Understanding US thread-III
Re: Understanding US thread-III
Trump's chief strategist Steve Bannon, is the man driving this agenda. He is a leninist who believes in blowing up everything. He is so crazy that even the hardline right wingers are afraid of him and criticize him for his ideas. Now he has Trump's ears and will be the one calling the shots.
We can already see the Trump effect. My wife has in the past week been bombarded with emails for new positions opening up. And one was from TCS
. Looks like now they will focus on US citizens and place them and are avoiding shipping in cargo-loads of "techies" in order to avoid Trumpji's wrath. Someone told me that he is investigating these companies - not sure. Salaries offered are also much higher than she makes now.
I have been getting a lot of interest as well.
Acche din aane waale hai.
Trumpji Zindabad.

I have been getting a lot of interest as well.
Acche din aane waale hai.
Trumpji Zindabad.
^ Just remember for a massa ej gora you too are a job stealer and don't deserve to be in there. These h1bs have a country they can return to, I hope you have a plan B too.
The democrats had the election sewed up. All they needed to say was an occasional condemnation of Islamic terrorism.amitkv wrote:Trump's chief strategist Steve Bannon, is the man driving this agenda. He is a leninist who believes in blowing up everything. He is so crazy that even the hardline right wingers are afraid of him and criticize him for his ideas. Now he has Trump's ears and will be the one calling the shots.
Not only 'zee fights with his allies but publicizes in social media. I can only imagine what is going through the minds of Australians when the president of another country said he talked tough to their leader.
How much longer before Trump does the same to Modi? How will Modi react?
Don't worry about me man. I'll be fine.amitkv wrote:^ Just remember for a massa ej gora you too are a job stealer and don't deserve to be in there. These h1bs have a country they can return to, I hope you have a plan B too.
Reminds me of the argument I hear on radio "Trump doing Muslim ban is a good recruiting tool for ISIS

FYI: Thanks for your concern, but I can work in India if I want to. If I am bored, I can go work for my dad at his company in desh. I'm covered yawl.
^ Diff between an Indian and Muslims.
Uneducated Muslims come to US and live off social security, blow up stuff but still stand with pride and fight for their rights. No backing down!
While Indians celebrate the hardship of tax-paying, legal H1b workers, berating them constantly. My arse is covered why worry?
Jaichand genes are stronger that Prithviraj or Shivaji.
Uneducated Muslims come to US and live off social security, blow up stuff but still stand with pride and fight for their rights. No backing down!
While Indians celebrate the hardship of tax-paying, legal H1b workers, berating them constantly. My arse is covered why worry?
The schizophrenia exhibited on this thread is world-class, pun intended. And you wonder why DT and his supporters want to ban all dem heathains. The heathain would, as someone one said long ago, be "'shoveling (pakistan) in Calcutta" if it were not for their US-based customers, but they hate said customers, want them to go broke, anticipate doing a war-dance on the ruins when the US goes broke (when the Rupee becomes 100 dollars, which should be any day now because the US economy is heading down the tubes while India's is on a boundless exponential rise using that trade surplus with the US). And oh! They are enraged because the US administration suddenly appears less than keen to welcome them with open arms at the airport:amitkv wrote:^ Just remember for a massa ej gora you too are a job stealer and don't deserve to be in there. These h1bs have a country they can return to, I hope you have a plan B too.
Exactly HOW is this "modern BRF" postor different from the classic Paki postor on the old CNN Forum I wonder?Welcome to the USA Sir/Ma'am. Please do continue to sh1t on us at PeeAref, and after you enter our country. We know you are so patriotic as Indians that you'll do anything to come over here and be allowed to stay. And oh! if we ever say anything about liking our own religion or traditional way of life, please do kick us in the golas, while you continue to do your idol-worshipping and child sacrifice and bride-burning traditions, all of which we are eager to see brought into America!
We Pakistanis are proud of our Heritage and hate all westerners, but mainly Americans. But.... we want to rush over to America and get CashMore, because we are the Frontline Al-Lies of Americans. And we will try to inflate their cars whenever possible. And we are especially proud of our tradition of Honor Killing. But we are so MODERN compared to those dirty SDRE yindoos worshipping their idols in dark corners. And any day now the Ummah and The Khilfat are going to be running over Washington DC and enslaving all them.. (never mnd). And please please please, continue your Foreign Aid, Pakistan Boor Country onlee, what 2 do do we need F-16s.
Excellent point. You could compare cheeni birathers too. Lot more unity amongst them as well. The sheer glee displayed here at the potential problems that H-1B workers are going to face is quite shocking. Especially on BRF.amitkv wrote:^ Diff between an Indian and Muslims.
Mean e while
http://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way/ ... telligence
The U.S. Treasury Department has modified sanctions against Russia, allowing U.S. companies to interact with Russia's domestic intelligence agency, the FSB.
http://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way/ ... telligence
The U.S. Treasury Department has modified sanctions against Russia, allowing U.S. companies to interact with Russia's domestic intelligence agency, the FSB.
In my ex IT company people in massa are going through huge trauma and discussing on the group as if they are being driven out of swarg. I hope they know they have a country and a home to return to
http://talkingpointsmemo.com/dc/preside ... recedented
"You’re Not Crazy, The Leaks Coming Out Of The Trump Admin Really Are YUGE"
Well you cannachiket wrote:Excellent point. You could compare cheeni birathers too. Lot more unity amongst them as well. The sheer glee displayed here at the potential problems that H-1B workers are going to face is quite shocking. Especially on BRF.amitkv wrote:^ Diff between an Indian and Muslims.

H1Bs will continue to come and that is good for the IT economy here and in India where good skilled interested people will arise and programmers won't be treated like coolies. I have experienced all of this myself. This Walmart-ing of the industry needs to stop if it has to survive.
What astounds me is the insistence of some here that every one who came here was of high caliber. Yes, there are some real good people among the ones I have worked with. But they were very few, most were just clowning around and counting time till they got shipped to their next site.
Just like Modi's surgical strike was DeMo, this is Trump's surgical strike that is needed to shake the corrupt system. If the Indians coming are good, they will survive because they are good. Not because they are cheap.
Issues at hand:
1. Indian Companies doing visa fraud need to be punished.
2. US companies have a responsibility towards US citizens first. This is only fair because they get tax breaks and amenities paid by the US taxpayer. If these companies don't like it, they can move abroad.
3. All entry level IT jobs in the US have been killed other than probably the Bay. If they exist at all, they are very very low paying. Everything else has been shipped out. So US citizens cannot get into the industry, so it dis-incentivizes them to get into Computer Science. The only way to get in is to lie on your resume, something that our brothers from a certain state in desh are Mahdis in.
I am surprised that some are against the above. Will you be against it if this was happening in India? Would you allow Ogunleye, Akinlade or Kosisochukwu from Nigeria to take all the IT jobs in BLR if they come in hordes, drive down the salaries and stay in jhuggis packed like sardines and send money to Africa? No, people would riot. I grew up in KA and we rioted all my childhood years when we thought TN was stealing our Cauvery water. It was our own people (Tamilians) and we still rioted. And they rioted too.
Last edited by KJo on 03 Feb 2017 06:44, edited 1 time in total.
"You can learn a lot about Steve Bannon by watching the films he made"
https://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyl ... 59380baa39
Peepul's Repubrik of Berkeley has always been like that. I recall once being in a meeting with some sarkari affsars of massa on campus there and they were amused to see all the anti-gobermint posters stuck all over the room where we were meeting.Singha wrote:But now he has a seat on nsc and access to govt resources
Berkeley type elements will be hit hard for sure
Dt thanks samsung on twitter and welcomed them. So as i predicted mehico will lose large consumer appliance plants....
Samsung is considering constructing a U.S. factory to produce home appliances, per Reuters. If the plan comes to fruition, Samsung would join Whirlpool as the only major appliance companies that manufacture in the United States.
Agree....I am an American citizen and only have a strong academic interest in what is India's flagship industry. I find the stance displayed by some of my American (and Mongolian) compatriots on this thread shocking and completely reprehensible.nachiket wrote:Excellent point. You could compare cheeni birathers too. Lot more unity amongst them as well. The sheer glee displayed here at the potential problems that H-1B workers are going to face is quite shocking. Especially on BRF.
Is an anti-India stance now welcome on BRF ?
all postures should be welcome in brf. people are welcome to let it all hang out but be prepared for those views to be debated and opposed too.
personally I would not expect foreign passport holders to back the india pov on many issues (this incl Kjo who is pio by birth - so dont attack him)
GC holders only on some issues that do not affect their livelihood there
non GC NRI working abroad (H1) in same bucket - suppose a huge tiff escalates and GOI asks all H1 to voluntarily return and US offers them a 3 yr extention & priority gc queue over their 6 yr - how many will fly air india back?
only a section resident RI can be expected to back the GOI 101% - other resident sections will always support foreign govt and foreign pov and blame india..whether its religion or ideology basis....worshippers of bideshi concepts and overlords are a lot here.
so the herd of totally aligned people is not that big - I am just saying this on a pragmatic understanding of human nature. not all are IA jawans prepared to die defending their comrades and their post.
personally I would not expect foreign passport holders to back the india pov on many issues (this incl Kjo who is pio by birth - so dont attack him)
GC holders only on some issues that do not affect their livelihood there
non GC NRI working abroad (H1) in same bucket - suppose a huge tiff escalates and GOI asks all H1 to voluntarily return and US offers them a 3 yr extention & priority gc queue over their 6 yr - how many will fly air india back?
only a section resident RI can be expected to back the GOI 101% - other resident sections will always support foreign govt and foreign pov and blame india..whether its religion or ideology basis....worshippers of bideshi concepts and overlords are a lot here.
so the herd of totally aligned people is not that big - I am just saying this on a pragmatic understanding of human nature. not all are IA jawans prepared to die defending their comrades and their post.
http://www.newyorker.com/news/benjamin- ... ration-banOn Tuesday, the Washington Post reported that a draft of another executive order on immigration was circulating at the White House. We do not know whether the President will sign it, but it makes the new Administration’s view of immigrants plainer. The circulating draft order, according to the Post, would revoke work visas for foreign nationals whose jobs are deemed to be not in “the national interest.” It would task the Department of Homeland Security with exploring deportation for legal immigrants who had received public assistance within five years of their arrival. The order would further require that D.H.S. produce reports twice a year on the number of workers who are foreign-born, whether they are here legally or not.
Manufacturing jobs are the ones US should focus on getting back. They typically employ more in numbers. Don't have to be super skilled, so a larger section of society is employable.Singha wrote:Dt thanks samsung on twitter and welcomed them. So as i predicted mehico will lose large consumer appliance plants....
What is anti India about what the Mongolian and others saying? It may be anti Indians who are dreaming of the American dream, but not anti India.
http://www.forbes.com/sites/stratfor/20 ... be92eb3c9e
Mexico's Manufacturing Sector Continues to Grow
Stratfor , CONTRIBUTOR
We provide insight into global developments.
Opinions expressed by Forbes Contributors are their own.
Summary:
Mexico's economy has performed well relative to other major Latin American economies in recent years, largely because of its thriving manufacturing sector. Unlike Brazil and Argentina, whose manufacturing sectors are slumping, Mexico has continued to see solid growth because of its integration with and dependence on the U.S. market. Although low global oil prices will put pressure on Mexico's economy, the performance of the manufacturing sector — especially in high-end manufacturing — will be a key driver of Mexico's economic growth this year and beyond.
Analysis:
In the late 1980s and early 1990s, Mexico underwent a profound economic and political reorganization. The economy liberalized, culminating in the North American Free Trade Agreement. Major state-owned companies privatized, transforming Mexico from a closed economic and political system into an export-oriented industrial economy. As a result, trade increased between Mexico and the United States, and a manufacturing belt sprung up at the countries' shared border. From 1990 to 2000, Mexican trade became even more closely tied to the United States. In 1990, the United States accounted for 69 percent of all Mexican trade; by 2000, it accounted for nearly 80 percent.
Mexico_intermodal_network5
But at the turn of the century, China's special economic zones became cost-competitive alternatives to Mexican factories. Mexico responded by making more valuable products, such as automotive, aeronautical and electronic products. Thus, even though clothing exports dropped 43 percent (from $7.6 billion to $4.3 billion) between 2002 and 2012, automotive exports increased by 152 percent ($27.9 billion to $70.3 billion) and electronic exports increased by 73 percent ($43.3 billion to $74.9 billion) over the same period. Asian alternatives to high-end products notwithstanding, these Mexican products remained cost-competitive because of NAFTA.
Moreover, rising wages in China have once again shifted the equation in global manufacturing. Average manufacturing labor costs in Mexico are now almost 20 percent lower than in China, whereas in 2000, Mexico's labor costs were 58 percent more expensive than China's. There is also an important regional distinction that should be taken into account. A significant portion of U.S. export-oriented middle- and high-end manufacturing takes place in northern Mexico, especially around Monterrey, which is major steel producing area where GDP per capita exceeds $40,000. The electronics industry is also important and contributes greatly to the economy of northern states like Chihuahua, Baja California and Tamaulipas. On the other end of the spectrum, low-end manufacturing of goods like clothing and textiles is continuing to expand in southern Mexico, in cities like Campeche and Veracruz, making this particular region a beneficiary of China's growing labor costs.

Mexico's Manufacturing Sector Continues to Grow
Stratfor , CONTRIBUTOR
We provide insight into global developments.
Opinions expressed by Forbes Contributors are their own.
Summary:
Mexico's economy has performed well relative to other major Latin American economies in recent years, largely because of its thriving manufacturing sector. Unlike Brazil and Argentina, whose manufacturing sectors are slumping, Mexico has continued to see solid growth because of its integration with and dependence on the U.S. market. Although low global oil prices will put pressure on Mexico's economy, the performance of the manufacturing sector — especially in high-end manufacturing — will be a key driver of Mexico's economic growth this year and beyond.
Analysis:
In the late 1980s and early 1990s, Mexico underwent a profound economic and political reorganization. The economy liberalized, culminating in the North American Free Trade Agreement. Major state-owned companies privatized, transforming Mexico from a closed economic and political system into an export-oriented industrial economy. As a result, trade increased between Mexico and the United States, and a manufacturing belt sprung up at the countries' shared border. From 1990 to 2000, Mexican trade became even more closely tied to the United States. In 1990, the United States accounted for 69 percent of all Mexican trade; by 2000, it accounted for nearly 80 percent.

Mexico_intermodal_network5
But at the turn of the century, China's special economic zones became cost-competitive alternatives to Mexican factories. Mexico responded by making more valuable products, such as automotive, aeronautical and electronic products. Thus, even though clothing exports dropped 43 percent (from $7.6 billion to $4.3 billion) between 2002 and 2012, automotive exports increased by 152 percent ($27.9 billion to $70.3 billion) and electronic exports increased by 73 percent ($43.3 billion to $74.9 billion) over the same period. Asian alternatives to high-end products notwithstanding, these Mexican products remained cost-competitive because of NAFTA.
Moreover, rising wages in China have once again shifted the equation in global manufacturing. Average manufacturing labor costs in Mexico are now almost 20 percent lower than in China, whereas in 2000, Mexico's labor costs were 58 percent more expensive than China's. There is also an important regional distinction that should be taken into account. A significant portion of U.S. export-oriented middle- and high-end manufacturing takes place in northern Mexico, especially around Monterrey, which is major steel producing area where GDP per capita exceeds $40,000. The electronics industry is also important and contributes greatly to the economy of northern states like Chihuahua, Baja California and Tamaulipas. On the other end of the spectrum, low-end manufacturing of goods like clothing and textiles is continuing to expand in southern Mexico, in cities like Campeche and Veracruz, making this particular region a beneficiary of China's growing labor costs.

unfortunately for mehico who are a decent people, these machinery/electronics/automobile is what DT will attempt to claw back now.
I find the stance displayed by some of my American (and Mongolian) compatriots on this thread shocking and completely reprehensible.

Secondly, the "shock", with all due respect, comes from finding out that pompous declarations tend to get deflated in a hurry on an Internet forum - as may have happened to you.Kabir ja baithe ped pe
Apne ***** latkaye
Jisko jitna chahiye
Kaat-kaat le jayiye!

Well, in the saga of the "Revenge of the American Shudra" some PIOs seem to have gone decidedly native - identifying with the serfs of their adopted country
Still waiting for a cogent rebuttal to the obvious point that US India outsourcing is just an outcome of the supply-demand situation in global tech. The US is where the demand lies - but the supply of talent within the US has not kept pace.

I do empathize with you and other American workers who may have lost their jobs.You don't know diddly-squat about what I, or kJo here, have experienced,
Yes, I am very familiar with pompous declarations being taken down...have done several takedowns myself.Secondly, the "shock", with all due respect, comes from finding out that pompous declarations tend to get deflated in a hurry on an Internet forum - as may have happened to you.
Still waiting for a cogent rebuttal to the obvious point that US India outsourcing is just an outcome of the supply-demand situation in global tech. The US is where the demand lies - but the supply of talent within the US has not kept pace.
Last edited by Arjun on 03 Feb 2017 09:11, edited 1 time in total.
Read his posts again...he is not just against H1-Bs, he is against offshore business given to Indian tech firmsabhik wrote:What is anti India about what the Mongolian and others saying? It may be anti Indians who are dreaming of the American dream, but not anti India.
I am not sure about how that is anti-India. What if I were to argue that buying chinese items is anti india but i do not see Indians walking away from chinese goods. Go to any metroplex like DFW which is decently populated with Indian population and see how many Indians one can find hanging out with pakis and bangladeshis. That includes H1s and university students. That is for sure pro Indian, right? Heck, I have seen many ABCDs defend Indic values more than many FOBs from India.
Hmm...so roosi bhai bhai with turkey plus Sunnis and US fie fie to iran....does it mean all Christian and Sunni nations join up and say bai bai to iran. Free for all...rape of persia.. Is the ayatillah about to see some rocknrollah.
Ominous
Ominous
Wow - what contempt and hatred towards Indians.UlanBatori wrote:The schizophrenia exhibited on this thread is world-class, pun intended. And you wonder why DT and his supporters want to ban all dem heathains. The heathain would, as someone one said long ago, be "'shoveling (pakistan) in Calcutta" if it were not for their US-based customers, but they hate said customers, want them to go broke, anticipate doing a war-dance on the ruins when the US goes broke (when the Rupee becomes 100 dollars, which should be any day now because the US economy is heading down the tubes while India's is on a boundless exponential rise using that trade surplus with the US). And oh! They are enraged because the US administration suddenly appears less than keen to welcome them with open arms at the airport:amitkv wrote:^ Just remember for a massa ej gora you too are a job stealer and don't deserve to be in there. These h1bs have a country they can return to, I hope you have a plan B too.Exactly HOW is this "modern BRF" postor different from the classic Paki postor on the old CNN Forum I wonder?Welcome to the USA Sir/Ma'am. Please do continue to sh1t on us at PeeAref, and after you enter our country. We know you are so patriotic as Indians that you'll do anything to come over here and be allowed to stay. And oh! if we ever say anything about liking our own religion or traditional way of life, please do kick us in the golas, while you continue to do your idol-worshipping and child sacrifice and bride-burning traditions, all of which we are eager to see brought into America!We Pakistanis are proud of our Heritage and hate all westerners, but mainly Americans. But.... we want to rush over to America and get CashMore, because we are the Frontline Al-Lies of Americans. And we will try to inflate their cars whenever possible. And we are especially proud of our tradition of Honor Killing. But we are so MODERN compared to those dirty SDRE yindoos worshipping their idols in dark corners. And any day now the Ummah and The Khilfat are going to be running over Washington DC and enslaving all them.. (never mnd). And please please please, continue your Foreign Aid, Pakistan Boor Country onlee, what 2 do do we need F-16s.
DT is very shrewd. I thought the EO on H1B would be out this week. But I guess he would have asked for a review on US industry impact & measures to be taken after such a move. He issued an EO on refugee admissions because the economic loss to US was zilch and plus he had to show that he is keeping his campaign promises. Even though he had mentioned H1b abuse, it is an issue which is not close to the hearts for majority of red voters in US, except for the ones who are in Tech Industry and/or have someone in Tech Industry.
Put together the pieces.Singha wrote:Drums are being beaten for airstrikes on iran
1) DT bans all folks from Iran in the US (along with countries with allegedly radical muslims) to prevent any blowback after an airstrike. (CHECK)
2) Kuwait and other sheikdoms kept in power by the US also stopped issuing visas to the above folks. The ruling sheikhs don't want any of that blowback directed against their (illegitimate rule) after an airstrike. (CHECK)
3) Pentagon eager to get "boots on the ground" in Yemen so US is automatically in a war with Iran (backed militias) there. Good excuse to start a war with Iran. (CHECK)
4) US making a big deal about ballistic missile test by Iran - immediately using it as a reason to increase sanctions. Maybe concerns about its military potential are genuine but timing seems less than co-incidental. (CHECK)
The GAUment

folks enough of firing ballistic missiles and ATGMS at each other, let all speak, and we can tolerate different POV. its not a understanding kjo/arjun/n3 thread .... pls focus on news/reports/views related to understanding the US 

I believe GOI is slowly progressing on building a strategic oil reserve store in mangalore where abu dhabi will keep it topped up.
not sure what happened on the same idea in trincomallee - perhaps IOC already owns the oil facility there?
we have another huge gas storage facility in vizag dug out of rock under some hills. a fakenews at the time was it being the rambilli caverns for our SSBN storage. not its not, thats different.
not sure what happened on the same idea in trincomallee - perhaps IOC already owns the oil facility there?
we have another huge gas storage facility in vizag dug out of rock under some hills. a fakenews at the time was it being the rambilli caverns for our SSBN storage. not its not, thats different.
DT's funded by same zionist lobby (same lobby, different faces sheldon adelson, carl icahn, wilbur ross, koch brothers) which is pro-war against Iran. They want to try different approach for Iran war. Obama had hit a ceiling in his efforts and was going nowhere.
list of 7 countries includes all of countries earlier selected for regime change. And confirmed by Gen. Wesley Clarke. So old plan, new players. New players will improve economy, remove entrenched networks dragging decisions down and overwhelm China, Russia economically and then hit out at Iran at end of DT term. This seems to be broad outline.
Heard from a chaiwala, that Donald Duck wants to change his first name
Just common sense. And what I have been saying all along.Zynda wrote:DT is very shrewd.
Its been years after the great recession and still no body is sure if the US is growing, there's talk of under employment, but one section that has gone silent just after a few months of the great recession is US software engineers.
The H1s were 65k which get increased to 85k but 200k student visas are given and then they extend the opt to nearly 3 years so students are not discouraged from coming to the US. And they don't care what kind of shady universities they came to. Are they that dumb to realize that the math doesn't add up? How hard was it for them to reduce the H1s to 40k or 20k after the subprime crisis and reduce the incoming students too?
The job losses for US software engineers is only during two exceptional events caused by the US mismanagement of its economy. If anything, Indian engineers only contributed to the recovery.
But what about the teachers who lost their jobs? Who do you blame those losses for? Cheap h1 workers of course. If a green card holder or a US citizen is worried about his software job, then it means he is not the smartest guy out there.
uber co kalanick quits the trump advisory council.
meantime its been outed that peter thiel got NZ dual citizenship 8 yrs ago under PM reco quota ...
- Location: Doing Nijikaran, Udharikaran and Baazarikaran to Commies and Assorted Leftists
Anyways, I am not sure how much of DT's hissing and threatening people to do "Make in America" and "Don't Do IT outside / oursource " etc will actually succeed before triggering inflation and a direct hit on buying power of the American people.
Why the entire business model of Walmart will be devastated. And Walmart by DEFINITION serves a lot of not "avant grade" people in semi rural/rural and exurban areas. There are whole swathes of industries where it actually makes NO sense to make in America. Sure shoes, hosiery, clothing etc are easy to understand, but so is a whole lot of services that go into making an economy competitive (think IT and stuff), and also structural changes due to tech.
It is difficult to accept , but when Mahdi told Obama, when he was being pressed to move FruitCo's manufacturing back to the US, "Foggedabout it. Those kinds of jobs are NOT coming back" . He was being truthful and prescient. And Mahdi was a true Blue Collar background. His parents were working class and he himself was a technician type at Atari computer before setting up Fruit.
The kind of manufacturing that DOES make sense is the high skilled high value type which Germany has a corner on , which Japan is very strong in, the Italians are pretty good at. Anything that is not tied to very high skills and value addition that is tied to proprietary tech and cannot be easily switched is what is going to stay. US unfortunately is simply NOT competitive in those kinds of areas (leaving out GE and Aero Industries), the rest of the high value manufacturing in US simply withered away and is actually sub scale. The US model of capitalism simply doesn't have the patience and the staying power to do it. The Japanese and German models are more sustainable for that.
Obama had the sense to listen to Mahdi and do the right thing and set about reflating the American economy and nurse it back to nearly full employment. Sure it took time, but it was done quite well by him, Ben Bernanke and Yellen. The "populists" scream of "Get our jobs back from China, Japan, Korea, India and Mexico" wont happen. The companies will if forced to a) Increase automation by substituting labour with capital (esp with capital at such historically low cost now) b) Change business models, get around it by moving only an absolutely bare minimum needed to do "make/ produce in US" to duck under any potential tariff wall ... this exactly what happens in India today in the current pre GST system where every company has a "godown/ stockyard" in every jurisdiction and gets around the octroi entry barriers the states put up , all they do is unpack bulk shipments are repack them in retail and create 10 worthwhile jobs and increase costs for everyone by creating inefficiencies in the supply chain and delays and inefficient inventory.
Sorry guys. While i fully sympathise/ empathise with the working stiff in the US who are in deep pain ( yeah, Kaliphorincashun , Texas and Yeasth Koast do well as they are globally connected and competitive) every thing in the middle will be in pain. The rust belt has a structural problem. The "unionised" wages of the old GM/Chrysler/Ford days of an high school educated guy making $100k and benefits for lifetime are gone and don't exist outside the Govt sector. And also in the supporting ecosystem that fed into those in the rust belt. It is not coming back. Those kind of jobs are still left are in policing, nursing/paramedics, paralegal, federal govt at lower levels etc and it is not the high school MALE without a degree who is going to be getting there. Increasingly women are there earlier and fit better (except perhaps policing and fire fighting etc).
This DT populism is futile. It is not going to work , it will create more misery than otherwise . Obama listened to sane counsel . DT can't so he has to do what he has to, even if it self defeating. Populism isn't always right and the smartest . It can be self defeating. Unfortunately it is here.
Why the entire business model of Walmart will be devastated. And Walmart by DEFINITION serves a lot of not "avant grade" people in semi rural/rural and exurban areas. There are whole swathes of industries where it actually makes NO sense to make in America. Sure shoes, hosiery, clothing etc are easy to understand, but so is a whole lot of services that go into making an economy competitive (think IT and stuff), and also structural changes due to tech.
It is difficult to accept , but when Mahdi told Obama, when he was being pressed to move FruitCo's manufacturing back to the US, "Foggedabout it. Those kinds of jobs are NOT coming back" . He was being truthful and prescient. And Mahdi was a true Blue Collar background. His parents were working class and he himself was a technician type at Atari computer before setting up Fruit.
The kind of manufacturing that DOES make sense is the high skilled high value type which Germany has a corner on , which Japan is very strong in, the Italians are pretty good at. Anything that is not tied to very high skills and value addition that is tied to proprietary tech and cannot be easily switched is what is going to stay. US unfortunately is simply NOT competitive in those kinds of areas (leaving out GE and Aero Industries), the rest of the high value manufacturing in US simply withered away and is actually sub scale. The US model of capitalism simply doesn't have the patience and the staying power to do it. The Japanese and German models are more sustainable for that.
Obama had the sense to listen to Mahdi and do the right thing and set about reflating the American economy and nurse it back to nearly full employment. Sure it took time, but it was done quite well by him, Ben Bernanke and Yellen. The "populists" scream of "Get our jobs back from China, Japan, Korea, India and Mexico" wont happen. The companies will if forced to a) Increase automation by substituting labour with capital (esp with capital at such historically low cost now) b) Change business models, get around it by moving only an absolutely bare minimum needed to do "make/ produce in US" to duck under any potential tariff wall ... this exactly what happens in India today in the current pre GST system where every company has a "godown/ stockyard" in every jurisdiction and gets around the octroi entry barriers the states put up , all they do is unpack bulk shipments are repack them in retail and create 10 worthwhile jobs and increase costs for everyone by creating inefficiencies in the supply chain and delays and inefficient inventory.
Sorry guys. While i fully sympathise/ empathise with the working stiff in the US who are in deep pain ( yeah, Kaliphorincashun , Texas and Yeasth Koast do well as they are globally connected and competitive) every thing in the middle will be in pain. The rust belt has a structural problem. The "unionised" wages of the old GM/Chrysler/Ford days of an high school educated guy making $100k and benefits for lifetime are gone and don't exist outside the Govt sector. And also in the supporting ecosystem that fed into those in the rust belt. It is not coming back. Those kind of jobs are still left are in policing, nursing/paramedics, paralegal, federal govt at lower levels etc and it is not the high school MALE without a degree who is going to be getting there. Increasingly women are there earlier and fit better (except perhaps policing and fire fighting etc).
This DT populism is futile. It is not going to work , it will create more misery than otherwise . Obama listened to sane counsel . DT can't so he has to do what he has to, even if it self defeating. Populism isn't always right and the smartest . It can be self defeating. Unfortunately it is here.
^^After the recession, some automobile plants of both domestic and foreign companies were set up in the US. I would assume more would be done on those lines to avoid political back lash.
- Location: Doing Nijikaran, Udharikaran and Baazarikaran to Commies and Assorted Leftists
It makes sense to make a $25K upwards car in the US . The margins are still fat enough (the US truck market is protected by import barriers and "understanding" with the Japanese and others) to sustain it. But for anything less than 15K it is unviable. Far cheaper to import.hanumadu wrote:^^After the recession, some automobile plants of both domestic and foreign companies were set up in the US. I would assume more would be done on those lines to avoid political back lash.
Or it will turn farcical like in India, where a car which is $35K in the US is sold for $100K , even if assembled in India (and high taxes added on it). Do that and the economy would be murdered with demand destruction and inflation.
Another thing that lot of people overlook is that the German export machine is TODAY supported by a massive currency scam called the Euro. The Euro is weak today because of the trouble of the Euro periphery PIIGS. A stand alone German Mark would be far stronger. TrumpanZee's team has called it correctly and the Germans are Lederhosen shivering. But that is one place where they are very correct. Northern Europe is BENEFITING from misery of S. Europe and at the cost of devastation of the PIIGs and the inability of them to drop interest rates and depreciate currency.
Same with China. All those years China should have had a STRONGER currency. The kept it weak and grew an export engine and if they NOW turn around and claim "free market rates" and let the Chinese currency depreciate, they deserve to branded a currency manipulator by TrumpanZee.
Both Germany and China caused immense misery to the world by their currency game. DT needs to take a FIRE to them on that.
Last edited by vina on 03 Feb 2017 12:23, edited 1 time in total.
The only reason UAE is keeping India topped up with oil reserves is because they don't want India to have a fit when Iran is air-striked by the US.Singha wrote:I believe GOI is slowly progressing on building a strategic oil reserve store in mangalore where abu dhabi will keep it topped up.
Its not out of the goodness of their hearts.
Our major oil supplier Iran will its oil infrastructure "Iraq-ed" out of existence. Its just so shale oil producers in the US (and Saudi Arabia) can see some oil price recovery at last (at Iran's expense).
War will send oil prices up.
Last edited by Neshant on 03 Feb 2017 12:21, edited 1 time in total.