Re: Indian Railways Thread (Dec 2015)
Posted: 01 Mar 2017 11:04
Hyperloop One's Vision for India - Full Event Recording
Consortium of Indian Defence Websites
https://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/
More sustainable solution than the odd-even thingyRishi Verma wrote:Extremely innovative, juggad, tailored to Indian condition step by railways to reduce vehicle emissions in New Delhi.
http://m.timesofindia.com/city/delhi/to ... 430091.cms
Only 20000 per day. Of the 66k trucks heading into Delhi., 20k go to delhi for onward journey and their destination is not delhi. By taking them off the roads, it reduces congestion and pollution.kapilrdave wrote:Per the article 66000 trucks pass through NCR daily. If we consider 100 trucks per ferry, and considering roughly equal flow of trucks to and from, railway still needs to do 330 ferry on a daily basis. Possible?
This looks like another 2 years given the tight curves and bridges, which are in MG alignment. I would expect most of them to be rebuilt to support BG, as in Old/New Arayankavu. Any idea what the targeted date of completion is?vsunder wrote:The stretch Bhagwathipuram-Aranyakavu-Edamon-Punalur is at the top of the Western Ghats and so gets tons of rain. Tenders were out to test viaducts between Edamon-New Aranyakavu for stress loading as the old viaducts were jacketed for GC and there are numerous tunnels in this 23km section including one new viaduct and one new tunnel.
RPM frankly was a non-starter given the loco shed that came up only recently. Otherwise, that land could have been utilized. TNP is not too bad either, only issue is the lack of metro connectivity (RPM had metro at Washermanpet, which could have been connected, given 24 coach platforms of the terminal). TNP will also require more work in approach roads, since one side of it is the huge marshalling yard + IOC area. Plus they'll need to add more tracks toward BBQ for loco lines and use the existing trip shed instead of building a new one. The current rail overbridge has space only for two tracks below and will need to be rebuilt. I still think the salt cotaurs area would have been a better bet, given most of the existing Central infra could have been upgraded and re-used. Anyway, let's see.vsunder wrote:Regarding 5,6th lines at Moore market, the other related news is that Railways has decided to open a 4th terminal at Tondiarpet for the Chennai area. So Central, Egmore and Tambaram and now Tondiarpet. The idea of having a 4th terminal at Royapuram felll through as LA problems arose including taking land from Stanley Medical College.
Never knew that - 'thondhi'-yar-petvsunder wrote:When the British landed at Ft. St. George, they found a man selling buttermilk where the Moore market is, and they asked him the name of the place and he said Moore, so the British gave the name Moore market.
Don't for once think one Moore an angrez, built that market. Likewise Tondiarpet, a Britisher pointed at a man and said what is the name of the place, man thought he was being asked the name of his paunch so he said Thondhi and so Tondiarpet. All this story of a Muslim saint Mastan sahib from Thondhi in Rameswaram district coming to Tondiarpet is wrong history.The other famous Mastan sahib is the famous weaver devotee of Ramana Bhagawan, whose samadhi lies near Poondi, (of Poondi swami fame)
This is some seriously fast progress. Well done, IR. The number of freights on this route is seen to be believed. I recall seeing a TN express video on YT which overtook ~24 trains in its day time run between Bina and Ballarshah. Most of it was goods. Of course, that could just be TN being TNvsunder wrote:3. Bina-Bhopal third line only a 5 km section between Vidisha- Betwa Cabin there is some minor work going on, and hopefully in 2 months the entire 130km section third line will be done. Work has also started on third line between Jhansi and Bina third line. Good to decongest this busy route in Central India that carries Delhi-Chennai and Delhi-Mumbai traffic. Train speeds have significantly increased and delays are minimized.
Jhansi-Bina third line is a Modi project and so is Mathura-Agra Cantt-Jhansi third line all cleared by CCEA last year.
BYPL has no space for expansion, now that the metro has come up with its station and the depot. Till then, it had the potential, but now looks difficult. Same with Banaswadi - the 3rd PF is not even a full length one, not sure what can be done there. Perhaps move that satellite goods terminal from BYPL and use that space for a proper terminal. Or Hebbal station - it has space around that could be acquired, and run south bound trains from there. Good location too. Then there was some talk on YNK, not sure what happened about that.vsunder wrote:4. Bangalore needs another terminal Yeshwanthpur, city and Bypannahalli(which is not yet a full fledged terminal) and smooth integration with Metro and airport. But here SWR and KA govt. are both lazy.
Even in the socialist heaven the jinx worked. The previous CM Oomen Chandy inaugurated the Kochi metro (even before it was fully completed), and Congress lost big time in the state elections.vsunder wrote:But I say Kochi Metro being in godless country( God's own country yeh kya cheez hai, do even CPI people say this phrase, religion is the opiate of the masses and all) will be the counterexample.
That is known as the Nealle's Ball Token system. Was used in many single line tracks, but now pretty much non-existant on the main line. Now they have another system - Single Line Tokenless block system; but not too sure on how they work. Similar token system is used in the Nilgiri Mountain Railways as well.ManuJ wrote:Also has several 'side-bars' like Darjeeling toy train, archaic signaling systems including a silver-ball token system(!).
vsunder wrote: DFCC I think more show, I don't believe a word that they will complete by 2020. All gas, too much razmatazz and less work. Their newsletters always have very tiny sections on work completed and more on Hindi prashikshan diwas at headquarters and Swacch Bharat at headquarters so on or visit of this fellow from World Bank and that goon from Sweden.
vsunder wrote: Video is in Tamil, but since I speak, Tulu, Kannada, Kanpuriya Hindi( this one like a villager Dehati from Kanpur Dehaat), Tamil and Bengali no problem for me.
WOW! This reminds me so much of NYC Metro , 1 & 9 lines which I used to frequent and use on a daily basis when I used to live in the Upper West Side. You take the "correct" express trains, it runs in the 3rd track in the middle and passes the "passenger" trains that stop at all stations. You shave off a good 10 to 15 min ride from downtown to Columbus Circle!vsunder wrote:. Here is a video of TN express ripping and crossing other trains on third line on Bina-Bhopal:( from a few days ago) one section is Sumer-Sorai immediate block section to Vidisha.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zinEhNtA5gc
NEW DELHI: Converting the entire network of rail tracks into broad gauge and installing bio-toilets in all trains are among the ambitious projects being implemented to make the railways a major engine of the country's growth.
Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu, who stated this in the Lok Sabha today, also informed about a proposal to lay separate rail lines for freight trains and a move to lay at least 10 km track per day.
Notice the loco classification # on the image. The WDG series locos are generally made to haul freight traffic (W=Broad guage, D = Diesel, G=Goods). So this may not be the actual design which they may roll out for locos meant for passenger trains. Passenger train locos generally have 'P' designation (WDP, WAP etc.).Zynda wrote:Eventually, these locomotives will be adapted to haul long & heavy 24 coach passenger trains and some aerodynamic shaping will help in high-speed ops.
from wikiAvik wrote:Zynda - more than 'lousy contracting' it could just be a scale and pricing issue. The number of Japanese locos contracted is less than half the Alstom ones contracted.
BTW, the Alston locos for India is not the Prima. Its this one..
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alstom_KZ8A
In November 2015 Alstom received a Letter of Award from the Ministry of Indian Railways to supply Indian Railways with 800 double section freight electric locomotives with associated long-term maintenance. The total contract is worth above €3 billion. The Prima locomotive for Indian Railways will be 9,000 kW at the wheel rim and will run at a speed up to 120 km/h. [8]
I think IR contracted for 200 Japanese locos at 50 crores each from Japan for WDFC. Alstom locos are 25crores each, I have seen numbers like 800 Alstom Prima locos. The Japanese then were willing to go for a lower price provided the JICA interest rates were upped from 0.1%. Some negotiations followed and the Japanese lowered the price to 36 crores a loco. I am not sure where it is at now. But DMRC managed to get out of a contract with Japan for rolling stock and got Bombardier and Rotem coaches instead. So perhaps it is possible to re-negotiate or get out of the deal. Almost all the steel rails for WDFC is coming from Japan. Several shipments of rails from Japan have already come via Chennai port as reported in the news and in links I have given in this thread a while back.Zynda wrote:I was reading about contract negotiations done by IR on Western Dedicated Freight Corridor. The Japanese have offered some kind of a sweet deal (I think Japanese were financing WDFC to a large extent) where in we would buy their 9000 HP freight locos in turn for them financing the construction of the corridor.
Further, IR has ordered 12000HP Prima locomotives for usage in other corridors/pan India (?) from Alstom. As it turns out that the cost of Japanese locomotives is nearly 2x the price of one Alstom loco. Obviously IR does not want to pay higher and is demanding a renegotiation of the contract with Japan. IR is willing to pay as much as Prima loco for the Japanese ones. I hope more informed person on IR like vsunder perhaps can throw in more light about the above but I can't help but notice many parallels between our defence contract negotiation & the above. The whole approach is archaic and it seems like IR did not do proper due diligence wrt the Japanese deal. I really think India/GoI should start promoting private sector to set up legals teams who will be in charge of scrutinizing & writing up contracts with GoI ministries and organizations.
Here is something that I really don't know. How much aerodynamic drag is significant for a 500,000 kg mass moving at 120 kmph showing only a relatively small surface area to the wind - I mean here you have something that is 4 meters broad and high and 500 (?) meters long and weighs say 500 tons.Zynda wrote: Even the design is boxy & lacks any aerodynamic features.
The aerodynamic drag at 100-120 kmph is minimal compared to the tractive effort. For goods locomotive , it really doesn't matter - all they care is how much of traction they can provide per axle without wheel slip. The challenge is the low friction/resistance in the rail, not higher resistance from the wind.shiv wrote:Here is something that I really don't know. How much aerodynamic drag is significant for a 500,000 kg mass moving at 120 kmph showing only a relatively small surface area to the wind - I mean here you have something that is 4 meters broad and high and 500 (?) meters long and weighs say 500 tons.Zynda wrote: Even the design is boxy & lacks any aerodynamic features.