Indo-UK News & Discussion 9th Aug 2011

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indo-UK News & Discussion 9th Aug 2011

Olympics Rings Lead to SuffeRings
Letter From London
When Olympic Rings Led to Suffering
Sudeshna Sen

We’re into the last lap of the excruciating, painful long preparations for the Olympics, which is finally on our heads now with less than a week to ignition date. Mostly, us Londoners are just waiting for the state of siege in the city to pass — I can’t express it better than a random tweeter, who said it felt like someone else is throwing a party in our house, at big entry fees, and we’re all locked in the basement.

The next two weeks may be grim, but so far, the pre-event national mood is rather funny. The British are world famous for their national pastime of whingeing; moaning about the Olympics has been de rigueur for more than two years now. This time, events have gone beyond the whingeing stage, exhibiting signs of a tragicomedy with distinct overtones of farce. It’s a bit like those children’s books, a series of unfortunate events.

The headline shambles is G4S, the private security company that was to provide the thousands of security personnel at the event, suddenly threw up its hands two weeks ago, and said they hadn’t managed to rustle up enough staff — so the armed forces had to overnight commit thousands of extra soldiers, some just back from tours in Afghanistan, to frisk bags of visitors at the gates. Never mind the red faces, the massive cost will now be picked up by, of course, taxpayers. Current estimates for time taken to get into the venue is about two hours, so if you do have tickets, please be early.

After months and months of debate, discussions, parliamentary questions and so on about whether the Home Office would be able to manage serpentine queues at airport immigration, we now hear that the border staff are planning to go on strike a day before the Olympics. Which might mean, unless they cancel, you could be waiting for half a day instead of the usual two hours to clear passport control.

Last week, us poor Londoners were suddenly accosted at tube stations with a message from London’s colourful mayor Boris Johnson, telling commuters to, well, basically try and not use the tube during Olympics. We’re hearing mutters from tabloids that train drivers may go on strike during the games, but we don’t know how credible that is. Despite all the desperate planning, everyone expects traffic to be gridlocked, with almost all arterial roads closed for something or other. Oh, and the first batch of arriving athletes got a taste of London gridlock when their bus driver lost his way and took over four hours to deliver them from the airport in west London, to the stadium in east London, a two-hour journey at the best of times. The Olympic lanes, the special lanes for dignitaries to whizz by in their limos, aren’t open yet, you see.

Meanwhile, the latest is that Danny Boyle, director of Slumdog Millionaire, who’s the creative director of the opening ceremony, is locked in artistic battle with the official Olympic broadcasters over camera angles. And, at the last minute, has been forced to chop 30 minutes of his programme — because, if it goes on for much past midnight, London’s public transport will shut down, and nobody will be able to get home. Odd nobody realised, London’s trains have always been a bit like Cinderella and shut down on the dot of midnight. Oh, and tickets. After a major palaver sometime last year about tickets — which were sold on some complicated ballot system and nobody really got anything they want, or ended up with tickets to Taekwondo — it seems thousands of tickets are still unsold. And they’re available from anything to 20 quid for stuff nobody wants to see, to £2,000 for the wanted events.

The biggest sore point, of course, is Locog’s — the Olympic organising committee’s — police state enforcement of sponsorship rights. You won’t, in a country that went wild with buntings and flags during the Queen’s diamond jubilee, see any signs of a party mood. That’s because nobody is allowed to use the word Olympics or medals or 2012, or any such word or image or logo that might infringe on the rights of the sponsors: Coke, McDonald’s, Visa, etc. It’s created some howlarious incidents, like florists being asked to remove decorations shaped like rings, or small cafés asked to remove flaming-torch breakfasts from menus.

The funniest was when workers at the site objected to not being able to buy their favourite British chips anywhere. Since McDonald’s is a sponsor, you can’t get the trademark British chip in the venue, except with fish and chips. The latest salvo was when Sebastian Coe, head of the committee, told a TV channel that you can’t wear a Pepsi T-shirt or Nike shoes to the Olympics. Locog clarified: it seems individuals can, but groups can’t wear anything branded by non-sponsors. You won’t be able to use the ATMs around the area with any card other than a Visa, so be warned. Carry lots of cash.

Personally, since I have no intention of getting into the Olympic spirit, I don’t much mind the lack of merchandise. I’m pretty sure, though, that despite the last week’s alarums and excursions, the British will be able to pull off a pretty impressive spectacular, and at least the kids will have fun. Since I’m paying a weekly Olympic levy for the last five years, and will keep paying till 2016 or even after, I intend to squeeze what little joy I can get out of it.
heh heh...

http://epaper.timesofindia.com/Default/ ... Skin=ETNEW

all the problems are real and the farce has yet to really get into swing, but she is not right about the spirit - ordinary people are getting into it and excited

F*** all that - what caught my eye was this!
workers at the site objected to not being able to buy their favourite British chips anywhere
Favorite ? :rotfl:
British chips?!! :rotfl: :rotfl:
And this gets mention in the press and I am reading it from times of India. All this for a soggy piece of potato?

Edit:
Last edited by Neela on 23 Jul 2012 13:56, edited 1 time in total.

ah but mcdonald's corporate branded reconstitued starch fries are not officially chips, and mcdonalds will sue you if you claim otherwise... and they did sponsor the games... so...

There is now a dedicated thread for 2012 Olympics in GDF. Kindly use it for the games related discussion and leave this for specific Indo-UK discussions.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

The Daily Mail, continuing it's anti-Indian campaign

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... umble.html

This is a regular feature of the DM.They are whipping up Anti Indian sentiments, at least 2-3 stories per week.
Look at the comments.

Meanwhile in the Finance/Mony section, hidden away hardly any comments.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/money/market ... brake.html

This sort of journalism is only going to create problems in the future.

Meanwhile in the Telegraph there are more positive comments re: Tata

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/news ... lands.html
Ardeshir

Post by Ardeshir »

Haresh, that should not surprise you one bit. The Daily Mail is a known right wing newspaper. Even within the UK its reputation is horrible, especially amongst immigrants and minorities.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

Prasant,

I am not really surprised and you are right.

I don't travel by tube any more, but I do remember that it did seem to be very popular amongst white collar working class, a step up from the Sun but nowhere near the sophistication of the better broadsheets.
Are you in London(istan)?
Have you noticed that there seems to be a campaign to ridicule and create resentment against India?

The BNP/NF are alot more media savvy when it comes to the internet and those types do seem to flood the comments sections.

It is strange that they didn't include the story of TATA creating 1,100 jobs in the main news section. :wink:
Ardeshir

Post by Ardeshir »

Haresh, that's right. Their target demographic is the blue collar worker, especially in BNP/ strongholds (Essex, West Yorkshire, Burnley etc). It's a simple algorithm - blame the social and economic ills of the UK on the imigrants, rinse, repeat.

As for the campiagn to ridicule India, I would say it is down to us to give it back. Very often you will find comments on message boards saying something on the lines of "If they spend billions on their military, why should they ask for aid from us?". You then have to remind them that we categorically refused aid, and Britain literally begged us to take their money, 40% of which gets plugged back in to the UK via "offsets" anyway.

Wrong thread
Last edited by jamwal on 26 Jul 2012 14:23, edited 1 time in total.

:rotfl: They had security guards going around with pot in their pockets and they are worried about a garbage pile in Delhi?

Here is a roundup of London O'limpings by the Yanks (who are having a jolly good time at the queendom's expense recently)
http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/tue-j ... d-the-crap

India should ask for a formal assurance from their PM, about the security. Dark-blue suits, chequered hats and fluorescent clown-cars (Partridge Family inspired? :P ) are nice on TV, but, I really wish they had a professionally run force like our CISF boys manning security!

jamwal wrote:A bit NSFW pic from Reddit from a post titled "note to self: never get a massage in china... a friend posted this picture of her back on facebook"
Whole back covered with painful looking bruises from a type of massage called "cupping" . Looks dangerous
I actually had this couple of times. The marks disappear within few days. Its not as bad as it appears.

^^ cupping massage
images.

Another extreme version practiced by Araps. Even PBUH was supposed to have recommended this.
Hijamah :shock:

Prasant wrote:Haresh, that's right. Their target demographic is the blue collar worker, especially in BNP/ strongholds (Essex, West Yorkshire, Burnley etc). It's a simple algorithm - blame the social and economic ills of the UK on the imigrants, rinse, repeat.

As for the campiagn to ridicule India, I would say it is down to us to give it back. Very often you will find comments on message boards saying something on the lines of "If they spend billions on their military, why should they ask for aid from us?". You then have to remind them that we categorically refused aid, and Britain literally begged us to take their money, 40% of which gets plugged back in to the UK via "offsets" anyway.
80% or more.
aid to India is a scam to employ trophy wifes and bekaar relatives of the UQ elite.

Jhujar wrote:
jamwal wrote:A bit NSFW pic from Reddit from a post titled "note to self: never get a massage in china... a friend posted this picture of her back on facebook"
Whole back covered with painful looking bruises from a type of massage called "cupping" . Looks dangerous
I actually had this couple of times. The marks disappear within few days. Its not as bad as it appears.
Love bites are caused by a similar mechanism

Anuj Bidve's murderer convicted, sentencing tomorrow.

http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/anuj- ... der-248014

Sriman wrote:Anuj Bidve's murderer convicted, sentencing tomorrow.

http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/anuj- ... der-248014
Sentenced to life. Not eligible for a parole hearing for 30 years.

'Toilet trouble' at Olympic Games Village

Looks like London is facing a shortage of toilets. Bears investigating where the money went, if even toilets are in short supply.

Well...the euphemism for latrine used to be "London" from where i come from :)
Ardeshir

Post by Ardeshir »

^^Haha, my father still uses that.

Lilo wrote:Well...the euphemism for latrine used to be "London" from where i come from :)
Thanks to Poaqs,
UK=Urinal Kingdom.

You guys should have seen twitter yesterday when India came out - Arab elite were all praise. Good soft power. Apparently the Indian team had more screams in the stadium than any other foreign team.

Letter From London
Olympics: All Biz, Not so Much Play
Sudeshna Sen
I happen to be terribly annoyed this week. I find I haven’t been invited to all the super red carpet events like Posh and Beck’s party, or the special receptions for the 40-odd heads of state floating around the city these days, or on to Roman Abramovich’s luxury yacht. That’s apparently displaced as many local houseboats by meter length who used to be moored on the canals around the Olympics stadium and have had to shove off, coz he’s paying hundreds of pounds for parking, and they were well, always just lounging around paying normal mooring fees.

Nor have I been invited to, how does one describe them — the private pleasure houses being set up by various sponsors, like Omega. Or to LN Mittal’s uber-secret high-level private dos. Of course, as a rather cranky friend I was complaining to, pointed out, I’m not even going for the ones who were naff enough to invite me this season. Oh well, he’s got a point.

Frankly, the trauma of wearing high heels and formals and being polite to people over cheap champagne (which makes me sick, please note, expensive champagne does not) totally outweighs the value of being seen at these places. I never get either a hint of a story, nor meet anyone remotely worth cultivating beyond three minutes. I hate red carpets. They make me feel like a cross between a rabbit caught in the wrong headlights, and a weasel (why am I not in those torn jeans with a mike or camera on the other side of the ropes?)

Isabel Allende, the iconic Latin American writer, made me feel comfortable with my networking phobia when she once told me why she hated networking parties. When you are about 5-footnothing, hemmed in by 7-foot-tall people who can’t seem to move aside to give you space to move or breathe, networking events are not just boring, they’re like being on the Virar fast at rush hour. Red carpet doesn’t mean everyone deodorises either.

Still, I’m miffed. It’s a classic aspirational, middle-class attitude, to be annoyed at not being invited to events you actually wouldn’t ever go to. It is also, I realise, a rather Brit attitude. I find I’m localising with a vengeance. Instead of taking things like special VIP lanes for traffic as a given, like we do in Mumbai or Delhi, I’m being annoyed about it, and getting all welfare state liberal. As London’s mayor Boris Johnson put it in his inimitable way, we like complaining because it “improves the quality of our enjoyment,” if we happen to be surprised that something actually turns out to be fun.

But more seriously, even I haven’t quite converted to the loony liberal fringe, but I’m wondering what all these Olympics are about. We’ve had business summits. Political summits. Networking summits. Celebrity summits. Pressers with mums of Olympians, and 1948 (or whatever) athletes and so on. Torch relays with plenty of Coke at £2.50 a bottle and Lloyds flags. The only glimpse of my first real athlete — only recognisable from the sinews of his thighs and the even bigger athlete badge he was sporting, was a random Croatian walking around Whitehall on Friday.

Whatever happened to the alleged Olympics Spirit? This is all about marketing, business, networking, sponsorship, and the general hype that surrounds a Hollywood release, including a Danny Boyle. “Put down that Pepsi can, and there’ll be no trouble,” said the grim-faced army guy on the last cover of Private Eye, UK’s subversive satire magazine on its cover. Here’s a question. How many real athletes, who competed Saturday, could actually stay up till past midnight to watch the opening ceremony tamasha?

What we’ve not had as yet, is any sport whatsoever — other than when the North Korean women’s football team walked out because they were playing under a South Korean flag. Whatever happened to the personal excellence, sports, celebration of individual performance stuff ?

There’s not even a hint of a whiff of that, it’s just a five-ring circus. Ooops. Not allowed to mention the five rings, sponsorship infringement.

Personally, I’m not a sporty person. However, if I’m forced to put up with, and pay for, an overdose of steroidal types over-running my city (hyperbole, I’m sure none of them take steroids, or any illegal thing) I’m afraid I don’t see the point of an Olympics, which is actually being run by Coke, Visa, McDonalds, Dow Chemicals, BP claiming to be greener than Greenpeace, and so on. Where are the athletes? The games? The spirit of competition? They’ll show up in the next few weeks, but I know they’ll be poor cousins to the sponsors and the spin doctors.

Do we really, as a world about to go into an economic tailspin, need to celebrate personal physical excellence, or endurance, or sporting excellence through this kind of over-commercialised crassness?

The new look Olympics – run by megacorps – came after, I gather Montreal had a bit of a stumble and LA made the mould in 1984.

Then we had the likes of Athens, Barcelona, Beijing, next we’re doing Rio and then Russia. I suspect the original Olympian sponsors like Zeus, Apollo, Artemis et al, would have had thunderbolt waving fits.

^^^ she's missing the point, sports has long ago gone from idealism to commercialism. athletes want to be the best, but also want to be paid for it, since the time taken to be the best precludes you from earning a normal living.

LM-ji - She Says Over-commercialised

She is right when she says that this Olympic games are
kind of over-commercialised crassness..

without the over-commercialisation, there would not be the money available to make it the global-gladitorial contest

Olympic games are mainly a losing proposition for the hosting country. The 1984 Los Angeles olympics was the first one to make a profit in modern Olympic history. Before that, every other venue had made a loss (the city of Montreal even had to declare bankruptcy after 1976 olympics). Seoul also made a huge profit and Atlanta, Sydney and Barcelona just barely broke even. Athens and Beijing olympics were big losses for the hosting countries

Side note to the Olypics profit thingie-

There was a Channel 4 Dispatches programme - funds meant for (more than 10,000) charities were diverted to the Olympics. They were told that the money will reach them after the event. And yes, technically 2020 is still after the event! :twisted:

shyamd wrote:You guys should have seen twitter yesterday when India came out - Arab elite were all praise. Good soft power. Apparently the Indian team had more screams in the stadium than any other foreign team.
OT
All this soft power will vanish when India needs them. When people are asked to choose, it is then their true loyalties will come out. If all one has to do give up or do nothing and praise the other guy, it will be done. Give them a choice where they will have to truly choose between India/ Pakistan, all their ummahood comes out of all corners.
Heard of "mukha stuthi"? All this is just to please the Indian netas. "Hindi-chini bhai bhai" stuff. smile at it and forget the next moment.
http://www.rediff.com/news/report/india ... 110623.htm That is not from ancient times. That is last year.
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

And this weeks Anti India story from the Daily Wail is...........................

McCartney’s plea for the elephant in chains: Star joins international battle to free animal that is shackled and beaten

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... z22BoIBoQC

I can't believe the comments connecting "aid" to the treatment of the elephant!!
These people are stupid. :rotfl:

Interesting article in the BBC about a current security company that is contracting for the London Olympics and how seems to resemble the East India company:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-19077733
paramu

Post by paramu »

Notice that the report only talks about Mughals, Nawab of Bengal, Tipu Sultan, Persian language and picture of coin with Persian script.

Absolutely silent about Marathas, Sikhs, Sanskrit, Hindi etc. They also hide the fact that in 1857 Muslims were upset about the pig fat used in catridges. Only religious Hindus started the revolt and jihadi Muslims found common cause with them! Wow!

Story appears nice, but also pushes another agenda of briturds behind the scene.
nawabs

Post by nawabs »

Army mum as ghost of 1995 western tourists' killing returns

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 370114.cms
Now, 17 years later, those horrific events have been revisited in the book, The Meadow, written by British journalists Adrian Levy and Cathy Scott-Clark.

The book does not just hint that the government wasn't keen on mounting a rescue, quoting crime branch sources, it claims it wasn't al-Faran but forces loyal to the government that had bumped off the tourists with the connivance of the special task force and the Army.

The then Narasimha Rao government, the book alleges, wanted to use the hostage crisis as a tool to build international pressure on Pakistan. It says the government had intelligence about the movement of the terrorists and the hostages, including high-resolution images taken by an armed forces helicopter.

In another fantastic claim, the book says when a woman foreign tourist who had seen five hostages being taken away to Aru on July 5, 1995, reported the matter to the nearest Rashtriya Rifles (RR) camp, a major raped her.

It says the RR ran informer networks of surrendered militants (or renegades) and had put in place a cash-for-corpses incentive scheme. The renegades used to be paid between Rs 10,000 and Rs 20,000 per corpse depending on the seniority of the slain militant; but the RR never conducted any physical verification of the bodies, the book says.

Letter From London
The Hangover’s Here, Can Cursing be Far?
Sudeshna Sen

If you live in London these days, there’s only one topic of conversation. Europe is still going down the drain, with Spain and Italy teetering on the edge. Stan-Chart has had a massive crash with US authorities. David Cameron has openly admitted to cracks in his coalition with Nick Clegg’s Liberal Democrats. China is slowing down, the Bank of England has — again — downgraded forecasts for the UK, and so on. But who cares? It’s Game Time, folks. The only political controversy everyone is talking about is something obscure about school sports schedules, which is currently putting more pressure on the prime minister than his splintering relationship with his coalition partner.

Seven years in the planning and preparations, preceded by months and weeks of angst and controversy, London’s Games have undoubtedly won that absolutely crucial medal: the hearts and minds of people. Even us curmudgeonly columnists — and there are many like me — are grudgingly admitting that, well, since obviously a good time is being had by all, we might as well join in and not be churlish. The whole city is on holiday, it’s the ultimate staycation. Offices are doing dress-down, dress up, and dress in red, blue and white days. The mood was set from Danny Boyle’s zany opening ceremony, which an English media commentator described better than I can: as globally incomprehensible as marmite and jellied eels, but uniquely British. We are like this only. Since then, the mood has escalated. The international media and visitors are not, as one told me, being awed by sheer firepower like in Beijing.

They’re being charmed by a quintessentially Brit spectacle, sometimes quirky, not always very efficient, but always with a wry sense of humour and a smile. It’s Monty Python (or Mr Bean if you like) meets Chariots of Fire.

London is putting on a show, and Londoners are on the world stage these two weeks. And we’re putting on the best act we can, at least for these two weeks. Londoners aren’t known to be friendly — in fact, we’re mostly downright grumpy all the time — try and find an unfriendly face around the city these days, and you’ll have to look really hard. Britain doesn’t do services. London is easy to get completely lost in. All of these clichés are usually true: I’m always being stopped by hapless and lost tourists around central London asking for directions, with no signage in any language except English. These two weeks? Thousands of citizen volunteers are on hand to guide you through the maze of transport and travel arrangements, or anything else you may want. Services? Even the checkout counter attendants at Heathrow shops are smiling. And no, it doesn’t come naturally. Olympic hospitality service training began over two years ago, with a massive scheme to train frontline hospitality staff for providing service with a smile.

“It’s the atmosphere. The crowd atmosphere is amazing,” said one visitor. Team GB athletes, replete with a historic haul of medals, are all crediting the crowd support and home team spirit for egging them on. Already, the kind of columnists who do these things are analysing the crowd and spectator-pleasing aspects and twists, with DJs coordinating events and random entertainment in between the sports. That was the crux of Seb Coe’s winning bid seven years ago, to connect with the younger generation and make sport fun. Despite other goof-ups, Locog has clearly got that bit correct. It’s all a massive party, fancy dress welcome.

Of course, no party can be successful without the guests. Mood, that elusive thing, is being passed back and forth between the contingents of fans and visitors who are willing to be pleased, and locals and volunteers who are happy to oblige. Being London, which is easier to get to than Beijing, many of the European teams have considerably large fan bases to cheer them on, if not a local population. Like the Polish, who said they feel on home ground.

Oh, and while not on the subject, I’ve been seeing bits and pieces in the Indian media, which is as expected, going through its usual wailing act about the state of sport in India. Dear people, don’t crib. It might seem a bit sad when you look at league tables. When you’re bumping into a dozen people from places as diverse as Estonia to Australia to Colombia and Venezuela, a medal tally of six doesn’t look bad at all. Considering that most Indians would never dream of watching women’s boxing or archery or wrestling the rest of the year, or four years, don’t blame those poor people for their performance now. Every team coming here has golden hopes — most are dashed. That’s sport. Enjoy the party instead, like we’re doing.

I’m going to miss all those purple volunteers and the general cheer from next week. I know my Londoners. There’s going to be a massive hangover, and as soon as the guests have left, we’ll go back to fighting over the washing up. The miserable commutes, traffic jams, collapsing public transport and rain will start up again, and we’ll go back to being famously grumpy. The blamegames and post-mortems, not to mention the bill for the party, will sour everyone’s mood again. These days, we’re betting on whether the whingeing will start up even before the Paralympics, or last for at least a month longer.

Equador has granted asylum to Assange
http://abcnews.go.com/Blotter/ecuador-g ... Czyad3ibZg

in response to threats from UK, the Equador foreign minister called a press conf where he said clearly "we are not a british colony!".

Bravo Sir.

Assange has in effect sentenced himself to life imprisonment. He can
never leave the Embassy. To all purposes and intent he is in a jail, slightly
more luxurious but nevertheless a jail.

Ecuador's position is a bit more precarious. If push comes to shove and
their embassy staff are declared Persona Non Grata, they will have to
leave the UK and leave Mr Assange behind! All this effort for what gain?

Well they are standing upto Anglo-Saxon blackmail and threats. So would the indignant UK extradite all the criminals that it is so successfully hiding in London's Bosom ? Hypocrites of first order these Brits are.

This Assange is a charade, none of what he has leaked has been what Washington did not want to come out. Wikileaks is overhyped, a super power and friends who play far more dangerous game would have liquidated a real whistleblower. This is just to shore By stating what the US wants but not making it official.

No way the Hindu with US citizen at its head and many prominent people requiring travel to the west actually give out real secrets of the US.

But Aditya_V, Like a bad dream Assange has acquired a cult status now and no one knows if whatever is being published is true or false.
What was American game plan in releasing this info in public domain which makes everyone look bad only and American diplomacy loses credibility with rest of the world.
nakul

Post by nakul »

The reason why Wikileaks is not taken seriously is because it is not a major security risk. Stuff like reciprocal of nuke deal with American weapons, Mayawati's jet used for buying chappals is not really top secret stuff. Even folks here have predicted the first one.

They only need to show who is the boss to prevent a recurrence. They don't really get endangered if everyone knows that Rahul baba thinks that Hindus are the greatest threat to the country. The leaks where cables between diplomats who are not usually given top secrets for fear of being compromised considering the amount of time they spend in foreign countries. Hence, the non serious handling of the whole situation.