Western Universalism - what's the big deal?

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Western Universalism - what's the big deal?

shiv wrote: Western Universalism gives you wealth, health and pleasure right now in this life. What does SD offer in comparison?
SD offers the same.

Balu's casting into modern language of this might be helpful.
https://www.academia.edu/5497432/Indian ... ity_System

PS: an excerpt.
Human beings do not have multiple desires for specific objects, say these Indian traditions. What we have is Desire: in the singular, unqualified, and objectless. Consequently, to say, as we do, that we have ‘many desires’, or that ‘we have a desire for something’ would be false and misleading.

However, Desire has the property of attaching itself to any and every object. When I desire Armani clothes or a beef steak, I do not have desires for these particular objects. What I do have is just one ‘Desire’ that attaches itself now to Armani clothes and then to beef steak. Our desire for multiple objects does not show that we have many desires but shows, instead, that it is merely one and the same Desire attaching itself to different objects.

The limitlessness of our desires does not have anything to do with the limitless number and variety of objects in the world but with the fact that Desire has no intrinsic goal or object. That is why Desire cannot be satisfied: nothing can satisfy it.

To make this notion of Desire perspicuous, let me use an economic metaphor. The Desire that the Indian traditions talk about is like Money. Money is singular, there are no plural monies. Money can become savings, financial capital, Industrial capital, mercantile capital, money-lending capital, or merely something we exchange for some commodity or another. Money can take the form of various currencies, shares, gold or any other commodity. Money can buy anything because it is indifferent to what it is exchanged against. According to the Indian traditions, Desire is like Money: it is limitless; it has no intrinsic object as its goal; it can be accumulated in any form or quantity.

Chasing after satisfaction of desires, as we experience our strivings, is intrinsically and inherently frustrating. Such an endeavour is also a direct cause of unhappiness because Desire is unsatisfiable: nothing can satisfy it.

However, true to their nature, the Indian traditions do not suggest that no one, ever, finds happiness in accumulating money: it is also a possible route. One could accumulate Desire and chase after satisfying it and claim that s/he is happy in doing so. While possible, to most of us however, such a route might not be the best choice.

In the western thinking, the nature of the world is used as a pragmatic argument to suggest that we have to put restraints on our desires. Our desires are infinite but the resources of the world are finite. However, this argument convinces only those who want to be convinced; it cannot convince the sceptic, who might be an optimist (‘science and technology will solve the problem’) or an ignoramus. Further, this argument makes the ‘Other’ – whether the other is Nature or other human beings – into the enemy: the ‘Other’ is the source for the unsatisfiability of human desires. Consequently the ‘Other’ is always the threat that the ‘self’ confronts in its attempts to fulfil its desires.

In the Indian traditions, by contrast, neither the ‘self’ nor the ‘other’ has anything to do with the limitless nature of our desires or our inability to satisfy them. It is in the nature of Desire that it is unsatisfiable. Consequently, going-about with Desire is crucial to being happy. That is to say, one can learn to be happy and this learning involves acquiring the ability to deal with Desire. Asceticism is of no help as a societal solution, even if some individuals could be happy by living ascetically. The road to happiness involves people learning this truth about Desire at an individual level, among other things.
Happiness as the ‘end’ or telos of humankind cannot be conceived normatively. Any normative conceptualization either ignores the factual diversity in what ‘happiness’ means to people (different people conceive ‘happiness’ differently) or claims that only some specific conception of happiness (‘the union with God’, say) is the true end and meaning of human life.

The Indian traditions claim that this disagreement and the diversity of opinions about happiness are typical of condition humaine. It is neither necessary nor possible to seek consensus about this end: we merely notice divergences and differences, and take this diversity as our starting point. However, in their attempts to strive for what they consider happiness is, human beings are impeded by certain things. Our task, therefore, is to think about and help remove these impediments. Consequently, we need to discuss the common impediments to our search for happiness. There will always be discussions and disagreements about what happiness is; but we can successfully identify things that prevent us from being happy.

Consequently, how to relate happiness to the economic system? Or to economic and management theories? There are, it appears to me, two broad ways of doing this. One way is to retain the image of man as a creature with infinitely many needs and desires and try and graft happiness on to this picture. Then, I do not see any way forward other than a restriction of these needs and desires and the practice of asceticism. Then, you are coupling the western image of human beings with the religion that created the western culture, namely, Christianity.

The second way is to change our image and thinking about human beings: in that case, we need not fight Desire or even restrict it but merely learn to go-about with it. These two ways make use of two different theories about human beings that explain the limitless nature of our desires.

One theory blames it on human nature. It tells us that this human nature will neither make us happy nor ‘deliver us from evil’. In seeking happiness, we are our worst enemies: human nature (spontaneously) prevents us from becoming happy. We need Gurus, priests or experts, to tell us what ‘true happiness’ is, and that we can become happy if we learn to be ascetic and control our desires.

The other theory tells us that each of us can be happy, if only we learn about the nature of impediments that hinder our search. Truth or knowledge liberates, and this can be learnt and taught. The Buddha or Shankara, for instance, claim to teach us knowledge about human beings the way scientists teach us about Nature. This knowledge will also help develop the ability to go-about with Desire.

RamaY wrote:If it were left untouched, by the very definition of progress/evolution, Bharat would have been much advanced (in wealth, health, pleasure matrix) than any nation in the world today.
OK, this is definitely in the category of "If my aunt had a *ick, she would be ruling my uncle" Anyways, shiv ji has the exact quote.
Not necessarily.

This thread is to discuss exactly my point. What is right for West is not necessarily right for others, especially Bharat.

West needs this forward looking definition of "progress, modernity, evolution" for its foundations are rooted in Tamas, barbarism, poverty etc., that's why WU proposes that anything looking backward is regressive and negative.

For example, let's take economy (individual, social & national wealth). Please look at below graph.

For US and Europe, going back in time means moving towards poverty, low quality of life, lack of opportunities, lack of law & order, lack of Christianity (religion) and so on. Hence it is regressive.

But for India, the picture is completely opposite. Moving back in time means access to wealth & opportunity, lack of foreign invasions and associate socio-cultural aberrations, Dharma/law&order based on native and natural thought processes etc, HENCE POSITIVE.

The issue is the Grandma did have a dick which was castrated by triple colonization by Islam, Christianity & Secularism. Now some of these hijras are afraid of getting their dicks back because they are afraid of sexual & intellectual freedoms that come with being Dharmic and most importantly the possibility of some of them being Adharmics all along (not necessarily in eyes of law but in their own conscience)

^^When someone puts up a chart like this to make a point, either the person making the point is naive and ill informed or they think that they can fool everyone else with these half truths. The fact that the GDP of just one century surpasses that of all the previous 19 put together is something somehow not worth mentioning? The obvious correlation of such a graph to differences in productivity due to industrial and technological progress is not mentioned. Also, that the compilation of data for past centuries primarily relies on the number of people in these countries/regions is not mentioned. The fact that these correlations between number of people and GDP started to change with the industrial revolution is not mentioned.

Maybe you have a point, but I do not understand it and hence will refrain from further discussion on this matter.

One is free to make the inferences one can make.

Key points in the above graph is the near-inverse correlation between eastern and western civilizations and the key points of socio-political interactions (1700s, 1900s etc) between them.

Even if we agree that a society's fortunes is a very very complex equation involving million+ variables, then we should also accept the fact that some of those very variables can be reason for a society's downfall.

My argument is that colonization, Abrahamic ideologies etc are few variables that adversely contributed to downfall of Bharat while all things associated with SD need not have contributed adversely in that equation.

Of course we all are talking in vacuum without that equation. As long as people use an imaginary equation to glorify western contribution, people like me can use that very imaginary equation to glorify SD contributions and criticize western contributions.

Technology in isolation is like toilet paper. It facilitates people to wipe their bottoms instead of washing it. Same with suburb infra which is necessary to make auto industry profitable which in turns requires lot of oil which in turn leads to global warming and oil-wars which in turn leads to renewable energy needs which in turn promotes next technological innovation in solar/wind power, which in turn increases inflation in energy prices... And so on... throw the mix of increased tourism, exposure to new cultures, more tolerance, yoga in west, pizzas in India, overweight & stress, depression related health problems, their cures.. Oh! We have new modern Chamakam in English!

All this is for what? Human pursuit of knowledge, wealth & pleasure. Which could be provided without most of these "technological advancements".

Pulikeshi wrote:
johneeG wrote: Now, the hierarchy issue:
First consider a family:
Father is the administrator and protector. Kshathriya.
Grandfather is the spiritual and intellectual. Brahmana
Mother and granny provide food. Vaishya
Children do small chores in the home. Shoodhra.
While this example is very romantic and perhaps appealing to some, but it is also patronizing and somewhat demeaning...
I get reminded of the story of the body parts fighting on who is higher in the hierarchy and the arse-e-hole winning! :oops:

I seriously ask this question (albeit a very smart Economics prof asked me this question) - why did they come up with only four Varnas? Actually, it was perhaps three to begin with...
Why not just Father and Grandfather? Why not Father, Grandfather, Mother/Granny, Children and Woh?
The basic question is why have 3 gunas? Why not just one guna? Why not 10 gunas?

Well, honestly, its the way world is designed.

What is guna? Its basic attribute. Apparantly, 3 attributes were created first. Remember, the attributes were created before creating any other object.

So, first, 3 basic attributes were created and they were defined. Then various objects were created using these 3 attributes in varying degrees. Hindhuism does not accept evolution theory. It clearly asserts thar the world was designed and manufactured in very careful way.

3 basic attributes are:
a) knowledge/goodness/concious - satthva
b) desire/anger - rajas
c) ignorance/unconcious - thamas

Now, all the objects are made up of these 3 attributes in varying degrees.

Coming back to the question: why 3 attributes?
Satthva attribute shows an object as it is because it endows a person with knowledge. It also lead to goodness I.e not harming people.
Rajas attribute leads to creation. It drives people to create and it also drives people to disappointment if there is failure in creation. Rajas gives rise to kama (desire), krodha (anger) and lobha (greed).
Thamas attribute leads to ignorance or sleep. It leads to moha (delusion), madha (vanity) and maathsarya (envy).

Each of these three attributes are apparently necessary in the creation. First, thamas is used to create darkness. It envelopes everything and hides everything. This creates ignorance and sleep.

Then, satthva is used to create some light. And knowledge. And goodness.

Then, rajas is used to initiate creation.

Now, why 4 varnas?
According to Hindhuism, all human beings are descendents of Vaivasvatha Manu. So, all belong to same ancestory. And there seems to be ample intermixing all over. All human beings have pre-dominance of rajas. Animals have thamas.

Now, varnas are apparantly based on creating least number of distinct groups based on human behaviour. They came up with 4 groups. Remember that each varna describes certain basic attributes. If person has those attributes, he belongs to that varna. Birth or death are secondary factors. Primarily, you must have the badic attributes to belong to a particular varna. peope can move from one group to another. Eg: students getting promoted or demoted based on their performance.

Having divided the humanityinto these distinct groups, hindhuism went to extra-ordinary lengths to insist that all human beings(indeed all creation) is part and parcel of the same divine source. All human beings and all creatures are part of the same God/Goddess. All human beings and all creatures have a role in running the universe properly.

-----
Shiv said something very interesting in this thread: laws are created to curb the freedom.
I then said that laws require a govt to implement them. So, universal human rights are just to establish a global govt. Now, guess when these human rights were adopted? In 1948. Immediately after western colonialism ended, global govt(western universalism) was born. What does that mean?

What is the role of human rights?
Laws curb the freedom to provide security.
Whose freedom do the human rights curb?
Human rights curb the freedom of national govts.

So, why was it formed immediately after western colonialism ended directly in 1947?

When did imf start its operations? 1947. Why did it start at the same time when formal western colonialism ended?

Is it a coincidence that western nations play dominant role in all these institutions?

To ShauryaT's point, it was not some causeless thing that there were more people in India and China than in Europe. One should reflect on that.

The reason Westerners sought routes to India and not vice versa is because Westerners wanted things India had - spices, dyes, textiles, etc., - while the only thing Westerners had that Indians wanted in exchange were gold and silver.

From the previously mentioned http://www.binghamton.edu/fbc/archive/gaht5.htm
Ever since Roman times Asia had been a purveyor of valued goods for the tribute-taking classes of Europe and had thereby exercised a powerful pull on Europe's precious metals. This structural imbalance of European trade with the East created strong incentives for European governments and businesses to seek ways and means, through trade or conquest, to retrieve the purchasing power that relentlessly drained from West to East. As Josiah Child's contemporary Charles Davenant observed, whoever controlled the Asian trade would be in a position to "give law to all the commercial world" (Wolf 1982: 125).

The centrality of Asian trade for the intra-European power struggle had been the driving force behind the Iberian discovery of the Americas and of a sea route to the East Indies via the Cape of Good Hope. American silver, in turn, had multiplied the means available to European states in their mutual struggle to appropriate the benefits of trade with the East. Initially, however, the expanded European presence in Asian trade had little impact on the integrity of the Asian super-world-economy.
Notice now again, aside from the brief interruption say 1700-2000 (what is 300 years compared to 2500 years?) the old historical trend of "purchasing power that relentlessly drained from West to East" is restarting. The "Asian super-world-economy" is reassembling itself. This time round though, services can also be traded, nobody is on the gold standard, new technology is in constant demand, the imbalance of the past maybe, just maybe can be avoided.

johneeG & RamaY,

Hinduism (SD) does not have one path, it is a market for paths. The paths have been modified and all paths that work within the Dharma framework are allowed to exist, even if they contradict each other. There is a key reason for this... and I will explain that later.

While I agree with some of the things you are stating... it is hard for me to not recognize that 3 Gunas -> 3 Varnas originally and as the nature of society changed to a feudal state, the fourth Varna got added. Ironically, the fourth Varna is not tied to any Guna. No one has told me if Shudras have no Guna or are poor in all Gunas or what is the characteristic. Given I live my life as a Shudra, it is very important for me to understand this aspect more clearly. Hope this helps clarify my desire to understand this more...

More later as usual.

If I go by what I remember of "Dadaji" Pandurang Shastri Athavale's talks, then equating varna with the division of gunas is simply wrong. The problem is I'm missing a key book "Sanskriti Chintan" where he discusses this in detail.

No one is saying SD demands everyone should wear saffron pants.

All it is saying is, "dear boy, no matter how you slice it there are set of broader categories human fall into and you can expect them to show certain qualities and behave in certain ways. Use these multitude of skills to make yourself and the society a purposeful one. Always remember that your swa-Dharma (roles, rights & responsibilities defined by initial conditions, temperament, social role, age, sex etc) leads you to joy & moksha and para-dharma (illogical/unsuited roles/responsibilities) will lead to sorrow & social decay. Either way beware that you can't run away from karma/consequences and one thing will lead to another".

Now we can come up with 4.72 Varnas, just because we want to be different from ourselves. SD doesn't interfere with your experiments as long as they do not disturb others (humans, beings, nature etc) and universal dharma will make sure that consequences follow.

The issue today, if I understand, is that varna shouldn't be by birth. Sure, define the new criteria and people will follow (this is our constitution by the way). Meanwhile let's do gene-therapy (natural way being thru birth & natural selection) and sperm selection (of great intellectuals/Brahmins, military/Kshatriyas, businessmen/Vaisyas and rockstars/Sudras) to fine tune our society. Varna-Ashrama dharma is nothing but constitutional law & order. It is natural being of a society and there is no escape from it, however we split it.

Meanwhile WU is trying to create another Roman Empire or Renaissance or crusade all in the name of progress, modernity & evolution.
Last edited by RamaY on 15 Sep 2014 04:04, edited 2 times in total.

A_Gupta wrote:If I go by what I remember of "Dadaji" Pandurang Shastri Athavale's talks, then equating varna with the division of gunas is simply wrong. The problem is I'm missing a key book "Sanskriti Chintan" where he discusses this in detail.
Pls post the details when you find the book.

I am curious to find how it deals with
catur-varnyam maya srstam
guna-karma-vibhagasah

As varna is defined by Guna & Karma

I have Dadaji's Gitamritam in front of me, a Hindi version. In Chapter 4, where
catur-varnyam maya srstam
guna-karma-vibhagasah
comes up, he writes (my crude translation/transliteration):

In any civilized society, four varnas arise. These varnas have four different shaktis - budhi shakti, shastr shakti, vitt shakti and kshram shakti. kshram shakti meaning bodily strength and kalaa shakti All the kalaa (arts) are included in this. In laukik jivan, all the arts in the hands of the shudra varna. In any civilized society it is necessary for these shaktis to grow, and for that there should be four varnas, and then it matters not whether that society's language is Sanskrit, Marathi, Gujarati, Hindi, English, Latin, Hebrew. In this chapter of the Gita catur-varna is a very important topic; but in the eighteenth chapter also Bhagavan has taken up this topic. Therefore at that time we will go more into this. The catur-varna that Bhagavan has talked about, it is not so feeble as to be blown away by any breeze; there is a complete shastriya vichardhaara behind it (discussed fully in Samskriti Chintan).

-----
Chapter 14 (guna-traya-vibhaga-yoga) has a complete description of the gunas; and it is utterly not tied to varna.

In chapter 18, Dadaji gives a discussion of the varnas and it is not tied to gunas in any way. In particular, he says shudras provide the economic basis of society. He says that in "paricharyatmakam karma shudrasyaapi svabhajanam", "paricharya" is mistranslated, and people follow the blind translation of the west. They have made "paricharya" into "pair dabaanaa" (pressing the legs). Even there he points out, it is the son that would traditionally do so for the father. Anyway, paricharya does not mean pressing the legs or scrubbing dishes. Shudra means those who fulfill the economic needs of society. They are the ones who make everything. Vaisya, Brahmin, Kshatriya don't know how to build houses. .....tomorrow if I don't read the Gita to you, you can go on; but without cloth what will you do? ....More than the other three, society has need of the shudra. etc.

But you didn't explain how Guna plays (or doesn't) a role in Varna Vibhaga. Just saying it doesn't isn't enough. Perhaps Dadaji was saying it is by birth? If so Guna is predominantly defined by birth (a.k.a initial conditions of a given birth/life)?

Then how do we explain Yogis/Rishis being born into different wombs? Did they achieve Moksha by their initial conditions or despite of it?

A_Gupta wrote:To ShauryaT's point, it was not some causeless thing that there were more people in India and China than in Europe. One should reflect on that.
Acknowledge the point of fertile lands, with suitable climates to sustain pre-industrlal era populations. Anyways, I do not want to belabor the point I have made, which had more to do with presenting an honest viewpoint than anything else. Deliberate obfuscation is the quickest way to being thrown out from the marketplace of ideas. If SD has to regain credibility amongst the thinking populations, the least that can be done is to be honest about the facts we present, as best as we know it.

I'm sorry, my copy of Samskriti Chintan is probably in my parents' house. I will try to obtain another copy. What is clear to me is that to Dadaji, since 99.9% of us must continue to perform karma, the varna dharma and the ashrama dharma is the legitimate framework for karma. There is no tie to gunas. In Dadaji's experiments in bhakti, it is very clear, that to him, brahmana dharma is the protection and propagation of Vedic dharma, that he encourages everyone to undertake, not at the cost of their usual duties to family or occupation, but by taking a little time out regularly to do so.

The idea that one in whom sattva predominates is a brahmin, etc., I do not recall, and do not find so far in the few books of Dadaji's that I have. One could take up a duty of studying and teaching the Veda, and yet be a lazy bum, and one would be tamasic by nature, and brahmin by duty. On the other hand, anyone can qualify themselves and spend their one day a month fulfilling the brahmin duty in the temples that villagers built under Dadaji's instructions.

There is always this tight association "varnashrama dharma". For curiosity's sake, do those who tie varna to the gunas also tie ashrama to the gunas?

A_Gupta wrote:There is always this tight association "varnashrama dharma". For curiosity's sake, do those who tie varna to the gunas also tie ashrama to the gunas?
No, the conjoining of the word is not to tie Varnas to Ashramas per se, but to denote these two as the social, community and family aspects of Dharma. Apart from VarnAshrama, the other two major dharmas are Swa Dharma, which is guided by lakshanas and Brahman Dharma.

Varna is tied to gunas through karma. Were there no Karma, there would be no gunas. The only way IMO, gunas are known are through Karmas and hence guna-karma. Therefore Varnas are through Karma only - not locked through birth. It is the nature of our actions that determine Varna. (validated in BG 4.13, Chandogaya Upanishad, Vajra Suchikopanishad, Yajur Veda, Brahma Sutras and depending upon how one chooses to interpret the Purusha Sukta of the Rig)

So, in a way gunas apply to all dharmas, including actions in Ashramas. As one passes through the various Ashramas, it would be expected that Tamas has been subjugated to higher degrees, Rajas is in firmly in control and Sattva prevails as one matures in life. Ofcourse, if one can go beyond these three gunas then one gets to the promise of chapter 14 of BG.

johneeG wrote: Hindhuism does not accept evolution theory. It clearly asserts thar the world was designed and manufactured in very careful way.

3 basic attributes are:
a) knowledge/goodness/concious - satthva
b) desire/anger - rajas
c) ignorance/unconcious - thamas

Now, all the objects are made up of these 3 attributes in varying degrees.

Coming back to the question: why 3 attributes?
Satthva attribute shows an object as it is because it endows a person with knowledge. It also lead to goodness I.e not harming people.
Rajas attribute leads to creation. It drives people to create and it also drives people to disappointment if there is failure in creation. Rajas gives rise to kama (desire), krodha (anger) and lobha (greed).
Thamas attribute leads to ignorance or sleep. It leads to moha (delusion), madha (vanity) and maathsarya (envy).

Each of these three attributes are apparently necessary in the creation. First, thamas is used to create darkness. It envelopes everything and hides everything. This creates ignorance and sleep.

Then, satthva is used to create some light. And knowledge. And goodness.

Then, rajas is used to initiate creation.
JohneeG - The idea that "Hinduism does not accept evolution theory" is a mis-statement. Hinduism explains creation by the mechanism you have described. Creation is not by God. Once creation/maya/illusion has taken birth - the universe, the stars, the planets, atoms, subatomic particles, waves, energy etc and even evolution are simply consequences of that maya. In a moment of understanding - all of creation can dissolve into one. It is the emergence of the formless one into forms that leads to creation - and this creation comes much much earlier than evolution.

The key concept is that we view the world through our (five) senses and our entire construct of the world is what we sense. As long as we believe that the senses tell us everything there is - our truth is what we see WYSIWYG. Hence on a "senses" plane, evolution is "true" although the causal phenomenon of all things, including the universe and life itself is as you have described

shiv wrote:The key concept is that we view the world through our (five) senses and our entire construct of the world is what we sense.
This is exactly how I interpret the purusha suktam.

johneeG wrote: Hindhuism does not accept evolution theory. It clearly asserts thar the world was designed and manufactured in very careful way.
shiv wrote: JohneeG - The idea that "Hinduism does not accept evolution theory" is a mis-statement. Hinduism explains creation by the mechanism you have described. Creation is not by God.
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 8#p1716748

shiv wrote:Western Universalism gives you wealth, health and pleasure right now in this life. What does SD offer in comparison?
If one accepts that man's fundamental nature is like any other animal limited to fulfilling their desires and serves no higher purpose except for whatever cooperation is necessary to fulfill these ever expanding desires in the first place, then SD does not offer anything of this sort in comparison. (WU AKA: Charvakism)

SD's premise is diametrically opposite to WU. SD may show multiple paths and some of these paths indeed allows you to acquire wealth and power and seek pleasure. But, SD does not stop there. SD demands that at root even as one pursues health and wealth a value system of SD prevails. SD demands that as we pursue our Arthas and Kamas, we do not forget that as we progress through our Ashramas, one focuses more and more on our yagnas and increasingly our karma's have to benefit others.

SD shows that one can rise above their animal instincts and make choices that can benefit others instead of serving the self interest. SD promises a way to balance our desires driven by our bodies and our capacity to rise above these bodily desires and perform actions to benefit others (Nishkam Karma). It promises Moksha or Immortality for your true self - in this life! The difference is stark and clear.

shiv wrote:The key concept is that we view the world through our (five) senses and our entire construct of the world is what we sense.
This is exactly how I interpret the purusha suktam.
Shaurya, the same conclusion can be reached by inductive reasoning

Imagine a man who can't see - he's blind
Imagine a man who can't see or hear. How do we communicate with this man? Maybe by touch? How do you know whether he can or cannot smell? Maybe by his reactions to odours and tastes

What about someone who cannot see, hear, smell, taste or feel anything by touch? How do you determine that this being is even alive? Maybe he is moving - breathing perhaps. Breathing itself is an indicator of "senses". The body senses lack of oxygen and a build up of carbon dioxide and reacts to that sense by trying to correct it by breathing.

When none of these can be demonstrated the person is declared "brain dead" which is the same as dead dead.

Being human and alive requires the ability to sense the environment and respond to it. I sense the world. I see that this dead person seems unable to sense my world. Does this world exist?

It exists for me because I sense it. Does it exist for the brain dead person? If he cannot sense it, it does not exist. How can i sit next to this dead person and feel that the world exists and yet does not exist? Which is correct?

The only thing that exists is something that continues to exist whether one can sense it or not. What is, is.

shiv: brain dead person is your creation and wondering whether the world you created in your mind exists for the the brain dead person which you created in your created world is also created by you in your own created world.

matrimc wrote:shiv: brain dead person is your creation and wondering whether the world you created in your mind exists for the the brain dead person which you created in your created world is also created by you in your own created world.
Yes. Precisely. But that is exactly how the logic of living with one's senses works. It fails outside of the senses. In fact even Greek philosophers struggled with this point to no avail. It was in an earlier era, in India that some sense was made out of it. But Greek philosophers do get credit for the process of reductionism - which has reached its peak with modern science.

ShauryaT wrote: SD's premise is diametrically opposite to WU. SD may show multiple paths and some of these paths indeed allows you to acquire wealth and power and seek pleasure. But, SD does not stop there. SD demands that at root even as one pursues health and wealth a value system of SD prevails. SD demands that as we pursue our Arthas and Kamas, we do not forget that as we progress through our Ashramas, one focuses more and more on our yagnas and increasingly our karma's have to benefit others.

SD shows that one can rise above their animal instincts and make choices that can benefit others instead of serving the self interest. SD promises a way to balance our desires driven by our bodies and our capacity to rise above these bodily desires and perform actions to benefit others (Nishkam Karma). It promises Moksha or Immortality for your true self - in this life! The difference is stark and clear.
Absolutely.

As I see it, western Universalism is about rights for humans. Rights always means laws. Laws are always restrictive and laws never allow variation or choice.

Sanatana dharma gives a lot of choices but recommends some over others. But it does not lay down the law. It only states the existence of a "natural order" or natural law that cannot be broken by anyone. SD recommends actions that help one to conform with those natural laws because trying to break them is self destructive. You can destroy others or you can destroy yourself, but you cannot destroy the natural order aka dharma

Unfortunately a lot of SD recommendations go against the grain of what WU allows - like extreme selfishness and bias towards human fulfilment and human pleasure with little concern for the biosphere or earth. That is the problem.

shiv wrote: Western Universalism gives you wealth, health and pleasure right now in this life. What does SD offer in comparison?
A_Gupta wrote: SD offers the same.
SD != WU, if they both offer the same, then they are completely interchangeable with no trade off for given benefits.
R. Rajan wrote a book on saving capitalism from capitalists, my own view is we need a book on saving Western civilization from Universalist.
Unfortunately, no solid Western Scholar has been able to write such a book, but I have read one or two esoteric papers and books that are not main stream that make a lot of sense and are arguments along several lines that came up on this thread.

Just to clarify, in the WU framework, those who criticize Universalism fall into Relativism or Collectionism. This excludes the papers and books I am talking about...
See for example - Linda S. Bell, et al. Negotiating Culture and Human Rights, and Daniel A. Bell’s East Meets West: Human Rights and Democracy in East Asia.

There are also other groups who have argued with the Universalist - Scientific Behavioralism, but I am not versed to describe or critic them, yet! One has to understand that most of these isms come from "freedom of choice" which was adopted into Christian theology. I was looking for criticisms that are outside the general purview of WU scholars today. Very few exist, and even when they do, none have any clear understanding of SD, though they have looked at the Chinese Confucianism is some detail. While Universalism is tied to individualist ontologies, it is still connected epistemologically to the other counterpart ism Relativism, even if they believe that the meaning for human existence comes from relationships between individuals.

More recently, WU scholars have started viewing Confucianism from a Collectionism or Relativism sense. Therefore I suspect as India starts establishing her identity and evolves her view on the challenge to WU, an attempt will be made to treat it similarly. It is entirely another matter that SD has not been digested (yet) despite two serious attempts at colonization. However, SD is susceptible without the Varna-Jati system, unless intellectuals understand the gravity of the situation digestion is a certainity. Therefore the key is to characterize WU, its internal opponents and related ecology in a holistic way from the perspective of SD.

Irritatingly, but predictably, I have not answered your question, but there is a method to my madness.

shiv wrote: Sanatana dharma gives a lot of choices but recommends some over others. But it does not lay down the law. It only states the existence of a "natural order" or natural law that cannot be broken by anyone. SD recommends actions that help one to conform with those natural laws because trying to break them is self destructive. You can destroy others or you can destroy yourself, but you cannot destroy the natural order aka dharma
You make a lot of valid points, but on the underlined conclusion, I cannot but disagree with you. Smrithi is for all practical purposes law. Multiple paths to Moksha are indeed supported, but the Purushartha is consistent between all these paths even if they stress different aspects of it - some Artha, some Kama and some Moksha, and some a combination of these, and others go become heterodoxies that go beyond these.

Your point on SD, unlike WU, being focussed on things other than human beings is correct, but it does this not for some higher purpose, but to be consistent. For example if you read the Purusha Sukta (I recommend this next only to the Nasadiya Sukta) - I love the fact that those 'that consume food' and those 'that do not consume food' are mentioned... what a wonderful way to define life and non-life. The genius is goose-bump worthy!

Pulikeshi wrote: Smrithi is for all practical purposes law.
Some semantics here:

"law" seems to have many definitions, but the definition I carry away in the Chrsitian/WU sense is that a "Law is is something that invariably comes into force when certain conditions are met"

The law of gravitation is one such inalienable law. When two masses exist separately they inevitably exert an attraction on each other. Dharma itself has been described (by JohneeG) as one such law which cannot be negated.

When "law" was translated into human terms in Christian societies - it means absolute certainty of imposition/punishment (by another human being) if a rule was broken. Such a law follows the definition I have stated - "if a rule is broken, the law ensures that the punishment reserved for breaking that rule is implemented by the state/king/united nations"

To my knowledge smriti is not law in the latter human imposition sense. It is more likely to be law in the "gravitation" sense. You can imagine that you are breaking the law (by flying or jumping off a cliff and waving your arms) but your 'success' will be temporary - the law will catch up with you - but it is not a law implemented by humans/kings/national governments.

perspective from a white guy about why whites are turning into minorities within their own countries.

___

White Genocide

Neshant wrote:perspective from a white guy about why whites are turning into minorities within their own countries.

___

White Genocide

Seriously Neshant? Wtf is this sh*t. :lol:

I'm just keeping myself entertained tonight.

Neshant wrote:perspective from a white guy about why whites are turning into minorities within their own countries.

___

White Genocide

The real fact is that the dominance of the western history has ended. Now there is a non linear history from the western perspective

Asian history will become the dominant part of the world history in the 21 st century

shiv wrote: To my knowledge smriti is not law in the latter human imposition sense. It is more likely to be law in the "gravitation" sense.
Smriti is not immutable, nor is it simply based on empirical observations with no ability to prove the same, it is distillation of the context and the social groups and individuals that need to survive within it, into rules, and has indeed been changed again an again within the framework of Dharma.
Hindu Personal Law and Indian Penal Code (indirectly) the current incarnation of the last rewrite which all live by...
The very natural Law you are holding on to comes from the WU framework... you are welcome to, but it is what it is...

A quote without giving credit (from one such book I am reading) - "scientific processes are competent only in situations where both question and answers are capable of being fully defined and where both are capable of being complete. Trying to apply them to situations where neither is the case, and where it is impossible to know the extent to which they are incomplete and undefined, is merely a meaningless ceremonial activity similar to rituals performed by witch-doctors; and is ineffective use of time and resources; incapable of producing competent results."

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pvd0aMEHsac
Barbara Lerner Spectre calls for destruction of White European ethnic societies

watch this to understand how they have analysed the European society and remedy to make sure that the society will survive

JohneeG: how did you miss nasadiya sukta which is in direct contradiction to your clean that SD supports creationism? Most probably I am missing the thrust of your point.

The basic point is: gunas were created before creating objects or actions.

Gunas broadly define actions that they are related to. Then, actual objects and actions were created. Actions are tied to gunas. Objects are tied to actions. Objects acquire gunas by actions. So, objects have choice. Actions are inert, they don't have choice. Inert objects also don't have choice. The living objects have choice of choosing actions and thereby gunas.

Gunas were created first. That means, all objects have gunas: all 3 gunas. Their ratios may vary, but every object has these 3 gunas. All attributes and thereby actions are born from gunas.

There 3 gunas. So, broadly, following groupings are possible:
a) satthva dominant
b) satthva and rajas
c) satthva and thamas
d) rajas dominant
e) rajas and thamas
f) thamas dominant

The 3 gunas can't be in same proportion. And all 3 gunas have to be present. Presence of one guna means that other gunas are also present, even if their percentage is negligible.

Now, these 6 groups have been put into 4 groups:
a) satthva dominant
b) rajas dominant
c) satthva and rajas
d) satthva and thamas
Rajas and thamas
Thamas dominant

(C) and (D) are peculiar. In (D), the idea seems to be that thamas overpowers other 2. So, whenever thamas is in equal proportion to some other quality, thamas gets the priority. In (C), neither sathhva overpowers rajas nor rajas overpowers satthva when they are approximately in equal ratio. So, it has been made into a special category.

Gunas are independent of objects. But all objects and actions must have the 3 gunas.

-----
Matrimc,
How is nasadiya suktha contradicting what I said? Please elaborate.

-----
Evolution theory x Hindhuism:
a) universe came about as series of co-incidents or accidents x universe was created deliberately.
b) from lower to higher evolution x from higher to lower devolution
c) linear timeframe x circular timeframe

Pulikeshi wrote:
Smriti is not immutable, nor is it simply based on empirical observations with no ability to prove the same, it is distillation of the context and the social groups and individuals that need to survive within it, into rules, and has indeed been changed again an again within the framework of Dharma.
"scientific processes are competent only in situations where both question and answers are capable of being fully defined and where both are capable of being complete. Trying to apply them to situations where neither is the case, and where it is impossible to know the extent to which they are incomplete and undefined, is merely a meaningless ceremonial activity similar to rituals performed by witch-doctors; and is ineffective use of time and resources; incapable of producing competent results."
This is what actually leads to deep conflict between the demands of western universalism and the requirements of dharma.

Western Universalism demonstrates "equality", wealth for all, food for all, domination of humans over nature and posits industrial progress as part and parcel of its principles. That is what the world is in love with now.

Dharma has no such immediate sensual gratification to offer. It has a long term view. The idea that it is a "distillation of the context and the social groups and individuals that need to survive within it, into rules, " is not something that I am disputing - but it is "unsaleable" to a sceptical world drunk on the immediate gratification and power provided by western Universalism. "Seeing is believing" is the crudest form of proof and if I get sex, cars and cellphones I am instantly personally gratified - a feeling I don't get from the discipline of dharma.

What means can be used to change that?

Western Universalism gives you wealth, health and pleasure right now in this life
If western universalism (or any other ideology) truly gives wealth, health and pleasure to most of the beings most of the time, then it should be adopted.

I think even though there has been elaborate discussion, the obvious has been missed out.

In 1500, west invaded america and defeated the americans. From then, they started looting gold and genocide of americans. By 1860, Bhaarath was in their control. Using Bhaarath, they gained control of most of the world. Bhaarath provided the key link between east and west. It provided manpower for the western imperial army to invade others. It provided raw materials. It provided markets for finished goods. It provided the knowledge which was used as seed for the technical development.

So, western superiority from 1860 to 1947 was the result of western colonialism particularly its hold on bhaarath. During this period, people learnt to imitate and venerate the west. All non-western people accepted that west was superior. West also actively pushed theories about its superiority. This is the age of cargo cult.

These are three important dates: 1500 (1492 to be precise), 1860, and 1947.
Before 1500s, west were in dark ages. America fell to them in 1500.
From 1500 to 1860, they brutally looted and enslaved. Bhaarath fell to them in 1860.
From 1860 to 1947, they directly ruled the world. Fed and hollywood were established in 1900. Many universities were established.
Bhaarath became free from direct control in 1947.
Now, the western universalism was born.
So, as soon as direct western colonialism ended, western universalism was born. This is an ideology driven by west. But how does west implement its ideology on the world when it has already lost direct control of the world in 1947? In short, what are the instruments through which west controls the world?

What I am saying is that the ideology of the west is being discussed without discussing how west implements that ideology.

The instruments of west are:
- UN - 1945
- WTO and its predecessor - 1948
- IMF - 1948
- world bank -1944
- NATO - 1949

The above was post 1947. Before 1947 instruments:
- hollywood - 1900s
- fed - 1900
- red cross - 1919
- oil - 1900s
- banks of west - 1900
- universities - 1900

So, western colonialism was implemented from 1500 to 1947. Western universalism was invented after 1947. Western colonialism and western universalism are completely opposites. Yet, there is onething that is constant: western control before 1947 and after 1947.

How does west retain its superiority even after 1947?
Tehnology, currency, loans and oil.

- technology:
West has superior tech than non-west, so it has advantage. But, why didn't the non-westerners beg, borrow and steal the tech from west? Between 1500 and 1947, the west begged, borrowed and stole from non-west. Why didn't the non-west beg, borrow or steal from west? Ans: patents. But why should the non-westerners accept western patents? Ans: WTO and its predecessor. What will the west do, if you defy their wto? Ans: sanctions. So, technical superiority is maintained through financial muscle.

- currency, loans and oil:
Financial muscle comes from control on currency, banks and oil. What happens if someone tries to find alternatives to western currency, western banks and/or saudi oil? Ans: Invasion. So, financial muscle comes from military muscle.

jhineeG: if I understand n.sukta universe is not created deliberately. But my understanding may be deficient.

IMO, sanatana dharma and western universalism implicitly have within them differing models of humans, society, etc.

We have to understand the differences in the models as the first task. We should not confuse the model with the application of the model.

shiv wrote: To my knowledge smriti is not law in the latter human imposition sense. It is more likely to be law in the "gravitation" sense. You can imagine that you are breaking the law (by flying or jumping off a cliff and waving your arms) but your 'success' will be temporary - the law will catch up with you - but it is not a law implemented by humans/kings/national governments.
The confusion is in the term - it is used to denote two types of smritis. Dharma Smritis like those of Manu, Yaganvalkya, Kautilya, Narada, etc and some commentaries were analogous to law books, enforced by a ruler. The other smritis are Puraanas (18) and Itihaas - the Ramayan and Mahabharat. They show Dharma in action and not used as law books, except to serve as use cases for the dry laws of the dharma smritis. These days only the latter smritis are expounded upon and the Dharma smritis have been largely forgotten (Hence pulikeshi's observation that our society is convention based) but they form the theoretical underpinnings of Hindu law.