Thanks!muraliravi wrote:Mort and Sanjay Sir,
Please use the following method
http://ibnlive.in.com/searcher/search.php
Type the state you want to search and after a space type tracker.
You should see the latest results and you can also see previous trackers, the search results itself will carry a date. So if you look at the January or February Tracker, you can see previous projections. Once you open it and scroll, you can see all the tables you want for each state. In fact the march tracker will give you vote shares over time, only on the seat tally they just give the current month. So in the results page look for the previous tracker to get the seat tally.
Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections
Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections
Muppalla, Can you boil the message down to tweetable bits. And not multiple tweets either.
I'll also try to condense it.
First attempt:
'Fudged poll surveys in India (where party hopping is the norm) lead to saving the Congress by stopping desertions. A rout becomes respectable. '
First attempt:
'Fudged poll surveys in India (where party hopping is the norm) lead to saving the Congress by stopping desertions. A rout becomes respectable. '
All surveys until Apr though overall right, are fudged at details to help INC stop party hoppers. Otherwise it would be 40 instead of 100.ramana wrote:Muppalla, Can you boil the message down to tweetable bits. And not multiple tweets either.
First attempt:
(exactly 140 chars)
OK. Go for it.
Pir Pagara’s followers to vote for Jaswant Singh in India’s elections
Paki factor in Jassu bhai Motor Challi AOA ke Dumm; Skull Cap Payenge Orr Secular Kehlayenge; Desh Chahe Bikk Jayye Kaurriyon Ke Dum
JAIPUR/JAISALMER- The chief of Pakistan-based Peer-Pagara sect has asked his followers based in Barmer and Jaisalmer in India to vote for expelled BJP leader Jaswant Singh, who is contesting the Lok Sabha polls as an Independent candidate.
More than 2.5 lakh Sindhi Muslims belonging to Barmer-Jaisalmer Lok Sabha constituency are followers of the sect. "Several people from the community have informed us about the message from the sect leader to support my father," said Bhupendra Singh, younger son of Jaswant Singh. He said that the current sect leader Pir Shibghatullah Shah has asked his followers to support Singh.
In 2006, Jaswant Singh had gone to visit the shrine of Hinglaj Mata in Sindh in Pakistan. The then chief of the Peer-Pagara sect, Syed Mardan Shah, had hosted a dinner for Singh. The shrines of Peer Pagara and Hinglaj are located in the same vicinity in Sindh. Syed Mardan Shah died in 2012 after which his son Pir Shibghatullah Shah succeeded him. "We have received directions from our religious leader and several passengers coming to India by Thar Express also told us about his support to Singh," said Hasan Khan, Sindhi Muslim leader from Ajwani locality in Barmer. Another community leader Roshan Khan dittoed him. They said that the community leaders will start campaigning for Singh from April 6, 2014. Sindhi Muslims have been traditional supporters of Jaswant Singh and his family even when they contested as BJP candidates in the past. Jaswant Singh's elder son, Manvendra Singh had won with a record margin thanks to the community's support in 2004 Lok Sabha polls. Manvendra won the recent assembly polls from Shiv with record margin. The kin of those living in the Sindh close to bordering Barmer have already started vouching for Singh since they attribute the start of Thar Express between Munabao (Barmer) to Khokhrapar (Pakistan) to this family. Residents belonging to Sodha and Swaroop Ka Tala villages located on India-Pakistan border in Barmer also told Indian media that they have got phone calls from their kin residing in bordering Sindh province asking them to vote for Singh. "He is known as Maulana among us as he has done much to safeguard rights and interests of the Muslim community," said Jahoor Mohammed, secretary of a Madarsa situated at Tilak Nagar on the Barmer-Jaisalmer highway. He said that Jaswant himself was a peer for them as he facilitated everyone who visited him in Delhi while getting visa for Pakistan. "Sahab ke ek phone se kaam ho jaata thaa," recalled Noor Ali of Baiyto village near Barmer. "In 2004, Jaswant Singh ji in an election meeting had promised to start a train between India and Pakistan while asking vote for Manvendra Singh and he did it for us later," said Ali. As Muslim voters in Barmer-Jaisalmer have shown support to Singh, the latter is also trying to showcase his secular credentials. In the press statement issued on Sunday, Singh had maintained that he never supported the Ram Janmabhoomi movement and was saddened when the disputed structure was demolished. Recently Samajwadi Party leaders, Mulayam Singh and Azam Khan also called Singh offering him to extend their support. The two leaders had also requested Singh to join the Samajwadi Party. However, Singh preferred contesting as Independent with their support.
Unnecessary sensationalism. Like the former CEC commented, it is an attempt to ridicule the entire election process. Sanket just cut him away. Media just cares about sensationalism and agenda, does not mention the giant strides. Granted it needs to highlight the flaws so that reforms can be made, but there was no balance.muraliravi wrote:This has been going on for decades and has nothing to do with EVM. BJP is also an expert in using this, not to worryJames B wrote:Lot's of bogus voters - in thousands per an assembly constituency. Very scary. I think this is how INC manages to win and nto via EVM
Okay, I looked into the sample profile of Assam in the CSDS survey, and now I am beginning to get why they are getting such high vote shares for the Congress.muraliravi wrote: Nagesh ji, if the past is any guide to go by, CSDS has invariably been better at predicting the vote shares and not quite good at translating them to seats. But in Assam, 44% vote share does not need rocket science to figure out that congress will sweep. So historically their vote share prediction has been decent, meaning BJP will probably get wiped out in Assam.
http://www.lokniti.org/pdf/TRACKE-State ... rofile.pdf
Total sample size for Assam is 462 (over 14 constituencies, each of which have their own character). The dynamics of upper Assam even within are very different (Tezpur, believe me, is very different from Jorhat, which is a world apart from Lakhimpur). So, it translates into just around 33 people per Lok Sabha constituency, which in Assam, with its very fragmented communities, is not attractive. Now, if this is not very bad enough, there is the sampling part which should raise eyebrows.
The vote shares were decided based on dummy voting, as they have themselves said. 3% of their samples gave no answer/preference.
In Assam, the urban vote is 15.3%, while only 5.9% of their samples are from the urban regions. Second, Muslims constitute 30.98% of Assam (according to 2001 census, now it is probably around 33%), while only 15.8% of their samples are from Muslims. Muslim vote, especially in lower Assam and Barak valley is expected to accrue to AUDF (maybe even in Central Assam), so it is unsurprising that AUDF is getting only 10% of the vote (in fact, it agrees with the rough calculation that the AUDF is taking most Bengali Muslim votes). Finally, tribal and SC population are 7.1% and 12.4% respectively. However, 15% of the the sampling population was Dalit, and 26% was tribal (is this biased or what?). Tribal vote, particularly the tea tribes, are the Congress' last Hindu (well, some tea tribes are now Christian) votebank left, while even Bodos, and Rabhas tend to vote for their own parties. Only Mishings, Sonowal Kacharis, and a few tribes of Barak valley vote for the BJP. However, it also hides a second problem. 14% of the voters expressed a wish to vote for `Others' (non Cong, BJP, AUDF, AGP parties). Most of the other vote, I would say, is going to the Bodo-Rabha-Kamtapur parties of lower Assam (this is the only big block not represented in the list of named parties).
In short, 58% of their samples are taken from a population base base that is actively hostile or indifferent to the BJP (it constitutes about 50% of the population), while 15.3% of the total population which would be BJP's main catchment area, accounts for only 5.9% of their voting block. Even worse, it does not take into account the set of alliances that the BJP has struck up, particularly with the Bodo and the Kamtapur parties.
I am not sure the CSDS vote shares can be trusted here.
Having said that, let me try to re-compute the BJP, and Congress vote shares here.
1) If we assume that 10% of the `Others' are from the Bodo-Rabha-Kamtapur parties block, then we should expect a split of their votes in the actual polls. With the BPPF, ABSU and a bunch of Kamtapuri parties supporting the BJP, most of the Bodo, and Rajbanshi vote in Mangaldoi, Tezpur and even Barpeta is going to the BJP (which is seen as the best party to stop Bangladeshis), while we can expect a split of the Bodo and Rabha votes in Kokrajhar. So out of the 10% votes of the others, I would expect about 6-7% going to BJP+).
2) Out of the 42% of the population that is a good catchment for the BJP, we can see about 16% or so voting for the BJP (roughly 40% of the total vote). Now, re-normalising for the 50% state population (instead of the 42% as in the sample), we should expect to see the BJP getting around 20% of the vote on its own. Also, if we account for the bias against the urban population (honestly, I would like to see how much of the urban population voted for the BJP - I would not be surprised if it were around 50% in this Modi wave), we should expect to see the BJP getting a bit more, maybe about 22-23% of the vote (which is much more credible, since BJP has had a vote share of about 25% since 99 in Lok Sabha elections).
Adding the NDA vote together, we should see BJP+ getting around 28-30% of the vote.
3) Now, if we examine the Muslim voting, we see that the Bengali Muslims have been voting for the AUDF. Two thirds of the 15.9% Muslims (very few non-Muslims will vote for the AUDF, believe me) represented in the survey chose to vote for the AUDF. Technically, this will mean about 20% of the total vote, but this won't happen. In places like Tezpur, Darrang, Kaliabor, and Gauhati, Muslims will vote more for the Congress than for AUDF. So, we can expect about 15% o the vote to accrue to the AUDF, rather than the 10% shown here.
4) AGP and the others can be left at 9% and 7% respectively.
This results in the Congress getting a vote share of around 38-40%, which is much more credible.
Note that in all this I have assumed zero influence due to the Modi wave (since we have few numbers here).
PS: This analysis is based on January findings, which gave Congress 47% of the vote. Now, they have come down to 44% in March polls (but no increase to the BJP, so where did that 3% go?)
In Gujarat 2007 elections a whole set of vote share and seats were transferred to "others" by the psephologist and it was declared that BJP will lose onlee. It turned out that the vote share showed up in BJP kitty and BJP won with 2/3rd seats.nageshks wrote: PS: This analysis is based on January findings, which gave Congress 47% of the vote. Now, they have come down to 44% in March polls (but no increase to the BJP, so where did that 3% go?)
That could be your ans. to "where did 3% go".
And all the seat share projection to show BJP lagging is as pointed out by several posters to corral the fence sitters - who might want to run away from the fight itself or join the opposite camp.
Given that I am now trusting the IBTL survey with 254 seats for BJP. However that is the "intentiion".,
Getting the vote out will be key
And in that case I am getting worried about Guj and Raj., the get to vote out campaign in Guj/Raj is going nowhere. Everybody in those two states are "lulled" into sleep by Namo wave.
PS: Nageshk'ji - excellent analysis! Many many thanks.
assamese are the worst possible sheeple and I saw that as one myself....after having been shafted and sold down the river by the INC in the pre-AGP era, they crawled back like stockholm syndrome patients to who else but the INC and have been faithful serfs since then.
they seem resigned either to leave the state on their own , or live as dhimmis under new caliphates and warlords which the INC khatrap will manage and obtain tributes from sitting in dispur.
people who cannot see beyond end of their noses DO NOT deserve survival of their culture or their state. so be it.
they seem resigned either to leave the state on their own , or live as dhimmis under new caliphates and warlords which the INC khatrap will manage and obtain tributes from sitting in dispur.
people who cannot see beyond end of their noses DO NOT deserve survival of their culture or their state. so be it.
Well, yes and no. While there is a lot of cynicism (there is a feeling that nothing will change with regard to the Bangladeshis, no matter who comes to power), there is a lot of hostility just lurking beneath the surface. As someone who has family in Assam, I have seen it firsthand. If NaMo makes credible steps towards identifying and deporting Bangladeshis in Assam, I expect BJP to win big in the state (the win will be as big as the AGP win in the mid 80s).Singha wrote:assamese are the worst possible sheeple and I saw that as one myself....after having been shafted and sold down the river by the INC in the pre-AGP era, they crawled back like stockholm syndrome patients to who else but the INC and have been faithful serfs since then.
NE Indians are simple people, thanks to chootiy@n@ndans in Delhi they have been cut off from the country physically as well as politically , they have very fundamental issues in that region like road, electricity, doctor and education which need to be addressed, the Modi wave might not make an impact there for they might not be even fully aware of the Gujarat story . It's mostly the middle class and the urban population which has the luxury of thinking on lines of what is good for the country in the longer term yada yada , for the ones in NE it is a matter of survival they have been shafted by INC and yet they have somehow managed to survive looks like they have resigned themselves to their fate.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/home ... 094887.cms
Now showing: Pati, patni aur Modi
Runa Mukherjee Parikh,TNN | Apr 2, 2014, 04.17 AM IST
With the election season in full swing, BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi is emerging as the new 'woh', robbing the mental peace of wives in Gujarat
AHMEDABAD: With the election season in full swing, BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi is emerging as the new 'woh', robbing the mental peace of wives in Gujarat - not unlike the soccer widows in football-crazy nations when the World Cup is on. Obsessed with the political fortune of Modi, a large number of men are hooked to watching political drama on TV and reading newspapers and social media, leaving the wives feeling terribly neglected.
"My husband refuses to turn off the television even after midnight, tracking how Modi is performing politically. Any talk about home, life and even work is impossible during this time. Weekend parties have become a platform for animated discussions on politics. My husband's mind is occupied with Modi, there's no space for me," lamented Nikita Shah, 32, wife of a businessman.
Premila Pathak said she has shifted to another room where she spends the evenings reading books and listening to music after dinner. All this while her husband tracks news on TV between eight and 11pm without break. "We used to go out for walks post-dinner but now my husband parks himself in front of television tracking news. I've given up on him till the results are out," said Premila, a housewife.
Consulting psychotherapist and hypnotherapist Dr Shashikala Nair said she gets back home from work to see her husband in front of TV. "This overload of election information, candidate statistics and numbers are taking a toll on families. Most wives are complaining of irritated or pre-occupied husbands who think of nothing but elections," said Nair.
Experts say the constant bombardment of news is leading to soft aggression. "For many, the priority has shifted from family to politics," said psychiatrist, Dr Hansal Bhachech. The men in their defence say just as women are hooked to TV soaps, election time is political drama unfolding live. "In three hours, breaking news is flashed at least 20 times. Political attacks and counter-attacks are so engrossing, these beat saas-bahu serials hands down. Moreover, since Modi is from Gujarat, this election is all the more interesting," says Himanshu Bhatt, a structural engineer.
With the election season in full swing, BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi is emerging as the new 'woh', robbing the mental peace of wives in Gujarat
AHMEDABAD: With the election season in full swing, BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi is emerging as the new 'woh', robbing the mental peace of wives in Gujarat - not unlike the soccer widows in football-crazy nations when the World Cup is on. Obsessed with the political fortune of Modi, a large number of men are hooked to watching political drama on TV and reading newspapers and social media, leaving the wives feeling terribly neglected.
"My husband refuses to turn off the television even after midnight, tracking how Modi is performing politically. Any talk about home, life and even work is impossible during this time. Weekend parties have become a platform for animated discussions on politics. My husband's mind is occupied with Modi, there's no space for me," lamented Nikita Shah, 32, wife of a businessman.

Premila Pathak said she has shifted to another room where she spends the evenings reading books and listening to music after dinner. All this while her husband tracks news on TV between eight and 11pm without break. "We used to go out for walks post-dinner but now my husband parks himself in front of television tracking news. I've given up on him till the results are out," said Premila, a housewife.
Consulting psychotherapist and hypnotherapist Dr Shashikala Nair said she gets back home from work to see her husband in front of TV. "This overload of election information, candidate statistics and numbers are taking a toll on families. Most wives are complaining of irritated or pre-occupied husbands who think of nothing but elections," said Nair.
Experts say the constant bombardment of news is leading to soft aggression. "For many, the priority has shifted from family to politics," said psychiatrist, Dr Hansal Bhachech. The men in their defence say just as women are hooked to TV soaps, election time is political drama unfolding live. "In three hours, breaking news is flashed at least 20 times. Political attacks and counter-attacks are so engrossing, these beat saas-bahu serials hands down. Moreover, since Modi is from Gujarat, this election is all the more interesting," says Himanshu Bhatt, a structural engineer.
Yesterday made a day trip to Dohrighat and Barhalganj (actually both towns separated by Saryayu river onree) there are two parallel roads from Azamgarh to these towns and they borders Bihar(state)
Deoria, Balia, (districts in UP) the eastern road runs parallel to River Ganga for quite a while
the western road runs parallel to River Saryayu for about 33 kms. In between these roads and villages and towns there is a forest of “kathbasi” (bamboo tree used exclusively for polis's danda, walking sticks etc.) this zone is filled with polis or retired polis, almost every house hold have at least one polis.
Had one interesting talk/incident:
me was carrying around 3 lacs sticker/posters of NaMo as per the request from here
me- pranams and salams and pailaggu(salutations) your stickers are in the car, please get it.
Cadre1- yes! Yes! Yells for some one and 5 of them began carrying the load after few minutes
cadre2- onree this much? How much is this? We had ordered 10 lacs
me- 10 lacs!!?! the office also asked about what happened to the earlier lot? AFAIR it was 5 lacs
cadre1- yes, we distributed them all.
me- wow, that is 5 lacs posters in 2 days!?! your team must be congratulated, please do the needful.
Cadre1- but we are 5 onree
me- (gets thinking there surely must be some hanky panky) that is fantastic, say! Did you guys went in for a swim and the posters got damaged or floated away? I can understand with this heat and all.
All of them smiles smugly,
Cadre1- please sir watch it yourself
they make few calls and within 10 minutes a crowd collects in front, all want at least 1000
of sticker/ posters, Why? We stick it on our windshield in our rooms our bike on our phones our books.
Non got more than 100 they returned onree with a promise that their wish will be fulfilled in a week time.
me- why did not you call Gorakhpur office? surely babaji can surely help.
Cadre2- we did, but he himself is running short of election posters, they can give us onree few thousands or else wait for 2 weeks.
Me over awed went on to eat me lunch in an ac resturant(yeah! They have 2 in Barhalganj)
the one who gave me menu- Sir you look an outsider,
me- no, not an outsider but a long time no come back kind.
Him- oh! Then I do need to tell you,(went away to serve other table)
me was stumped, later while filling up the tank for forwad journey the tank filler told me the why &
what I need not be told, apparently the people have latched on to the idea of 100 super cities connected
with bullet trains, they say why stop at 100, why not 1000, the construction alone will create jobs for one full generation(people from around here have experience in construction in Gujarat) so want BJP...........errr NaMo as PM with full majority.
In Deoria it was the same story, a man who a decade earlier had asked me 'How big is India? Biggar than Gorakhpur !?!?” told me he want bullet train so that his son can return home every day after work
from Gorakhpur, rather than spending on rents and bad food. Me did not asked how did he knew about bullet train.
This is big folks, bigger than Rajeev gandhi post IG's assassination, then though me was young lad
me had participated in canvassing had canvassed around Pratapgarh Sultanpur Varanasi and Gorakhpur
people knows the why and the what this was missing earlier, methinks this time around the caste-wast
equation etc etc is gonna do zilch, the people knows what and how and who to fulfill their needs.
Contrary to what media wants those with english media reach the natives have decided and are itching to cast their votes.
Deoria, Balia, (districts in UP) the eastern road runs parallel to River Ganga for quite a while
the western road runs parallel to River Saryayu for about 33 kms. In between these roads and villages and towns there is a forest of “kathbasi” (bamboo tree used exclusively for polis's danda, walking sticks etc.) this zone is filled with polis or retired polis, almost every house hold have at least one polis.
Had one interesting talk/incident:
me was carrying around 3 lacs sticker/posters of NaMo as per the request from here
me- pranams and salams and pailaggu(salutations) your stickers are in the car, please get it.
Cadre1- yes! Yes! Yells for some one and 5 of them began carrying the load after few minutes
cadre2- onree this much? How much is this? We had ordered 10 lacs
me- 10 lacs!!?! the office also asked about what happened to the earlier lot? AFAIR it was 5 lacs
cadre1- yes, we distributed them all.
me- wow, that is 5 lacs posters in 2 days!?! your team must be congratulated, please do the needful.
Cadre1- but we are 5 onree
me- (gets thinking there surely must be some hanky panky) that is fantastic, say! Did you guys went in for a swim and the posters got damaged or floated away? I can understand with this heat and all.
All of them smiles smugly,
Cadre1- please sir watch it yourself
they make few calls and within 10 minutes a crowd collects in front, all want at least 1000
of sticker/ posters, Why? We stick it on our windshield in our rooms our bike on our phones our books.
Non got more than 100 they returned onree with a promise that their wish will be fulfilled in a week time.
me- why did not you call Gorakhpur office? surely babaji can surely help.
Cadre2- we did, but he himself is running short of election posters, they can give us onree few thousands or else wait for 2 weeks.
Me over awed went on to eat me lunch in an ac resturant(yeah! They have 2 in Barhalganj)
the one who gave me menu- Sir you look an outsider,
me- no, not an outsider but a long time no come back kind.
Him- oh! Then I do need to tell you,(went away to serve other table)
me was stumped, later while filling up the tank for forwad journey the tank filler told me the why &
what I need not be told, apparently the people have latched on to the idea of 100 super cities connected
with bullet trains, they say why stop at 100, why not 1000, the construction alone will create jobs for one full generation(people from around here have experience in construction in Gujarat) so want BJP...........errr NaMo as PM with full majority.
In Deoria it was the same story, a man who a decade earlier had asked me 'How big is India? Biggar than Gorakhpur !?!?” told me he want bullet train so that his son can return home every day after work
from Gorakhpur, rather than spending on rents and bad food. Me did not asked how did he knew about bullet train.
This is big folks, bigger than Rajeev gandhi post IG's assassination, then though me was young lad
me had participated in canvassing had canvassed around Pratapgarh Sultanpur Varanasi and Gorakhpur
people knows the why and the what this was missing earlier, methinks this time around the caste-wast
equation etc etc is gonna do zilch, the people knows what and how and who to fulfill their needs.
Contrary to what media wants those with english media reach the natives have decided and are itching to cast their votes.
Meri Sasuraal mein Ghum rahe hain. ticket lageganiran wrote:Yesterday made a day trip to Dohrighat and Barhalganj (actually both towns separated by Saryayu river onree) there are two parallel roads from Azamgarh to these towns and they borders Bihar(state)

BEEP BEEP _ Achtung Bitte ! Achtung Bitte!
http://www.abplive.in/india/2014/04/02/ ... zvAFPna6M5
Priyanka Gandhi takes over war room reins
By Sanjay K Jha
Wednesday, 02 April 2014 08:12 AM
New Delhi: Priyanka Gandhi Vadra has virtually taken control of the Congress’s election management as Sonia and Rahul Gandhi are mostly away campaigning, party insiders have told The Telegraph.
Priyanka has been spending most of her time in the war room at her brother’s home, the sources said, adding that her say was decisive in matters relating to campaign, publicity and media interactions.
Sonia, who had withdrawn from organisational affairs, too has intervened to address a few key concerns that were hurting election management. Issues such as the lack of coordination between senior leaders and Rahul’s team have been resolved and there is now a greater unity of purpose at the top.
Priyanka has not just been attending meetings to decide campaign material, she is managing the day-to-day problems and directing the party general secretaries assigned charge of the various states.
Some party functionaries had played down Priyanka’s role, saying she was only assisting her mother and brother who were “terribly busy” and mostly out of Delhi. But others confirmed that she had indeed taken charge following “the predictions of doom” that had led to “a sense of resignation among party leaders”.
“The family was alarmed by the level of pessimism caused by the propaganda about the Congress slipping to 50-60 seats,” a leader said.
“They decided to fight back and the result, at least in terms of the mood, has been remarkable. Both Rahul and Priyanka have drummed it into party functionaries that all is not yet over and there’s no need to believe the media projections.”
First, the “good” constituencies were identified and a strategy was evolved to salvage them. The mood lifted “all of a sudden” when the Punjab candidates were announced, a party insider said.
“Fielding Amarinder Singh and Ambika Soni showed the party’s aggressive intent and the workers received the message well,” the source said. “Ghulam Nabi Azad’s entry into the fray, followed by Madhusudan Mistry’s decision to take on Modi, further boosted morale.”
Another senior leader candidly accepted that it had been easy to motivate the party as the target was limited to two objectives: preventing a runaway Modi victory and avoiding a Congress slump to its worst ever tally.
“We have overcome that scare and the leadership is now confident of crossing 130 seats,” the leader said.
“Things have improved in the last 15 days and we hope to do better once the second round of our media campaign begins.”
Party strategists cite Karnataka, Assam, Kerala, Punjab and Telangana as very good prospects while Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Odisha are in the not-bad category.
Even the Uttar Pradesh outcome would not be as bleak as predicted, they claim, and predict gains in Bihar where Lalu Prasad too is expected to do better. Rajasthan is considered the weakest spot.
“We are not aiming high as anti-incumbency is hurting us in some states. But we are confident of demolishing the perception of a Modi wave in the country,” said a leader.
“There’s strong anti-incumbency against the Akali Dal in Punjab and we’ll make huge gains if there is a fair election. We’ve recovered in Madhya Pradesh and hope to surprise observers even in Gujarat.”
The Congress won 206 seats in the previous election but hopes to remain in the hunt this time even with 70-80 fewer as the primary target is to prevent Modi from becoming Prime Minister. If an alternative government is possible with a Congress prop, the party will be happy to extend support.
- The Telegraph, Calcutta
http://www.abplive.in/india/2014/04/02/ ... zvAFPna6M5
Priyanka Gandhi takes over war room reins
By Sanjay K Jha
Wednesday, 02 April 2014 08:12 AM
New Delhi: Priyanka Gandhi Vadra has virtually taken control of the Congress’s election management as Sonia and Rahul Gandhi are mostly away campaigning, party insiders have told The Telegraph.
Priyanka has been spending most of her time in the war room at her brother’s home, the sources said, adding that her say was decisive in matters relating to campaign, publicity and media interactions.
Sonia, who had withdrawn from organisational affairs, too has intervened to address a few key concerns that were hurting election management. Issues such as the lack of coordination between senior leaders and Rahul’s team have been resolved and there is now a greater unity of purpose at the top.
Priyanka has not just been attending meetings to decide campaign material, she is managing the day-to-day problems and directing the party general secretaries assigned charge of the various states.
Some party functionaries had played down Priyanka’s role, saying she was only assisting her mother and brother who were “terribly busy” and mostly out of Delhi. But others confirmed that she had indeed taken charge following “the predictions of doom” that had led to “a sense of resignation among party leaders”.
“The family was alarmed by the level of pessimism caused by the propaganda about the Congress slipping to 50-60 seats,” a leader said.
“They decided to fight back and the result, at least in terms of the mood, has been remarkable. Both Rahul and Priyanka have drummed it into party functionaries that all is not yet over and there’s no need to believe the media projections.”
First, the “good” constituencies were identified and a strategy was evolved to salvage them. The mood lifted “all of a sudden” when the Punjab candidates were announced, a party insider said.
“Fielding Amarinder Singh and Ambika Soni showed the party’s aggressive intent and the workers received the message well,” the source said. “Ghulam Nabi Azad’s entry into the fray, followed by Madhusudan Mistry’s decision to take on Modi, further boosted morale.”
Another senior leader candidly accepted that it had been easy to motivate the party as the target was limited to two objectives: preventing a runaway Modi victory and avoiding a Congress slump to its worst ever tally.
“We have overcome that scare and the leadership is now confident of crossing 130 seats,” the leader said.
“Things have improved in the last 15 days and we hope to do better once the second round of our media campaign begins.”
Party strategists cite Karnataka, Assam, Kerala, Punjab and Telangana as very good prospects while Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Odisha are in the not-bad category.
Even the Uttar Pradesh outcome would not be as bleak as predicted, they claim, and predict gains in Bihar where Lalu Prasad too is expected to do better. Rajasthan is considered the weakest spot.
“We are not aiming high as anti-incumbency is hurting us in some states. But we are confident of demolishing the perception of a Modi wave in the country,” said a leader.
“There’s strong anti-incumbency against the Akali Dal in Punjab and we’ll make huge gains if there is a fair election. We’ve recovered in Madhya Pradesh and hope to surprise observers even in Gujarat.”
The Congress won 206 seats in the previous election but hopes to remain in the hunt this time even with 70-80 fewer as the primary target is to prevent Modi from becoming Prime Minister. If an alternative government is possible with a Congress prop, the party will be happy to extend support.
- The Telegraph, Calcutta
if namo becomes PM, the victory procession with chariots and white horses should make sure to go in front of 10 janpath and akbar road.
madame Sonia Gandhi filed her nomination from rae Bareli she was driven by no other but RaGa hisself
moi heard few chuckles amongst the watchers, upon asking he replied madame is filing in Rahu Kalam
she is gonna lose big.
well me does not believe in kalam walam, but the conviction forced me to look up and all in all it is a period
of 90 minutes occurring every day during which starting anything new is prohibited.
moi heard few chuckles amongst the watchers, upon asking he replied madame is filing in Rahu Kalam
she is gonna lose big.
well me does not believe in kalam walam, but the conviction forced me to look up and all in all it is a period
of 90 minutes occurring every day during which starting anything new is prohibited.
- BR Mainsite Crew
I interpretedParty strategists cite Karnataka, Assam, Kerala, Punjab and Telangana as very good prospects while Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Odisha are in the not-bad category.
very good prospects= winning 70% of seats =70% of 92 =65
not-bad = winning 40% = 40% of 109 = 43
Mutual admiration growing between estranged cousins, Varun and Rahul Gandhi?
http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report-mu ... hi-1974520

Major embarrassment to BJP as Varun praises Rahul Gandhi while campaigning
Days after promising not to campaign against his estranged cousin Rahul Gandhi in the Amethi constituency of Uttar Pradesh, Varun Gandhi threw a new surprise to his party as well as the Congress by praising Rahul Gandhi, today.
Varun Gandhi today while campaigning praised his cousin for implementation of schemes that have helped small scale industries in the Amethi region.
Reacting later, Rahul Gandhi while accompanying his mother Sonia to file her nomination papers in Rae Bareli said, “I am very happy that other people are appreciating my work in Amethi.”
He added, "What Varun has said, is true."
Varun, later, clarified his stance on Twitter, stating that it was not an endorsement for any political party or candidate
This is what I said too.Singha wrote:Party strategists cite Karnataka, Assam, Kerala, Punjab and Telangana as very good prospects while Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Odisha are in the not-bad category.
In the "not-bad-for-Congress" category, the wave needs to rise to a crescendo, and Modi, RSS, MP candidates need to do some carpet bombing. In Odisha focus only on seats where Congress is strong.
In the "good-prospects-for-Congress" category focus on the few seats where BJP is really strong - Kerala, Assam.
Karnataka is a battlefield state. It needs complete focus of BJP.
10 Janpath should be made into some Museum for Lal Bahadur Shastri and Freedom Fighters.Singha wrote:if namo becomes PM, the victory procession with chariots and white horses should make sure to go in front of 10 janpath and akbar road.
Teen Murti Bhavan should be made into official PM House.
7RCR can be the Deputy PM House.
Kejriwal will support Modi if latter doesnt raise gas prices.
News on tv
News on tv
>>>Teen Murti Bhavan should be made into official PM House.
if delhi continues to be the capital of India. Some actions and statements over last two years by NM makes me think about shift.
Right from the horse mouth(amit sah)
out of 32 bjp will win 30 in purvanchal(areas of adjoining UP Bihar)
it will be 68 from UP in UP the fight is between Maya and NaMo
in Bihar it is NaMo and rest lallo best 2 nitish best 3 congress hope onree 1
that makes the total less than 10 do the math's yourself gents,
in uttarakhand onree Vijay bahuguna has the mojo to put up real fight
Rajasthan and MP clean sweep CG ajit jogi onree outside of bjp winner
Gujarat 15 to bjp so, stop dhoti shivering the onree but is
the malady of bjp gonna win anyway we can celebrate it as holyday the need
of the hour is to make people move their arses and actually vote.
out of 32 bjp will win 30 in purvanchal(areas of adjoining UP Bihar)
it will be 68 from UP in UP the fight is between Maya and NaMo
in Bihar it is NaMo and rest lallo best 2 nitish best 3 congress hope onree 1
that makes the total less than 10 do the math's yourself gents,
in uttarakhand onree Vijay bahuguna has the mojo to put up real fight
Rajasthan and MP clean sweep CG ajit jogi onree outside of bjp winner
Gujarat 15 to bjp so, stop dhoti shivering the onree but is
the malady of bjp gonna win anyway we can celebrate it as holyday the need
of the hour is to make people move their arses and actually vote.
niran, please keep up with your campaign anecdotes. Makes for an interesting read.
Very divisive figure only, dividing wives from their now "communal" husbands.Singha wrote:http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/home ... 094887.cms
Last edited by Yogi_G on 02 Apr 2014 15:21, edited 1 time in total.
Gujarat 15? Or 25?
. All in different outlook
Apart from booth capturers, my maternal aunt holds the record among anyone I know but it was long time ago. Nine votesmuraliravi wrote:This has been going on for decades and has nothing to do with EVM. BJP is also an expert in using this, not to worryJames B wrote:Lot's of bogus voters - in thousands per an assembly constituency. Very scary. I think this is how INC manages to win and nto via EVM

varun sounds like another gandhi retard
Published on Apr 2, 2014
By R Jagannathan
BJP’s star rising in east and south – but it won’t win many seats: Firstpost
By R Jagannathan
BJP’s star rising in east and south – but it won’t win many seats: Firstpost
Is that a white flag compromise offer?jamwal wrote:Kejriwal will support Modi if latter doesnt raise gas prices.
News on tv
I will stop being a nuisance is you pay me xxx and let me be the CM of dilli again and as a token gesture, hold off on the gas prices for a while at least so I have something to justify my U-turn.... errr K-turn.
It is okay if he can win a few seats like Sultanpur, Pilibhit, Amethi or Rae Bareli where the Gandhis have had their presence. But Varun Gandhi should not be made as BJP's UP face or UP CM.IndraD wrote:varun sounds like another gandhi retard
Once it becomes clear that Nehru was a #FekuPandit, and the only Hindu in the family was Kamala Nehru, his wife, and all the descendants non-Hindus, then the Dynasty charisma would remain contained. UP CM should be some Hindutvavadi OBC, which consolidates all OBCs under Hindutva.
no price fixing helps market demand-supply based pricing. it is better left to the market to decide on the price of commodities, utilities et al. gov job is to ensure regulations, no irregularities, ensure all get fair chance on monopoly engagements, etc.
piped gas is the only way to both regulate the illegal market and get the right price model. gov should focus on infrastructure and building the next generation facilities.
^ Khujli baba white flag waving from foxhole
yes...but with a net total of 0 or 1 MPs his value in parliament is zero. in delhi, his base has migrated back to congis, why would they not dump him and get into a 1:1 contest with BJP? its amply proven AAP cut into congi vote base in delhi.
in short he is nanga, has no cards, is discredited, is running out of money and is bluffing, hoping to still salvage a good deal for himself and close associates. if not for some vestiges of MSM support nobody would see his mug on TV. with Rahul and maam finally getting into active mode for final phase of elections, MSM will cover them and wipe this stain off the table from today.
sure he can hold a protest outside the ndtv office if he wants.
I feel sorry for the good people around the country who signed up for AAP. they wont even get pennies on the dollar in whatever face saving exit deal khujli baba is trying for his close circle only.
yes...but with a net total of 0 or 1 MPs his value in parliament is zero. in delhi, his base has migrated back to congis, why would they not dump him and get into a 1:1 contest with BJP? its amply proven AAP cut into congi vote base in delhi.
in short he is nanga, has no cards, is discredited, is running out of money and is bluffing, hoping to still salvage a good deal for himself and close associates. if not for some vestiges of MSM support nobody would see his mug on TV. with Rahul and maam finally getting into active mode for final phase of elections, MSM will cover them and wipe this stain off the table from today.
I feel sorry for the good people around the country who signed up for AAP. they wont even get pennies on the dollar in whatever face saving exit deal khujli baba is trying for his close circle only.
niran.. it is not called kalam walam, but "network effect".. if i have enough representable size of voters with mindsets to belive kalam walam, then there exists a market demand for it. so, just spread the word on the wrong kalam, is enough to dislodge by the network effect.. what use is voting for this individual who signed up during wrong kalam?
that is what many mindsets thinks.. betweeen you and me, we don't fall for it. it is the cultural thing. so, vote banks has to respect that.
Another change in script to help congress.archan wrote:Is that a white flag compromise offer?jamwal wrote:Kejriwal will support Modi if latter doesnt raise gas prices.
News on tv
I will stop being a nuisance is you pay me xxx and let me be the CM of dilli again and as a token gesture, hold off on the gas prices for a while at least so I have something to justify my U-turn.... errr K-turn.
1. Create distance from Congress and deflect Congress B team charge.
2. Attract BJP leaning fence sitters.
I think the idiot realized it late that he was successful in Delhi because he was critical of Cong and silent on Modi. He reversed it and lost most of his supporters. He is either too dense or was full of hubris after Delhi elections.
And then the antics.
I think the idiot realized it late that he was successful in Delhi because he was critical of Cong and silent on Modi. He reversed it and lost most of his supporters. He is either too dense or was full of hubris after Delhi elections.
And then the antics.
I was just going to comment that after his dip in the holy Ganga he has disappeared from Times Now.Singha wrote:^ Khujli baba white flag waving from foxhole
Seems like change in script from Congress controlled media. After he was used by the Congress to do a CON==BJP on corruption and other potent Anti-Congress planks his usefulness is limited for now. Seems to me NaMo focused on Good governance and development successfully to change the narrative. It would be interesting to know when RG started promising 10 cr. job creating if voted to power.
- Location: Pee Arr Eff's resident Constitution Compliance Strategist (Phd, with upper hand)
Ho hum! Punjab Kesari is on a roll making butter chicken out of poor Punjab BJP. This article pertains to Amritsar seat, apparently BJP was promised that there would be no need to campaign onlee. Nevertheless it is still even stevens in Amritsar but definitely a far cry from sure shot win that was visible a month ago.

Last edited by munna on 02 Apr 2014 16:42, edited 1 time in total.
then kejri turn, this time just 20 minutes laterjamwal wrote:Kejriwal will support Modi if latter doesnt raise gas prices.
News on tv
no need to ask about congress support for 49 days or other things, just laugheven if I have to die for it I will not support BJP or congress
gents there ain't gonna be no better entertainer than khujli.
once a Gandhi always a Gandhi these Gandhi should be cashiered off and I mean all with the surname Gandhi
one thin Gandhi biggest scamester
one thin papu gandhi an IQ lower than 50
one fat Gandhi with an IQ lower than 30 it seems
another Gandhi an AApturd
the real Gandhi must be tickled to his core.