The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
The upgraded An-32s have updated equipment for operation from airfields up to four thousand meters above the sea level as well as in hot conditions.
The upgrades will help in increasing payload carrying capacity of the aircraft from around 6.7 tonnes to 7.5 tonnes and aim to prolong the airplanes' service life to 40 years.
Does it means replacing old technology equipments with modern one saved 800 kg since there is no engine upgrade ?
^^^ Guys, this PressTV.ir news looks highly suspect, even the picture of the aircraft shown is not an IAF AN-32 (or even an AN-32), take it with a pinch of salt. wait for news from more authentic sources to emerge. some things to ponder upon..
1) No other source has talked about this limitation till date.
2) This did not emerge during earlier tranches of aircraft delivery
3) IAF has already showcased AN-32's role as a bomber before the upgrade program during VayuShakti 2010, why will this feature be negated.
4) Avionics and other upgrades were performed, airframe strengthening etc was also performed to result in increase of range, fuel-effeciency and payload as well as a reduced take-off distance.
more on this as info trickles in...
The 3 year contract that was signed December of 2009 worth $110 million by OJSC Motor Sich and IAF, the AI-20 engines are also to be upgraded.
Engines for the 40 planes to be upgraded in Ukraine are to be overhauled (not replaced) by OJSC Motor Sich for $110M, this is almost 25% of the total cost so I think there is some significant work being done on those AI-20 engines. I think only a part of the 40 odd birds to be upgraded in Ukraine have been completed (approx 25 I presume), these rest (15 of the 40) would be done in phases. Remaining 64 would upgraded in India @ 1st BRD Kanpur.
sum sir i missed the c-130 but i also saw a phoren looking transport aircraft over b-lore skies last evening it was a low-winged airplane with only 2 engines and it was soon followed by a AN-32
Chiru-saar, now that you mention it, it was indeed a dual engine craft and couldnt have been the C-130.
Wonder what it was then since it seemed to been the air for a long time...Doubt if it was a HS-748 since it seemed spanking new and painted in nice gray colour.
sum wrote:Chiru-saar, now that you mention it, it was indeed a dual engine craft and couldnt have been the C-130.
Wonder what it was then since it seemed to been the air for a long time...Doubt if it was a HS-748 since it seemed spanking new and painted in nice gray colour.
chiru wrote:@sum sir I'm not sure abt it bieng a hs-748 either, any expert gurus can share their views
anyone managed to "foto Keech" this bird, that'll help. also if you guys can collage the description...
1) 1 set of two propellers could imply HS or AN
2) 2 sets of four propellers could imply C130-J.
or it could be something entirely different like some SAAB or Embraer bird which can come to B'lore for a special visit.
^^ @srinivasan sir - it was a twin turboprop, low wing aircraft, in fresh looking military green - had rounded wing tips - i have never seen a hs-748 flying so cant comment on that.
im positive it cant be an an-32 due to the low wing... and soon after this mysterious aircraft passed over me, it was followed by an AN-32 which i positively identified.
on another note is there an airplane image bank specific to russian planes ? american ones are well documented though!
That leaves out the HS 748 only, I guess
Chiru and Sum, did you both spot the same aircraft? Because sum saab said it was a gray coloured aircraft, while Chiru ji is saying it is a military green colour. I thought all IAF aircraft were painted the standard grey now
Israel Aerospace Industries (IAI) is proposing aerial tanker versions of business jets such as the Gulfstream G550. At the Singapore Airshow earlier this month, a company official told AIN that its small and smart tactical tanker (SSTT) is still only a proposal, aimed at reducing the costs of aerial refueling training. But the idea has obvious application to long-range strike operations by combat jets, such as the Israeli Air Force might be tasked to carry out against Iranian nuclear sites. An IAI brochure depicts an SSTT refueling from a bigger tanker before proceeding in formation with four fighters to refuel them further within 100 miles of a target. The IAI official also told AIN that the company’s first Boeing 767 Multi-Mission Tanker Transport would fly within the next few months. The Israeli Air Force is interested in using IAI-converted 767s in a dual role as a tanker and VIP transport, he added.
NEW DELHI, March 29 (Bernama) -- The Indian Air Force will have all the 10 Boeing C-17 Globemaster III airlifters by August 2014, Patrick Druez who is in charge of Business Development Global Mobility Systems Boeing Defense, Space & Security, said.
India will take delivery of the first C-17 in June 2013.
"The C-17 met all Indian Air Force requirements in high altitude and hot environment where other airlifters can't," he said at a media briefing on the sidelines of the Defence Expo here Thursday.
NEW DELHI: India is working on developing its very own 90-seater civilian aircraft with the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) saying "the strategy for its production has already been evolved" with the design "planned to have unique features like enhanced fuel efficiency, use of bio fuel with low carbon footprint, short to long range haul, shorter air strip requirement and ultra modern avionics".
A design bureau has been set up to undertake indigenous design and development of the plane, called the National Civil Aircraft (NCA-90). A total of seven prototypes are proposed to be developed by CSIR along with the National Aerospace Laboratories (NAL) "to prove the design and demonstrate compliance with respect to airworthiness requirements and certification".
The Planning Commission says the aircraft will be tailored to suit market requirements and will have attractive operating economics. It estimates that "the design and development of the aircraft would cost Rs 4,355 crore. The estimated series production cost would be another Rs 3,200 crore".
Confirming this to TOI, Dr Sudeep Kumar, head of CSIR's planning and performance division, said, "We have set up two separate committees - one for joint venture development that is looking for a corporate group or groups who will join us in developing the aircraft from scratch and then will commercially produce it. The second committee is a technical one which is overlooking the entire project of developing the aircraft."
Dr Kumar added, "The Council has already had talks with the Tata group and will soon meet with Mahindra Aerospace to look for partnership."
Bangalore-based NAL had earlier developed India's first multi purpose 14-seater civilian aircraft Saras. But on March 6, 2009, two IAF test pilots along with a flight test engineer were killed when the second prototype crashed 30 km from Bangalore.
"Saras was 14-seater while NCA is 90-seater. NCA will also be a state-of-the-art machine. We have been asked by the Planning Commission to move a Cabinet note," Dr Kumar said.
According to the CSIR, most developed countries have their own national aircraft. "It is a niche technology. No country wants to share it with others. India has its desired expertise through NAL to develop its very own national civilian aircraft," Dr Kumar said.
Developing the NCA-90, officials say, will not only put India as part of this elite group but will also develop the ancillary industry. "We will have our own maintenance services and spare parts will be available within the country," Dr Kumar added.
The report of the Planning Commission working group in mega science and global alliances for the 12th five year plan says there is a general consensus that India must launch its own civil aircraft development programme.
"It is proposed that the design and development phase to be substantially funded by the government with participation of technical partners whereas the production phases are to be managed through a joint venture with majority partnership from the private sector. While advantage will be taken of the facilities that already exist by way of test-rigs and test-plants, provision has been made towards suitable augmentation and build-up of new facilities," it added.
"Reinventing the wheel",with the 90-seater.By the time the first aircraft flies,and one prays to all the Gods that it does not follow the disastrous example of Saras,Embraer,Bombardier,Sukhoi and one hears of Far-Eastern birds arriving from China and Japan too,will have flown away with all the orders.The 90-seater will be another "technology demonstrator" of little or no value to the nation and a project which would've cost a fortune to keep babudom and PSUs happy.
When established manufacturers have come out with 21st century designs for similar sized aircraft,what was the harm in not tying up with either Embraer or Sukhoi for the same? If China could build a huge manufacturing plant for A-320s,instead of trying to build their own version,why could we not also have done a JV as we are doing with Russia for the MTA? All that the nation has been able to achieve with designin and manufacturing civilian aircraft is to make Avro HS-748s and DO-228s under licence.We cannot even design and manufacture a reliable basic trainer-ours keeps crashing and we have now selected the excellent Swiss PIlatus,a decision like the Hawk,decades late.The 90-seater is going to be another waste of public money and time.I truly wonder which pvt. airline too is going to buy a desi bird when better more reliable ones are available in the international market.
Philip wrote: If China could build a huge manufacturing plant for A-320s,instead of trying to build their own version,why could we not also have done a JV as we are doing with Russia for the MTA?
there are committees which were set up to study the feasibility ... do we know anything better than them here with which we can pass a better judgement of the capability within the nation?
Why so much of pessimism?
I for one wished that they build the turboprop cargo version too. It would have been the ideal replacement for our An-32 and Avros!
there are committees which were set up to study the feasibility
After watching Yes minister and yes prime minister I have no faith in any committee
from an armchair view all Ihave is the history of how another developing country (Brazil) approached it and how much pain and time it took them to get where they are.
Even if the Saras was already in use by commercial airlines I would say there is some reason for optimism
Indra,production started way back in 2009.I agree,if we can't even produce Saras,2hich was originally a Myasichev conncept,how will we design and develop a 90-seater?
Airbus unveils first Chinese-made A320
Updated 5/18/2009
The first Airbus A320 aircraft assembled outside of Europe lands at Tianjin Binhai International Airport following a four hour test flight. Airbus anticipates strong sales as China expands domestic air service.
SHANGHAI (AP) — The first Airbus A320 jet assembled outside Europe made its maiden flight Monday after its assembly in the northeastern Chinese city of Tianjin.
The Airbus Final Assembly Line China, or FALC, in Tianjin plans to begin deliveries to customers in June, European Aeronautics Defense and Space Co. said in a statement.
The jet successfully conducted a four-hour flight from the Tianjin International Airport, it said.
The plant is expected to be able to produce four A320s a month by 2011 and a total of about 300 A320 planes by 2016.
"This A320 assembled in China unquestionably demonstrated the same quality and performance as those assembled and delivered in Hamburg or Toulouse," Fernando Alonso, senior vice president for Flight & Integration Tests at Airbus said.
We CAN do it provided we are serious about it right from the start of the program.
NCA program should involve atleast one major indian private player Tata or Mahindra with atleast 25 % stake in the program , the rest being government funded.
The other important aspect is to involve a global player to be a lead consultant for the program providing technical and management inputs on how to manage this program , with Boeing and Airbus not competing in this space and would be happy to consult.
Then one key aspect is to choose the lead airline that would buy the NCA-90 and be its first major operator , that could be any private player or public one like AirIndia , the chosen airline would share the major risk of operating it and would get subsidy to buy it in return for fine tuning the bird once its gets flight certified and testing program ends and refinement begins , experience has shown one can encounter some hurdle here so this is as serious as it gets to make it commercially successful.
Aim for EASA certification for the aircraft and develop a global support base for maintenance and spares support for it , including pilot training and simulators and other fine nitty gritty that goes into supporting such aircraft. There are players in market that can be hired to do it , including its marketing , sales and after sales support.
It is one goal to develop an aircraft , fly it and be happy while another to design a competitive aircraft that can compete globally with lead players in the market like Embrarer , Bombardier , Sukhoi and Antonov ....... We should aim for the latter and try to be globally competitive rather then just be happy we have designed and flown a 90 seater and finally force feed the IAF to swollow it if nothing works out , wont do much for civil aviation program in India. Thats what Brazil/Embraer does and is , we should aim to be like them rather than China that has shown it cant compete globally with its civil program and aims such program for local market some times force them to buy.
NCA will decide the fate of civil program in India for the next two decade or till 2030 , if we get it right from the outset then we will have a growing civil program in India and with exponential growth of civil market in india both govt/private player will be benefited and so will the country.
Initially its all right to engage global major buy equipment for them that meets stringent standards with the goal to remain competitive at all times , no need to rush for indiginisation of every thing , once the program has numbers then you can think of replacing some equipment/spares and systems from locally manufacturer , Many big/small players in india would improve their own competitiveness by being part of this program
NCA is too big and serious program for India and its civil aviation program to be left alone to NAL/CSIR and their committees , if we do all that i have said above and much more , thats what major players globally do then we can have a bright future in this domain.
I just hope this private partnership comes in with some real stake in the project which is either pvt player chipping in financially or in other commitments like building infrastructure to manufacture , if the private player just come in as NAL/CSIR invitee and has no stake in it , then it would serve no purpose.
Its a green field project for NAL and Pvt player so the scope they can contribute it is also very limited , they will have to rope in global majors for most of the task as lead consultants , its a very realistic way to go ahead, Even Embrarer sources most of its stuff from global majors , so does Sukhoi , plus the latter co-opted the Italians as partners and co-developed with Snecma engines for Superjet program.
If it is "Committee" ruled,it will suffer the same fate as many other projects still being pursued in the "national interest".The GOI PSUs like HAL, will sabotage any serious entrant from the pvt. sector,as long as there is a govt. at the centre that wants mediocrity to rule.If we are truly serious to develop a 90-seater for our civilian needs,then the fastest way is to invite an international partner,a competition,perhaps from the list given,which will hugely shorten the lead time.If not,by the time NAL or whoever develops,tests and gets certification for the aircraft,the Indian market will have been largely closed with pvt. airlines buying what's already on the shelf.We have absolutely NO experience in aero-engines,the key tot he aircraft both for payload and economy and will have to shop from the same aero-engine manufacturers that the existing manufacturers are getting for theirs.Though we've made progress in composites,how far we are from cutting edge tech for the same is an unknown.Aircraft internals like seating and other accessories will also have to be sourced from abroad,our volumes will be too small to develop economically,plus avionics,glass cockpits,radars,commns. eqpt. are other areas where part will still be sourced from abroad.In the final analysis,how "indigenous" will the aircraft be?
I am not saying it is going to be easy ... or there are going to be shortcuts.
I don't plan on seeing the plane before 15 years. But it is not impossible. For every Kaveri, we have Arjun, LCA, Agni, K-X, Arihants, P-17s, P-15s. WE have to start one day.
Also building a 60 seater turboprop plane is not much easier than 90-seater turbofan plane, when we are going to import the engines anyway.
I am sure that India has done a great deal of research into designing and building a 90 seater plane.
However, if this plane is to make an appearance 15 years from today - give and take a few years - either it must be a dynamite plane that beats the others in sales, OR India has figured out that most, if not all, other competitors will vacate this 90-passenger-plane. If the Sitara is an indicator I would venture to guess that this plane would make it much, much earlier than that.
However, I have a greater concern, something I had said about 10 yearish earlier. India has NO infrastructure to make such planes a reality - approach roads to an airport, airports with enough facility to house a larger clientele - restaurants, water fountains, toilets, space for people, shops, plumbing for all that, electricity for every airport and more, lighting the approach roads, draining water along approach roads, etc. As an ex urban planner (of one of the largest SMSAs) forget designing, even buying a large number of planes from the US/Europe/Russia/China, I can tell you, is not a joke. It is very, very, very challenging. The challenge goes waaaaaaay beyond just engines, composites, etc when it comes to a civilian plane. A military aircraft is totally different.
Russia was the very first nation to use planning as a tool, India was the first among democratic nations. Yet India lags badly when it comes to "plans" - total absence of PM at the political level.
Best of luck with the 90-seater. BUT, please plan AND implement the infrastructure. Else there will be not enough space on aprons to even park these pups. Demand will be there, but no supply outside of a 90-seater. It will be total disaster. The entire package HAS to go hand-in-hand.
FYI: History is repeating itself.
Added l8r:
Designing and constructing a 90-seater (civilian plane) is about 5-10% of the problem.
I suggest we stick to military aviation in such threads. A civilian plane poses a problem that most people in aeronautics have no ability to grasp the entire problem. They just cannot.
you reminded me of a good lesson today ... I keep forgetting the importance of urban infrastructure development ... you couldn't be more right.
Even then I am an optimist ...
<OFF TOPIC>
Because I believe in one thing:
When there is money to be made, money will be made ... if that brings along national development ... national development will be brought ... such is human nature ... at the moment there is lot of money to be made in India and Indian civil aviation.
Instead of going for the direct replacement for Avros, wld have been great to see more C-130J s procured. It cld be the version without the super duper Spec-Ops add ons. With the upgraded An-32 already in service, getting shorter legged, lighter payload transports as a direct one on one replacement for older aircrafts doesn't look cost effective. Also, Air Marshal Goel in his blog had mooted the idea of operating the C-130 meant for the BSF and other agencies by IAF, with the same maintenance infra and base, to be used for the respective agencies. This IMO wld be more cost effective and wld provide IAF with more aircrafts during war time, while the aircrafts wld be used to for the respective agencies during peace!