Page 332 of 333

Re: Understanding the US - Again

Posted: 16 Jun 2026 02:11
by A_Gupta
Trying to follow what is happening in the US is like tracking the inmates of a lunatic asylum.

Posted: 16 Jun 2026 02:23
by Jay
government of the lunatics, by the lunatics, for the lunatics....lol

Posted: 16 Jun 2026 04:32
by Vayutuvan
https://x.com/LightOnLiberty/status/206 ... 99936?s=20
Bridgett Fertig
@LightOnLiberty
Kelly, a Texas real estate license holder, testified at a Frisco City Council meeting about widespread housing and employment abuses tied to immigrants from India.

She described a system where Indian applicants qualify for apartments but vanish after approval, with friends or others taking keys and the original leaseholder returning to India, bypassing standard background checks and creating fair housing violations that could trigger MASSIVE lawsuits!

Once units go to Indian tenants, they sublease internally via Indian Facebook groups and apps, excluding all other races and nationalities. Fake tech companies hire entry-level H1Bs, pay for 10 apartments at a time, and supply groceries, while Americans lose jobs to these replacements and face evictions that block renting for 4-7 years!
There is also a video in that X.com link.

BY any metric, this is not fair. Not fair to legal immigrants as well as to US citizens.

Posted: 16 Jun 2026 06:13
by A_Gupta
^^^ I hope it is not true. But for H1-Bs who must leave the country within 60 days if they lose their jobs and cannot find another qualifying job, they have to have their homes or apartments readily hand-over-able to the hands of a managing company. My bet would be "vanish after approval" are people who were forced back to India by the loss of jobs.

Also I see a problem if the homes or apartments are not leased equitably; but on subleases, why are you going to pick someone other than whom you know?

"Fake tech companies hire entry-level H1B" -- what do they do with these entry-level H1Bs, if they are fake?

FYI, if you are subleasing an entire apartment or house then the equal/fair housing laws apply; but if you are subleasing a room or set of rooms in a house, then you can specify, e.g., "vegetarian, teetotaler, non-smoker".

Posted: 16 Jun 2026 06:56
by Vayutuvan
I am not here to defend criminal elements just because we share the same country of origin. I don't want to be their apologist. Let us reflect on why there is so much Islamophobia in the US and Europe. Oil drop theory of Hakim Shiv. Do Hindu Americans want to be perceived as taking the side of those who break the laws of the land they are living in?!!!

Posted: 16 Jun 2026 10:53
by Rudradev
One truly feels sorry for the white Americans. They have fallen on such hard times.

Once upon a time, they could recruit acceptable Gunga Dins who had at least room temperature IQs. These days, it seems they must find their self-loathing simps at the very bottom of the barrel.

Posted: 16 Jun 2026 19:33
by Jay
Vayutuvan wrote: 16 Jun 2026 04:32
Kelly, a Texas real estate license holder, testified at a Frisco City Council meeting about widespread housing and employment abuses tied to immigrants from India.

She described a system where Indian applicants qualify for apartments but vanish after approval, with friends or others taking keys and the original leaseholder returning to India, bypassing standard background checks and creating fair housing violations that could trigger MASSIVE lawsuits!

Once units go to Indian tenants, they sublease internally via Indian Facebook groups and apps, excluding all other races and nationalities. Fake tech companies hire entry-level H1Bs, pay for 10 apartments at a time, and supply groceries, while Americans lose jobs to these replacements and face evictions that block renting for 4-7 years!
I suspect there is more bending of the rules than outright fraud behind these accusations. Over the last 10–15 years, Indian immigrants have moved to Texas in droves, and this has caused some anxiety and hostility among a segment of the local, non-immigrant population. This is understandable and expected, but beyond that, there seems to be a genuine and concerted effort by some to portray Indian immigrants in Texas in a certain way.

Taking this real estate mohotorma at face value, what exactly are her accusations? In my opinion, they are just some inane complaints that are being amplified to serve a particular agenda. Similar practices have been occurring in college towns since time immemorial, and yet this woman seems to have an axe to grind against Indians, or so it appears.

I have no love lost for this newer breed of immigrants from India because, to me, they come across as "ultra-capitalist," with their only focus being the bottom line and cutting corners to pursue that goal. However, that is consistent with many capitalists I have met in the U.S. who are not immigrants. I may dislike their tactics, but that does not mean they are committing a capital sin.

Posted: 16 Jun 2026 21:46
by Amber G.
Sharing:
New York's caste bill is dead. But this outcome didn't happen overnight.

It was the result of years of careful legal analysis, relationship-building, principled advocacy, and countless conversations taking place far away from social media headlines.

That is why we got together with our Donor Circle and pulled back the curtain on what those efforts actually looked like, from engaging lawmakers and educating stakeholders to navigating difficult public narratives around caste, identity, and civil rights.
For more see : HAF's Donor Circle and gaining access to briefings like this one

Posted: 16 Jun 2026 23:22
by g.sarkar
A_Gupta wrote: 16 Jun 2026 06:13 ^^^ I hope it is not true. But for H1-Bs who must leave the country within 60 days if they lose their jobs and cannot find another qualifying job, they have to have their homes or apartments readily hand-over-able to the hands of a managing company. My bet would be "vanish after approval" are people who were forced back to India by the loss of jobs.
Also I see a problem if the homes or apartments are not leased equitably; but on subleases, why are you going to pick someone other than whom you know?
"Fake tech companies hire entry-level H1B" -- what do they do with these entry-level H1Bs, if they are fake?
FYI, if you are subleasing an entire apartment or house then the equal/fair housing laws apply; but if you are subleasing a room or set of rooms in a house, then you can specify, e.g., "vegetarian, teetotaler, non-smoker".
I have worked for the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation for more than 26 years. During that period, I have met just around 4 or 5 convicted felons that were Indians or of Indian descent. This means that Indians are extremely rare as criminals or they are extraordinarily good at avoiding conviction.

Posted: 16 Jun 2026 23:26
by titash
g.sarkar wrote: 16 Jun 2026 23:22
A_Gupta wrote: 16 Jun 2026 06:13 ^^^ I hope it is not true. But for H1-Bs who must leave the country within 60 days if they lose their jobs and cannot find another qualifying job, they have to have their homes or apartments readily hand-over-able to the hands of a managing company. My bet would be "vanish after approval" are people who were forced back to India by the loss of jobs.
I have worked for the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation for more than 26 years. During that period, I have met just around 4 or 5 convicted felons that were Indians or of Indian descent. This means that Indians are extremely rare as criminals or they are extraordinarily good at avoiding conviction.
I had this exact same discussion with a friend last week.

Indians in the US are generally involved in only 2 types of crimes (both non-violent):
- sex/prostitution
- financial fraud/insider trading etc.

Posted: 16 Jun 2026 23:49
by Vayutuvan
Rudradev wrote: 16 Jun 2026 10:53 One truly feels sorry for the white Americans. They have fallen on such hard times.

Once upon a time, they could recruit acceptable Gunga Dins who had at least room temperature IQs. These days, it seems they must find their self-loathing simps at the very bottom of the barrel.
I have seen the quality of the geniuses at HAF in one of the videos you linked here before. If that is the quality of leadership you want us all to follow, thank you, but no thank you. You can spend your time and money on supporting some random bozos, including defending a fully grown adult who uploaded illegally recorded videos on the internet, leading to the suicide of an LGBTQ student.

People have no shame as long as they tell their kids to walk away.

Posted: 16 Jun 2026 23:50
by Vayutuvan
Rudradev wrote: 16 Jun 2026 10:53 One truly feels sorry for the white Americans. They have fallen on such hard times.

By the way, get lost. While going, take your vicitim card with you. I have no time to do gasbaggery in competition with you.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 00:55
by g.sarkar
titash wrote: 16 Jun 2026 23:26 I had this exact same discussion with a friend last week.
Indians in the US are generally involved in only 2 types of crimes (both non-violent):
- sex/prostitution
- financial fraud/insider trading etc.
Financial crimes are not common in prisons, as insider trade is done amongst friends. Some Indians are caught as they are considered to be outsiders. Most common crimes are those involving drugs and gangs. Indians are absent there.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 01:28
by Vayutuvan
Jay wrote: 16 Jun 2026 19:33 I may dislike their tactics, but that does not mean they are committing a capital sin.
I won't say "sin". I am also not saying that it is a "capital crime" or even just a crime.

I know cases where some people have been indicted. All this woman seems to be saying is that what those two Indian kids were saying is correct, but their story is incomplete. She is just narrating her experience of Indian H1Bs bending the rules. Her point is that they are not breaking the rules outright, but not following them in spirit, i.e., not acting for the good of the wider society they are part of. All of them want these complaints to be taken seriously and followed through.

I, for one, want to know the facts of the matter, not some Oxford Debating Society like BS debate on BRF. I may be of low IQ, but my standards of what is ethical and moral are higher than those who want to say that it is all due to racism and red-neck mentality of ETxan cowboys. and push it under the rug. It will keep on festering till it breaks open in a violent way, which will hurt the Indian community, especially those who are working hard to put food on the table. That would be mostly "model citizens", i.e., Hindu Americans.

If the economy goes south, it will be that much worse.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 01:36
by Vayutuvan
Those at HAF who are actually employed by HAF are doing good work. They are also trained as lawyers etc. I have no love for those who have jobs elsewhere in STEM/academia but want to do activism on the side. My guess is that either they are in a dead-end job or not making much headway prefessionally.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 01:38
by g.sarkar
Let me add something here:
It is an easy reaction to feel superior to the new Indian immigrants, they are very "Indian" and unassimilated in their ways. Now, back in the good old days there were Jews living in Germany. They were there for more than a thousand years, very assimilated. They spoke like the native German population, contributed to the philosophy, literature, science and in every facet of the German culture and life. Then, about this time (1900?) Eastern Jews started to migrate into Germany. They came from Russia, Poland and other parts of Eastern Europe. They dressed differently, spoke with a different accent and followed different customs. There was a trend amongst German Jews to view them as apart from the assimilated and successful local German Jews. Unfortunately, the Nazis did not maintain this apparent difference. The assimilated German Jews and the Eastern Jews, both were treated the same and ultimately sent to the gas chamber.
Just a thought.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 01:39
by Vayutuvan
titash wrote: 16 Jun 2026 23:26 - sex/prostitution
@Titash ji, wow. I did not know about this. But soliciting and/or paying for sex is a crime, AFAIK. It might be just a misdemeanor, but it is still a crime. IANAL, neither do I know much about LE.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 01:46
by Vayutuvan
g.sarkar wrote: 17 Jun 2026 01:38 ...They were there for more than a thousand years, very assimilated. They spoke like the native German population, contributed to the philosophy, literature, science and in every facet of the German culture and life.
Just a thought.
@Gautam ji, I get your point. I, for one, do not detest the new immigrants. The only thing I am worried about is that they are bringing the culture of exploiting legal loopholes from the Indian bureaucracy.

The majority of Indian immigrants are not criminally minded.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 02:00
by Vayutuvan

Any ideas how good this database is?

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 02:18
by g.sarkar
Vayutuvanji,
There is nothing illegal about exploiting loop holes in the law. That is democracy in action and that is how lawyers earn money. Ad hoc decisions are the mark of a dictatorship. A mature democracy is run by laws, and laws have exceptions. Whenever I have trouble with laws and regulations, I consult an African-American friend. They know how to play the system, as they have been discriminated by the system for centuries. Remember, twelve US presidents owned slaves during their lifetimes. Eight of those presidents owned slaves while in office. This was legal. So, it is morally right and legal to work the laws to your favor.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 02:21
by vera_k
Vayutuvan wrote: 17 Jun 2026 01:46 [exploiting legal loopholes
Not so much legal loopholes, but the chalta hai culture. Google tells me, this is characterized by -
a relaxed attitude, tolerance for mediocrity, and shortcut-taking.
None of these work well in public settings in the US.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 02:42
by g.sarkar
Excepting some parts of Nevada, prostitution is a crime in the US, and pimping is even more so. However, there are serious loopholes in the law. Paying someone for companionship, a dinner date, or conversation is not a crime. That is the reason why you can hire an escort to give you company and you pay for her time. Sex at the end of the "date" is free and no money is exchanged for that and that keeps it legal. At this point I have to add Allhumdullilah to keep it Kosher.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 02:51
by vera_k
^ This particular loophole has been closed in many places via the quid pro quo standard. Posting it here lest someone relies on it. Sugaring arrangements are the only legal loophole now.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 02:58
by g.sarkar
vera_k wrote: 17 Jun 2026 02:51 ^ This particular loophole has been closed in many places via the quid pro quo standard. Posting it here lest someone relies on it. Sugaring arrangements are the only legal loophole now.
Is that really closed? Just Google "Escort Service in San Francisco" and see the results. It will be more so in Vegas.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 03:00
by vera_k
Depends on whether one gets caught to establish the quid pro quo. Now one can say the police are prioritizing underage or obvious trafficking, and roll the dice. But it is a matter of chance. Vegas is a different matter altogether.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 03:01
by Vayutuvan
g.sarkar wrote: 17 Jun 2026 02:18 Vayutuvanji,
There is nothing illegal about exploiting loop holes in the law. ...
So, it is morally right and legal to work the laws to your favor.
Gautam ji, my wording did not come out right. Since you spent time in the UK and also have seen what Devon Street/Jackson Hts. equivalents in the US, the situation with most stores was that if you are OK paying cash and no receipt (off the books), then you got quite a bit of discount.

I observed the same in London, too.

Another example, which is happening on a big enough scale that it is quite noticeable, is the following.

Parents of those who came in 2000s have passed away, and/or these folks themselves have invested in real estate before coming to the US. Now the prices have gone through the roof in India, they want to cash out on those assets. Bu they face two problems - one is that in India, they have to accept at least 50% in cash. They can get the check part by paying capital gains taxes in India and in the US. Without the cash part, ROI is not good enough for them to cash out, nor can they give it on rent due to various reasons like tenants not moving out, or rental income has to be reported to IRS.

A large number of them actually are engaging in hawala/money laundering and have qualms about it. In the process they are screwing the Indian public as well as the American public.

These kinds of stuff is not loophole exploiting. It is criminal plain and simple. And dangerous to boot. If they get caught, say good bye to not only GC in the US. They would not be able to get visas for any other country either.

Suprisingly a large number of people think that they can get away with it.

"adjust madi" mentality.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 03:07
by Vayutuvan
By the way, I see a lot of people portraying what is the usual office politics of factions for raises, promotions, recognition, etc., as racist, especially so where the top management is Indian, and the rank and file has a large Indian component.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 04:10
by Rudradev
Vayutuvan wrote: 16 Jun 2026 23:50

By the way, get lost. While going, take your vicitim card with you. I have no time to do gasbaggery in competition with you.
:rotfl: Why did you conclude my post was about you? "Victim card" much?

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 04:12
by Rudradev
Vayutuvan wrote: 17 Jun 2026 02:00 Image

Excellent. It's the best database. Compiled by a white guy (in a navy uniform) who complains that it's the immigrants' fault he can't get a job (no Victim Card here!)

This must be believed over the morally suspect claims of Indian immigrants any day.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 06:48
by saip
^1000+++

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 07:05
by Vayutuvan
He gave sources. Methodology seems to be sound. Data sources are from BLS. Strange that no "white guy" (probably you are thinking that it is "white trash") should complain because they he had white privilege.

All this coming from somebody who lived a charmed life in Thiruvantapauram/Anulshkatinagar/BHEL/HAL/HMT/Kalpakkam townships who availed KVC education, got into IITs due to access to excellent teachers, and then hightailed to the US to spend their 5 years in the rarified researth labs of Princeton/Berkeley/Stanford and went into Bell Labs/Academia and say that they never had privilege.

No wonder some of you people hate those who are of "low IQ" and question their pedigree and scholarship. Classic Aryan mindset.

We had another cuckoo who was of the firm opinion that Indians have a higher IQ than everybody else in the US. No wonder that we are getting hit with bills like SB 503 (?).

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 07:09
by chanakyaa
What am I missing??
I never missed a day of work from 1976 to 2003.
OK, assuming he started career at age 25, he survived the dot-comm bubble in 2000 with 27 yeas of *alleged* software development experience in 2003.
From 2003 to 2010 I could only find small projects.
Puzzles me. At the age of 50-52, people of his experience progressed to be managers at IT companies to oversee newly arrived immigrants off Mayflower or minting $$ off good/bad/ugly tech companies doing IPOs.
From 2010 to 2016, no one would hire me at all
Ok, at near retirement age 60, who would hire a person who couldn't capitalize on previous 7 years of boom years in IT?

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 07:15
by Vayutuvan
Rudradev wrote: 17 Jun 2026 04:10 Why did you conclude my post was about you? "Victim card" much?
How cowardly to hide behind a shield of plausible deniability. Yes, I am accusing you of trying to create a narration on the lines of "Hindu-Amricans khatre mein hain", go out there and march on the streets just like those "from the river to the sea" low-life are doing. You do that. I will do what I do best.

Disabuse yourself of the notion that "we are victims". If you can put your money and time where your mouth is. Instead of dabbling in politics, quit your job and jump into it with both feet like Suhag Shukla had done, or what Rajiv Malohotra had done, instead of gassing on the BRF hot air AKA "Strategy, Politics & International Relations" forum.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 07:16
by Vayutuvan
saip wrote: 17 Jun 2026 06:48^1000+++
Is that your IQ?

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 09:39
by saip

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 09:41
by saip

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 09:51
by A_Gupta
Rudradev wrote: 17 Jun 2026 04:12
Vayutuvan wrote: 17 Jun 2026 02:00 Image

Excellent. It's the best database. Compiled by a white guy (in a navy uniform) who complains that it's the immigrants' fault he can't get a job (no Victim Card here!)

This must be believed over the morally suspect claims of Indian immigrants any day.
If he can get a security clearance there are tons of jobs not open to H1-Bs.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 14:36
by chetak
Vi@WA

THE EMPEROR HAS NO CLOTHES: How America’s Iran War Ended In Strategic Humiliation - And The Death Of American Hegemony

Let me be brutally direct with you today.

The 14 point MOU now agreed between Iran and America is one of the most extraordinary diplomatic documents that was ever created.

Read those 14 points carefully. Then ask yourself- who won this war?

America’s stated objectives when it launched Operation Epic Fury alongside the Zionist regime it supports, on 28 February 2026 were unambiguous: destroy Iran’s nuclear programme permanently, obliterate its missile industry, neutralise its support for resistance groups across the region, and - though never officially stated - trigger regime change in Tehran.

Not one of those stated objectives has been achieved. Not one.

Iran’s Supreme Leader was assassinated in the opening hours of the campaign. Its conventional navy was largely destroyed. Its nuclear sites sustained severe damage. By every metric of raw military firepower, America “won” the battles.

And yet- here is what the peace agreement actually says:

I. The US commits to non-interference in Iran’s internal affairs and respect for Iranian sovereignty;

2. The naval blockade - America’s ultimate coercive instrument - is to be lifted completely;

3. US forces are to withdraw from around Iran;

4. All oil and petrochemical sanctions are suspended;

5. US is to unfreeze $24 billion of Iranian assets;

6. The US and its allies must present reconstruction plans for Iran amounting to at least $300 billion.

Let’s call a spade a spade.”Reconstruction fund” is a euphemism - a diplomatic fig leaf. There is a word in the vocabulary of history for when the aggressor pays to rebuild what it destroyed in a country it attacked. That word is reparations. And in the entire history of warfare, only the defeated pay reparations. It happened in the Napoleonic wars. Germany paid them after two World Wars. Japan paid them after 1945. Iraq paid them after Kuwait.

America is now being asked to pay them after Iran.

If you needed a single fact to understand who lost the war, this is it.

And more crucially - Iran’s missile programme and its support for its proxies in the region - Hamas, Hezbollah and the Houthis are definitively removed from the negotiating agenda altogether.

I want you to pause on that last point. America went to war - spending officially $30 billion (although I think the real figure is around $200 billion) in 3 months, depleting munition stockpiles so severely that analysts say will take 3-5 years to rebuild, triggering a global energy crisis that darkened economic outlooks worldwide - and Iran’s missiles and it’s geopolitical alliances are NOT even on the table.

This is not a peace agreement. This is a terms of surrender document, and I have been calling that for at least the past 6 weeks. And America is the one signing it.

No wonder Donald Trump has gone from calling it total victory to proclaiming that he is the first American President to sign a Peace Deal with Iran! The humiliation is total!

The great American strategic theorist would ask: what is the relationship between means and ends? You do not commit the world’s most powerful military to a campaign of this scale, assassinate a Head of state, spend $200 billion of taxpayers’ money, and have most of your bases in the Persian Gulf destroyed by Iranian ballistic missiles, and engineer a global oil crisis - only to walk away having achieved nothing that you set out to achieve.

A leaked US Defence Intelligence Agency assessment told the real story: Iran moved much of its enriched uranium stockpile before the strikes began. The underground facilities were not collapsed. The nuclear programme was set back by months, not years. Trump told the world he had “completely and totally obliterated” Iran’s nuclear capabilities. The DIA said otherwise.

This is the difference between narrative and reality- and the world is now watching America navigate the gap in real time.

Compare this to Vietnam. America lost in Vietnam after years of ground war, 58,000 dead, and the shattering of a generation. That was a tragedy of attrition - a superpower slowly bled out by a peasant army.

What happened in Iran is strategically far worse and much more humiliating. This was a 100 day hi-tec air war - America at its most lethal, most technologically supreme, most unleashed. B-2 stealth bombers, carrier strike groups, the finest precision munitions on earth. And Iran - battered , sanctioned, blockaded - looked the American eagle in the eye, closed the Strait of Hormuz, struck US bases across 7 countries, and waited.

Iran did not need to win militarily. It only needed not to lose politically. And that is what it did.

The MOU is Iran’s vindication. The Islamic Republic - for all the damage it sustained - emerges with its sovereignty affirmed and strengthened. It’s reconstruction guaranteed. It’s economy unlocked, and it’s strategic programme protected. The Americans after all their fire and thunder, can’t wait to go home.

Now consider what this means for the wider Middle East - and for American hegemony itself.

For 7 decades, American dominance in the ME rested on a single proposition: that the US could compel outcomes through military force. Every ruler in Riyadh, every government in Amman, every calculation in Cairo and Ankara and Tel Aviv was made in the shadow of that proposition. America’s vast constellation of military bases - Al Udeid in Qatar, Fifth Fleet headquarters in Bahrain, installations across Kuwait, the UAE, and beyond - were not merely logistical assets. They were the physical embodiment of American will. They said: we are here, and we decide.

That proposition has now been shattered.

The bases may still exist, although most of them have been literally destroyed. The warships may still sail. But what does a military base mean when the country it was meant to intimidate has just negotiated a peace agreement protecting its missiles, its proxies, and its sovereignty - and extracted a $300 billion reparations commitment from its attacker in the process? The infrastructure of hegemony may remain. The credibility that gave it meaning has gone.

This is how empires end - not always with a single catastrophic defeat, but with the moment when the world realises that the emperor’s power to compel has reached its limits. When smaller nations look at what Iran achieved and begin to draw their own conclusions. When friends and adversaries alike recalibrate.

Iran has not merely survived American military assault. It has demonstrated to the entire Global South - to every nation that has lived under the shadow of American coercion - that resistance is possible, that sovereignty can be defended, and that the world’s most poweful military machine can be politically defeated even when it wins every battle.

This is the end of American hegemony in the Middle East. Not its weakening. Not its decline. It’s end.

History will record this as the moment the American century confronted its limits in the most direct possible way - not in the jungles of Southeast Asia, not in the mountains of Afghanistan, but in the Persian Gulf, in a war that lasted 100 days and ended with Washington agreeing to rebuild what it destroyed.

The emperor, it turns out, has no clothes.

And the world has noticed.

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 17:55
by Tanaji
Vayutuvan wrote: 17 Jun 2026 03:01
Parents of those who came in 2000s have passed away, and/or these folks themselves have invested in real estate before coming to the US. Now the prices have gone through the roof in India, they want to cash out on those assets. Bu they face two problems - one is that in India, they have to accept at least 50% in cash. They can get the check part by paying capital gains taxes in India and in the US. Without the cash part, ROI is not good enough for them to cash out, nor can they give it on rent due to various reasons like tenants not moving out, or rental income has to be reported to IRS.

A large number of them actually are engaging in hawala/money laundering and have qualms about it. In the process they are screwing the Indian public as well as the American public.

These kinds of stuff is not loophole exploiting. It is criminal plain and simple. And dangerous to boot. If they get caught, say good bye to not only GC in the US. They would not be able to get visas for any other country either.

Suprisingly a large number of people think that they can get away with it.

"adjust madi" mentality.
I think the US case is different than say UK. The initial Indian diaspora to US have been mainly well educated in the formal sense and holding occupations that are white collar. This resulted in them going under the radar so to speak as US white collar people did not complain or have a voice. So perhaps there were illegal activities done by Indians but a spotlight was never shown them which resulted in the ideal minority narrative.

The last 20 years have been different with the huge rise of direct H1B/J1 route as opposed to F1->H1 route. It did not help that the relentless march of capitalism meant US white collar jobs started being outsourced and with it came the increased scrutiny.

I am not convinced that the later migrants are more dishonest than the older ones, it’s just that they are more of them and are being scrutinised more. Btw I am not implying you said so in your post to be clear.

Plus there is the social media aspect: I do suspect there is a dedicated China/Pak/Ban campaign to package the worst videos of subcontinent and show them as Indians. Some are right , some are not and it gets amplified by white youtubers who go to India for drain inspection…

The UK experience is different and off topic here…

Posted: 17 Jun 2026 19:38
by saip
That Navy guy has no savings, no pension, that he lives on Social Security? and that too $1419/month? Speaks lots about his IQ. Probably he worked at very low paying jobs in the Navy (if not he should make >4K in SSI), dishonorably discharged (does not speak of pension) and now lectures others about morals and people with low IQ believe him. Blame your problems on others especially if you are white and the 'blamee' is an immigrant no matter that he is a hardworking, honest dude.