India Nuclear News and Discussion 4 July 2011

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India Nuclear News and Discussion 4 July 2011

http://in.news.yahoo.com/anti-nuke-grou ... 20511.html

Anti-nuke groups, Shiv Sena abort pro-Jaitpur meeting
Several NGOs and the Shiv Sena, opposing the proposed 9,900 MW Jaitapur Nuclear Power Plant Sunday aborted a meeting to be addressed by eminent nuclear scientist Anil Kakodkar on the benefits of nuclear power, an official said.

Kakodkar was scheduled to deliver the keynote address at a conference on sustainable energy at the A.M. College in Hativale, according to anti-JNPP activist Vaishali Patil.

However, the programme was cancelled at the last minute Sunday afternoon by the organisers after threats by anti-JNPP groups to disrupt the proceedings, even as all the invited groups also boycotted the function, she said.

Now, the programme is scheduled to be held at a college in Pune for two days starting Monday, but the Shiv Sena and other NGOs have vowed to disrupt it since Kakodkar is a known proponent of JNPP.

'Our opposition to the project is well known since over a year now and we feel that government-sponsored officials are attempting to mislead the people here and other parts of the country,' Patil told IANS.

Incidentally, in the past, local Congress activists had demonstrated and disrupted meetings of the anti-JNPP and other groups opposing the nuclear project coming up at Jaitapur in Ratnagiri district.

Patil added that all the anti-JNPP groups have taken serious umbrage at the recent statements by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on foreign support to NGOs attempting to derail mega-developmental projects in the country.

Good hai, Manmohan gets yet another feather in his cap, his rants do not help in moving forward the matter at KKNP a whit, whereas incensing even more folks.

Ok I am going to go out on a limb and make a claim

"Man mohan is deliberately being ham handed in execution of matters related to Nuclear energy and security with doing all that he can to rub people off the wrong way since the nuclear programs are not quite evolving in the direction that he envisaged"

Its not merely obvious incompetence on Manmohan's part.

You vote out DMK- INC, lesser Central Power allocated to you.

negi wrote:I think there is nothing that stops the Church or any religious org. from receiving foreign funds; the problem is with using those funds to create nuisance in the state. Issue of nuclear power and it's associated risks are imho outside of Church's area of expertise unless the reactor in question was in any way encroaching upon it's territory church has no business to get involved. I am pretty sure that there are clauses under the IPC under which the church can be held accountable for it's actions. The problem is it won't take much time for the state itself to politicize this issue , give it a religious tinge and then sweep the whole thing under the carpet of peace and harmony using the secular broom.
I agree with you, but also say (OT here) is that once the money is "inside" India for a shady NGO or under religious garb, there is nearly nothing that a state can do to track misuse. Sure there can be post damage control exercise, but thats like trying to plug leaks in a old corroded pipe instead of controlling the water flow.

The issue of handling religious bodies, needs massive revamp -- however as you said, even the smaller steps will raise the "secularist demons" in India into a rampage. So a huge gap between what needs to be done for Indian interests but will be done for it.

Sanku wrote:^^^
Good hai, Manmohan gets yet another feather in his cap, his rants do not help in moving forward the matter at KKNP a whit, whereas incensing even more folks.

Ok I am going to go out on a limb and make a claim

"Man mohan is deliberately being ham handed in execution of matters related to Nuclear energy and security with doing all that he can to rub people off the wrong way since the nuclear programs are not quite evolving in the direction that he envisaged"

Its not merely obvious incompetence on Manmohan's part.

I hope the learned poster realises that he has done a remarkable == between Shiv Sena and the Church groups (who have been variously labelled as anti Indian etc in this debate).

In a way he's right. Various fringe rightwing groups have a tendency to back the same extreme positions. Anti-nuclear is just the latest in a long list.

BTW I've always wondered why an opportunistic party like Shiv Sena suddenly became anti Jaitapur. I used to think that it could be due to all the mega coal fired power projects which were being planned by Reliance, Tatas etc. However, a recent article posted here did give me a tubelight moment, remember the one that claimed that the Jaitapur area was a landing site for smugglers who didn't want the spotlight on the area which a nuclear power plant would bring (due to enhanced security).

PS: And yes according to this poster, the PM of India has to be careful not to rub various rightwing groups who take extreme positions the wrong way. Long live Indian Democracy!
Last edited by amit on 27 Feb 2012 14:43, edited 1 time in total.

negi wrote:I think there is nothing that stops the Church or any religious org. from receiving foreign funds; the problem is with using those funds to create nuisance in the state. Issue of nuclear power and it's associated risks are imho outside of Church's area of expertise unless the reactor in question was in any way encroaching upon it's territory church has no business to get involved. I am pretty sure that there are clauses under the IPC under which the church can be held accountable for it's actions. The problem is it won't take much time for the state itself to politicize this issue , give it a religious tinge and then sweep the whole thing under the carpet of peace and harmony using the secular broom.
I agree with you, but also say (OT here) is that once the money is "inside" India for a shady NGO or under religious garb, there is nearly nothing that a state can do to track misuse. Sure there can be post damage control exercise, but thats like trying to plug leaks in a old corroded pipe instead of controlling the water flow.

The issue of handling religious bodies, needs massive revamp -- however as you said, even the smaller steps will raise the "secularist demons" in India into a rampage. So a huge gap between what needs to be done for Indian interests but will be done for it.
Christian missions pump whopping funds to NGOs
Amid uproar over the Government’s disclosure about foreign funding to NGOs to fuel anti-nuclear protests in Kudankulam, the latest report of the Home Ministry showed that more than Rs10,000 crore was pumped into India during 2009-2010, mostly from the USA and Europe to NGOs in India.
that major donors from abroad and receivers in India are Christian Missionaries and Church-sponsored NGOs.
The analysis of the Home Ministry’s 42-page report shows that 14,233 NGOs received foreign contribution of Rs10,337.59 crore. The highest contribution came to Delhi (Rs1,815.91 crore) followed by Tamil Nadu (Rs1,663.31 crore) and Andhra Pradesh (Rs1,324.87 crore). Interestingly, in district-wise analysis Chennai topped the list of foreign contribution with Rs871.60 crore, followed by Bengaluru (Rs703.43 crore) and Mumbai (Rs606.63 crore).

The biggest fund inflow to NGOs has come from the USA (Rs3,105.73 crore) followed by Germany (Rs1,046.30 crore) and the UK (Rs1,038.68 crore). .. The donor missionaries have also formed their Indian subsidiaries.
The other toppers come from Italy (Rs583.47 crore), the Netherlands (Rs509.46 crore), Spain (Rs437.25 crore) Switzerland (Rs302.06 crore), Canada (Rs297.98 crore), France (Rs189.12 crore) and Australia (Rs148.28). The eleventh big donor to Indian NGOs is from UAE with Rs133.15 crore.
“The list of foreign donors is topped by the Gospel For Asia Inc of the USA (Rs232.71 crore) followed by Fundacion Vicente Ferrer, Barcelona, Spain (Rs228.60 crore) and the World Vision Global Centre of the USA (Rs197.62 crore),” said the report of Home Ministry on foreign contribution and regulation for the period of year 2009-2010. These three are evangelical organisations. The fourth largest donor, Compassion International, is also from the US (Rs131.57 core) and belongs to the same category.
“The highest amount of foreign contribution was received by the World Vision of India, Chennai, Tamil Nadu (Rs 208.94 crore), followed by the Rural Development Trust, Ananthapur, AP (Rs 151.31 crore), and Shri Sevasubramania Nadar Educational Charitable Trust, Chennai (Rs. 94.28 crore).
The top 4 recipients are evangelical trusts, and not atheist charities. The Arab countries are not even in the top 10 donors. The list includes whos who of first world countries - USA, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Canada, France, Australia. As also Russia, China, Africans, South Americans are not in the top 10, please note this may not mean these countries are carefree or careless.

Vishvak, Hawala channel payments are not considered, like SA funding to Hurrirat, so that will not show up.

amit wrote: :D
I hope the learned poster realises that he has done a remarkable == between Shiv Sena and the Church groups (who have been variously labelled as anti Indian etc in this debate).
In a way he's right. Various fringe rightwing groups have a tendency to back the same extreme positions. Anti-nuclear is just the latest in a long list.
BTW I've always wondered why an opportunistic party like Shiv Sena suddenly became anti Jaitapur. I used to think that it could be due to all the mega coal fired power projects which were being planned by Reliance, Tatas etc. However, a recent article posted here did give me a tubelight moment, remember the one that claimed that the Jaitapur area was a landing site for smugglers who didn't want the spotlight on the area which a nuclear power plant would bring (due to enhanced security).
PS: And yes according to this poster, the PM of India has to be careful not to rub various rightwing groups who take extreme positions the wrong way. Long live Indian Democracy!
I know. Long live Indian democracy! onlee!
Who woulda thunk eh? Literate. Educated. Yet threatening that the PM of India is forcing them to resort to violence.

Two things that had me wondering.

- Ever wondered why humans always lay the blame squarely on opposing side for violence. Here you see a poster laying the blame on PM for the violence that is about to ensue. I have wondered why these lot cannot take responsibility for their actions - be a man , grow a pair and say have resorted to violence because you want this issue to resolved through violence. I only reason I think they do this is because their conviction is suspect, they cannot argue under peaceful conditions for lack of any scientific/moral backing, and therefore need the understanding and support of more people to empathize with their situation. Mob mentality kind of thingy!

- Wondered what makes the the claims of Indian scientists and planners less trustworthy than the Scandinavian leftist loonies.

Neela wrote:I know. Long live Indian democracy! onlee!
Who woulda thunk eh? Literate. Educated. Yet threatening that the PM of India is forcing them to resort to violence.

Two things that had me wondering.

- Ever wondered why humans always lay the blame squarely on opposing side for violence. Here you see a poster laying the blame on PM for the violence that is about to ensue. I have wondered why these lot cannot take responsibility for their actions - be a man , grow a pair and say have resorted to violence because you want this issue to resolved through violence. I only reason I think they do this is because their conviction is suspect, they cannot argue under peaceful conditions for lack of any scientific/moral backing, and therefore need the understanding and support of more people to empathize with their situation. Mob mentality kind of thingy!

- Wondered what makes the the claims of Indian scientists and planners less trustworthy than the Scandinavian leftist loonies.
+100.

Neela, I'd just like to add that of late I've not been participating in the debate on this thread but I've been reading your posts and they make great sense to me.

On a general note I'd like to add that there's no need for political conformity and folks have a right - and indeed a duty - to form opinions independent of what the Govt of the day wants them to on matters pertaining to India and the direction that it takes.

However, opposition to every single position taken by the GoI just for the heck of it or because one has a visceral dislike for the GoI or the people who represent the GoI, IMHO just shows an immaturity and incapability to think things through in a rational manner.

The present party in power has been and is wrong on several issues which are of vital importance to India and should indeed be condemned or bought to task. However, again IMVHO, on the nuclear issue it has been right on the ball ever since the Nuke agreement with the US. I think ample evidence of that has been provided on the various avatars of this thread.

Bottomline, I think on technical threads like this (as opposed to out and out political threads) opposition to the present GoI should be issue based.

JMT, take it for what it's worth.

amit wrote: :D

Kindly avoid intrepreting my post to say things which I have not Amit.

You may have a personal khujli to say things like
In a way he's right. Various fringe rightwing groups have a tendency to back the same extreme positions.

Which as always you would want to make off some one else shoulder, but please desist.

If you are not capable of reading a simple statement without inserting your own mischievous spin on it, show a modicum of good sense and stay out.

Otherwise you will get called time and again.

amit wrote: Bottomline, I think on technical threads like this (as opposed to out and out political threads) opposition to the present GoI should be issue based.
It is issue based, the issue is that the current leadership of GoI (which is not GoI, a fact lost on India == Indira crowd) is fundamentally incompetent and totally useless (and that is being charitable, primarily under the fear of mod's danda :mrgreen: )

So basically the axiom "Jo Lahore mein......." holds true, and some of us do our fundamental duty to point out that applying lipstick on a pig does not make it Ash Rai and expecting the lippy-piggy to act is fundamental blunder.

That is basically the core issue, the others matters are symptoms.
Actually it was worthless, but took it up anyway. Habit I guess, of dealing with such like.

What can I say? Press a buzzer and the fog horn rings out with a screech - reason and logic be damn! :roll:

To repeat, Man mohans recent "There are firang funded NGOs blocking KKNP" is a rant from him exactly on the lines of "There is governance deficit in the country" in that

1) It tells what everyone already knew.
2) Side steps the fact that the element (governance failure/external meddling) IS NOT a force of nature event but essentially an statement of "Man mohan has not been doing his job"; i.e. trying to make fundamental failures by GoI into a "given" -- "shit happens" type of view.
3) It does not say how the matter has been addressed in past or will be addressed in future, apart from "we are looking into it" No firm time lines, no progress report on improvements. But offers some pointless statements on some vague assurances.
4) Omits a large part of technical issues in both cases.

It is therefore, a rant like the previous one, and will have the same outcome, i.e. nothing will happen to the issue other than the useless sound bite, till the time for next useless sound bite.

amit wrote::rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

What can I say? Press a buzzer and the fog horn rings out with a screech - reason and logic be damn! :roll:
If only you could apply that self realization more broadly in your thinking pattern.

Anyway, I dont particularly have hopes, good amusement nevertheless.

Sanku wrote:3) It does not say how the matter has been addressed in past or will be addressed in future, apart from "we are looking into it" No firm time lines, no progress report on improvements. But offers some pointless statements on some vague assurances.
So you expect the PM to give details on how the matter is to be tackled in a press interview so that a certain poster of BRF can be reassured that he's not giving some "vague assurances"?

I'm sure you've missed the other reports which named the NGOs which was a clear warning to them to cease and desist?

Frothing in the mouth doesn't add substance to rants.

My last post on this issue to you because I've found it worthwhile to let you have the last word. (Saves a lot of energy in trying to explain the nuances of various issues).

Meanwhile, Jaitapur agitation = just agitation = KKNP agitation axiom remains in your world view. [After all you're the one who brought up the == in the first place]

Cheers!

amit wrote:
Sanku wrote:3) It does not say how the matter has been addressed in past or will be addressed in future, apart from "we are looking into it" No firm time lines, no progress report on improvements. But offers some pointless statements on some vague assurances.
So you expect the PM to give details on how the matter is to be tackled in a press interview so that a certain poster of BRF can be reassured that he's not giving some "vague assurances"?
Actually I dont want the press interview, I want useful action and I == citizen of India.

Yes the NATION expects more than PM to come on TV and rant.

Some meaningful content would have been (had he felt the extreme need to come on TV before doing anything much on the issue)

1) How has the agitation been lessened so far. What peoples group who were being misled by NGO with external funding are no longer with them. Show results of mind-change on the ground, with evidence.
2) Talk of legal actions taken, "cancelling of licenses" pooh, that was really brave move, Man mohan's whiskers must be twitching at the great action. (Are all NGOs taken care of? What of other NGOs? what of the persecuting them?)
3) Talk of future time lines.
4) Talk of concrete agreement with JJ on the next step.
5) Put forth when KKNP will come on line.
6) Put forth on what has been done by GoI on Kalam plan. What are the other parts that GoI had to do.

Man mohan should realize that being PM of India involves more than coming on TV wringing hands and saying :he dun it"
Last edited by Sanku on 27 Feb 2012 17:17, edited 2 times in total.

amit wrote: I'm sure you've missed the other reports which named the NGOs which was a clear warning to them to cease and desist?

Clear warning to cease and desist, after waiting for 6 months+ "three" NGOs are warned. After holding a "nuclear plant" hostage for the period.

Wow I am sure they must be quacking in their boots.

==============================

I some how wonder why such "firm action" was not seen when Man mohan got sleeping women and children beaten up at 3 AM in morning.

My my, the poor sods could have used the "firm action".

amit wrote: Meanwhile, Jaitapur agitation = just agitation = KKNP agitation axiom remains in your world view. [After all you're the one who brought up the == in the first place]
Yet another deliberate, mischievous "put words in others mouth" exercise.

The main debating technique for some I guess.

amit wrote: On a general note I'd like to add that there's no need for political conformity and folks have a right - and indeed a duty - to form opinions independent of what the Govt of the day wants them to on matters pertaining to India and the direction that it takes.
However, opposition to every single position taken by the GoI just for the heck of it or because one has a visceral dislike for the GoI or the people who represent the GoI, IMHO just shows an immaturity and incapability to think things through in a rational manner.
The present party in power has been and is wrong on several issues which are of vital importance to India and should indeed be condemned or bought to task. However, again IMVHO, on the nuclear issue it has been right on the ball ever since the Nuke agreement with the US. I think ample evidence of that has been provided on the various avatars of this thread.
Bottomline, I think on technical threads like this (as opposed to out and out political threads) opposition to the present GoI should be issue based.
What you said is something most people do not realize - a neighbourhood that has political climes that run the show with iron fists, hypocritical religio-fascist mottos and gross human rights violations. We stand there in the middle of all this , towering over and above the rest with our unique,un-shallow concept of what is right and what is wrong. We must be grateful for the existing setup and must be grateful for the slow, steady progress of our governmetn institutions. Yes, there are serious issues. No one is denying that. But we have , for 60 yeaers, in general have had a tendency of moving in the right direction.

The problem as I see it is that people misusing the democratic platform, or rather misunderstanding the democratic platform as freedom to do what they please (e.g violence).
In the Vaterland, a Eur 350 fine is imposed on anyone NOT respecting the position of a police officer - i.e. not addressing him with respect. Have heard people complain about this. What the pcuk? I tell them - you subscribed to this and now you are complaining this is not fair?
When this is spoken to Indians, there is all praise on how things are run. However, the same lot throw all kinds of garbage on the GoI institutions, police officers . the Indian state does not go after these lot. It can. But it does not. Once again, be thankful for that! They should travel across borders North east or North west and try the same. Will be back in no time in a body bag. What the peck does this poster think - threatening violence at the highest elected office of this land? Does he not understand that the democratic institutions are precisely there to address such concerns peacefully? And us lot are the literate ones ? hrmmpphh! Like you said t, the immaturity to think in a rational manner despite the presence democratic platforms show poeple in pi$$ poor light,
We have what we have - flawed or otherwise. Learn the system. And if you are smart, use the system. Violence - can work for short term. But remember, the GoI has all the time and all the resources - and it can come down with all its might when it wants to . So the loser is always the side opposing the Goi with violence.

Neela wrote: We have what we have - flawed or otherwise. Learn the system. And if you are smart, use the system.
Option 3 change the system. The system is not god given, neither in Europe neither here, every where it works because there is minimum consensus around it.
Violence - can work for short term.
BTW where did violence get in the picture? Irrespective of any views on any merits of protests, I do not think violence has yet been a issue here.
But remember, the GoI has all the time and all the resources - and it can come down with all its might when it wants to . So the loser is always the side opposing the Goi with violence.
That is actually a matter of great debate in many threads, but for here it suffices to say, where and how the Govt acts, is certainly not infinite (even if powerful) and its actions and omissions both show the hand that steers the GoI.

For example, in case of Baba Ramdev, violence was quick in coming, but will not be in KKNP case (for a large number of reasons)

There is no genuine case for the agitation in question , fact is the people running the show have political aspirations and what better way to make a foray than a good and noble cause like say no to a costly and dangerous source of power like nuclear energy.

For the time being even if one were to give benifit of doubt to the NGOs , the Church and others involved in the protests the question to be asked is why didn't these worthies seek a legal recourse to settle this issue ? Because it was less noisy and hence less appealing as far as fueling public outrage is concerned ? Where were these worthies when the first plans for KKNP were made public , how is that they have this tube light moment when the reactor is about to go critical ?

The GoI like always is too slow to react, I for one don't believe that GoI was not aware of the source of the funding until MMS uttered it in public, Btw I am not sure as to what difference does it make unless a lathi charge is in order for those who are coming in way of the project. The talks alone won't yield any results the fear of government and it's machinery needs to be instilled in the minds of the rabble rousers.

I dont think Man mohan is remotely interested in doing anything positive for either KKNP or Nuclear sector, mice are getting to play when the cat is away.

A combination of soft + hard approach could have fixed the matter, IFF the intent was there. Rest is all dossier diplomacy.

^Well on the contrary I think nuclear energy is sort of his baby specially in light of his role in seeing the N deal through. I for one don't think MMS has any personal agenda when it comes to the agitation in question , GoI's response IMHO has been on expected lines i.e indifferent and delayed.

negi wrote:For the time being even if one were to give benifit of doubt to the NGOs , the Church and others involved in the protests the question to be asked is why didn't these worthies seek a legal recourse to settle this issue ? Because it was less noisy and hence less appealing as far as fueling public outrage is concerned ? Where were these worthies when the first plans for KKNP were made public , how is that they have this tube light moment when the reactor is about to go critical ?
There is no legal recourse. Nuclear power is covered under the Nuclear secrets rules right now. No questions on Nuclear power can be asked by civilians. What information and response to questions has been supplied is due to 'goodwill' of the DAE. There is no requirement for it, in fact even RTI does not apply. This is a recipe for stiffening resistance and long term loss of trust.

Theo sir I am curious to see the directive in question, there are instances of civilians taking the military to the court over land and other construction issues near military installments and I know of at least two such cases where the decision was in former's favor.

If this is all about harmful affects of nuclear energy and the alleged threat posed by the same to lives of locals then there is nothing which DAE has to hide. My parents live next to BARC colony and I know for a fact that BARC collects the ground water samples from the near by areas for presence of radioactive elements on a regular basis those findings have to be shared with the IN authorities as they are in the same area.

It looks like your fears in fact stem from the fear of unknown and lack of trust in the DAE, unfortunately you will have to first get rid of the latter to even get to a point to clearly articulate your pov.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/states/tam ... 935806.ece
City witnesses swelling of anti-Kudankulam project forces
Tamil nationalist groups, Dalit outfits and rights bodies take part

Tamil nationalist groups, Dalit outfits and human rights organisations on Sunday came together to express solidarity with the People's Movement Against Nuclear Energy (PMANE) in its campaign against Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant (KKNPP).

They held a seminar in the forenoon, took out a rally in the afternoon and addressed a public meeting in the evening.

Hundreds of people from Idinthakarai, where the protest against KKNPP is going on, and other fishing villages participated in the campaign in Chennai.

Quite vociferous among them was the Viduthalai Chiruthaikal Katchi (VCK) leader and MP Thol Thirumavalavan, who came down heavily on major political parties, especially the Left parties, for their failure to support the campaign against KKNPP.

“We are not against power generation, but only oppose the nuclear policy of the government. It is part of our opposition against imperialism. The Left parties have always been in the forefront of the campaign against imperialism and they should have led the protest against Kudankulam project,” Mr. Thirumavalavan said.

Reacting to the argument that the government had invested hundreds of crores of rupees in the KKNPP and that it was unfair to scrap the project at this juncture, Mr Thirumavalavan wondered how the Centre had gone back on Sethusamudram project in the face of opposition from the BJP on the ground that it would damage ‘Rama Sethu'.

Sundararajan of the Poovulagin Nanbargal, a movement committed to protect the environment, said there was no basis for the claim that KKNPP would produce 1,000 MW and it would help overcome Tamil Nadu's existing power crisis.

He said the unit would produce only 700 MW and the state would get only 220 MW after giving other states their due, line loss and power consumed for running the plants at Kudankulam.

Periyar Dravidar Kazhagam leader Kolathur Mani said the campaign was organised in Chennai to make a statement that the movement against KKNPP was not just confined to the local villages, but it had widespread support across the state.

Naam Tamizhar Iyakkar leader Seeman and former MLA Panruti T. Velmurugan were among those who participated.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/a ... 939329.ece
Anti-Kudankulam stir may be aimed at scuttling nuclear programme, feel experts

The Tamil Nadu government was requested to facilitate entry of NPCIL personnel into the plant and make it ready for commissioning. Within two months of the zero date, the plant would be ready for loading the fuel. “We didn't get any reply so far [from the State government],” he said.

negi wrote:^Well on the contrary I think nuclear energy is sort of his baby specially in light of his role in seeing the N deal through. I for one don't think MMS has any personal agenda when it comes to the agitation in question , GoI's response IMHO has been on expected lines i.e indifferent and delayed.
Negi-ji,

No Man mohan has no personal agenda, in fact no agenda whatsoever, but wont you think that is surprising if we were to consider
nuclear energy is sort of his baby specially in light of his role in seeing the N dbeal through.
Why does he suddenly become so "bechara" on times and so "action hero" on times (N-deal, clearing Ram Lila grounds) -- isnt there an inescapable conclusion to the fact that "Man mohan of N-deal has a GoI which is indifferent on KKNP"

this is

Nuclear deal != nuclear energy at all.
:wink:

Dont expect Man mohan to do anything +ve on KKNP and do everything to muddy the waters further.

Sanku saar, I probably despise the present administration as much as you do, but I feel you might be losing the big picture here. So far, MMS has only talked about the foreign money and NGO angle that we had been discussing here for weeks, which I think you'll agree is a clear and present threat. So I don't see how he has muddied the waters. The thing is, whatever be his personal credibility, when he makes such accusations as the PM of India, his words carry far more weight than those of the other people already saying it. The NGO's probably know how dangerous the central govt.'s machinery can be when they really want to get someone out of the way as we saw during the Baba Ramdev saga. They might take this as a warning to back off. If they don't we'll see the government's true colors anyways. So let's wait and watch.

GOTCHA!!!

Alleged German agent in touch with local quislings seized from his dingy hideout in Nagercoil.The rathole where he was hiding had rooms without AC,mod-cons,etc. for just 200 bucks! The firang was in touch with one "RS Lal Mohan",retd. career scientist running an NGO in Nagercoil,"Conservation for Nature Trust".Herman is a computer expert who visits Coimbatore often.Mohan is also the INTACH convener for Nagercoil (see how deep the penetration has gone) and a member of the infamous PMANE gang of quislings and rent boys behind the protests.Quisling Udayakaumar has described this "Mohan" as his "guru".Mohan was also with the-ICAR and Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute and a trustee of a management institute (AJK Inst.) in Coimbatore.He is supposedly deeply involved in "conservation" work in Kanyakumari.

On a recent expedition to Nagercoil/K'kumari,I was informed that there was a lot of money coming in from abroad from the diaspora settled primarily in the US.Nagercoil is a booming town with small narrow streets ,(little sign of any conservation work anywhere either in N'coil or K'Kumari as new buildings are busy replacing quaint old structures!) surrounded by rich fertile agri land,windmills (the region is supposed to be the country's finest wind energy belt,which has seen windmills in the thousands set up,raising land prices to abnormal levels),and the tourists mostly from Kerala flock to K'Kumari.Little has changed by the sea front over decades,a notable addition is the surveillance radar atop the lighthouse ,part of the coastal surveillance network using all the lighthouses around our coast set up after 26/11.The locals recd. a lot of money for tsunami relief too and in an earlier post of mine,the wealth of the region can be estimated from the CSI's Kanyakumari diocese's annual collection of "120 crores".Plenty of money available locally and from abroad if misused to fund the PMANE outfit,who have now reportedly taken their agitation to Chennai where,with the assistance of the shady extremist Tamil outfits who support the Eelam movement,are trying to pressurise the GOTN because the expert committee has cleared the plant's safety aspects enabling the TN govt to give the centre the green signal.The PMANE saboteurs are desperate and trying any means to sabotage the opening of KKM at the alleged behest of their US/western puppet masters !

The "Germ" meanwhile is being deported never to be allowed to visit India again,we are told.Good riddance.3 cheers to the security establishment for cracking the whip!!! Do we hear someone's ghoolies clinking in fear?
arnab

Post by arnab »

Heh heh - so the loyal sons of jaitpur and the ..er.. disloyal sons of KK are both protesting nuclear energy. And yes the nuke deal wasn't about nuclear energy because we all know that Shiv Sena warriors can pass uranium with their stool should the need arise - and if they try harder - it become Pu :)

Meanwhile back at the ranch

http://www.telegraphindia.com/1120228/j ... 188981.jsp
Chennai, Feb. 27: The Jayalalithaa government could distance itself from the Kudankulam nuclear power plant protests after an Assembly by-election near the site, given widespread resentment in other parts of Tamil Nadu over power cuts.
In the face of a shortage of 4,000MW, it has become tough for the Tamil Nadu chief minister to keep a distance from the Kudankulam crisis.
Once the March 18 by-election in Sankarankoil is over, there will be no political compulsion for Jayalalithaa to support the protesters who have paralysed all operations at the nuclear plant site that otherwise would have been producing the much needed 1,000MW now, sources said.

r_subramanian wrote:Good news about Kudankulam
Kudankulam nuclear power plant set to roll in six weeks
TOI link
The tide is turning.

Cross posting [not the theological type] from the Internal Security Watch thread
shyamd wrote:CBI, police to probe NGOs involved in anti-nuke stir

A file photo of the Kudankulam nuclear plant in Tamil Nadu. (Petr Pavlicek/IAEA)
The government is readying its ammunition against non-governmental organisations (NGOs), which it suspects are using foreign funds to sponsor the ongoing agitation against the nuclear plant at Kudankulam in Tamil Nadu. After North Block suspected serious financial irregularities by 12 NGOs in handling foreign funds in the southern districts of Tamil Nadu, the home ministry ordered a detailed inspection of their records and is all set to recommend CBI probes into the working of two NGOs while another two will be investigated by the state police.
It is understood that these NGOs had received funds from the US and Scandinavian countries.

Top government sources said a discreet yet comprehensive probe into NGOs allegedly involved in the Kudankulam nuclear plant agitation has identified a dozen of them suspected to be involved in falsification of documents, diversion of funds and lack of transparency in financial dealings.

The outcome of this probe was sent to home minister P Chidambaram and home secretary RK Singh a month ago. The matter was then referred to the foreigners division, which handles the Foreign Contribution (Regulation) Act (FCRA), 2010, for action. Show cause notices will be issued on the basis of alleged discrepancies, it is learnt.

HT's sources also said an American nuclear equipment contractor had informed the highest officials that the US and European NGOs were behind the agitation against the Kudankulam plant.

nachiket wrote:The NGO's probably know how dangerous the central govt.'s machinery can be when they really want to get someone out of the way as we saw during the Baba Ramdev saga. They might take this as a warning to back off. If they don't we'll see the government's true colors anyways. So let's wait and watch.
It is not so easy this far from dilli. Easy to send in pulis on Ramdev support when it was dispersed and in the heart of dilli. Here in the dust bowl of S.TN, MMS needs JJ AMMA on his side. There is no doubt she could clear the protestors with some blood and a few deaths in a matter of weeks but the long term environment would be permanently poisoned for the Nuclear industrial complex.

The truth is people may want Nuclear electricity but there is zero support to have a nuclear plant in their own backyard. Also these super patriots should have raised their hands 15 years ago when the GOI was at its wits end trying to find a location for its Russian plants and begging people for land.

The problem MMS has is that he again does not understand the community dynamics in this area of S.TN. He thinks that by playing to the, Hinduism is in danger crowd, he can force the locals to back down. This is undoubtedly a dilli billi tactic and probably plays well amongst the party set. The dynamic he does not get is that this particular community is long used to such attacks by the elitists. From much before the British Raj. Such attacks have always ended up with the locals more united than before and more sullenly resentful than before. Having survived many centuries of such persecution local people are baffled that some one like the PM of India would try this tactic. Very head scratching moment. Very reminiscent of the past.

With its wild accusations and urging of violent attacks on the locals the DAE has burnt many bridges in this area. It doesn't help that MMS foolishly announced 6 more plants for Kudankulam a month ago with not even a cursory discussion. He thinks we are a push over. He would have never tried this in Singur. Lets us know what the PM thinks of S.TN opinion. We have an opinion of him as well.

There are things about him and his government that will be revealed in the coming months.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

BTW WRT that German...

http://expressbuzz.com/states/tamilnadu ... 67692.html
Sleuths, who had been shadowing Hermann for three days, found him to be in touch with R S Lal Mohan, a retired career scientist now running an NGO, Conservation for Nature Trust, in Nagercoil, the source said. When Express contacted Mohan on Monday, he described Hermann as a friend. A computer expert, Hermann was a dedicated social worker who visited India frequently, Mohan, now in Coimbatore, said. Mohan knew Hermann was in Nagercoil but claimed he had not met him for a long time. However, he did not know the name of the lodge in which Hermann was staying.

Sanku wrote:Dont expect Man mohan to do anything +ve on KKNP and do everything to muddy the waters further.
Sanku, your assessment may be wrong in this case. Man Mohan Singh cannot do anything without Ms. J.Jayalalitha and she is enjoying the discomfiture and helplessness of the Central Government even though the people of the state are suffering and except for a handful of people, there is no support for anti-KKNP protests even in the southern districts of TN. While Ms. J.Jayalalitha is a capable administrator as well as decisive, she has this streak of vengeful attitude. This protest can be put down in no time by her, without letting loose the police on the mis-shepherded flock, especially because of the broad-spectrum support for such an eventuality. Both Ms.J Jayalalitha & Ms. Sonia Gandhi are egoistic women and determinedly more so when they confront each other. This agitation has been blown out of proportions because of inaction by the State & the Centre, for different reasons. Anything else is unalloyed humbug.
member_21708

Post by member_21708 »

Shiv Sena disowns threat to disrupt talk
Mumbai, Feb 27, 2012, DHNS: Shiv Sena which had jumped into the Jaitapur farmers’ agitation against the proposed nuclear power plant, is trying to distance itself from the latest controversy involving some of their supporters in Pune threatening to disrupt a scientific conference wherein former Atomic Energy Commission chairman and a strong votary of nuclear power, Dr Anil Kakodkar, was to deliver a lecture.

Shiv Sena activists, on Monday morning, issued a diktat that they would not allow Dr Kakodkar to deliver a lecture in a symposium organised by Pune's famed Agharkar Research Institute of Biological and Botanical Sciences (ARI,) scheduled late in the evening.

Even as ARI organisers were trying to come to terms with the diktat, Shiv Sena spokesperson talking to this newspaper said: “We are trying to find out details about the so-called threats, reportedly made by our party workers.”

However, senior party functionaries, tacitly admitted that threatening “...eminent nuclear scientist Dr Kakodkar from speaking was certainly not correct. After all it is a scientific meet and purely a technical seminar.” The lecture after much flip-flop and vacillation by SS, passed off peacefully, and Dr Kakodkar reportedly abstained from mentioning ‘Jaitapur project,’ in his lecture.

Dr Kakodkar, late last week had suffered a setback when a two-day conference on nuclear power organised by Pune's College of Engineering, at Abasaheb Marathe Arts, Commerce and Science College at Hativale in Rajapur in Ratnagiri district, scheduled for Tuesday, was cancelled following protests.
http://www.deccanherald.com/content/230 ... srupt.html

I was talking to my uncle just now and he said the odd thing is if MMS came down to Kudankulam personally and asked the people for 'theyagham' in national interest, with the understanding they would be benefited in future and would have some nominal say in future expansion/activities, this entire thing could blow over in a matter of days. The fact that he sends intelligence operatives rather than taking charge says a lot about the mean spirited nature of the man.
-------------------------------------------------------

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/a ... 924806.ece
The common man could be able to get his views heard prior to the launch of a nuclear energy-related project if a system planned by the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) takes off. AERB chairman S.S. Bajaj said here on Thursday: “The people should know that they are being heard and their concerns are taken on board. We are debating on how to go about it.” He was talking to journalists on the sidelines of an international conference organised by the World Nuclear Association. Asked whether it would be on the lines of the public hearings organised by the Ministry of Environment and Forests for various projects, he said that different modalities were being discussed.
Other experts participating in the symposium also underlined the need for timely and accurate public dissemination of information to allay the apprehensions of the public on safety-related issues of nuclear power projects.

He sent HE Abdul Kalam,"son of the soil", and look at the way he was treated/ignored,not to mention the manner in which Dr.Srinivasan's seminar on N-power was violently disturbed by the PMANE rent-boys!

As a matter pf principle too,the idea that every PM of India should come down to every hotspot and plead for an OK in the national interest is demeaning and smacks of latter-day feudalism.We are a democracy and local elected leaders and state govts. should interact with experts in the case of such controversies and reassure the locals as in this case.Here,die-hard extremists in league with foreign powers are deliberately behaving like anti-national quislings,whose links are now being exposed .We should have fast-track treason trial courts for such creatures.

Sleuths, who had been shadowing Hermann for three days, found him to be in touch with R S Lal Mohan, a retired career scientist now running an NGO, Conservation for Nature Trust, in Nagercoil, the source said. When Express contacted Mohan on Monday, he described Hermann as a friend. A computer expert, Hermann was a dedicated social worker who visited India frequently, Mohan, now in Coimbatore, said. Mohan knew Hermann was in Nagercoil but claimed he had not met him for a long time. However, he did not know the name of the lodge in which Hermann was staying.
Rediff reports that the innocent social worker has now been deported:
A German national was picked up by the Tamil Nadu police in Nagercoil for allegedly assisting the protests against the Koodankulam Nuclear Power Plant and deported from the country in the wee hours of Tuesday.
Sonnteg Reiner Hermann, 49, was picked up last night in Nagercoil by a section of the Q branch police officials monitoring the anti-KNPP protests after they were alerted by central intelligence agencies, the police sources said.
Hermann was brought to Chennai last night for interrogation and was deported from the country from the international air terminus around 1 am, they said.
was talking to my uncle just now and he said the odd thing is if MMS came down to Kudankulam personally and asked the people for 'theyagham' in national interest, with the understanding they would be benefited in future and would have some nominal say in future expansion/activities, this entire thing could blow over in a matter of days.
In the words of Dr. Evil ( of Austin power's fame):

All the utterances by the Udayakumar gang till now indicate no such feeling about this stopping even if MMS comes over and stands upside down to apologise. The only thing is that he will also be called a "non-neutral" and "pro-govt" person just like APJ was called for all his troubles.

sum wrote: All the utterances by the Udayakumar gang till now indicate no such feeling about this stopping even if MMS comes over and stands upside down to apologise. The only thing is that he will also be called a "non-neutral" and "pro-govt" person just like APJ was called for all his troubles.
The stories get weirder and loopier. Was not the same MMS described as:
playing to the Hinduism is in danger crowd!
Yet the same person , when he comes down, the issue will vanish it seems. I deeply suspect that there is a pun in "if MMS comes down" :twisted:

Having lived 120km away from Kanyakumari 18 years of my life, I sure have not head of any persecution of some communities. I do not even think this person who has so mch to say, has set foot south of Madurai.
Shameless, intellectually and morally bankrupt. This lot are a blight!