Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections
Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections
Yeah we need Dilbu. Chants by others dont seem to be effective!
Yes, that is because of force mobilisation for each stage of polls.ramana wrote:vivek.rao wrote:http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 473681.cms
April 7: Assam (5), Tripura (1)
April 9: Arunachal Pradesh (2), Manipur (1), Meghalaya (2), Mizoram (1), Nagaland (1)
April 10: Bihar (6), Chhattisgarh (1), Haryana (10), Jammu and Kashmir (1), Jharkhand (5), Kerala (20), Madhya Pradesh (9), Maharashtra (10), Odisha (10), Uttar Pradesh (10), Andaman and Nicobar (1), Chandigarh (1), Lakshadweep (1), Delhi (7)
April 12: Sikkim (1), Tripura (1), Assam (3)
April 17: Bihar (7), Chhattisgarh (3), Goa (2), Jammu and Kashmir (1), Jharkhand (5), Karnataka (28), Madhya Pradesh (10), Maharashtra (19), Manipur (1), Odisha (11), Rajasthan (20), Uttar Pradesh (11), West Bengal (4)
April 24: Assam (6), Bihar (7), Chhattisgarh (7), Jammu and Kashmir (1), Jharkhand (4), Madhya Pradesh (10), Maharashtra (19), Rajasthan (5), Tamil Nadu (39), Uttar Pradesh (12), West Bengal (6), Puducherry (1)
April 30: Andhra Pradesh (17), Bihar (7), Gujarat (26), Jammu and Kashmir (1), Punjab (13), Uttar Pradesh (14), West Bengal (9), Dadra and Nagar Haveli (1), Daman and Diu (1)
May 7: Andhra Pradesh (25), Bihar (7), Jammu and Kashmir (2), Uttar Pradesh (15), Uttarakhand (5), West Bengal (6), Himachal Pradesh (4)
May 12: Bihar (6), Uttar Pradesh (18), West Bengal (17)
Wow., Bihar, J&K & UP goes to polls for a whole month!!!
Looks like have to worry on mulitple days for some states!
one of my muslim friend from Bihar just told me NDA is likely to cross 300 mark just now, I felt ecstatic but kept calm ''chalo dekhte hain'', also Nitish is destroyed niether Hindus nor Muslims are voting for him
Please visit the poll survey thread and post your insights.
Zeenews last night had a very troubled looking Congress candidate Navin Jindal who was getting free chappals and black ink. Apparently he is implicated in Coalgate.
It's a family feud. Subhash Chandra (owner of Zee TV) has openly asked to vote for BJP.ramana wrote:Zeenews last night had a very troubled looking Congress candidate Navin Jindal who was getting free chappals and black ink. Apparently he is implicated in Coalgate.
http://indianexpress.com/article/india/ ... us-at-one/
In role reversal, Aligarh’s Muslims divided over whom to vote - SP, BSP or COngress. Hindus want to vote for Modi!
Gaurav Gogoi has a vilayati wife.

[quote="SwamyG"]Gaurav Gogoi has a vilayati wife.
wiki:
Elizabeth Colburn Gogoi
wiki:
Elizabeth Colburn Gogoi
Well what else is CBN supposed to tell his cadre, some of whom have been revolting, some who think TDP can take on YSRCP on their own and do not need to give tickets in Seemandhra to BJP, some who feel betrayed, as they have to give up seats where they had doing political work for a long time?gandharva wrote:Alliance with BJP a political compulsion, says Chandrababu Naidu
http://www.ndtv.com/elections/article/e ... eststories
Muraliravi, RajeshA: Rvaidya is suggesting conspiracy in Twitter. A person on his TL, Constantine Thamuraj, who was a local level worker, says that the BJP candidate Gurumurthy has contested in Nilgiris earlier. So, claims of "not knowing regulations" are hollowmuraliravi wrote:Total Callousness, I see no conspiracy here, If they cant file their papers properly, why contest elections?RajeshA wrote:maitas66 @chinmaykrvd 19m
NDA has already lost 2 seats in Tamil Nadu even before polling began.PMK papers too rejected in Chidambaram.Wonder what's going on
So NDA is fighting only on 541 seats!
Per local Tamil newspaper Daily Thandhi, Nilgiris was a sure win for BJP. Another tweet belowsir hv worked on ground in Nilgiris till '96 & kept close watch since then. This is plain sabotage,he has contested b4
Nilgiris 51% supported BJP while 42% for Kanyakumari. BJP gifted Nilgiris SAD
nilgiris is also our dear A. Raja of spectrum's constituency.
Guys: a call for action. I have with me a huge list of numbers to call in Delhi prior to April 10th. Yes, it is cold calling & yes, it makes most people very uncomfortable. I had to talk myself into it several times & was very nervous prior to the first call. But once you make the first call, it gets quite easy
I have started calling today & there are volunteers I met, who have called 500 numbers in just the last week. I dont speak fluent Hindi and talk in English (which works most of the time) & with a smattering of Hindi.
The calling effort is to canvass for Modi and ask them to go vote for Lotus on that day.
Is anyone willing to volunteer their time to call? Hindi speakers & people originally/currently-living in the Delhi/NCR region would be a big plus. Others are also perfectly fine - your Hindi is unlikely to be worse than mine. Also, if you are comfortable in a different language & would like to volunteer to call a different state, that's fine too. Plz let me know.
If interested, just say yes here and I will share my email and list of numbers. Please put aside your inhibitions. I can give you a script and talking points. You can even enroll wife/SHQ/GHQ in this. We can do this for Bharat Mata
Admins/Mods: pardon the inconvenience. I will repeatedly post this because people might miss this post due to the fast moving thread. I will also cross post it in the Call-a-thon thread
I have started calling today & there are volunteers I met, who have called 500 numbers in just the last week. I dont speak fluent Hindi and talk in English (which works most of the time) & with a smattering of Hindi.
The calling effort is to canvass for Modi and ask them to go vote for Lotus on that day.
Is anyone willing to volunteer their time to call? Hindi speakers & people originally/currently-living in the Delhi/NCR region would be a big plus. Others are also perfectly fine - your Hindi is unlikely to be worse than mine. Also, if you are comfortable in a different language & would like to volunteer to call a different state, that's fine too. Plz let me know.
If interested, just say yes here and I will share my email and list of numbers. Please put aside your inhibitions. I can give you a script and talking points. You can even enroll wife/SHQ/GHQ in this. We can do this for Bharat Mata
Admins/Mods: pardon the inconvenience. I will repeatedly post this because people might miss this post due to the fast moving thread. I will also cross post it in the Call-a-thon thread
I'm trying to collect and compare turnout data vs 2009 that can be cross referenced against weak, marginal and strong seats. Please provide additional data as available:
North Assam seatwise turnout data
2009 general data reference
2009 Assam reference
2014 Assam reference
Tripura turnout data
Additional Assam seats
North Assam seatwise turnout data
2009 general data reference
2009 Assam reference
2014 Assam reference
Seat 2009 2014 Diff
Tezpur 70% 75% +5%
Jorhat 65% 76% +11%
Lakhimpur 68% 76% +8%
Dibrugarh 67% 70% +3%
Kaliabor 71% 80% +9%
Seat 2009 2014 Diff
West 84% 85% +1%
Seat 2009 2014 Diff
Karimganj 64% TBD
Silchar 71% TBD
Auto(ST) 69% TBD
Dhubri 76% TBD
Kokrajhar(ST) 74% TBD
Barpeta 73% TBD
Guwahati 64% TBD
Mangaldoi 70% TBD
Nowgong 71% TBD
'Karti Concealed Assets Info in Daughter's Name'
http://www.newindianexpress.com/electio ... 155838.ece
S K Srivastava, a Commissioner of Income Tax, New Delhi, on Monday submitted a complaint accusing Karti Chidambaram, Congress Sivaganga candidate, of concealing information about his wealth in his election affidavit.
The Indian Revenue Service officer accused Karti of financial misdoings, including money laundering. In his complaint, he has made references to some multinational corporations, which were involved in scams, and a television media house based in New Delhi, which had recently come under the adverse scrutiny of Swadeshi Jagran Manch convenor S Gurumurthy for the manner in which it secured Income Tax concessions.
Facing Tough Fight, Naveen Goes all-out to Woo W Odisha Voters
http://www.newindianexpress.com/states/ ... [quote]But this time, poll calculations of the BJD in many seats are likely to go haywire with the BJP making a determined bid to improve its performance in these districts. BJP prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi has addressed four election meetings in the area and the party expects that its vote share in the region will increase substantially to give a tough fight to the established BJD and Congress leaders.
Naveen addressed as many as five election meetings at Brajrajnagar, Jharsuguda, Loisingha, Kantabanji and Balangir seeking votes for the BJD candidates on development plank.[/quote]Modi it seems will travel to the coastal Orissa in coming days.
http://www.newindianexpress.com/states/ ... [quote]But this time, poll calculations of the BJD in many seats are likely to go haywire with the BJP making a determined bid to improve its performance in these districts. BJP prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi has addressed four election meetings in the area and the party expects that its vote share in the region will increase substantially to give a tough fight to the established BJD and Congress leaders.
Naveen addressed as many as five election meetings at Brajrajnagar, Jharsuguda, Loisingha, Kantabanji and Balangir seeking votes for the BJD candidates on development plank.[/quote]Modi it seems will travel to the coastal Orissa in coming days.
Niranji, at 85% in Tripura do you think it is saffronised? Assam seems to be on it's way with 2-4 out of 5 depending on who you ask.niran wrote:till noon 39% in Assam 41% in Tripura
another six hours to go, if it reaches or crosses 83% then consider Assam and Tripura Saffronised.
^^^^Per his declaration, Chidambaram has about 100 acres land in Coorg and around Chennai.
NDA will lose onlee.

Clean progressive and liberal image like MMS in 2004.Barbarian Indian @barbarindian 3h
The most dangerous thing in this election is not Tharoor sucking up to religious leaders (that's his raison d'etre) but Nilekani. Watch him!
Chances dim in Delhi: Maya
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... [quote]NEW DELHI: This has to be one of the most candid acceptances at an election rally. Addressing a rally in the national capital on Monday, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati almost conceded defeat in the Lok Sabha polls in Delhi. She said BSP is not just a political party but a movement, so fielding candidates even when there is little or no scope of victory is important to register the party's presence and add to the support base.
"If we don't field candidates because the local unit is weak, where will the people attached to our ideology vote? They will have to vote for parties we have been fighting against," said the BSP supremo, while addressing supporters in Sultanpuri, North West Delhi. It was her first and only election rally in Delhi in the run up to Lok Sabha election but the crowd presence was less than satisfactory. Not more than 3,000 people turned up.
Aam Aadmi Party's rise in Delhi has drawn away much of BSP's base. Party leaders conceded on Monday that the poor turnout was a result of AAP's growing influence. Attacking AAP, Mayawati said Arvind Kejriwal made false promises. "One who could not run a state is now seeking a mandate to run the country," she remarked.[/quote]
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... [quote]NEW DELHI: This has to be one of the most candid acceptances at an election rally. Addressing a rally in the national capital on Monday, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati almost conceded defeat in the Lok Sabha polls in Delhi. She said BSP is not just a political party but a movement, so fielding candidates even when there is little or no scope of victory is important to register the party's presence and add to the support base.
"If we don't field candidates because the local unit is weak, where will the people attached to our ideology vote? They will have to vote for parties we have been fighting against," said the BSP supremo, while addressing supporters in Sultanpuri, North West Delhi. It was her first and only election rally in Delhi in the run up to Lok Sabha election but the crowd presence was less than satisfactory. Not more than 3,000 people turned up.
Aam Aadmi Party's rise in Delhi has drawn away much of BSP's base. Party leaders conceded on Monday that the poor turnout was a result of AAP's growing influence. Attacking AAP, Mayawati said Arvind Kejriwal made false promises. "One who could not run a state is now seeking a mandate to run the country," she remarked.[/quote]
who is niranji?Santosh wrote:Niranji, at 85% in Tripura do you think it is saffronised? Assam seems to be on it's way with 2-4 out of 5 depending on who you ask.niran wrote:till noon 39% in Assam 41% in Tripura
another six hours to go, if it reaches or crosses 83% then consider Assam and Tripura Saffronised.
Tripura has 2 seats and it has been CPIM(not CPI) since a decade ago but the numbers shocked even BJP people
the real figure (unofficially) is around 89% no, no celebrations yet, wait till it is official
Assam has 14 seats in 6 people has excerscised their rights and once again unoffcilial reports says it should cross 80% or thereabouts the morning session had bjp voters voting the noon session went to congress but around 1600 hours BJP urban voters rallied around lets keep our fingers crossed coz i show two datasets one BJP winning 4 out 6 the other bjp 6 congress 0. have patientce will report as and when i have solid data.
>>The calling effort is to canvass for Modi and ask them to go vote for Lotus on that day.
Can you mail me list of 100 voters to call. I will try calling . Mail me at [email protected]
This is what I will do "" Please Vote for BJP. Tell me what you can do for country. Tell me what Country needs to do for you. I will take ownership of mailing to govt for views. I think BJP is best listening party so vote for BJP"
Dumb Idea : We are mainly Software Professional . I guess. Can we make Open Source Software with theme
" What I can do for my Country, What I want My country to do for me"
Software should help sending information to relevant persons , follow up etc.
Can you mail me list of 100 voters to call. I will try calling . Mail me at [email protected]
This is what I will do "" Please Vote for BJP. Tell me what you can do for country. Tell me what Country needs to do for you. I will take ownership of mailing to govt for views. I think BJP is best listening party so vote for BJP"
Dumb Idea : We are mainly Software Professional . I guess. Can we make Open Source Software with theme
" What I can do for my Country, What I want My country to do for me"
Software should help sending information to relevant persons , follow up etc.
Did he not know he would be fighting against SoniaG when he got the ticket? Perhaps SoniaG's seat too is not safe enough to risk even a little 'made for TV' division of sickular votes!Kirandeep IBN7 @raydeep 1h
One more backs out!! #AAP party candidate from Raibarely Rtd justice Fakhruddin returns party ticket, don't want to fight against SoniaG
Last edited by pankajs on 08 Apr 2014 10:16, edited 1 time in total.
Edited.
Last edited by Luit on 08 Apr 2014 16:16, edited 1 time in total.
> Ahmed Patel, Janardhan Dwivedi,
part of the innermost council of the sith. things must be worrying if these two were in the delegation.
Firstpost @firstpostin 1h
Zero Rahul effect in Karnataka: Lacklustre Gandhi disappoints leaders http://dlvr.it/5LPGnB
Even now, Ramya continues to fight dissidence within the Mandya District Congress Committee every day. Two days ago, she had to suspend her campaign after factions within the Congress clashed on the streets.
Unlike the ‘Modi wave’, which is prevalent in the BJP strongholds, the Rahul Gandhi effect is hardly being felt in Congress citadels, let alone in other parts of the state.
To make matters worse, the Congress leaders, including seniors and veterans, are fighting among themselves to such an extent that Rahul Gandhi has been forced to remain a mute witness. Yes, the Congress claims that it too has set a target of 20 seats in the parliamentary polls like the BJP, but Rahul Gandhi too knows that this is just wishful thinking.
In the last two months, Rahul has visited Karnataka thrice, and except for one interaction with youths in Bangalore, his campaign has been lacklustre, with Congress leaders themselves expressing disappointment in private over his speeches and message. Till date, his speeches in Karnataka have been laced with attacks against the BJP on issues relating to corruption, nepotism, illegal mining and Narendra Modi.
Congress leaders admit that they hardly stand a chance because of the ‘Modi wave’ and the lack of unity among themselves. While chief minister Siddaramaiah has plunged into campaigning in southern Karnataka, senior leaders Mallikarjuna Kharge, M Veerappa Moily and N Dharam Singh seem content in campaigning in their respective constituencies.
Not even the state Congress leaders could stem this dissidence let alone Rahul’s intervention. In spite of the ‘Rahul Gandhi’ effect, Nandan Nilekani and Ramya had to drag the former CM SM Krishna out of his self-imposed political wilderness to campaign for them. With so much confusion and animosity prevailing in the Congress in Karnataka, there is hardly anything that a Rahul Gandhi can do to bolster the party’s prospects.

Hindustan Times @htTweets 2h
#LSpolls | #Congress workers move SC, want Noida elections postponed http://read.ht/d47
Congress workers from Noida on Monday moved the Supreme Court seeking postponement of elections in the Gautam Budh Nagar constituency. The Congress faces an unprecedented in the district as its candidate Ramesh Chand Tomar joined the BJP after the last date of filing of nominations and the party cannot field a new name.
A public interest litigation (PIL) filed by two Congress workers from Noida has sought direction to the Centre and the Election Commission to defer the general election scheduled to be held on April 10 to a later phase. The ninth and last phase of Lok Sabha polls in Uttar Pradesh will be held on May 12.
In the petition, Vikram Kasan, vice-president of the Congress in the district, contended more than one lakh volunteers of the party would be “denied their constitutional and statutory right of casting their vote” if the polls were not deferred.
Mukesh Yadav, executive president of the Congress in the district -- also the co-petitioner in the PIL -- said the party should be given another opportunity to file fresh nominations from the constituency. “About 35,000 permanent Congress volunteers and thousands of voters who were disappointed are now hopeful that the elections will be postponed to the next date, which will help the Congress to field another candidate,” said Alok Singh, Congress spokesperson from Gautam Budh Nagar district.
Bhaskar Chatterjee @BhaskarChat 2h
Ppl lk Shabana Azmi were supporting UCC till mid80s. But took U turn when BJP raised it. This is Indian secularism in action @gauravcsawant
New Indian Express @NewIndianXpress 2h
#DMK Ready to Shake Any 'Hand', Says #Karunanidhi - http://tnie.in/1g2szCg
MediaCrooks @mediacrooks 2h
Kalbe Jawad, Muslim Cleric: "Sonia samajti hai ki Musalman unki ghulam hai"... And I think he is right... @ndtv @timesnow @ibnlive
2 NDA nominees in TN lose as their nominations are faulty nilgiris and chidambaram constituency
No one had calculated that con race protesting EVMs will be win-win or noLoss-noLoss for shehzada.
On TN > A backup candidate in one. An appeal possible in the other? perhaps or modi-fy an independent and redirect votes. Not ideal but workable perhaps.
X-Post from Modi Dynasty contrast thread
In recent Open Mike session held by Sagarika Ghose from CNN-IBN in Meerut, there was a on camera physical fight between SP supporters and Modi supporters.
From the clip it was not clear to me as to what specific comment/point led to physical altercation between the two groups. One can clearly see & hear a lady saying that these are SP supporters who resort to gundaism (beating others) when they cannot answer questions.
What is surprising is that they were young regular crowd there & some grown ups (middle aged). Didn't see any goonda (goon) looking type from whom things like this can be expected.
Modi supporters, detractors clash during CNN-IBN show 'Open Mike'
When the full video comes out would like to see if Sagarika cleverly ignited passion. Wondering if EC model code of conduct does apply to journalist covering polls or not ?
In recent Open Mike session held by Sagarika Ghose from CNN-IBN in Meerut, there was a on camera physical fight between SP supporters and Modi supporters.
From the clip it was not clear to me as to what specific comment/point led to physical altercation between the two groups. One can clearly see & hear a lady saying that these are SP supporters who resort to gundaism (beating others) when they cannot answer questions.
What is surprising is that they were young regular crowd there & some grown ups (middle aged). Didn't see any goonda (goon) looking type from whom things like this can be expected.
Modi supporters, detractors clash during CNN-IBN show 'Open Mike'
When the full video comes out would like to see if Sagarika cleverly ignited passion. Wondering if EC model code of conduct does apply to journalist covering polls or not ?
Dr. Praveen Patil @5Forty3 1h
Less than 48 hours to go and the Muslim voters of west-UP are still not sure whom to vote for! Amazing ground reports emanating from UP..
Tactical voting too would lead to division of votes. Without the distribution of the spread seat-wise difficult to assess BJP's chances. Only sure thing is reverse polarization.Dr. Praveen Patil @5Forty3 1h
As of today the Muslim vote of West-UP is broadly divided something like this, will this picture change by 10th? pic.twitter.com/8g8CgLb2oc
^^^ Great news. Hindus are united behind Modi while Muslims are undecided between various parties. Reversal of how it used to be.
maitas66 @chinmaykrvd 2h
Is Mamtha increasingly jittery now blames EC of trying to do booth capturing along with Congress and BJP,Maoists to rig elections!
Keerthik Sasidharan @KS1729 2h
A terrific profile of AmitShah in @thecaravanindia, who comes across as focussed, hardknuckled, loyal & plays to win. http://www.caravanmagazine.in/reportage/organiser …
ABP News @abpnewstv 2h
Kill those who have done injustice to you, Raj Thackeray tells farmers http://www.abplive.in/india/2014/04/08/ ... 0N9-VfqsdU …
Kuldeep Sharma @Kuldeep9Sharma 2h
AAP's candidates against Salman Khurshid and Sachin Pilot withdrew too. @abhijeettated @minhazmerchant @DrKumarVishwas @India_Policy
that makes it 4, with SG and Sibal being the others. many are just for show only.
When the 'for show' models too start getting withdrawn it indicates the nervousness within the CON camp.