The Cricket World Cup Thread

rvishwak

Re: The Cricket Thread

Post by rvishwak »

KrishG wrote:Just returned from the match!!!!! Superb! Although India didn't win, it was England's match to lose, and they almost did it thanks to superb comeback by Zaheer and overwhelming pressure put the new batsmen by the crowds in the last 7 overs.

I was about the leave the ground around the 40th over, when the match was all but lost. Thank god I didn't!! :wink:

Full Paisa Vasool for me! :D :D
watching cricket show on Times Now, Boria was mentioning the crowrd started chanting 'cheaters cheaters...' after the Bell's review decision and they kept on doing it for next 5 mins or so

+1, In the WC all are trying that much harder. The difference between a good team and great team is how well the basics are done - no short runs, tight fielding, maiden or low scoring overs.

ZAK does get wickets but routinely bowls a bad ball that goes for a boundary. That's OK in tests but not in ODI's where wickets and run rate is important.

All things being equal, the short run from Munaf cost us the match and this is basic (Remember, Ganguly got run out a few times because he does not ground his bat. He had a tendency to carry it with him in both hands across the crease - again basics).

Indian pitch - Advantage India
Toss won - Advantage India
338 - Advantage India
Sachin played well. Most other batsmen played well too.
Chawla - bad bowling or a bad day?

For the record, no bowler gave away 24 runs in an over unlike the last innings (ducks for cover).

To Englands credit, they played out of their skin. Hats off to them. Chasing and scoring 300+ against any bowling attack is creditable. Strauss, played his innings of a life time. He won't do that again (hopefully).

Munaf bowled well in the death overs.

I think TI will re-group and recover. However, nothing can be done for this WC to fix the ponderous muffin tops fattened on T20 and sponsorship money leisurely plodding the outfield and infield.

A tie is better than a loss but its a wake up call. India did not get away lightly but we did prevent having our face rubbed into it.The tie would be hurting both teams but would be hurting England more than India.

A third seam bowler is definitely required to contain and back the opening bowlers. Ideally an all-rounder. Who can that be? We have no new comer in those shoes seen at all? Chawla did good but not good enough. He was as good but not better than ashwin. Ashwin and Bhaji is a nice combo for ODIs, while chawla and munna can swap roles based on the ground conditions before a match. We need Praveen back. Munna just can compete with Praveen.

rvishwak wrote:watching cricket show on Times Now, Boria was mentioning the crowrd started chanting 'cheaters cheaters...' after the Bell's review decision and they kept on doing it for next 5 mins or so
not cheaters....we were chanting 'cheating cheating' :wink: .....I say that what happened in the last 7 overs wouldn't have happened if it wasn't for the AWESOME crowd support. The whole crowd erupted for some reason in the 42nd over, no one sat down after that, shouting all the way each ball was bowled! The batsmen, around the 45-46th over, even asked Billy Bowden to do something about the crowd, but who would listen ? :D :D :D
mraghu

Post by mraghu »

Munaf and Piyush, should sit out and in comes Sreesanth and Raina. should come in
rvishwak

Post by rvishwak »

KrishG wrote:
rvishwak wrote:watching cricket show on Times Now, Boria was mentioning the crowrd started chanting 'cheaters cheaters...' after the Bell's review decision and they kept on doing it for next 5 mins or so
not cheaters....we were chanting 'cheating cheating' :wink: .....I say that what happened in the last 7 overs wouldn't have happened if it wasn't for the AWESOME crowd support. The whole crowd erupted for some reason in the 42nd over, no one sat down after that, shouting all the way each ball was bowled! The batsmen, around the 45-46th over, even asked Billy Bowden to do something about the crowd, but who would listen ? :D :D :D
cheers for the bangalore crowd which saved us from a very huge disappointment.
rvishwak

Post by rvishwak »

this is going to hurt us. Being on top 2 in the group is very important if TI have to avoid Aus/Pak/SL in Quarter finals
sourab_c

Post by sourab_c »

Bowlers were cocky after the batting side posted a nice total. Considering the miserable bowling and fielding, we deserved to lose and hence I am happy with a tie. It was dumb luck onleee..

Piyush Chawla was trying too many things at the end and was very inconsistent with his bowling.....He should not have been allowed to bowl in the 49th over...

Tanaji wrote:
Rahul M wrote: I'll be VERY happy if we make the semis, something we managed the last 2 times WC was held in India.
That should be possible no? We make quarters, most likely at #2 position and will end up facing Aus or someone similar.
Are you confident of TI beating white pakis (or even original pakis) after today's performance?

Let us analyze the last over:

Patel to Swann, 1 run, It's a tie! 100 overs of scintillating ODI cricket and the scores are level! That's what World Cup cricket is about! Swann drives hard as Munaf finds a perfect line and length, hit it cleanly but straight to mid-off who managed to make no fumble and pinned England to a single to seal the tie

Patel to Swann, 2 runs, Swann miles down the track, wants the boundary to finish it but finds an inside edge by heaving to leg. Manic running and slow fielding have him back for a second. One to tie, but two for a famous, unbelievable win...

Patel to Shahzad, 1 bye, Shahzad misses outside off but Swann has called through for a bye! Clever, steely stuff from Munaf, quite how a bowler holds his nerve in a situation like this is beyond me. Oh Shahzad what a strike that was.

Patel to Shahzad, SIX, Strauss is on his feet, Swann is screaming! What a shot from Shahzad! So clean! Just got his front leg out the way, got the half-volley he wanted and creamed it straight down the ground, over the bowler's head and into the stands for six!

Patel to Swann, 1 run, wonderful stuff from Munaf, perfect slower ball, nothing for Swann to work with and he can only outside edge to third man. Shahzad hits a long ball though...

Patel to Swann, 2 runs, Swann gives himself room outside off to drive towards cover, doesn't get the boundary he needs but a misfield allows him to keep the strike by scampering back a second

So, after 99 overs England need 14 to pull off a historic victory. India favourites, Munaf to bowl it...
cricinfo comment:
Match tied Well well well. If it weren't for Munaf's short run from the last ball of India's innings India would have this game! Incredible match,

Well don't get worked up folks. It is good that the fans got a rude shock and are now fully aware that it is only the batting and huge slice of luck that can deliver us the cup. In hindsight I feel we should have got Irfan Pathan into the side instead of packing the side with so many batsmen. It doesn't really make sense to pack the team with batsmen when in most circumstances at least 2 batsmen will be wasted( won't get a decent hit). In the 2003 WC we packed our side with an extra batsman and that batsman could not save us in the Final when he was most needed.
I still give India an outside chance of winning the WC, for that to happen Sehwag/ SRT should do a D'silva or Warne or Amarnath and become the MOM in both the semi final and the final.
I didn't watch the match today but from the commentary on cric-info it seems that Chawla bowled quite well and was unlucky. I think it is wise to play him against the Gora sides, as we move into March and the heat starts building up, there will be some turn for him and he should come into his element when defending totals in excess of 350.
OZs are my favourites to win the WC. South Africa and India are the next favourites and the Pakroachistan is the dark horse.

At work friend gave me call saying gawd hit a century.
few hours later gave me shock that it was a tie.

It is a team game but still it is all gawd's fault as he alone did not win the match for us.
if it is was some paqui down under they would have won the match.
daggers are out on poor gawd as it is all his fault.
if he was like the great paqui 3 WC would have been his. he would be hailed the greatest of greatest of all times.

No No blasphemy for this kuffr. :evil: :twisted:

TI would have won > 3 WC if gawd was not in the team. :(( :((

Nobody is blaming dhoni. His kaptaanship is all crappy and shaky.

SaiK wrote:Nobody is blaming dhoni. His kaptaanship is all crappy and shaky.
Do you want Dhoni to bowl and take wickets ? :rotfl: He's as good as his bowlers . BTW, who is the bowling coach for TI ? He needs some flogging. :evil: :twisted:

Ah yes! Dhoni is useless and should be sacked. Please make Badarinath / Ashwin the captain because he is from my state

Chinmayanand wrote:
SaiK wrote:Nobody is blaming dhoni. His kaptaanship is all crappy and shaky.
Do you want Dhoni to bowl and take wickets ? :rotfl: He's as good as his bowlers . BTW, who is the bowling coach for TI ? He needs some flogging. :evil: :twisted:
Cheen-mein-Anand Ji

Why blame the poor bowling coach. We simply don't have match winning bowlers.

We have excellent bowlers, the best ones in the world!
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

Like I said this is a 370 pitch given the circumstances and the fact that we were packed with too many batsmen. Yuvi/Dhoni/Sachin wasted away too may balls while batting. Thats not acceptable when you know that there are enuf batsmen to follow and that our bowling is no shakes. Maybe we just read the pitch wrongly. Contrast this with the English batsmen ensuring a boundary in each over under lights and under pressure. Surely they are no Gods and the bowling wasnt that of Kenya.

SandeepA wrote:Like I said this is a 370 pitch
some years ago, there weren't any 370 pitches. They surely must make 'em differently now. Lets not kid ourselves.

A li'l Monday morning quarterbacking....

- Sending in Yuvi ahead of Kohli wasn't particularly bright. Yuvi's been outta form way too long to suddenyl fire away. And it showed. The man anyway struggles against spin and the slower ball even when in form. That showed too. The tommies were all chin music-bouncers against him. The batting powerplay with the new ball in fetched a measly 32 runs....ugh.

- The obviously plain LBW still befuddles. What gives, IMHO? Bowden's another Bucknor, unlikely though that seems...

- too many missed catches, misfields and all. Our senior players (with a few honorable exceptions) all sport pauches now - spare tires.Why, look at zak himself. Less said about sehwag and yuvi the better.

Etc etc.
/rant off.

the blr stadium is also quite small...lofted fours on other grounds are sixes here. and it showed in the high scores.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

SandeepA wrote: Yuvi/Dhoni/Sachin wasted away too may balls
That must get the thought of the day award!

Yuvaraj is coming without much in terms of confidence. How do you blood confidence ahead of a successful WC chase without having one of your premier batsmen have confidence?

Bowling Chawla in 49th was also a confidence move. IF MSD did nt show the confidence in Chawla at that point, when would he? Against Zimbabes?

People talk as if life is lost with one tie.

Marten and Shaardula saar's might be able to throw more light on this but what's the deal with a leggie trying to around the wicket to a right hander during the slog overs, specially when the tail enders are looking to slog sweep anything that falls in their slot ? I for one didn't see Chawla getting any appreciable purchase from outside the leg stump so trying to land the ball in the rough too is ruled out.

From my vantage point a leggie always has more chances of getting a right handed batsmen out when bowling from over the wicket for one has a chance of getting the batsman lbw if he misses, bowling round the wicket batsman does not have to worry about the lbw so he can free his arms.

the match was fixed. As simple as that. All of Dhoni's actions indicated the same. Firstly his field placements always leaked singles. It is a small ground with a 'corporate audience' to boot, yet not 3rd seamer selected by capitan. A lot of snicks heard off Strauss bat yet no appeals by capitan ? Yuvdrag came in and wasted 2 overs on a road without scoring a run for no rhyme or reason and that too when a spinner like Yardy was operating. Yardy has avg of 70 runs/wicket. Zaheer was not bowling as usual, always a pie in his over invariably which is not normal for him. Match umpire/Third umpire (the both sit together) saved Bell when he was plumb. Actually fixing has started with Ireland/Banglad game. And then continued into WI/SA game where WI picked just 1 seamer and Pakistan/SL game where SL didn't include Malinga for vague reasons, all world expected SL to cruise to victory and thus betting fetches higher returns.

Sreesanth for captaincy! :twisted:
yes I see pink unicorns flying around my head

Singha wrote:the blr stadium is also quite small...lofted fours on other grounds are sixes here. and it showed in the high scores.
It's Chinna swamee (little swami)

SandeepA wrote:Like I said this is a 370 pitch given the circumstances and the fact that we were packed with too many batsmen. Yuvi/Dhoni/Sachin wasted away too may balls while batting. Thats not acceptable when you know that there are enuf batsmen to follow and that our bowling is no shakes. Maybe we just read the pitch wrongly. Contrast this with the English batsmen ensuring a boundary in each over under lights and under pressure. Surely they are no Gods and the bowling wasnt that of Kenya.
Do you realise the fact that we had bowlers scampering for runs in the final overs? If we had started 'hit or get out' mode of batting any time soon we would have been all out by 48th over. And why in the world did England with all their batsmen still to come collapse like a heap of cards when all they had to do was get some 40 odd runs in hit or get out mode? It is not easy for a new batsman to start hitting right away on any wicket no matter how many overs and wickets you have in hand. So please go easy on Yuvi/Dhoni/Sachin.

Interesting factoid:
Things you may not have known about the world cup
If they'd given him a ticket we might still be in England
It's said that NKP Salve, the president of the Indian board at the time, was refused a complimentary ticket for the 1983 final by officials at Lord's. Outraged, he vowed to take the next World Cup - already verbally promised to England again - to India ... and succeeded. It's not known how requests for tickets went down when England reached the Kolkata final.

Dilbu wrote:Sreesanth for captaincy! :twisted:
yes I see pink unicorns flying around my head
I will go further , if were are win QF, SF and F, Parathan needs to play a important part in 2 of 3 matches. But let them try Nehra and Chawla in league stages. Keep him hungry and bring him on later.

He is the bowler along with Zaheer who is going to get us a few wickets with the new Ball.

It was a thriller in the end, but it also shows that India is not going to make it this time.

It is obvious that if we need to win, we have to set a high target because our bowling is pathetic. The Bangladeshis have already exposed our bowling. However, we did poorly in the batting powerplay yesterday. Full marks here to the unheard of (at least by me) English spinner Yardy. He bowled flatter and faster through the air not allowing the batsmen liberty during those crucial five overs. In the last few overs, we collapsed in a heap not even holding up to the entire 50 overs. We also allowed the Brits to bowl two maiden overs, a crime in limited overs matches. I cannot believe that at least one run could not have been scored. These could have made the result different.

Our bowling is not going to win matches for us unless conditions are very favourable. We bowl in the same fashion, especially our spinners, at all stages of the game and in all situations. There are times when taking wickets is not of prime concern, but containing the runs flowing is as Yardy demonstrated. I am not sure if our bowlers realize that, especially the spinners.

Our fielding looked OK though we are probably at the lowest end of the pyramid. We are forced to cheer our fielders for their efforts which are otherwise regulation stuff for other teams. Even then only three of our players are good fielders. Munaf Patel, who is the worst of the lot, did bend his back in fielding a few times yesterday, but during one of the last few overs, he did not attempt to pick a return to his bowling end leaving the backup fielder quite far behind to do the job. This could have resulted in an extra run that had the batsmen been alert and made all the difference in the end. Somehow there is this feeling that "I am a specialist bowler or batsman; fielding is not my priority".

All in all, pretty ordinary attempt by India except for a fantastic effort by Tendulkar who made up in the end admirably for his slower start.

:shock: SSridhar miyan is in kirket thread :eek: , as usual embarrassing others by his first-rate balanced analysis :oops:

The Indian twelfth man
And you watch abstract notions come alive - for instance, the oft quoted fact of the crowd in India acting as the 12th man for the team. It works, and how!

When the team is on song, there is non-stop bedlam. Every piece of work that is not terrible is cheered fit to bring the roof down if there is one. And you can see players growing in confidence before your eyes.

In India's thrilling tie against England, there was a point during the Strauss-Bell stand, when England seemed to be cruising to victory. The crowd lost its voice a little, though not completely. And then, Zaheer Khan struck to get Bell out - which opened the floodgates and seemed to lend an extra decibel to forty thousand voice-boxes in the Chinnaswamy Stadium. When Strauss departed off the next ball, the noise level might have reached all the way to Delhi.

With the mood of the crowd, the energy-level of the Indian team too underwent a sea-change. Suddenly, every fielder was attacking the ball. The Indians were running like the wind, often with the man nearest to the one who was fielding also running to back up - just in case there was a mis-field. The fielders were geeing each other and the bowler up with constant encouragement and the team looked transformed from a beaten lot to one with a strong sense of urgency and purpose.

Stan_Savljevic wrote:
SandeepA wrote: Yuvi/Dhoni/Sachin wasted away too may balls
That must get the thought of the day award!

Yuvaraj is coming without much in terms of confidence. How do you blood confidence ahead of a successful WC chase without having one of your premier batsmen have confidence?

Bowling Chawla in 49th was also a confidence move. IF MSD did nt show the confidence in Chawla at that point, when would he? Against Zimbabes?

People talk as if life is lost with one tie.
Not to mention that Yuvi had a SR of 116 (58 off 50) , Dhoni had a SR of 124 (31 off 25) and SRT had a SR of 104 (120 off 115). It is a sign of times that a SR > 100 is classed as slow and wasting away balls.

If more runs were not scored then the issue is with the likes of Pathan and Kohli, if one can fault them

Overall I think we played as much as we can. Our bowling and fielding sucks on flat wickets. If we have the advantage of even slight turn, the bowling can go against the best of them.

Tanaji wrote:
For those wanting Sreesanth, I doubt he would have fared better. He would have leaked 75-80 runs as well and would have thrown a tantrum to boot.
Still the tie would serve to jolt the team management. Better get these things out in the league stage itself.

Maybe time for R Ashwin to step up?
I totally disagree, statistics of Indian Bowlers

Overall
Name Span Mat Inns Overs Mdns Runs Wkts BBI Ave Econ Strike Rate 4 wicket 5 wicket
Ashwin 2010-2011 7 7 66 3 325 14 45352 23.21 4.92 28.2 0 0
Sreesanth 2005-2011 52 51 404.4 16 2456 75 20241 32.74 6.06 32.3 2 1
Zaheer 2000-2011 184 181 1541.2 111 7584 257 15462 29.5 4.92 35.9 7 1
Nehra 2001-2011 117 117 934.5 54 4861 154 45078 31.56 5.19 36.4 5 2
Piyush Chawla 2007-2011 23 23 200.4 6 1014 30 45017 33.8 5.05 40.1 2 0
Harbhajan 1998-2011 219 210 1912.5 78 8253 248 11444 33.27 4.31 46.2 2 3

Matches in India
Name Span Mat Inns Overs Mdns Runs Wkts BBI Ave Econ Strike Rate 4 wicket 5 wicket
Sreesanth 2005-2010 24 24 192.5 9 1247 46 20241 27.1 6.46 25.1 1 1
Ashwin 2011-2011 6 6 56 3 275 12 45352 22.91 4.91 28 0 0
Piyush Chawla 2011-2011 1 1 10 0 71 2 25965 35.5 7.1 30 0 0
Zaheer 2000-2011 60 59 496.5 29 2602 80 15462 32.52 5.23 37.2 1 1
Nehra 2002-2010 30 30 254.2 8 1649 39 26390 42.28 6.48 39.1 1 0
Harbhajan 1998-2011 86 85 788.2 26 3501 101 11444 34.66 4.44 46.8 1 2

THis clearly shows for matches in India Sreesanth even though wickets do not suit his bowling has a Strike rate of 25.1 Balls per Wicket. Piyush yesterday was his first one day macth in India- so sample not big enough and Ashwin has been picked for India only on spin friendly tracks as an additional spinner.

In India Nehra Stike rate is 42.28 balls per wicket, for Zaheer it is 37.2 and for Harbhajan it is 46.8.

Nehra economy in India in 6.48 per over whereas Sreesanth is 6.46. This is to keep in mind Sreesanth has bowled very little on Pace friendly wickets abroad to improve his average Unlike Nehra.

Given his STrike rate in India of 25.1 Balls per wicket, I think it is a Luxury to leave him out. Yes he will go for 6-6.5 runs per over, but he will almost always build some presure on batsman so he will take a wicket or other new ball bowlers will.

AMoung the options of Playing Nehra/ Piyush/ Ashwin or Sreesanth, if the wicket is not a dustbowl, he is India's best bet

{Edited Later}

Lets Munaf's Stats which are included here

overall 2006-2011 56 54 423.1 33 2048 71 47209 28.84 4.83 35.7 3 0
India 2006-2011 19 19 141.2 10 682 21 17989 32.47 4.82 40.3 1 0
Last edited by Aditya_V on 28 Feb 2011 14:58, edited 3 times in total.

^^ Sorry I dont understand, doesn't the above show Sreesanth is expensive (with the exception of Nehra. We can ignore Chawla and Ashwin in India matches due to few matches played).

Tanaji-> Yes it shows Sreesanth is expensive but it also Shows he is a regular Wicketaker. And if you remember most of his wickets come with the New Ball which allows the spinners to build presure with a few wickets aldready out.

I also noticed Dhoni in one dayers does not bring Sreesanth on when a few wickets of the opposition have fallen later on the iniings.

india should have put 350 on the board - it was possible
the back end collapsed pretty badly - pathan and dhoni should have steered the ship home, certainly no further than kohli (as far as wickets were concerned)
sachin did well, but its time we collectively start thinking of the team's performance rather than have multiple organisms every time he is batting... and i think he retired to let raina come in to field (he's getting old... :( )
patel's running on final ball was a disgrace
england did play well and were more composed - particularly bowlers (other than anderson), strauss played really well, pietersen... thank god for patel's lucky break! bresnan's bowling was impressive - that is what we needed from ZAK
bhajji's fielding was awful - he is displaying dada-like tendencies on the field
all in all, we should have won this one - with teh aussies feeling rampant again and afridi's chest pumping histrionics, my dhoti is starting to shiver (a little bit...)

From twitter:

VIDEO - India Vs Eng: Dhoni peeved with UDRS http://bit.ly/eHZDHi

Ensoi.

Lal prof saab, we managed 338, not that far off from 350. Yes I agree 350 was possible, but 338 is a defensible score, no two shakes about it. Our fielding and bowling let us down.

Only way out is manufacturing turning wickets except against SL :)

Pranthan would have swung the ball around in the initial overs. Strauss was was getting all his boundaries with zero risk, ground shots. With sreesanth, the ball's always flying - to the fielder or over the fielders. We could have afforded a few costly overs in the beginning in exchange of a few chances, with 338 on board.

As somebody here said, we needed an irfan pathan in our ranks to change the pace and may be to swing the ball a bit. He's not that bad with the bat either.

And that Bresnan guy bowled all his final deliveries on the stumps - you miss, I hit types. He got a clean bowled and an lbw in one over. Sadly, nobody in our team in exception of the Maahdi did that. Zaheer was listless, right from the first ball he bowled. Yeah, the final overs buoyed him up, but then so was everybody else.

And in hindsight, I think Dhoni totally missed the point about bringing his fielders in much earlier. Bell and Strauss were easily milking the bowlers for singles, but from within they were much apprehensive about losing the hold. This got exposed when england took the batting PP and started falling like a pack of cards, trying to dominate, imagining the singles to dry out.