India-US News and Discussion

shukla

Re: India-US News and Discussion

Post by shukla »

I think this would be a huge step towards US 'walking the talk'. (If it does ever materialize..) :roll:

US working out new India specific export control regime
Anticipating a wider cooperation with India in space and defence, US is working out a new India specific export control regime to ease restrictions on export of hi-tech equipment. Such an export control regime which will also address the concerns of New Delhi is expected to be in place before the November visit of President Barack Obama, a top State Department official said.

The new policy will also remove restrictions on export of hi-tech equipment and weapon sales to India. "Another India-specific review is under way", Assistant Secretary of State for South and Central Asia Robert Blake told reporters.
Another link..
US to weaken export controls for India

An Asian Entente: India, Iran, Israel
Of George W. Bush's infamous axis of evil, Iraq simmers, North Korea waxes and wanes, only Iran remains firmly in Obama's crosshairs. Two of his closest allies, Israel and India, are now on the outs with Obama. In 1907, erstwhile adversaries England, France, and Russia formed the Triple Entente, generating enduring peace between them and claiming the twentieth century for the West. At the dawn of the twenty-first, India, Iran, and Israel have the opportunity to come together and transform it to an Asian one.
The author must be smoking high quality weed.

Nikki Haley gets 48% vote in South Carolina Republican primary for governor to 22% for the nearest rival. Will face runoff vote on the 22nd. It looks very likely now that she will be the next SC governor.
bart

Post by bart »

http://news.rediff.com/column/2010/jun/ ... -india.htm

How on earth did this gullible jackass become an ambassador? He sounds like a teenage girl writing a report on a Jonas Brothers concert. And the article says he is on the 'National Security Board' !

SwamyG wrote:An Asian Entente: India, Iran, Israel
Of George W. Bush's infamous axis of evil, Iraq simmers, North Korea waxes and wanes, only Iran remains firmly in Obama's crosshairs. Two of his closest allies, Israel and India, are now on the outs with Obama. In 1907, erstwhile adversaries England, France, and Russia formed the Triple Entente, generating enduring peace between them and claiming the twentieth century for the West. At the dawn of the twenty-first, India, Iran, and Israel have the opportunity to come together and transform it to an Asian one.
The author must be smoking high quality weed.
The author is Director of GE Smart Card Initiative. Maybe it should be renamed GE Dumb Card Initiative!

On a different note please read the following article fully

http://www.ndtv.com/news/india/bhopal-t ... php?u=1409

While the article does a dutiful == between BJP and Congress, even the article can not help noticing how ALL the main decisions which helped UCC substantially and altered the case as well as the fortunes of UCC were taken with help of Congress Stalwarts.

Arjun Singh and Digvijaya Singh being most prominent. We also know their political views and history.

Is there a surprise that we see a particular behavior towards Indian Interest vis a vis US Interests since 2004.

A Sino-US article, but a very interesting development indeed.

Behind a Military Chill: A More Forceful China
General Ma laced his speech with barely disguised jabs at the United States. “A cold-war mentality still exists” in unnamed nations, he said, with “the threat to use force in international relations and interference in other countries’ internal affairs” — code language for American arms sales to Taiwan, which China regards as its territory.

In his speech, Mr. Gates was even more blunt. Military ties between the nations are “held hostage” by the Taiwan issue, he said, even though American arms sales to Taiwan “have been a reality for decades.” China cannot change that reality, he said — and in any case, Washington does not support Taiwan’s independence from the mainland.

That exchange followed China’s formal rejection last week of Mr. Gates’s proposal to stop in Beijing during his current swing through Asia. And that followed a Chinese admiral’s unexpectedly biting lecture on American “hegemony,” in a private session during last month’s Strategic and Economic Dialogue in Beijing, that left American diplomats furious and appeared to signal divergent attitudes between China’s civilian and military leaders.

A Discussion on the U.S.-India Strategic Dialogue
Assistant Secretary Robert Blake speaks at Conversations with America, June 8.

http://www.state.gov/r/pa/prs/ps/2010/06/142838.htm

Sanku wrote:On a different note please read the following article fully

http://www.ndtv.com/news/india/bhopal-t ... php?u=1409

While the article does a dutiful == between BJP and Congress, even the article can not help noticing how ALL the main decisions which helped UCC substantially and altered the case as well as the fortunes of UCC were taken with help of Congress Stalwarts.

Arjun Singh and Digvijaya Singh being most prominent. We also know their political views and history.

Is there a surprise that we see a particular behavior towards Indian Interest vis a vis US Interests since 2004.

Don't forget the stellar role played by this gentleman.

Batting for the other team right from the early dark days of the tragedy, He has consistently hit every ball for a six so far and no one will take him on because of his minority status. Jai ho.

Also Justice Ahmadi was appointed 'chairman for life' of Bhopal Memorial Hospital Trust (BMHT). Justice Ahmadi was conferred with this post-retirement responsibility by the Supreme Court itself. Jai Ho, again.

No conflict of interest?? Jai ho, once again.

http://www.dailypioneer.com/261725/Ex-C ... ctims.html

Ex-CJI rejected review plea of Bhopal victims
Thursday, June 10, 2010
PNS | New Delhi

A day after former Chief Justice of India (CJI) AM Ahmadi questioned why a review petition was not filed against his 1996 judgement diluting the charges against the accused in the Bhopal gas tragedy from culpable homicide to death due to negligence, it was revealed that a review plea filed by the victims was summarily dismissed by Justice Ahmadi without giving reasons.

Defending his September 13, 1996 decision that altered the charge against the eight accused in the Bhopal gas tragedy from culpable homicide (IPC Section 304 Part II) to death caused by negligence (IPC Section 304A), Justice Ahmadi on Tuesday had said that if his decision was questionable why no review plea was filed.

On Wednesday, spilling the beans on the case, Rachna Dhingra, coordinator of International Campaign on Justice for Bhopal said that the review was filed by Bhopal Gas Peedit Sahyog Samiti and the same was rejected by the Bench headed by Justice Ahmadi without giving any reasons.

“The matter was taken up in chambers and without going into the merits of the case, it was summarily dismissed by the judges without issuing us notice,” Dhingra said. When confronted with this fact, Justice Ahmadi feigned ignorance and said, “I do not recollect if any such review petition was filed.”

According to Dhingra, the review petition was dismissed by an order passed on November 26, 1996 without giving any reasons. The NGO had requested the court to reconsider its decision to drop serious charges against the accused as there was crucial evidence that was overlooked in the case.
Last edited by chetak on 10 Jun 2010 22:31, edited 1 time in total.

And not mention he now heads a charity located in Bhopal and funded by Union Carbide as posted in one of the threads.....
Fidel Guevara

Post by Fidel Guevara »

Spelling bee winner part of Indian-American streak
Shantanu Srivatsa and Anamika Veeramani sat nervously, side by side on stage.

Once again, an Indian-American was going to win the Scripps National Spelling Bee. It was just a matter of what word and what time on Friday.

Shantanu, 13, an eighth-grader from West Fargo, N.D., stepped to the microphone first and couldn't spell "ochidore." :?: Anamika — showing the cool demeanor she kept throughout — kept her hands behind her back and rattled off the correct letters for the medical term "stromuhr." :?: She didn't crack a smile until the trophy was presented. "It was too surreal," she said. "It was an amazing experience. I usually have a poker face, so that's what that was." The 14-year-old girl from North Royalton, Ohio, won the 83rd bee, claiming the trophy and more than $40,000 in cash and prizes — some of which she says she intends to spend.

She also became the third consecutive Indian-American bee champion.

Indian-Americans comprise less than 1 percent of the U.S. population according to 2000 census data, but they have an impressive bee winning streak — taking the trophy in eight of the past 12 years. 8)
So while the Foreign Service honchos are scratching their heads trying to improve ties with the US, this 14-year old girl calmly presented the best of the best face of Indians to mainstream America...the eighth kid in 12 years to boost the image of Indians in the US (and by extension the image of India itself). Over the last few years, the Spelling Bee is telecast live at primetime on ABC - no less than the Super Bowl or any NBA championship game...lots of exposure where it counts - inside people's minds!

Fidel Guevara:

Hold your horses mate. You are giving this spelling bee crap, which at best shows rote skills (mug pot as we used to say in IIT Chennai :-)), way too much importance. But even otherwise, you are missing some serious issues. First, as you very well know, TFTA Americans fromJow Six pack, to Paris Hilton to whoever are so full of themselves that the only images of India they have is that of SDRE, caste, cow worship, "India and Paaaakistaaaan", "my Indian friend", "I love/hate Indian food", or "those smart Indians" type condescending tripe etc. One more successful SDRE making it in a well-oiled system, strengthening the well-oiled system further is no consolation for India. Finally, we don't even know whether Anamika has any pride for her Indian roots (she could very well have) or she is another Nikki Haley or a Bobby Jindal who run from their Indian roots like a dog whose tail is on fire.

CRamS wrote:Fidel Guevara:

Hold your horses mate. You are giving this spelling bee crap, which at best shows rote skills (mug pot as we used to say in IIT Chennai :-))
If you think spelling bee requires rote skills, you just know half the story. Often the word is something the contestant has not heard before. Spelling the word requires a deep study of etymology, the origin and roots of words, and then creating a systemic mental way of organizing that information to guess the spelling. That is why they focus on the meaning and the origin of the word which allows the contestant to guess how the word is likely to be spelled. Etymology itself is a fascinating area where you learn that shampoo came from the Indian word champi... (and other fascinating things).

I do agree that the Indian American penchant for training for these contests is a bit overdone, and not something I will instill. However I will not discourage any natural inclination to learn those things either.

CRS, Bobby Jindal and Nikki Haley are two Indian origin people who have or will become Governors and that too in Deep South and representing the Republicans. They have shown that Indians are electable unlike the patter put by Democrats that they should seek appointed positions and hand over money in fund raisers.

I met Bobby Jindal at TANA 2003 in San Jose and still retain contacts.
Am sending my check for Nikki Hawley for she needs our support now.
My test is support the Indian if you can. I might not like their personal choices but will support them.
Carl_T

Post by Carl_T »

Since you met him, is he really the self-hating Indian that Indians in the US are describing him as?

Post by amdavadi »

i totally agree with ramana sir...i send check to desi girl running in NY

we got to support Indians in both parties.

What do you guys mean "Indian"? Have both Bobby Jindal and Nikki Haley ever uttered anything, let alone positive about their Indian roots? In contrast, Bobby Jindal explictly states that he has has nothing to do with his Indian culture (60 minutes intgerview). Contrast this with Jews or East Europeans who will never shy away from narrating their Jewish experience or holocaust or Communist oppression to highlight what shapes them. What stops from Nikki or Bobby to say something about their Indian roots and upbringing or values that shaped them? Their silence not only says something about them, but also about the people they desparatelly want to be like. Their conversion to Christianity is not borne out of any spiritual conviction IMO; its out of self loathing. They are just run of the mill, self-loathing, wannabe white, desparately doing whatever is needed including disassociating from their soul by converting just to be embraced by the people (whites) who they are not. Let me however add that they have committed no crime, but they are not Indian nor have any love for the well-being India or Indians (unlike Jews for Israel), and do not deserve my attention nor that of other Indians.

Nikki Haley does sometimes go to the gurudwara with her parents I hear.
Bhima

Post by Bhima »

derkonig
Location: Jeering sekular forces bhile Furiously malishing my mijjile @ Led Lips Mijjile Malish Palish Parloul

Post by derkonig »

The uber sekoolaar first family and its glorious nationalism re. bhopal tragedy.
More importantly, how come MMS isn't losing sleep over this? Aren't a sizeable chunk of the victims from Relijjun of Piss?
http://ibnlive.in.com/news/anderson-fre ... ml?from=tn

The manner in which the BP head has been "invited" to the White House to be read ther riot act by Obama,is in stark contrast to the sordid manner in which Warren Anderson,culpable for the deaths of 20,000+ Indians was in VIP style whisked away from his Bhopal UC guest house "jail" in the state's offical aircraft seen off by babu and cop and received as an honoured guest in Delhi,sighted outside parliament in another VIP vehicle,never to be seen in India again.If the Israelis and Europeans can prosecute aging "one-foot-in-the-grave" Nazi war criminals,there is no reason why Anderson cannot also be brought to India to face the music.The shameless western flunkeys and manservants who masquerade as India's top leadership,especially those in the Congress Party, have shown their utter servility to Uncle Sam,whose duplicity has also been exposed over Obama's outrageous demands not to scuttle the N-Liability bill because of Bhopal, while he vows to extract every "nickel and dime" from BP!

wow..arm twisting at best.

derkonig wrote:The uber sekoolaar first family and its glorious nationalism re. bhopal tragedy.
More importantly, how come MMS isn't losing sleep over this? Aren't a sizeable chunk of the victims from Relijjun of Piss?
http://ibnlive.in.com/news/anderson-fre ... ml?from=tn
Derkonig-garu (BTW how did you pronounce your name to make it human sounding :mrgreen: )

MMS too is a rational player. His priority order is

Amreki Interests > SG/RG Interests > Minority Interests > ROP Interests > Self Image Interests > Indian Interests > Indic Interests.
derkonig
Location: Jeering sekular forces bhile Furiously malishing my mijjile @ Led Lips Mijjile Malish Palish Parloul

Post by derkonig »

Saar, the last 2 interests don't exist for MMS & you need to add Paki interests in there as well, just after Royal Family interests

Carl_T wrote:Since you met him, is he really the self-hating Indian that Indians in the US are describing him as?
Not really. If it were so he wouldnt mingle with desi crowd from Andhra! And he is really brilliant.

The main problem is Indian Americans are not ready to accept that others might leave their faith for their own reasons. Its a feeling of hurt and possibility of poaching by other religions.

For example AR Rehman did leave Hinduism for Islam. No takleef there. Or Telugu actress Jayasudha found Jesus.

As I said my test is if its Indic on Indic I apply finer analysis. If its Indic vs non-Indic all such things go away.
Sorry for being parochial.

Carl_T wrote:Since you met him, is he really the self-hating Indian that Indians in the US are describing him as?
Not really. If it were so he wouldnt mingle with desi crowd from Andhra! And he is really brilliant.
Boss, thats no indication, none at all, about his wannabe predilection. You give enough moolah to the likes of Sarah Palin, and other right wing nuts who could care two hoots about India; they will also show up and grace the occasion.

I may have alluded to this anecdote earlier, but several years ago, I was at the over-hyped MIT media lab in Boston to manage some projects my company was sponsoring. One of the honcho profs, more of a suave, smooth talking PR buff than a sound researcher to boot was loudly proclaiming his hectic travel schedule to give invited talks, and the way he mocked IISc made me angry and livid, not at him, but at IISc. Apparently, IISc begged this guy to come and bless them with an all-expenses paid (first class + 5 start accomodation + Gora sahib tretament by locals) and huge fee. The Prof went on to add that he never heard of these guys, and didn't want to waste his time, but IISc kept bugging him, each time upping the talking fee, and finally the offer was so big, he said he would have been stupid to decline.

My point is what the f%^&k did IISc get out of this except some useless high-level hot air from this prof and to proclaim that some MIT honcho visited them? Likewise, I hear that puke Uneven Cohen is hot commodity for many Indian think tanks. Sure he goes and laps up the royal, fawning treatment and reminisces about his "Indian friends". And we all know what a slime ball Uneven is; but if you mention his name to many of his fawning fans in India, they will say exactly what you are saying about BJ.
Last edited by CRamS on 11 Jun 2010 20:43, edited 1 time in total.

^^^ He is very good at mingling with the Desi crowd to get money from them. Conversion sounds really dubious to say the least. We don't need gunga dins to represent the desi community. We need Disraelis.

The main problem is Indian Americans are not ready to accept that others might leave their faith for their own reasons. Its a feeling of hurt and possibility of poaching by other religions.
It is the question how much the EJ groups project the person as a role model for their ethnic plans globally.

Appalling, to support Indians or any identifiable group solely because of ancestry.

There is a politician in the city from India who got in on the first generation Indian vote. His speeches are an insult to my intelligence; the man is an embarrassment to the Hindu races (hehehe). His public presentation is aimed bang on at the Grade 6 linguistic ability set.

Now how parochial should I be in voting for this donkey?

I have no problem people converting to the religion du jour, if it brings them Jesus or Allah or Benjamen Franklins or votes.

But then no one should feel compelled to conceal their distaste, not just at the Hindu but even if it is a Sikh convert to Christianity or a Chinese convert to Baptism, etc?

read the content and tone of this letter and tell me the GOI is not staffed at highest levels with man-servants of white massa.

ibnlive.

Dow Chemicals pushed, ordered Indian govt
Varun Kumar and Karma Paljor , CNN-IBN
Posted on Jun 12, 2010 at 08:59 | Updated Jun 12, 2010 at 09:14

New Delhi: Dow Chemicals, the company that acquired Union Carbide Corp, which is blamed for the Bhopal gas tragedy in 1984, pressed the government to meet its business demands and almost seems to be ordering it.

The weekly Outlook magazine says that Dow Chemicals company had been actively lobbying with the government two years ago. The magazine’s revelation comes just two days after CNN-IBN reported how Congress spokesperson Abhishek Manu Singhvi provided legal opinion to Dow Chemicals based on a reference from the Prime Minister's Office.

Documents accessed by the magazine reveal that the company almost went to the extent of ordering and lecturing the Indian government.

Dow Chemicals CEO Andrew Liveris' letter to P Chidambaram, who was Finance Minister then, almost seem to be pushing him for the company’s growth in India.

"It is critical [that] the government of India speaks in one voice on issues of foreign direct investment and sustained domestic economic growth. We value your direct assistance in ensuring that all ministries operate on the basis of messages we have received from the Prime Minister himself," says Liveris’ letter, dated October 2008.

What is even more shocking is that in the letter Liveris even sets targets for the government.

"We remain committed to exploring further investment in India but need your support and actions to resolve these issues. We look for tangible evidence of government action in the next 30 days," Liveris writes in the letter, copies of which are available with Outlook and CNN-IBN.

Liveris met with Prime Minister Manmohan Singh during his 2008 US tour.

In the past, Dow Chemicals suffered setbacks in its businesses in India. Its contract with Indian Oil got cancelled after it was revealed that the technology involved was developed by Union Carbide. The company also faces CBI investigation into a bribery case involving Dow subsidiary De-Nocial

Singha wrote:
"It is critical [that] the government of India speaks in one voice on issues of foreign direct investment and sustained domestic economic growth. We value your direct assistance in ensuring that all ministries operate on the basis of messages we have received from the Prime Minister himself," says Liveris’ letter, dated October 2008.

"We remain committed to exploring further investment in India but need your support and actions to resolve these issues. We look for tangible evidence of government action in the next 30 days," Liveris writes in the letter, copies of which are available with Outlook and CNN-IBN.
India is now owned by the MNCs just like EIC. India is owned now

Nikki Haley Reflects More Christian Tone, but even devout Christians are doubting her sincerity:

The bottom line: Haley and the Sikh faith were an important part of her storyline…back in 2004. But today there are no Sikh references are on her website or campaign literature. And that website language has become more overtly Christian.

When asked to specifically address why Sikh references were more overt in 2004 than in 2010, Pearson didn't provide us with an answer to that question.

I said during the debate on the Indo US Nuclear deal and I will say it again - MMS is an agent of influence of the Anghlo American empire.

I'm afraid I tend to agree with Abhisheck! Just "10 days" of trials for the C-17,before gates pulls the plug and closes the production line."30 days" to fall in line,the world's largest democracy is behaving worse than a banana republic! Even a "coconut republic" liek Sri Lanka shows infinitly more guts than the aging geronntocracy of the Congress,now in a vicious fight to the death over who let Warren Anderson off the hook!

Just see how th Brits are taking Obama to task for his vindictive pursuit of BP,who are responsible for the great oil spill.His "kick ass " statement is now bringing him his deserved just rewards from the Brits.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/news ... Obama.html

Gulf of Mexico BP oil spill: Nick Clegg accuses 'tit for tat' Barack Obama
Nick Clegg suggested that Barack Obama was engaged in a “tit for tat diplomatic spat” by employing anti-British rhetoric over the BP oil disaster.

By Rosa Prince, Fiona Govan and James Kirkup
The Deputy Prime Minister made his remarks after the US president declared earlier this week that he was looking for “some ass to kick” following BP’s persistent failure to plug the Gulf of Mexico oil leak.
David Cameron spoke on the phone to Mr Svanberg, stressing that it was in “everyone’s interests that BP continues to be a financially strong company”. Tony Hayward, BP’s chief executive, yesterday warned its biggest shareholders that the firm was “likely” to suspend its forthcoming dividend payment, of $10 billion (£6.86 billion), for up to six months.

Business leaders have criticised the Prime Minister’s failure to demand that Mr Obama tone down his antagonistic statements. The president has described the company as “British Petroleum,” a name it has not used for years.

Asked about Mr Obama’s suggestion that he would like to be able to sack Mr Hayward, Mr Clegg said: “I don’t frankly think we will reach a solution to stopping release of oil into the ocean any quicker by allowing this to spiral into a tit for tat political diplomatic spat.

“I’m not going to start intervening in a debate which clearly risks descending into megaphone diplomacy.” His words, during an official visit to Madrid, highlighted the continuing reticence of Mr Cameron over what has come to be seen as the first test of the “special relationship” of the Coalition.

The Prime Minister has faced calls to be more robust in his defence of British interests, particularly given BP’s key relationship to the pension pots of millions.

Self Deleted

Sanku's concern is valid.
Last edited by Venkarl on 12 Jun 2010 16:27, edited 1 time in total.

Acharya wrote: India is now owned by the MNCs just like EIC. India is owned now
abhischekcc wrote:I said during the debate on the Indo US Nuclear deal and I will say it again - MMS is an agent of influence of the Anghlo American empire.
Philip wrote:I'm afraid I tend to agree with Abhisheck!
IMHO, anybody who supports electronic voting cannot be trusted. I'm afraid there seem to be some elements from the BJP, too, in that camp.

This is how serious discussions go downhill into conspiracy theories.

All but perhaps 2-3 people on BRF support EVMs (including me) we are all agents of the west?

Talk about self goals.

Sanku wrote:This is how serious discussions go downhill into conspiracy theories.

All but perhaps 2-3 people on BRF support EVMs (including me) we are all agents of the west?

Talk about self goals.
Hmm ... I haven't seen too many people supporting EVMs, apart from you and 2-3 others.

As regards being agents .... no offense intended, but there is also a "useful idiot" category.

[This is not a comment about anybody's views on any other issue.]