exist for CFT's, stay with you until you RTB.
Most airplanes themselves won't survive being hit by 30mm rounds, but yes the CFTs placement means that the odds of a round hitting a fuel tank and going up in flames are higher. But just how many fighters have, to date, been shot down in air to air combat? Ack ack will likely take down a CFT or non-CFT equipped fighter, unless you're talking about a jet designed to be able to take a pounding, such as the Frogfoot.
"How many fighters have been shot down in air combat?" I think you misunderstood my point. My point was that they will be long gone if an aircraft decides to engage another and such won't have any affect on how an engagement goes down.
Last edited by brar_w on 03 Nov 2016 23:59, edited 1 time in total.

I think you need to keep in mind that the IAF's next refueler will almost certainly be equipped with a boom. Most likely the KC-46 going by recent media reports. So the CFTs are not really a necessity.

Amoghvarsha wrote:http://www.livefistdefence.com/2016/11/ ... Defence%29

LM executive claimed that USAF will fly F 16s for more than 30 years.
This Abhay Paranjpe seems like an out and out marketing fellow..keeps repeating the same "exclusive, exclusive" stuff over and over but doesn't go into any real details.

So now we know for sure, they're offering the APG-83 SABR and not the APG-80 from the Block 60.

The SABR datasheet online doesn't carry too many details though.

Going by what this Abhay Paranjpe mentioned, it looks like the F-16V configuration, which first flew last October. But that lacks IRST like on the Block 60, so a podded IRST system
Last edited by Kartik on 04 Nov 2016 00:06, edited 1 time in total.

brar_w wrote:
My question was to point out what the limitations of the drop tanks are.
Most here are well aware, but the point is that you can get rid of these limitations under many instances (many not all) whereas whatever drawbacks exist for CFT's, stay with you until you RTB.
The way I see it, its a trade off, but one where the CFTs have most if not everything going in their favour, versus drop tanks. Regarding performance limits, I hope someone can find some authoritative source on this.

So now we know for sure, they're offering the APG-83 SABR and not the APG-80 from the Block 60.
They have chosen to unify all future sensor upgrade programs into the SABR despite Raytheon's concurrent development of the RACR. The AN/APG-80 is all but dead as far as further development unless the UAE pours in a ton of money.
I hope someone can find some authoritative source on this.
You don't need to. Its common sense. An aircraft without EFT's will weight 400+ kg less than an aircraft with empty CFT's. Do you really need someone to provide a source stating that the same aircraft will suffer a performance penalty with 400 kg of extra dead weight?
Going by what this Abhay Paranjpe mentioned, it looks like the F-16V configuration, which first flew last October. But that lacks IRST like on the Block 60, so a podded IRST system
You can't integrate a true existing IRST sensor on the F-16 nose (where the IFTS sits) without modifications. The looked at it as part of the F-16 design cycle and it required changes that they had planned for the U variant. The block 60 could not accommodate Lockheed's smaller IRST sensor without a design change and lots of flight testing so they planned a workaround with the IFTS which is an A2G FLIR sensor adapted/modified to provde A2A and navigation modes.

A Falcon eye offshoot the IFTS actually uses the top mounted FLIR for navigation and the bottom mounted one for the actual targeting. They overcame the space limitation by drawing surplus processing from the radar on the sensor. Lockheed's current Legion pod (carrying the larger of the two Long wave IR sensors Lockheed has on offer) is miles ahead of IFTS MWIR sensor when it comes to IRST functionality, particularly at longer ranges. IFTS is actually a better navigation pod particularly in weather but I would still call it a FLIR pod with a2a modes and not really a true IRST.
Last edited by brar_w on 04 Nov 2016 04:58, edited 3 times in total.
Mihir

Post by Mihir »

Kartik wrote:Again, if a layman can sit on his chair and think about sloshing, do you not think that the designers and test crew won't think of such scenarios? 3 dozen sorties that were done to qualify the CFTs were obviously done to check the fuel system functioning, the manevuer limits, monitor loads on the airframe, etc.
Don't CFTs have baffles and flapper valves to minimise sloshing? If sloshing is an issue with CFTs, then it should be an issue with all fuel tanks.

Even I do not buy this marketing pitch that with CFTs its fully 9G capable. It seems very unlikely to me as well. May be when CFT are fully empty, but not with fuel in them. Because then they will have to strength the wings to take more G forces that the additional fuel weight adds, or the manoeuvre would take a significant life debit on the parts thereby reducing the life of airframe. Also lets not forget about sloshing in those tanks. With some amount of fuel in the tanks it would be sloshing like crazy while manoeuvring making CG management a nightmare unless there are compartments in the CFTs and fuel management system to take care of it separately.
The CFTs are not one large fuel tank. They are actually 4 separate sectional fuel tanks with just a fairing on top that gives them the look of one long contiguous tank. So they're contained in a smaller space and not sloshing about the entire length of the CFTs.

Again, if a layman can sit on his chair and think about sloshing, do you not think that the designers and test crew won't think of such scenarios? 3 dozen sorties that were done to qualify the CFTs were obviously done to check the fuel system functioning, the manevuer limits, monitor loads on the airframe, etc.

And if this test pilot's statement is marketing pitch, I must say, it leaves you open to the same criticism each time a Tejas TP says something good about it.
OK so sloshing is out of equation. But you totally missed "unless" in my statement.

The news item does not specify whether its fully 9G capable with fully loaded CFTs or not. And I find it hard to believe it would be so. If I see some technical arguments or credible factual info, I will accept (I will look for it myself when I get time). If I have to think that, ohh they must have thought about all that any layman like me can think and must have taken care of already, then there is really nothing remaining to write or discuss apart from rhetoric and half-baked theories about why someone did something with many assumptions and prejudices. I would just take anything that is said at face value. All aircrafts would be the best in the world. I haven't argued about claims over drag due to CFT. I know its possible to design CFT for older airframe designs with minimum drag penalty. I would also believe that empty CFT would allow 9G, but fully loaded CFT at 9G?? I have to see it to believe it. I have already said, even if its possible (Ultimate load not exceeded, which in all likelihood will not), it will have significant life debit on airframe *unless* they did some strengthening of the internal airframe. It has to add up to Zero somehow. I have already explained, ignoring drag, EFT with loaded fuel would be better for wing structure in certain aspects than equally loaded CFT under 9G manoeuvre.

And please, every single thing about LCA is questioned and discussed to death here. Almost nothing, except the statement that LCA handles better than M2K, is taken at face value, as far as I have seen. There can really be no discussion on that point. But there could be on this 9G capability with CFT with fuel in it. As such just because ADA guys or some TP says LCA is the best in the world, doesn't make it best in the world. It remains what it actually it. Those jingoistic statements are for laymans. Not for those who understand first thing about aircrafts.

rohitvats wrote: Yes, he who has spent his entire life around air-warfare is a clueless idiot. While you, who maybe spends about 1% of his time doing time-pass on BRF, closest you would've got to a fighter a/c is touch one in an airshow, are a bloody genius. Brilliant!
Rohit time was when we gave token respect to serving men because this was an Indian Defence Website and military discussion forum. No more. No one gives a flying fork. It's called liberalism, freedom of expression.
The fact that people who are experts say absurd things while trying to Arjun domestic products is evidence of either incompetence or dishonesty. If he wants to make public comments then he has to face public scrutiny & criticism. If military service is sole criteria then all Jairnails are always correct on all issues including Gen Kaul of 1962 victory fame. Tyagi was also correct on Augusta. Who was the Pilates and anti HTT-40 expert?